Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

Quote from: Would ye whist on May 12, 2025, 10:42:38 AMFor one the keeper is not up to it, nice chap Mick by all accounts but not an intercounty keeper, would be better with McNabb in

Mick is a top goalkeeper, but makes mistakes as his role with Antrim is far too wide-ranging. Expected to do far too much attacking. Conceding that score yesterday is a big concern.
I've gone from thinking Andy was doing a good job to looking at a team who seem void of confidence. They are shapeless particularly in defence. I suspect Andy is done.
Are the players that are there the best in Antrim? I guess that's all there is.

bannside

I'd say yesterday was a long drive up the road for the players, lucky enough for Andy he got home a lot earlier. The performance was actually OK in parts, and we were hanging in for a long time, but the last 20 minutes was very poor.

The management arnt asking players to kick five or six short, that is on the players, they should be better than that.

Mick B left in a soft one that sucked whatever little energy was left in the legs, and Westmeath didn't look the gift horse in the mouth.

Unfortunately we have a dire shortage of marquee forwards, everywhere in the county...well except at Masters level where Paddy Cunningham ran riot at the weekend.

Can't put this all at management...the performance against Limerick will be the acid test of whether or the players desire (and maybe management too) is there to expand the season or get out of dodge.

Níl a fhios agam

Ill tell you what, that antrim masters team would give that Antrim team a game. Frank has them as strong as they ever were. Only team in the county getting results. It is grim at the minute across the both codes. The ladies teams doing very well as are the camogs... us men need to give ourselves a good shake

Quote from: ck on May 12, 2025, 08:11:38 PM
Quote from: Would ye whist on May 12, 2025, 10:42:38 AMFor one the keeper is not up to it, nice chap Mick by all accounts but not an intercounty keeper, would be better with McNabb in

Mick is a top goalkeeper, but makes mistakes as his role with Antrim is far too wide-ranging. Expected to do far too much attacking. Conceding that score yesterday is a big concern.
I've gone from thinking Andy was doing a good job to looking at a team who seem void of confidence.They are shapeless particularly in defence. I suspect Andy is done.
Are the players that are there the best in Antrim? I guess that's all there is.

I think exactly that too. It just feels like the end of the McGinley era all over again. On the players I don't know that anyone who may (or may not) come in I don't think we have the players in the county who would improve us a lot. Groundhog day really  :(  (It would be nice to be wrong and for McEntee to recover it though but at the minute hard to see that. )

BigGreenField

Quote from: Níl a fhios agam on May 13, 2025, 08:43:02 AMIll tell you what, that antrim masters team would give that Antrim team a game. Frank has them as strong as they ever were. Only team in the county getting results. It is grim at the minute across the both codes. The ladies teams doing very well as are the camogs... us men need to give ourselves a good shake

While those are useful sticks to beat the men's team with they are also not relevant comparisons, particularly the masters team.

Quote from: Níl a fhios agam on May 13, 2025, 08:43:02 AMIll tell you what, that antrim masters team would give that Antrim team a game. Frank has them as strong as they ever were. Only team in the county getting results. It is grim at the minute across the both codes. The ladies teams doing very well as are the camogs... us men need to give ourselves a good shake

The minor hurlers and the under 20 hurlers have put in decent performances..

All thoughts in football will be towards the club championship, its bigger than intercounty sure  ;)
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Níl a fhios agam

Big Green Field, lighten up fella. I dont think what i wrote is bashing anyone, its just the truth. The mens/boys football teams arent doing well, and in fact probably as bad as ever. Thats reality. Iv a son looking to play development squads next year, and if the set up isnt right i dont know if i would be encouraging him to give up his time to lose his confidence or get involved with a set up which has no one leading it with anything more to offer than what his club/school has. I certainly wont hold him back, but as last 5 years iv had young fellas coming back to our underage with either an ego playing county or had confidence wrecked. maybe thats just a reflection of our players compared to other clubs, but either way some of the underage set ups in the county havent been good for our club players

bannside

All teams just try and be the best they can in respective grades age group or sector.

Hopefully the Masters team can give us something to look forward to, if nothing else the sight of many of the counties finest ever back out in a county jersey is still something to cherish. And winning too is always good, no matter what team it is.

Quote from: bannside on May 13, 2025, 09:03:54 AMAll teams just try and be the best they can in respective grades age group or sector.

Hopefully the Masters team can give us something to look forward to, if nothing else the sight of many of the counties finest ever back out in a county jersey is still something to cherish. And winning too is always good, no matter what team it is.

I've never seen more BS than these Masters teams, sorry but I just can't have it at all.

Quote from: NAG1 on May 13, 2025, 09:06:10 AM
Quote from: bannside on May 13, 2025, 09:03:54 AMAll teams just try and be the best they can in respective grades age group or sector.

I've never seen more BS than these Masters teams, sorry but I just can't have it at all.

It was a bitta craic when it first came about, I was involved with a few games for Antrim, bitta banter, rolling subs no real training as still playing reserve for the club so was grand enough..

But over the years since its become a bit of a serious set up with some cracking aul footballers playing, better structure to the games and plenty of exposure now.. There is plenty of bite in the games to, so its not a handy one to ref, some proper county rivalry carrying over..

Would have loved it for the hurlers but it never really caught on in Ulster, thinks its pretty popular in Munster and places like that
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

bannside

For sure it's not for everyone Nag. But most of the counties taking it seriously will have a fair smattering of big names, including All Stars, and they are keen at 40 plus to still test themselves against their peers.

Antrim play Tyrone (all ireland winners 3 years in a row) at the end of July, at home...come along and see that for a bit of non contact nonsense!

Gaels1789

Can the county players play on Wednesday??

Take the Mark

Quote from: Gaels1789 on May 13, 2025, 09:39:47 AMCan the county players play on Wednesday??

No. Antrim play on Sunday.

EOC1923

Quote from: bannside on May 13, 2025, 09:31:19 AMFor sure it's not for everyone Nag. But most of the counties taking it seriously will have a fair smattering of big names, including All Stars, and they are keen at 40 plus to still test themselves against their peers.

Antrim play Tyrone (all ireland winners 3 years in a row) at the end of July, at home...come along and see that for a bit of non contact nonsense!
Rumours this game v Tyrone could be in Cargin, no better place for it BS  ;D

bannside

Your sources are good EOC, I'll give you that. Paddy Power has Cargin as a venue at odds on atm lol...