GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Barney on October 28, 2008, 09:03:23 PM

Title: Should Women be allowed in Team Dressingrooms?
Post by: Barney on October 28, 2008, 09:03:23 PM
This week the Mayo County Board argue about who should get into the dressing room before matches:

QuoteWar of words over dressing-room access

Daniel Carey

THE PRO of Mayo GAA Board has reacted strongly to her exclusion from the Mayo dressing-room, saying the issue had been dealt with in a 'deplorable' manner.
Noelle Horan told last Tuesday's County Board meeting in the Welcome Inn Hotel that a letter which she had submitted to the executive 'wasn't reported on' in the minutes of the previous meeting.
The PRO explained that the letter dealt with her exclusion from a list of people permitted access to the Mayo dressing-room which was drawn up over the summer. When she queried this, she said she was initially told by Chairman James Waldron that the room was overcrowded, and that it was the players' decision. She claimed that the Chairman then said it was his decision – 'but', she told the meeting, 'it wasn't his decision to make'.
Ms Horan added that she had been 'refused access' to the changing-rooms at half-time in Croke Park, and had been refused access 'entirely' to the dressing-rooms in Longford.
Secretary Seán Feeney replied that the 'rule is clear' regarding who is permitted access. This group is made up of the team, management, medical team, two water boys, Chairman and Secretary. The PRO said that the list he was referring to dealt with who was permitted on the sideline, but 'others have access to the changing rooms'.
The Secretary confirmed that the County Board President usually stood at the door of the dressing-room, and that Liam Ludden, who along with Tommy Goonan is responsible for the players' gear, is also permitted access.
Ms Horan asked if this meant the PRO is no longer an official member of the travelling party. East Mayo Board Secretary Vincent Walsh asked if people were 'overstating their position'. Chairman James Waldron said there were 'more pressing matters to deal with' and that the issue wouldn't arise again until next year.
The PRO said she was not allowed access to management and said the issue 'has escalated since I applied for the post of Secretary'. In reply to a question from Gerry Burke (Breaffy), she added that she had 'no issue' with being in a male dressing-room, and was 'not aware' that her presence was an issue for the players either.
Central Council delegate Paddy Muldoon said the Board had 'a lot of pressing matters' to attend to and shouldn't be 'wasting time' on this issue. The PRO asked where this left the position of women in the GAA within the county, and said that the manner in which the issue had been dealt with had been 'absolutely deplorable'.
The Chairman said that security was in place at the dressing-room door to keep out distractions and mind players' gear, to which the PRO replied: "I must have underestimated myself – I didn't consider myself a distraction'.
She told the Secretary she wanted the minutes from the last meeting 'rectified' to take account of her correspondence, and Mr Feeney agreed, saying it was no skin off his nose to make the change.

Title: Re: Should Women be allowed in Team Dressingrooms?
Post by: tyrone86 on October 28, 2008, 09:15:53 PM
Two questions:

1. Why would the PRO be allowed in the changing room at half-time? It's not like they've any statements to issue arising from the teamtalk.

2. Would yer wan be counted as a distraction?
Post by: Tim Buzaglo on October 28, 2008, 09:18:08 PM
No call for that blade being in the changing room at that time!

Furthermore, i always maintain that no women should be entitled to tickets for big games (all ireland finals etc) until all the men have been sorted out first.

Post by: full back on October 28, 2008, 09:19:16 PM
Why the fcuk would she want access to the changing rooms before or at ht in the game ???

IMHO, the manager, who has (in most cases, unless you are from Cork /Donegal) been selected by those in charge to do the job, should have the final say in who is on the room

Post by: pintsofguinness on October 28, 2008, 09:22:43 PM
Is this just a case of a woman using the fact that she's a woman to create a fuss and scream discrimintation?

What reason has a PRO to be in the changing room?

not even newsworthy imo.

Tim, we don't need another thread for people to show how macho they are  ::)
Post by: downgirl on October 28, 2008, 09:26:31 PM
Quote from: Tim Buzaglo on October 28, 2008, 09:18:08 PM

Furthermore, i always maintain that no women should be entitled to tickets for big games (all ireland finals etc) until all the men have been sorted out first.

Tim wise up
Post by: J70 on October 28, 2008, 09:29:01 PM
Are male PROs allowed in the women's dressing rooms?
Post by: full back on October 28, 2008, 09:31:18 PM
I see what you are saying J70,
but I dont think PRO's should be in the changing room before or during games
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 28, 2008, 09:32:18 PM
Quote from: J70 on October 28, 2008, 09:29:01 PM
Don't think it has anything to do with gender J70 and to go down that road would just be what this lady wants.
Post by: tyrone2010 on October 28, 2008, 09:33:03 PM
they should have women like Demi Moore  to perform a half time striptease to "harden up" the underperming players :P : ;D
Post by: Zulu on October 28, 2008, 09:38:41 PM
I don't know what the protocol for this type of thing is but she is entitled to clarification on her position and the attitude of her fellow CB members was disgraceful IMO. Accrding to the chairman they had more pressing matters to deal with and maybe they do but how difficult is it to clarify who is entitled to the dressing room and why? If I was her I'd be well pissed off that an issue that was important to me was swatted away in such a disrespectful manner, she is the county PRO afterall and that should entitle her to at least an reasonable answer to her query.
Post by: The GAA on October 28, 2008, 09:41:22 PM

The only county board officer i could see needing dressing room access at any time would be the secretary to deal with substitutions?

Post by: Two Hands FFS on October 28, 2008, 10:10:54 PM
If the women was a physio or a team doctor then by all means she should be allowed...but there is no need for a PRO(male or female) to be in the dressing room.She just sounds like a nosey cow who wants to know what is going on. Sure next you know then she'll want the treasurer/ or vice secretary in.

