Antrim Hurling

Started by milltown row, January 26, 2007, 11:21:26 AM

Quote from: theskull1 on September 25, 2012, 11:10:47 AM
Quote from: btdtgtt on September 25, 2012, 10:24:24 AM
I don't care what divisional board St Endas are aligned with - its simple geography that Glengormley is in south antrim and look at a map you'll see its in Belfast.
Using your line of thought the three Ards clubs are suddenly to inform the ordnance survey and croke park that they are now antrim clubs.

Altho your futile point does highlight the inadequacies of the county board to administer a genuine leage structure.
Also North Antrim certainly didnt treat the clubs who joined their leagues very well - they made them play all games away from home. O rather than claim a team - the glensmen were the ones to differentiate!

I could be pedantic and claim the nobody want the Endas last man - but since you'se are from Belfast I will lend my support!

So your logic is that St Endas are a SA team based on geographical location but Ahoghill (who are a SW Antrim team going by your same logic) are a North Antrim team.  ::)

And if we're going with the whole geographical argument then StEndas have the advantage in terms of handiness to the pitch which makes you point ....well pointless  :)

FYI Rossa played their NA league games home and away this year and will do the same in the years to come. St Galls will eventually do the same (actually I know our club travelled to milltown out of courtesy to play U12's this year in the league). I don't think you'd hear anybody in those clubs stating that NA have treated them unfairly. Both clubs are well respected in North Antrim.

Whilst you vaguely blame the county board for not running all county leagues, North Antrim are getting on with it. Why dont you play a part in administrating in SA and help improve the juvenile structures up there rather than snipe about those in a different geographical location to yourself who are trying to get something done. Reality is that regional league at Juvenile level is not a bad thing. NA just exposes SA's poor efforts at orginising and running the game collectively.

I think the elephant in the room is why do Belfast teams feel the need to go to North Antrim regional board for games?

Are South Antrim doing something different, is it time for All county leagues further down the levels?

Last Man

Quote from: johnneycool on September 25, 2012, 11:29:05 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on September 25, 2012, 11:10:47 AM
Quote from: btdtgtt on September 25, 2012, 10:24:24 AM
I don't care what divisional board St Endas are aligned with - its simple geography that Glengormley is in south antrim and look at a map you'll see its in Belfast.
Using your line of thought the three Ards clubs are suddenly to inform the ordnance survey and croke park that they are now antrim clubs.

Altho your futile point does highlight the inadequacies of the county board to administer a genuine leage structure.
Also North Antrim certainly didnt treat the clubs who joined their leagues very well - they made them play all games away from home. O rather than claim a team - the glensmen were the ones to differentiate!

I could be pedantic and claim the nobody want the Endas last man - but since you'se are from Belfast I will lend my support!

So your logic is that St Endas are a SA team based on geographical location but Ahoghill (who are a SW Antrim team going by your same logic) are a North Antrim team.  ::)

And if we're going with the whole geographical argument then StEndas have the advantage in terms of handiness to the pitch which makes you point ....well pointless  :)

FYI Rossa played their NA league games home and away this year and will do the same in the years to come. St Galls will eventually do the same (actually I know our club travelled to milltown out of courtesy to play U12's this year in the league). I don't think you'd hear anybody in those clubs stating that NA have treated them unfairly. Both clubs are well respected in North Antrim.

Whilst you vaguely blame the county board for not running all county leagues, North Antrim are getting on with it. Why dont you play a part in administrating in SA and help improve the juvenile structures up there rather than snipe about those in a different geographical location to yourself who are trying to get something done. Reality is that regional league at Juvenile level is not a bad thing. NA just exposes SA's poor efforts at orginising and running the game collectively.

I think the elephant in the room is why do Belfast teams feel the need to go to North Antrim regional board for games?

Are South Antrim doing something different, is it time for All county leagues further down the levels?
Not yet if ever JC, grass roots development needs looked at first. Progressive city clubs have just resorted to doing their own thing.

Antrim Coaster

I think there is a certain amount of apathy towards North Antrim within certain South Antrim elements at county board level. South Antrim organises hurling and football compared to hurling only underage leagues, tournaments etc. organised by North Antrim. I think in the past the county board have attempted to clip the wings of the North Antrim Board. However North Antrim do run well organised underage blitzes, leagues and championships as well as organising the Feis weekend in conjunction with Feis na nGleann etc. a few of the Belfast clubs are now attempting to enter N.A for hurling purposes.

Quote from: Antrim Coaster on September 25, 2012, 11:46:39 AM
I think there is a certain amount of apathy towards North Antrim within certain South Antrim elements at county board level. South Antrim organises hurling and football compared to hurling only underage leagues, tournaments etc. organised by North Antrim. I think in the past the county board have attempted to clip the wings of the North Antrim Board. However North Antrim do run well organised underage blitzes, leagues and championships as well as organising the Feis weekend in conjunction with Feis na nGleann etc. a few of the Belfast clubs are now attempting to enter N.A for hurling purposes.

I think that is a total over statement.

Maninthemiddle

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 25, 2012, 09:37:27 AM
Loughgiel will be happy with Garrets appointment I'd say

More than his/your own club from what I hear MR2, get more support from a pair of socks! Nice way to go out though, good luck to him Im sure he,ll be glad to leave it all behind him after this weekend.

Antrim Coaster

Quote from: NAG1 on September 25, 2012, 01:48:46 PM
Quote from: Antrim Coaster on September 25, 2012, 11:46:39 AM

I think that is a total over statement.

Probably the main reason that Belfast clubs are trying to get into N.A.

Quote from: Maninthemiddle on September 25, 2012, 01:55:45 PM

More than his/your own club from what I hear MR2, get more support from a pair of socks! Nice way to go out though, good luck to him Im sure he,ll be glad to leave it all behind him after this weekend.

