The Many Faces of US Politics...

Started by Tyrones own, March 20, 2009, 09:29:14 PM

Sometimes it feels like tyrones own  never left....

Stew is off his medication again, the mad auld bollix

Quote from: stew on September 06, 2012, 09:08:34 PM
Democracy at it's finest................... Is he president Barak Hussein Obama or Dictator Obama? you decide!

Needled by Mitt Romney and other Republicans, Democrats hurriedly rewrote their convention platform Wednesday to add a mention of God and declare Jerusalem the capital of Israel after President Barack Obama intervened to order the changes.

The embarrassing reversal was compounded by chaos and uncertainty on the convention floor. Three times Los Angeles Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa, the convention chairman, called for a voice vote on the changes and each time the yes and no votes seemed to balance each other out. On the third attempt, Villaraigosa ruled the amendments were approved — triggering boos from many in the audience.

The episode exposed tensions on Israel within the party, put Democrats on the defensive and created a public relations spectacle as Obama arrived in the convention city to claim his party's nomination for a second term.

"There was no discussion. We didn't even see it coming. We were blindsided by it," said Noor Ul-Hasan, a Muslim delegate from Salt Lake City, who questioned whether the convention had enough of a quorum to even amend the platform.

"The majority spoke last night," said Angela Urrea, a delegate from Roy, Utah. "We shouldn't be declaring Jerusalem as the capital of Israel."

The language in the platform — a political document — does not affect actual U.S. policy toward Israel. The administration has long said that determining Jerusalem's status is an issue that should be decided in peace talks by Israelis and Palestinians.

The American Israel Public Affairs Committee, the powerful pro-Israel lobbying group, welcomed the support of Democrats and Republicans alike on Israel. "Together, these party platforms reflect strong bipartisan support for the US-Israel relationship," AIPAC said.

Obama intervened directly to get the language changed both on Jerusalem and to reinstate God in the platform, according to campaign officials who insisted on anonymity to describe behind-the-scenes party negotiations. They said Obama's reaction to the omission of God from the platform was to wonder why it was removed in the first place.

Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz, D-Fla., the party chairman, said both the God and Jerusalem omissions were "essentially a technical oversight." She insisted in a CNN interview there had been no discord on the floor and said the vote definitely met the two-thirds threshold.

The revisions came as Obama struggles to win support from white working-class voters, many of whom have strong religious beliefs, and as Republicans try to woo Jewish voters and contributors away from the Democratic Party. Republicans claimed the platform omissions suggested Obama was weak in his defense of Israel and out of touch with mainstream Americans.

GOP officials argued that not taking a position on Jerusalem's status in the party platform raised questions about Obama's support for the Mideast ally. Romney said omitting God "suggests a party that is increasingly out of touch with the mainstream of the American people."

"I think this party is veering further and further away into an extreme wing that Americans don't recognize," Romney said.

Added to the Democratic platform was a declaration that Jerusalem "is and will remain the capital of Israel. The parties have agreed that Jerusalem is a matter for final status negotiations. It should remain an undivided city accessible to people of all faiths."

That language was included in the platform four years ago when Obama ran for his first term, but was left out when Democrats on Tuesday approved their 2012 platform, which referred only to the nation's "unshakable commitment to Israel's security."

Also restored from the 2008 platform was language calling for a government that "gives everyone willing to work hard the chance to make the most of their God-given potential."

For decades, Republican and Democratic administrations alike have said it is up to the Israelis and Palestinians to settle Jerusalem's final status — a position reiterated earlier Wednesday by the White House. Both sides claim Jerusalem as their capital, and the city's status has long been among the thorniest issues in Mideast peace talks.

The U.S. has its embassy in Tel Aviv, although numerous Republicans — including Mitt Romney — have vowed to move the embassy to Jerusalem.

During his 2008 campaign, Obama referred to Jerusalem as Israel's capital in a speech to AIPAC. But as official policy, his administration has repeatedly maintained that Jerusalem's status is an issue that Israelis and Palestinians should decide in peace talks. The platform flub gave Republicans an opening to revive their attacks on Obama's support for Israel just as Democrats were hoping to bask in the glow of first lady Michelle Obama's Tuesday speech and gin up excitement for her husband, who will accept his party's nomination for a second term on Thursday.

But restoring the language did not placate Republicans, who used it to suggest that Obama's party is now more supportive than he is of the Jewish state.

"Now is the time for President Obama to state in unequivocal terms whether or not he believes Jerusalem is Israel's capital," said Romney spokeswoman Andrea Saul.

Republicans declared Jerusalem the capital of Israel in the platform the party approved last week at its convention in Tampa, Fla. GOP platforms in 2004 and 2008 also called Jerusalem the capital.

