The Many Faces of US Politics...

Started by Tyrones own, March 20, 2009, 09:29:14 PM

GM's still alive and Bin Laden is dead.  If Romney were president the opposite would be true.

By the time Obama's done he'll deserve to be added to Mount Rushmore.

4 more years! 4 more years! 4 more years!

Quote from: stew on July 31, 2012, 02:09:29 AM
there are shite politicians across the board and Obama is as much a mare as W, I fecking live here and that is the Gods honest.

Stew,

I'm curious as to what in particular has underwhelmed you with President Obama thus far, and also if you think that the Republicans likely candidate Romney, would be a better president. Or any of the outsiders the Republicans can still nominate, Ron Paul, Matt Snyder, Vern Wuensche, Tom Miller, Jimmy McMillan, Andy Martin or Kathryn Lane, do you see any of those folks doing a better job running the country?

Perhaps an independent may have a shot this year? Anyone you'd like to see?

Quote from: Eamonnca1 on July 31, 2012, 06:06:40 AM
GM's still alive and Bin Laden is dead.  If Romney were president the opposite would be true.

By the time Obama's done he'll deserve to be added to Mount Rushmore.

4 more years! 4 more years! 4 more years!

Unparalled debt, the clampett gave handouts to wall street executives and they gave themselves a nice big fat bonus ev en though their companies lost billions.

Health care reform is f**king nuts altogether and would destroy the economy.

Big government is king under this clown.

He has been a disaster, admitted to have lost touch with the people and is taxing the middle class to death.

How about this wee man, let the career unemployed get jobs and if they make under a certain amount the government then should kick in and help. There are many public services they could do instead if they really dont want to work.

We are taxed to the hilt under this clown, we work and there is plenty of work for those that want it, fcuk the bleeding hearts.

No more years! No more years! no more years!

Mount Rushmore my hole, he will go down with W as a useless bastard and the tail end of the Presidential rankings.

Quote from: heganboy on July 31, 2012, 12:40:19 PM
there are shite politicians across the board and Obama is as much a mare as W, I fecking live here and that is the Gods honest.

Stew,

I'm curious as to what in particular has underwhelmed you with President Obama thus far, and also if you think that the Republicans likely candidate Romney, would be a better president. Or any of the outsiders the Republicans can still nominate, Ron Paul, Matt Snyder, Vern Wuensche, Tom Miller, Jimmy McMillan, Andy Martin or Kathryn Lane, do you see any of those folks doing a better job running the country?

Quote from: heganboy on July 31, 2012, 12:40:19 PM

Stew,

This country has not had a good candidate since Clinton, Romney is not a goodun either and there is not a single independent out there that would be a viable candidate, Ron Paul is a wee bit nuts and unfit for the top office.

Bring back Bubba, he was the best President in the past couple of decades, I know it cant happen but when the country is this messed up they should let him tog out for another term.

I have two kids, one is Republican and the other a Liberal, the wife is also going to vote for Obama which I dont understand, maybe it is because Romney is a scary proposition and may not even do the job Obama did, I dont know, I wanted Obama to be great, he sucks,as did W before him.

Quote from: stew on July 31, 2012, 12:43:59 PM
We are taxed to the hilt under this clown, we work and there is plenty of work for those that want it, fcuk the bleeding hearts.

Tax rates have fallen under the Obama administration. Not that it has anything to do with him, tax is set by Congress, but let's stick to the facts.

Thats a lovely wee graph, it is also bullshit, a good example of that was March 1st of this year, my good wife and I paid $3,174, 26 more in taxes than we did the previous year, oh yeah, we also got a rate hike from the Village we liv e in of no less than $923.56. I live here and people are pissed about the taxation situation and the wee graph is inaccurate in the extreme.

As for the congress thing, that is true up to a point, he has this thing called the power of veto and he can use his office to make decisions like lowering taxes, he is however a master at trying to tax the shite out of the middle class and the wealthy and attacked Romney because he had the temerity to be a self made multi millionaire.

I have friends who were business owners, due to the economy they had to close their doors and had to take money out of annuities, Obamanation had the opportunity to do the right thing and lower the exorbitant taxes on taking money out of your retirement fund before the age of 59 and a half, when all is said and done, you take ten grand out and you lose 45 - 50% of that. This is criminal and the rate should be halved to let people get back on their feet.

Taxing the shit out of the rich is not the answer either, everyone should pay their fair share and obviously there should be different rates based on your level of income, just my two cents worth.

Quote from: stew on July 31, 2012, 01:20:50 PM
Thats a lovely wee graph, it is also bullshit, a good example of that was March 1st of this year, my good wife and I paid $3,174, 26 more in taxes than we did the previous year, oh yeah, we also got a rate hike from the Village we liv e in of no less than $923.56. I live here and people are pissed about the taxation situation and the wee graph is inaccurate in the extreme.

I post a graph from the US Senate Joint Committee on Taxation. You post your own personal experience. I leave it to others to decide which best represents the experience of 300 million people living in the US.

Well done to Mitt Romney who has had an epiphany on the virtues of socialised health care systems during his visit to Israel.

Romeny will not be much better. Out of all the candidates on the Republican side I would have preferred them to put Ron Paul forward.
People in America invest way too much energy in politics, and you seem to have been sucked into it all too Stew.
Nothing really changes here. President's come and go, political parties pass the baton and the country is still the same.

