Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

EOC1923

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 20, 2024, 12:51:53 PMI don't see too many people coming forward for these roles so its's impressive that there is a team of managers/selectors in place.

Gurnning when we don't and gurnning when we do  ;D
Your points are addressed above, a couple just asked how they were so impressive, as in what do we not know about them that had led 2 people to say the manager is impressive? Fair question and not gurning as you say

'impressive' could be a bit of a push? Explain? How do we know? And as for looking at the other counties set ups at that level, what cvs are impressive for those teams in other counties?

Where these managers that are impressive for the other counties available or where they interested in Antrim?

You could have the best management in Ireland looking after the under 20's but their football level/ability won't change that much from other juvenile levels to now.

We haven't been great and that's not down to management in the past, there is a small window to develop players.

Was talking to a Tyrone man about their football development squads 100's of kids with high abilty are trying to get on just the development squads, he said teh vast majority of those on the development squads have zero chance of getting selected for the A teams.

We don't have the numbers for starters, and its a numbers game first
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

EOC1923

Anyway Good luck to our new U20 management still some quality players there to work with, Thinking of Conhuir Johnston, Tiernan McCormick etc and I'm thinking should be a good few St Brigids, St Pauls players in around this age as well although not sure of their names.

Gael-in-exile

Are there advertisements put out to apply for these county roles? I follow social media for Antim but didn't see them advertised. Did I just miss it? 🙈

BigGreenField

Fair play to those willing to put in the time on the sub-senior county coaching front, they'll each have their own motivations for doing so and the best of luck to them.

Hopefully the players have been fully developed by their clubs and schools to the required standard.

Níl a fhios agam

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 20, 2024, 02:01:19 PM'impressive' could be a bit of a push? Explain? How do we know? And as for looking at the other counties set ups at that level, what cvs are impressive for those teams in other counties?

Where these managers that are impressive for the other counties available or where they interested in Antrim?

You could have the best management in Ireland looking after the under 20's but their football level/ability won't change that much from other juvenile levels to now.

We haven't been great and that's not down to management in the past, there is a small window to develop players.

Was talking to a Tyrone man about their football development squads 100's of kids with high abilty are trying to get on just the development squads, he said teh vast majority of those on the development squads have zero chance of getting selected for the A teams.

jesus darren are u serious...  downs minor/ u20 managements teams have consisted of Frank Burns, Marty Clarke, Benny Coulter, Conor Laverty to name a few,

McErleane has won a number of all irelands with derry and is a quality coach, Hugh Mcgrath has a good record underage, Paaddy Bradley had a really good set up

Tyrone has had Paul Devlin on a 3 year plan to develop players to senior football and has a high calibre backroom team, Collie Holmes, McMenamin, O'Neill, Mugsy all have been involved in underage set ups in recent years....

Point i was making in is if we are going to throw the term impressive out there when describing what we have, id like to know these mens credentials and how the stack up to the rest of the counties in ulster.

Another point on the matter.... how many ex players did we have as a county involved in recent years with our county squads..... Madden, Brady, Niblock, Terry O'Neill, all come to mind.

Kidder81

It's not just about having "names" if they have no worthwhile coaching experience

Quote from: Níl a fhios agam on November 20, 2024, 09:17:22 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 20, 2024, 02:01:19 PM'impressive' could be a bit of a push? Explain? How do we know? And as for looking at the other counties set ups at that level, what cvs are impressive for those teams in other counties?

jesus darren are u serious...  downs minor/ u20 managements teams have consisted of Frank Burns, Marty Clarke, Benny Coulter, Conor Laverty to name a few,

McErleane has won a number of all irelands with derry and is a quality coach, Hugh Mcgrath has a good record underage, Paaddy Bradley had a really good set up

Tyrone has had Paul Devlin on a 3 year plan to develop players to senior football and has a high calibre backroom team, Collie Holmes, McMenamin, O'Neill, Mugsy all have been involved in underage set ups in recent years....

Point i was making in is if we are going to throw the term impressive out there when describing what we have, id like to know these mens credentials and how the stack up to the rest of the counties in ulster.

Another point on the matter.... how many ex players did we have as a county involved in recent years with our county squads..... Madden, Brady, Niblock, Terry O'Neill, all come to mind.

You can have all the names of ex county players ya want. Tell me what they have achieved at club and county management and why would they row in behind Antrim county teams?
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Btw..this is an anonymous forum, give you name?

bannside

No pleasing some people here..a total of 9 individuals all involved in preparation of county under 20s. There's a solid mix of senior club coaches, S&C, diet and nutrition, psychology, fitness and add in Cathal McMullan and Tomas who are also in the mix, two lads who need no introduction

They'll be out an average of 3 tones a week, without any form of reimbursement, doing their best to prepare a squad with little or no previous to inspire them.

And some here want to Diss this as not significant enough. I'd love to see what they would come up with as an alternative of people they are quite certain would be willing to put their hand up.

Níl a fhios agam

Apologies, i presumed we all knew based on others comments about you reffing etc... no malice intended, sorry for that.

On the topic, not dissing anyone, i would happily eat my words if the u20 and minor management teams do well with these lads. counties crying out for something to look forward to in the coming years at senior level. My point basically was other counties are able to produce high caliber coaches and often ex players within that, which in turn are appointed in coaching roles back within the county. To answer mr2's question what have they achieved.... look at the coaches i just named above and what they have achieved at club, school and county level. They all have a good record.

Can BS & MR2 or anyone else more so in the know, tell me what our current management teams credentials are and if they had any1 up against them going for the jobs... i doubt there was so again, Alot of credit to want to take these jobs on. But from a county P.O.V are we proactive in approaching coaches and managers that can deliver what is expected or is it more a case of letting people just come to them

Yes but who is available and who would want to take on these role? Naming ex players and high caliber coaches for other counties doesn't mean they are available to us, or the ones we have, Like Madden/Brady are busy doing their thing elsewhere and you'd need to ask them why they are doing what they want to do

I'd said if you look at the development squads of say Tyrone, it is a huge set up, with hundreds of teams and coaches available to run these. They are picking lads from schools with high level training in top tier competitions across all years

I'd love to know the numbers of players at Juvenile in Tyrone against what we have registered in Antrim, that may just give us some context in what we are dealing with

Níl a fhios agam

Good Point regarding underage numbers and maybe makes these jobs more lucrative. Though are we doing enough as a county to be encouraging more ex county players, or decent club coaches to get involved in our juvenile county set ups? Thats what im asking. People on here are bound to know the ins and outs, FFS BS could tell u what McEntee ate for dinner, so maybe he could tell us.

Lastly, the minor and u20 set ups, il ask again, who are the lads and whats on their CVs.... again BS maybe man to answer that

bannside

There's no easy answers to this. What are we to do here. Throw out all 11 or 12 names associated with new under 20 and minor management teams, and get a microscope out and do a forensic into their credentials.

Trust me, there's not usually a long queues for these positions, and it's not hard for any prominent ex county footballer or successful coach to find a way to declare am interest, should they feel the need to commit to a few years where victories will be rare, and distinguishing marks on any aspiring CV will be rarer. And unpaid at that.

That's the basis I conclude this year's new management teams are more in need of appreciation than any form of faux underwhelment!

At first glance I'm not seeing any Dads involvement either, to me that's always a plus as well.

Take the Mark

Antrim let any oul eejit take the u20 team (or U21 is what I really refer to)  :P