Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

EOC1923

Quote from: imtommygunn on September 20, 2024, 09:31:33 AMBallymena have always been strong at underage and appear to be getting stronger. Always felt from the outside looking in that they maybe struggled a bit with player retention - it's almost more of an urban thing.
Wheres the evidence of this statement? Nothing against Ballymena BTW

Saffrongael

Quote from: EOC1923 on September 20, 2024, 09:33:41 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on September 20, 2024, 09:31:33 AMBallymena have always been strong at underage and appear to be getting stronger. Always felt from the outside looking in that they maybe struggled a bit with player retention - it's almost more of an urban thing.
Wheres the evidence of this statement?

What would they look like with the two McGarrys in Dunloy & Ciaran Neeson away to Cushendall ?
Let no-one say the best hurlers belong to the past. They are with us now, and better yet to come

Ok maybe I am exaggerating a bit but they have recently been winning feiles etc and at my age I felt they had players who were as good as almost anyone about. Now I haven't been underage in a long time but they had some very good ones at my age and barely a player made it to senior. I definitely think they have always been competitive at underage, maybe without winning titles, but always strong.

paddyjohn

Quote from: Saffrongael on September 20, 2024, 09:34:52 AM

What would they look like with the two McGarrys in Dunloy & Ciaran Neeson away to Cushendall ?

And 2 Smyth lads away to Cloughmills. Ballymena hurling has taken a pounding as last few years with people leaving for other clubs.

Slemishgael

I could be wrong but I don't believe they have plans for a new club house - correct me if I'm wrong? It only opened in the 90s the clubhouse and the Hugomount suite only opened inside it a few years ago.. think it had new signage added and external walls painted in the last year or 2. Good changing rooms from memory and a tidy set up. I see from Saffron Gael they hosted the reserve cup final between Cushendall and Loughgiel during the week. Could def host a semi final for sure. Personally I think one of the best grounds in the county and ample parking and you've the floodlights. Yeah at underage they won an u14 all ireland feile maybe 10 years ago? Think Ryan McGarry was captain then (Obv hes went to Dunloy along with the brotehrs). Has always been stronger in the football and probably be in Div1 for the foreseeable and underage getting stronger in all 4 codes! To be fair theyve always had decent hurlers although but yeah retaining these players has always been a problem - not sure what can be done there. Baker doing ok with the footballers. Sambo went to St Enndas a few years ago?? maybe he could try his hand closer to home and do something with All Saints - sure only 20mins away and hes got ballymena connections.

paddyjohn

Quote from: Slemishgael on September 20, 2024, 10:20:09 AMI could be wrong but I don't believe they have plans for a new club house - correct me if I'm wrong? It only opened in the 90s the clubhouse and the Hugomount suite only opened inside it a few years ago.. think it had new signage added and external walls painted in the last year or 2. Good changing rooms from memory and a tidy set up. I see from Saffron Gael they hosted the reserve cup final between Cushendall and Loughgiel during the week. Could def host a semi final for sure. Personally I think one of the best grounds in the county and ample parking and you've the floodlights. Yeah at underage they won an u14 all ireland feile maybe 10 years ago? Think Ryan McGarry was captain then (Obv hes went to Dunloy along with the brotehrs). Has always been stronger in the football and probably be in Div1 for the foreseeable and underage getting stronger in all 4 codes! To be fair theyve always had decent hurlers although but yeah retaining these players has always been a problem - not sure what can be done there. Baker doing ok with the footballers. Sambo went to St Enndas a few years ago?? maybe he could try his hand closer to home and do something with All Saints - sure only 20mins away and hes got ballymena connections.

Sambo won't have the answers to players leaving. St Endas had lads coming through, Ballymena dont as far as I know. Ballymena needs a changing room at the pitch across the road.

Gael-in-exile

The only issue with Ballymena is the distance from pitch to changing rooms.
Not even from a practical sense of deciding to go in at half time but from H&S for players and spectators. There is no separation at all.

Not many of the top grounds in the county provide this anymore, Ballycastle, Loughgiel and Rossa but even St John's upgrade at Corrigan doesn't have a specific player entrance or exit from pitch.

If the ld Creggan replay was In Ballymena and it didn't go well, it could be good craic going from the pitch to the changing rooms 

Slemishgael

I know Sambo won't have the answers to players leaving that particular club in that code but him or others of a similar elk have a bit of status and could do a club like All Saints which isn't a million miles from his door step the world of good. I suppose like most clubs its the underage set ups that are important and then you hope to retain the players as they get older. Baker doing well with their footballers, would be great to see them win the intermediate this year. Biggest town in Antrim outside of Belfast, loads has been done and football def on the up, hurling def needs a lift there. On the doorstep of the Glens, good feeder schools and plenty of hurling families in the club!

Hectic

You'd imagine long term Ballymena will put up changing rooms at their good pitch.  Probably some terracing as well.

Most clubs, when looking at making improvements, have to prioritise and do it bit by bit.

An awful lot of money required for anything from a ball wall to floodlights or indeed a brand new pitch.

But still better doing it over time and doing it right.

Slemishgael

100% Rome wasnt built in a day. Good to see plans in the pipeline. Must get a run out to a game in Cargin at somepoint to see it. Are moneyglass keeping the old pitch or whats happening there? 2 pitches in 2 locations like Loughgiel?

Cargin great spot to watch a match
Even better when you can walk to it, couple of pints before it, at HT then again after if you wish.
No glasses or bottles onto balcony from the bar to watch the match. For very obvious reasons.

Would ye whist

So the fixtures are on the county website, has the LD whitewash been complete?

NorthAntrim

Quote from: Slemishgael on September 20, 2024, 11:53:47 AMI know Sambo won't have the answers to players leaving that particular club in that code but him or others of a similar elk have a bit of status and could do a club like All Saints which isn't a million miles from his door step the world of good. I suppose like most clubs its the underage set ups that are important and then you hope to retain the players as they get older. Baker doing well with their footballers, would be great to see them win the intermediate this year. Biggest town in Antrim outside of Belfast, loads has been done and football def on the up, hurling def needs a lift there. On the doorstep of the Glens, good feeder schools and plenty of hurling families in the club!

Underage set ups could be fantastic but when the players hit senior(junior level in ballymenas case) the easiest option seems to be jumping ship which is unsustainable

Duine Inteacht Eile

Quote from: Dunsilly King on September 18, 2024, 07:37:47 PMhttps://x.com/cahairokane1/status/1836449620186034314?s=46

Clear as day, leading to the score, Creggan pleading with the linesman to inform the ref and apply the rules, his obnoxious condescending manner very well captured in the video
Has anyone else counted the number of Lámh Dhearg players on the field during that passage of play? I'm only getting 15. Did they have a man sent off at the time?
Their #14 returns to the field just after the free is awarded. He definitely wasn't on during the play. There may be a case that correct paperwork/protocols weren't followed for their replacements but I don't think they actually had an advantage.