Joe Brolly

Started by randomtask, July 31, 2011, 05:28:31 PM

tiempo

Derry exceptionalism and Joe exceptionalism is at the Harte of this

Has a distinct similarity to Tom Cruise and Scientology - completely mad

Truthsayer

While I believe Harte is out of his depth and a disaster for Derry, much of Joe's rant was not researched or indeed factual. The best was that Tyrone and Derry supporters totally get behind each others county at the later stages of the championship when their own team has exited. Maybe true in '93 as he cited but not now. No way!

SouthOfThe Bann

Quote from: Snapchap on June 13, 2024, 10:36:17 AMApparently Harte (who is well known for remaining mostly calm/emotionless on the sideline for his entire career) is only calm/emotionless on the sideline for Derry becuase "he doesn't give a f**k" about Derry because he's not from Derry. Fanning asked him was he not the same on the sideline for Tyrone, to which Joe bizzarely replied "I don't know what went on in the Tyrone dressing room".

Dont know how Fanning sticks him.

Must be sick of him at this stage.

Brendan

Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on June 13, 2024, 12:25:54 PM
Quote from: Snapchap on June 13, 2024, 10:36:17 AMApparently Harte (who is well known for remaining mostly calm/emotionless on the sideline for his entire career) is only calm/emotionless on the sideline for Derry becuase "he doesn't give a f**k" about Derry because he's not from Derry. Fanning asked him was he not the same on the sideline for Tyrone, to which Joe bizzarely replied "I don't know what went on in the Tyrone dressing room".

Dont know how Fanning sticks him.

Must be sick of him at this stage.

Been a while since I tuned in hut only ever heard him lose it once with Joe when he said let me f**king speak for a minute...he didn't even get the minute to speak

Quote from: Truthsayer on June 13, 2024, 12:14:03 PMWhile I believe Harte is out of his depth and a disaster for Derry, much of Joe's rant was not researched or indeed factual. The best was that Tyrone and Derry supporters totally get behind each others county at the later stages of the championship when their own team has exited. Maybe true in '93 as he cited but not now. No way!

Ffs, some mad hoors about

Truthsayer

Quote from: JoG2 on June 13, 2024, 01:55:20 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on June 13, 2024, 12:14:03 PMWhile I believe Harte is out of his depth and a disaster for Derry, much of Joe's rant was not researched or indeed factual. The best was that Tyrone and Derry supporters totally get behind each others county at the later stages of the championship when their own team has exited. Maybe true in '93 as he cited but not now. No way!

So, let
Not so mad!... explain why Harte didn't beat Kerry, Dublin or Mayo in the championship 2009 to 2020 (2021 new management won Sam) or why Dublin obliterated Louth last year but with Ger Brennan they put up a respectable show against the Dubs. Harte is not up to that top level coaching, has got left well behind. He was pre-2010 or so... thems the facts. Derry are in freefall .. no?!

tyrone08

Quote from: Truthsayer on June 13, 2024, 02:09:49 PM

So, let
Not so mad!... explain why Harte didn't beat Kerry, Dublin or Mayo in the championship 2009 to 2020 (2021 new management won Sam) or why Dublin obliterated Louth last year but with Ger Brennan they put up a respectable show against the Dubs. Harte is not up to that top level coaching, has got left well behind. He was pre-2010 or so... thems the facts. Derry are in freefall .. no?!

Spot on

Quote from: tyrone08 on June 13, 2024, 02:36:29 PM

So, let

Spot on

Ah ffs, more aul lazy Brolly nonsense. Harte had a Tyrone team knocking on the door for near a quarter of a century. The team Mickey built won the Covid Sam (and, fair play to them, none are easy one)

As for the Louth craic, christ of almighty, either Dublin will toy with you as they've done in the past or blitz you depending on how hungry they are. It's Leinster, it's a training session for the. Brennan, again, availing of a team put together by....? A team who finished 2nd behind Derry and Dublin. They must have got promoted this year, no?

