Started by BennyCake, September 09, 2014, 12:47:26 PM

Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Truthsayer

Quote from: tbrick18 on July 15, 2025, 11:26:26 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on July 13, 2025, 08:34:52 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 13, 2025, 06:57:45 PMThe doom and gloom lads beginning to crawl back out!!

Just so I'm clear good games earlier in the year were a result of the new rules?

Poor games in the semi finals nothing to do with the new rules?

That's obviously tongue in cheek and not aimed specifically at anyone but it is the way I've seen some people get on.

Overall I've warmed a lot on the rules. I particularly like the solo and go as it's now been refereed and played. That said I still think there's a lot of problems with them. The introduction of the two pointer has devalued a goal and even a one pointer. The fact that two pointers can be scored from accidental fouls or 3v3 breaches etc devalues them further.

I think the rules also work better for the sport as a tv sport rather than an in person sport were decisions can be baffling and seem very unfair at times.

All that said I think the majority are here to stay and I'm not going to be tearing up my season ticket or anything over that. I just still remain of the view that the changes made went too far to correct supposed failings that weren't really there.

I don't think the quality of football has improved this year to the extent the rules had envisioned.

Yeah I agree with most of this.
To listen to the TV pundits, you'd swear the game is night and day a better spectacle than last year and all down to the new rules.
But higher figures on the scoreboard don't necessarily mean a better game.
Solo and go I like, keeps the game moving. I don't the dissent rule either. The handing the ball over rule is ridiculous and I think the kickout rule is purpose built for a few teams.
I can live with no-backpassing to the keeper too, but the game isn't this free-flowing kicking game that was envisaged by keeping 3 forward at all times.
IMO, they should be removing rules rather than adding to allow a bit more fluidity in games. Remove the mark, remove the kickout rule, remove the 3-up rule, remove the 2pt'ers and arc altogether, utilise the black card the way it was meant to be used and the game is perfectly fine.
The game is night and day a better spectacle. It was horrendous.
Club games so much more watchable and enjoyable as well. Will always be one-sided games no matter what the rules are, when a team is much better than their opponents.

Quote from: J70 on July 15, 2025, 10:35:01 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 13, 2025, 06:57:45 PMThe doom and gloom lads beginning to crawl back out!!

Yep. People have short memories.

Personally, I was close to giving up on the game in the last couple of years, and was only really going out of my way to watch my own county, which was getting very tough also. This year has been brilliant to watch by comparison to the past five years.

I really hope they keep the main changes (three men up, two pointer, quick start frees, and no back pass).

Couldn't agree more. I've watched more games this year than the previous 10...football was utter muck with the odd decent game. Club games worse

EoinW

Correct me if I'm wrong but I believe the issues the FRC wished to fix with the new rules were: 1) increase the tempo of games 2) limit the defensive dominance to create more balance between offence and defence 3) get kicking back into the game, with less hand passing.

The tap and go, even if it had been the only change, has been a terrific positive.  The 50 metre nonsense really seems needless.  Referees already have yellow cards to punish dissent.

3 v 3 has been a nice idea to solve the packed defensive dominance, however it's clear that the scores are coming too easily.  I'd suggest 2 v 2 next year.  Perhaps the extra defender will give the FRC the balance it seeks.

Frankly, what everyone really enjoys is the quick long kick. Attack the defence before it can get set up.  Basically the fast break of basketball or box lacrosse.  Kerry use this brilliantly.  Donegal give us the other side - recycling the ball until they create the easy point.  That's not meant as a criticism of Donegal because they do have the pace to play the fast break too.

What I find odd is that the 14 men packed defence is actually a reason to kick long and attack quickly.  Yet we know from earlier years that this really wasn't happening much.  Would the tap and go rule now change that?

Regarding the 2 point rule: I do not see how it adds anything to the game, besides inflating scores.  Yes there's a novelty aspect to it right now.  That will wear out.  The fact is, there's an element of enthusiasm for all the changes simply because it's something new.  A bit like F1 introducing new rule changes which would have all fans curious and excited for the Australian Grand Prix.  By the time of the Italian Grand Prix the novelty will have gone.

What I find most curious is that the new rules have done nothing to address the hand passing issue.  Teams can hold possession for as long as they like.  Fortunately this has not been overly abused yet but there is nothing in the rules that prevents a team from protecting a lead simply by holding the ball endlessly.  At least basketball has a back over rule.  In Gaelic football teams have all the green grass of Ireland to play keep ball in.

