Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

Quote from: Would ye whist on January 16, 2025, 01:21:38 PMI get the whole judge it on a case by case basis, however I assume a ref's tolerance is much higher a the start of a game when less tired and without meaning to will be inconsistent later in the game when more tired with moving the ball for chatting.

I get it, a player talking is ok, however is a ref not opening himself up for criticism of being 'inconsistent' by being seen to allow one player to talk and moving the ball when another talks (remember most players and supporters, managers etc cannot hear what a player is saying most times)

So lets be straight going into the the new year, I'm at a club match, and one person speaks to me that's not a club captain I'm moving the ball 50 meters? Because I can't use common sense, I've just got to apply the rules.

Now if I'm hearing chit chat from near the sidelines when giving a foul, I can't make out who's saying it, for all I know it could be a player the manager, water boy or hell someone hanging over the fence, I can move the ball 50 meters?
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

statto

Quote from: FactCheck on January 16, 2025, 01:05:33 PMSo in short, the refs being in consistent and not applying the rules isn't helping them.

The referee is not a robot. There has been and always will be variations in how particular referee deals with the game. Surely you have watched enough football to understand this?

You have never been in a changing room where a manager/selector/team mate has said ref x "doesn't like holding inside" or ref y "is very strict with the number of steps you take"?

Saffron_sam20

Quote from: statto on January 16, 2025, 01:32:45 PM

The referee is not a robot. There has been and always will be variations in how particular referee deals with the game. Surely you have watched enough football to understand this?

You have never been in a changing room where a manager/selector/team mate has said ref x "doesn't like holding inside" or ref y "is very strict with the number of steps you take"?

that was the point I was making, all teams play to the ref style and adapt. it would be foolish not to

SaffronSports

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 16, 2025, 01:30:59 PM
Quote from: Would ye whist on January 16, 2025, 01:21:38 PMI get the whole judge it on a case by case basis, however I assume a ref's tolerance is much higher a the start of a game when less tired and without meaning to will be inconsistent later in the game when more tired with moving the ball for chatting.

I get it, a player talking is ok, however is a ref not opening himself up for criticism of being 'inconsistent' by being seen to allow one player to talk and moving the ball when another talks (remember most players and supporters, managers etc cannot hear what a player is saying most times)

So lets be straight going into the the new year, I'm at a club match, and one person speaks to me that's not a club captain I'm moving the ball 50 meters? Because I can't use common sense, I've just got to apply the rules.

Now if I'm hearing chit chat from near the sidelines when giving a foul, I can't make out who's saying it, for all I know it could be a player the manager, water boy or hell someone hanging over the fence, I can move the ball 50 meters?

This part is black and white, that's what the rule says so you do it. People want consistency from referees so when there's a rule you apply it. It's not for you to decide what rules suit or don't.

Quote from: SaffronSports on January 16, 2025, 02:16:59 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 16, 2025, 01:30:59 PM

This part is black and white, that's what the rule says so you do it. People want consistency from referees so when there's a rule you apply it. It's not for you to decide what rules suit or don't.

That's grand, and when any player that doesn't retrieve the ball or there is someone questioning a call other than the captain, lets move it 50 meters..

Sure there will be no complaining this season, suits me in the end, I'll be looking the extra meters for the marathon this year
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

FactCheck

Almost correct 👍

At least now your seeing it as a rule and not a judgement call

Glad you came to see you made a mistake but that's learning! Well done 👍

It's not an easy job, but it can be made easier

refs can make the job a lot easier by being consistent. If a player other than the nominated person speaks then apply the rule and move the ball on. After one or two 2point scores on the back of a 50m advance players will know they are the problem and not you.

If you decide to apply "common sense" you open not only yourself but you're colleagues in a worse of position

You'll get dogs abuse

If you don't apply the rules as guided and next week, someone will does do right by the rule applies it, imagine the abuse he will get!

"MR2 doesn't do that. So why's it cost us a county final because different ref decides to advance it 50m?"

The rules there to help refs. Use it to do so

Quote from: FactCheck on January 16, 2025, 02:38:43 PMAlmost correct 👍

At least now your seeing it as a rule and not a judgement call

Glad you came to see you made a mistake but that's learning! Well done 👍

It's not an easy job, but it can be made easier

refs can make the job a lot easier by being consistent. If a player other than the nominated person speaks then apply the rule and move the ball on. After one or two 2point scores on the back of a 50m advance players will know they are the problem and not you.

