Joe Brolly

Started by randomtask, July 31, 2011, 05:28:31 PM

I don't know much about yer man who accompanies Joe on the podcast, but it must be very frustrating. At the same time, if they're making much money from it, he just bites his lip.

It has got to the stage though that you have a question mark over nearly every story he tells. I heard one recently when he talked about Canavan coming back on v Armagh in 03 and kicking a few more points in the AI Final.

AustinPowers

Quote from: ONeill on May 31, 2024, 11:24:48 PMI don't know much about yer man who accompanies Joe on the podcast, but it must be very frustrating. At the same time, if they're making much money from it, he just bites his lip.

It has got to the stage though that you have a question mark over nearly every story he tells. I heard one recently when he talked about Canavan coming back on v Armagh in 03 and kicking a few more points in the AI Final.

What took you so  long?

And nearly  every story?!

Quote from: Truthsayer on May 29, 2024, 01:18:16 AM
Quote from: Main Street on May 29, 2024, 12:14:41 AM
Quote from: Truthsayer on May 28, 2024, 06:01:04 PM
Quote from: tiempo on May 28, 2024, 03:42:01 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on May 28, 2024, 01:56:54 PM
Quote from: tiempo on May 28, 2024, 01:18:59 PMYes I'm involved at local level. And the GAA is an overwhelming force for good across Ireland, but Joe is disparaging of other sports as if they are less worthy or less valid in their endeavours and has a holier than ye view on the GAA as if there aren't real issues. Maybe the Prof could do a paper on the incidence of assault across codes or untaxed second incomes (paid managers), I'd suggest GAA doesn't fare favourably to the average golf soccer or rubgy club.

https://www.longfordleader.ie/news/home/1429655/longford-court-hears-details-of-alleged-assault-during-gaa-challenge-game.html

https://www.the42.ie/david-brady-club-gaa-manager-payments-5014600-Feb2020/

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-41071760.html
Some deflections there to drag down the contribution of the GAA to Irish society. The GAA at local level has done more to hold communities together than any other organisation, church included.. during good times and challenging times such as huge immigration, the war years and Covid... not sure has Joe ridiculed golf! I enjoy soccer and rugby as much as the next man but isn't comparable what they do on a wider community level and have their own assaults too I'm sure cud be dug out of the archives

Nuance. Joe is a GAA evangelist, and more power to him, buts its OK to point out that its not a bed of roses, and that a GAA up-sell doesn't need to go hand in hand with pulling the efforts of other people in other codes down, their contribution is no less valid or worthy, or are we saying there is a hierarchy of contribution of Irish society/goodness/greatness. The GAA is the new church, a bit of healthy critique never went amiss
The GAA is a far cry from what the church was abusing its power... agreed isn't above critique but digging out assault cases on websites sake of having a go at the GAA is a bit much, could do same for rugby and soccer.
Joe usually goes into the hierarchy thing on the podcast when Dion cites soccer as if its comparable.. its not.
The GAA is the new Church is a statement of description, where Church = dogma/cult/religious fervor, the new thing.
But you being somewhat 'emotional' equate the  refereed to "church" as  being the Catholic church.

To be fair I did assume you meant Catholic Church as it was the main religion here... you're too smart for me and the dictionary:
Have tried various definitions of church and hard to find that one... is generally r eferring to a building or a particular religion. But that definition you use, how did I not get that?! Lol!
No need to LOL, as a selfproclaimed truthsayer I´d expect some zeal.  Context defines the use of the word Church which "may be used for other religious communities. For non-Christian communities the term may be considered archaic or even offensive" - negating an existing term.

Quote from: tbrick18 on June 04, 2024, 10:59:49 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on June 04, 2024, 10:32:23 AMhttps://www.balls.ie/gaa/joe-brolly-mickey-harte-criticism-600136?fbclid=IwZXh0bgNhZW0CMTEAAR1Y6wg_sGJtihmYrpWgFYbDK3qmtzjQ1NmbZd1ZUDaM9b_nRKwG2TcNnaQ_aem_AaPjg_BLt3Ue0PlOIVqNPLf6re31xTFS5Nx464Yj3gsYGVmr4zrj4cIZwt0pzilkxmRK-G6-zHnMOHnVJaNwZVPU

He's loving it

Say what you want about Brolly, but he is Derry mad so he won't be loving it that we're getting beat the way we are.
On this occasion, he's saying what a lot of people are saying.
He'll love being proved right though! Broken clock and all that!

