GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: ziggysego on April 06, 2008, 01:45:13 PM

Title: Tir Eoghain -v- Maigh Eo - Sunday 13th April
Post by: ziggysego on April 06, 2008, 01:45:13 PM
Well it's about time it was started.

Can Tyrone hold onto Division 1 status or will Mayo continue to get one over on Tyrone?
Title: Re: Tir Eoghain -v- Maigh Eo - Sunday 13th April
Post by: Zapatista on April 06, 2008, 03:20:14 PM
Ah Ziggy give us time to lick our wounds.
Post by: orangeman on April 06, 2008, 11:33:39 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 06, 2008, 11:24:20 PM
Bump!
For Orangeman.

:D :D No prob Ziggy - he's doing a great service for us in the Tyrone thread - so I'll discontinue mine bit include it's content shortly in another post !
Post by: orangeman on April 06, 2008, 11:34:37 PM
What's the score with this match ? Will MH throw caution to the wind ? Will he try a new forward line ? Will Brian Mc Guigan get more game time ?

And might Mc Caul get a game ?  ;)
Post by: ziggysego on April 06, 2008, 11:35:27 PM
It'll be a draw. Mark my words.
Post by: orangeman on April 06, 2008, 11:42:27 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 06, 2008, 11:35:27 PM
It'll be a draw. Mark my words.

How do you come up with that ?
Post by: Barney on April 07, 2008, 08:12:46 AM
A draw will suit us both. Once nobody is thrashed Kildare should be relegated.

Surely Tyrone are due to get one over us?
Post by: Zapatista on April 07, 2008, 08:34:34 AM
Quote from: Barney on April 07, 2008, 08:12:46 AM

If it worked on averages there would be no point to it. I think we can pull it together for the Mayo game.
Post by: orangeman on April 07, 2008, 12:07:54 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on April 07, 2008, 08:34:34 AM
Quote from: Barney on April 07, 2008, 08:12:46 AM

If it worked on averages there would be no point to it. I think we can pull it together for the Mayo game.

I wouldn't be confident !  :(
Post by: ildanach on April 07, 2008, 12:25:46 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 06, 2008, 01:45:13 PM
Well it's about time it was started.

Can Tyrone hold onto Division 1 status or will Mayo continue to get one over on Tyrone?

i would be very surprised if kildare don't go down, i acutally have a feeling laois will beat them. Don't forget a bad result of us could see us going down instead. So as barney has already eluded to a draw would be good for both of us.
Post by: mannix on April 07, 2008, 12:44:57 PM
If tyrone are hoping for Mayo to be easy they better not, what they will find is that this Mayo side will run all day and do not give up.
Mortimer for a goal or two?
Post by: orangeman on April 07, 2008, 12:50:16 PM
Quote from: mannix on April 07, 2008, 12:44:57 PM
If tyrone are hoping for Mayo to be easy they better not, what they will find is that this Mayo side will run all day and do not give up.
Mortimer for a goal or two?

Tyrone and more especially their supporters have had a reality check this year and won't be underestimating Mayo  - sure didn't Mayo nearly beat Galway yesterday ?
Post by: To whom it may concern on April 07, 2008, 12:59:47 PM
I take it Devine will be in goals, owing to this now ridiculous rotation scheme...as this is our last game before the championship, can we at least see some resemblence towards a championship team...

Devine
McCaul
McMahon
Carlin
McMenamin
Gormley
Jordan
Holmes
Cavanagh
Enda
Tommy
Mulgrew
Penrose
Colm Cavanagh
McCullagh

surely the swift experiment will have to end.....didn't get to game sat night, why mcgee subbed?? roasted? perhaps he may give gourley a game, one of our most versatile players...

what the story with hub??
Post by: phpearse on April 07, 2008, 01:04:58 PM
Third from bottom is where this Tyrone team deserves to be in this league. Tyrone were in the same position last year with Mayo coming to Healy Park with little to play for. Tyrone were fighting against relegation. Mayo won handy, with other results saving our bacon. Tyrone would be mid table in div 2 this year and would most likely not have secured promotion had they went down last year. Would expect Mayo to just about sneak a win on Sunday. Looking forward to next year Div 1 will truely be the best 8 teams in the country, with the additional of Monaghan and Dublin into the division.  Survival in that division would be very tough.
Post by: Gnevin on April 07, 2008, 01:10:03 PM
Quote from: phpearse on April 07, 2008, 01:04:58 PM
Third from bottom is where this Tyrone team deserves to be in this league. Tyrone were in the same position last year with Mayo coming to Healy Park with little to play for. Tyrone were fighting against relegation. Mayo won handy, with other results saving our bacon. Tyrone would be mid table in div 2 this year and would most likely not have secured promotion had they went down last year. Would expect Mayo to just about sneak a win on Sunday. Looking forward to next year Div 1 will truely be the best 8 teams in the country, with the additional of Monaghan and Dublin into the division.  Survival in that division would be very tough.
Think it's going to take other season for the Divisions to sort them self out .Epically the lower divisions, I see Tyrone dropping next year unless major improvement happen Mayo/Monaghan will struggle .Cork should be up
Post by: orangeman on April 07, 2008, 01:21:11 PM
Quote from: phpearse on April 07, 2008, 01:04:58 PM
Third from bottom is where this Tyrone team deserves to be in this league. Tyrone were in the same position last year with Mayo coming to Healy Park with little to play for. Tyrone were fighting against relegation. Mayo won handy, with other results saving our bacon. Tyrone would be mid table in div 2 this year and would most likely not have secured promotion had they went down last year. Would expect Mayo to just about sneak a win on Sunday. Looking forward to next year Div 1 will truely be the best 8 teams in the country, with the additional of Monaghan and Dublin into the division.  Survival in that division would be very tough.

