Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

Quote from: Take the Mark on November 21, 2024, 03:28:48 PMAntrim let any oul eejit take the u20 team (or U21 is what I really refer to)  :P

stick your name in the hat, as you're some eejit ;)
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Take the Mark

Surely its your turn for referee of the year tonight, they are running out of click members to give it to  ;D

Níl a fhios agam

agree dads shouldnt be taking teams, but at the same time the fact no1 is able to give me credentials of the men involved probably proves my point of why its not an impressive appointment. Got the job seemingly because no1 else was in for it.

Goes back to my main point, whys the county not going headhunting men who operate at club level/schools... niblock burns both sat on the selection panel advising county boards. To me theyd be more impressive appointments

Quote from: Take the Mark on November 21, 2024, 03:43:10 PMSurely its your turn for referee of the year tonight, they are running out of click members to give it to  ;D

Personal accolades ain't for me.. Happy to just do whatever game that comes along, some eejit's will believe anything though.
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: Níl a fhios agam on November 21, 2024, 03:51:00 PMagree dads shouldnt be taking teams, but at the same time the fact no1 is able to give me credentials of the men involved probably proves my point of why its not an impressive appointment. Got the job seemingly because no1 else was in for it.

Goes back to my main point, whys the county not going headhunting men who operate at club level/schools... niblock burns both sat on the selection panel advising county boards. To me theyd be more impressive appointments

Think the manager of the under 20's was a senior manager of Sarsfields for a few seasons, does that help?

Headhunting? What with? and then to be lambasted by faceless clowns on internet forums, pulling the shite out of them at every wheel and turn?

Coaches that are decent are doing things they want to be doing and no amount of headhunting for minor/under20 teams will make it more appealing than either looking after your own, or someone lining your pocket with a few grand to look after a club team somewhere else.

I can't believe this isn't getting through

thegladiator

Colin toal is currently the manager of St pats lisburn (going into his 2nd season), before that was at sarsfields for 3 years and had been involved previously at Glenavy and county minors. Improved sarsfields from a team that hadnt won a league game for near 2 years to 3 intermediate championship semi finals in a row. Beating the much talked about Dunloy "championship"  team along the way-sarsfields and cargin the only teams to beat them in 2 championship seasons. Has done some coaching sessions in clubs such as castleknock in Dublin and clubs in Galway and sligo as well as closer to home. Tommy logan has been his assistant for the last 4 seasons at Sarsfields & lisburn. Anyone who seen St pats last season compared to previous seasons will recognise what good coaching can do to players. Peter mckeever has been in and around the Antrim club scene for about 18 years at various clubs. MGD is a coach working  all over the country dealing with well being, particularly  with young people  and parents. Gavin breslin- just Google him- highly respected psychologist. I don't know the other 2 lads, but knux won't have them there for the laugh. There are plans to get some of the names (ex county)  mentioned before by other posters in to do sessions and thomas mcann to work with the players too. To me it's management  team designed to improve and develop players, there won't be much silverware come the end of the championship, but there will be better players by the end of it and better results compared to the last few seasons. We need to start somewhere!

Delgany 2nds

Quote from: thegladiator on November 21, 2024, 05:16:13 PMColin toal is currently the manager of St pats lisburn (going into his 2nd season), before that was at sarsfields for 3 years and had been involved previously at Glenavy and county minors. Improved sarsfields from a team that hadnt won a league game for near 2 years to 3 intermediate championship semi finals in a row. Beating the much talked about Dunloy "championship"  team along the way-sarsfields and cargin the only teams to beat them in 2 championship seasons. Has done some coaching sessions in clubs such as castleknock in Dublin and clubs in Galway and sligo as well as closer to home. Tommy logan has been his assistant for the last 4 seasons at Sarsfields & lisburn. Anyone who seen St pats last season compared to previous seasons will recognise what good coaching can do to players. Peter mckeever has been in and around the Antrim club scene for about 18 years at various clubs. MGD is a coach working  all over the country dealing with well being, particularly  with young people  and parents. Gavin breslin- just Google him- highly respected psychologist. I don't know the other 2 lads, but knux won't have them there for the laugh. There are plans to get some of the names (ex county)  mentioned before by other posters in to do sessions and thomas mcann to work with the players too. To me it's management  team designed to improve and develop players, there won't be much silverware come the end of the championship, but there will be better players by the end of it and better results compared to the last few seasons. We need to start somewhere!
Is that you Bronk?

thegladiator

Quote from: Delgany 2nds on November 21, 2024, 09:27:54 PM
Quote from: thegladiator on November 21, 2024, 05:16:13 PMColin toal is currently the manager of St pats lisburn (going into his 2nd season), before that was at sarsfields for 3 years and had been involved previously at Glenavy and county minors. Improved sarsfields from a team that hadnt won a league game for near 2 years to 3 intermediate championship semi finals in a row. Beating the much talked about Dunloy "championship"  team along the way-sarsfields and cargin the only teams to beat them in 2 championship seasons. Has done some coaching sessions in clubs such as castleknock in Dublin and clubs in Galway and sligo as well as closer to home. Tommy logan has been his assistant for the last 4 seasons at Sarsfields & lisburn. Anyone who seen St pats last season compared to previous seasons will recognise what good coaching can do to players. Peter mckeever has been in and around the Antrim club scene for about 18 years at various clubs. MGD is a coach working  all over the country dealing with well being, particularly  with young people  and parents. Gavin breslin- just Google him- highly respected psychologist. I don't know the other 2 lads, but knux won't have them there for the laugh. There are plans to get some of the names (ex county)  mentioned before by other posters in to do sessions and thomas mcann to work with the players too. To me it's management  team designed to improve and develop players, there won't be much silverware come the end of the championship, but there will be better players by the end of it and better results compared to the last few seasons. We need to start somewhere!
Is that you Bronk?
100% not bronk! Haha

EOC1923

Good luck to you this season Colin  ;)

Is JC the last homegrown Cargin manager? and successful too

thegladiator

Good luck to you this season Colin  ;)

:)
If you think knux could construct a paragraph  like that, you've never heard him on the sideline!

Níl a fhios agam

Great insight thanks for that... still not impressed though but good luck for season ahead.

mr2 coming from a club who had a great recruitment policy and provocatively sought players and managers to make them so successful,  cant understand why you would downplay Antrim ability to do the same with management teams

bannside

Nil I'd say your own connections are as good as anyone else's in the county.

Starting from there, there's never any harm done to source a few of these "names" you talk of, and if they are interested in getting involved, youde be as well able as any to make sure that information reached the proper ears.

I'm a step or two removed from these decisions but PM me anytime if that helps.

I agree that as a policy it could only be good to get a few of our ex county stars out and involved with our development squads and teams.

paddyjohn

Some gobshites on this board. It's worse than Twitter turned out.

They've been brave enough to put their names forward, wish them good luck and get on with it.

Cnoc Bán

Quote from: paddyjohn on November 22, 2024, 09:56:59 AMSome gobshites on this board. It's worse than Twitter turned out.

They've been brave enough to put their names forward, wish them good luck and get on with it.

Hear, Hear