Gaelic Football - Rules & Regulations discussion/clarification

Started by BennyCake, September 09, 2014, 12:47:26 PM

Lucifer

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 27, 2025, 01:27:30 PMThe keeper thing went from 20 seconds out to 30 seconds and now its actually as many seconds as long as he's not taking the piss. That's not helping that fecking moan every time a keeper puts the ball down! How long ref!

What would help, and this would suit so many people would be to bring in people that have never seen the game before, teach them the rules as per rule book and let them at it...

Get Gianni back lads!

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 26, 2025, 03:14:37 PMThe rules need simplified, Coldrick mentioned this on a podcast recently, when put to him about having two refs, he nailed it with what I've said, there's no consistency as the rules are not defined properly and having two refs with different interpretations of the 'tackle' will just make it a cluster f**k.
Maybe it is as Coldrick says, two refs is a clusterfk, but that was just based on a mini trial. I think now with all that's going on for a ref to oversee he needs at least an active assistant ref on the field, one who can take responsibility for the many mundane things (eg the tap and go) and allow the ref to do the important stuff. The assistant ref can also be consulted with and can be the one who is observing the stuff the ref is not watching. With this you still have the one ref to rule them all.

EoinW

Quote from: David McKeown on May 26, 2025, 02:32:59 PMJust because you can't have 100% consistency doesn't mean you shouldn't still strive for as much consistency as possible. The current rule book doesn't help with that but neither does wildly different interpretations from referees who I presume receive regular group training.

Any sport with judgement calls will have inconsistent rulings.  The objective should be to limit the number of judgement calls.  Unfortunately the rule changes have ushered in even more judgement calls than existed in the past.

I'm astounded by the 3 v 3 rule.  I would have thought it was a very simple rule: sideline official counts the number of players in the half.  Instead they appear to have muddied the water on this most basic rule change.  In the games I've watched, it appears the rule is not enforced unless the opposition protests loudly to get the referee's attention.  At least that's how the announcers have been presenting it.

That's nuts!  Besides abolishing defence, is the intent of the FRC to create anarchy?

Quote from: EoinW on May 28, 2025, 09:08:40 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on May 26, 2025, 02:32:59 PMJust because you can't have 100% consistency doesn't mean you shouldn't still strive for as much consistency as possible. The current rule book doesn't help with that but neither does wildly different interpretations from referees who I presume receive regular group training.

Any sport with judgement calls will have inconsistent rulings.  The objective should be to limit the number of judgement calls.  Unfortunately the rule changes have ushered in even more judgement calls than existed in the past.

I'm astounded by the 3 v 3 rule.  I would have thought it was a very simple rule: sideline official counts the number of players in the half.  Instead they appear to have muddied the water on this most basic rule change.  In the games I've watched, it appears the rule is not enforced unless the opposition protests loudly to get the referee's attention.  At least that's how the announcers have been presenting it.

That's nuts!  Besides abolishing defence, is the intent of the FRC to create anarchy?

The stupidity of the sanction on the rule was laid bare on Saturday night I thought too. Conaty breached the rule by going back into his own half to receive a pass. Obviously that gave him a big advantage. The sanction. A free on the sideline on the half way line.

5 minutes later Armagh accidentally breached it gaining no real advantage. The result a two point free to Derry in the middle of the pitch infront of the goal.

Truthsayer

Enjoyed going to see Tyrone win another All Ireland tonite. Some great fielding by Louth, second half attacking play from Tyrone was unreal, loads end-to-end action and overall another very entertaining game. Thanks again to the rule change committee for saving Gaelic football 🏆

EoinW

When college basketball introduced the 3 point shot it was made clear that a player fouled while attempting a 3 pointer would get three free throws.  I do not know if anyone at the NCAA suggested one 3 point shot from the spot of the foul(rather than free throws) however I am certain that no one suggested that fouls taking place inside the 3 point line could be moved outside and the best shooter could then attempt a 3 point shot.

