Time for Joe to go??

Started by cadhlancian, August 03, 2013, 08:44:54 PM

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 06, 2013, 09:50:52 PM
Quote from: SBH1983 on August 06, 2013, 09:45:21 PM
Quote from: oakleafgael on August 06, 2013, 09:18:17 PM
Quote from: Wee Roddy on August 06, 2013, 02:08:45 PM
Yip you are correct....and the same thing can be said about Tyrone, and Armagh too. Kicked around Croke Park for years with no protection whatsoever. John Lynch was took out of it by Tommy Doyle in 86 and every Tyrone man was took out of it in 1996 against Meath. Toe to toe Tyrone would have beat Kerry in 2003, 05 and 8 as well cause they had better players! Its a mindset where by we are going to get tramped over by anyone anymore.

Roddy,

No harm to you but your away with the fairies.

Hold on a minute lads, Tyrone did go toe to toe with Kerry in 03 05 & 08. How else would you explain it? They didn't go out and beat them with kid gloves on or at arms length, Tyrone beat them out the gate in 03 and came through 2 great battles in 05 & 08

Nah, loads of eye pokes, diving, gouging etc. Tyrone just found newer and more Cynical ways to cheat.

Brolly is dead right about ye.

Obviously the therapy hasn't been working as regards your disillusionment, paranoia and hatred. Go and lie down in a dark room ... forever ... you sad little Kerry gobshite

Quote from: red hander on August 07, 2013, 03:35:27 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 06, 2013, 09:50:52 PM
Quote from: SBH1983 on August 06, 2013, 09:45:21 PM
Quote from: oakleafgael on August 06, 2013, 09:18:17 PM
Quote from: Wee Roddy on August 06, 2013, 02:08:45 PM
Yip you are correct....and the same thing can be said about Tyrone, and Armagh too. Kicked around Croke Park for years with no protection whatsoever. John Lynch was took out of it by Tommy Doyle in 86 and every Tyrone man was took out of it in 1996 against Meath. Toe to toe Tyrone would have beat Kerry in 2003, 05 and 8 as well cause they had better players! Its a mindset where by we are going to get tramped over by anyone anymore.

Roddy,

No harm to you but your away with the fairies.

Hold on a minute lads, Tyrone did go toe to toe with Kerry in 03 05 & 08. How else would you explain it? They didn't go out and beat them with kid gloves on or at arms length, Tyrone beat them out the gate in 03 and came through 2 great battles in 05 & 08

Nah, loads of eye pokes, diving, gouging etc. Tyrone just found newer and more Cynical ways to cheat.

Brolly is dead right about ye.

Obviously the therapy hasn't been working as regards your disillusionment, paranoia and hatred. Go and lie down in a dark room ... forever ... you sad little Kerry gobshite

really?...you must be the most hate filled poster around these parts sir

The Biff

First you Nordies inflict "Puke" Football on us, and now you've added "Cynical" Football".  What's next?   ;)

• Ugly Football
  • Orange Football
  • Square Football
  • Hand Football
  • Nordie Football
  • Anything-as-long-as-its-not-called-Gaelic Football

The pressure is on Colm O'Rourke to come up with the next "phrase of the week" for the Sunday Game panel to keep up the ratings fight.
Never argue with a fool; He'll bring you down to his level and then beat you on experience.

Quote from: BennyHarp on August 07, 2013, 03:12:23 PM
Shows the type of he man that he brought in lies about an U16 game to try and add some credibility to his nonsense.

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=198240

he should also be made to apologise about his comments about Tyrone minors who he says he 'knows that they are coached to tactically foul'

Brolly seems to think he can just throw out these accusations without having to back up any of them with any sort of facts whatsoever

Shows the type of he man that he brought in lies about an U16 game to try and add some credibility to his nonsense.

Its not all lies, Swatragh employed 2 markers on Conor Glass throughout the duration of the game. Lets just say he wasnt allowed to build up a full head of steam.

Quote from: Walter Cronc on August 07, 2013, 04:06:24 PM

Its not all lies, Swatragh employed 2 markers on Conor Glass throughout the duration of the game. Lets just say he wasnt allowed to build up a full head of steam.

Why apologise then? Bringing in 15 year olds to his argument is very low if you ask me. You can forget about Joe as a man as far as I'm concerned!

