Antrim Hurling

Started by milltown row, January 26, 2007, 11:21:26 AM

milltown row

we done the same against Gorts in te football at least seven starters off the team and we still stuffed a nearly full stregth team.

to be fair we did this for the creegan lads that turned up.

but regarding the group games where they pulled from a hat as who was meeting who during the groups stages, venues dates and times? like dunloy last night we also have to go down to Lougheil and play a game for 6.45.

i'm told that this will be the last time they will go with the group stages so an open draw could be the way next year. dunloy could get cushedall in the first round, just as we got Cargin in the football last year.

Big Bob

Can anyone tell me who played in what positions in the Rossa v St. Johns Championship game a few weeks ago?

aontroim

u21 match is off tonight as a mark of respect for Paul McKillen's brother Billy.

NAG

Johnnies any chance against Cushendall at the weekend?

suppose with the system wouldnt matter anyway

NAG

What way are cushendall lining out these days have the got K.McKeegan centre half?

Have seen them playing him at midfield for them def less effective there.

milltown row

st johns stuffed then :'(

what happened to all that training Jonty was doing with them, three nights a week and training for over two hours specialist in helping out training weekends.

good conditions and anybody got a match report?

ballycastle might have a chance now after that poor show.

Balboa

Quote from: milltown row on August 27, 2007, 10:50:55 AM
st johns stuffed then :'(

what happened to all that training Jonty was doing with them, three nights a week and training for over two hours specialist in helping out training weekends.

good conditions and anybody got a match report?

ballycastle might have a chance now after that poor show.

What was the score Milltown, i have said it a few times but i dont know why St Johns are considered "up and coming" or "dark horses" this year, is it on the basis of successful U-14 teams?? We beat Lamh Dhearg handily yesterday in Championship, 4-15 to 0-13, we tried to get them to play for league points but they wouldnt. It was a good enough performance after the debacle against Loughguile, in fairness Lamh's are very poor. Tosh didnt play because of flu so other fellas had to take responsibility.

milltown row

3-14 to 0-8 Chushendall had 9 scorers and the Johnnies had 3.

thats the most Lamhs have scored in the championship i think. some teams play better when their top man is away.

we have lost a lot of players this year, Johnny Flynn, Andy McLean, Aidso Gallagher, Ciaran O'Grady but the lads that have fitted in, have done well and seem commited.

we are down in Loughgiel this friday night, tough encounter for us lose and we are out. some people have said our game against Dunloy was poor but not too many of the lesser clubs have got that close to Dunloy in the championship in the last few years.

Balboa does everything still go through Winker regarding scores? is DimDim still suspended?

Balboa

He is still their main man, Dim Dim was suspended against us but not sure if he is back. It was hard to tell from our match with them cos all the forwards had a field day but the truth is somewhere inbetween. If you nullify Winker, and perhaps try and rile him  ;) you will be halfway there. They seem to have spread their scorers about a bit more this year but i have a feeling when hardy comes to hardy against Dall or Dunloy they will rely on Winker heavily. Aidso Gallagher played against us earlier in the year, is he just going with the footballers now?

milltown row

he's played 2 games for us this year, that was one,  he came on as a sub for the Lamhs match but has not committed at all.

we need all our main players to be available, you dont train you dont start, some players like CJ it's harder as he has had a long season. but others have just taken things for granted over the years.

we think we are within 7/8 points of this match and anything else will be a good performance.

if the panel we had committed, then i still believe we would beat some of the top teams.

but as yesterday showed, football is on the march again, i think if our hurlers had have played Creegan yesterday they would have won.

Lamh Dearg were really poor yesterday. It beggars belief that they beat the Dall last year. They never looked like winning but even then Oisins still made hard work of it for the first half. The Oisins disciplinary problems continued as another man walked the line yesterday although I didn't think it was a bad strike.

North Antrim

Was around town last night, and was very annoyed to see a number of our players on the lash - 5 days before a make or break championshipmatch against St Johns.....and no doubt they will be on it today. It beggars belief imo. Cant understand the mentality of our lads.

Balboa - was there any intensity to your match with lamh dearg. Cushendall seem to be powering past everyone at a frightening pace

milltown row

all our players were on the lash last night, even the non footballers. they will be grand for friday though fit buggers the lot of them.

drinks bans are daft, you cant impose them properly and whats stopping them from going elsewhere to have a sneaky pint or two.

as long as they miss it 3/4 days before a big game then as long as they are fit and train during the week they should have no problems/ill effects.

who have Cushendall really played? now i know north antrim your going to say they stuffed us (ballycastle) but the group they are in is a soft touch for them. two years in a row they have had that type of group. Loughgiel would prefer to meet them in the semi final i would imagine. Dunloy would fancy themselves if they got to the final as they have not lost too many finals and Cushendall well they are the team to beat.

have not play the Dall this year so cant comment how well they going

Balboa

Quote from: North Antrim on August 27, 2007, 01:12:03 PM
Was around town last night, and was very annoyed to see a number of our players on the lash - 5 days before a make or break championshipmatch against St Johns.....and no doubt they will be on it today. It beggars belief imo. Cant understand the mentality of our lads.

Balboa - was there any intensity to your match with lamh dearg. Cushendall seem to be powering past everyone at a frightening pace

Not really, it was pretty low key. Was level at HT but we pulled away fairly well, both teams wanted to win and it got hot and heavy in 2nd half for a while but we were always in control. 

NAG

Watched the Johnnies at the weekend as well, so disappointed. I know and take on board Balboa's point that they were getting big press for doing nothing, but to me naomh eoin are supposed to have four or five county standard players on their team.

Can anyone please tell me for the love of God what Barry McFall is doing on that county team , he played middle of the park and dont think he struck the ball once, AD was lording it. Simon McCory, Colm McFall these are all players expected to be on the county panel next year, Simon McCory is so rough around the edges it is untrue, if they cant live with the middling pace of that game what chance do they stand on the next level?

Cushendall looked impressive enough moved the ball well but still think they are beatable!