The OFFICIAL Liverpool FC thread - #DankeJürgen

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, February 05, 2009, 03:47:16 PM

Avondhu star

Quote from: Armamike on April 25, 2018, 11:30:09 AM
Aye. Cowards is a better label.

Indeed. Even after all the improvements in stadiums, stewarding, policing there is a small core of scumbags attached to many clubs. It used be called the English disease but all over the continent in places like Poland Italy Hungary these so called "Ultras" who, when they behave are seen as providing atmosphere, are acting the bollix and creating threatening environments at games and outside the grounds. What is the point of going to matches if you have to enter an environment of heavy security, searching etc?

From the game view Liverpool are putting down a marker for the next few years. It's a pity Manchester City built up an early lead in the Premiership. I wonder how good they would be going in to the last few games if Salah and the boys were on their heels
Lee Harvey Oswald , your country needs you

Ambrose

Quote from: Avondhu star on April 25, 2018, 12:07:48 PM
Indeed. Even after all the improvements in stadiums, stewarding, policing there is a small core of scumbags attached to many clubs. It used be called the English disease but all over the continent in places like Poland Italy Hungary these so called "Ultras" who, when they behave are seen as providing atmosphere, are acting the bollix and creating threatening environments at games and outside the grounds. What is the point of going to matches if you have to enter an environment of heavy security, searching etc?

You've obviously never been to a European away game where heavy security, searching etc is the norm. Some of it can be quite heavy handed and on almost all occasions totally uncalled for. There are of course exceptions to the norm, Villa Real being one that stands out as being very relaxed, but I find the Spanish police to be as bad and in many case worse than the Italians.
You can't live off history and tradition forever

Quote from: Ambrose on April 25, 2018, 12:17:40 PM

You've obviously never been to a European away game where heavy security, searching etc is the norm. Some of it can be quite heavy handed and on almost all occasions totally uncalled for. There are of course exceptions to the norm, Villa Real being one that stands out as being very relaxed, but I find the Spanish police to be as bad and in many case worse than the Italians.

I was at a Juve - Real Champions League game in Turin, and the searching was laughable. In the stand the Madrid fans were set up above left of the Juve Curva, where we were, and for most of the game missiles rained down on us, including lit flares. One hit me, burned my jacket and melted the seat it then landed on.

Avondhu star

I have been at games in Hollandi and Poland where policing/stewarding has varied from relaxed to absolute threatening and nearly inviting a violent response.
It's a relief to see how well the Irish get on with the Gardai and stewards in Croke Park. Clones etc and everyone is out for a good day
Lee Harvey Oswald , your country needs you

Ambrose

Quote from: AZOffaly on April 25, 2018, 12:22:52 PM

I was at a Juve - Real Champions League game in Turin, and the searching was laughable. In the stand the Madrid fans were set up above left of the Juve Curva, where we were, and for most of the game missiles rained down on us, including lit flares. One hit me, burned my jacket and melted the seat it then landed on.

Juve fans must have recognised you as one of the Offaly Ultras. Lot of bad blood between the two groups.
You can't live off history and tradition forever

LooseCannon

I hope that the jacket wasn't a good Offaly one, with Carroll Meats on it.

LooseCannon

Quote from: Ambrose on April 25, 2018, 12:29:45 PM

Juve fans must have recognised you as one of the Offaly Ultras. Lot of bad blood between the two groups.
At least we're Faithful, they pay ...

Quote from: Ambrose on April 25, 2018, 12:29:45 PM

I was in the Curva with the Juve fans. It was the Madristas lobbing the stuff down on top of us.

Quote from: LooseCannon on April 25, 2018, 12:30:48 PM

I hope that the jacket wasn't a good Offaly one, with Carroll Meats on it.

No, that was robbed off me when my car was stolen in Annacotty. Ach sin scéal eile.

north_antrim_hound

You sure you didn't provoke them by stating " no one on that pitch has the skill sets of John Troy" or " Italian defenders are shite compared to whelahan"
There's a man with a mullet going mad with a mallet in Millets

I've been at big Champions League games all over Europe and don't think I was ever searched anywhere bar England. European Police can be very heavy handed and treat foreign fans with contempt and herd them like cattle. A couple of times I don't even think I went through a turnstile at any stage.

Rome was one of the worst places, they were horrible snidey fcukers and that was just the police. If anybody you know is going to the away leg  tell them on no account try to get to the ground on their  own there's a bridge to cross outside the ground which is like running the gauntlet, cnuts on wee mopeds trying to slash ur arse with a Stanley knife. Inside the ground they let the Ultras police the curva themselves and all manner of stuff rained down on us, bottles of piss, flares etc and of course there is always an element among the English fans who'll have a go back at which time the riot police waded in and battered anything that moved.

sid waddell

The Liverpool supporter in a critical condition after being attacked is Sean Cox, 53, who is heavily involved with St. Peter's GAA club in Dunboyne - he's a former chairman of the club.

Though presumably we'll have some "edgy" attempts on the part of posters who have vilified Liverpool supporters in the past to label him as a "football hooligan".

north_antrim_hound

Quote from: sid waddell on April 25, 2018, 12:44:35 PM
The Liverpool supporter in a critical condition after being attacked is Sean Cox, 53, who is heavily involved with St. Peter's GAA club in Dunboyne - he's a former chairman of the club.

Though presumably we'll have some "edgy" attempts on the part of posters who have vilified Liverpool supporters in the past to label him as a "football hooligan".

Agreed he's sounds like a real candidate for a underground firm running about looking for trouble. Well done to anyone on here trying to link this man and the clowns who stoned the Man City bus.
There's a man with a mullet going mad with a mallet in Millets

Liverpool were a joy to watch last night from about 20 mins in until about a minute after Salah went off. The 2 away goals conceded were a dampner but a 7 goal thriller of a game from a fan's perspective we all won.
Gaaboard trip to the Ukraine???