Donegal V Tyrone Ulster Final 17th July

Started by never kickt a ball, July 03, 2016, 11:12:37 PM

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 17, 2016, 03:33:06 PM
Benny why wouldn't Tyrone push on and attack, they have better players than Donegal but Harte's tactics are holding them back

My point was that they looked like they were happy to hold on to a one point lead when the game was there to be won. They could have gone for the jugular and won the game! For me this was partly what cost them the game. Rory Gallagher has to take responsibility for that, brutal!

Quote from: grounded on July 17, 2016, 03:52:22 PM
A lot more in that Tyrone team. I think they could give Dublin their fill of it.

They will give Dublin a good game but the advantages they had over Donegal (more pace and more scoring options) won't be there against Dublin....and they will not be allowed walk the ball up the pitch like they did today

Tyrone had the balls to go for it in the end and it paid off. 

How will Donegal respond in the qualifiers is the big question. 

Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 17, 2016, 03:54:53 PM
Quote from: grounded on July 17, 2016, 03:52:22 PM
A lot more in that Tyrone team. I think they could give Dublin their fill of it.

They will give Dublin a good game but the advantages they had over Donegal (more pace and more scoring options) won't be there against Dublin....and they will not be allowed walk the ball up the pitch like they did today

Are Dublin any better at stopping runners than Donegal? Dubs won't get a game like this to the end of August

north down

RTE seem to be biting back - they didn't show the presentation or Cavanagh's speech. Will be interesting to see if they show the Leinster presentation!

ashman

Quote from: omaghjoe on July 17, 2016, 03:50:23 PM
f**k me is there anything worse after a win like that than having to listen to O'Rourke and Spillane

Hard luck Donegal BTW great competitive match, feck the begrudgers!
[/quote

Watching the game was far worse . The game was utterly awful to watch .  An awful lot of fine players in both teams .

Quote from: imtommygunn on July 17, 2016, 03:34:03 PM
Nonsense. That is the donnelly incident you are describing. The murphy one was not like that at all. All the commentators said it too.

Well Tommy Carr said so, so that must be the final word! ;D

McCann released the ball and ran into Murphy's chest with his shoulder immediately after. Tell us, please, where was Murphy supposed to go?

Donnelly had more time to get out of his way than Murphy did, if we are going to quibble over fractions of seconds.

Just because the Donnelly one was harsh or unjust doesn't mean that Murphy deserved one.

Quote from: JoG2 on July 17, 2016, 03:56:38 PM
Tyrone had the balls to go for it in the end and it paid off. 

How will Donegal respond in the qualifiers is the big question.

And on that, they deserved it. Donegal far too reserved and concerned with holding possession and trying to walk it through, even when they went 20 minutes without scoring.

A horrible game. This type of football is spreading like a disease and we need a cure quickly. Two of the best teams around and they serve up this crap. This added to the changed pricing structures in the qualifiers will drive crowds away. Sky will be showing it on the horror channel.

Tyrone may have suffered 2 harsh black cards but the introduction of this card has meant that teams cannot block the runners to stop their running game. The only decent thing to watch in the first 70 minutes of game.

Quote from: J70 on July 17, 2016, 04:00:15 PM
Nonsense. That is the donnelly incident you are describing. The murphy one was not like that at all. All the commentators said it too.

McCann released the ball and ran into Murphy's chest with his shoulder immediately after. Tell us, please, where was Murphy supposed to go?

Donnelly had more time to get out of his way than Murphy did, if we are going to quibble over fractions of seconds.

Just because the Donnelly one was harsh or unjust doesn't mean that Murphy deserved one.

Within the context of the match tho he had to be consistent and he wasnt

First Donegal foul of the match  was one, and there was another in the 2nd by Thompson

Lets not forget Tyrone had a penalty too that wasnt given

Quote from: T Fearon on July 16, 2016, 07:46:19 AMThey will wilt again in the White Heat of Clones tomorrow

Hahahahahahahahahaha - you f**king clown

S. Cavanagh was the difference, he showed he still has the pace, skill and strength to rise above the norm at the highest level
Sludden was also very good already an essential player for us
Colm magnificent too as was Harte
Rory Brennan very good when he came on, thought he should have started but....... in Mickey we trust!

Quote from: T Fearon on July 17, 2016, 12:31:14 PM
Mickelson Donegal double pays just over 6/1! On it like a shot!

How much did you put on Tony??

Quote from: omaghjoe on July 17, 2016, 04:11:25 PM
Quote from: J70 on July 17, 2016, 04:00:15 PM

Within the context of the match tho he had to be consistent and he wasnt

First Donegal foul of the match  was one, and there was another in the 2nd by Thompson

Lets not forget Tyrone had a penalty too that wasnt given

Your independence has to be questioned though.

Thought referee let a lot go. If he hadn't match would have been worse. Have seen black cards given for Donnelly type incident before. Harsh and I think it was called by linesman. Murphy was not even close to a card never mind black. Although Thompson could have seen red the Tyrone player who got caught on camera punching Murphy could have got red much earlier. Watched the whole game on TV and do not recall where Tyrone should have got a penalty.

Take you win and walk away. The sooner this game is forgotten about the better.

On 2nd review it was no penalty, originally i thought it was