The Many Faces of US Politics...

Started by Tyrones own, March 20, 2009, 09:29:14 PM

Quote from: heganboy on September 17, 2012, 04:56:23 PM
Iceman,
you came in through family though right?

For the work related visas, most firms (in my experience) won't let you handle your own applications or Labor certifications.

Aye thats right.

Isn't it amazing when the mask slips from Romney and the GOP? - Utter disdain for the ordinary citizen

Quote from: Declan on September 18, 2012, 08:30:16 AM
Isn't it amazing when the mask slips from Romney and the GOP? - Utter disdain for the ordinary citizen

I can understand it from Romney. He is a man who has built his fortune as a real-life Gordon Gekko so you could argue he's being true to himself. What I can't understand is the many people actively involved in the GOP, let alone passive voters, who avail of Medicare and Social Security (people like Ayn Rand, ho ho), and are in government jobs, and are working towards destroying their own lives. WTF?

Quote from: heganboy on September 28, 2012, 09:02:54 PM
Samuel L Jackson ad to get out the vote for Obama

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FTtS17xcr-U

Samuel L Jackson just wants to keep a black man as the President, he does not give two shites about his policies, he votes for the black guy.

Pretty fecked up way of choosing a President I think.

"It's even worse than it looks" - the Republican Party 

http://www.thedailyshow.com/watch/mon-june-4-2012/exclusive---norman-j--ornstein---thomas-e--mann-extended-interview-pt--1

Norm Ornstein is no Socialist but he says

http://www.newyorker.com/online/blogs/hendrikhertzberg/2012/05/mann-and-ornstein.html#ixzz27gF6QQ4A

"We have been studying Washington politics and Congress for more than 40 years, and never have we seen them this dysfunctional. In our past writings, we have criticized both parties when we believed it was warranted. Today, however, we have no choice but to acknowledge that the core of the problem lies with the Republican Party.

The GOP has become an insurgent outlier in American politics. It is ideologically extreme; scornful of compromise; unmoved by conventional understanding of facts, evidence and science; and dismissive of the legitimacy of its political opposition. When one party moves this far from the mainstream, it makes it nearly impossible for the political system to deal constructively with the country's challenges.

"Both sides do it" or "There is plenty of blame to go around" are the traditional refuges for an American news media intent on proving its lack of bias, while political scientists prefer generality and neutrality when discussing partisan polarization. Many self-styled bipartisan groups, in their search for common ground, propose solutions that move both sides to the center, a strategy that is simply untenable when one side is so far out of reach."

When did the Democratic party go from being the bastion of Southern Jim Crow laws to to being the first choice for the black vote?

When did the Republican party go from being the party of emancipation and equality to being the party of big business?

Quote from: LeoMc on September 28, 2012, 11:20:20 PM
When did the Democratic party go from being the bastion of Southern Jim Crow laws to to being the first choice for the black vote?

When did the Republican party go from being the party of emancipation and equality to being the party of big business?
I think the Democrats lost the white South in 1968 and that's when they started to get the black votes.

Quote from: stew on September 28, 2012, 09:31:35 PM

Samuel L Jackson just wants to keep a black man as the President, he does not give two shites about his policies, he votes for the black guy.

Aye really, was he saying that somewhere? Must have missed it.

Or was he telling you himself over a beer some night?

So I take you'll be voting for the white guy then?

Quote from: deiseach on September 18, 2012, 09:27:12 AM
Quote from: Declan on September 18, 2012, 08:30:16 AM

I can understand it from Romney. He is a man who has built his fortune as a real-life Gordon Gekko so you could argue he's being true to himself. What I can't understand is the many people actively involved in the GOP, let alone passive voters, who avail of Medicare and Social Security (people like Ayn Rand, ho ho), and are in government jobs, and are working towards destroying their own lives. WTF?

Romney's not being true to himself at all. He was a pretty centrist governor, reasonable center-right fiscal policy, set up state health-care and no 'social' issues BS. A guy that could have attracted plenty of independents. But that guy wouldn't have a prayer in a Republican primary, so he disappeared and was replaced by the current iteration of Mitt, who has sold his values to the lunatics on the right presently running the GOP.

I don't know what the answer is for the GOP. Maybe there'll be a backlash against the Tea Party/ignoramous/evangelical madness and the sensible wing of the party (of the George HW Bush or Reagan type) will re-take control.  Could happen.  With the country filling with immigrants we might see a shunt back towards the left in politics in general.

Quote from: heganboy on September 29, 2012, 05:02:45 PM

Aye really, was he saying that somewhere? Must have missed it.

Or was he telling you himself over a beer some night?

You missed it, he was interviewed and said exactly what I said he did and he made no apologies for it!

You are one passive aggressive wee git heganbhoy. ;D

Quote from: tyssam5 on September 29, 2012, 08:12:56 PM

So I take you'll be voting for the white guy then?

I am Irish, I dont get a vote, I think they are both shite and I dont give a damn what color a man is, I despise the looney left and hate what Obamanation has done to the USA in terms of the national debt, he is a horror story and needs to be stopped, unfortunately Romney is not the man to do it.

America is clean fecked no matter who gets in, they both suck!