Rats - any good stories?

Started by Hurler on the Bitch, September 17, 2007, 10:53:21 PM

mc_grens

Not strictly a Rat story but close enough.

While living in Queens halls in first year (1996), on the way into the canteen one of the student election candidates, a DUP fella called Moneypenny, and his supporters were there canvassing for the upcoming poll.

At that time Queens student council must've favoured SDLP and SF candidates (they'd just introduced Irish language signs, etc.).

So one of Moneypenny's supporters is standing there shouting "Stop the Republican Rot" in a strong Belfast accent.

My mate Niall goes sauntering over with a completely innocent look, and says, "I've a Repulican Rat in my room. The little f**ker has a Celtic scarf on and runs around squeeking rebel songs. If I let you in can you stop it for me?"

Cue much hilarity and red DUP faces.

haveaharp

3rd mouse caught in same spot in 2 weeks. Smooth peanut butter, they cant resist. Have been in the house 10 years and never had one, where are the hoors coming from.

Quote from: haveaharp on January 28, 2010, 08:23:54 AM
3rd mouse caught in same spot in 2 weeks. Smooth peanut butter, they cant resist. Have been in the house 10 years and never had one, where are the hoors coming from.

Usually they come from daddy and mummy mice.

haveaharp

Quote from: Orior on January 28, 2010, 09:35:42 AM
Quote from: haveaharp on January 28, 2010, 08:23:54 AM

Usually they come from daddy and mummy mice.

Well i hope mummy and daddy were the first 2 to have their necks crushed. Those we plastic traps from b&q are miles better than the old wooden ones that used to take the fingers off ye

Actually it reminds me of a question....

Q. How do women get mink?

A. The same way that mink get mink

Have a few traps set outside the house and the woman has phoned to say that a small/baby rat has been caught this morning.  This is the 3rd one in 2 weeks.  The neighbours apparently have told her that there is a mice/rat nest in their shed and a hole that they have dug into, but they said they apparently are happy to just not go into the shed.  They also said that underneath their decking that something has chewed the cable for their fountain.

What can I get the environmental health to do?  I phoned the Council (Craigavon) this morning and I alluded to the neighbours maybe being the problem, and they said that the only reason they could take action is if I complain officially.  Can you not get the Environmental Health out to your property if you suspect there has been rats about?

One night I was out in the driveway changing a car wheel. I was heading off to the local pub with my next door neighbour and found I had a flat so it was a case of having to do a bit of grunt work first.
The oul fella I was bringing with me was a cranky, short-tempered git at the best of times and he kept moaning as I set about changing wheels. Maybe I was deliberately slowing things down a bit just to annoy him but at any rate, he lost the rag and stormed off out to the road.
Within seconds, he managed to flag down a passing car and the driver knew the pair of us well.  He told us to drop tools and come along with him and that seemed like a good idea to me.
So I got up off my hunkers and fecked the spare wheel over my shoulder and let it land where it would. I made a dash for the front seat of the waiting car- just to annoy the neighbour a bit more.
Off we set and I thought no more about the job I had been doing.  I was living in rural Meath at the time and I knew nothing would be touched in my absence. The flat could wait until the morning.
We all got well and truly pissed in the pub and I was in some state the following morning when I surfaced and went out to finish the job. I bent down to pick up the spare wheel and got a nasty shock. I found the biggest rat I had ever seen lying squashed beneath it. The bastard's neck was broken when the wheel landed on him.

I sobered up on the spot; the hoor must have been sitting there watching me change that wheel.! ;D

Quote from: nrico2006 on June 09, 2011, 11:52:35 AM
Have a few traps set outside the house and the woman has phoned to say that a small/baby rat has been caught this morning.  This is the 3rd one in 2 weeks.  The neighbours apparently have told her that there is a mice/rat nest in their shed and a hole that they have dug into, but they said they apparently are happy to just not go into the shed.  They also said that underneath their decking that something has chewed the cable for their fountain.

What can I get the environmental health to do?  I phoned the Council (Craigavon) this morning and I alluded to the neighbours maybe being the problem, and they said that the only reason they could take action is if I complain officially.  Can you not get the Environmental Health out to your property if you suspect there has been rats about?

They may be happy not to go into the shed but I doubt they have an agreement in place with the shed-dwellers not to go into their house. Then they'll have to take action.

f**k that, that gives me the shivers,

Them boys needed to hire out a few Jack Russells for the day.

those dogs are too big for ratting. Terriers are much better suited. Neck should be broke and rats thrown off to the side in one motion.
Never seen as many in one spot but my Da has told me loads of stories about doing something similar when he was young, said he never seen as many colours in his life.

Feck!  I'll have nightmares the night!!!