Oh shit - I hope we go down - cos if Dublin come up, we'll get the shit kicked out of us again - I just hope the match is in Omagh - do you think by that time, it will be acceptable to have the PSNI riot squad on duty to protect us ?? Apparently Pillar is intent on adding to his backroom team this winter - he's bringing in a few more stats men !!  ;) ;D ;D
Post by: ildanach on April 07, 2008, 02:50:23 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on April 07, 2008, 01:10:03 PM
[Think it's going to take other season for the Divisions to sort them self out .Epically the lower divisions, I see Tyrone dropping next year unless major improvement happen Mayo/Monaghan will struggle .Cork should be up
Considering we are in a rebuilding period and have been in the top division for 9 years (i am open to correction) and the unlucky results of 1pt defeat to galway & donegal, hitting the crossbar twice v derry before losing by a goal. i wont be overly worried about our division 1 status next year ;). (its this year i would worry about with a run of bad luck like we've had- and please nobody come on a say u make your own luck :()
Post by: Zapatista on April 07, 2008, 05:39:08 PM
Rebuilding is a nice way of saying - we're crap right now - Roscommon have been rebuilding since the 40s :D
Post by: ildanach on April 07, 2008, 05:51:17 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on April 07, 2008, 05:39:08 PM
Rebuilding is a nice way of saying - we're crap right now - Roscommon have been rebuilding since the 40s :D
they never hold onto the foreman long enough to finish the job :P
Post by: mayoman dan on April 07, 2008, 05:54:53 PM
Whats the story with Aiden Higgins? Is he still on the panel? I would like to see him tried in the corner against Tyrone with Conroy at fb and maybe Heaney in the other corner.We really need to sort out our fb line and soon were leaking far to many goals.
Post by: Muzz on April 07, 2008, 05:55:02 PM
Quote from: To whom it may concern on April 07, 2008, 12:59:47 PM

surely the swift experiment will have to end.....didn't get to game sat night, why mcgee subbed?? roasted? perhaps he may give gourley a game, one of our most versatile players...

what the story with hub??

Mickey's policy of substituting yellow carded players was the reason for both being substituted.  I take it since you didnt get to the game, to comment on the players is unwarranted.  Swift played well on Sat night.

McGee did well for not having played much all season.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on April 07, 2008, 06:33:07 PM
I'm not sure were the criticism of Swift has come out of on here. With the exception of the Donegal McKenna Cup game he has looked like a good prospect all year. Might take a year for him to be ready to start in the championship but who knows.
Post by: Barney on April 07, 2008, 06:40:27 PM
I've borrowed these details from www.mayogaablog.com (so thanks to the author for doing the research). Anyhow here are recent results between the teams:

Tyrone 1-11 Mayo 4-7 (Omagh, 8/4/2007). MAYO: D Clarke; A Higgins, L O'Malley, K Higgins; G Mullins, BJ Padden, E Devenney; P Harte, J Nallen; A Moran (0-1), G Brady (0-3), A Kilcoyne; C Mortimor (3-1, one pen), A Dillon (0-2, two frees), M Conroy. Subs: J Kilcullen for Kilcoyne, T Howley (1-0) for Devenney, P Gardiner for Mullins.

Mayo 1-8 Tyrone 0-11 (McHale Park, 9/4/2006). MAYO: J Healy; D Heaney, L O'Malley, K Higgins; T Howley, J Nallen, P Gardiner (1-0); J Gill, R McGarrity; BJ Padden, A Dillon (0-1, free), G Brady (0-1); A O'Malley (0-3), K O'Neill (0-2, one free), A Moran. Subs: D Brady (0-1) for Gill (49 mins), T Mortimer for O'Neill (60 mins).

Tyrone 1-11 Mayo 0-16 (Omagh, 20/3/2005). MAYO: D Clarke; L O'Malley, D Heaney, K Higgins; G Mullins, J Nallen (0-1), P Gardiner (0-2); J Gill, B J Padden (0-1); A Moran, A Dillon (0-2, one free), A Kilcoyne (0-1); C Mortimer (0-5, four frees), T Mortimer (0-3), J Prenty. Subs: P Kelly for Gill, inj (six mins), C Moran (0-1) for Mullins, yellow card (nine mins), M Conroy for Prenty (half-time), D Geraghty for Moran (48 mins), C Costello for Kilcoyne, yellow card (53 mins).

NFL

Mayo 1-5 Tyrone 2-11 (McHale Park, 14/3/2004). MAYO: D Clarke; D Geraghty, P Kelly, G Ruane; F Costello, G Mullins, C Moran; F Kelly, R McGarrity (0-1); M Moyles (0-1), BJ Padden, T Mortimer; M McNicholas, A O'Malley (0-3, two frees), D Munnelly (1-0). Subs: D Heaney for F Kelly (35 mins); A Costello for McNicholas (54 mins); B Ruane for Moran (61 mins); D Sweeney for Mullins (65 mins).

Championship

Quarter-Final: Mayo 0-16 Tyrone 1-9 (Croke Park, 8/8/2004). MAYO : P Burke; C Moran, D Heaney, G Ruane; P Gardiner, J Nallen, F Costello; R McGarrity (0-1), D Brady (0-3); J Gill, C McDonald (0-1, free), A Dillon (0-6, four frees); C Mortimer (0-3, one free), T Mortimer (0-2), B Maloney. Subs: P Kelly for Costello (36 mins), A Moran for C Mortimer (61 mins), D Sweeney for Heaney (64 mins), A O'Malley for Maloney (70 mins).

Semi-Final: Tyrone 3-12 Mayo 0-11 (Enniskillen, 14/4/2002). MAYO: P Burke; P Coyne, D Heaney, G Ruane; A Higgins, J Nallen, N Connelly; D Brady, S Fitzmaurice; J Gill (0-1), T Mortimer, S Carolan (0-1); C Mortimer (0-6, three frees), J Horan, M McNicholas (0-1). Subs: A Roche for Connelly (44 mins), D Tiernan (0-2) for Brady (48 mins), M Moyles for Gill (48 mins), D Nestor for T Mortimer (52 mins), C McManamon for Horan (65 mins).

Post by: Barney on April 07, 2008, 06:43:32 PM
Interesting to see there should be 9 changes to the Mayo team lining out on Sunday (from last year of course)
Post by: moysider on April 07, 2008, 08:25:58 PM
Yeah. Massive changes in mayo teams from one year to the next does nt seem to happen to such an extent in other counties?