Previously I suggested a new rule: a limit of 12 hand passes per possession.  This would encourage more kicking and prevent teams from playing keep ball, or recycling endlessly while on offence.  I also believe such a rule would allow us to go back to the old kick out rules, including allowing back passes to goalkeepers.

Honestly this bothers me more than the 2 pointer.  The 5-10 minute blitzes we see are incredibly frustrating if it's your team being blitzed.  I'd like to be generous and say Kerry dominated the second half against Armagh.  Instead I wonder if they only dominated because of this single rule change.  Perhaps the one sided results we are seeing are due to teams unable to gain possession after being scored on.

If you're limited to 12 hand passes per possession then you can't afford to waste passes playing catch with your goalie.  Teams would have to move the ball forward quickly whether they use the keeper or not.  At least you wouldn't have the one sided spectacle of a team unable to get possession.

One other thing I'd like to see changed is to have the black card abolished.  I don't think it would have saved Tyrone, however Kerry should have played 10 minutes a man down early in Saturday's game.  The black card has never been enforced with any consistency.  Plus it's a no win situation for referees.  Most judgement calls are.  So eliminate it.

Quote from: EoinW on July 15, 2025, 11:53:48 AMCorrect me if I'm wrong but I believe the issues the FRC wished to fix with the new rules were: 1) increase the tempo of games 2) limit the defensive dominance to create more balance between offence and defence 3) get kicking back into the game, with less hand passing.

The tap and go, even if it had been the only change, has been a terrific positive.  The 50 metre nonsense really seems needless.  Referees already have yellow cards to punish dissent.

3 v 3 has been a nice idea to solve the packed defensive dominance, however it's clear that the scores are coming too easily.  I'd suggest 2 v 2 next year.  Perhaps the extra defender will give the FRC the balance it seeks.

Frankly, what everyone really enjoys is the quick long kick. Attack the defence before it can get set up.  Basically the fast break of basketball or box lacrosse.  Kerry use this brilliantly.  Donegal give us the other side - recycling the ball until they create the easy point.  That's not meant as a criticism of Donegal because they do have the pace to play the fast break too.

What I find odd is that the 14 men packed defence is actually a reason to kick long and attack quickly.  Yet we know from earlier years that this really wasn't happening much.  Would the tap and go rule now change that?

Regarding the 2 point rule: I do not see how it adds anything to the game, besides inflating scores.  Yes there's a novelty aspect to it right now.  That will wear out.  The fact is, there's an element of enthusiasm for all the changes simply because it's something new.  A bit like F1 introducing new rule changes which would have all fans curious and excited for the Australian Grand Prix.  By the time of the Italian Grand Prix the novelty will have gone.

What I find most curious is that the new rules have done nothing to address the hand passing issue.  Teams can hold possession for as long as they like.  Fortunately this has not been overly abused yet but there is nothing in the rules that prevents a team from protecting a lead simply by holding the ball endlessly.  At least basketball has a back over rule.  In Gaelic football teams have all the green grass of Ireland to play keep ball in.

Previously I suggested a new rule: a limit of 12 hand passes per possession.  This would encourage more kicking and prevent teams from playing keep ball, or recycling endlessly while on offence.  I also believe such a rule would allow us to go back to the old kick out rules, including allowing back passes to goalkeepers.

Honestly this bothers me more than the 2 pointer.  The 5-10 minute blitzes we see are incredibly frustrating if it's your team being blitzed.  I'd like to be generous and say Kerry dominated the second half against Armagh.  Instead I wonder if they only dominated because of this single rule change.  Perhaps the one sided results we are seeing are due to teams unable to gain possession after being scored on.

If you're limited to 12 hand passes per possession then you can't afford to waste passes playing catch with your goalie.  Teams would have to move the ball forward quickly whether they use the keeper or not.  At least you wouldn't have the one sided spectacle of a team unable to get possession.

One other thing I'd like to see changed is to have the black card abolished.  I don't think it would have saved Tyrone, however Kerry should have played 10 minutes a man down early in Saturday's game.  The black card has never been enforced with any consistency.  Plus it's a no win situation for referees.  Most judgement calls are.  So eliminate it.

Bringing in the 4 players back rule and no passes to the goalie in your own half has helped stem this. Previously the attacking team had an extra player to make it easier to hold possession, now at least it's 11 v 11 outfielders. I was hoping for a shot clock of approx. 70 seconds but would be hard to implement especially outside of televised games.

