Kerry V Tyrone Fodder AISF 23rd August 2015

Started by never kickt a ball, August 02, 2015, 04:58:12 PM

Il Bomber Destro

Quote from: Gael85 on August 22, 2015, 10:16:02 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on August 22, 2015, 07:53:39 AM
Quote from: Gael85 on August 22, 2015, 12:53:39 AM
Quote from: Canalman on August 21, 2015, 05:16:57 PM
Being brutally honest but I don't think the Tyrone forwards are a patch on the noughties ones. Chalk and Cheese.

Kerry to win handily imo.

Tyrone didnt have the firepower to beat Mayo in 2013 semi final and that forward line hasn't improved much since . They don't seem to have many forwards that will raise green flags. Tyrone will make  game for 40-50 minutes then Kerry will pull away and win by 10+ . Tyrone forwards in championship have struggled against Donegal last 3 championship games, Mayo 2013 and Kerry 2012. Could see in all games never looked like winning.Tieran McCann and Mark Bradley are players for the future and hopefully they will get a couple others from 21 winning team. They had a couple powerful lads in the full forward line who might make impact next year

Our forwards contributed more scores from play than Mayo did in the 2013 semi-final.

I think it's lazy analysis to say that we don't have the firepower to beat Kerry, we don't play a game that needs our inside forwards to be notching up big scores to win games. If McCurry and McAliskey can contribute about 10 points on Sunday we are well in with a shout and I believe that's more than within their capabilities, people keep going on and on about Kerry's firepower and how we will be able to cope with then but they are not focusing on how a porous Kerry defence will cope with what we have.

In league and Championship these were our concessions:

Monaghan 1-13 (16)
Mayo 1-07 (10)
Derry 1-08 (11)
Dublin 1-09 (12)
Cork 0-17 (17)
Donegal 1-13 (16)
Kerry 1-14 (17)
Donegal 1-13 (16)
Limerick 0-08 (8)
Meath 0-11 (11)
Tipperary 0-09 (9)
Sligo 0-14 (14)
Monaghan 0-14  (14)

In the 13 league and championship games this year, the highest score we have conceded is 17 points and Tyrone have been getting better and better with each passing game. After the league meeting with Monaghan Mickey went back to basics and the defence really started to tighten up and improve. Our attacking gameplan really struggled in that time though and it wasn't until the second half in the Tipp game that it looked to click into gear, since then I've been very pleased with the smoothness and speed with which we develop our play now and our efficiency in front of the posts the last day out against Monaghan was brilliant. I think if we can turn in a similar performance against Monaghan we can win on Sunday, there's not that much of a gulf between the teams despite what the experts say.

I can only hope the lads have been hearing some of the coverage and expert verdicts for this game. Tyrone have been completely dismissed out of hand and told they have nowhere near the quality of players Kerry have which is just nonsense, we have the players to push them and beat them and I hope we do it. It's a bit like the u21 Championship this year where we were bizarrely 9/4 outsiders against an average Roscommon side and wrote off by all the experts and proceeded to stroll home against them without needing to break sweat.

There no doubting Tyrone defense however they haven't met the quality of Kerry forwards in championship game yet. To beat Kerry you need goals. Ye have scored 6 goals in 13 games between championship and league. Ye wont score scored 15+ points against Kerry

I'm fairly confident we'll score 15+ points tomorrow.

Rodman

Quote from: BennyHarp on August 22, 2015, 09:37:02 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 22, 2015, 09:23:30 AM
Being brutally honest but I don't think the Tyrone forwards are a patch on the noughties ones. Chalk and Cheese.

Tyrone didnt have the firepower to beat Mayo in 2013 semi final and that forward line hasn't improved much since . They don't seem to have many forwards that will raise green flags. Tyrone will make  game for 40-50 minutes then Kerry will pull away and win by 10+ . Tyrone forwards in championship have struggled against Donegal last 3 championship games, Mayo 2013 and Kerry 2012. Could see in all games never looked like winning.Tieran McCann and Mark Bradley are players for the future and hopefully they will get a couple others from 21 winning team. They had a couple powerful lads in the full forward line who might make impact next year

Our forwards contributed more scores from play than Mayo did in the 2013 semi-final.

