Antrim Hurling

Started by milltown row, January 26, 2007, 11:21:26 AM

Hirty Darry

Quote from: Seamroga in exile on October 24, 2016, 10:00:56 AM
Quote from: Hirty Darry on October 24, 2016, 09:52:52 AM
Quote from: Seamroga in exile on October 24, 2016, 09:24:43 AM
Quote from: Hirty Darry on October 24, 2016, 09:17:39 AM
Where did things go wrong for Loughgiel SIE?

Going by anyone you talked to from Loughgiel, this was a great team with young players coming through, the fittest and toughest team in a long time...

James Campbell even made comparison to the greats of 2012

Just seemed to be a formality from the pre game chat...

Any thoughts?
We weren't at the races from the start. As hard as it is to say it the hungrier team won it. Slaughtneil were first to every breaking ball and took their chances well. We didn't. Even in the last few minutes when we pulled it back to 3 points we hit 3 wides. Winning the championship this year was a bonus for us considering the strength of Cushendall. A couple of young boys joined the panel this year and there'll be a few more next year. All's well Hirty. No need to worry.  ;)

Glad to see you have acknowledged what many did not want to admit.  (I suppose it's easy to do so now they haven't won Ulster). Loughgiel beat the best Cushendall team available on the day but it was under strengthed. 

Didn't make the game but from what I have seen and heard there are a lot of things to be worried about from your perspective. 

1) Slow start for the fourth game running...
2) A corner back needed replaced, the County Corner back is on the bench - what a luxury.  The County Corner back is later in the game put up front ahead of a bench full of forwards???
3) The Chosen One, who has when supplied the ball, scored, laid off or attracted a foul - from what I hear one of the more productive forwards - is taken off when you are 3/4 pts down??
4) No apparent tactics.
5) Out fought, out muscled, out played, our smarted ...

You need the players to perform but that is down to them but when you have as quoted to me "the best panel in Ulster", perhaps the managements inexperience has showed.

Please correct me if I'm wrong here SIE, some of this second hand info..
a lot of things went wrong yesterday. I'm not going to pick out individuals to slag off as you'd like. Collectively we weren't good enough. Simple as that.

We won antrim at a canter though. That's more worrying as an Antrim supporter.

Canter??

Big statement SIE.

Haven't the b@lls to make such statements before these games, always playing it down, only a puck of the ball in the two teams - as there was!

How does a puck of a ball translate to a canter?

Just answer my previous post, are these points right or wrong?

Come on SIE.  Give an opinion, tell us how where you think it went wrong..

Going by anyone you talked to from Loughgiel, this was a great team with young players coming through, the fittest and toughest team in a long time...

Any thoughts?
We weren't at the races from the start. As hard as it is to say it the hungrier team won it. Slaughtneil were first to every breaking ball and took their chances well. We didn't. Even in the last few minutes when we pulled it back to 3 points we hit 3 wides. Winning the championship this year was a bonus for us considering the strength of Cushendall. A couple of young boys joined the panel this year and there'll be a few more next year. All's well Hirty. No need to worry.  ;)

Glad to see you have acknowledged what many did not want to admit.  (I suppose it's easy to do so now they haven't won Ulster). Loughgiel beat the best Cushendall team available on the day but it was under strengthed. 

Didn't make the game but from what I have seen and heard there are a lot of things to be worried about from your perspective. 

2) A corner back needed replaced, the County Corner back is on the bench - what a luxury.  The County Corner back is later in the game put up front ahead of a bench full of forwards???
3) The Chosen One, who has when supplied the ball, scored, laid off or attracted a foul - from what I hear one of the more productive forwards - is taken off when you are 3/4 pts down??
4) No apparent tactics.

You need the players to perform but that is down to them but when you have as quoted to me "the best panel in Ulster", perhaps the managements inexperience has showed.

a lot of things went wrong yesterday. I'm not going to pick out individuals to slag off as you'd like. Collectively we weren't good enough. Simple as that.

If your Antrim win was 'at a canter' then youse were hammered out the gate yesterday.

Seamroga in exile

Quote from: Franko on October 24, 2016, 10:36:17 AM

Any thoughts?

4) No apparent tactics.

If your Antrim win was 'at a canter' then youse were hammered out the gate yesterday.
that would be the point. Please don't take issue when there isn't an issue to take.
"What we've got here is failure to communicate"

Quote from: theskull1 on October 24, 2016, 09:43:36 AM
dn't be more delighted for Slaughtneil in being able to honor a true volunteers memory and that is my overriding feeling on the subject (just so you know)

Apologies to an extent Skull, but as much as McShane is a Ballycastle man, does he not reside in that area now? I've heard of him taking teams in that area before he went back to Ballycastle for a few years, with all the traveling that entails.

FWIW,
I'm also against outside managers, and I can't see it being an issue for as we just don't have the coupons to do it, plus if we did I'd prefer the money to be spent elsewhere in terms of developing underage teams and facilities. The figures I hear bandied about that some Down football clubs are paying for managers and backroom teams is staggering and bordering on madness.