If you decide to apply "common sense" you open not only yourself but you're colleagues in a worse of position

You'll get dogs abuse

If you don't apply the rules as guided and next week, someone will does do right by the rule applies it, imagine the abuse he will get!

"MR2 doesn't do that. So why's it cost us a county final because different ref decides to advance it 50m?"

The rules there to help refs. Use it to do so

You have put in players talking, I think its anyone outside of that, sidelines, waterboys, and lads behind the wire, as its difficult to determine who is saying it don't you think?

FactCheck

Well if you can't see it you can't see it

But if you see it then action it regardless of the person, the rules apply to all those involved in the game

BigGreenField

Interesting article in IN. Given the councils very vocal support for development of a sporting site at this location (at least the quotes suggest that what they want) perhaps Antrim should tip the hat at this and run a mono rail between it and Dunsilly.

https://www.irishnews.com/news/councils-abject-disgust-over-ifa-move-away-from-planned-soccer-training-site-in-antrim-I4KWHUDPZROHPO3XTLTL67YWGA/

Council's 'abject disgust' over IFA move away from planned soccer training site in Antrim

Michelle Weir
16 Jan 2025

2m Read
'IFA has officially withdrawn interest in the site at Birch Hill Road' v.1

Councillors have expressed anger after the Irish Football Association's interest in developing a national soccer training centre in Antrim was "officially withdrawn".

The centre had been earmarked for a 60-acre site at Antrim's Birch Hill Road, but in a report presented to Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Council's Operations Committee, it was stated "an alternative preferred site is now in development with a private owner".

Round or stuffed

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 15, 2025, 07:38:15 PM
Quote from: Round or stuffed on January 15, 2025, 07:35:22 PM
Quote from: thegladiator on January 15, 2025, 03:33:55 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 15, 2025, 01:35:00 PM
Quote from: Round or stuffed on January 15, 2025, 12:57:35 PMis the 16th March dates that's doing the rounds confirmed as the start of the football league

Lol

Here we go.....

Are the leagues staying the same way or are we having another restructure?
apparently its a ridiculous question to ask

Ask your club secretary

Tyrone had a county board meeting on Tuesday, a Management Meeting on Wednesday evening, CCC issued all start dates for every grade and code as well as formats for pre season cups, leagues and easter/summer holidays. 15th January and every team/coach/player can plan around it

Quote from: Round or stuffed on January 16, 2025, 10:10:54 PM
Quote from: Round or stuffed on January 15, 2025, 12:57:35 PMis the 16th March dates that's doing the rounds confirmed as the start of the football league

Lol

Here we go.....

Ask your club secretary

Tyrone had a county board meeting on Tuesday, a Management Meeting on Wednesday evening, CCC issued all start dates for every grade and code as well as formats for pre season cups, leagues and easter/summer holidays. 15th January and every team/coach/player can plan around it

Are clubs involved in these meetings?

Delgany 2nds

Some clubs hear what's going on & some clubs dont

Na Glinntí Glasa

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 16, 2025, 10:14:20 PM

Lol

Here we go.....

Ask your club secretary

The 16th of March is the date thats in the master planner for Div 1 only that day.

Divisions 1, 2 & 3 all playing then on the 23rd of March

Minor football league Sunday 6th April

U16 football league 17th April

First rounds of championship
Intermediate football championship - 30th July
Junior football championship - 1st August
Senior football championship - 3rd August

Quote from: Na Glinntí Glasa on January 17, 2025, 12:09:53 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 16, 2025, 10:14:20 PM

Lol

Here we go.....

Ask your club secretary

The 16th of March is the date thats in the master planner for Div 1 only that day.

Divisions 1, 2 & 3 all playing then on the 23rd of March

Minor football league Sunday 6th April

U16 football league 17th April

First rounds of championship
Intermediate football championship - 30th July
Junior football championship - 1st August
Senior football championship - 3rd August

Is that just over 4 months of proper football for Div. 1, 2 & 3 teams?

Has Antrim the league championship format?

Na Glinntí Glasa

Div 1 final and relegation final Wednesday the 23rd of July.

Yes the championship has got the same format as last year.

Round 2 - 8th to 10th Aug
Round 3 - 29th to 31st Aug
Quarter finals - 12th to 14th Sept
Semi finals - 26th to 28th Sept
Relgation final 29th Sept
County finals - 10th to 12th Oct

These are whats down at the moment and clearly could be altered again so dont take it as 100% confirmed until the full fixtures are released.

U21 football championship starts 26th Oct