Support? What ya on about? I referee and I'm looking for support in what sense? Anyone refereeing to get support is a fool. You referee cause you want to, a bit like playing hurling and football.

btdtgtt

Tryin to catch up here lads bear with me!

Skull - I hear what you say on Aghohill, think I posted afterwards saying I meant rural rather than NA. My point was more on St Endas leaving the city (where they are from ha ha!)

NAG - I do still think it was out of order asking the city teams to travel to every game, even if thats not still the case. Credit to NA for organising a better structure but at the end of the day its about improving the games for the young people of our whole county. It put a terrible burden on city clubs to do this travelling for the sake of a parochial them and us attitude. I mean NA cant win an all-ireland or advance hurling on their own! Indeed, NA leagues are enhanced by the Belfast teams as they now need the depth too - in effect it is an all county league!
I think Johnny Cool is right about all-county leagues. Its needed becasue there is not sufficient depth in either part of the county to develop - look at the growing number of amalgamations. Playing the same opposition every week in our local areas will not be productive in the long term.

Mind you - dont' think I'm claiming some sort of city victim slant here. We could argue that NA & SW have better organised divisional leagues becasue they are by and large only catering for one code, and while there is some truth in that it doesnt let SA off the hook for diabolical administration. Its the same oul heads doing the same box ticking exercises and with little or no interest outside of the meeting in casement - guys who rarely step on to the field.

As for me getting involved - I spend what time I can helping at underage (admittadly too much with F***kin camogie!) but thats the family! But I can tell you that time is put in at clubs all over Belfast in spite of rather than with SA administration.

So yes - I take everyones point but I think we have been somewhat parochial and its doing nobody any good!
After all Antrim are competing underage at B and C level - says it all.

Hope I've cleared up what I was getting at!

Now whats the comments about Garrett Duffy?
Not supported within Galls?
Is he retiring from the whistle?

Maninthemiddle

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 25, 2012, 02:16:49 PM

Support? What ya on about? I referee and I'm looking for support in what sense? Anyone refereeing to get support is a fool. You referee cause you want to, a bit like playing hurling and football.

FFS MR2 its not about you, I know thats hard to take, but its not! making Ref to your club and its total lack of support which you should be fully aware of from what I hear recently ;)

Quote from: btdtgtt on September 25, 2012, 02:49:09 PM
Tryin to catch up here lads bear with me!

Skull - I hear what you say on Aghohill, think I posted afterwards saying I meant rural rather than NA. My point was more on St Endas leaving the city (where they are from ha ha!)

NAG - I do still think it was out of order asking the city teams to travel to every game, even if thats not still the case. Credit to NA for organising a better structure but at the end of the day its about improving the games for the young people of our whole county. It put a terrible burden on city clubs to do this travelling for the sake of a parochial them and us attitude. I mean NA cant win an all-ireland or advance hurling on their own! Indeed, NA leagues are enhanced by the Belfast teams as they now need the depth too - in effect it is an all county league!
I think Johnny Cool is right about all-county leagues. Its needed becasue there is not sufficient depth in either part of the county to develop - look at the growing number of amalgamations. Playing the same opposition every week in our local areas will not be productive in the long term.

Mind you - dont' think I'm claiming some sort of city victim slant here. We could argue that NA & SW have better organised divisional leagues becasue they are by and large only catering for one code, and while there is some truth in that it doesnt let SA off the hook for diabolical administration. Its the same oul heads doing the same box ticking exercises and with little or no interest outside of the meeting in casement - guys who rarely step on to the field.

As for me getting involved - I spend what time I can helping at underage (admittadly too much with F***kin camogie!) but thats the family! But I can tell you that time is put in at clubs all over Belfast in spite of rather than with SA administration.

So yes - I take everyones point but I think we have been somewhat parochial and its doing nobody any good!
After all Antrim are competing underage at B and C level - says it all.

Hope I've cleared up what I was getting at!

Now whats the comments about Garrett Duffy?
Not supported within Galls?
Is he retiring from the whistle?

I think if you look into the reasoning behind this you will see that it had nothing to do with a parochial attitude or a them and us thing. It was simply a way of testing the commitment of the clubs involved in wanting to move up the country at the same time it was less of an instant impact on the NA clubs. After the period of time had elapsed the club joining will have proved their commitment and hopefully will have gained strength and numbers from being in a better structured set up.

Win Win. Im sure these clubs will enjoy hosting their NA neighbour once that happens.

Quote from: Maninthemiddle on September 25, 2012, 02:55:19 PM

FFS MR2 its not about you, I know thats hard to take, but its not! making Ref to your club and its total lack of support which you should be fully aware of from what I hear recently ;)

Hey we all have gripes with our clubs, feck I could write a book about mine!! but you haven't answered my question, what is the support he's looking?

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 25, 2012, 03:06:04 PM

Hey we all have gripes with our clubs, feck I could write a book about mine!! but you haven't answered my question, what is the support he's looking?

A Few lads to umpire for him and escort him off the pitch at full time in case he gets attacked.

Quote from: johnneycool on September 25, 2012, 03:15:56 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 25, 2012, 03:06:04 PM

A Few lads to umpire for him and escort him off the pitch at full time in case he gets attacked.

All Galls men

Maninthemiddle

In bad taste JC, didn't say he himself was looking support MR2, I know for a fact he sorts out all gear himself with sponsorship and his umpires always look like the dogs anytime Ive seen them, again was referring to your club and its overall lack of involvement/support in anything other than football, and you as stated previously where at the sharp end of that stick where you not?

lonely1

MR2 could you elaborate on the Shamrocks/Duffy comment?