Started by Gabriel_Hurl, November 09, 2006, 10:54:03 PM

bigtogs

Quote from: blewuporstuffed on October 25, 2013, 08:40:40 AM
Quote from: Tyrone Gaa on October 23, 2013, 04:25:15 PM
Quote from: Christmas Lights on October 23, 2013, 03:43:23 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on October 23, 2013, 11:36:49 AM
Quote from: Moortown Spuds on October 23, 2013, 10:41:17 AM
Quote10. The granting of a postponement of any game is a matter solely for the Chairperson of the CCC and requests for postponements will only be considered in very exceptional circumstances. In the absence of the Chairperson of the CCC, the Secretary of the CCC shall deal with such requests.

Interesting. I wonder did the Chairperson reject any requests before the Blackwater was re-routed?

Are you talking about the allegations of Moy Tir Na nOgs hosing their field on Friday night, thus waterlogging it, thus resulting in the game with Eglish St Patricks being called off on Saturday, thus resulting in Seany Cavanagh being fit to play in the abomination rules the same day and then freeing him up to play in the amended fixture last night?

Love a good conspiracy theory, I wonder is there any truth that the Moy did do this, if they did then I say fair play to them.  Nobody got hurt the game was played the points were won.  The CCC have been criticised on this board for the fixtures and this fixture was another balls up.  It would of been simple for Moy to play Clonoe that weekend knowing Clonoe had Ulster Club commitments allowing Sean to play International Rules and The Moy club to run their fundraiser.

I noticed the rumour had spread outside the county with Derry men tweeting about hosepipe bans.  I find the whole thing laughable to be honest. The refixture was good for me because it was an excuse out of the house.  Decent game of football although I thought Eglish were very poor but young McKenna made a difference when he came on.  Serious pace.  Tyrone CCC should look at implementing mid week fixtures into the normal calendar maybe ease congestion.  Looking forward to Clonoe vs Coalisland tonight, Predictions??  Clonoe full out?
Thats all fair enough, apart from the fact that the CCC refused other clubs wishing to get their game put back till later on the saturday afternoon.
Both clubs had agreed as both had players working saturday, but the ccc refused as ' the last 3 rounds of league games have to be played at the same time'
Yet moy v eglish was put back till the tuesday, clonoe v coalisland still hasnt been played, dromore v trillick wasnt played till the sunday morning and ardboe & errigals games were both played early on the saturday to allow for their minor involvement.
so only a couple of the games were actually played at the fixed throw in times.
Like I say, i have no problem with clubs getting these dates & times changed if they have to, but i dont know how they can refuse then to do it for another fixture.
Maybe we needed to have got the hosepipes out too  :-X

There will some craic if this weather keeps up there will be field water logged across the county.... so how in gods name can all matches be played same day same time impossible at this time of the year to make sure 100% this can happen

Wee Roddy

Good god some off them men are still playing for Errigal thirds as far as I know.
Between the years of 1993 and 2001 only Ardboe came between Errigal and Carrickmore in 1998. They won 4 titles each contesting no fewer than 4 finals. Errigal had a lot of baron Ulster Club years as well when you actually look at it and actually represented Tyrone in 2005 as the championship wasn't finished. It is known that part of Carrickmores failure to do well in Ulster is the pressure on the players to emulate what Errigal Ciaran have done. We are a terribly jealous bunch up on the hills ;)
The year of 2004 in which Carrickmore got to the semi final and should have beaten Mayobridge was some experience for a supporter. Getting to Brewster Park, then Omagh, Casement for a replay and Casement for the semi final in successive weeks was a unique experience and I always am delighted to see Tyrone clubs from junior to Senior do well in it for their communities. I recall Greencastle winning the All Ireland being a good night Carmen!!
Clonoe have the age profile to give it a good rattle again would need a kinder draw than the Derry champions in Celtic Park. In my eyes that's the worst draw they could have got all things considering.

bigtogs

Quote from: Wee Roddy on October 25, 2013, 08:55:25 AM
Good god some off them men are still playing for Errigal thirds as far as I know.
Between the years of 1993 and 2001 only Ardboe came between Errigal and Carrickmore in 1998. They won 4 titles each contesting no fewer than 4 finals. Errigal had a lot of baron Ulster Club years as well when you actually look at it and actually represented Tyrone in 2005 as the championship wasn't finished. It is known that part of Carrickmores failure to do well in Ulster is the pressure on the players to emulate what Errigal Ciaran have done. We are a terribly jealous bunch up on the hills ;)
The year of 2004 in which Carrickmore got to the semi final and should have beaten Mayobridge was some experience for a supporter. Getting to Brewster Park, then Omagh, Casement for a replay and Casement for the semi final in successive weeks was a unique experience and I always am delighted to see Tyrone clubs from junior to Senior do well in it for their communities. I recall Greencastle winning the All Ireland being a good night Carmen!!
Clonoe have the age profile to give it a good rattle again would need a kinder draw than the Derry champions in Celtic Park. In my eyes that's the worst draw they could have got all things considering.