QUOTE FROM GNEVIN     'I see Tyrone dropping next year unless major improvement happen Mayo/Monaghan will struggle .Cork should be up'

Who exactly needs the major improvement, Tyrone or Mayo/Monaghan?  I m interested why you feel Mayo might struggle? Have no real concerns about next year myself. Is there a train I dont see coming?
Post by: orangeman on April 09, 2008, 11:06:59 AM
Is James Nallen still playing for Mayo ? What age is he ? He's been a great servant to Mayo.
Post by: Lar Naparka on April 09, 2008, 11:45:30 AM
I don’t see James Nallen featuring come the championships.
The possibility of Ciaran McDonald being around is fairly slim also. O’Mahony stated that he’d give the “veterans” plenty of time to make up their minds but would be closing the panel at the end of the present league. He said he’d be giving the pair, along with Ger Brady, a chance to come along and play in a trial game before then but I haven’t heard that any of them has taken up the invitation.
Post by: the Deel Rover on April 09, 2008, 11:59:30 AM
Quote from: orangeman on April 09, 2008, 11:06:59 AM
Is James Nallen still playing for Mayo ? What age is he ? He's been a great servant to Mayo.

He is 34
Post by: Terry Tate on April 09, 2008, 01:12:37 PM
QuoteHe said he'd be giving the pair, along with Ger Brady, a chance to come along and play in a trial game

Is that a joke? I would have thought two former all-stars would'nt have to play in trial games at this stage. Both are still flying for there club. Sounds like o'mahony doesnt want them.

Post by: the Deel Rover on April 09, 2008, 01:22:31 PM
Quote from: Terry Tate on April 09, 2008, 01:12:37 PM
QuoteHe said he'd be giving the pair, along with Ger Brady, a chance to come along and play in a trial game

Is that a joke? I would have thought two former all-stars would'nt have to play in trial games at this stage. Both are still flying for there club. Sounds like o'mahony doesnt want them.

my thoughts exactly, however he can now say that they were asked to go for trials and they didn't bother he doesn't have to say publicily that they are not in his plans
Post by: dodo on April 09, 2008, 02:05:11 PM
Thought Nallen togged for one of these trial matches. I think it would be a mistake for him to go back, at best a bench warmer at this stage. A massive contribution made to Mayo football. His legs are well gone for county football at this stage.
McDonald has plenty to contribute still IMO. Pity he hasn't been around for league again as difficult to know how best to utilise him at this stage.
Ger Brady will make a good Garda !
Post by: mannix on April 09, 2008, 02:21:04 PM
Dodo, I must agree. Macdonald is still a county man and should be utilised at some stage.Its not like we are dripping with scoring forwards like he would be if kept well forward or a playmaker to keep the other counties guessing if he was on the bench.
Nallen is probably gone for good, shame but time catches everyone out someday.
I think we will regret having let him go because we will go out in a close game this year.
Post by: Maradona on April 09, 2008, 03:48:37 PM
Lets face it lads, Nallens time has passed, he struggled badly 2 years ago, never mind now. Could have a place in the dressing room though as there was no better servant. Its a young mans game and we need to be making sure the young lads are brought through correctly and not be pining for the older lads (some whos career memories seem to get enhanced as time goes by!!!). McDonald can possibly play some role, but it would have to be a specific one and close to goal. Pity he hasnt been involved up to now, as always we are left guessing.

Watching Arsenal v Liverpool last night and the analysis afterwards on Net2 reminded me a bit of Mayo (al la Arsenal) in that when we play the like of kerry and even Galway, it often appears that we are lads playing 'men'. Thats what Souness was saying the difference was
Post by: the Deel Rover on April 09, 2008, 03:59:56 PM
Quote from: Maradona on April 09, 2008, 03:48:37 PM
Lets face it lads, Nallens time has passed, he struggled badly 2 years ago, never mind now. Could have a place in the dressing room though as there was no better servant. Its a young mans game and we need to be making sure the young lads are brought through correctly and not be pining for the older lads (some whos career memories seem to get enhanced as time goes by!!!). McDonald can possibly play some role, but it would have to be a specific one and close to goal. Pity he hasnt been involved up to now, as always we are left guessing.
Watching Arsenal v Liverpool last night and the analysis afterwards on Net2 reminded me a bit of Mayo (al la Arsenal) in that when we play the like of kerry and even Galway, it often appears that we are lads playing 'men'. Thats what Souness was saying the difference was

I assume your saying Mc Donald has left you guessing well big deal, these lads as we know aren't professionals  aren't getting paid so they owe nobody an explanation as to whether they are playing or not for mayo.
Post by: feetofflames on April 09, 2008, 04:02:38 PM
Mayo need one thing - the most ignorant hoor north of Galway, South of Sligo, West of America and East of Roscommon to train them.  We all know Mayo have shown that they can have a decenty team and not win an ai.  They would do better to have an average team who would do anything to win an Aireland, and I mean pure dirt. They need a Loughnane style caharacter instead of a gentleman managing them.  turn them into svages, because on football alone Galway is home and hosed in Connaght - who is gonna stop them and how.  Nallen was too nice, too many too nice.  
Post by: orangeman on April 09, 2008, 04:02:47 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on April 09, 2008, 03:59:56 PM

I assume your saying Mc Donald has left you guessing well big deal, these lads as we know aren't professionals  aren't getting paid so they owe nobody an explanation as to whether they are playing or not for mayo.

Stop the bus ! They'll be getting paid shortly !
Post by: orangeman on April 09, 2008, 04:04:22 PM
Quote from: feetofflames on April 09, 2008, 04:02:38 PM
Mayo need one thing - the most ignorant hoor north of Galway, South of Sligo, West of America and East of Roscommon to train them.  We all know Mayo have shown that they can have a decenty team and not win an ai.  They would do better to have an average team who would do anything to win an Aireland, and I mean pure dirt. They need a Loughnane style caharacter instead of a gentleman managing them.  turn them into svages, because on football alone Galway is home and hosed in Connaght - who is gonna stop them and how.  Nallen was too nice, too many too nice.  