___

Lederman reported from Washington. Associated Press writers Steve Peoples in Utah, Bradley Klapper in Washington, and Ken Thomas, Ben Feller and Matthew Daly in Charlotte contributed.
@yahoonews on Twitter, become a fan on Facebook
Explore Related Content
1 - 4

were have you all gone boys...................................... you beloved democrats are scurrying like the rats they are...................... well done Team Romney, ye have them scurrying and gutting each other.  ;D

Is there any economic policies to be discussed of is it up to how many celeb endorsements you can obtain.

From the outside looking it, there's always been the feeling that American politics have been dumbed down, sadly I get the feeling its going that way here as well.

As long as they're letting the Israeli tail wag their dog..........  >:(

Quote from: stew on September 06, 2012, 10:03:36 PM
Quote from: trileacman on September 06, 2012, 09:35:54 PM
Would you two stop talking shite, claiming your better than the other one, you're clogging up the board with your bollix chatting.

Nobody claimed they were better than anyone else, if you dont like it feck away off to something else.

Yes or no, if you're man enough to give an honest yes or no answer. Do you shout out loud at the TV on a regular basis?

Quote from: johnneycool on September 07, 2012, 10:52:48 AM
Quote from: stew on September 06, 2012, 09:08:34 PM
Democracy at it's finest................... Is he president Barak Hussein Obama or Dictator Obama? you decide!

Needled by Mitt Romney and other Republicans, Democrats hurriedly rewrote their convention platform Wednesday to add a mention of God and declare Jerusalem the capital of Israel after President Barack Obama intervened to order the changes.

The embarrassing reversal was compounded by chaos and uncertainty on the convention floor. Three times Los Angeles Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa, the convention chairman, called for a voice vote on the changes and each time the yes and no votes seemed to balance each other out. On the third attempt, Villaraigosa ruled the amendments were approved — triggering boos from many in the audience.

The episode exposed tensions on Israel within the party, put Democrats on the defensive and created a public relations spectacle as Obama arrived in the convention city to claim his party's nomination for a second term.

"There was no discussion. We didn't even see it coming. We were blindsided by it," said Noor Ul-Hasan, a Muslim delegate from Salt Lake City, who questioned whether the convention had enough of a quorum to even amend the platform.

"The majority spoke last night," said Angela Urrea, a delegate from Roy, Utah. "We shouldn't be declaring Jerusalem as the capital of Israel."

The language in the platform — a political document — does not affect actual U.S. policy toward Israel. The administration has long said that determining Jerusalem's status is an issue that should be decided in peace talks by Israelis and Palestinians.

The American Israel Public Affairs Committee, the powerful pro-Israel lobbying group, welcomed the support of Democrats and Republicans alike on Israel. "Together, these party platforms reflect strong bipartisan support for the US-Israel relationship," AIPAC said.

Obama intervened directly to get the language changed both on Jerusalem and to reinstate God in the platform, according to campaign officials who insisted on anonymity to describe behind-the-scenes party negotiations. They said Obama's reaction to the omission of God from the platform was to wonder why it was removed in the first place.

Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz, D-Fla., the party chairman, said both the God and Jerusalem omissions were "essentially a technical oversight." She insisted in a CNN interview there had been no discord on the floor and said the vote definitely met the two-thirds threshold.

The revisions came as Obama struggles to win support from white working-class voters, many of whom have strong religious beliefs, and as Republicans try to woo Jewish voters and contributors away from the Democratic Party. Republicans claimed the platform omissions suggested Obama was weak in his defense of Israel and out of touch with mainstream Americans.

GOP officials argued that not taking a position on Jerusalem's status in the party platform raised questions about Obama's support for the Mideast ally. Romney said omitting God "suggests a party that is increasingly out of touch with the mainstream of the American people."

"I think this party is veering further and further away into an extreme wing that Americans don't recognize," Romney said.

Added to the Democratic platform was a declaration that Jerusalem "is and will remain the capital of Israel. The parties have agreed that Jerusalem is a matter for final status negotiations. It should remain an undivided city accessible to people of all faiths."

That language was included in the platform four years ago when Obama ran for his first term, but was left out when Democrats on Tuesday approved their 2012 platform, which referred only to the nation's "unshakable commitment to Israel's security."

Also restored from the 2008 platform was language calling for a government that "gives everyone willing to work hard the chance to make the most of their God-given potential."

For decades, Republican and Democratic administrations alike have said it is up to the Israelis and Palestinians to settle Jerusalem's final status — a position reiterated earlier Wednesday by the White House. Both sides claim Jerusalem as their capital, and the city's status has long been among the thorniest issues in Mideast peace talks.