Catch a grip.
Post by: moysider on October 28, 2008, 10:42:34 PM
Looks like there s more to this than just the PRO being excluded from the dressing room. If I were the manager i would nt want the Chairman or Secretary there either - especiallly that secretary.
Some of the comments about more pressing matters and skin off noses were very disrespectful, and when you consider that she is a member of the executive, astounding. Classy people we re dealing with here. I wonder what the more pressing matters were? Another contract extension for Johnno? Stratagies to get their man re-elected in the event of a snap general election.
I was nt aware she had opposed the great man for the permanent secretary s job. I m sure she realises now that it was not a wise move but she should be congratulated for her bravery. She s obviously being frozen out because she dared to challenge the man for what he considered his own personal birthright.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on October 28, 2008, 11:03:10 PM
Quote from: hardstation on October 28, 2008, 10:47:39 PM
Can someone post a short summary of what happened? Them words is too small.

Look - if yer that 'bustin' for a look at a 'middle wicket' then ..............perhaps just get a boy love! (sorry - meant the PRO AND NOT YOU HARDSTATION.. OR MAYBE YOU ARE? WHO KNOWS?)
Post by: Owenmoresider on October 28, 2008, 11:19:53 PM
Quote from: J70 on October 28, 2008, 09:29:01 PM
Unlikely, and I'd like to think not in Sligo's case.

Ah, Mayo GAA internal politics, far better than the real politics there.
Post by: ONeill on October 29, 2008, 08:41:33 AM
It'd be interesting to hear her reason for wanting to be in the changing rooms.
Post by: full back on October 29, 2008, 08:46:22 AM
Quote from: ONeill on October 29, 2008, 08:41:33 AM
It'd be interesting to hear her reason for wanting to be in the changing rooms.

Could be that she wants to help in the motivation of the team........cant think of many other reasons
Post by: thebandit on October 29, 2008, 10:17:03 AM
I wouldn't let any of them county board types in
Post by: billy the kid on October 29, 2008, 11:22:42 AM
Quote from: The GAA on October 28, 2008, 09:41:22 PM

The only county board officer i could see needing dressing room access at any time would be the secretary to deal with substitutions?

I agree 100%

No county board members, Chairman, Pro, Secretary, treasurer etc have any business being in the dressing room.  The only exception being when a sub is coming on at half time and even then I would get the secretary to write the slip outside and give it to the relevant person as team leaves the changing room or at pitchside.

The Pro is one of 3 things:

1. She thinks she is alot more important than she is

2. She is just a nosy old cow

3. She just wants to see the blue vained custard flickers of the players.

Either way she should never be allowed into the changing room.  But neither should any other county board official (male or female) as they are just looking to feel important. 

Managers should decide who enters the changing rooms not committees.
I have Managed plenty of teams myself and I would never tolerate anyone being in the changing room that didnt deserve to be there.
Post by: magpie seanie on October 29, 2008, 11:52:24 AM
Two things:

1) Her letter outlining her complaint initially should have been properly recorded;
2) Clear rules should be in place as to who is allowed into the dressingrooms. It may not be necessary to allow the PRO in but I guarantee there are loads of others who should not be there either.
Post by: blast05 on October 29, 2008, 12:45:36 PM
The situation is simple.

Mayo GAA PRO's have always been allowed into the dressing rooms before games and at half times.
This also included the current lady PRO
The situation changed because the PRO applied for the secretaries job when it was advertised as a full time permanent position.
The long term sitting secretary got the job as expected and took the hump that the PRO dared apply and along with his old school characters that make up the rest of the executive are now forcing her out by 'deciding' she is no longer allowed in the dressing room.

Discussions about who should or should not be allowed in the dressing room is seperate to this issue as is talk of whether or not a woman should be allowed in an all male dressing room or vice versa.

Post by: robertemmet on October 29, 2008, 12:49:49 PM
QuoteI wouldn't let any of them county board types in

The chances are most if them start appearing more on "big days" anyway.

I think that players/management/physio/kitman only people that need to be in dressing room.

Also whoever is in charge of team sheets substititions as well.

Dressing rooms are small enough places, so anyone not needed should not be there
Post by: AbbeySider on October 29, 2008, 01:32:10 PM
Quote from: blast05 on October 29, 2008, 12:45:36 PM
The situation is simple.

Mayo GAA PRO's have always been allowed into the dressing rooms before games and at half times.
The situation changed because the PRO applied for the secretaries job when it was advertised as a full time permanent position.
The long term sitting secretary got the job as expected and took the hump that the PRO dared apply and along with his old school characters that make up the rest of the executive are now forcing her out by 'deciding' she is no longer allowed in the dressing room.

Discussions about who should or should not be allowed in the dressing room is seperate to this issue as is talk of whether or not a woman should be allowed in an all male dressing room or vice versa.

That is a load of propaganda and bullshit.
what do you know about the personal relationship between Sean Feeney and Noelle Horan Blast?
Let alone the rest of the county board? Think before you go and paint the picture you did above.

She shouldnt be allowed in the dressing room unless she is a medical professional or is actually responsible for the taking of team names, correspondence with the ref etc. End of story. You cant have hangers on like that. I dont believe she was ever allowed in the dressing room.
If I was a player/management I would have an issue with it too.
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on October 29, 2008, 02:54:23 PM
Men shoudent be goin in wemens changing rooms and wemen shoudnt be goin in mens. I no a boy got trew out a the keys in Newry for that crack
Post by: muppet on October 29, 2008, 03:00:59 PM
QuoteShould Women be allowed in Team Dressingrooms?

Of course, who'd make the tea?
Post by: youngfella on October 29, 2008, 03:10:03 PM
I should know but what does PRO stand for ?
Post by: muppet on October 29, 2008, 03:14:29 PM
Quote from: youngfella on October 29, 2008, 03:10:03 PM

Please Remain Outside.
Post by: youngfella on October 29, 2008, 03:28:09 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 29, 2008, 03:14:29 PM

Please Remain Outside.

