You know what really grinds my gears?

Started by corn02, June 02, 2007, 03:41:22 PM

Quote from: Puckoon on July 15, 2010, 11:47:37 PM
100 degrees here hitting 101 this weekend, the AC unit is busted and the quotes are around 650$ to fix the hoor.

I'll fix it for $100 if you fly me over

Quote from: Puckoon on July 15, 2010, 11:47:37 PM
100 degrees here hitting 101 this weekend, the AC unit is busted and the quotes are around 650$ to fix the hoor.

come home, its raining here for the next 40 days, so they say

Quote from: upmonaghansayswe on July 09, 2010, 11:38:49 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on July 09, 2010, 11:25:44 PM
Quote from: paco on July 09, 2010, 11:13:39 PM
3 or 4 years and thousands of pounds of debt for a few letters after your name as the aul boy says. On a (slightly) similar note, university lecturers who call themselves doctors, where did they get that idea?

theres a few grand wasted.
Doctor is an academic title not a medical
one in fact most medical doctors are not qualified enough to genuinely earn the title.
and yes titles do actually impress employers. with people educated to degree level earning significantly more that less well qualified co-workers . employers do read facebook.

Cop yourself on... He was on about putting academic titles on a facebook page not your C.V... The first being pathetic, the latter being essential..

no but they do check it out to see what kind if potential moron they are hiring

tyroneboi

GAA commentators (Sidebottom and Marty Morrisey being the main culprits) using players nicknames in their commentary. Really annoys the crap out of me!

Celt_Man

Quote from: tyroneboi on July 19, 2010, 12:15:40 AM
GAA commentators (Sidebottom and Marty Morrisey being the main culprits) using players nicknames in their commentary. Really annoys the crap out of me!

Yea they just want to show that they are "in" with the players more than us mere mortals...
GAA Board Six Nations Fantasy Champion 2010

EagleLord

Quote from: Celt_Man on July 19, 2010, 12:30:06 AM

Yea they just want to show that they are "in" with the players more than us mere mortals...

I remember that being one of the first things I read on this thread and really thinking, My God I 100% agree with that! Sidebottom always says Mugsy and Ricey, and Morrisy always says Gooch and Star.

DirtyDozen12

Quote from: EagleLord on July 19, 2010, 12:48:35 AM
Quote from: Celt_Man on July 19, 2010, 12:30:06 AM

I remember that being one of the first things I read on this thread and really thinking, My God I 100% agree with that! Sidebottom always says Mugsy and Ricey, and Morrisy always says Gooch and Star.

Who gives a shite really, some of you are really easily annoyed, everyone knows their nicknames and sure when talking in general conversation about the match you will refer to Ricey, Mugsy, Star and Gooch, sure even yesterday, the commentators where calling DONAL Shine, DONNY Shine, big woopty dooo, but i suppose this annoyed ya's as well???????

Turn off the sound if it annoys you that much or spoils your enjoyment of the game  :-\ 
Beer, now there's a temporary solution!!!

Sidebottom elongates it too! It is never just 'Mugsy' with him but rather 'here is Mugsy Mulligan' or 'Ricey McMenamin has the ball', we know their fecking surnames!

When commentators say "he put in a good shift" when a player is being subbed. Only a newish term I think but bugs me for some reason.

Soft frees given for perfect tackles and backs just standing their ground. As for the shoulder, ther's no point even attempting it anymore. Even if it's perfectly executed you'll be lucky if you just get a yellow.

And Marty Morrissey - Every single time ( and I'm not exaggerating when I say every single time) a player kicks the sliotar he cracks that lame joke - "And Richie shows there's footballers in Kilkenny too".

Once again, people who sit in the overtaking lane.

I was listening to the armagh game on the radio and they kept mentioning the exclusion zone? Is this a new thing?

The nickname thing annoys me too, you don't get it in any other sport. There isn't a GAA commentator that doesnt bug me.

tyroneboi

Just on commentators coming up with new terminology, the fella on TV3 always says 'round the corner'. What does this even mean? Like POG says, a lot of the commentators really annoy me particularly Ger Canning.

I presume kicking around the corner? That's actually an old term. It's when a lad kicks with his body parallel to the target, like a corner forward coming out from goals and kicking across himself.