Plan for Mosque near Ground Zero

Started by Hedley Lamarr, May 18, 2010, 06:09:16 PM

Quote from: Rav67 on September 12, 2010, 06:46:44 PM
He won a Nobel Prize alright.......... in Literature!!  You may as well go ask Seamus Heaney for his expert opinion on the origins of mankind.

An expert in fiction. Figures.

Quote from: Arthur_Friend on September 12, 2010, 06:38:53 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on September 12, 2010, 05:48:01 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on September 12, 2010, 04:56:37 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on September 12, 2010, 03:52:19 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on September 12, 2010, 08:35:18 AM
Taking quotes from icr.org and you think they would be a fair commentator. I hear there are some good quotes over on WWW.Darwinissatan.com too.
Now Now Myles just cause ye jumped in with the two wellies once again to get the quick boot in and subsequently got the trousers pulled
down around you ankles ...again  there's no need to rub salt into your wounds!

Why do ye think I didn't post the link to begin with...the predictability of ye ladies jumping all over it for being biased is almost as certain as the arrogance
and elitism of the establishment around here.
If it's not a crazy right wing Fox news link I'm quoting or drawing my views from it's something else  ::)... it's pretty clear the barrels empty when ye have to constantly resort to that shite.

And by the way, I still never did get my question answered as to how the Pied Piper, Hedley and yourself amongst others can quote article after article..
...... after article *yawn* from the most far far left columnists, commentators and reporters to support the Anti West agenda and that's OK  ??? not only that, seems quite welcomed! No bias there...right ::)

What question was this?

I quote from the mainstream media when I put something up here and I try and quote from an informed source - ie, someone who has some experience of the topic I am dealing with. You on the other hand scour the net looking for people as stupid as you are to quote and end up using quotes from a creationist site which intentionally doctored a quote to suit their own beliefs.

On September 09th on this thread you also intentionally twisted the words of the imam only for Deiseach to show you up for what you are when he posted a link to the interview in it entirety.

And then there is this beaut from the Flotila thread where in your warped attempt at expressing your "conflict" on the bombing by Israel of a UN school full of women and children (in reply to Seanie) you call the Palestinians "scum" and the Israeli don't bomb they "counter". Funny enough in that thread you did not reply to me when I pulled you up on it. So were all those women and children in the school scum?

Quote from: Tyrones own on September 02, 2010, 03:38:37 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 02, 2010, 09:39:23 AM
Shame on you myles - I'll have to explain it for you. You see because the shells landed outside the school compound its ok that they killed 40 odd people. Israel's military genius is so precise that the knew exactly where the shells would land and they surgically removed 40 odd terrorists who were standing around outside the school. You probably wouldn't understand how this was possible and it might look risky to have shells detonating so close to a school that people in the school compound get injured by the shrapnel but really this was a surgically targetted miliary exercise.   

Myles - there really is no point arguing with someone as deluded as our friend here but remember if this could happen to an Irish guy going over there, what hope is there for the millions who couldn't know any better.

You may be right seanie but i'm conflicted personally as to which is the more dispicable act; Palestinian scum using children and schools as shields from which to shell from or the Israeli's blindly countering
Just have him check his facts before making a fool out of himself next time

I put all the above here just in case anyone is in any doubt of what grade A gobshite you are. The founders of this state would turn in their grave to see that type of vermin this place has spawned by times, i'm just glad you are infesting another country now and not this one.

You sir need to get a life...  :D For the second or third time is it, anyone who uses children or hospitals as human shields are scum of the highest order,
the word counter was used correctly as in they targeted where they were being fired at from... point being, I was high lighting the ridiculous claim put forth by ye charlatans that they did not intentionally target a school that they had just ushered women and children in to, :o spectacular sensationalism would be an enormous understatement here!!!
And for the record it makes no difference to me that it was the IDF..could just as well have been the UDR firing at the RAA should they have been using children as shields...but of course you're blinded to this ::)
QuoteThe founders of this state would turn in their grave to see that type of vermin this place has spawned by times, i'm just glad you are infesting another country now and not this one.
Oh yea, that's another question that others including myself have asked here; what does being Irish entail, what is the code by which we must all think and where is it written... and yet another, who the Fcuk do ye think ye are and where do ye get off with your self righteous elitist view point?

