Things that make you go What the F**k?

Started by The Real Laoislad, November 19, 2007, 05:54:25 PM

AustinPowers

BBC showing all of live aid later today

I remember Quo starting it off,  Rockin all over the world.  Inbetween going in and out to play football, I only really recall the Style Council and  the last bit where they  all got together .

Seemed to go on  all day. Maybe it did , I dunno, I was only a  youngster . I was more concerned  with playing football

Quote from: AustinPowers on July 12, 2025, 11:59:03 AMBBC showing all of live aid later today

I remember Quo starting it off,  Rockin all over the world.  Inbetween going in and out to play football, I only really recall the Style Council and  the last bit where they  all got together .

Seemed to go on  all day. Maybe it did , I dunno, I was only a  youngster . I was more concerned  with playing football

me too.  it was also a starving audiance first real gig for us.

Bono is an awful ghoul, but they were shit hot around then in fairness

DaleCooper

Kudos to all of them for saving the world

Quote from: DaleCooper on July 12, 2025, 09:02:10 PMKudos to all of them for saving the world

they made an effort. saved many yourself?

AustinPowers

QuoteKudos to all of them for saving the world
They were feeding  the world

fair play to them for  that though

The Queen set at Live Aid is something else.

Truthsayer

Quote from: DaleCooper on July 12, 2025, 09:02:10 PMKudos to all of them for saving the world
They were well intentioned and I recall it did kinda bring the world together in goodwill for a day. Lot of money was donated to help the starving.
Dont know cud the world be saved.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 12, 2025, 09:09:49 PMThe Queen set at Live Aid is something else.

I stick it on whenever I'm up after a few drinks. Freddie was some showman

Quote from: Tubberman on July 12, 2025, 10:06:10 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 12, 2025, 09:09:49 PMThe Queen set at Live Aid is something else.

I stick it on whenever I'm up after a few drinks. Freddie was some showman
Same! It gets a rattle on YouTube on the TV every now and again.

Twas just on there now lads

Maradonna on now 🤝

Bbc2

I always say if there was one live show I could have experienced but didn't it's Queen at live aid. The film makes a great reconstruction of it.

DaleCooper

Quote from: AustinPowers on July 12, 2025, 09:06:17 PM
QuoteKudos to all of them for saving the world
They were feeding  the world

fair play to them for  that though

A deceased neighbour of mine spent 40 years in Ethiopia in "The Missions". As a result of fhe Fritz Haber process and open ended aid, a country that has precarious drought/ famine risk in a good year went from 39 million to 128 million people.

Environmental catastrophe due to population load, that is still at high risk from drought.

Geldof created a huge profile enriching himself from it and you can imagine the pilfering of various types that went on. Did the whole "save africa" thing for 3 months and why it's the way it is becomes apparent fairly quickly. 

Queen were definitely great though. Carryon and dont mind me.

Quote from: RedHand88 on July 12, 2025, 11:15:44 PM

I always say if there was one live show I could have experienced but didn't it's Queen at live aid. The film makes a great reconstruction of it.
That transition from Bohemian Rhapsody to Radio Gaga brings a smile to my face every time! What a front man!

AustinPowers

I am recording the shows tonight. Only catching bits  and pieces.

I did see the Queen set , it was great.

What are the  other  highlights to look out for?

And who was  absent that day that should have been  there?