Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

Take the Mark

Quote from: Christmas Lights on March 27, 2025, 09:20:04 AM
Quote from: EOC1923 on March 27, 2025, 09:06:54 AM
Quote from: Gaels1789 on March 27, 2025, 08:29:35 AMFew men on this very quick to throw a team under the bus, look the got a good trimming by a team who could win Ulster.

That's just where Antrim football is at now, if they win on Saturday a few on here soon change their tone on the whole thing
Scoring 2 points in 65mins and losing by 30 odd points is not a trimming it is a complete massacre. I wouldn't be sore on the coaches of this team, what do people expect they have only taken these players on a couple of months ago. Beating Fermanagh might help the optics a bit on Saturday and I hope they do but really how can we continue on this same road we are trudging along any longer. At this stage Ulster or Croke Park need to divide the U17 and 20 Into A and B sections and try and let the lesser teams develop a bit. What good did last night do any single player on that pitch from either team?

Correct, there needs to be a A and B competition at U17 & U20 level.  Antrim, Donegal, Fermanagh and Tyrone got nothing out of those games last night, all it does it completely demoralise the players, coaches and supporting casts of those that took the trimming whilst the team that dished out the trimming really gained nothing but fulfilling a fixture and maybe giving fringe players a run out for a while.  At any sport,  you have to compete at your level, playing way below it or way above it does nothing for progression. 

There is a B competition at U20s, it comes after this round of meaningless group games. The losers go into a section which prolongs these lads from playing for their clubs in the meantime.

Take the Mark

Quote from: bannside on November 20, 2024, 09:36:20 AMStrong looking management teams for minor and under 20. Plenty of variety and experience amongst both sets of personnel. Fair play to our county coaching and development officer for showing a bit of enterprise, not scared of going outside of the county to source added value 👍.

Buck eejit.

Gaels1789

Quote from: EOC1923 on March 27, 2025, 09:06:54 AM
Quote from: Gaels1789 on March 27, 2025, 08:29:35 AMFew men on this very quick to throw a team under the bus, look the got a good trimming by a team who could win Ulster.

That's just where Antrim football is at now, if they win on Saturday a few on here soon change their tone on the whole thing
Scoring 2 points in 65mins and losing by 30 odd points is not a trimming it is a complete massacre. I wouldn't be sore on the coaches of this team, what do people expect they have only taken these players on a couple of months ago. Beating Fermanagh might help the optics a bit on Saturday and I hope they do but really how can we continue on this same road we are trudging along any longer. At this stage Ulster or Croke Park need to divide the U17 and 20 Into A and B sections and try and let the lesser teams develop a bit. What good did last night do any single player on that pitch from either team?

It's not the players fault they simply aren't good enough them Donegal boys were miles better yes, one thing that stood out to me was there speed and size which Antrim seemed to lack. U can say u need A and B sections but the players need to be on the same level s&c wise as the other county's,

Maybe last night they just didn't show up at all, who knows maybe they could put up a good fight in the next few games

YoungSaff

Some hammering last night for the u20s

where do the lads even go from here I was at the game myself and it was clear the difference in quality throughout , even from the lads coming out the physicality and the shape the lads were in compared to some of our lads was like night and day.

Going a man down was never going to help however a good bit of the damage was already done , I agree with the posts on here there is no benefit to young lads going out either giving a team a hammering or getting one there needs to be an A and B section and we need to realise antrim are not operating at the same level as Tyrone , Derry Donegal etc as was evident last night.

The changes will not occur overnight however I feel for the lads training away and to have their character questioned on this board is a disgrace IMO. These are the same lads training 3-4 nights a week to represent the county and they were clearly out of their depth to no fault of their own as the damage starts a lot earlier down the line.

Hopefully we can still see a good crowd out to support them on Saturday against Fermanagh and a better game against a team which is realistically more around their level.

Someone made a point to me last night I was thinking about , my friend from Ahaghallon and me were at the game he told me the u20s and minors have to share a set of jerseys yet we can justify throwing the guts of 200k between a football hurling and senior manager. The people in the upper ends need their heads looked at !!

Cnoc Bán

Quote from: SlemishSoldier31 on March 27, 2025, 08:58:54 AM
Quote from: Spike on March 27, 2025, 08:39:02 AMLet's start by getting rid of the quick fix solutions and starting by investing in our youth for once.

Otherwise we have a long and repetitive road of mauling ahead of us

Quick fix number one, get rid of hurling. No other county in Ulster tries to compete as a dual county at a high level it's not possible to balance both and that is proven with Antrim.

The whole north of Antrim don't know what a football looks like that takes away almost half the selection pool of kids at a young age to play football.

There are no other counties in Ulster who take hurling seriously so it has to go, if you want to play hurling move down south or just accept you will be playing at a poor standard in Antrim.

Regards,
SS

Be wiser getting rid of football if that is the daft logic you want to follow.

If you didn't notice, Antrim are a Div 1B (aka Div 2) team in the hurling.

And as you say, that is with mainly only half of the selection pool of players in the county to choose from.

