Man Utd Thread:

Started by full back, November 10, 2006, 08:13:49 AM

Delighted with the result and the performance. Looked to be a fantastic atmosphere in the Theatre of Dreams last night and a performance to match. Delighted for Brown and Park who would not always get the credit they deserve. Rio was immense - anyone who cannot admit his worth obviously knows nothing about soccer. Hargreaves is some boy too. Worked his socks off and did admirably playing out of position. That's professionalism. Evra was superb last night too. Thought Carrick didn't play that well but tried hard. Scholes produced his best performance of the year. Great goal and actually won a load of possession. Didn't get caught in possession but was bunched when after an hour. Nani worked hard and carried a threat though he takes wrong options at times. Will be some player in a couple of years. Thought Ronaldo stood up and was counted last night. More maturity than previously. Very unlucky to be penalised so much by the ref. Then - what can you say about Carlos Tevez. The man is fast becoming a United legend, even at this early stage. Great stuff.

Couldn't care less about tonight though a few sendings off wouldn't go astray. Pros and cons with facing each of them so no point wasting too much time thinking about it. West Ham on Saturday now. Hopefully Rooney and Vidic will be back soon. Not many could have achieved that last night without two front line players like those two.

QuoteOne of which I don't recall anyone being charged with i.e. it didn't happen

For the record....my point isn't that it did or didn't happen,

hmmmm discrepancy?  :-\

Great stuff. My nerves have just settled. Utd dug deep and deserve to be in the Final. I hope the dippers get through tonight because the thought of beating them in the final is just too good. I think with a full squad we could have either of them. Moscow will be rough that night!

An Fear Rua

Its Grim up North

Goats Do Shave

I'm in Prague on a stag the week end before the final,

have spent all night pricing trains & flights.

32 hours on a train from Prague to Moscow, then 15 hours to Riga, for a flight home after... I'd love to do it!

However the problem would be the Visa's!

Joke decision to have it in Moscow, it's a nightmare to get to, & wait till you see the trouble!!

Smokin Joe

Quote from: Goats Do Shave on April 30, 2008, 09:49:11 AM

32 hours on a train from Prague to Moscow, then 15 hours to Riga, for a flight home after... I'd love to do it!

Joke decision to have it in Moscow, it's a nightmare to get to, & wait till you see the trouble!!

Goats I'm sure you'll get enough drink in Prague to do you, rather than looking for more  :o

Personally I wouldn't fancy heading to Moscow.  I heard a few ropey stories from Irish fans who attended a game over there 3 or 4 years ago.  Let's just say that the stories make the B Specials seem like a civilised police force.

The thought that the Russian peelers will have a city full of English soccer fans to deal with would be more than enough to put any idea of attending firmly to the back of my mind.

There will be serious trouble.

Goats Do Shave

Quote from: Smokin Joe on April 30, 2008, 09:57:25 AM
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on April 30, 2008, 09:49:11 AM

Goats I'm sure you'll get enough drink in Prague to do you, rather than looking for more  :o

Personally I wouldn't fancy heading to Moscow.  I heard a few ropey stories from Irish fans who attended a game over there 3 or 4 years ago.  Let's just say that the stories make the B Specials seem like a civilised police force.

The thought that the Russian peelers will have a city full of English soccer fans to deal with would be more than enough to put any idea of attending firmly to the back of my mind.

There will be serious trouble.

But it's a mastercard moment!!!! It's looking unlikely! to be honest!

The Sunday is a UTD shirt day by the way!!  ;)

Stagmeister

Fair play to Park last night, he's obviously a limited player but thought he was very good last night. Thought it was pathetic the way Dunphy couldn't admit after the game that Park had played well.
He is always questioning footballers character and Integrity, thought that incident showed that he has no character or integrity himself.

All four United defenders were excellent as well, Hargreaves is a great right back and Brown has always been a much better centre back than full back. Has to be said though Van Der Sar looked very shaky last night and his distribution was terrible at times.
How is your man Abidal playing left full for France...he has looked pretty poor in comparison to Evra over the two legs of this tie. Would also have Clichy ahead of him as well..