Thats sharp ma boy
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 29, 2008, 04:10:28 PM
no

also
prob only reason why they are employed by teams is because they are cheaper !
:-X
Post by: Over the Bar on October 29, 2008, 06:32:36 PM
QuoteShould Women be allowed in Team Dressingrooms?

Of course.  Where would they get changed otherwise?
Post by: moysider on October 29, 2008, 11:27:12 PM
Quote from: blast05 on October 29, 2008, 12:45:36 PM
The situation is simple.

Correct. You ve nailed it better than I tried to do earlier.
Post by: Bacon on October 30, 2008, 10:35:27 AM
Quote from: Armagh4SamAgain on October 29, 2008, 02:54:23 PM
Men shoudent be goin in wemens changing rooms and wemen shoudnt be goin in mens. I no a boy got trew out a the keys in Newry for that crack

Do you mean the Quays Shopping Centre?

PRO has no place in the changing room.
Post by: blast05 on October 30, 2008, 01:39:09 PM
QuoteShe shouldnt be allowed in the dressing room unless she is a medical professional or is actually responsible for the taking of team names, correspondence with the ref etc. End of story. You cant have hangers on like that. I dont believe she was ever allowed in the dressing room.

Wrong Abbeysider - Mayo GAA board PRO's have always been allowed into the dressing rooms - FACT. She hasn't been allowed in since she looked to become secretary.
Your first point is valid but should be de-coupled from this situation
Post by: leenie on October 30, 2008, 01:52:15 PM
Quote from: Tim Buzaglo on October 28, 2008, 09:18:08 PM

hilarious ..... not!

my experience of being big game at my local pitch the lads didn't seem to give a hoot about the women about.... nor did they know how to close the loo door!!!!

and yes i was their making the tea!!!! (a very important role i might add)
Post by: mylestheslasher on October 30, 2008, 01:56:50 PM
When I am in dressing room before or after a match I hate to see anyone in there except the players, manager, selector and Physio. If some of them are women thats fine with me. I don't want to see the chairman, secretary, ex players, sponsor, sponsors mother or anyone else in there.
Post by: The GAA on October 30, 2008, 02:18:12 PM
Quote from: blast05 on October 30, 2008, 01:39:09 PM
QuoteShe shouldnt be allowed in the dressing room unless she is a medical professional or is actually responsible for the taking of team names, correspondence with the ref etc. End of story. You cant have hangers on like that. I dont believe she was ever allowed in the dressing room.

Wrong Abbeysider - Mayo GAA board PRO's have always been allowed into the dressing rooms - FACT. She hasn't been allowed in since she looked to become secretary.

you're implying that her application for the secretary post was not welcome at county board level?
Post by: AbbeySider on October 30, 2008, 03:22:07 PM
Quote from: blast05 on October 30, 2008, 01:39:09 PM
She shouldnt be allowed in the dressing room unless she is a medical professional or is actually responsible for the taking of team names, correspondence with the ref etc. End of story. You cant have hangers on like that. I dont believe she was ever allowed in the dressing room.
Quote from: blast05

I dont know Blast, I havnt really heard of a PRO being in the dressing room for the purpose of writing team sheets and slips for the referee at club level. I assumed that all that was done by the secretary. So with that, what purpose has a PRO being there in the first place?
I wouldnt wholly agree with too many bodies in the dressing room idling around. Thats just where im coming from.

BTW I didnt meant to jump down your throat. I just hate and get frustrated with the way we (in Mayo) always do our washing in public.
This kind of stuff shouldnt have left the county board meeting, let alone be plastered on the local papers or this board.
Post by: small white mayoman on October 30, 2008, 03:49:03 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on October 30, 2008, 03:22:07 PM
. I just hate and get frustrated with the way we (in Mayo) always do our washing in public.  shouldnt have left the county board meeting, let alone be plastered on the local papers or this board.

Well i hope they let the PRO do the washing she seems to have a lot of time on her hands ;)
Post by: stpauls on October 30, 2008, 04:53:27 PM

as no one else answered your question, i will. it means Public Relations Officer!
Post by: full back on October 30, 2008, 04:55:04 PM
I think he meant a different type of Pro st pauls
Post by: stpauls on October 30, 2008, 04:57:17 PM
Quote from: full back on October 30, 2008, 04:55:04 PM
I think he meant a different type of Pro st pauls

sorry, didn't catch that one FB!  ;)
Post by: Lecale2 on November 19, 2008, 01:19:14 PM
Latest developments:-

Mayo PRO fails to get nominated
19 November 2008

Mayo county board will have to reconvene early in the New Year to elect a new PRO after the outgoing Noelle Horan failed to receive a nomination for next month's county convention.

Because of this unusual development and the fact that there are no other nominations for the position, a new PRO cannot be elected at county convention on December 1 in Claremorris. Mayo secretary Sean Feeney explained that only a handful of clubs returned nomination forms before last Monday week's deadline, and the outgoing PRO was not nominated by any club to retain her position.

"Every club in the county was sent a nomination paper and were asked to nominate for the various county board positions," he said.

"All the positions were blank on the nomination forms except for the president, Eddie Cuffe, who only came into the position last year, and secretary, because that is now a full-time role.

"No club nominated the outgoing PRO, and even when you're outgoing, you have to be nominated. This means that the position of PRO will not be filled at convention. What will happen is that the clubs will be asked to nominate candidates for the position early in the New Year."

Horan only became aware that she had failed to receive a nomination when she received an e-mail on Sunday evening last that was sent to all county board officers and clubs in the county.