I think it's lazy analysis to say that we don't have the firepower to beat Kerry, we don't play a game that needs our inside forwards to be notching up big scores to win games. If McCurry and McAliskey can contribute about 10 points on Sunday we are well in with a shout and I believe that's more than within their capabilities, people keep going on and on about Kerry's firepower and how we will be able to cope with then but they are not focusing on how a porous Kerry defence will cope with what we have.

Monaghan 1-13 (16)
Mayo 1-07 (10)
Derry 1-08 (11)
Dublin 1-09 (12)
Cork 0-17 (17)
Donegal 1-13 (16)
Kerry 1-14 (17)
Donegal 1-13 (16)
Limerick 0-08 (8)
Meath 0-11 (11)
Tipperary 0-09 (9)
Sligo 0-14 (14)
Monaghan 0-14  (14)

In the 13 league and championship games this year, the highest score we have conceded is 17 points and Tyrone have been getting better and better with each passing game. After the league meeting with Monaghan Mickey went back to basics and the defence really started to tighten up and improve. Our attacking gameplan really struggled in that time though and it wasn't until the second half in the Tipp game that it looked to click into gear, since then I've been very pleased with the smoothness and speed with which we develop our play now and our efficiency in front of the posts the last day out against Monaghan was brilliant. I think if we can turn in a similar performance against Monaghan we can win on Sunday, there's not that much of a gulf between the teams despite what the experts say.

I can only hope the lads have been hearing some of the coverage and expert verdicts for this game. Tyrone have been completely dismissed out of hand and told they have nowhere near the quality of players Kerry have which is just nonsense, we have the players to push them and beat them and I hope we do it. It's a bit like the u21 Championship this year where we were bizarrely 9/4 outsiders against an average Roscommon side and wrote off by all the experts and proceeded to stroll home against them without needing to break sweat.

It's not lazy analysis when in some games 70 percent of your scores are coming from frees . You're up against the wall tomorrow and Any given Sunday speeches are unlikely to be enough.

You will mass the defence and do a mc Guinness. No rocket science there

So how many times has this happened this year?

V Donegal 1-10 (3. frees) = 23%
V Limerick 1-14 (6 frees) = 35%
V Meath 1-10 (1-1 frees) = 31%
V Tipp 0-19 (6 frees) = 31.5%
V Sligo 0-21 (5 frees) = 23.8%
V Monaghan 0-18 (7 frees) 38.8%

In fact, overall in the championship we have score 101 points, of which 31 where frees. Amazingly that means only 30% of our scores are from frees and in fact 70% come from play.

I'd say your analysis is pretty lazy. A bit like you saying we only beat you in 2008 because of the brilliance of Steven O'Neill!

Ha ha Indiana, where did you pull the 70% from frees out of...have you even watched any of Tyrone's games this year.  Not a clue!

Tommo2

Has anyone any idea of the likely attendance tomorrow?

Ciarrai_thuaidh

Quote from: Tommo2 on August 22, 2015, 02:32:22 PM
Has anyone any idea of the likely attendance tomorrow?

I couldn't say but I'm assured at least 1 car load left Cahirciveen, Kenmare AND Killorglin..which is a huge increase.

Safe journey to all travelling today/tomorrow..even those coming through Aughnacloy! :P 
"Better to die on your feet,than live on your knees"...

Safer than it used to be...
Best of luck to the redhands and the kingdom. I fear deegan might to a job on tyrone tomorrow but failing that we travel in hope that we can give the mighty Kingdom a game. 

Well I travel more so in hope than expectation but still feels terrific to be back in the business end of AI championships. Hope we give a good account of ourselves and show that McCurry, Harte and Mattie are truly intercounty standard footballers.

Quote from: Rodman on August 22, 2015, 02:22:53 PM

Monaghan 1-13 (16)
Mayo 1-07 (10)
Derry 1-08 (11)
Dublin 1-09 (12)
Cork 0-17 (17)
Donegal 1-13 (16)
Kerry 1-14 (17)
Donegal 1-13 (16)
Limerick 0-08 (8)
Meath 0-11 (11)
Tipperary 0-09 (9)
Sligo 0-14 (14)
Monaghan 0-14  (14)

It's not lazy analysis when in some games 70 percent of your scores are coming from frees . You're up against the wall tomorrow and Any given Sunday speeches are unlikely to be enough.