The 'United Nations fact finding mission on the Gaza conflict' found no evidence that Palestinian armed groups used civilians as 'human shields'. Perhaps you have conducted an investigation of your own and found evidence to the contrary?

On the original topic of the thread, I find it highly amusing that America's latter day Know Nothings have paddy immigrants in their ranks.  :D

Of course they didn't as the UN people on the ground reported within the hour that there were no gunmen. But for the heck of it lets assume there were gunmen outside this school, is it still ok to bomb that area and slaughter innocent people? Of course its not.

But heh, TO is so stuck to find something out there to fit with his idiotic opinions that he is now using source material from a Creationism website who in turn are quoting the 1927 nobel winner for literature to back up their own opinions.

TO - I look at the Israeli conflict with palestine their brutal regime, their stealing of land, their starving of the palestinian people and the murdering of men women and children and it rings a bell with me in terms of Irelands history with the English. As far as I am concerned anyone who supports the oppression of a people (whether it be Israel on the Palestinians or Germany against the Jews) is not a republican and does not deserve to hold an Irish passport. But you are a US citizen now aren't you so I suppose you don't need to worry about that.

Quote from: Tyrones own on September 12, 2010, 01:09:14 AM
QuoteOh dear TO, busted wide open yet again. Putting up incomplete quotes - tut tut
Really Myles....sorry to burst your wee balloon but This is where I got the quote, now of course J can argue it on merit but certainly not
on any intentional misquoting on my part..busted, tut tut....I don't think so ;D
http://www.icr.org/article/was-charles-darwin-psychotic-study-his-mental-heal/

Hold on a minute there TO, you're not getting off that lightly. You wrote" But then ye boy's are so much smarter than I and read much better informed history books than I do..obviously   ". You're the one who arrogantly and sarcastically castigated others in advance for (presumably) relying on bogus or biased sources. You then present a quote, purportedly directly from Colp (page 228), in support of your claim about Darwin's alleged doubts about his work, by which you meant his theory of evolution by natural selection. It then turns out that you lifted it from a creationist piece, not from the book on Darwin's health, which you listed, down to the page, as the source, to support your position (and the creationist source is just an ad hominen piece on Darwin anyway – its says nothing worthy about his science).

When you are then caught out for using a heavily edited quote which misrepresents something Darwin said and which, in its original form, lends no support whatsoever to your position not only do you accept no responsibility for the "quote" (only then do you reveal the real source!) or acknowledge that it in no way supports your position! You then proceed to come back with more "evidence" from the same source , same author, that has just been discredited before your eyes (as if their general reputation should not have been enough to render them untrustworthy to anyone with a modicum of knowledge before the fact!). Just in case you don't know, the ICR, while trying to exhibit a veneer of scientific respectability, is so ridiculously mired in pseudoscience and deceit that even the State of Texas, not an unfriendly place for Christian fundamentalists, very recently denied their application for accreditation of their graduate degrees in "biology".

(And BTW, a small piece of advice TO: creationists are notorious for quote mining and using misrepresentation to support their positions. It's all they've got, as no real quotes or analysis of scientific data can help them. I strongly suggest you research quotes you find in creationist literature - it took me about 30 seconds on google to find that that quote you posted was fraudulent).

Quote from: Tyrones own on September 12, 2010, 01:09:14 AM
And the article on the Nobel for Anti Darwinism;
http://www.icr.org/article/creative-evolution-anti-darwin-theory-won-nobel/

Sorry girls....need to get up a little earlier it would seem ;)

Its been more than 80 years since this Nobel was awarded (incidentally, not in chemistry where the prizes with evolutionary implications have gone, but in literature!). At the time of the award, the modern synthesis was just beginning as the major groundbreaking work in genetics got under way. If you're as familiar with the history of evolutionary biology as you claim, I don't need to explain the implications of those developments with regards to sources of genetic variety. While this fellow's work may have been interesting at the time, given the knowledge of the time and the fact that natural selection was, at that point, yet to be affirmed in its current central role in evolution, his "vital impetus" was just a blind alley.

