Man Utd Thread:

Started by full back, November 10, 2006, 08:13:49 AM

I'm guessing the BBQ is cancelled?

snoopdog

Poor performance last night against an equally poor team.
No idea how mount started. Obv living off a 10 min performance in 2 seasons.
Amad was goodn 1st half but quiet 2nd. Lots of players returned to form last night, not up to the task.
Really feel for the fans who paid a fortune or travelled for long journeys to turn up to watch that.
Well done Tottenham, got the goal and hung on. In truth utd rarely looked like scoring.
Add a good striker and a goalkeeper in the summer and that will see big improvements straight away.

Will United keep Amorim and back him?

As utterly shite as they've been, they knew what system he uses and that the existing squad would not suit it, but they still brought him in mid-season. By many accounts Liverpool passed on him and opted for Slot (after Alonso turned them down) because Slot could operate with and improve what they had while Amorim would need a big overhaul. Obviously United can turn around and say "we didn't think it would be THIS bad", but surely they can't be that surprised? Were they counting on CL qualification to fund the squad turnover that he will require to be successful? Is it Amorim's fault that on top of the players he needs for a wingback system, that his goalkeepers and strikers are probably out of their depth at this level?

clonian

Quote from: J70 on May 22, 2025, 09:24:22 AMWill United keep Amorim and back him?

As utterly shite as they've been, they knew what system he uses and that the existing squad would not suit it, but they still brought him in mid-season. By many accounts Liverpool passed on him and opted for Slot (after Alonso turned them down) because Slot could operate with and improve what they had while Amorim would need a big overhaul. Obviously United can turn around and say "we didn't think it would be THIS bad", but surely they can't be that surprised? Were they counting on CL qualification to fund the squad turnover that he will require to be successful? Is it Amorim's fault that on top of the players he needs for a wingback system, that his goalkeepers and strikers are probably out of their depth at this level?

If they push Amorim surely the men that pushed Ten Hag and Ashworth out would have to go too? Berrada etc made the call knowing the players weren't there and Amorim wanted to wait to the summer.

My issue with the push against Amorim is that this team were playing shite in the system they supposedly preferred playing in. They've been in relegation form for nearly 18 months if we're honest about it, the back half of last season was awful too. The FA cup win gave us hope that ETH could change it but they went straight back to the same pattern at the start of this season.

If you completely forget about systems, you have a keeper who concedes too many stupid/preventable goals, a front 3 that don't deliver anywhere nearly enough goals and a midfield that gets ran over every week in the PL.

Amorim comes across as very likeable and he sounds like he knows what needs to be done but I don't honestly know if they keep him at this rate. There's a massive job to turn this around and it could be too big for him.

Onthe40

what makes last nights defeat worse is that spurs were complete crap, had they 3 chances in the whole game?
so they really should've won last night.
The jury has to be absolutely out on Amorim, there's sticking to a system and then there's realising right we are in a final and need to win..granacho changed the game in 20 mins by simply having a go...how he starts mount...play the men who got you there....I thought Ahmad was just ok, prob better coming on..2nd half he gave ball away consistently
bruno and Casimiro were poor also on the big nite despite being good in the semi finals..if Bruno isn't top of his game, utd are poor, end of..theyve no pan b

TBH I don't see things changing
where are they going to get the money to buy 5-6 new players of quality
the only positiver despite being a negative is they only really have the premier league to focus on, no midweek distractions..that should help achieve a 10th-15th place finish :)

Look-Up!

Hard to fathom the position Utd find themselves in now. A huge negative like not having CL football can be argued as a positive with not having league distractions to concentrate on a safe mid table finish.

Manager situation another brain twister. It would be crazy to get rid but equally crazy to persist. I thought Amorim was a great appointment at the time. Talks the talk, not happening. Blame the system. But that still leaves a decision to be made. 

The transfer kitty took a serious hammering last night, Amorin will be scouring the free transfer market and young lads with potential if he's still in the job in a weeks time.

tiempo

Roy Keane interim from Christmas to steer the ship to end of 25/26 season

A penny for Ralf Rangnicks thoughts

Joeythelips

Bloody hell last night was depressing. Two poor sides playing poor football, the goal summed the game up really.

I get they have to back Amorim and there is not point constantly changing managers, he needs to get in players and put his stamp on this side. But he has not helped himself with his constant negative comments, and then last night playing their one player of quality (Bruno) in a deep role. And despite it been obvious it was not working he took an age to change it.