That is some achievement.

And the hurling clubs get much further in the All Ireland Club Championships as well!

bannside

Quote from: Take the Mark on November 22, 2024, 02:35:52 PMWhy do you think thats the case? In house managers would generally carry some sort of baggage or favouritism (or the opposite!). An outside man usually wont have this.

The above makes the u20 appointments mildly refreshing if nothing else as I dont think any of them have sons on the panel, unlike in various years gone by. So good luck to them.

Lol lol, right back at you! What way is the wind blowing today.....

Take the Mark

I stand by my point, I knew very little about the manager (still do). So, yes - refreshing that it wasn't another case of Daddy Day care. Unfortunately other posters opinions of the manager turned out to be true.

As for the backroom team, McKeever, been around the intermediate/junior teams in antrim over the years to no success. I know nothing about McCann from Clonoe, and the GK coach from Newbridge - not sure what he can do to be honest.

Question was asked previously Bannside, and you swerved it - what was impressive about that management team?

From Brendans list of names - Tomas McCann I don't believe was part of it, certainly was not at the game last night.

Hectic

Quote from: Spike on March 27, 2025, 08:39:02 AMLet's start by getting rid of the quick fix solutions and starting by investing in our youth for once.

Quick fix number one, get rid of hurling. No other county in Ulster tries to compete as a dual county at a high level it's not possible to balance both and that is proven with Antrim.

The whole north of Antrim don't know what a football looks like that takes away almost half the selection pool of kids at a young age to play football.

There are no other counties in Ulster who take hurling seriously so it has to go, if you want to play hurling move down south or just accept you will be playing at a poor standard in Antrim.

Regards,
SS

Christ on a bike.

While hurling, in the bigger scheme of things, is no closer to winning an All Ireland than football there is plenty of room for both given the population we have it Antrim.

Hurling probably faces most of the same issues as football in terms of harnessing potential.

Yes North Antrim might be the hurling stronghold but most of our population is in Belfast. 

If we could harness the population potential of Belfast we would be flying.

And that's not a dig at Belfast. There are probably more other distractions there plus they don't have the same parish identity that country teams enjoy. But if we could ever get participation in the city well up then we would be a serious county team.

Country teams might then have to get used to watching county titles going to Belfast😂

SaffronOak

Regards,
SS

Biggest pile of dung I've read on this forum and that's saying something.

SaffronOak

Quote from: YoungSaff on March 27, 2025, 10:29:58 AMSome hammering last night for the u20s

where do the lads even go from here I was at the game myself and it was clear the difference in quality throughout , even from the lads coming out the physicality and the shape the lads were in compared to some of our lads was like night and day.

Going a man down was never going to help however a good bit of the damage was already done , I agree with the posts on here there is no benefit to young lads going out either giving a team a hammering or getting one there needs to be an A and B section and we need to realise antrim are not operating at the same level as Tyrone , Derry Donegal etc as was evident last night.

The changes will not occur overnight however I feel for the lads training away and to have their character questioned on this board is a disgrace IMO. These are the same lads training 3-4 nights a week to represent the county and they were clearly out of their depth to no fault of their own as the damage starts a lot earlier down the line.

Hopefully we can still see a good crowd out to support them on Saturday against Fermanagh and a better game against a team which is realistically more around their level.

Someone made a point to me last night I was thinking about , my friend from Ahaghallon and me were at the game he told me the u20s and minors have to share a set of jerseys yet we can justify throwing the guts of 200k between a football hurling and senior manager. The people in the upper ends need their heads looked at !!

£200k for hurling and football manager... is this accurate?

Gaelic man

If I can remember right Niall Jackman had two teams that competed against Derry and Donegal His team last year also got a hammering. What has happened why have we got worse

Take the Mark

Quote from: SaffronOak on March 27, 2025, 11:02:05 AM

Regards,
SS

YoungSaff

Quote from: Gaelic man on March 27, 2025, 11:06:22 AMIf I can remember right Niall Jackman had two teams that competed against Derry and Donegal His team last year also got a hammering. What has happened why have we got worse

Worse team of players this year than previous I think is the long short of it and maybe a bit of widening of the gap in quality?

YoungSaff

Quote from: Take the Mark on March 27, 2025, 11:17:58 AM
Quote from: SaffronOak on March 27, 2025, 11:02:05 AM

Regards,
SS

Agreed , I am wondering is Slemish soilder a genuine member of this forum or attempting to get reactions from fellow members , I have read some bullsh1t on this forum in my time but this takes the biscuit. I don't think we need to abolish the hurls however it does seem to take precedent in a lot of underage teams.

YoungSaff

Quote from: SaffronOak on March 27, 2025, 11:04:16 AM
Quote from: YoungSaff on March 27, 2025, 10:29:58 AMSome hammering last night for the u20s

£200k for hurling and football manager... is this accurate?

I hade heard through a friend of mine who is on the county board Fitz was on 100k plus expenses and mcentee on 70k plus expenses , so i don't think this would be far off the 200k figure when everything factored in