Not long after this, in case you are unfamiliar with the implications of the modern synthesis, natural selection was restored to its central position as the main driving force of evolution. While Darwin had very quickly convinced just about everyone that the evolution of life was a fact, the mechanism he proposed, natural selection, took 80 years to find serious scientific support.

Not sure why you relied on this Bergman, PhD, essay anyway... Quoting directly... "Bergson's theory was honored with a Nobel because it appeared to a large number of scholars to be a plausible explanation for the source of genetic variety which natural selection could fine tune. When it was discarded, those who put their faith in Bergson's theory were forced to postulate another mechanism."

Throw me a bone FFS, there's only one of me..I do have business to tend to ye know and don't have the luxury of being able to
hand off the baton like ye boy's can one after the other, neither am I unemployed like some here that have fcuk all better to do  :-*

Quote from: Tyrones own on September 14, 2010, 04:51:29 AM
Throw me a bone FFS, there's only one of me..I do have business to tend to ye know and don't have the luxury of being able to make any argument based on facts.
hand off the baton like ye boy's can one after the other, neither am I unemployed like some here that have fcuk all better to do  :-*

Fixed that for you.

Quote from: magpie seanie on September 14, 2010, 12:59:08 PM
Throw me a bone FFS, there's only one of me..I do have business to tend to ye know and don't have the luxury of being able to make any argument based on facts.

Fixed that for you.
How predictable......Man U thread quiet today or what?

Throw me a bone FFS, there's only one of me..I do have business to tend to ye know and don't have the luxury of being able to

Who isn't working TO? Can you name them or is this another bullshit statement you can't back up.

Hedley Lamarr

Is it any wonder she is called "Bush with lipstick" :D

Late Saturday afternoon, Sarah Palin hit President Barack Obama with a list of questions in a Facebook post titled "Legitimate Questions for the President." Obama said he supported the mosque Friday night at a White House celebration to mark Ramadan. Palin adamantly opposes the mosque.

In his speech, Obama said: "I understand the emotions that this issue engenders. Ground Zero is, indeed, hallowed ground."

Palin lashed out in her brief post. "Mr. President, should they or should they not build a mosque steps away from where radical Islamists killed 3000 people?" she wrote. "Please tell us your position. We all know that they have the right to do it, but should they? And, no, this is not above your pay grade."

The pay grade reference hearkened back to a 2008 campaign forum hosted by the Rev. Rick Warren between Obama and Sen. John McCain. Warren asked Obama, "Forty million abortions, at what point does a baby get human rights, in your view?"

Obama responded, "Well, you know, I think that whether you're looking at it from a theological perspective or a scientific perspective, answering that question with specificity, you know, is above my pay grade."

Last month, Palin asked New Yorkers and Muslims to reject construction of the mosque in a now infamous Facebook and Twitter post in which she used the word "refudiate" when she meant "repudiate."

On Friday night before Obama's speech, Palin tweeted, "Will Obama express US lingering pain& ask Muslims for tolerance by discouraging 9/11 mosque while he celebrates Islamic holy month tonight?"

Palin certainly got her answer from Obama and responded accordingly. She asked Obama why he wasn't encouraging the mosque developers to accept Gov. David Paterson's offer of state property as a possible site. Paterson's office would have to competitively sell state land by a bidding process.

"If the sponsors were looking for property anywhere at a distance that would be such that it would accommodate a better feeling among the people who are frustrated, I would look into trying to provide them with the state property they would need," Paterson said last week.

However, Paterson supports the project but says he is "sensitive" to those who oppose the project. New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg also supports the mosque.

Palin asked Obama, "Why are they apparently so set on building a mosque steps from what you have described, in agreement with me, as 'hallowed ground'? I believe these are legitimate questions to ask."

On Saturday before Palin's post, a CNN reporter asked Obama, who is visiting Florida, about his Friday night comments. Obama said, "My intention was to simply let people know what I thought, which was that in this country we treat everyone equally, in accordance with the law, regardless of race regardless of religion. I was not commenting and I will not comment on the wisdom of making a decision to put a mosque there."

Later in the day, White House deputy press secretary Bill Burton said Obama was not backing down on his Friday night remarks. Instead, Burton said, "It is not his role as president to pass judgment on every local project."