On the Jonny Campbell thing, give the lad a break, its his first year, he'll learn a lot from yesterday, more than he'd learn from a win in fairness, but I think he should have taken a year or two away from the team before taking up the reigns as there's too many lads he's played with through the years and the dynamic has to change once he takes up the managerial role and that can be difficult.
He was an intelligent hurler in his day and he'll make a good manager once he learns the ropes.

Hirty Darry

Quote from: Seamroga in exile on October 24, 2016, 10:37:31 AM
Quote from: Franko on October 24, 2016, 10:36:17 AM

Any thoughts?

4) No apparent tactics.

that would be the point. Please don't take issue when there isn't an issue to take.

Cushendall will be stronger next year, and have proven when at full strength they can beat Slaughtneil.

Not that worrying all in all.

Quote from: Seamroga in exile on October 24, 2016, 09:48:58 AM
So basically you're saying no one is allowed to have an opinion on your opinion skull? If you don't want your opinion scrutinised don't post it.

Please elaborate on your "binary world" theory.

You asserted that success is success...End of. What is there that needs elaborating?

No idea what the first sentence is in reference to.

The Stallion

Quote from: NAG1 on October 24, 2016, 09:15:10 AM
Quote from: Seamroga in exile on October 24, 2016, 08:51:05 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on October 24, 2016, 08:10:14 AM
I'm certain 't**ser' was the 16th man for both the hurling and camogie sides and honoring his memory drove them onto victory and for that you'd have to be thoroughly delighted for them. His family will take great comfort from the emotion expressed on the field of play.

There's certainly a lot to look up to in regard to Slaughtneil as a club especially how well they manage both codes but it would be say that hurling, having no specialists (clubs with single code players dedicated to the small ball), we would not be comparing apples with apples if we were looking at how dual clubs need to prepare for championship in Antrim. Regardless, they got the balance right and look to be able to hold onto a high number of adult players,

Final point I feel I have to make when so many are hailing their success as a club (important to be consistent in regard to these matters). Slaughtneil use outside managers. I'd be fundamentally against such practice as It's robbing Peter to pay Paul. Other clubs suffer the blow as result. Important to remember that.
would that be negative narrative skull? Success is sucess. End of.

And there we have it, win at all costs mentality.

Skull is bang on with the outside managers practice. Great achievement for Slaughtneil, but would be an even more impressive one had their own got them there.

Completely agree with this

north_antrim_hound

In view that the discussion is mostly centered on the outside management
Does most posters think MC Shane ( and big hippy )is the difference between Sneil winning and losing yesterday
I don't think so.
There's a man with a mullet going mad with a mallet in Millets

Hectic

I think it is a poor dig citing outside management.  Christ folks they are not the biggest club out there catchment wise but yet are competing in both codes and have just lifted the Ulster hurling title and some are getting hung up about outside coaches - what is the agenda here? - next step to poo poo LGs recent AI because Jim Nelson was the brains behind it??  :-\

Quote from: Hectic on October 24, 2016, 11:55:27 AM
I think it is a poor dig citing outside management.  Christ folks they are not the biggest club out there catchment wise but yet are competing in both codes and have just lifted the Ulster hurling title and some are getting hung up about outside coaches - what is the agenda here? - next step to poo poo LGs recent AI because Jim Nelson was the brains behind it??  :-\

I think it is a more than fair observation.

No one is running down their achievement.

Na Glinntí Glasa

no one would diss the success gained by a club from bringing an outside manager in its rather that some (me included) dont like an outside manager within a club.

There are numerous people in the club who would and could step up to the mantel to bring success to a club at senior level but too many clubs seem to prefer to splash cash at someone who, well lets be real about it, have no emotional connection to that club and will not care at the end of the season if the club decides to go with someone else.

I like the way Johnny stepped in to take the job and i admire him for wanting it. He will learn as he goes thats for sure and this year will be a great asset to him for next season. I know ive been at it for a few years now and am always looking at others and how they approach a team. The ability to learn and know when your wrong is what makes you better the next time.
hurl like f**k boi!

Seamroga in exile

Now, that's bang on. I'd go further to say that they're more than competing, they're winning. In three codes.
"What we've got here is failure to communicate"

north_antrim_hound

I wouldnt compare SNeil acheviement to LG all Ireland sucees
I feel SNeil could have won yesterday with in house personnel
LG would not have won without Nelsons input

And nobody on here is poo pooing anyone who wins Ulster or all Ireland's
Any club does it has to be admired

Brian Cody couldn't go up and take the Longford hurlers and win an all Ireland but the current Longford manager might not have the know how to win an all Ireland with the current Tipp panel
Comparisons on this subject have to many variables

SNeil have a serious bunch of players hence the dual success ( with two different management set ups I presume )

Fair play to them and hard luck LG. you just met an emotional juggernaut yesterday and a wee bit of complacency about what you where up against
Still the standard in a Antrim that's for sure

There's a man with a mullet going mad with a mallet in Millets

btdtgtt

No we poo pooed LGs recent AI because they didn't play any decent teams  ;D