Jesus Feet, you're on a real roll the day !  ;) ;D ;D ;D I tend to agree with you all the same - but then again, Mayo have had some good managers and unfortunately came up with a superb Kerry team who blew them away on 3 different occasions !
Post by: the Deel Rover on April 09, 2008, 04:08:47 PM
Quote from: feetofflames on April 09, 2008, 04:02:38 PM

give us names fof
Post by: ildanach on April 09, 2008, 04:13:10 PM
Quote from: mannix on April 09, 2008, 02:21:04 PM
Dodo, I must agree. Macdonald is still a county man and should be utilised at some stage.Its not like we are dripping with scoring forwards like he would be if kept well forward or a playmaker to keep the other counties guessing if he was on the bench.
I think we will regret having let him go because we will go out in a close game this year.
McD definately has something to offer. but only in the full forward line. He had little or no football last year and so is fresh. If he stays injury free he will give us a great option in there.
James Nallen has been a great servent to mayo, unfotunately time has caught up on him and and the legs can not carry him at intercounty level for 70mins. He should leave it now before many years of good work are forgotten by a fickle crowd who would only remember people by there last game.
Post by: the Deel Rover on April 09, 2008, 04:17:09 PM
Quote from: ildanach on April 09, 2008, 04:13:10 PM
Quote from: mannix on April 09, 2008, 02:21:04 PM
McD definately has something to offer. but only in the full forward line. He had little or no football last year and so is fresh. If he stays injury free he will give us a great option in there.
James Nallen has been a great servent to mayo, unfotunately time has caught up on him and and the legs can not carry him at intercounty level for 70mins. He should leave it now before many years of good work are forgotten by a fickle crowd who would only remember people by there last game.

your right there Ildanach jimmy should walk away as i hope does Mc D, as you said otherwise their years of good work could be forgotten and in fairness there is no more fickle supporter than the mayo supporter
Post by: ildanach on April 09, 2008, 04:37:02 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on April 09, 2008, 04:17:09 PM
your right there Ildanach jimmy should walk away as i hope does Mc D, as you said otherwise their years of good work could be forgotten and in fairness there is no more fickle supporter than the mayo supporter

thats for sure. However McD still has something to offer. A back needs speed more so than a forward and McD never needed pace. His passing and presence will stand us well for one more season. If he was in at full forward - or even introduced he will cause problems
Post by: the Deel Rover on April 09, 2008, 04:44:35 PM
Quote from: ildanach on April 09, 2008, 04:37:02 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on April 09, 2008, 04:17:09 PM

thats for sure. However McD still has something to offer. A back needs speed more so than a forward and McD never needed pace. His passing and presence will stand us well for one more season. If he was in at full forward - or even introduced he will cause problems

trouble is Mc d was never and never will be a full forward i know that when he started his mayo career he was a corner forward but all through his career with cross he played centre half forward and having watched the man play for over 25 years thats the only place to play him he needs to be getting his hand on the ball getting a feel for the game and he can't do that in the full forward line. i don't think o'mahony wants to or would play him there and maybe he doesn't have the legs for there anymore so for that reason i'd like to see him bow out as i wouldn't like to see him end his playing career been frustrated in the full forward line.
Post by: moysider on April 09, 2008, 05:19:51 PM
Have to agree with Deel Rover obout McDanger. I first saw him play as young lad [early teens] and he always seemed happier at chf than in the corner. Down the years you would hear people saw he should be played in close to goals and he was slowing things up out the field. Whatever about the merits of those arguments the man himself obviously did not like or feel comfortable in that role. Whether or not he could have made a decent fist of it in time we ll never know. Myself I would embrace the return of both himself and Nallen with no strings attached. I too was amazed that management mentioned trial games. An insult really - a bit like that time Mick McCarty asked Denis Irwin to prove himself. Silly stuff. Should have been left to the lads themselves to decide whether they had anything to offer or not. Its not like they re time wasters. Nallen would still be good to have around to steady things in a tight game. 34 is not too old for someone that was way faster and more athletic than the average footballler to begin with. Add in the fact that he has never been overweight and training would have been easy for him, he s been lucky with injuries and he would nt be a drinker. Ok so Declan O Sullivan ran by him 2 years ago but he has run by many younger men since too. Not having a go at Howley - who is undoubtably the future and present - but would PJ have got his hands on any more ball the last day if Nallen was marking him?
Post by: ildanach on April 09, 2008, 07:17:02 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on April 09, 2008, 04:44:35 PM
trouble is Mc d was never and never will be a full forward i know that when he started his mayo career he was a corner forward but all through his career with cross he played centre half forward and having watched the man play for over 25 years thats the only place to play him he needs to be getting his hand on the ball getting a feel for the game and he can't do that in the full forward line. i don't think o'mahony wants to or would play him there and maybe he doesn't have the legs for there anymore so for that reason i'd like to see him bow out as i wouldn't like to see him end his playing career been frustrated in the full forward line.

the role i would like to see mcd play is not as an orthadox full forward- more so as someone who will drift between the full forward line & the 50. He can then use his  array of passes to play the ball into the space inside.  or indeed drive on with the ball and take his own score.
Post by: dodo on April 10, 2008, 02:17:42 AM

I assume your saying Mc Donald has left you guessing well big deal, these lads as we know aren't professionals  aren't getting paid so they owe nobody an explanation as to whether they are playing or not for mayo.

We all know that they are not professionals, but they do owe it to us to let us know whether they are going to play or not. Ever hear the saying that nobody is greater than the team ? I really don't get this horseshit that some come out with protecting their demi Gods. Of course McDonald has played his heart out for Mayo but we need to be as prepared as possible and not have lads ambling back at the end of the league.
Post by: stephenite on April 10, 2008, 02:56:29 AM
MacDonald should play for Mayo this year, he is probably still the best player in the County but I'm also a bit bemused about this notion that players of his stature shouldn't have to play trial games, he was an All Star back in 2004 FFS, how is anyone supposed to know if he is ready for the challenge of Inter county football in 2008? It would be a huge mistake for any manager to play someone on reputation alone at this level - a player is only as good as his last game at this level, in that respect of course MacDonlad needs to prove himself again.