Truthsayer

He got it 100% Dare anyone suggest it was doomed to failure got the worst abuse, now everyone has turned on Mickey and is a subject of ridicule, including that Hitler skit...

When the tide turns against an outside manager it turns quick.

The Rassies are bitching about Davy now as well, I don't blame them though, he is making an eejet of himself in interviews lately.

Quote from: Truthsayer on June 04, 2024, 11:15:39 AMHe got it 100% Dare anyone suggest it was doomed to failure got the worst abuse, now everyone has turned on Mickey and is a subject of ridicule, including that Hitler skit...

The only people who seemed to think it was a good idea at the time were the Derry County board and Mickey Harte himself. It was the wrong choice then but I don't think anybody thought it could have got so bad so quickly especially after winning the League title.

Truthsayer

Quote from: yellowcard on June 04, 2024, 11:31:06 AM
Quote from: Truthsayer on June 04, 2024, 11:15:39 AMHe got it 100% Dare anyone suggest it was doomed to failure got the worst abuse, now everyone has turned on Mickey and is a subject of ridicule, including that Hitler skit...

The only people who seemed to think it was a good idea at the time were the Derry County board and Mickey Harte himself. It was the wrong choice then but I don't think anybody thought it could have got so bad so quickly especially after winning the League title.
There was too much made of the league win... on penalties. He shouldnt have went to Derry ...and left Louth in the lurch tho they have improved vastly since. 

Quote from: Truthsayer on June 04, 2024, 11:40:21 AM

There was too much made of the league win... on penalties. He shouldnt have went to Derry ...and left Louth in the lurch tho they have improved vastly since. 

Mickey helped get Louth on the right path when he went to them - of that there can be no dount

Truthsayer

Quote from: Taylor on June 04, 2024, 12:01:04 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on June 04, 2024, 11:40:21 AM

Mickey helped get Louth on the right path when he went to them - of that there can be no dount
Same as with Tyrone in later years, took them so far but couldn't compete at top level: hadn't beat Dublin, Kerry or Mayo in the championship from 2009 to 2020. Probly had taken Louth as far as he could. Improvement this year has been marked...

The unpopular view is that Derry will beat Westmeath, get to a Qtr final and squeeze through to a semi with a win over Louth. Mickey has been here before, has been under similar pressure and generally came good with Tyrone. I think he will again after a disasterous 8 weeks.

Brolly can't hide his distain for Harte and Devlin. Like most of his views they are based on petty jealousy and deep loathing.

Don't fool yourselves to think he supports Derry. Ask any Derry player or supporter what they think of Brolly and they'll tell you he's no supporter. He just wants to be in the limelight and will use Derrys success or otherwise to stay relevant. It's all about Joe. Always.

square_ball

Quote from: ck on June 04, 2024, 01:28:03 PMThe unpopular view is that Derry will beat Westmeath, get to a Qtr final and squeeze through to a semi with a win over Louth. Mickey has been here before, has been under similar pressure and generally came good with Tyrone. I think he will again after a disasterous 8 weeks.

Brolly can't hide his distain for Harte and Devlin. Like most of his views they are based on petty jealousy and deep loathing.

Don't fool yourselves to think he supports Derry. Ask any Derry player or supporter what they think of Brolly and they'll tell you he's no supporter. He just wants to be in the limelight and will use Derrys success or otherwise to stay relevant. It's all about Joe. Always.

You've skipped out a round. If they beat Westmeath they'll be in a perliminary QF against a 2nd place team like a Louth. If they get through that they'll likely be playing one of Kerry/Dublin/Donegal/Armagh (if the latter 2 finish top of their groups - could well be Galway/Tyrone/Cork). I wouldn't rule them out of a semi final appearance just yet but the form they are in you can't just turn that around in the space of a few weeks.

And agreed on your points about Brolly. He's delighted things have turned sour for Mickey Harte.

If they did happen to turn good, though looking unlikely, he'd just change his opinion anyway. He changes like the wind - sure McGuinness flits between the Antichrist and the messiah.