Burton also said that it was Obama's duty to stand up for the constitutional principle of religious freedom and equal treatment for all Americans.

"What he said last night, and reaffirmed today," Burton said, "is that if a church, a synagogue or a Hindu temple can be built on a site, you simply cannot deny that right to those who want to build a mosque."

In less than an hour after she published it, more than 5,000 people liked Palin's post. It had received thousands of comments.

One Palin follower wrote: "Doesn't this shlub Obama read history? The Muslims for centuries have built mosques on top of areas where there have won a major victory. They believe that killing over 3000 Americans is a major victory."

Another Palin supporter wrote, "Amen, Sister Sarah."
I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed:

Quote from: mylestheslasher on September 14, 2010, 06:24:05 PM
hand off the baton like ye boy's can one after the other
, neither am I unemployed like some here that have fcuk all better to do  :-*

Who isn't working TO? Can you name them or is this another bullshit statement you can't back up.
Can't name ye no.... it is an anonymous internet discussion board after all...hello! ::)
I do notice ye didn't touch the first point I made... how many of ye does it really take?
Sure look at this page alone FFS!
I am an extremely busy one man band here after all... which speaks volumes in and of itself
when even with the sheer numbers, ye still can't get it done 8)

Quote from: mylestheslasher on September 12, 2010, 08:32:55 PM
Taking quotes from icr.org and you think they would be a fair commentator. I hear there are some good quotes over on WWW.Darwinissatan.com too.
Now Now Myles just cause ye jumped in with the two wellies once again to get the quick boot in and subsequently got the trousers pulled

Why do ye think I didn't post the link to begin with...the predictability of ye ladies jumping all over it for being biased is almost as certain as the arrogance
If it's not a crazy right wing Fox news link I'm quoting or drawing my views from it's something else  ::)... it's pretty clear the barrels empty when ye have to constantly resort to that shite.

And by the way, I still never did get my question answered as to how the Pied Piper, Hedley and yourself amongst others can quote article after article..
...... after article *yawn* from the most far far left columnists, commentators and reporters to support the Anti West agenda and that's OK  ??? not only that, seems quite welcomed! No bias there...right ::)

What question was this?

I quote from the mainstream media when I put something up here and I try and quote from an informed source - ie, someone who has some experience of the topic I am dealing with. You on the other hand scour the net looking for people as stupid as you are to quote and end up using quotes from a creationist site which intentionally doctored a quote to suit their own beliefs.

On September 09th on this thread you also intentionally twisted the words of the imam only for Deiseach to show you up for what you are when he posted a link to the interview in it entirety.

And then there is this beaut from the Flotila thread where in your warped attempt at expressing your "conflict" on the bombing by Israel of a UN school full of women and children (in reply to Seanie) you call the Palestinians "scum" and the Israeli don't bomb they "counter". Funny enough in that thread you did not reply to me when I pulled you up on it. So were all those women and children in the school scum?

Shame on you myles - I'll have to explain it for you. You see because the shells landed outside the school compound its ok that they killed 40 odd people. Israel's military genius is so precise that the knew exactly where the shells would land and they surgically removed 40 odd terrorists who were standing around outside the school. You probably wouldn't understand how this was possible and it might look risky to have shells detonating so close to a school that people in the school compound get injured by the shrapnel but really this was a surgically targetted miliary exercise.   

Myles - there really is no point arguing with someone as deluded as our friend here but remember if this could happen to an Irish guy going over there, what hope is there for the millions who couldn't know any better.

You may be right seanie but i'm conflicted personally as to which is the more dispicable act; Palestinian scum using children and schools as shields from which to shell from or the Israeli's blindly countering

I put all the above here just in case anyone is in any doubt of what grade A gobshite you are. The founders of this state would turn in their grave to see that type of vermin this place has spawned by times, i'm just glad you are infesting another country now and not this one.