I'd be disgusted if John O'Mahony gave a jersey to any player on a Sunday that just rocked up to training that week. Why should the likes of Ciaran MacDonald be given preferential treatment over lads that have been slogging their guts out all winter - I know he has been training with Na Fianna (and apparently flying) but there is a world of difference between training with a Dublin club side and playing and training with inter county footballers.

If Mac wants to play he needs to let O'Mahony know that he wants to play, and if JOM wants him to play trial games then he plays trial games and gets selected on that basis.
Post by: Zapatista on April 10, 2008, 07:35:41 AM
Quote from: stephenite on April 10, 2008, 02:56:29 AM

I'd be disgusted if John O'Mahony gave a jersey to any player on a Sunday that just rocked up to training that week. Why should the likes of Ciaran MacDonald be given preferential treatment over lads that have been slogging their guts out all winter

It would be a horrible thing to do alright but it boils down to winning. If McDonald can make them a  better team then he might be included without the Winter slogging. However, it would be upto O'Mahony to make the call on is it worth it and how would it affect the rest of the team. It could either make or break a team.
Post by: stephenite on April 10, 2008, 07:47:18 AM
Quote from: Zapatista on April 10, 2008, 07:35:41 AM

I'd be disgusted if John O'Mahony gave a jersey to any player on a Sunday that just rocked up to training that week. Why should the likes of Ciaran MacDonald be given preferential treatment over lads that have been slogging their guts out all winter

It would be a horrible thing to do alright but it boils down to winning. If McDonald can make them a  better team then he might be included without the Winter slogging. However, it would be upto O'Mahony to make the call on is it worth it and how would it affect the rest of the team. It could either make or break a team.

100% it's the managers call, and I'd agree that we need Ciaran this year - but I was just making the point because some have mentioned that because of who he is and what he has acheived then he shouldn't need to participate in any trial games or the like - I think that's a crazy notion as the manager and selectors haven't seen him play this year, don't know what sort of form he is in etc and people expect him to walk onto the team. I'm sure that he is in good physical shape and after a couple of sessions with Mayo he'd be the first name on the team sheet, but he has problems with his back over the last few years so management need to know if he can last 70 minutes, might he be better as an impact sub if he cannot last 70 minutes. These are all the sort of questions that need to be answered - and the answers can be provided in a couple of robust training/trial matches. O'Mahony would be crazy to throw him without seeing answers to questions like I posed above.
Post by: the Deel Rover on April 10, 2008, 09:42:35 AM
Quote from: dodo on April 10, 2008, 02:17:42 AM

We all know that they are not professionals, but they do owe it to us to let us know whether they are going to play or not. Ever hear the saying that nobody is greater than the team ? I really don't get this horseshit that some come out with protecting their demi Gods. Of course McDonald has played his heart out for Mayo but we need to be as prepared as possible and not have lads ambling back at the end of the league.

This is the part i don't get why do the players owe us anything , Ciaran Mc has been playing with the county since he was 16 years of age he is now 33 and he has clocked up an amazing amount of games with both club and county he owes no one anything and if he wants to stop playing football thats his decision dodo why should he have to answer to me you or anyone else for that matter. At he end of the day football doesn't pay the mortgage and work comes first and as i said before i hope his doesn't play for the county again because if anything goes wrong he will as usual be the 1st to be blamed.
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on April 10, 2008, 10:01:11 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on April 10, 2008, 09:42:35 AM

This is the part i don't get why do the players owe us anything , Ciaran Mc has been playing with the county since he was 16 years of age he is now 33 and he has clocked up an amazing amount of games with both club and county he owes no one anything and if he wants to stop playing football thats his decision dodo why should he have to answer to me you or anyone else for that matter. At he end of the day football doesn't play the mortgage and work comes first and ia a said before i hope his doesn't play for the county again because if anything goes wrong he will as usual be the 1st to be blamed.

Fair enough, I agree he doesn't owe us anything, he has given so much to Mayo football in the past and if he is walking away then he has every right to do so. The problem is he hasn't said one way or the other, do you not think Johhno and co need to know by now? DB has retired, O'Neill is gone, the difference is they have announced one way or the other what they are doing. Ciaran has been the king of making people wait and a part of him seems to love the 'will he/won't he' drama. The fact that he has been invited back for a trial game has been exaggerated aswell, his actual ability is not on trial, his ability to play at this level in 2008 is. I hope he is in fine fettle and I hope he plays again this year, as we need someone with his class but the later he leaves it to come back the more annoyed members of the panel are going to be. If he's well and able and wants to do it then he needs to let someone know very soon, if not we can just move on and plan for the future without him. If he has had enough then he should say he is retiring, no one will think any less of him as he has been a great servant and will forever be remembered as one of the most gifted footballers our county has ever produced.
Post by: orangeman on April 10, 2008, 10:04:50 AM
Quote from: OirthearMhaigheo on April 10, 2008, 10:01:11 AM

This is the part i don't get why do the players owe us anything , Ciaran Mc has been playing with the county since he was 16 years of age he is now 33 and he has clocked up an amazing amount of games with both club and county he owes no one anything and if he wants to stop playing football thats his decision dodo why should he have to answer to me you or anyone else for that matter. At he end of the day football doesn't play the mortgage and work comes first and ia a said before i hope his doesn't play for the county again because if anything goes wrong he will as usual be the 1st to be blamed.

Fair enough, I agree he doesn't owe us anything, he has given so much to Mayo football in the past and if he is walking away then he has every right to do so. The problem is he hasn't said one way or the other, do you not think Johhno and co need to know by now? DB has retired, O'Neill is gone, the difference is they have announced one way or the other what they are doing. Ciaran has been the king of making people wait and a part of him seems to love the 'will he/won't he' drama. The fact that he has been invited back for a trial game has been exaggerated aswell, his actual ability is not on trial, his ability to play at this level in 2008 is. I hope he is in fine fettle and I hope he plays again this year, as we need someone with his class but the later he leaves it to come back the more annoyed members of the panel are going to be. If he's well and able and wants to do it then he needs to let someone know very soon, if not we can just move on and plan for the future without him. If he has had enough then he should say he is retiring, no one will think any less of him as he has been a great servant and will forever be remembered as one of the most gifted footballers our county has ever produced.

