Antrim Hurling

Started by milltown row, January 26, 2007, 11:21:26 AM

Quote from: 4father on March 06, 2011, 04:30:54 PM
Any truth that Sambo is taking gortnamona?  Couldnt see it like

I hear he's taking them and Ricky McCann taking the pre-season stuff to get them fit. Intermediate this year again and may have a go at it. Will be tough for them as I think this is the most competitive championship.

4father

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 06, 2011, 04:33:23 PM
Quote from: 4father on March 06, 2011, 04:30:54 PM
Any truth that Sambo is taking gortnamona?  Couldnt see it like

Here he's taking then and Ricky McCann taking the pre-season stuff to get them fit. Intermediate this year again and may have a go at it. Will be tough for them as I think this is the most competitive championship.

Ricky is a Gortnamona handballer though isnt he?

They've had some managers thrown at them in football too.  Mickey Culbert, Brian White and now Sambo in for hurling.  Somebody is doing their work up there.  Think they struggle with a big dual (and drinking) problem though or there must be some other reason because they have been very decent at juvenile level for years :-\

If he does well with the Moaners, division 2 will be very competitive.  Would have to fancy them for intermediate, thought they were senior until i saw the draws

múinteoirmór

Well, another Moaner with the Moaners then! I think being a drinker, is a prerequisite to play for the Moaners!
We haven't gone away ya know!!!!  And just as long as we beat the Huns (Johns) Gerrys wee team!

4father

Quote from: múinteoirmór on March 06, 2011, 07:27:59 PM
Well, another Moaner with the Moaners then! I think being a drinker, is a prerequisite to play for the Moaners!

A bit rich coming from a Rossa man :-) Why do you need to be so harsh on other teams/players/gaels?

drici

Antrim man in Athletic Grounds the day was telling us abouit a cracker match yesterday in Casement between Antrim and Offaly in Minor - Leinster League.
Don't see anything on your County site.
What are your other fixtures in the Leinster Minor League?
Are youse having a different team in the Ulster Minor Hurling League as opposed to the team youse are playing in the Leinster League?

drici

Antrim man in Athletic Grounds the day was telling us about a cracker match yesterday in Casement between Antrim and Offaly in Minor - Leinster League.
Are youse having a different team in the Ulster Minor Hurling League as opposed to the team youse are playing in the Leinster League?

Agus
'If anyone cant make it to the tyrone game why not make an evening of it in your social club, the game os live on tg4, fancy our chanes v tyrone this time, we keep going forward and they appear to be going backward we have to beat them sooner or later!'

And none of this type of rubbish from your County site either.

Last Man

Quote from: drici on March 06, 2011, 11:13:11 PM
Antrim man in Athletic Grounds the day was telling us abouit a cracker match yesterday in Casement between Antrim and Offaly in Minor - Leinster League.
You wouldn't be at the ould sh!t stirrin would ye ;)
A game at full strength Antrim should have easily won but too many many fringe players fielding and out of their depth to be honest and others well out of position. The guy playing in goals normally plays mid field or half fwd FFS. A last minute gather up unfortunately and in fairness Crossey wouldn't know any of these lads and had to run with what he had. Poor start for us but could be pulled round yet.

drici

LEINSTER MINOR HURLING LEAGUE 2011
Rd1 (Group 1)
Wexford v Carlow
4.3.2011  Oulart The Ballagh
7.30pm

(Group 1)
Antrim v Offaly
Casement Park
4.00pm

Rd 2 (Group 1)
Carlow v Antim
3.00pm

(Group 1)
Offaly v Wexford
4.00pm

Rd 3 (Group 1)
Wexford v Antrim
4.00pm

(Group 1)
Carlow v Offaly
4-00pm

Ulster Minor Hurling League
Division One
Saturday 12th March
Derry v Antrim
12-00 noon   Maghera
John Devlin
Down v Armagh
12-00 noon   Páirc Esler, Newry
Liam Mc Auley

Saturday 19th March
Derry v Down
12-00 noon   Ballinascreen
Colum Cunning
Armagh v Antrim
12-00 noon   Athletic Grounds
James Clarke

Saturday 26th March
Armagh v Derry
12-00 noon   Keady
Colum Cunning
Antrim v Down
2-00pm   Casement Park
John Devlin

Saturday 2nd April
Ulster Minor Hurling League Division 1 Final
12-00 noon   1st Placed Team v 2nd Placed Team 

pdiddy

Quote from the Antrim Website - Antrim's cause became even more difficult when centre-forward Eddie McCloskey, playing in the county colours for the first time this season, received a straight red card in what can only be described as a disgraceful decision. McCloskey won possession about fifty metres from the Laois goal but as he went to fend off a tackle by Laois midfielder Sean Burke he appeared to connect with Burke's helmet. At worst it deserved a yellow card, and even that was highly debatable, but to everyone's amazement match referee Colm Lyons produced a straight red.