Truthsayer

Quote from: JoG2 on June 13, 2024, 03:39:34 PM

So, let

Spot on

Ah ffs, more aul lazy Brolly nonsense. Harte had a Tyrone team knocking on the door for near a quarter of a century. The team Mickey built won the Covid Sam (and, fair play to them, none are easy one)

As for the Louth craic, christ of almighty, either Dublin will toy with you as they've done in the past or blitz you depending on how hungry they are. It's Leinster, it's a training session for the. Brennan, again, availing of a team put together by....? A team who finished 2nd behind Derry and Dublin. They must have got promoted this year, no?
😅 most of Tyrone figured that out long before Brollys latest tirades... is why they let him go! Mickey was holding that team back, once he went the shackles came off and Sam's your man! Not sure what 'Covid Sam' means.. 2020 was much bigger lockdown so Dublins number 6 must def be a Covid Sam... As you say teams taken so far by Harte but can't take them to the next level. Currently taking Derry apart...

Quote from: Truthsayer on June 13, 2024, 03:46:35 PM

So, let

Spot on

😅 most of Tyrone figured that out long before Brollys latest tirades... is why they let him go! Mickey was holding that team back, once he went the shackles came off and Sam's your man! Not sure what 'Covid Sam' means.. 2020 was much bigger lockdown so Dublins number 6 must def be a Covid Sam... As you say teams taken so far by Harte but can't take them to the next level. Currently taking Derry apart...

You're blinded. Tyrone could be doing with Harte back then by the looks of it, get them back to his level and then get Dooher and Logan back. I've heard worse strategies

Truthsayer

Quote from: JoG2 on June 13, 2024, 04:03:23 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on June 13, 2024, 03:46:35 PM

So, let

Spot on

You're blinded. Tyrone could be doing with Harte back then by the looks of it, get them back to his level and then get Dooher and Logan back. I've heard worse strategies
No you're OK thanks... he's doing great work in Derry : )

There is somewhere in between though. Before a few things this year I did think that a few Tyrone ones had maybe got a bit bitter about him for whatever reason but I do think Ger Brennan has brought on Louth a good bit and I do wonder about that. Also while it has been stated a thousand times the not learning lessons isn't good when things are going wrong.

I do think he did a lot more for Tyrone than some people seem to realise. I think he kept Tyrone competitive in years where they should have been nowhere near and some of those defeats to the big teams were in years Tyrone just didn't have a good enough team to beat those other teams. While he wasn't there in 2021 I think he was a big factor in it and the subsequent fortunes of the new management have maybe highlighted it.

I don't listen to that Stephen Nolan guy on BBC cos he's a narcissistic wind up merchant who is very loose with the truth and likes to engage in hatred. A horrible human being who only has one core interest, himself. A man to be pitied.

Exactly same as Brolly.

Truthsayer

Quote from: imtommygunn on June 13, 2024, 04:16:28 PMThere is somewhere in between though. Before a few things this year I did think that a few Tyrone ones had maybe got a bit bitter about him for whatever reason but I do think Ger Brennan has brought on Louth a good bit and I do wonder about that. Also while it has been stated a thousand times the not learning lessons isn't good when things are going wrong.

I do think he did a lot more for Tyrone than some people seem to realise. I think he kept Tyrone competitive in years where they should have been nowhere near and some of those defeats to the big teams were in years Tyrone just didn't have a good enough team to beat those other teams. While he wasn't there in 2021 I think he was a big factor in it and the subsequent fortunes of the new management have maybe highlighted it.
I don't think there is a hope they'd have won the All Ireland in 2021 with Harte there (as Derry wont). Current management is not going well, no doubt. They have lost a huge amount of players and (can't rem the number) but is a load made their championship debut this year.

Norm-Peterson

Brolly said that he went to the 1986 All Ireland final and had his face painted. He said that he went because neighbouring counties support eachother. The truth is that he went because his mother was from Tyrone, he never mentions his Tyrone connections.