Not yet !  ;)
Post by: the Deel Rover on April 10, 2008, 10:07:50 AM
MacDonald should play for Mayo this year, he is probably still the best player in the County but I'm also a bit bemused about this notion that players of his stature shouldn't have to play trial games, he was an All Star back in 2004 FFS, how is anyone supposed to know if he is ready for the challenge of Inter county football in 2008? It would be a huge mistake for any manager to play someone on reputation alone at this level - a player is only as good as his last game at this level, in that respect of course MacDonlad needs to prove himself again.

I'd be disgusted if John O'Mahony gave a jersey to any player on a Sunday that just rocked up to training that week. Why should the likes of Ciaran MacDonald be given preferential treatment over lads that have been slogging their guts out all winter - I know he has been training with Na Fianna (and apparently flying) but there is a world of difference between training with a Dublin club side and playing and training with inter county footballers.

If Mac wants to play he needs to let O'Mahony know that he wants to play, and if JOM wants him to play trial games then he plays trial games and gets selected on that basis.

Ok stepenite maybe its the way o'mahony phrased it, come on a trial game is where you are looking at finding new talent and if he doesn't know anything about Jimmy Or Ciaran Mc at this stage then he should stick to politics . Why doesn't he say we will bring them in training and have a look at their fitness and see whether he thinks Mc can still do a job for mayo, can you imagine if Darragh o' shea was asked to attend a trial game. Also Ciaran Mc hasn't asked for preferential treatment and has done plenty of slogging over past winters. i haven't at any stage said that Mc Donald should be back in fact i have said that i hope he doesn't as it will also help Cross's cause this year and he is in fact club captain and it would be great to have him and jimmy playing all the matches with the young lads.
Post by: the Deel Rover on April 10, 2008, 10:23:11 AM

i know Mc fairly well OM and to tell you the truth when Mc retires from intercounty football there won't be an announcement he will just walk away and play for the club. Also i'm interested in you saying that part of him seems to love the will he/ wont he play drama to tell you the truth Ciaran couldn't give two fcuks he allways loved his football but he is a realist he didn't rely on the county board to get him a cushy job and he has to work damn hard so the most important thing to him is work and if that means football comes second so be it.
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on April 10, 2008, 10:40:58 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on April 10, 2008, 10:23:11 AM

i know Mc fairly well OM and to tell you the truth when Mc retires from intercounty football there won't be an announcement he will just walk away and play for the club. Also i'm interested in you saying that part of him seems to love the will he/ wont he play drama to tell you the truth Ciaran couldn't give two fcuks he allways loved his football but he is a realist he didn't rely on the county board to get him a cushy job and he has to work damn hard so the most important thing to him is work and if that means football comes second so be it.

You know the lad better so I can't argue with that, it's just the way it seems sometimes. I know he doesn'tlike the limelight and is a shy down to earth fella but I always get the impression he likes people guessing his next move, but that is just my perception of him without knowing anything about him really. As I said I have great time for him as a player and don't mean in any way to make him out to be a prima donna, one look at how hard he works in his 'day job' is proof enough of that!
Post by: ziggysego on April 10, 2008, 12:36:10 PM
Is the game on Setanta? Anywhere in Putney showing the game if it is?

EDIT: Wait, Sunday's TG4 day. Well is TG4 anywhere in Putney?
Post by: dodo on April 10, 2008, 02:00:02 PM

This is the part i don't get why do the players owe us anything , Ciaran Mc has been playing with the county since he was 16 years of age he is now 33 and he has clocked up an amazing amount of games with both club and county he owes no one anything and if he wants to stop playing football thats his decision dodo why should he have to answer to me you or anyone else for that matter. At he end of the day football doesn't pay the mortgage and work comes first and as i said before i hope his doesn't play for the county again because if anything goes wrong he will as usual be the 1st to be blamed.

I'm not talking about mortgages, work or the great service he has shown to us in Mayo over the years. All our players deserve great credit and respect for what they put in. The bit I don't get in your posts is this  
Quotehe owes no one anything and if he wants to stop playing football thats his decision dodo why should he have to answer to me you or anyone else for that matter
. For Mayo to play to their potential O'Mahony and his backroom team need to know what their options are and organise accordingly. If he can get/has got a straight answer from McDonald then great, but it seems to be a guessing game and this will be of no benefit to anyone. To say that he is not answerable to anyone is balls, all he has to say is he is available or not, if he refuses to give an answer then that's the same as not available and we all move on.
None of us want the situation like in the qualifier in Celtic Park last year when he was brought on with 10 minutes remaining with the game over as a contest.
Post by: mannix on April 10, 2008, 02:08:32 PM
Deel rover,
would you think ciaran mac will not or will be back in the green and red this year?
Post by: the Deel Rover on April 10, 2008, 02:43:14 PM

[We all know that they are not professionals, but they do owe it to us to let us know whether they are going to play or not. Ever hear the saying that nobody is greater than the team ? I really don't get this horseshit that some come out with protecting their demi Gods. Of course McDonald has played his heart out for Mayo but we need to be as prepared as possible and not have lads ambling back at the end of the league.

my point dodo is that he does not owe you an explanation as to whether he is retiring or not. What ever happens between o' mahony and himself is their own business. O' Mahony knows what the story is 2 weeks ago he said in the mayo news the Ciaran mc , Jimmy and Ger Brady were going to be invited for trials and that he was closing of the panel within the next few weeks and that it would be a closed panel so one can assume that if he didn't attend then he is not and will not be in the panel therfore o' mahony can plan without him.I don't get your point re the qualafiers last year ???

Post by: dodo on April 10, 2008, 03:22:45 PM
he owes no one anything and if he wants to stop playing football thats his decision dodo why should he have to answer to me you or anyone else for that matter.