Winning would have just been papering over cracks (as it has for Spurs who I expect to ditch Ange) but united are in a bad place and will have little clout in the transfer market this summer, they will be in the budget aisle now which does not bode well.

SouthOfThe Bann

Quote from: Look-Up! on May 22, 2025, 10:17:56 AMHard to fathom the position Utd find themselves in now. A huge negative like not having CL football can be argued as a positive with not having league distractions to concentrate on a safe mid table finish.

Manager situation another brain twister. It would be crazy to get rid but equally crazy to persist. I thought Amorim was a great appointment at the time. Talks the talk, not happening. Blame the system. But that still leaves a decision to be made. 

I think they should stick with Amorim.

I think a solid keeper and a consistent golascorer could make a massive difference to that team.

Need a keeper that inspires confidence in his back 4; not one that has everyone walking on eggshells.

Ethan Tremblay

The significance of this loss, that being missing out on the champions league and the potential windfall it carries will  now impact new blood coming in. 

The transfer budget is now going to be reduced, but the bigger issue is that world class talents aren't going to come to a club that are not playing European football, and will most likely be targeting a place in the top 6/7 next season. 

The only draw to Utd would be the potential of a large wage, and that isn't going to be happening anymore either. 

They are in a very repetitive, and dangerous cycle at the moment. 
I tend to think of myself as a one man wolfpack...

Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on May 22, 2025, 10:45:40 AM
Quote from: Look-Up! on May 22, 2025, 10:17:56 AMHard to fathom the position Utd find themselves in now. A huge negative like not having CL football can be argued as a positive with not having league distractions to concentrate on a safe mid table finish.

I think a solid keeper and a consistent golascorer could make a massive difference to that team.

Need a keeper that inspires confidence in his back 4; not one that has everyone walking on eggshells.

If they had held on to De Gea this team wouldn't nearly be as bad or as fragile.

Massive job on over the summer not only to get players in but more importantly nearly is to get players out.
Rashford
Sancho
Antony

Look-Up!

Solid points.

Only thing that makes me doubt my opinion is he is so stubborn. Fair enough he backs himself but there are times when needs must, and you adapt to the occasion. Results are all that matter in a final especially, philosophy does not come into it. He is one thick bastard that way or maybe he knows nothing else.

He is averaging a point per game in league. That's relegation battle. If his form does not dramatically improve, he'll be gone before Xmas anyway. Not very obvious where this huge reversal of form will come from under him.

AustinPowers

Quote from: Ethan Tremblay on May 22, 2025, 10:56:50 AMThe significance of this loss, that being missing out on the champions league and the potential windfall it carries will  now impact new blood coming in. 

The transfer budget is now going to be reduced, but the bigger issue is that world class talents aren't going to come to a club that are not playing European football, and will most likely be targeting a place in the top 6/7 next season. 

The only draw to Utd would be the potential of a large wage, and that isn't going to be happening anymore either. 

They are in a very repetitive, and dangerous cycle at the moment. 

Had united won last night , and therefore had more money to  spend - who the hell would  go there , given  the state of that team?

Yes offering big wages might coax some , but that would  just be  adding to the  list of wasters who are already there on big wages

Brighton, Bournemouth, Wolves etc managed to  find players  from lower leagues at lower prices who performed , so that's what  united need to do now. That's where the club is at

SouthOfThe Bann

Quote from: Look-Up! on May 22, 2025, 11:19:22 AM

Solid points.

Only thing that makes me doubt my opinion is he is so stubborn. Fair enough he backs himself but there are times when needs must, and you adapt to the occasion. Results are all that matter in a final especially, philosophy does not come into it. He is one thick bastard that way or maybe he knows nothing else.

He is averaging a point per game in league. That's relegation battle. If his form does not dramatically improve, he'll be gone before Xmas anyway. Not very obvious where this huge reversal of form will come from under him.

That is true but do United need a stubborn manager?

Eric Ten Hag abandoned his philosophy after 2 games; then proceeded to play a system that had them competitive but was only going to take you so far.

Sometimes you have to go through a bit of pain before things start to improve.

Don't get me wrong Amorim may never be able tot turn this thing around but I don't think there's a better option out there at the moment.

They could sack him and get another manager in to steady the ship short term but I think its worth the risk sticking withh Amorim for the 'potential' long term benefits.