You sir need to get a life...  :D For the second or third time is it, anyone who uses children or hospitals as human shields are scum of the highest order,
the word counter was used correctly as in they targeted where they were being fired at from... point being, I was high lighting the ridiculous claim put forth by ye charlatans that they did not intentionally target a school that they had just ushered women and children in to, :o spectacular sensationalism would be an enormous understatement here!!!
And for the record it makes no difference to me that it was the IDF..could just as well have been the UDR firing at the RAA should they have been using children as shields...but of course you're blinded to this ::)
QuoteThe founders of this state would turn in their grave to see that type of vermin this place has spawned by times, i'm just glad you are infesting another country now and not this one.
Oh yea, that's another question that others including myself have asked here; what does being Irish entail, what is the code by which we must all think and where is it written... and yet another, who the Fcuk do ye think ye are and where do ye get off with your self righteous elitist view point?

The 'United Nations fact finding mission on the Gaza conflict' found no evidence that Palestinian armed groups used civilians as 'human shields'. Perhaps you have conducted an investigation of your own and found evidence to the contrary?

On the original topic of the thread, I find it highly amusing that America's latter day Know Nothings have paddy immigrants in their ranks.  :D

Of course they didn't as the UN people on the ground reported within the hour that there were no gunmen. But for the heck of it lets assume there were gunmen outside this school, is it still ok to bomb that area and slaughter innocent people? Of course its not.

But heh, TO is so stuck to find something out there to fit with his idiotic opinions that he is now using source material from a Creationism website who in turn are quoting the 1927 nobel winner for literature to back up their own opinions.

TO - I look at the Israeli conflict with palestine their brutal regime, their stealing of land, their starving of the palestinian people and the murdering of men women and children and it rings a bell with me in terms of Irelands history with the English. As far as I am concerned anyone who supports the oppression of a people (whether it be Israel on the Palestinians or Germany against the Jews) is not a republican and does not deserve to hold an Irish passport. But you are a US citizen now aren't you so I suppose you don't need to worry about that.
And is it still OK to use civilians as human shields...of course it's not !!
here ye go..ye really don't have to look very hard at all to find that there
are indeed two sides to all of this...if indeed that's what you're interested in ::)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=70Oqo_wmuGo&feature=related

PadraicHenryPearse

this thread has gone way off topic.

Does Hamas use human shields? In the sense that they fire rockets from civilian areas and hide among civilian population then yes they use human shields. It is laughable though that the Israeli MFA should be using the Geneva convention and International law in their videos when they use collective punishment, carry out extra-judical killings and remain and continue to build on Palestinian land and thats just a few.

Getting back to the Mosque - i see they found a friend of the Inam who is a "truther" Why this is news i don't know it has nothing to do with the Inam and his opinions.  They also has the guy who gave money to an a childrens home, and the money might have gone to Hamas, funny nobody mentions that Israel was funding Hamas in its earlier days and that was ok.

Questions to everyone - Are Muslims Collectively guilty for the actions of Islamic Terrorists?
                                   Is ground zero hallowed ground?
                                   How big is ground zero?
                                   Those who don't agree with the Mosque (for ease of use) how close is acceptable?
                                   What is the name of the Centre?
                                   What is a victory Mosque?
                                   Can you be American and Muslim?
                                   Who has more rights in America an African American, a Jewish American, an Irish American,  a Muslim America or anyone who lost a loved one, family member or was a first responder on 9/11?
                                    Is it better to be insenstive to American Muslims than the 9/11 familes (for ease of use)

Arthur_Friend

Quote from: Tyrones own on September 15, 2010, 12:54:46 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on September 12, 2010, 08:32:55 PM

What question was this?

And is it still OK to use civilians as human shields...of course it's not !!
here ye go..ye really don't have to look very hard at all to find that there
are indeed two sides to all of this...if indeed that's what you're interested in ::)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=70Oqo_wmuGo&feature=related

Is that the best you can come up with? From the Israel Ministry of Foreign Affairs.......FFS :D :D

The 'United Nations fact finding mission on the Gaza conflict' found no evidence that Palestinian armed groups used civilians as 'human shields'.

Sarah Palin is one scary, scary person and as for her followers? A victory mosque? These people need locking up.

Quote from: magpie seanie on September 15, 2010, 08:54:49 AM
Sarah Palin is one scary, scary person and as for her followers? A victory mosque? These people need locking up.

People who preach intolerance usual come a position of complete ignorance. By spreading their version of total intolerance, Pastor Jones and Palin and the like are every bit as dangerous as the various Fundamentalist Islamic Clerics on the other side.