Quote from: the Deel Rover on April 10, 2008, 02:43:14 PM
my point dodo is that he does not owe you an explanation as to whether he is retiring or not. What ever happens between o' mahony and himself is their own business. O' Mahony knows what the story is 2 weeks ago he said in the mayo news the Ciaran mc , Jimmy and Ger Brady were going to be invited for trials and that he was closing of the panel within the next few weeks and that it would be a closed panel so one can assume that if he didn't attend then he is not and will not be in the panel therfore o' mahony can plan without him.I don't get your point re the qualafiers last year ???

Explaining his reasons to me or anyone else is not the issue. As long as the management know the story then preparation for the championship can proceed with all those players available.

My point regarding the Derry match last year was about the futility in bringing him on with 10 minutes to go in a match that was over at that stage. Hardly the way to exit the county stage if he doesn't play again.
Post by: the Deel Rover on April 10, 2008, 03:35:48 PM
it was johnnos decision to bring him on Dodo with 10 minutes left and i agree with you couldn't see the point of him bringing him on with 10 minutes left a very strange decision especially since he brought on about 4 other forwards that day . Ye not a great way to leave the game but cest la vie anyway he has had some great days in the green and red and to tell you the truth i have been lucky to see him play and train over the past 25 years and i'm hoping that he has one more year left in him for Cross ;)
Post by: Fuzzman on April 10, 2008, 04:10:17 PM
Jaysus ladz I leave ye for wan day and there's like 5 pages on K.McDonald

There's a match on Sunday that determines whether Tyrone get relegated or Not?

Are we gonna have another goal fest like last year or will this be a tight slog?

Will Mickey bite the bullet with Mulgrew and give McCaul a game?

Are they training twice a week again now?
Thought big sean looks to be in 2nd gear on Sat.
As a mate said to me there.
"There's no chance of them peaking too soon this year"
Maybe that's what Mickey is up to...
He's changed from winning every game they play ethos to lets wait til the summer and get by til then.

Post by: Farrandeelin on April 10, 2008, 04:20:00 PM
That's the way we do it Fuzzman, we tend to take over threads like this!! :D

PS, my own opinion on McDonald is that he is one of the greatest Mayo players ever. I don't know about bringing him back (to start) or not as he might slow the gameplan down. Mayo do have a very fast gameplan at the moment and if McDo came back he would probably want the ball to go through him. I do however think he should be part of the panel.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on April 10, 2008, 06:36:40 PM
Looks like we're going to have to give the Mayo one's a bit of abuse to get them to talk about the game on Sunday.

In relation to the game I don't see it as a must win for us as I think we should be safe anyway and would be interested firstly in the performance (a win would be nice though). Would like to see a number of changes which involves trying the existing players in different positions and giving the guys who haven't got many games a run out. It wouldnt be close to our strongest team but something like this would be interesting:
P McConnell
C Gormley
D McCaul
M McGee
R McMenamin
C Gourley
PJ Quinn
R Mellon (hasnt got many chances left - this is were he played his best football in a Tyrone shirt)
Justy McMahon
M Penrose
T McGuigan
S Cavanagh
C McCullagh
E McGinley
C Cavanagh

Realistically there'll only be limited changes from Sunday. Keeper will definately change and Id be shocked if he doesnt try something different in the full forward line. Id say he'll have to consider giving game time to Gourley,McCaul and C Cavanagh.
Post by: Fuzzman on April 10, 2008, 06:46:08 PM
What hair styles are Mayo forwards going for this season?

I believe dread locks are back
Post by: dodo on April 10, 2008, 08:06:09 PM
It's difficult to separate these 2 counties when it comes to hairstyles. Do you go for the Willie Joe look or the Plunkett Donaghy/Bonnie Tyler blowdry experience. Of more recent vintage would you rather the Blondie Mayo twins or maybe their Tír Eoghain cousin Owen Mulligan. For me the man for all seasons would still be number one, the folically challenged Peter Canavan.
Post by: ONeill on April 10, 2008, 08:09:17 PM
I was reading about some Mayo boyo who played for Tuam in the '46 Hogan final against Iggy Jones' Armagh side. What was his name - apparently one of Mayo's greatest ?
Post by: ONeill on April 10, 2008, 08:10:10 PM
1. Pascal McConnell   An Baile Nua
2. Ryan McMenamin   An Droim Mhór
3. Justin McMahon   An Omaigh
4. Michael McGee   Loch Mhic Ruairí
5. Davy Harte   Aireagal Chiaráin
6. Conor Gormley   An Charraig Mhór
7. Philip Jordan   An Mhaigh
8. Colin Holmes   Na Clairsigh
9. Sean Cavanagh   An Mhaigh
10. Raymond Mulgrew   An Chorra Chriochach
11. Brian McGuigan   Ard Bó
12. Enda McGinley   Aireagal Chiaráin
13. Colm McCullagh   An Droim Mhór
14. Colm Cavanagh   An Mhaigh
15. Tommy McGuigan   Ard Bó
Post by: ONeill on April 10, 2008, 08:11:03 PM
That's our A* side of who's available. Like it a lot.
Post by: dodo on April 10, 2008, 08:16:57 PM
Quote from: ONeill on April 10, 2008, 08:10:10 PM
1. Pascal McConnell   An Baile Nua
2. Ryan McMenamin   An Droim Mhór
3. Justin McMahon   An Omaigh
4. Michael McGee   Loch Mhic Ruairí
5. Davy Harte   Aireagal Chiaráin
6. Conor Gormley   An Charraig Mhór
7. Philip Jordan   An Mhaigh
8. Colin Holmes   Na Clairsigh
9. Sean Cavanagh   An Mhaigh
10. Raymond Mulgrew   An Chorra Chriochach
11. Brian McGuigan   Ard Bó
12. Enda McGinley   Aireagal Chiaráin
13. Colm McCullagh   An Droim Mhór
14. Colm Cavanagh   An Mhaigh
15. Tommy McGuigan   Ard Bó

I take it this is going to be Brian McGuigan's first start for Tyrone since his horrific injuries.
Post by: ONeill on April 10, 2008, 08:24:51 PM
It is indeed. I find that quite remarkable on so many fronts, and still feel slightly uneasy about it but I trust Mickey doesn't take such decisions lightly.

