Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

YoungSaff

Quote from: Would ye whist on April 10, 2025, 11:28:34 AMI would suggest he probably didn't have a second score keeper- he, Totes and the rest of the clique are completely egotistical men who have ruined the administration of referees in Antrim and have driven out good men like Screamer, Snoop and I believe many more are on the verge of walking

Quote from: Take the Mark on April 10, 2025, 09:42:16 AMThere must be more to it than a miscalculation on the refs part. He would surely have had a linesman keeping the score as well so the odds of both being wrong would be slim. Unless an umpire signalled a point which the ref gave as wide and there was mis-communication between the 2.

Now if he hadnt another score keeper, well thats another story.

agreed the two you named were two of the best refs in the county without a doubt

Saffrongael

Ulster Colleges have their hands full with appeals, the 5th year Foresters Cup final shouldn't have went to penalties last wek and St Mary's have an appeal  in at the minute. 
Let no-one say the best hurlers belong to the past. They are with us now, and better yet to come

Quote from: Would ye whist on April 10, 2025, 11:28:34 AMI would suggest he probably didn't have a second score keeper- he, Totes and the rest of the clique are completely egotistical men who have ruined the administration of referees in Antrim and have driven out good men like Screamer, Snoop and I believe many more are on the verge of walking

Quote from: Take the Mark on April 10, 2025, 09:42:16 AMThere must be more to it than a miscalculation on the refs part. He would surely have had a linesman keeping the score as well so the odds of both being wrong would be slim. Unless an umpire signalled a point which the ref gave as wide and there was mis-communication between the 2.

Do you honestly believe half the shite that drivels out of your gub? That's an honest question btw
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Would ye whist

Settle petal.......I hate to touch a nerve

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2025, 01:22:38 PM

Do you honestly believe half the shite that drivels out of your gub? That's an honest question btw

Quote from: Would ye whist on April 10, 2025, 01:24:35 PMSettle petal.......I hate to touch a nerve

If I could be bothered bringing up your posts on the matter it's your nerves which are triggered
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Would ye whist

I stand by my opinions, just take a look at the referees out next Wednesday for Div 1, only about two of them, you being one of them would be fit to undertake Div 1 in any other county

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2025, 01:26:23 PM
Quote from: Would ye whist on April 10, 2025, 01:24:35 PMSettle petal.......I hate to touch a nerve

If I could be bothered bringing up your posts on the matter it's your nerves which are triggered

That's not down to cliques though, we haven't that many referee's interested in doing it, I was out mentoring a ref at the weekend before my game and I hope he'll stay at it, he seemed to enjoy it and as an good ex player its the type of players/supporters want, but, If I'm doing 4 games a week, that'll show ya how difficult or maybe limited we are as a county, and you can throw money at it all ya want it won't keep them if they are getting abuse in any shape or form.

As for ref's abilities, everyone has a ref they prefer, when I get to see us play I'm pretty neutral on it, before  being a ref when managing teams there were certain refs that I would have liked doing our games and others that I'd prefer not too. Them's the breaks

Hectic

Quote from: Saffrongael on April 10, 2025, 01:12:51 PMUlster Colleges have their hands full with appeals, the 5th year Foresters Cup final shouldn't have went to penalties last wek and St Mary's have an appeal  in at the minute. 

Was there an objection at the time or just after they lost?  Assuming it was at the time and then followed up officially?

Would ye whist

Fair enough on all the points you raise, however it is foolish to believe we are only loosing or have lost refs in this county due to abuse, I know for a fact the two I mentioned above stepped away beacuse of how they were being treated by the administrators and not fans/players, they have cited favouritism towards refs in the clique (I get it you deny there is one) when it comes to the bigger games

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2025, 01:54:26 PMThat's not down to cliques though, we haven't that many referee's interested in doing it, I was out mentoring a ref at the weekend before my game and I hope he'll stay at it, he seemed to enjoy it and as an good ex player its the type of players/supporters want, but, If I'm doing 4 games a week, that'll show ya how difficult or maybe limited we are as a county, and you can throw money at it all ya want it won't keep them if they are getting abuse in any shape or form.

