Money, Dublin and the GAA

Started by IolarCoisCuain, October 04, 2016, 07:27:37 PM

Quote from: giveherlong on January 20, 2025, 04:02:04 PM
Quote from: Premier Emperor on January 19, 2025, 05:02:49 PMTwo giant Dublin super clubs win the club All Irelands.
All that volunteering is paying off for them.

Errigal must be the equivalent Tyrone super club
4 parishes, 4 x adult teams

Whereas Crossmaglen Rangers comes from a parish with 4 clubs.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

giveherlong

Quote from: armaghniac on January 20, 2025, 04:15:14 PM
Quote from: Premier Emperor on January 19, 2025, 05:02:49 PMTwo giant Dublin super clubs win the club All Irelands.

4 x clubs in Clonoe parish:
Derrytresk
Derrylaughan
Clonoe
Brocagh

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on January 20, 2025, 03:51:28 PMBut is Cuala a super club? For years i never heard of them,

Do they even have their own facilities?

Quote from: giveherlong on January 20, 2025, 04:49:12 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 20, 2025, 04:15:14 PM

4 x clubs in Clonoe parish:
Derrytresk
Derrylaughan
Clonoe
Brocagh

So how many Andy Merrigan cups and GAA presidents from that lot?
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

shark

Quote from: JoG2 on January 20, 2025, 04:55:30 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on January 20, 2025, 03:51:28 PMBut is Cuala a super club? For years i never heard of them,

Do they even have their own facilities?

No.
Greenspace is a big problem for many clubs in Dublin. Numbers of underage players keep going up - especially on the LGFA side of the house.

Cuala are the nouveau riche in Dublin club football, to be added to other clubs. You will that in large urban areas and if they are able to bring in wealthy sponsors fair play to them. That doesn't mean they will be consistently strong.  Fair play to them for their win but they won't be another Kilmacud in my opinion.

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 20, 2025, 06:12:07 PMCuala are the nouveau riche in Dublin club football, to be added to other clubs. You will that in large urban areas and if they are able to bring in wealthy sponsors fair play to them. That doesn't mean they will be consistently strong.  Fair play to them for their win but they won't be another Kilmacud in my opinion.

I'd say they're better than Kilmacud and most other clubs.

Two AI club hurling titles and now an AI club football title.

All in a short few years.

That trumps (pardon the pun, today of all days) everything.

Quote from: marty34 on January 20, 2025, 06:21:41 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 20, 2025, 06:12:07 PMCuala are the nouveau riche in Dublin club football, to be added to other clubs. You will that in large urban areas and if they are able to bring in wealthy sponsors fair play to them. That doesn't mean they will be consistently strong.  Fair play to them for their win but they won't be another Kilmacud in my opinion.

What I mean by they're not a Kilmacud is that I don't know think they will have the long term impact that Kilmacud have had.

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 20, 2025, 06:27:41 PM
Quote from: marty34 on January 20, 2025, 06:21:41 PM

What I mean by they're not a Kilmacud is that I don't know think they will have the long term impact that Kilmacud have had.

No. I understand.

Just saying they're a super dual club.

This success will keep them going and plenty of talent coming through. Hard thing is to get ut of Dublin.

QuoteDo they even have their own facilities?

A crappy enough but large enough clubhouse. Bar was taken out a few years back and a gym put in. Plans underway to knock and build a state of the art clubhouse with modern facilities. The pitch itself was a swamp up until DLR did drainage in the area about 10 years ago. No facilities for supporters to view matches.

Cuala rely on an abundance of DLR green spaces for training pitches for underage.

The GAA lads bought the land back in the day for €38k ..... visionary enough. Cuala also tried to do a deal a while back with Blackrock rugby on some sort of shared basis, but that fell through. Anyone that says Cuala are a "super" club are talking shite.

BigGreenField

Quote from: highorlow on January 20, 2025, 08:34:45 PM

A crappy enough but large enough clubhouse. Bar was taken out a few years back and a gym put in. Plans underway to knock and build a state of the art clubhouse with modern facilities. The pitch itself was a swamp up until DLR did drainage in the area about 10 years ago. No facilities for supporters to view matches.

Cuala rely on an abundance of DLR green spaces for training pitches for underage.

The GAA lads bought the land back in the day for €38k ..... visionary enough. Cuala also tried to do a deal a while back with Blackrock rugby on some sort of shared basis, but that fell through. Anyone that says Cuala are a "super" club are talking shite.

They've undoubtedly put in the hard yards and I think a fully homegrown team and land is hard to come buy in their extended parish, hard to see though how a club with over 3000 members (and membership starting at a couple of hundred euro) and sponsored by a company listed on Nasdaq and DJIA doesn't fall into the super club bracket.

Well if u got hardly even a stand. I wouldn't call them super, there better set up at Junior level in Derry.

BigGreenField

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on January 20, 2025, 09:41:32 PMWell if u got hardly even a stand. I wouldn't call them super, there better set up at Junior level in Derry.

On there way though, I'd give them a lot of credit for carving out space for Gaelic  games in prime rugby territory both in the area and amongst sponsors. Like any city club, facilities can be hard to get - when you've land that you own you can achieve anything after that.

shark

Quote from: BigGreenField on January 20, 2025, 09:17:17 PM
Quote from: highorlow on January 20, 2025, 08:34:45 PM

They've undoubtedly put in the hard yards and I think a fully homegrown team and land is hard to come buy in their extended parish, hard to see though how a club with over 3000 members (and membership starting at a couple of hundred euro) and sponsored by a company listed on Nasdaq and DJIA doesn't fall into the super club bracket.

I think Amgen did their best to not sponsor them, but contractually they were stuck. Horizon Theraputics were Cuala's sponsor and then Amgen bought them.