Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

Hectic

I agree.  And have said plenty already about the general development within the county.

Just today I am a bit in defence mode for the lads out last night and keen to acknowledge there were some quality footballers on the wrong end of that scoreline.

Would ye whist

Again, where was the noise about the seniors after Sunday which we are seeing on here today about U20's. The issues are clear a senior team with an outside manager who no doubt is on a wage that would choke a donkey with trips to Portugal for his team v a local manager who is trying his best to get the best out of a group of players who have been sold short by our county board to the extent they have to share jerseys-Christ almighty even our club U-8 & U-10's do not share jerseys.

Stop making scapegoats out of the U20's and aim the anger where it should be i.e. Frankie, Totes etc

paddyjohn

The whole thing is a shambles.

Are we any good at scor?

thegladiator

Quote from: Would ye whist on March 27, 2025, 02:01:47 PMAgain, where was the noise about the seniors after Sunday which we are seeing on here today about U20's. The issues are clear a senior team with an outside manager who no doubt is on a wage that would choke a donkey with trips to Portugal for his team v a local manager who is trying his best to get the best out of a group of players who have been sold short by our county board to the extent they have to share jerseys-Christ almighty even our club U-8 & U-10's do not share jerseys.

Stop making scapegoats out of the U20's and aim the anger where it should be i.e. Frankie, Totes etc

100% agree on this. The current u20 team have been treated poorly by the CB and no doubt have most teams prior to this. Trips to Portugal, extortionate "expenses" to managers for very little return. Without writing  off the current generation of senior teams, surely this has to be brought under control and invested elsewhere? We are now Division 4 and trying to live a D1 lifestyle, with the credit card maxed out. According to the Irish examiner in January this year we spent €1,127,931 on our intercounty teams in 2024. Value for money?

Take the Mark

Quote from: paddyjohn on March 27, 2025, 02:31:26 PMThe whole thing is a shambles.

Are we any good at scor?

Not much good news in the county at present, Cavan hurlers are relegated too.

belfastsaff

Donegal team backboned by a couple of good four masters teams ive seen play in the St Pauls Tournament. However the red card to the full back didnt help things last night. The middle was left wide open every time no sign of a number 6 anywhere before or after the red. Would love to know what Colin Toal is coaching at trainings. A Future Antrim Manager and hes taking Lisburn?

Catch a grip ffs. Hoping the 20s can dust themselves down for the next game.

The_Saffron_serpent69

This one's a bit off topic lads but it crossed my mind as I'm working in the area today. Is casements social club still up and going. I've many fond memories of in there and curious to what has came of it in recent times?  Maybe even get a couple cold wans in:P

Gaels1789

Quote from: belfastsaff on March 27, 2025, 03:30:28 PMDonegal team backboned by a couple of good four masters teams ive seen play in the St Pauls Tournament. However the red card to the full back didnt help things last night. The middle was left wide open every time no sign of a number 6 anywhere before or after the red. Would love to know what Colin Toal is coaching at trainings. A Future Antrim Manager and hes taking Lisburn?

Were u even at the game?? 6 leaving the middle free every time 🤣.could've had Lee keegan in there wouldn't of made a difference runners coming from deep every time 2s and 3s,

Donegals no.7 and no.8 constantly ran through not being tracked

Then again is this down to the management not having them set up properly

And I wouldn't single out a player for last nights defeat, something a coward would do

belfastsaff

you took that one very personal Gaels1789....

Saffron_sam20

Quote from: Take the Mark on March 27, 2025, 02:37:55 PM
Quote from: paddyjohn on March 27, 2025, 02:31:26 PMThe whole thing is a shambles.

Are we any good at scor?

Not much good news in the county at present, Cavan hurlers are relegated too.

Is this a whoosh? I don't get it what's it got to do with us

SlemishSoldier31

Quote from: belfastsaff on March 27, 2025, 04:10:04 PMyou took that one very personal Gaels1789....

Lol he did alright, has anyone a name for the number 6 from last night it would have to be him or someone very closely related to him

Gaels1789

Quote from: belfastsaff on March 27, 2025, 04:10:04 PMyou took that one very personal Gaels1789....

sticking up for a young lad getting abuse after the whole team didn't turn up, wouldn't call that personal but sure each to there own.

Just don't see how u can pin it on any one player.

Yes, Casement bar still open
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Spike

We're all guilty of Antrim's current malaise.

Supporters, coaches, clubs - we have done nowhere near enough. Wrong culture, wrong coaching, wrong  structures.

Players as well shouldn't be absolved. Any player that gets to u20s level and hasn't worked on their physique  for  5 years, despite all the information out there, has questions to answer

Time for the county as a collective to accept our roles in this and change the foundations for the better 

The_Saffron_serpent69

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 27, 2025, 08:47:56 PMYes, Casement bar still open
Afh doint. I know.  ;D Thie wiife couminh to get mei noew