Big Business runs America. There is no real democracy here that I can see.

The Church also hold people to ransom to vote for Republicans just because of the Republican Party's "perceived" stance on ethical and moral issues but they don't have the best politics (even if it did matter).

I'm glad I'm not a citizen and I'm glad I don't have to vote. Politics is banned in our house (at least American politics :) )

Quote from: deiseach on July 31, 2012, 01:39:56 PM

I post a graph from the US Senate Joint Committee on Taxation. You post your own personal experience. I leave it to others to decide which best represents the experience of 300 million people living in the US.

I am just an example, you said taxes went down, they didnt, they went up for the middle class and the upper class, they had to I suppose to support the lazy that never want to find work and the illegal immigrants that suck the life out of the economy.

This President is soft on illegal immigration, granted it is hypocritical of both parties that they let migrant Mexican workers in to work in the fields come harvest time they use them when it suits them and that is wrong.

Mexican kids come across the border every school day, they get a bus to said school paid for by the American taxpayer and the teachers are not allowed to ask the kids were they are from, that is ridiculous, Liberalism gone mad.

Why the feck should I and every taxpayer have to pay for illegal aliens to break the law?

If you can't see what is wrong with extrapolating the experience of the entire United States from a sample size of 1, there's no point in carrying on the conversation

Quote from: stew on July 31, 2012, 09:39:24 PM

I am just an example, you said taxes went down, they didnt, they went up for the middle class and the upper class, they had to I suppose to support the lazy that never want to find work and the illegal immigrants that suck the life out of the economy.

This President is soft on illegal immigration, granted it is hypocritical of both parties that they let migrant Mexican workers in to work in the fields come harvest time they use them when it suits them and that is wrong.

Mexican kids come across the border every school day, they get a bus to said school paid for by the American taxpayer and the teachers are not allowed to ask the kids were they are from, that is ridiculous, Liberalism gone mad.

Why the feck should I and every taxpayer have to pay for illegal aliens to break the law?

Illegal immigrants and "the lazy"? Why don't you throw the homosexuals, atheists, feminists and "environazis" in there to complete the right wing paranoid resentment checklist!  :D

Quote from: J70 on July 31, 2012, 09:58:18 PM
Quote from: stew on July 31, 2012, 09:39:24 PM

Illegal immigrants and "the lazy"? Why don't you throw the homosexuals, atheists, feminists and "environazis" in there to complete the right wing paranoid resentment checklist!  :D

Was thinking the same. Were you not an"illegal immigrant" yourself at one time Stew? Or is that term only for non-white fruit pickers?

Quote from: stew on July 31, 2012, 12:43:59 PM
the clampett gave handouts to wall street executives and they gave themselves a nice big fat bonus ev en though their companies lost billions.

Perhaps you refer to TARP. 

You are aware that that bailout took place under the Bush administration, aren't you?  The economy was collapsing while the 2008 campaign was still underway, between Barack Obama and John "the fundamentals of our economy are sound" McCain.

WASHINGTON—With polls this week showing the race between Barack Obama and Mitt Romney tightening even further, a growing number of political experts have declared this year's election will almost certainly be decided by a small handful of swing corporations.

"While most publicly traded companies are solidly red or blue, there are four or five major corporations that are complete tossups right now, and any one of them could prove decisive come November," said Nate Silver of The New York Times, noting in particular that Procter & Gamble, a traditional bellwether for the country as a whole, remained a "total wildcard." "Both candidates will have to focus almost exclusively on these swing businesses in order to gain the upper hand."

"And given how close this race is, I wouldn't be surprised if the whole thing comes down to undecided executives at Dow Chemical or Disney," Silver continued. "Let's not forget 2000, when Philip Morris International single-handedly put George W. Bush into office."

According to polling data, the president's favorability has fallen steadily among independent-leaning multinationals, a demographic that effectively carried him to victory in 2008. Additionally, the latest figures suggest that even some reliably Democratic strongholds, such as Google, may now be in play, buoying hopes within the Romney camp that the GOP challenger could take the White House with an unexpected victory in a key tech boardroom.

Recognizing the importance of these closely contested conglomerates, both Obama and Romney have made frequent campaign stops at swing corporations in recent weeks and delivered speeches aimed squarely at these pivotal companies' interests, with both candidates blasting each other as out of touch with the issues that truly matter to real American CEOs.

"As president, I promise to stand up for you in Washington and always put you first," Romney said earlier this week, addressing an audience in the battleground boardroom of Time Warner during a barnstorming tour through the communications sector. "All of you good, hardworking people gathered here represent the best of America, and mark my words, I will do everything in my power to fight for your freedoms and prosperity."

Political observers have noted the stakes of this year's election are unusually high, with many experts claiming the Affordable Care Act's fate, the tax burden on American families, and a possible U.S. invasion of Iran are questions that now reside entirely in the hands of those few Fortune 500 corporations that remain up for grabs.

"I went with Obama in 2008, but now I'm having my doubts," said Kenneth Frazier, an undecided CEO at the Merck corporation. "Frankly, I've been disappointed with his failure to follow through on the promises he made to us four years ago. This time around, I want to make sure I'm voting for someone who truly has the best interests of me and my company at heart."

"It's kind of exciting, though," Frazier added. "Who knows? Maybe in November it will be our $15 million backing funneled anonymously into a political action committee that decides this whole thing."

MORE NEWS