As for ref's abilities, everyone has a ref they prefer, when I get to see us play I'm pretty neutral on it, before  being a ref when managing teams there were certain refs that I would have liked doing our games and others that I'd prefer not too. Them's the breaks

Quote from: Would ye whist on April 10, 2025, 02:43:46 PMFair enough on all the points you raise, however it is foolish to believe we are only loosing or have lost refs in this county due to abuse, I know for a fact the two I mentioned above stepped away beacuse of how they were being treated by the administrators and not fans/players, they have cited favouritism towards refs in the clique (I get it you deny there is one) when it comes to the bigger games

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2025, 01:54:26 PMThat's not down to cliques though, we haven't that many referee's interested in doing it, I was out mentoring a ref at the weekend before my game and I hope he'll stay at it, he seemed to enjoy it and as an good ex player its the type of players/supporters want, but, If I'm doing 4 games a week, that'll show ya how difficult or maybe limited we are as a county, and you can throw money at it all ya want it won't keep them if they are getting abuse in any shape or form.

Both lads have done all the finals you can do, unfortunately when your team is in the final every year its impossible to get a 'big' game, Sean been doing this a long time, and done multiple finals, though he's still involved just not ref'ing.

There are other factors to take on board also when getting 'big' games, the ref's that are going through the intercounty set up need games at certain levels to progress, if they are not getting the games then how do they improve? These are a measure.

Personally, I've never sought a game, I'm as happy doing a reserve game as I am doing a Cargin V Lamhs game, but I also never turn a game down either, messages are sent out and and if the date is ok I hit YES. If unavailable I'll say I'm available another day at the weekend if that suits and you can bet your bottom dollar a game will appear.

I also think its good to reward lads that are dependable too 

Duine Inteacht Eile

Quote from: Hectic on April 10, 2025, 01:57:19 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on April 10, 2025, 01:12:51 PMUlster Colleges have their hands full with appeals, the 5th year Foresters Cup final shouldn't have went to penalties last wek and St Mary's have an appeal  in at the minute. 

Was there an objection at the time or just after they lost?  Assuming it was at the time and then followed up officially?
I don't believe there was an appeal but there was/is an investigation into Ballycastle playing a ringer.
And the game shouldn't have gone to penalties.

SaffronSports

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2025, 02:58:02 PM
Quote from: Would ye whist on April 10, 2025, 02:43:46 PMFair enough on all the points you raise, however it is foolish to believe we are only loosing or have lost refs in this county due to abuse, I know for a fact the two I mentioned above stepped away beacuse of how they were being treated by the administrators and not fans/players, they have cited favouritism towards refs in the clique (I get it you deny there is one) when it comes to the bigger games

Both lads have done all the finals you can do, unfortunately when your team is in the final every year its impossible to get a 'big' game, Sean been doing this a long time, and done multiple finals, though he's still involved just not ref'ing.

There are other factors to take on board also when getting 'big' games, the ref's that are going through the intercounty set up need games at certain levels to progress, if they are not getting the games then how do they improve? These are a measure.

Personally, I've never sought a game, I'm as happy doing a reserve game as I am doing a Cargin V Lamhs game, but I also never turn a game down either, messages are sent out and and if the date is ok I hit YES. If unavailable I'll say I'm available another day at the weekend if that suits and you can bet your bottom dollar a game will appear.

Did I see you doing mentor at a game this evening?

Quote from: SaffronSports on April 10, 2025, 10:43:39 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2025, 02:58:02 PM

Did I see you doing mentor at a game this evening?

I was in glorious Ballymena for a derby game, I did have someone trying to explain the rules to me after the game..when I mentioned we need people like you on board he was strangely quiet...

Glenravel have some numbers at that age

YoungSaff

Do we give Antrim any sort of a chance tomorrow lol ?

what are the thoughts on the +12 handicap??

Hectic

Armagh are the All Ireland Champions.  We have just got relegated to Div 4.  The odds are a fair reflection but does not mean we can't go out and work our socks off and at try to at least beat the handicap. 

The ticketing is unfortunate as a ground with a majority Antrim following could have helped in that regard.  But Armagh are a well supported team so a case for plenty of them being there too.