Eto'o also looks to be badly out of form at the moment, at his best he's lethal but he wasn't even making any good runs last night. Messi was burning players for fun last night but as soon as he got near the box he had no options as no one was running off him or creating space. As a result Barca failed to create a single clearcut chance in the game

Well done United. I thought your centre of defence were brilliant all night and kept Barca's straight forward attempts on goal to a minimum.
Also have to say great work rate by Park, and expecially Teves to put the Barca middle men under pressure coming out of their own half.
Ronaldo wasn't involved as much as usual and looked a little frustrated. But you can't be great every game.
The only thing I would say is that I think alot here are giving Evra a wee bit too much praise. To me especially in the first half I though everything good from Barca came down Untied's left. I think he was giving Messi far too much room. The only reason this didn't matter as much was because the two Centre halves had blinders. I just think that he's a bit too attacking. And had Barca had someone with more guile in the centre it could have been costly.

But all in all a good preformance from United and You'd have to make them firm favorites for the CL now no matter who comes out of the other side.

I'll be in the middle of my final exams the day of the final, :-\ but if Utd win there'll be no stopping me going on the beer!! :D

Quote from: Stagmeister on April 30, 2008, 10:12:42 AM
Fair play to Park last night, he's obviously a limited player but thought he was very good last night. Thought it was pathetic the way Dunphy couldn't admit after the game that Park had played well.
He is always questioning footballers character and Integrity, thought that incident showed that he has no character or integrity himself.

All four United defenders were excellent as well, Hargreaves is a great right back and Brown has always been a much better centre back than full back. Has to be said though Van Der Sar looked very shaky last night and his distribution was terrible at times.
How is your man Abidal playing left full for France...he has looked pretty poor in comparison to Evra over the two legs of this tie. Would also have Clichy ahead of him as well..

Eto'o also looks to be badly out of form at the moment, at his best he's lethal but he wasn't even making any good runs last night. Messi was burning players for fun last night but as soon as he got near the box he had no options as no one was running off him or creating space. As a result Barca failed to create a single clearcut chance in the game

For Dunphy to say Park did nothing last night is pathetic. Unbelievable workrate, how many times did himself and Tevez force the Barcelona defence to give the ball away.
Shocked by Wes Brown's performance, world class at centre-half, maybe he's a victim of his own versatility at right-back.
Never been more nervous watching a game, Messi is unreal with the ball at his feet, but short of Henry's header did they create a decent effort inside the area?
Good to see Ronaldo doing a bit more working and pressing last night, and delighted for Scholes, absolute legend.
Can sit back and relax tonight and hope for an over zealous referee, don't care who goes through. Carragher, Gerrard and Terry all on yellows.

If Stevie G picks up a yellow and Livepool go thorugh it would be a laugh - but sure he doesn't usually play against United anyway.

QuoteIf Stevie G picks up a yellow and Livepool go thorugh it would be a laugh - but sure he doesn't usually play against United anyway.

Would not want Gerrard not to make it to the final as the scousers would only bleat that they got beat as their key man in the middle was missing.   I'd want Liverpool in the final at full strength.   No hiding place for their supporters then when we beat them at a canter.  Bring it on!

Tell me this, does anyone here really give a feck about what Dumphy says about Ronaldo or any other United player for that matter? He sits there and berates players with more talent in their togher than thon twat ever had......

Well lads. Chelsea it is then. I would rather of had the chance to beat the scousers but the blue noses will do :D :D
My team for the final if all available:

VDS
                                                    brown  rio  vidic  Evra
                                                Tevez Scoles Hargreaves Nani
                                                        Ronaldo  Rooney

Play as a 4-4-2 with Rooney and Tevez switching now and again. Attack from the start and get the first goal.  That leaves us with a strong bench as well. 3-1 UTD win ;D ;D