Tyrone v Kerry - Omagh - 7th April

Started by ONeill, March 15, 2013, 09:33:16 PM

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on March 27, 2013, 08:50:28 AM
Tyrone will still be smarting after the humiliation in Killarney. I expect it will be a fiery contest.
The lads will definitely be going up to create some anarchy in the UK.

The celebrations of a Kerry qualifier win last year, show it was The Kingdom that was hurting MS ;)

God14

Funny I cant remember ever a Kerry player openly crying with joy following any victory, never mind a Qualifier victory.
And a so called hard man at that lol

Kerry fans (and Tyrone fans!) are actively encouraged to call up and see Tyrone's new Garvaghey GAA centre on the way up or down to the match - there might even be a cup of tea in it for you!  It's just off the main road to Omagh. 

Ciarrai_thuaidh

Tyrone will still be smarting after the humiliation in Killarney. I expect it will be a fiery contest.

Stop being an arse Mike will ya? Or maybe rock up to Healy park on Sunday week and tell people you're enjoying your time in the "UK"..see how that works out for you...
"Better to die on your feet,than live on your knees"...

Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on March 27, 2013, 11:15:16 AM

Stop being an arse Mike will ya? Or maybe rock up to Healy park on Sunday week and tell people you're enjoying your time in the "UK"..see how that works out for you...

I would love that fecker to open his mouth in Tyrone and say that, he wouldnt have the balls to do so, than again, he would probably melt if he left kerry!

Do many Kerry fans tend to travel this far for league games?
It's a long journey if ye come up and down on the same day.
I presume the team would come up the night before would they?

Quote from: Fuzzman on March 28, 2013, 02:53:49 PM
Do many Kerry fans tend to travel this far for league games?
It's a long journey if ye come up and down on the same day.
I presume the team would come up the night before would they?

They'd fly to Derry I'd assume or maybe that only happened in the good days?!

Nah that's all finished now
There's only flights to Dublin now from Kerry I believe and to Faro and Stansted.

God14

Donegal chartered their own plane for the match versus Cork

I think traditionally Kerry would travel as far as Monaghan the night before but stand to be corrected.

From Hoganstand.com, aren't we great altogether...  ;)

Tyrone offer Kerry hand of friendship
28 March 2013

Tyrone and Kerry may not be the best of friends on the field, but the Red Hands' supporters club is eager to facilitate the Kingdom's supporters on Sunday.

The sides meet in the last round of the league in Omagh at the weekend. Kerry need a win to have any chance of avoiding relegation, while Tyrone are already into the semi finals.

Tension between the sides has risen over the past decade or so, but Club Tyrone spokesman Mark Conway has urged any Kerry supporters to stop off at their new GAA centre of excellence on the way home from the game for food and drink.

When Tyrone visited Kerry last year in the qualifiers, their supporters were overwhelmed by the hospitality shown by the hosts, and they are keen to show the same courtesy this weekend.

"Tyrone people were very much taken with the fantastic show of support for Mickey Harte and the Tyrone team when we went to Killarney last Just for the qualifiers," said Conway.

"An awful lot of very good Kerry people waited for over an hour and gave our boys a great send off and that was very much appreciated. Our offer of a wee cup of tea and a sandwich after the game in Omagh, before Kerry folk head home, is just a small offer as a response to the generosity the Tyrone team was shown last July in Kerry."

BartSimpson

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 28, 2013, 08:05:26 PM
From Hoganstand.com, aren't we great altogether...  ;)

Tyrone offer Kerry hand of friendship
28 March 2013

Tyrone and Kerry may not be the best of friends on the field, but the Red Hands' supporters club is eager to facilitate the Kingdom's supporters on Sunday.

The sides meet in the last round of the league in Omagh at the weekend. Kerry need a win to have any chance of avoiding relegation, while Tyrone are already into the semi finals.

Tension between the sides has risen over the past decade or so, but Club Tyrone spokesman Mark Conway has urged any Kerry supporters to stop off at their new GAA centre of excellence on the way home from the game for food and drink.

When Tyrone visited Kerry last year in the qualifiers, their supporters were overwhelmed by the hospitality shown by the hosts, and they are keen to show the same courtesy this weekend.

