Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

EOC1923

Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on September 22, 2024, 11:41:37 AM
Quote from: Dunsilly King on September 18, 2024, 07:37:47 PMhttps://x.com/cahairokane1/status/1836449620186034314?s=46


Clear as day, leading to the score, Creggan pleading with the linesman to inform the ref and apply the rules, his obnoxious condescending manner very well captured in the video
Has anyone else counted the number of Lámh Dhearg players on the field during that passage of play? I'm only getting 15. Did they have a man sent off at the time?
Their #14 returns to the field just after the free is awarded. He definitely wasn't on during the play. There may be a case that correct paperwork/protocols weren't followed for their replacements but I don't think they actually had an advantage.
Wasn't there but the way I'd look at it, did this few seconds decide the game? No way it did. Maybe technically rule wise creggan are entitled to a replay but personally I think it all looks pretty poor by them if they push it and take a replay.

Sportacus

Be hard enough to keep track of LD numbers, they usually have 7 or 8 mentors on the pitch as well.

Duine Inteacht Eile

A couple of trimmings handed out in the minor semi finals. Exposure to Colleges B football reaping the rewards again. Time to start catastrophising SW football on here.....::)

Gael-in-exile

Quote from: EOC1923 on September 22, 2024, 01:49:48 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on September 22, 2024, 11:41:37 AM
Quote from: Dunsilly King on September 18, 2024, 07:37:47 PMhttps://x.com/cahairokane1/status/1836449620186034314?s=46


Clear as day, leading to the score, Creggan pleading with the linesman to inform the ref and apply the rules, his obnoxious condescending manner very well captured in the video
Has anyone else counted the number of Lámh Dhearg players on the field during that passage of play? I'm only getting 15. Did they have a man sent off at the time?
Their #14 returns to the field just after the free is awarded. He definitely wasn't on during the play. There may be a case that correct paperwork/protocols weren't followed for their replacements but I don't think they actually had an advantage.
Wasn't there but the way I'd look at it, did this few seconds decide the game? No way it did. Maybe technically rule wise creggan are entitled to a replay but personally I think it all looks pretty poor by them if they push it and take a replay.


Lamh Dhearg no11 who was to be subbed off runs for kickout taking a player with him. Lamhs work ball up field and get a free.
Free gets converted.

That clearly helps to decide the game as it was a score counted.

From my view I think the linesman has failed to ensure 1 on 1 off and possibly should ask ref to stop the game and rerun the kickout even before the ball crosses the halfway line.
He then gets a clear opportunity to communicate with the ref when the free is given a few moments later. The ref could easily have went back for a retake of the lockout. He doesn't do either.

It's clear as day the score should never have stood.

Duine Inteacht Eile

I don't think it's as clear cut as that. It appears there was a misunderstanding on who was to come off and #14 came off instead of #11.
#14 certainly appears to be off the field for the passage of play. When the free is awarded, he goes on and appears to explain to the ref.

So, from that and my counting of people (which is difficult to do I admit) I don't think LD had a numerical advantage at any time. Of course #14 may have made a run for a kickout had he been on.

Gael-in-exile

Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on September 22, 2024, 06:40:09 PMI don't think it's as clear cut as that. It appears there was a misunderstanding on who was to come off and #14 came off instead of #11.
#14 certainly appears to be off the field for the passage of play. When the free is awarded, he goes on and appears to explain to the ref.

So, from that and my counting of people (which is difficult to do I admit) I don't think LD had a numerical advantage at any time. Of course #14 may have made a run for a kickout had he been on.

Then it's based on the official paperwork handed to the linesman (subslip) but it's clear in the video the LD sideline want 11 to come off.

Duine Inteacht Eile

They do, yeah. In fact I wouldn't be surprised if it's #14 himself roaring to #11 as he's looking come back on.

I don't think it's a huge deal either way but if it is the case that just the wrong player came off (as it seems) then there is absolutely nothing to see here.

Wee Barky

Creggan appeal turned down by county. Is that the end of it and games going ahead next week? Or is there a separate appeal about the draw happening ?

imtommygunn

They can appeal to ulster gaa I think.

paddyjohn

I heard the appeal is already away to Ulster.

Gael-in-exile

Did 14 stay off then? Or did he return? And if so was that in the official subs?
It could become very technical yet

Duine Inteacht Eile

Yeah, there could be a paperwork/protocol case as I said. What a dick move to go appealing about that though....

Belfast GAA man

Creggan coaches looking a few more pay days I'd say and getting it as training away

BigGreenField

Presuming Creggan have taken some stick as they've locked their twitter account for non followers (was open this afternoon for minor scores).

I've sympathy for them not sure they should have appealed though.

EOC1923

Quote from: Gael-in-exile on September 22, 2024, 08:21:57 PMDid 14 stay off then? Or did he return? And if so was that in the official subs?
It could become very technical yet
Where are you in exile at? You aren't up to speed on very much  :-\