The Many Faces of US Politics...

Started by Tyrones own, March 20, 2009, 09:29:14 PM

I wonder how opinions of the RUC in the six counties would gave broken down by background? 

Quote from: foxcommander on December 29, 2014, 05:31:41 AM

Smug. That's a great word to use to sum up the liberal PC brigade.
Glad you enjoy my posts. Maybe you'll see the light eventually.

I do enjoy your posts fella, keep em coming.

I have to say it is definitely the first time I have been called part of the liberal PC brigade. Loving it.

Is that the bright white light way over there on the right you're talking about?

Quote from: heganboy on December 29, 2014, 05:09:05 PM

I have to say it is definitely the first time I have been called part of the liberal PC brigade. Loving it.

Is that the bright white light way over there on the right you're talking about?

This is the Fox News effect.

I am politically right of centre (with a touch of socialism regarding health and education, which I believe should be free for all). But what US politics calls the centre is so far to the right that anything else is deemed left, liberal etc. Many Democrats simply position themselves slightly left of the GOP, but by any definition are way, way right in their policies.

This site is great though. The Shinners have called me a Thatcherite, while the Fox News brigade call me a liberal.

foxcommander

Quote from: muppet on December 29, 2014, 05:56:52 PM

I am politically right of centre (with a touch of socialism regarding health and education, which I believe should be free for all). But what US politics calls the centre is so far to the right that anything else is deemed left, liberal etc. Many Democrats simply position themselves slightly left of the GOP, but by any definition are way, way right in their policies.

This site is great though. The Shinners have called me a Thatcherite, while the Fox News brigade call me a liberal.

I could call you something else  ;)
Every second of the day there's a Democrat telling a lie

Quote from: foxcommander on December 29, 2014, 06:13:40 PM
Quote from: muppet on December 29, 2014, 05:56:52 PM

I could call you something else  ;)

You'd call Thatcher a liberal.  ;D

More nonsense on this thread it seems!

Sharpton et all are siht stirring fcukers playing to the gallery if the posts I'm reading on Facebook with excerpts from sharptons interviews and articles are true

The guys posting these are NYPD correctional officers I'm related to/friendly with - and boy they aren't happy with Sharpton and the stuff being thrown at the cops on a daily basis but is being glossed over as a couple of them may have been trigger happy ( well one incident in three they might have been - looks like they were somewhat justified in the other two ).

Luckily the two officers gunned down in their car weren't trigger happy enough - so a good innocent gun man couldn't become another cause for outrage.

It's the trailer trash, rednecks and blacks that are being scrutinized must by cops as - surprise surprise - it's these people that most crime and violence emanates from.

I'm no Fox News lover and I'm usually anti us Republican Party - but some of you here are going ott on left and right wings.

I back the American cops here 100%

As kids we were not allowed to buy toy guns or have them in case seen at the wrong time by British army/ruc. Common sense stuff. Shouldn't have had to be like that, but that's the way things were.
It's prob as much lacking in cop on/ common sense by the people as bad parenting.

Cops and citizens in general are allowed to shoot first if they think they are in danger - and usually this plea works in us courts.
So 'DONT give them the f**king opportunity'

Is it right - prob not. Is it the sensible way- abso-f**king-lutely

Wise up all of you. It's like a Fine Gael teachers day outing trivial points scoring game here.

The big news is if/when us give revokes the blockade on Cuba !
I believe that fantastic new pope ( pope francis) is the instigator here!!

So, Fox, what if I told you there was an American president who negotiated with the Russians and signed a treaty that eliminated an entire class of nuclear weapon, raised taxes, said there was no need for a private citizen to own an AK-47, said that climate change was a critical concern, negotiated with terrorists and traded arms for hostages, and on his watch there were deadly attacks on US embassies. He also signed numerous gun control laws when he was a state governor.

I bet you'd really hate that guy, wouldn't you?

The thing about the doctrine of porcine infallibility is that it can lead to cops getting away with murder, literally.

I don't buy into this hero-worship that they do in America. I never "support our troops" or thank people for serving in the military. They made a career choice and for all I know that random soldier in the airport could have been committing war crimes in Iraq, so there's no way I'm going to revere him because of the uniform he wears. Same goes for cops. The only cops I thank are the ones I deal with directly and they're being helpful. Even when they're writing speeding tickets for me I'll be polite and say thank you, as long as they're professional about it. But this idea that cops can do no wrong and they should be put up on a pedestal is very unhealthy.

http://www.ft.com/intl/cms/s/0/5564fc2a-48e1-11e4-9f63-00144feab7de.html

American Bridge says it has nearly 7,000 hours of footage in its archives from the 2014 election, which can be searched by audio.
As chilling as the notion might be for anyone entering public life in recent years, that all their utterances are permanently stored for opponents to discover the minutest inconsistencies in their positions, trackers have become embedded in US politics.
"The true value of American Bridge is not just this cycle or the next, but the one after that," said American Bridge. "When they are running for the House or the Senate or governor in two or four or six years, we have video records of all of their public statements, and every news, radio and TV interview."
Mr Miller's group is trying to match the Democrats, with a project to upload every utterance it can find of Hillary Clinton, the likely Democratic candidate for 2016, to use against her.
Mitt Romney, in his presidential bid, was partly undone by a gaffe, when he told wealthy donors that 47 per cent of American voters were "victims" with no sense of personal responsibility.

Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 29, 2014, 06:40:44 PM

Sharpton et all are siht stirring fcukers playing to the gallery if the posts I'm reading on Facebook with excerpts from sharptons interviews and articles are true

The guys posting these are NYPD correctional officers I'm related to/friendly with - and boy they aren't happy with Sharpton and the stuff being thrown at the cops on a daily basis but is being glossed over as a couple of them may have been trigger happy ( well one incident in three they might have been - looks like they were somewhat justified in the other two ).

Luckily the two officers gunned down in their car weren't trigger happy enough - so a good innocent gun man couldn't become another cause for outrage.

It's the trailer trash, rednecks and blacks that are being scrutinized must by cops as - surprise surprise - it's these people that most crime and violence emanates from.

I'm no Fox News lover and I'm usually anti us Republican Party - but some of you here are going ott on left and right wings.

As kids we were not allowed to buy toy guns or have them in case seen at the wrong time by British army/ruc. Common sense stuff. Shouldn't have had to be like that, but that's the way things were.
It's prob as much lacking in cop on/ common sense by the people as bad parenting.

Cops and citizens in general are allowed to shoot first if they think they are in danger - and usually this plea works in us courts.

Wise up all of you. It's like a Fine Gael teachers day outing trivial points scoring game here.

Really? Even in the Eric Garner case?

And you think it is ok to shoot 12 year olds?

And as for the US courts, none of these cases made it to court. That is the problem.

foxcommander

Quote from: muppet on December 30, 2014, 06:42:38 PM

Asthma, heart disease, and obesity were cited as contributing factors in his death. He was resisting arrest at the time which created the situation with the police.

But some folk think a blind eye should have been turned to his illegal activities.

Does any police officer think they'll kill a guy by restraining them? No. If they had tasered him the police would have been accused of needless brutality. You can't win.

Maybe the cops can politely ask all criminals to present themselves at their local station as to stop any more incidents.

Quote from: foxcommander on December 30, 2014, 07:42:53 PM

Asthma, heart disease, and obesity were cited as contributing factors in his death. He was resisting arrest at the time which created the situation with the police.

But some folk think a blind eye should have been turned to his illegal activities.

Does any police officer think they'll kill a guy by restraining them? No. If they had tasered him the police would have been accused of needless brutality. You can't win.

Maybe the cops can politely ask all criminals to present themselves at their local station as to stop any more incidents.

Have you actually watched the video?

The illegal activities were selling loose smokes. Well worth putting someone in a chokehold and pressing his head into the pavement for, huh?

And as for the US courts, none of these cases made it to court. That is the problem.
I don't like anyone being shot but if someone puts themselves into a questionable situation then the worst can happen.
As I said, as small kids in the six counties you knew how to and how not to behave around British army or ruc/udr etc

Maybe the courts are being kept free of certain cases?
I know there are way too many cases in Ireland that waste the courts time ( and taxpayers money)
Maybe the yanks think these cases are cut and dried slam dunks ?
Don't know.

J70- if our cops went a bit harder like that on some of our younger hoodlums I'd be delighted!!

foxcommander

Quote from: J70 on December 30, 2014, 09:58:58 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on December 30, 2014, 07:42:53 PM

Have you actually watched the video?

The illegal activities were selling loose smokes. Well worth putting someone in a chokehold and pressing his head into the pavement for, huh?

The word is illegal.

Was he breaking the law? Yes or no?
Did he resist arrest? Yes or no?

It is sad that he had to die in these circumstances.

Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 30, 2014, 11:49:44 PM

I don't like anyone being shot but if someone puts themselves into a questionable situation then the worst can happen.
As I said, as small kids in the six counties you knew how to and how not to behave around British army or ruc/udr etc

Maybe the courts are being kept free of certain cases?
I know there are way too many cases in Ireland that waste the courts time ( and taxpayers money)
Maybe the yanks think these cases are cut and dried slam dunks ?
Don't know.

J70- if our cops went a bit harder like that on some of our younger hoodlums I'd be delighted!!

The issue with the cops not making it to court is that they are being investigated by colleagues in District Attorney departments who extend every courtesy and bend over backwards to avoid indicting them. If it was me or you, there probably wouldn't even be a grand jury in some of these cases; we would be charged, arrested and off to trial.

You would seriously like to see lads doing the equivalent of selling smokes treated like Eric Garner?