Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

Quote from: Hoof Hearted on March 15, 2023, 07:35:17 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 15, 2023, 07:18:08 AM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on March 14, 2023, 11:37:20 PM
Awk now, they're well paid.

Fuel through the roof, tyres not cheap either, probably missing out. But sure some people know better

I imagine that was tongue in cheek

So was mine ;)
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

toby47

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 15, 2023, 08:16:16 AM

Fuel through the roof, tyres not cheap either, probably missing out. But sure some people know better

So was mine ;)

MR2 what way does it work, do reffs get a set fee for the match then mileage? Cheque monthly?

Fair play to ye's BTW, I honestly couldn't ever do it myself.

Quote from: toby47 on March 15, 2023, 09:14:18 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 15, 2023, 08:16:16 AM

So was mine ;)

MR2 what way does it work, do reffs get a set fee for the match then mileage? Cheque monthly?

Fair play to ye's BTW, I honestly couldn't ever do it myself.

Expenses twice a year, ye ain't making money but you are certainly working for it..

The one thing I would say about refereeing, not everyone is cut out for it and that's fine, not sure what the uptake was this year, but wouldn't be many, as some only last a year or so before say "feck that for a game of darts"

4 games a week is around 15 miles or more running for me, keeping fit and being involved  in games after playing for so long fills a void
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

BrendanAntrim

Interesting. Do you record the movement, that would make an interesting strava snapshot

NatSoSaff

Fair play to you MR2. Despite the slagging and banter on here and elsewhere, I'm pretty sure 99.9% of people reflect and are grateful for the contribution you men make to the games.

Quote from: BrendanAntrim on March 15, 2023, 10:15:20 AM
Interesting. Do you record the movement, that would make an interesting strata snapshot

I do, I'm sure a lot of the 'better' referees do also. Hurling generally over 4 miles football used to be over that amount but recently due to the style of it thats dropped to around (for me) 3.7 in the main

Not surprisingly that minor games or under 16 games in football I cover more distance, tells ya ll ya need to know lol

Caesar

The current system requires that every club must put forward a referee. Failure to do so results in significant punishments for the club. Undoubtedly this leads to some referees reluctantly taking up the role without actually wanting to do it which is never a good start.

Not quite sure what the incentives should be but there should definitely be more positive incentives to encourage people to proactively take up the role. More carrot, less stick.

Quote from: Caesar on March 15, 2023, 12:03:14 PM
The current system requires that every club must put forward a referee. Failure to do so results in significant punishments for the club. Undoubtedly this leads to some referees reluctantly taking up the role without actually wanting to do it which is never a good start.

Not quite sure what the incentives should be but there should definitely be more positive incentives to encourage people to proactively take up the role. More carrot, less stick.

Yeah, there should be more 'positive discrimination' for referees to get more involved.

I suppose it's only taken from a small pool of people as any lads between 30 -50, for example maybe have kids and will volunteer for coaching their kids' age groups etc. I think.

Quote from: marty34 on March 15, 2023, 12:30:02 PM
Quote from: Caesar on March 15, 2023, 12:03:14 PM

Yeah, there should be more 'positive discrimination' for referees to get more involved.

I suppose it's only taken from a small pool of people as any lads between 30 -50, for example maybe have kids and will volunteer for coaching their kids' age groups etc. I think.

I'd say if you looked at it, most of the refs are currently already in this bracket and doing the coaching and volunteering within their clubs along with the refereeing.

I would imagine especially down the age grades if clubs looked more closely at the behaviour of their mentors and some parents toward them this would be a start.

Saffsof82

Anybody giving us a chance of picking up points on Saturday against Cavan?

Saul goodman

Quote from: Saffsof82 on March 16, 2023, 01:05:20 PM

Apparently a lot of lads out injured prob best to focus on the Longford game

BrendanAntrim

Quote from: Saffsof82 on March 16, 2023, 01:05:20 PM

Yes definitely in with a chance of getting something from this one. The last day was an aberration, on the whole the matches have been close in this campaign. I think this will be as well, maybe another high scoring one as well.

Belfast GAA man

cavan ase good as promoted so hopefully dont come fully loaded

realisticsaff

MR with the big one on Sunday 👀

bannside

EMG had access to the best players in the county and Cavan toyed with us. There were lists going around at the start of the league showing up to a dozen players retired or unavailable....on top of that Ryan, Jordan , Dermot, are on injured list along with two or three others!

The team Andy sends out will have a real rookie look to it so if we are competitive against a Cavan team who are looking every inch a team still progressing and heading straight to Div 2 I'll be happily surprised.

Antrim are a work in progress, full of transition, and Longford away is definitely no gimme either. Time for cool heads and a bit of trust as well as patience. IMO...