She will remain as Mayo PRO until the county convention, and will be able to vote on all motions at that meeting. No positions are being contested at this year's convention.
Post by: full back on November 19, 2008, 02:00:02 PM
Why didnt her own club nominate her?
Post by: Bomber on November 20, 2008, 04:49:28 PM
Quote from: full back on November 19, 2008, 02:00:02 PM
Why didnt her own club nominate her?

I was thinking the same myself! Can she still be nominated as a candidate in the New Year?
Post by: thebandit on November 20, 2008, 05:38:13 PM
Yes she can
Post by: Hardy on November 20, 2008, 05:42:26 PM
Maybe she should forget about Mayo PRO and look for a job in the Obama administration then.
Post by: Lecale2 on November 21, 2008, 09:26:49 AM
Quote from: Hardy on November 20, 2008, 05:42:26 PM
Maybe she should forget about Mayo PRO and look for a job in the Obama administration then.

Will he let her into his changing room?
Post by: Owenmoresider on November 21, 2008, 10:08:41 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on November 19, 2008, 01:19:14 PM
"No club nominated the outgoing PRO, and even when you're outgoing, you have to be nominated. This means that the position of PRO will not be filled at convention. What will happen is that the clubs will be asked to nominate candidates for the position early in the New Year."
Is that the case everywhere? I didn't think the incumbent had to get nominated by a club. Must have been some gentle pressure put on her club then. ::)
Post by: blast05 on November 22, 2008, 04:52:28 PM
QuoteMust have been some gentle pressure put on her club then

Maybe some of the other Mayo lads con confirm or correct me but as far as i am aware she is from the same club as the secretary.
Either way, the scenario is that she challenged Feeneys position for secretary and has now paid the big price .... Frank Murhpy is only in the ha'penny place compared to the bould Feeney  ::)
Post by: AbbeySider on November 22, 2008, 08:03:17 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on November 21, 2008, 10:08:41 PM
Is that the case everywhere? I didn't think the incumbent had to get nominated by a club. Must have been some gentle pressure put on her club then. ::)

Stop spouting rumors and lies Owenmoresider.  >:( The cheek of you to suggest that. I held off responding to this topic but spreading shite and putting ideas in peoples heads like that is hard to take. If you dont know the full story keep quiet.

Why do we have to be talking about trivial stuff like this again anyway?
I know there is little football to be discussing this time of year but is it really necessary that we wash our linen in public as per usual in Mayo? 
(im not looking for any sexist puns there either guys)
Post by: cadhlancian on November 22, 2008, 11:54:01 PM
Quote from: Barney on October 28, 2008, 09:03:23 PM
This week the Mayo County Board argue about who should get into the dressing room before matches:

QuoteWar of words over dressing-room access

Daniel Carey

THE PRO of Mayo GAA Board has reacted strongly to her exclusion from the Mayo dressing-room, saying the issue had been dealt with in a 'deplorable' manner.
Noelle Horan told last Tuesday's County Board meeting in the Welcome Inn Hotel that a letter which she had submitted to the executive 'wasn't reported on' in the minutes of the previous meeting.
The PRO explained that the letter dealt with her exclusion from a list of people permitted access to the Mayo dressing-room which was drawn up over the summer. When she queried this, she said she was initially told by Chairman James Waldron that the room was overcrowded, and that it was the players' decision. She claimed that the Chairman then said it was his decision – 'but', she told the meeting, 'it wasn't his decision to make'.
Ms Horan added that she had been 'refused access' to the changing-rooms at half-time in Croke Park, and had been refused access 'entirely' to the dressing-rooms in Longford.
Secretary Seán Feeney replied that the 'rule is clear' regarding who is permitted access. This group is made up of the team, management, medical team, two water boys, Chairman and Secretary. The PRO said that the list he was referring to dealt with who was permitted on the sideline, but 'others have access to the changing rooms'.
The Secretary confirmed that the County Board President usually stood at the door of the dressing-room, and that Liam Ludden, who along with Tommy Goonan is responsible for the players' gear, is also permitted access.
Ms Horan asked if this meant the PRO is no longer an official member of the travelling party. East Mayo Board Secretary Vincent Walsh asked if people were 'overstating their position'. Chairman James Waldron said there were 'more pressing matters to deal with' and that the issue wouldn't arise again until next year.
The PRO said she was not allowed access to management and said the issue 'has escalated since I applied for the post of Secretary'. In reply to a question from Gerry Burke (Breaffy), she added that she had 'no issue' with being in a male dressing-room, and was 'not aware' that her presence was an issue for the players either.
Central Council delegate Paddy Muldoon said the Board had 'a lot of pressing matters' to attend to and shouldn't be 'wasting time' on this issue. The PRO asked where this left the position of women in the GAA within the county, and said that the manner in which the issue had been dealt with had been 'absolutely deplorable'.
The Chairman said that security was in place at the dressing-room door to keep out distractions and mind players' gear, to which the PRO replied: "I must have underestimated myself – I didn't consider myself a distraction'.
She told the Secretary she wanted the minutes from the last meeting 'rectified' to take account of her correspondence, and Mr Feeney agreed, saying it was no skin off his nose to make the change.

depends on what they look like ;D
Post by: AbbeySider on November 23, 2008, 10:36:54 AM
Quote from: cadhlancian on November 22, 2008, 11:54:01 PM
depends on what they look like ;D
I dont get it  ::)  ???
Post by: Silky on November 23, 2008, 11:23:05 AM
What sort of a respectable woman would be wanting to hang around in men changing rooms?
Post by: dundrumite on November 23, 2008, 03:46:25 PM
Remember reading Mickey Harte's book, his view was that he had too many non-members of the footballing/management team in the changing room. He kindly  told them there presence in the changing room was unnecessary. His belief the changing room is a sacred place between management and players. Totally agree, a place for team members and those actively involved in the day to day training, not the suits involved in the running of the county board.
Post by: magpie seanie on November 24, 2008, 04:12:04 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on November 22, 2008, 08:03:17 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on November 21, 2008, 10:08:41 PM

Stop spouting rumors and lies Owenmoresider.  >:( The cheek of you to suggest that. I held off responding to this topic but spreading shite and putting ideas in peoples heads like that is hard to take. If you dont know the full story keep quiet.