Sounds ridiculous, yet that is exactly what the FRC has created for Gaelic football.  If the free can be moved from the spot of the foul outside the arc then why not allow the option of moving it to the penalty spot for a goal attempt?  I know that's ridiculous too but it is basically the same logic.

When we move into the knockout stage of the championship, I fear the FRC is asking for trouble.  Some ugly controversy that may taint the entire championship.  Roving frees, based on referee judgement calls and other violations which award a 2 point attempt, may end up leaving half the fans feeling cheated.

I do not understand what value the 2 pointer adds to the game when we are flirting with potential negative consequences.  Given the offensive domination we've seen this year, abolishing the 2 pointer is the least the FRC should do to bring back some balance to the game.

SaffronSports

The other thing about the 2 point line for frees is that "inside or outside" seems to be quite arbitrary. In basketball if the shadow of the pinky side of your foot is over the line, it's not 3 points. Loads of lads are taking frees with one or both feet over the line and getting two points for it.

Quote from: SaffronSports on May 29, 2025, 12:33:13 AMKeep the 2 pointer but only for scores from play.

This will only encourage more frees outside the arc to prevent attempts of 2 pointers from play
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: gallsman on May 29, 2025, 05:59:04 AMThe other thing about the 2 point line for frees is that "inside or outside" seems to be quite arbitrary. In basketball if the shadow of the pinky side of your foot is over the line, it's not 3 points. Loads of lads are taking frees with one or both feet over the line and getting two points for it.

In County games it's got to be easier with help from the other officials, club games more difficult due to one official and to be honest so fitness levels not up to standard and some pitch markings not great..

Rule of thumb for foot positions when taking a two pointer. Providing he kicks from outside the line but lands in after the ball has been kicked (as long as ball not over line) then that's ok, as the free for a two pointer the player can place the ball on the line not over it.
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Off the ground is obvious but when they're taking it from the hands lads are stealing yards as they always do that often take them over the line.

Refs tend to go inside to police ant action in the square. They might be better served going half way only.

The Trap

What about all the rules now?

Tap and go - good
No pass back to keeper in own half - good

Both easy to ref at all levels.

Everything else in room 101 as they say.

Quote from: The Trap on June 01, 2025, 01:25:38 PMWhat about all the rules now?

Tap and go - good

Slabbering to the ref is grand too

Quote from: The Trap on June 01, 2025, 01:25:38 PMWhat about all the rules now?

Tap and go - good

I change it to you can hand pass to a keeper but he can't hand-pass it on. That way a keeper can bust out of defence and boot/thread passes up the pitch.

onefineday

Quote from: EoinW on May 28, 2025, 11:07:52 PMWhen college basketball introduced the 3 point shot it was made clear that a player fouled while attempting a 3 pointer would get three free throws.  I do not know if anyone at the NCAA suggested one 3 point shot from the spot of the foul(rather than free throws) however I am certain that no one suggested that fouls taking place inside the 3 point line could be moved outside and the best shooter could then attempt a 3 point shot.

Sounds ridiculous, yet that is exactly what the FRC has created for Gaelic football.  If the free can be moved from the spot of the foul outside the arc then why not allow the option of moving it to the penalty spot for a goal attempt?  I know that's ridiculous too but it is basically the same logic.

When we move into the knockout stage of the championship, I fear the FRC is asking for trouble.  Some ugly controversy that may taint the entire championship.  Roving frees, based on referee judgement calls and other violations which award a 2 point attempt, may end up leaving half the fans feeling cheated.

I do not understand what value the 2 pointer adds to the game when we are flirting with potential negative consequences.  Given the offensive domination we've seen this year, abolishing the 2 pointer is the least the FRC should do to bring back some balance to the game.
I have concerns around the impact the 2-pointer will have, but I'm definitely coming round to 2-pointers from play.
But to clarify - you can't move a ball back outside the arc for a foul which has taken place inside the arc. What actually happens is that when a 3-up, midfield mark or dissent transgression occurs and the ref can move it forward by 50 yds, the team awarded the free choose not to take it forward the entire 50 yds, but instead take it to the edge of the arc, where the more difficult kick is now worth 2 points.