Quote from: seafoid on April 13, 2016, 07:30:46 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 13, 2016, 06:34:58 PM
Quote from: stew on April 13, 2016, 12:42:30 PM
Quote from: seafoid on April 13, 2016, 05:53:04 AM
45 million Americans are on food stamps
http://www.fns.usda.gov/sites/default/files/pd/34SNAPmonthly.pdf

And the idiots say on here he will go down as a great president....The mind boggles.

Down from 47.6 million in 2013.

But then Obama temporarily increased the threshold for benefits in 2009 to include more people due to the effects of financial crisis, which is why the number is so high.

It would be remarkably stupid to point at a single figure, without context and use it as some sort of KPI for the POTUS. Digging a bit deeper, it appears that: Economists consider SNAP one of the most effective forms of economic stimulus.  Moody's Analytics estimates that in a weak economy, every dollar increase in SNAP benefits generates about $1.70 in economic activity.: http://www.cbpp.org/research/snap-is-effective-and-efficient?fa=view&id=3239

Fair play to Obama. I am glad you pointed that out. Great President is right Stew.
The Fed runs Potemkin macro. It fakes

unemployment
growth prospects
inflation likelihood

Claiming 45m on food stamps as a great bunch of lads is Potemkin macro.
The wealth of the richest 1% was taken from the working class, with the Feds making up somewhat by paying food stamps. similar to the situation in the UK where workers who have had their wages slashed  get benefit credits. that is how neoliberalism works

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cOeKidp-iWo

I see.

You use their figures = figure good
Anyone else uses their figure = figures fake

Quote from: muppet on April 13, 2016, 07:48:08 PM

And the idiots say on here he will go down as a great president....The mind boggles.

But then Obama temporarily increased the threshold for benefits in 2009 to include more people due to the effects of financial crisis, which is why the number is so high.

It would be remarkably stupid to point at a single figure, without context and use it as some sort of KPI for the POTUS. Digging a bit deeper, it appears that: Economists consider SNAP one of the most effective forms of economic stimulus.  Moody's Analytics estimates that in a weak economy, every dollar increase in SNAP benefits generates about $1.70 in economic activity.: http://www.cbpp.org/research/snap-is-effective-and-efficient?fa=view&id=3239

Fair play to Obama. I am glad you pointed that out. Great President is right Stew.

unemployment
growth prospects
inflation likelihood

The wealth of the richest 1% was taken from the working class, with the Feds making up somewhat by paying food stamps. similar to the situation in the UK where workers who have had their wages slashed  get benefit credits. that is how neoliberalism works

I see.

QE doesn't work, Muppet.
The crash is going to be awful.

Quote from: seafoid on April 13, 2016, 08:45:32 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 13, 2016, 07:48:08 PM

unemployment
growth prospects
inflation likelihood

I see.

QE doesn't work, Muppet.
The crash is going to be awful.

QE is completely illogical. Solving a debt crisis, by force-feeding more debt to the institutions who created the crisis, is madness. It can't possibly work. And when it keeps failing, they keep trying more of it and expecting a different result. See Einstein insanity definition.

They (US, EU & UK) have debased the major currencies and the only reason they haven't crashed yet is that they are all on the hook together which has delayed everything. Witness the last part of The Big Short. *****spoiler**** the system doesn't go down without a fight *******

Don't think for a second I am defending QE. It is trickle down economic nonsense.

Bottom up would have worked far better. But then they would have insisted on a bottom up bailout being repayable as well. So no one would have bothered.

27000 at a Sanders rally in Washinton Sq

Is momentum building in NY for Sanders?

Whats the word on the street J70 et al?

You liberals are some Craic, not one word about the mudslinging from the been and killory, why its almost like the GOP, not as bad but as strapon loses more and more votes to the bern in noo York.

The chickens are coming home to roost, I hope Bernie kicks the living shite outta the aul b**tard, he will never win but the longer this goes on the mire the corporate whore is damaged.

Fecking spellchecker!

Quote from: stew on April 15, 2016, 04:10:30 PM
You liberals are done Craig, not one word about the mudslinging from the been and killory, why its almost like the GOP, not as bad but as strapon loses more and more votes to the bern in noo. York

The chickens are coming home to roost, I hope Bernie kicks the living shire outta the aul b**tard, he will never win but the longer this goes on the mire the corporate whore is dsmaged.

??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ???

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Quote from: gallsman on April 15, 2016, 04:23:03 PM
Quote from: stew on April 15, 2016, 04:10:30 PM
You liberals are done Craig, not one word about the mudslinging from the been and killory, why its almost like the GOP, not as bad but as strapon loses more and more votes to the bern in noo. York

The chickens are coming home to roost, I hope Bernie kicks the living shire outta the aul b**tard, he will never win but the longer this goes on the mire the corporate whore is dsmaged.

??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ???

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Ah my very own troll comes in to point out the spelling mistakes, its called spellchecker ,

Nothing to do with your spelling at all, old chum (although you really should proof read some of the shite you put up here). Rather, I was laughing at the absolute vitriol and spite you mustered up to spit out "you liberals" and then how you proceeded to, again, vocally support Bernie!

I wouldn't really classify Bernie as a liberal in the proper sense of the word at all gallsman.

He doesnt dwell on those social issues that affect 10% of the American population but 90% seem to vote on, he's on to proper politics that affects everyone everyday.

What precisely is "the proper sense of the word" in your view?

Sanders is a socialist. That doesn't mean he's not liberal.

Bernie brought up the case of the people of Gaza for the first time ever and Hill played the Zionist shill she is

http://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2016/apr/15/sanders-clinton-brooklyn-debate-israel-palestine-comments

Quote from: gallsman on April 15, 2016, 08:32:44 PM

Discussed it before on here basically a supporter of personal freedoms which makes the vast majority of American "liberals" in one way or another

But that is precisely my point it doesn't mean hes not a liberal (in the pop or correct sense of the term), he just doesnt continually harp on about so called "liberal issues" that affect the few in the hope of gaining residual sympathetic support, which is really at the core of Hillary Clinton's agenda.

Sanders rants and raves about socialist politics that affect the greater majority in the hope of gaining their vote.

ashman

I was talking to an American tourist last week and the subject of THE DONALD came up . He said he won't vote for him but he agrees with a lot of what he says and many do but don't say it.

Quote from: omaghjoe on April 15, 2016, 10:12:30 PM
Quote from: gallsman on April 15, 2016, 08:32:44 PM

Discussed it before on here basically a supporter of personal freedoms which makes the vast majority of American "liberals" in one way or another

But that is precisely my point it doesn't mean hes not a liberal (in the pop or correct sense of the term), he just doesnt continually harp on about so called "liberal issues" that affect the few in the hope of gaining residual sympathetic support, which is really at the core of Hillary Clinton's agenda.

Sanders rants and raves about socialist politics that affect the greater majority in the hope of gaining their vote.
Joe, liberal in the US means lefty
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u52Oz-54VYw

Sanders would be in the Labour party in Ireland

Well, lefty and progressive.

There was a great piece about Bill O'Reilly saying he'd move to Ireland if Sanders won. They were making point that one he gets here, he'd realise the mistake he made. A centrist/centre-right Fine Gael administration in Ireland would be so far left of anything he'd ever come across.