Why do we have to be talking about trivial stuff like this again anyway?
I know there is little football to be discussing this time of year but is it really necessary that we wash our linen in public as per usual in Mayo? 
(im not looking for any sexist puns there either guys)

Why don't you tell us what happened so? All OMS speculated on was what most people were thinking anyway. Seems very unusual that your own club wouldn't nominate you for a job that you were doing already.

While your at your Politburo type crusdae maybe you should get on to the local papers in Mayo as well and tell them to stop printing stuff like this. No need for people to know anything really.
Post by: Farrandeelin on November 24, 2008, 05:04:59 PM
When is Feeney's time up as Secretary anyway? It's not too long, I think I read somethiing in the Western about him having to leave soon. How soon that is, is another matter.
Post by: Lecale2 on November 24, 2008, 08:44:41 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on November 24, 2008, 05:04:59 PM
When is Feeney's time up as Secretary anyway? It's not too long, I think I read somethiing in the Western about him having to leave soon. How soon that is, is another matter.

Co Board Secretary is now a full time employed position. He aint goin anywhere for a long time.
Post by: AbbeySider on November 25, 2008, 01:03:08 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on November 24, 2008, 04:12:04 PM
Why don't you tell us what happened so? All OMS speculated on was what most people were thinking anyway. Seems very unusual that your own club wouldn't nominate you for a job that you were doing already.
While your at your Politburo type crusdae maybe you should get on to the local papers in Mayo as well and tell them to stop printing stuff like this. No need for people to know anything really.

Firstly im with pints pintsofguinness when he said this topic is...
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 28, 2008, 09:22:43 PM
not even newsworthy imo.

As well as that I didnt think it fair to talk about peoples lives on this board. Is it really fair some of the stuff being said about both parties?
How would you feel being Noelle Horan reading or Sean Feeney reading some of the comments posted here.
I dont know either party personally but someone calling Noelle a nosey cow?  ::)  Who the f**k are you? (Two Hands FFS and Billy_The_Kid), in fairness?  ::)

Some of the shite and assaults on both characters are a bit much. I dont know what to put it down to.
At the end of the day, they all are human like the rest of us.

Local papers magpie? I dont read them. I have a gripe with them as a hype machine and generating pressure on Mayo county players and management.
Added to the fact that a lot (not all) of the sports and GAA writers are very poor and wouldnt spot a footballer in Croke Park.
But somehow from your comments I imagine you scouring your local Sligo papers every week for the gossip and poor punditry.
News must be slow in Sligo, maybe you should be concentrating on figuring out how to beat London or how to win the Tommy Murphy cup and leave the "Politburo Crusaders"  like me alone.  :D

Anyway as far as I know the woman in question never got an official club nomination when she went for West Board PRO.
I think she got a nomination from someone and got the position by default because there was no takers.
She then ran unopposed for the county board PRO position when it became available, and got it.
To my knowledge, she never canvassed, asked or sought a club nomination from any club or ever mentioned her interest in these positions, and went about it her own way.
Which is fair enough.
Out of the 50 clubs that were asked for nominations only 5 replied. None obviously nominated her.
But I think she can still receive a nomination in the new year. We will see what happens.
Post by: stephenite on November 25, 2008, 01:16:56 AM
This is going to sound very hypocritical, but anyway.....

Sean Feeney has put a lot of voluntary effort into Mayo GAA over the years and this deserves to be recognised.

He is also a plague on Mayo GAA with some of the comments that he has made over the years, some of the decisions that he has railroaded through the county board and the fixture administration during his tenure are nothing short of a mess.

We'd be better off without him, but unfortunately we're stuck with him - only upside being that now he is a paid full time anything in relation to him and the duties of secretary are fair game for comment.

PS: I've no doubt that Blast05 is correct in his summation of events
Post by: Tubberman on November 25, 2008, 08:33:12 AM
QuotePS: I've no doubt that Blast05 is correct in his summation of events

You have 'no doubt'!?
Well isn't that amazing. From far-flung Australia, Stephenite knows for a fact the exact circumstances of nominations (or lack of them) for the Mayo PRO job, when very few within the county seem to be sure. You're some man  ::)
To come onto a message forum on the internet and cast aspersions on a man's character is very easy. Especially when you can get up from in front of your keyboard and not give it another thought. Yourself and Blast would want to present the facts if you're in 'no doubt'.
Post by: AbbeySider on November 25, 2008, 09:19:13 AM
Quote from: stephenite on November 25, 2008, 01:16:56 AM
This is going to sound very hypocritical, but anyway.....

Sean Feeney has put a lot of voluntary effort into Mayo GAA over the years and this deserves to be recognised.

He is also a plague on Mayo GAA with some of the comments that he has made over the years, some of the decisions that he has railroaded through the county board and the fixture administration during his tenure are nothing short of a mess.

Firstly,
Sean Feeney has nothing to do with the fixtures.  ::)
They are controlled by the Fixtures Committee chaired by Paddy McNicholas.... You should know that.
They are then sent out by Noelle because she is PRO.

What comments are you referring to that were that bad?
He only speaks on behalf of the county board who make all decisions through the floor and its the clubs that put forward motions that are voted on.

Quote from: stephenite on November 25, 2008, 01:16:56 AM
We'd be better off without him, but unfortunately we're stuck with him - only upside being that now he is a paid full time anything in relation to him and the duties of secretary are fair game for comment.