Anyone at the game/see the incident?  Apparently Eddie asked the ref why he got sent off and the ref told him he could read it in his report :-\
When a team loses, there's always a row at half time, but when they win, its an inspirational speech

I remember an incident in the OLG match where he looked for the contact and fended a defender off with a hand off to the face. Free was given then.

It is a trait of his to look for the contact first and then to get the shot away.
Not saying thats what happened here just have noticed that about him before.

Quote from: pdiddy on March 07, 2011, 01:31:50 PM
Quote from the Antrim Website - Antrim's cause became even more difficult when centre-forward Eddie McCloskey, playing in the county colours for the first time this season, received a straight red card in what can only be described as a disgraceful decision. McCloskey won possession about fifty metres from the Laois goal but as he went to fend off a tackle by Laois midfielder Sean Burke he appeared to connect with Burke's helmet. At worst it deserved a yellow card, and even that was highly debatable, but to everyone's amazement match referee Colm Lyons produced a straight red.

Anyone at the game/see the incident?  Apparently Eddie asked the ref why he got sent off and the ref told him he could read it in his report :-\

In other words he hadn't decided yet!

Was told by a player that it was harsh. As said, fending off player after catching ball

Irish News report said it was very harsh. Reporter likely to be less biased than the Antrim webmaster.

That sort of shite sickens my hole. If true, a boy like that shouldn't be refereeing.

múinteoirmór

Quote from: johnneycool on March 07, 2011, 02:36:54 PM

In other words he hadn't decided yet!
Typical, just like all referees, egotistical shower of boll****'s.  I could think of a few of our own refs in Antrim who would have replied with the same answer. No wonder our refs tend to get frequent low level games, ulster league, Div 3 & Div 4 NHL. Says it all, if you ask me. Maybe they are just not up to the mark!!!  That boll***s we had last year and our clubs current 'whistle blower' dont appear to be up to much either.  A shower of shagg*** wasters.  I think it's time for some new refs blood.  Just a pity I am too old!

As an example!

13.03.2011 (Sun)Allianz Hurling Leagues
Round 4
Roinn 3A
Aughrim 12.45 Cill Maintáin v Doire
Referee Paud O'Dwyer (Ceatharlach)

Páirc Tailteann 12.45 An Mhí v Ard Mhacha
Referee Owen Elliott (Aontroim)
Newbridge 12.45 Cill Dara v Londain
Referee Patrick Murphy (Ceatharlach)

Roinn 3B
Letterkenny 2.30 Dún na nGall v Fingal
Referee Eamon Hasson (Doire)

Tubbercurry 2.30 Sligeach v Muineachán
Referee Eoin Shaughnessy (Gaillimh)

Dowdallshill 2.30 An Lú v Maigh Eo
Dundalk Referee Sean Cleere (Cill Chainnigh)

Ros Comáin Bye

Roinn 4
Liatroim 2.30 South Down v Liatroim
Referee Ciaran Groome (Uíbh Fhailí)

Longford Slashers 2.30 An Longfort v An Cabhán
Referee Jason O Mahoney (Luimneach)

Dungannon 2.30 Tír Eoghain v Fear Manach
Referee Garrett Duffy (Aontroim)

And that bollocks of ours is not even on the list!
We haven't gone away ya know!!!!  And just as long as we beat the Huns (Johns) Gerrys wee team!

múinteoirmór

Quote from: saffron sam2 on March 07, 2011, 02:46:23 PM

Irish News report said it was very harsh. Reporter likely to be less biased than the Antrim webmaster.

That sort of shite sickens my hole. If true, a boy like that shouldn't be refereeing.
Well said, sam man!