MARTIN BREHENY – 07 AUGUST 2013

WHEN the loudest, most strident voice sets the agenda, it's time to change the discussion, or at least strip it of sanctimonious humbug.
That's no easy task in the comical case of Joe Brolly and the way he might rant at you. He is, no doubt, luxuriating in the latest tub of notoriety he has filled for himself arising from his portrayal of Tyrone and Sean Cavanagh as footballing degenerates who should be brought before a sporting war crimes tribunal.
There is little evidence to support the case that Joe dislikes being the centre of attention, less still to suggest that he doesn't plan his performances with meticulous timing. What's more, the delivery must be full-on, passionate and uncompromising, accompanied byHollywood-style finger-jabbing theatrics. Joe does it brilliantly, which is scarcely surprising since he is a barrister.
Now, it would be all innocently amusing if it weren't taken so seriously. But in an age when a melodramatic performance by a TV pundit circles the globe in minutes, no doubt influencing those who are happy to have their minds made up for them, even the daftest nonsense can assume credence.
Such is the case with Brolly's illogical tirade against Cavanagh. Joe may have delivered it with his trademark sense of conviction, but however compellingly he forced the point, it came down to this: he was wrong.
Brolly's ire zoomed into the red zone because Cavanagh hauled down Conor McManus as the Monaghan corner-forward galloped through on goal in Saturday's All-Ireland quarter-final.
A goal would have put Monaghan a point ahead, but instead they had to make do with a point from the free. It cut Tyrone's lead to the minimum after 49 minutes, leaving Monaghan with 21 minutes to save the game. It was scarcely an insurmountable barrier if Monaghan were good enough.
Anyway, back to the sensational news, according to Joe.
'PLAYER PULLS DOWN OPPONENT TO AVOID RISK OF GOAL.'
Big deal. It has been happening in Gaelic football since the game was first played. It happens in other sports too, albeit in a different way.
How often do rugby teams deliberately concede penalties close to their own line in a frantic effort to avoid giving away a try? It may be only a temporary reprieve in some cases, but at least it gives the embattled defence a chance to regroup. And, if they can eventually force the attacking side to kick the penalty, the commentators will dutifully explain how relieved the besiegedparty was to concede three rather than seven points for a converted try. In that instance, fouling works, just as it did for Cavanagh on Saturday.
Cavanagh played the rules, taking a yellow card for himself in order to avoid the possible concession of a goal. Now the rules may be wrong, but to suggest that Cavanagh was out of order to use them, to maximise his side's chances of winning the game, is to imply that players have a responsibility to rewrite the regulations in an All-Ireland quarter-final so as to avoid upsetting spectator sensitivities.
Would Brolly have been as disgusted in 1993 if one of his Derry colleagues hauled down an opponent in order to prevent Cork scoring a goal in the All-Ireland final? Would that have been a disgrace? Would the Derry colleague involved be less of a man in Joe's eyes?
If Cavanagh perpetrates a similar offence next year, he will be sent off under the new rules. A sub will be allowed to replace him, which many regard as an over-generous concession, but that's what the GAA membership decided in their response to the rule-changes proposed by Eugene McGee and his Football Review Committee (FRC) this year.
It won't take long to discover if the new sanctions eradicate cynicism. If it works, then there's no need for further action; if not, then a tougher regime can be introduced.
Brolly knows that, yet he chose to pillory Cavanagh for using existing rules to help his team. He played the man not the ball, just as Cavanagh had done 25 minutes earlier. The difference was that Cavanagh, an amateur player, did it to further Tyrone's interests in the All-Ireland championship, while Brolly, a paid pundit, did it as part of TV entertainment.
I have no doubt which was the nobler objective.

give her dixie

next stop, September 10, for number 4......

Quote from: give her dixie on August 07, 2013, 04:24:41 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on August 07, 2013, 04:03:53 PM
feck it, it had to be done...............

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NXbtopZsteA&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Very very good Tickle. Loved it, especially the end !!

ye gave me the idea! no work today was also a big help!!!

Brilliant. It had to be done.

Sean Cavanagh's stock is rising all the time.

squire_in_navy_slacks

Worse than anything Sean Cavanagh did........................Robocop OMahony

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DHuU3EdJ1NQ

Orchardman

Havn't read of the 7 seven pages on this.

NO, It is not time for joe to go

Quote from: orangeman on August 07, 2013, 04:30:01 PM

Quick note though Tickle....McMenamin is from Dromore which is not even close to being in east Tyrone!!

give her dixie

Quote from: Nally Stand on August 07, 2013, 05:03:34 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 07, 2013, 04:30:01 PM

Quick note though Tickle....McMenamin is from Dromore which is not even close to being in east Tyrone!!

We will claim him anyway Nally. Sure he would fit in well down in the "East Side"
next stop, September 10, for number 4......