PS: I've no doubt that Blast05 is correct in his summation of events

Do you have anyone else in mind?
AFAICT his current contract is 2 years so when thats up make sure your club nominates you.  ;)

Post by: SouthArmaghBandit on November 25, 2008, 11:57:04 AM
Can anyone post a photograph of Noelle Horan? What age of a woman is she?
Post by: AbbeySider on November 25, 2008, 01:12:32 PM
Quote from: SouthArmaghBandit on November 25, 2008, 11:57:04 AM
Can anyone post a photograph of Noelle Horan? What age of a woman is she?

Strangest request I have seen on this board for a long time. In fact, I find it plain weird SouthArmaghBandit .

A quick recap for everyone on this board rules; Im surprised MODs havnt stepped in already with some of the tripe and insults people post.

1. Personal abuse.
Personal abuse is one of the most common problems on internet boards. Known sometimes as 'playing the man', whether foul language is used or not, this behaviour is not allowed. e.g. Calling someone a fat fool is the same as calling someone something more vulgar. This rule applies even in situations where another user has breached this, or another rule. Retaliation is still a breach of the rule.
Penalties- 1st Offence - Warning,  Second Offence - 2 Day Ban, Third Offence - 10 Day Ban, Fourth Offence - Permanent Ban

2. Libellous/insulting posts about a real person
In this day and age, many more people are becoming aware of the existance of boards such as this. While this is generally a good thing, it also means that the posts are more likely to be read by a casual visitor to the site. In these circumstances, the board must protect itself against allegations of libel, or defamation and so any posts which make derogatory remarks about a named, or clearly implied, individual, are a serious breach of the rules, and dangerous to the board itself. This particularly applies to individuals' private lives, finances, legal issues etc etc. This also applies to unwarranted abuse of GAA players and officials.
Penalties - 1st Offence - Warning, Second Offence  - 5 Day Ban, Third Offence - Permanent Ban

3. Revealing a posters personal identity.
An inherent part of most discussion boards is that members may choose to adopt an alias, if they wish, as their board username. This choice of anonymity must be respected and any move to identify the real life identity of a poster on this board, where they have not done so themselves, is a breach of board rules.

Im taking that 3rd Amendment if anyone askes to post a picture of a poster/member of the public on this public forum.
Why does it matter SouthArmaghBandit ?
Post by: Puckoon on November 25, 2008, 01:18:10 PM
Quote from: dundrumite on November 23, 2008, 03:46:25 PM
Remember reading Mickey Harte's book, his view was that he had too many non-members of the footballing/management team in the changing room. He kindly  told them there presence in the changing room was unnecessary. His belief the changing room is a sacred place between management and players. Totally agree, a place for team members and those actively involved in the day to day training, not the suits involved in the running of the county board.

Read it again. That was the players call, nothing to do with Mickey Harte.
Post by: magpie seanie on November 25, 2008, 01:56:34 PM
QuoteLocal papers magpie? I dont read them. I have a gripe with them as a hype machine and generating pressure on Mayo county players and management.
Added to the fact that a lot (not all) of the sports and GAA writers are very poor and wouldnt spot a footballer in Croke Park.
But somehow from your comments I imagine you scouring your local Sligo papers every week for the gossip and poor punditry.
News must be slow in Sligo, maybe you should be concentrating on figuring out how to beat London or how to win the Tommy Murphy cup and leave the "Politburo Crusaders"  like me alone

Quite the rant there.

I mentioned local papers as that is where this story that you wish to be suppressed originated. How you could come up with the bit in bold is just beyond me. A bit of a tantrum it looks like. I really don't understand where you're coming from on this. Is it that you hate all type of media coverage of Mayo GAA?

Post by: heineken_on_tap on November 25, 2008, 02:06:59 PM
I'd imagine the Mods can do their job without 'help' from you AbbeySider
Post by: AbbeySider on November 25, 2008, 02:48:50 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on November 25, 2008, 01:56:34 PM
Quite the rant there.

I mentioned local papers as that is where this story that you wish to be suppressed originated. How you could come up with the bit in bold is just beyond me. A bit of a tantrum it looks like. I really don't understand where you're coming from on this.

It was a bit of a rant and a poor attempt at humour. It was in Jest, no offence meant.  ;)
Post by: AbbeySider on November 25, 2008, 03:01:13 PM
Quote from: heineken_on_tap on November 25, 2008, 02:06:59 PM
I'd imagine the Mods can do their job without 'help' from you AbbeySider

Pointing out rules is really helping posters more so than mods.
Post by: winsamsoon on November 25, 2008, 03:06:43 PM
only if she is gorgeous with blonde hair and handing out rubs.
Post by: SouthArmaghBandit on November 25, 2008, 03:08:12 PM
How is asking for a photograph of one of the Mayo County Boards senior officers Personal abuse, a Libellous/insulting post about a real person or Revealing a posters personal identity?

Catch yourself on FFS!

I'm not from Mayo and I would like to see a photograph of the Mayo Pro who is all over the newspapers. I'd like to see what see looks like because it helps me identify people. I may bump into her at annual Congress for example. Or come across her somewhere else.  A head and shoulders shoot will do.
Post by: illdecide on November 25, 2008, 03:34:44 PM
Quote from: winsamsoon on November 25, 2008, 03:06:43 PM
only if she is gorgeous with blonde hair and handing out rubs.

Corretc saan. And she should be wearing her stockings and suspenders and nothing else...lol :-*
Post by: AbbeySider on November 25, 2008, 03:39:59 PM
Quote from: SouthArmaghBandit on November 25, 2008, 03:08:12 PM
How is asking for a photograph of one of the Mayo County Boards senior officers Personal abuse, a Libellous/insulting post about a real person or Revealing a posters personal identity?

Catch yourself on FFS!