In fact, overall in the championship we have score 101 points, of which 31 where frees. Amazingly that means only 30% of our scores are from frees and in fact 70% come from play.

I'd say your analysis is pretty lazy. A bit like you saying we only beat you in 2008 because of the brilliance of Steven O'Neill!

Ha ha Indiana, where did you pull the 70% from frees out of...have you even watched any of Tyrone's games this year.  Not a clue!

;D ;D ;D

And I suppose without our free kick specialist SON this would rule us out our chances if we meet the Dubs in the final? ::)

Indie you really can be a wally sometimes in your blind hatred of Tyrone, if you just said, "I don't like yis, so I don't think yis will win" that would be more logical.... and truthful

Quote from: omaghjoe on August 22, 2015, 04:40:11 PM

Monaghan 1-13 (16)
Mayo 1-07 (10)
Derry 1-08 (11)
Dublin 1-09 (12)
Cork 0-17 (17)
Donegal 1-13 (16)
Kerry 1-14 (17)
Donegal 1-13 (16)
Limerick 0-08 (8)
Meath 0-11 (11)
Tipperary 0-09 (9)
Sligo 0-14 (14)
Monaghan 0-14  (14)

;D ;D ;D

And I suppose without our free kick specialist SON this would rule us out our chances if we meet the Dubs in the final? ::)

Indie you really can be a wally sometimes in your blind hatred of Tyrone, if you just said, "I don't like yis, so I don't think yis will win" that would be more logical.... and truthful

Will tiernans hair be ok in the rain tomorrow ? I heard the GAA are considering a postponement

Quote from: INDIANA on August 22, 2015, 05:07:14 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on August 22, 2015, 04:40:11 PM

Monaghan 1-13 (16)
Mayo 1-07 (10)
Derry 1-08 (11)
Dublin 1-09 (12)
Cork 0-17 (17)
Donegal 1-13 (16)
Kerry 1-14 (17)
Donegal 1-13 (16)
Limerick 0-08 (8)
Meath 0-11 (11)
Tipperary 0-09 (9)
Sligo 0-14 (14)
Monaghan 0-14  (14)

;D ;D ;D

Will tiernans hair be ok in the rain tomorrow ? I heard the GAA are considering a postponement

Poor, very poor!  ::)

Redhand Santa

I've no doubt we're in with a great chance tomorrow.  I think 4 to 1 is a huge price. We're an extremely fit team with a good mixture of youth and experience and a lot of players that can play football. People keep talking of Kerry's bench but at the end of the day there'll only be 15 on the pitch at any one time.

I suspect Kerry will try to do something similar to what they did versus Donegal last year.  It's not the way they've played all year and we will come at them with more pace.  Our biggest problem will be keeping donaghys influence limited.

Hopefully after the disgraceful media agenda in recent weeks we get a fair crack tomorrow, and if we do could well end up more than a match for Kerry.

Put Up That Flag

Best of luck to the Kingdom tomorrow against the cheaters and divers,  it won't be a good game as Tyrone will as they always do bring the game into the gutter but as long as the Kingdom overcome the thuggery then it will be a great day :)

Quote from: Put Up That Flag on August 22, 2015, 05:55:52 PM
Best of luck to the Kingdom tomorrow against the cheaters and divers,  it won't be a good game as Tyrone will as they always do bring the game into the gutter but as long as the Kingdom overcome the thuggery then it will be a great day :)

Lick the back of them

Quote from: Put Up That Flag on August 22, 2015, 05:55:52 PM

Oh you poor naive innocent little child. You have been reading to many of the fairy tales the media bombard you with. 

comethekingdom

Good luck to the Kingdom tomorrow. There's a lot of uncertantity about the result of this game will have. I also think it will be hard to call. For us to win we will have to get on with the business of playing to our game plan unlike Monaghan who got got riled by Tyrone and caught up in the dark arts and lost their focus completely.
Hopefully the Tyrone players might have learned a lesson from all the negativity surrounding them and may actually play more honestly and sportingly than previously?
Anyway - safe travelling to all supporters from both counties. May the best team win !!! :-)