Not winning an Ulster club for carrickmore i suppose is more significant because of errigal's success i suppose, but it should be no slight on a wonderful period for the carrickmore club, who where probaly one forward short off being a top ulster club team...

That was a very good Carickmore team, beat us handy at Casement (two good games in fairness) and as you said should have beaten Mayobridge, the Down teams always do well but fall short against Cross, most teams do ffs :(

Quote from: EC Unique on October 25, 2013, 12:22:20 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 24, 2013, 10:39:09 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on October 24, 2013, 05:33:37 PM
Quote from: Under Lights on October 24, 2013, 03:41:26 PM
EC Unique- a task for you.
Can you find out the team and scorers from Errigal's 1993 Ulster Final win against Downpatrick?

I will take a guess at the team out of my head. No idea of scorers.

Cahal Mc Anenely

Seamus Mallon        Mickey McGirr       Colm McCann
Tiffy Quinn          Ciaran McCrory         Eamon Kavanagh

Pascal Canavan         Hugh Quinn

Stevie Canavan    Eamon McCaffery   Martin (Haddan) McCaffery
Eoin Gormley      Peter Canavan           Leo Quinn

Is that the same Tiffy with us at the minute?

The one and only. (A few pounds lighter then).

Aye the lads have a lot of time for him and think he's great. Has a lot of respect from the players and they are happy to work like f**k for him and McCabe

Wee Roddy

Tiffys life is football. This year I believe he was with St Galls (still is), Errigal Thirds, ErrigaL Ladies and Tyrone ladies. He would be fairly knowledgeable and has a decent track record over this past few years. Perhaps the feather he is hoping for is the Ulster Club? I can never see him ever being a success with Errigal Senior team though for a few reason mainly business related. 

Man Marker

Quote from: Wee Roddy on October 25, 2013, 12:48:38 PM
Tiffys life is football. This year I believe he was with St Galls (still is), Errigal Thirds, ErrigaL Ladies and Tyrone ladies. He would be fairly knowledgeable and has a decent track record over this past few years. Perhaps the feather he is hoping for is the Ulster Club? I can never see him ever being a success with Errigal Senior team though for a few reason mainly business related.

He was manager of Errigal seniors in 2008, and they couldn't wait to push him at the end of the season for Peter the Great. Fat lot of good that did them.

Quote from: God14 on October 25, 2013, 08:23:20 AM
EC - Eoin Gormley must have been very young at the time? I always thought he came along a few years after that breakthrough. Very elegant footballer.

He was 18. Class act who went to the very top of the sport.

Wee Roddy

He may have too close to some of the Errigal players back then. Peter is held in that much esteem around Dunmoyle that I think even Mickey might have been pushed if he became available. I don't think that is a reflection on Tiffy. If a manager has any immediate family it is difficult to succeed and its tough in club football to have inside men who don't. However I don't think you can socialise or leave yourself open to influence from outside quarters. We have had that problem in the past were managers etc are too close to certain players.

Agreed. I think Errigal should have won more Ulster titles. We had a high turn over of managers in the time we had a great panel and this did not help. A few managers stayed one or two seasons and then moved on to county jobs. We were a stepping stone.

Wee Roddy

At a club like Errigal often expectation levels are too high. It is a perception around the county that they would and should have won more but Carrickmore had 5 and at one time 6 county players down the spine of their team and the wings were filled in with exceptionally talented men. For a manager to get the road after guiding teams to league title or county finals without winning it, as has happened in Dunmoyle, is silly and does long term harm as you have pointed out. Will McGuickan and his team be about next year?

stpauls

Seamus Mallon and Eoin Gormley are still playing for the 3rds, along with Pete Loughran. Hugh Quinn played until last season and Tiffy is the manager!!

Onthe40

Hugh Quinn must have been a good age..well over 40 im sure?

stpauls

Quote from: Onthe40 on October 25, 2013, 03:40:10 PM
Hugh Quinn must have been a good age..well over 40 im sure?

he was playing for the Tyrone Over 40's about 4 weeks ago when we played them in a challenge game

Quote from: Wee Roddy on October 25, 2013, 01:45:45 PM
At a club like Errigal often expectation levels are too high. It is a perception around the county that they would and should have won more but Carrickmore had 5 and at one time 6 county players down the spine of their team and the wings were filled in with exceptionally talented men. For a manager to get the road after guiding teams to league title or county finals without winning it, as has happened in Dunmoyle, is silly and does long term harm as you have pointed out. Will McGuickan and his team be about next year?

McGuckian will be managing us next year and the panel will be a bit stronger.