I'm not from Mayo and I would like to see a photograph of the Mayo Pro who is all over the newspapers. I'd like to see what see looks like because it helps me identify people. I may bump into her at annual Congress for example. Or come across her somewhere else.  A head and shoulders shoot will do.

I wasnt really referring to you when I mentioned the rules. A build up of personal comments and assaults down through the Mayo threads lead me to remind people of rules. But in the circumstances I dont think this it the place to be posting pictures of people.
Ill definitely retract labelling your request weird. I didnt know your motivation for asking. Apologies.
Post by: Silky on November 25, 2008, 03:58:51 PM
I may bump into her at annual Congress for example. Or come across her somewhere else.  A head and shoulders shoot will do.

:D :D :D
Post by: Tubberman on November 25, 2008, 04:04:24 PM
That's not her Silky. Don't know who that is but you should probably take it down.

To be honest, this isn't a story that warrants all the posts it's getting. The clubs will be asked to nominate again since no nominations for the post of PRO were received.
People shouldn't be jumping to conclusions or coming up with conspiracy theories without foundation.
It should be let lie until the nominations are sent after Christmas.

Personally, I think half the posters here would be ideal candidates - any PRO would be thrilled to generate this amount of attention :P :D ;)
Post by: AbbeySider on November 25, 2008, 04:05:31 PM
Quote from: Silky on November 25, 2008, 03:58:51 PM
I may bump into her at annual Congress for example. Or come across her somewhere else.  A head and shoulders shoot will do.
I cant stop laughing at that either now!
Who is that Silky, in the picture?
God help SouthArmaghBandit in the next annual Congress!
Post by: magpie seanie on November 25, 2008, 04:52:11 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on November 25, 2008, 02:48:50 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on November 25, 2008, 01:56:34 PM
Quite the rant there.

I mentioned local papers as that is where this story that you wish to be suppressed originated. How you could come up with the bit in bold is just beyond me. A bit of a tantrum it looks like. I really don't understand where you're coming from on this.

It was a bit of a rant and a poor attempt at humour. It was in Jest, no offence meant.  ;)

Sound Abbeysider, none taken.
Title: Re: Should Women be allowed in Team Dressing rooms?
Post by: Lecale2 on November 25, 2008, 08:41:10 PM
6 pages on the Mayo Pro! Hard to believe. Is that a photo of her or not?
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 25, 2008, 08:51:12 PM
Sad
Post by: GAAboardmod1 on November 25, 2008, 10:24:43 PM
I would prefer if posters refrained from posting pictures of any county board officers on the site, given the context of the thread.
Post by: stephenite on November 26, 2008, 04:46:23 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on November 25, 2008, 08:33:12 AM
QuotePS: I've no doubt that Blast05 is correct in his summation of events

You have 'no doubt'!?
Well isn't that amazing. From far-flung Australia, Stephenite knows for a fact the exact circumstances of nominations (or lack of them) for the Mayo PRO job, when very few within the county seem to be sure. You're some man  ::)
To come onto a message forum on the internet and cast aspersions on a man's character is very easy. Especially when you can get up from in front of your keyboard and not give it another thought. Yourself and Blast would want to present the facts if you're in 'no doubt'.

Yes, because telephones and other methods of modern communication are completely unavailable to me in 'far-flung' Australia - the notion that my current location precludes from having an opinion or some knowledge as to the nominations process for executive positions at the convention is ludicrous. ::)

It is very easy to come onto an Internet discussion forum and cast aspersions, you're right. Nearly as easy as taking a call from Pat Kenny and deciding that as you were elected to be secretary of the Mayo County board you're in a position to announce new GAA policies without a care in the world or input into your decision by anyone else, despite the nature of your announcement causing thousands of jaws to drop simultaneously across the country, and casting aspersions on thousands of members that may not agree with him.
Post by: Tubberman on November 26, 2008, 09:06:01 AM
QuoteYes, because telephones and other methods of modern communication are completely unavailable to me in 'far-flung' Australia - the notion that my current location precludes from having an opinion or some knowledge as to the nominations process for executive positions at the convention is ludicrous.

So you DO know the exact circumstances of the nominations then? Enlighten us.

QuoteIt is very easy to come onto an Internet discussion forum and cast aspersions, you're right. Nearly as easy as taking a call from Pat Kenny and deciding that as you were elected to be secretary of the Mayo County board you're in a position to announce new GAA policies without a care in the world or input into your decision by anyone else, despite the nature of your announcement causing thousands of jaws to drop simultaneously across the country, and casting aspersions on thousands of members that may not agree with him.

Which has absolutely nothing to do with PRO nominations. What it possibly does show, is that your assumptions/opinions in the PRO debate are based on your grievance from a completely unrelated event.

Post by: Silky on November 27, 2008, 11:54:46 AM
Can you not nominate from the floor at convention if there has been no body nominated?
Post by: AbbeySider on November 27, 2008, 01:35:01 PM
Quote from: Silky on November 27, 2008, 11:54:46 AM
Can you not nominate from the floor at convention if there has been no body nominated?

I could be wrong in this but....
At a guess id say its only County Board Club Delegates and Officers that can nominate for positions.

I think you can only submit nominations before the convention. Out of almost 50 clubs, only 5 returned nominations this time.
It wouldnt make sense to have any normal Joe Soap coming in off the street and making a nomination from the floor.
Im not sure are nominations even allowed from the floor on the day.
Again im not 100% sure on this...