"Tyrone people were very much taken with the fantastic show of support for Mickey Harte and the Tyrone team when we went to Killarney last Just for the qualifiers," said Conway.

"An awful lot of very good Kerry people waited for over an hour and gave our boys a great send off and that was very much appreciated. Our offer of a wee cup of tea and a sandwich after the game in Omagh, before Kerry folk head home, is just a small offer as a response to the generosity the Tyrone team was shown last July in Kerry."
And people say us Northerners are not hospitable!

To be fair, the reception given by Kerry people after that game will not be forgotten up here for a long time. Probably across the country. Harte family are legends.
guwan the parish

Beantown

To be fair, the reception given by Kerry people after that game will not be forgotten up here for a long time. Probably across the country. Harte family are legends.

Can you honestly tell me that the "great reception" would still have been there if Tyrone had won that game.. Utter nonsense.... The abuse Tyrone supporters took in the stands that day was never mentioned... Kerry win and sure isn't it all grand and great oul craic,  aren't Kerry fans great, staying behind to applaud Tyrone onto the bus.   Then the cringeworthy statement by Tyrone county board.. Embarrassing....

The overblown love in is nonsense.. Catch yourselves on...

I admire Kerry football and it's pedigree and history. It's greatest players are icons and legends in the game, but the media driven hype and drivel about the great respect their supporters have is rubbish.
They are like every other county, love to win and hate to lose.. No different......

I have had better craic after games with Dublin, Armagh and Mayo people, win lose or draw..

Rant over...

BartSimpson

Ach get over yourself FFS. There was a magic reception that day for Tyrone, one that was exceptional, and above all previous encounters. It deserves credit.

Your just embittered if you believe your last post fully.
guwan the parish

Ciarrai_thuaidh

Quote from: Fionntamhnach on March 28, 2013, 02:11:37 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on March 27, 2013, 02:10:50 AM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on March 26, 2013, 10:43:51 PM
Has the Kerry County Board made a request for their supporters to be segregated from them Tyrone "hallions" in Omagh with a police escort to the ground?

Yes. All fans leaving from the Kingdom are also being given poncho's to ward off the danger of possible projectile saliva.  :P

C'mon now Fionn, don't be telling me ye took that ape from Crokes seriously when he went on about fan segregation? He was a laughing stock down here as much as anywhere for that shur.

Kerry can win this, but only if the half forward line is revamped completely..and I fear that won't happen, so given that and the fact that Tyrone will be well up for it, I'd fancy a home win here.

Looking forward to having the craic with the many genuine football people I'll no doubt meet in Omagh.
The problem with Kerry having arguably above-average access to important media outlets is that the bullshit filter fails too often. Many journalists will look for something that sells.

If it's your first time in Healy Park, (a) bring a damn good warm coat no matter what the weather. That part of Omagh's fairly high up, windy, and  Tyrone doesn't have any microclimate that you might find say at Valentia, (b) if you're going to the stand, either stick with the travelling support as a group or find a seat located on the far end of the turnstiles (the left side as seen from the TV cameras), if you don't know why you might understand as the game goes on, and (c) most of the shops nearby will happily take Euros at least in notes for a fair exchange rate, but will give you change in sterling. Enjoy the trip, because from either end it's a long one.

Dublin media are obsessed with Kerry, no denying it, partially because most of them long for the Kerry v Dublin era. Don't know what you mean by "bullshit filter" though and an idiotic statement like the crowd segregation nonsense is far from the norm.

Won't be first time in Healy park, was there the day Ricey dropped the hand on Galvin in 2009...quite a romantic gesture! Hostile enough during the match for sure, but I wouldn't give a shite where I was sitting/standing. Most Tyrone people are dead on before/after the game...some lose the run of themselves completely for the 70 mins yeah, but its not like that doesn't happen down here either I guess.

Kerry are over in Portugal at the minute, so that may accelerate the conditioning a bit...still won't matter if we select such a toothless half forward line again. Either way its going to be hard to get a result. We've dominated Tyrone is several games in Omagh, but gone to sleep for too long in all those games also. I'd be happy enough with a decent performance and a decent team structure to be honest.
"Better to die on your feet,than live on your knees"...