The U.S. has its embassy in Tel Aviv, although numerous Republicans — including Mitt Romney — have vowed to move the embassy to Jerusalem.

During his 2008 campaign, Obama referred to Jerusalem as Israel's capital in a speech to AIPAC. But as official policy, his administration has repeatedly maintained that Jerusalem's status is an issue that Israelis and Palestinians should decide in peace talks. The platform flub gave Republicans an opening to revive their attacks on Obama's support for Israel just as Democrats were hoping to bask in the glow of first lady Michelle Obama's Tuesday speech and gin up excitement for her husband, who will accept his party's nomination for a second term on Thursday.

But restoring the language did not placate Republicans, who used it to suggest that Obama's party is now more supportive than he is of the Jewish state.

"Now is the time for President Obama to state in unequivocal terms whether or not he believes Jerusalem is Israel's capital," said Romney spokeswoman Andrea Saul.

Republicans declared Jerusalem the capital of Israel in the platform the party approved last week at its convention in Tampa, Fla. GOP platforms in 2004 and 2008 also called Jerusalem the capital.

___

Lederman reported from Washington. Associated Press writers Steve Peoples in Utah, Bradley Klapper in Washington, and Ken Thomas, Ben Feller and Matthew Daly in Charlotte contributed.
@yahoonews on Twitter, become a fan on Facebook
Explore Related Content
1 - 4

were have you all gone boys...................................... you beloved democrats are scurrying like the rats they are...................... well done Team Romney, ye have them scurrying and gutting each other.  ;D

Is there any economic policies to be discussed of is it up to how many celeb endorsements you can obtain.

From the outside looking it, there's always been the feeling that American politics have been dumbed down, sadly I get the feeling its going that way here as well.

That is not true. I can assure you that if you have even a passing  interest in politics then the level of political discourse you will see and hear on NPR, CSPAN, certain programs on the more mainstream channels and on the pages of the New York times or any other major newspaper stands up extremely well to anything you will see or hear at home. American politics is actually a beautiful thing to behold if you can get past your preconceived notions, right down to the local level. Actual policy is debated at every level in a way that I simply have not seen in Ireland, the UK or mainland Europe.

You may have a point, but these conventions where celebs are wheeled out for a few lovely words just reek of populist bullshit to me.

What makes people think the Clint Eastwood would have a clue about the US economy or foreign policy? What has he and his ilk on the Democrats side got to offer?

Quote from: johnneycool on September 10, 2012, 12:08:03 PM
You may have a point, but these conventions where celebs are wheeled out for a few lovely words just reek of populist bullshit to me.

What makes people think the Clint Eastwood would have a clue about the US economy or foreign policy? What has he and his ilk on the Democrats side got to offer?

Gil Scott Heron describes this better than anyone
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sLtRHN7fsgY

Eastwood has long been vocal and involved in American politics. He had a successful term as Mayor of Carmel also. He'd have more of a clue about the issues than many posters on here. Sure, there's a bit of populism and celebrity to the national conventions but it's not the case of rolling out someone just for the sake of it.

I'm reminded of Twink at the FG Árd Fheis one time.

Quote from: Puckoon on September 10, 2012, 04:39:25 PM
Eastwood has long been vocal and involved in American politics. He had a successful term as Mayor of Carmel also. He'd have more of a clue about the issues than many posters on here. Sure, there's a bit of populism and celebrity to the national conventions but it's not the case of rolling out someone just for the sake of it.

Maybe he does, but he didn't demonstrate it in his, er, performance.

I don't worry that politics in America is being dumbed down. It bothers me that in a two-party system, one of the parties has been captured by a lunatic fringe that wouldn't be within the margin of error of existing in the rest of the developed world.

No doubt, his little skit at the RNC was dumb, to say the least. I was merely suggesting that they weren't going down the line pulling a celebrity with little to no involvement or knowledge in American Politics in.

Quote from: deiseach on September 10, 2012, 05:34:45 PM

Maybe he does, but he didn't demonstrate it in his, er, performance.

I don't worry that politics in America is being dumbed down. It bothers me that in a two-party system, one of the parties has been captured by a lunatic fringe that wouldn't be within the margin of error of existing in the rest of the developed world.

The National Front got a pretty good showing in French presidential elections and it wasn't long ago that Austria elected the neo-nazi president, so there's no shortage of 'lunacy' in Europe too.

The juxtaposition of Carmel/Pebble Beach and the nearby agricultural areas around Salinas is very striking. Carmel is filthy rich whilst a few miles down the road mexicans pick salad leaves for a pittance

I love this graphic from the last race