Edit:
I just came across this in the Mayo news.
"No club nominated the outgoing PRO, and even when you're outgoing, you have to be nominated. This means that the position of PRO will not be filled at Convention. What will happen is that the clubs will be asked to nominate candidates for the position early in the New Year."
Post by: moysider on November 27, 2008, 08:32:00 PM

I m not a county board delegate but I ve attended several AGMs of a related organisation at provincal level. Often there would be no nominations for executive  positions. Unless somebody actively sought a nomination you would nt bother. Usually what happens then is that the outgoing officer would be asked if they were willing to continue in the position for another year and if they agreed that was that.
Surprised that did nt happen in this case. I see where its pointed out that the outgoing must be nominated as well so if thats the rule well then thats the rule.
You would have to think Ms. Horan did not actively seek a nomination because its inconceivable that no club would not nominate her because she is well thought of. It would appear she may have had enough.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on November 27, 2008, 09:41:37 PM
Quote from: moysider on November 27, 2008, 08:32:00 PM

I m not a county board delegate but I ve attended several AGMs of a related organisation at provincal level. Often there would be no nominations for executive  positions. Unless somebody actively sought a nomination you would nt bother. Usually what happens then is that the outgoing officer would be asked if they were willing to continue in the position for another year and if they agreed that was that.
Surprised that did nt happen in this case. I see where its pointed out that the outgoing must be nominated as well so if thats the rule well then thats the rule.
You would have to think Ms. Horan did not actively seek a nomination because its inconceivable that no club would not nominate her because she is well thought of. It would appear she may have had enough.

Ok, can't agree with that Moysider, have been at a few meetings myself and around the Mayo scene it wud be wrong to say that Ms Horan was generally well thought of. I'm not going to dish her here but lets leave it at saying that she rubbed people up the wrong way and a lot of what happened was of her own doing
Post by: stephenite on November 27, 2008, 09:59:48 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on November 27, 2008, 09:41:37 PM
Quote from: moysider on November 27, 2008, 08:32:00 PM

Ok, can't agree with that Moysider, have been at a few meetings myself and around the Mayo scene it wud be wrong to say that Ms Horan was generally well thought of. I'm not going to dish her here but lets leave it at saying that she rubbed people up the wrong way and a lot of what happened was of her own doing

Second hand reports I've heard would back that up, however I'm told that she approached a number of junior clubs in the west to seek a nomination and there was some 'issues' with one clubs process, thus the nomination was rejected
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on November 27, 2008, 10:41:58 PM
Well it wasn't her own club that nominated her in the first place, its a wonder none of the two that nominated her firstly did the same again.

The CB could badly do with Kevin O'Toole back in charge of fixtures, no doubt Ms Horan did a lot of work but its not an easy job to be thrown into. I think the CB wil struggle tho 2 replace her because willing and able people just aren't ten a penny. Clubs are struggling to get good people and it'd be a rare club that would let a good clubperson step up to county board, to what would be seen as being to the club's own cost . . .
Title: Noelle hist back
Post by: stephenite on December 02, 2008, 11:28:45 PM
From Mayo News - Daniel Carey

NOELLE Horan launching a blistering attack on the County Board Executive at last night's Mayo GAA Board Convention – and then said would not be seeking a nomination for the post of Public Relations Officer.
Ms Horan, who failed to receive a nomination to contest the position she has held for three years, read from a pre-prepared speech. She told delegates that 'if you do not know your place or toe the 'party' line there is simply no place for you' in the County Board.
The Ballintubber clubwoman clashed with Secretary Seán Feeney and Chairman James Waldron at the last County Board meeting over the ending of her access to the county teams' dressing-room. But her criticism at last night's meeting in the McWilliam Park Hotel, Claremorris was even more scathing.
She said she was 'most surprised' when reading the Secretary report to Convention in local papers last week. "He may 'cringe' when reading interviews with our county players and criticise their lack of team work, but An Runaí, have you never heard that those in glass houses should not throw stones?" she asked.
"It has never been my intention nor I have knowingly embarrassed any of our county players by my presence [in the dressing room]," she added. "It is very regrettable that our Cathaoirleach has chosen to use our players to achieve his aims."
She said she been 'constructively prevented' from performing the duties of her position, had been 'repeatedly undermined', 'granted authorisation for expenditure at a meeting [only] to have that countermanded in private', 'refused a budget' for her position, and been 'isolated and singled out for special treatment by a select few'. She criticised the 'inaction' of people who 'were aware of this juvenile behaviour, yet did nothing or took some perverse pleasure from it'.
She urged clubs to 'retake control of our County Board' and asked if clubs were 'honestly happy' with the manner in which it was run. She said the Board was guilty of a 'lack of transparency' and that 'decisions are made by a few for the majority'.
Claremorris GAA Club Chairman Kieran Finn supported Ms Horan and said the County Board 'can't afford to lose people of her calibre'. He was applauded by many delegates but Seán Feeney told the meeting: "There are a lot of things I could say too, but I'll withhold my fire. There are two sides to every story."
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on December 02, 2008, 11:50:15 PM
The full text was printed in the Mayo News but its not online. It makes for some reading. I was at the meeting myself, interesting to say the least. Poorly handled by the county board, and fair play to Noelle, she didn't spare them. She's not without sin either but she was poorly treated. As someone from the floor noted, it looks very bad at a time when the county board is fundraising for McHale Park . . .
Post by: Barney on December 03, 2008, 08:39:57 AM
Good to see somebody having the guts to stand up to this farcical County Board. Politics rather than football has taken precedence these past 3 years in Mayo, and the same faces are there far too long with stale, out-dated ideas. Too many good people have been victims of their cosy cartel.
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on December 03, 2008, 01:44:47 PM
Well said Barney, self preservation is still alive and well in our county board and there is no sign of anyone having the guts to take them on.
Post by: magpie seanie on December 04, 2008, 12:24:13 PM
Its the same in every county. I know for the sake of smooth running of things that County Board executives need a fair bit of autonomy but I think it gets stretched a bit too far at times.
Post by: Bacon on December 04, 2008, 09:02:47 PM
Who is this woman and what exactly has she got to offer? She appears to be a bit of a mal-content.