The Many Faces of US Politics...

Started by Tyrones own, March 20, 2009, 09:29:14 PM

So were moving swiftly along then are we?

Quote from: Tyrones own on April 27, 2011, 11:07:31 PM
Quoteso he was probably right to release it at this stage.
He had no choice but release it... have you seen the poll numbers as to the questioning his
eligibility for office owing to the fact that he has went to such lengths, not to mention cost, to conceal most all of his past :o

The Wing Nut Daily costs?

And yes, I've seen the poll numbers among Republicans. More than 50% apparently, no doubt including the same people who make the Republican party the idealogical home of homophobia, creationism, anti-intellectualism etc. No wonder the likes of Boenher are terrified of coming out and telling their people to get a grip.

Quote from: Tyrones own on April 27, 2011, 11:07:31 PM
Quotebut I doubt if he gives a f**k about what they think anyway as nothing he can ever do will be greeted by anything other than irrational hatred on their part.

That's quite a strong word there... He's absolutely everything I said he would be, a
complete fecking disaster and the country has finally woken up to it, well most of it, your good self excluded
of course  :-X
Pray tell you're not not still buying or waiting on the Hope and Change thing are ye  ???

It seems a pretty defensible word to me. They're already moving on to other "controversies", whether its the "fraudulency" of this particular birth cert, or the academic records or whatever. If he releases his transcripts tomorrow, it will on to something else. As Swift said "It is useless to attempt to reason a man out of a thing he was never reasoned into". Obama would be wise to heed him. Any reasonable person would have been satisfied with the short form cert, and if not that, then at least the testimony from the governor of Hawaii at the time.

As for the assessment of Obama's performance, we'll see in 18 months. There's plenty I'm not happy about with respect to him, but even if only for the simple fact that he offers a counter to the Republicans (which is not to say that THEY'RE not right about SOME of what they're trying to do), I'm still happy that he's president. And given what's currently putting out feelers for the Republican nomination, at this point he can rest fairly assured I'll turn out for him for polling day.

Quote from: Tyrones own on April 28, 2011, 03:41:36 PM
Quote from: hsthompson on April 28, 2011, 03:37:06 PM
TO - do you genuinely think Obama wasn't born in the US? Do you think Trump would be a better man for the job?
No and no..but fair play to Trump making him come out and show it
in two weeks what we the people couldn't do in 2 1/2 years!

"We the people"...

You're really taking this tea party stuff to heart, aren't you!  :D

Quote from: Tyrones own on April 28, 2011, 03:52:19 PM
Sure throw up Obama's school records and I'll post Bush's and we'll go from there
...oops, that's right, Obama's can't be found, wonder why?

TO,
c'mon now we have our back and forth on the US politics thread, but are you seriously suggesting that the President of the United States didnt go to Harvard Law, didn't graduate magna cum laude and wasn't the president of the Harvard Law review?

What next, he's actually an alien?

I'm in favour of having a mandatory public IQ test before anyone gets to speak in a candidates' debate and whenever they speak their IQ should come up on the screen.

(edit- I have the typing skills of a goose)

QuoteWe the people"... You're really taking this tea party stuff to heart, aren't you!
If you weren't blinded by blinkered ignorance you'd realize
That it was in reference to our Constitution and nothing at all to do with the
Tea party...though I must say, I'm hardly surprised that you would
angle it as a cheap shot  ::)

Quote from: Tyrones own on April 28, 2011, 05:29:42 PM
QuoteWe the people"... You're really taking this tea party stuff to heart, aren't you!

Ooohhh! :-)

I'm well aware of its constitutional provenance.

And I'm pretty sure you're well aware that it features very prominently in the language of the tea party. Or perhaps you just completely independently use it in the same rhetorical fashion that they do.

Either way, it sounds ridiculous.

Quote from: Tyrones own on April 28, 2011, 03:37:39 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 28, 2011, 01:23:08 PM
Quote from: dec on April 27, 2011, 09:35:41 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on April 27, 2011, 08:33:49 PM
Had he shown it from the get go like he was supposed to instead of spending
an astronomical amount of money to conceal his secretive past,
The birthers would never have gotten of the ground  ;)

You underestimate the birthers. They wouldn't be deterred by something as trivial as evidence.
Sure these were the same goons who ceaselessly assured us that GW Bush could read!
No, you're confusing him with Obama...Bush didn't read from a teleprompter  :P

Shucks, I must have 'misunderestimated' him!  :D

dec

Quote from: J70 on April 28, 2011, 06:09:05 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on April 28, 2011, 05:29:42 PM

Ooohhh! :-)

I'm well aware of its constitutional provenance.

And I'm pretty sure you're well aware that it features very prominently in the language of the tea party. Or perhaps you just completely independently use it in the same rhetorical fashion that they do.

Either way, it sounds ridiculous.
No just in the same fashion in which it was intended by the founding fathers and not loosely interpreted in a way that best suits the agenda of the day!

Quote from: dec on April 28, 2011, 06:31:10 PM

;D If I was trying to be taken literally ye would run a mile from it
Rarely used a teleprompter :P

Anyway I'd say very few have noticed that ye have dragged this off  topic, its either bring bush into it or its that we're all racists  ::)
So again, why is Obama so secretive about his past? Its not a trick question lads  :-X

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 28, 2011, 06:27:55 PM

You underestimate the birthers. They wouldn't be deterred by something as trivial as evidence.
Sure these were the same goons who ceaselessly assured us that GW Bush could read!

Clearly!

dec

Quote from: Tyrones own on April 28, 2011, 09:03:44 PM
So again, why is Obama so secretive about his past?

He's not. His birth certificate was released in 2008 but the crazies didn't believe what was on it.

Quote from: Tyrones own on April 28, 2011, 09:03:44 PM
Quote from: dec on April 28, 2011, 06:31:10 PM

;D If I was trying to be taken literally ye would run a mile from it
Rarely used a teleprompter :P

Anyway I'd say very few have noticed that ye have dragged this off  topic, its either bring bush into it or its that we're all racists  ::)
So again, why is Obama so secretive about his past? Its not a trick question lads  :-X

Go on... you're dying to tell us!

Jesus Christ Tyrones own, what is going on there ???  What exactly is your problem with Comrade Obama?  What do you think he's hiding?

Quote from: Tyrones own on April 28, 2011, 09:06:18 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 28, 2011, 06:27:55 PM

Clearly!

So what does that word 'misunderestimate' mean then? (I'd like to know what I said myself!  :D )