Quote from: EoinW on July 15, 2025, 11:53:48 AMCorrect me if I'm wrong but I believe the issues the FRC wished to fix with the new rules were: 1) increase the tempo of games 2) limit the defensive dominance to create more balance between offence and defence 3) get kicking back into the game, with less hand passing.

A: why would you continuously handpass when there is so much more space inside the scoring zone?

B: inviting teams out to chase down the team in possession opens up even more space

The constant back and forth crab like football was utterly unwatchable. 10/15 mins could pass with zero excitement, literally none. The emotional attachment linked to your own county / club tested to its limit. And the thought of watching another county / club going through it, not a chance

GTP

Football is more enjoyable but I don't see it as the best version it can be. Adding the 2 pointer is a significant change to the history and tradition of the sport and I can't see how the perceived benefits of teams being able to come back from a deficit easier and it is 'exciting' to see someone put over a long range score justify retention. I may be missing other benefits but both would remain possible without the 2 pointer so it adds nothing.
Would also remove the kickout past the arc as I just don't think it works on windy days and at club level. It can make your keeper the most important player and puts a hell of a lot of pressure on some. Forward mark remove as pointless and clear up the interpretation of midfield mark and dissent rule are also required.
If we just say everything is great we are stuck and that is not progressive.
Incidentally we are still judging the new rules on a very small sample the changes to the pass to keeper rule, the midfield mark, 3/4 up and teams adapting to things mean games are different now from the NFL and group stages. Also think referees seem to have adapted in the good old fashioned way of the GAA by not being as strict on certain breaches.

tiempo

There are players the length and breadth of the country who can kick beyond the arc for fun, for years they've been instructed not to, the incentive of 1pt was considered too low when you can work it closer for a higher % chance for the same value, while also retaining the ball

Watching gifted players kick glorious scores from distance is a breath of fresh air

Truthsayer

Quote from: GTP on July 15, 2025, 01:16:51 PMFootball is more enjoyable but I don't see it as the best version it can be. Adding the 2 pointer is a significant change to the history and tradition of the sport and I can't see how the perceived benefits of teams being able to come back from a deficit easier and it is 'exciting' to see someone put over a long range score justify retention. I may be missing other benefits but both would remain possible without the 2 pointer so it adds nothing.
Would also remove the kickout past the arc as I just don't think it works on windy days and at club level. It can make your keeper the most important player and puts a hell of a lot of pressure on some. Forward mark remove as pointless and clear up the interpretation of midfield mark and dissent rule are also required.
If we just say everything is great we are stuck and that is not progressive.
Incidentally we are still judging the new rules on a very small sample the changes to the pass to keeper rule, the midfield mark, 3/4 up and teams adapting to things mean games are different now from the NFL and group stages. Also think referees seem to have adapted in the good old fashioned way of the GAA by not being as strict on certain breaches.
You might need to find another sport 😊😅

Lots to discuss with regards to the rules and how they are going, for every one that doesn't like a certain rule someone will say they enjoy it..

I think the players have to be asked genuine questions, as they are playing with the rules, how do they like them and would there be any tweaks that they feel would make it better. The armchair viewer and of course those that pay in have thoughts on these, which as members of the association are intitled to their views but I'd say they are way down the list, whether they like it or not.

Defining the rule for tackle needs to be the main thing to address, if referee's where to adhere to the rules then it would be a free contest rather that a game of football, not sure the rules of contact in Basketball but if I read this right " Basketball rules strictly regulate physical contact to ensure fair play. Illegal actions, like holding, pushing, or hitting, result in fouls. Defensive players can contest shots and block without excessive force, while offensive players must avoid initiating contact, especially during drives to the basket" then that looks the same for football. Be a poorer spectacle for in my view.

The forward mark, get rid, not seeing much point in it now or when it came out, I like the midfield mark I feels when done it speeds up play and reduces the scrums

the 2 pointer can stay or go, but if one team can cut the deficit then that's down to the opposition allowing it or not taking advantage of their time or play with the wind in most cases, but if it goes would raising the points of a goal to 4 be a better option to increase the attempts on goal?

The not knocking it back to the keeper is also good in book, and the 40 arc distance, if its a strong wind, then the other team has it for a bit so shouldn't be an issue because of the wind. The teams that never pushed up on kickouts before the 40m arc are now doing it, I've no idea why they didn't put pressure on the kickouts for every kickout then,  if they take that away would teams then retreat back and allow the short kickout? And why would they do that?

