The OFFICIAL Liverpool FC thread - #DankeJürgen

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, February 05, 2009, 03:47:16 PM

bamboo

Lads,please please don't get narky. You just broke the world record for a defender so enjoy it. No longer can you slag off any other club for money spent. Glory days are back again. enjoy it

Quote from: hardstation on December 27, 2017, 07:25:45 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 27, 2017, 07:20:58 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 27, 2017, 07:19:26 PM
Let us not lose sight that the defender in question is Virgil van Dijk!

This is another Andy Carroll signing. They've lost the run of themselves completely.

Nope. Andy Carroll was never going to work.
Oh right.  ::)

Do you think everyone was saying Andy Carroll was going to be a roaring success?  Back at the time there was general confusion as to why he was bought. It was obviously a panic move with Torres going. Liverpool never played a style that would suit a big man up front. It was the same issue with Benteke.

bamboo

Ignore the past mistakes. You've just paid a world record fee for a defender. world record. That's who you are now. Enjoy the glory years.

I'm a Celtic man but ffs give the man a chance...He's good in the air, he's big & strong and has a burst of pace too. Yes the fee is big but that's just the way things are, is Neymar worth £400 mill over 5 years...obsolutely not but if clubs are prepared to pay the money then it's their problem. He will def improve Liverpool at the back and that's why Liverpool bought him...

Good Luck with him...

Quote from: hardstation on December 27, 2017, 07:33:44 PM
Paying a fcukload of money for a mediocre player gives the impression you've signed a star.

Someone of influence at Anfield believes this.

Not just at Anfield. People are playing fuckloads of money for players all over the place. It's mental.

bamboo trying hard but failing miserably tonight . ;D

Quote from: laoislad on December 27, 2017, 07:41:36 PM
bamboo trying hard but failing miserably tonight . ;D

He is persistent though :)

Paying a fcukload of money for a mediocre player gives the impression you've signed a star.

It's no worse than 50 million for Kyle Walker.

Van Djik's petulant approach to playing for Southampton after he didn't get his way is a bit of a red flag. Courtinho was messed around much more but still applied himself well after the window closed.

Quote from: AZOffaly on December 27, 2017, 07:23:46 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on December 27, 2017, 07:21:39 PM
Quote from: Minder on December 27, 2017, 06:57:39 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on December 27, 2017, 06:46:54 PM
75m for Van Dijk  :o did Liverpool employ someone daft on their transfers business?

If it's the right player it doesent matter on the fee, the clubs can all afford it

Not sure £75m should be a surprise given that was the fee widely quoted all year

Liverpool need more than one defender and could have got a few good defenders for that 75m fee. Fair play to Southampton though for holding out and getting such a fee for Van Dijk

Such as who? Where are all these 'good' defenders that would total at 75m?

You shop around and not be focused on just one target as Liverpool have done with Van Dijk. Otamendi is the best centre back for Man City right now and he cost about 28M.

north_antrim_hound

Man City where chasing him so that is his worth
Get used to these sort of transfer fees for decent players to any club
Once couthino goes he will pay for VVD and  kieta
To stenghen a bad defence these days is going to cost hundreds of millions
The two biggest spenders in premier league this last ten years have been Man City followed by Man U
Look at the table
It's money ball
There's a man with a mullet going mad with a mallet in Millets

Quote from: north_antrim_hound on December 27, 2017, 07:56:48 PM

The two biggest spenders in premier league this last ten years have been Man City followed by Man U
Look at the table
It's money ball

Keita is not a defensive midfielder.. I can't get over the obvious (if laughable) racism involved in assuming a diminutive African midfielder is a Kante-alike.

Who said he's a defensive midfielder?

Quote from: north_antrim_hound on December 27, 2017, 07:56:48 PM

Look at the table
It's money ball

Ur not understanding moneyball if you think this signing qualifies?

north_antrim_hound

Quote from: AZOffaly on December 27, 2017, 08:01:33 PM

I didn't so I don't why it's mentioned
There's a man with a mullet going mad with a mallet in Millets

Quote from: north_antrim_hound on December 27, 2017, 08:04:37 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 27, 2017, 08:01:33 PM

I didn't so I don't why it's mentioned

I know you didn't.  But you are missing a full stop which means it might look that way at first reading.