Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

Spike

CB and BS hugging it out after the match is the result we all wanted

Cnoc Bán

Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on October 16, 2024, 08:20:43 AM"It categorically doesn't." is an appropriate quote I've recently read on this board. It remains very debatable.

I have a lot of time and the utmost respect for him but I think it was foolish of Curly to say that the photo shows it "quite clearly" was out.

He'd have been better just posting the photo and leaving his categorical opinion out of the comment.

The photo still shows an element of doubt, due to the angle and I am neutral with no tie to either club.

It put nothing to bed and that's my final take on it.

Spike

Even Bannside has drew a line under this 'Mr Neutral'. 

country bumpkin

Neutrality up on the Whitehill.....that's a new one......

Take the Mark

Quote from: Cnoc Bán on October 14, 2024, 02:59:53 AM
Quote from: bannside on October 14, 2024, 12:26:19 AMFirstly, congratulations to Cargin, great club, you know how to grind em out. Good luck in Ulster, all Antrim will be behind you.

Casements didn't fear Cargin before the game and round the club we feel like it's one we lost, rather than Cargin won.

The video is going around that shows we had a good goal disallowed, and we thought when Dermot was black carded, Mick got away with an exact same foul a few minutes later. Those things hit hard when refereeing gets it wrong or is perceived to not be consistent.

And we thought  Enda Lynn should have got a free in to level it in extra time.

Those who wish to comment please do so, just take the time to review the evidence beforehand.

Portglenone will suck it up, and will come back for more. Now that we know we can go toe to toe with Cargin for an hour, our challenge is to go find that extra couple of per cent.

Good luck Cargin, but don't go looking down your noses at us no more! We arnt far away...and best of all... youse know it!

Agree with that all, as a neutral, apart from the Lynn "free" at the end.

He was looking for it.

But ports were the better team (just lacking a quality forward) and I said from the moment the ball hit the net, that was a legitimate goal..... But typically Cargin were able to use their experience and influence to make the call for the officials.

Especially on the black card.... Karol has a lot to answer for on that one.

For a man that claims to be neutral you sure do put up a big fight for Portglenone

'Better team' 'Cargin influence officials' 'Karol to blame'

You might not be from either club but you seem to have a gripe with 1 club

EOC1923

Quote from: Cnoc Bán on October 16, 2024, 02:30:46 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on October 16, 2024, 08:20:43 AM"It categorically doesn't." is an appropriate quote I've recently read on this board. It remains very debatable.

I have a lot of time and the utmost respect for him but I think it was foolish of Curly to say that the photo shows it "quite clearly" was out.

He'd have been better just posting the photo and leaving his categorical opinion out of the comment.

The photo still shows an element of doubt, due to the angle and I am a neutral with no tie to either club.

It put nothing to bed and that's my final take on it.
When someone keeps underlining the fact they are neutral dive for cover.
Some bollocks talked on here lads glad to be part of it

Cnoc Bán

Quote from: Take the Mark on October 16, 2024, 02:43:05 PM
Quote from: Cnoc Bán on October 14, 2024, 02:59:53 AM
Quote from: bannside on October 14, 2024, 12:26:19 AMFirstly, congratulations to Cargin, great club, you know how to grind em out. Good luck in Ulster, all Antrim will be behind you.

Casements didn't fear Cargin before the game and round the club we feel like it's one we lost, rather than Cargin won.

The video is going around that shows we had a good goal disallowed, and we thought when Dermot was black carded, Mick got away with an exact same foul a few minutes later. Those things hit hard when refereeing gets it wrong or is perceived to not be consistent.

And we thought  Enda Lynn should have got a free in to level it in extra time.

Those who wish to comment please do so, just take the time to review the evidence beforehand.

Portglenone will suck it up, and will come back for more. Now that we know we can go toe to toe with Cargin for an hour, our challenge is to go find that extra couple of per cent.

Good luck Cargin, but don't go looking down your noses at us no more! We arnt far away...and best of all... youse know it!

Agree with that all, as a neutral, apart from the Lynn "free" at the end.

He was looking for it.

But ports were the better team (just lacking a quality forward) and I said from the moment the ball hit the net, that was a legitimate goal..... But typically Cargin were able to use their experience and influence to make the call for the officials.

Especially on the black card.... Karol has a lot to answer for on that one.

For a man that claims to be neutral you sure do put up a big fight for Portglenone

'Better team' 'Cargin influence officials' 'Karol to blame'

You might not be from either club but you seem to have a gripe with 1 club

You have to know where the biggest bite will come from otherwise where's the fun in it!

Take the Mark

No bite as such just stating facts like -

Ball was wide

Cargin are your 2024 Champions

Lár na páirce 1

So much shite talk about a ball that was clearly wide at the time ,no protests from PG1 players either and our boys had stopped as knew it was wide
PG1 can think about it all winter if they want from what I hear cargin are back training already for the Ulster club

Quote from: Lár na páirce 1 on October 16, 2024, 03:25:42 PMSo much shite talk about a ball that was clearly wide at the time ,no protests from PG1 players either and our boys had stopped as knew it was wide
PG1 can think about it all winter if they want from what I hear cargin are back training already for the Ulster club

Well they have some areas for improvement which is always good to have going into Ulster
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Spike

I'd agree MR2.  Blindly walking into Ulster thinking everything is rosy wouldn't have done them any good. Thought their tackling was good on Sunday but certain players continually ran into trouble on the ball which a better team will punish.

Cnoc Bán

Quote from: bannside on October 15, 2024, 08:30:07 PMJoseph Finnegan is one EOC

Marc Jordan in the panel

Finnegan and Byrne on the standby list

Lár na páirce 1

Quote from: Spike on October 16, 2024, 05:06:25 PMI'd agree MR2.  Blindly walking into Ulster thinking everything is rosy wouldn't have done them any good. Thought their tackling was good on Sunday but certain players continually ran into trouble on the ball which a better team will punish.

I don't think any team blindly walks into Ulster club or thinks things are rosy either

Take the Mark

U21 competitions start this weekend, shoved in at the end of the season just for the sake of it. When was the hurling equivalent played? I bet it was during the early summer.

SaffronSports

Quote from: Take the Mark on October 17, 2024, 01:08:36 PMU21 competitions start this weekend, shoved in at the end of the season just for the sake of it. When was the hurling equivalent played? I bet it was during the early summer.

Ended up a shit show because matches were scheduled around the July fortnight and a few teams had to pull out as players were on holidays.