The dissent rule is needed, but how do we keep the mouthing out and not have a stern enough tool to use that actually at this point has reduced it to nearly no slabbering?

None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Duine Inteacht Eile

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 15, 2025, 01:55:17 PMLots to discuss with regards to the rules and how they are going, for every one that doesn't like a certain rule someone will say they enjoy it..

I think the players have to be asked genuine questions, as they are playing with the rules, how do they like them and would there be any tweaks that they feel would make it better. The armchair viewer and of course those that pay in have thoughts on these, which as members of the association are intitled to their views but I'd say they are way down the list, whether they like it or not.

Defining the rule for tackle needs to be the main thing to address, if referee's where to adhere to the rules then it would be a free contest rather that a game of football, not sure the rules of contact in Basketball but if I read this right " Basketball rules strictly regulate physical contact to ensure fair play. Illegal actions, like holding, pushing, or hitting, result in fouls. Defensive players can contest shots and block without excessive force, while offensive players must avoid initiating contact, especially during drives to the basket" then that looks the same for football. Be a poorer spectacle for in my view.

The forward mark, get rid, not seeing much point in it now or when it came out, I like the midfield mark I feels when done it speeds up play and reduces the scrums

the 2 pointer can stay or go, but if one team can cut the deficit then that's down to the opposition allowing it or not taking advantage of their time or play with the wind in most cases, but if it goes would raising the points of a goal to 4 be a better option to increase the attempts on goal?

The not knocking it back to the keeper is also good in book, and the 40 arc distance, if its a strong wind, then the other team has it for a bit so shouldn't be an issue because of the wind. The teams that never pushed up on kickouts before the 40m arc are now doing it, I've no idea why they didn't put pressure on the kickouts for every kickout then,  if they take that away would teams then retreat back and allow the short kickout? And why would they do that?

The dissent rule is needed, but how do we keep the mouthing out and not have a stern enough tool to use that actually at this point has reduced it to nearly no slabbering?

There's a bit of a problem with the dissent rule from what I've seen. I'm not sure if it is the rule itself or how it is being policed but....a forward is awarded a free and the back gives off to the ref about it - a severe enough punishment is applied. However, a forward is challenged and isn't awarded a free and he gives off in a similar manner - it is being punished at all.

Not a chance the 12 handpass rule would work.

Agree on the black card, pure muck.

Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on July 15, 2025, 02:06:34 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 15, 2025, 01:55:17 PMLots to discuss with regards to the rules and how they are going, for every one that doesn't like a certain rule someone will say they enjoy it..

There's a bit of a problem with the dissent rule from what I've seen. I'm not sure if it is the rule itself or how it is being policed but....a forward is awarded a free and the back gives off to the ref about it - a severe enough punishment is applied. However, a forward is challenged and isn't awarded a free and he gives off in a similar manner - it is being punished at all.
That's on the ref then

I always thought a 40m arc for a point is too easy for big lads to get the distance. Score it from beyond the 45, make a 2pters a special score. N Grimley had a great long ranger in the final last yr, just worth a point, R O'Neill and R Beggan had 2 great 2 pters this year.memorable scores.Do away with a 2pter free, no benefit when county keepers hitting ball 60m in games. Maybe it make a goal actual value again. I also allow players inside their arc for kickouts. There no skill in a hit and hope to midfield and not enough room to go short on kickouts. You can dominate a game and get pinned in and beat in the last 10mins of a game

Mad Mentor

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 15, 2025, 02:55:09 PMI always thought a 40m arc for a point is too easy for big lads to get the distance. Score it from beyond the 45, make a 2pters a special score. N Grimley had a great long ranger in the final last yr, just worth a point, R O'Neill and R Beggan had 2 great 2 pters this year.memorable scores.Do away with a 2pter free, no benefit when county keepers hitting ball 60m in games. Maybe it make a goal actual value again. I also allow players inside their arc for kickouts. There no skill in a hit and hope to midfield and not enough room to go short on kickouts. You can dominate a game and get pinned in and beat in the last 10mins of a game

One benefit of the 2 pointer is it keeps an element of jeopardy alive for longer if a team is behind and stops a team with a lead going 100% defensive to see out a game. If you've dominated a game but couldn't see it out then that's just tough. For all the talk of how easy they are to score I reckon two pointers are rarer than they should be. As a neutral spectator to most championship games - at least the latter stages - I think it is definitely more watchable this year. The dissent punishment has certainly cleared a lot of the sh1te out of the game.