That, for me, is the best defensive formation and players we have in Tyrone, in fact from 1-9. The half forwards are there or thereabouts with only Dooher to challenge for a starting position. The full forward line has potential. Mulligan will be the only challenger.

On Sunday, we'll have a fair idea as to how far Tyrone can go this year.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on April 10, 2008, 08:48:35 PM
Although I was looking changes Im very happy with that team. Really great to see Brian McGuigan back at 11 on a Tyrone team and should add a bit of interest to the game. Cant expect to much from him on his 1st start but if he is fit (and injury clear) he probably needs game time ahead of the championship. I wonder is his ankle problems as bad as has been made out on here, surely he himself and the Tyrone set up wouldnt be taking any major risks to get him back for a meaningless league game?

Its the strongest team we have named this year but still think the forward line would be improved significantly with the return of a fit Dooher and Mugsy and not sure if Holmes has the mobility at this stage to start midfield come championship. Im glad to see Cavanagh at full forward as he should be a better ball winner than we've had in recent weeks. Tommy McGuigan has to prove ahead of the championship that he can perform for 70 minutes in a Tyrone jersey, so far he has only showed glimpses of his potential and tends to shoot from anywere rather than lay the ball of to a team mate. Sunday should answer a few questions about our potential later in the year.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on April 10, 2008, 10:20:43 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on April 10, 2008, 08:48:35 PM
I wonder is his ankle problems as bad as has been made out on here, surely he himself and the Tyrone set up wouldnt be taking any major risks to get him back for a meaningless league game?

Although not doubting the Ardboe lads on here Im finding it difficult to tally what they suggest about Brian's fitness and him being named as a starter for this game :-\. I really hope the ankle problem has been overstated and that he's fit to go, cant believe (and seriously hope not) that his fitness would be jeopardised if he and the management werent 100% satisfiied.

As for the team it looks on paper pretty strong. If (and its a huge if given Tyrone's problems in the last 2 years) you take that starting 15 and add to it a fit Mulligan, Dooher and Joe McMahon then you have a potentially formidable outfit.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on April 10, 2008, 10:38:09 PM
With that team named and the fact that it is the last game of the league I think a good performance and probably a victory is quite important to give the team a bit of confidence entering the championship. Would expect Gormley to play at centre half back in this match. As Ive said we cant expect to much from McGuigan on his first start (the most important thing is he gets through the game with no injuries) and Id say he'll do well to last past the 45-50 minute mark.
Post by: ONeill on April 10, 2008, 10:54:44 PM
1. David Clarke (D. Ó Cléirigh) - Beal an Átha

2. Keith Higgins (C. Ó hUiginn) - Béal Átha hAmhnais

3. Kieran Conroy (C. Ó Conraí) - Sruthair-Gleann Coirib

4. Colm Boyle (C. Ó Baoill) - Na Daibhéidigh

5. David Heaney (D. Ó hÉanaigh) – Beal Átha na Muice

6. Trevor Howley (T. Ó hUallaigh) - Cnoc Mór

7. Tom Cunniffe (T. Mac Connuibh) - Caisléan an Bharraigh

8. Ronan McGarrity (R. MacFheartaigh) - Beal an Átha

9. Tom Parsons (T. Mac an Phearsúin) - Baile an Chathail

10. James Gill (S. Mac Giolla) - Cathair na Mart

11. Alan Dillon (A. Diolún) - Baile an Tobair

12. Aidan Campbell (A. Mac Cathmhaoil) - Béal Átha na Muice

13. Conor Mortimer (C. Ó Muireartaigh) - Sruthair-Gleann Coirib

14. Austin O'Malley (A. Ó Máille) - Cluain Cearbhan

15. Andy Moran (A. Ó Moráin) - Bealach an Doirin
Post by: ONeill on April 10, 2008, 10:57:01 PM
Agree with TD. Given that Mayo side, I can see Tyrone lining out as selected in defence. Ricey v Mortimer would be a tasty duel. O'Malley will provide McMahon with the type of opponent he's going to face all year.
Post by: orangeman on April 10, 2008, 11:12:22 PM
Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on April 10, 2008, 10:20:43 PM
I wonder is his ankle problems as bad as has been made out on here, surely he himself and the Tyrone set up wouldnt be taking any major risks to get him back for a meaningless league game?

Although not doubting the Ardboe lads on here Im finding it difficult to tally what they suggest about Brian's fitness and him being named as a starter for this game :-\. I really hope the ankle problem has been overstated and that he's fit to go, cant believe (and seriously hope not) that his fitness would be jeopardised if he and the management werent 100% satisfiied.
As for the team it looks on paper pretty strong. If (and its a huge if given Tyrone's problems in the last 2 years) you take that starting 15 and add to it a fit Mulligan, Dooher and Joe McMahon then you have a potentially formidable outfit.

Trust me on this ! I've already alluded to previous times where players were injured and played on - but I hope Brian has really turned the corner this time.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on April 10, 2008, 11:17:00 PM
Its important that we can get the full back line sorted so that we can afford to play Gormley at centre half. Tyrone are a much stronger team with him playing in that position. Justy McMahon has done ok so far but much bigger tests lie ahead for him if he is to get the full back slot. Not sure if Harte would ever trust him against someone like Paddy Bradley but he looks equipped to mark a big target man. Hopefully Mulgrew will put in a much better performance and will be interesting to see how he performs from the wing.
Post by: stephenite on April 10, 2008, 11:54:46 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on April 10, 2008, 10:07:50 AM

Ok stepenite maybe its the way o'mahony phrased it, come on a trial game is where you are looking at finding new talent and if he doesn't know anything about Jimmy Or Ciaran Mc at this stage then he should stick to politics . Why doesn't he say we will bring them in training and have a look at their fitness and see whether he thinks Mc can still do a job for mayo, can you imagine if Darragh o' shea was asked to attend a trial game. Also Ciaran Mc hasn't asked for preferential treatment and has done plenty of slogging over past winters. i haven't at any stage said that Mc Donald should be back in fact i have said that i hope he doesn't as it will also help Cross's cause this year and he is in fact club captain and it would be great to have him and jimmy playing all the matches with the young lads.

Training match, A vs B, Trial games - all the same things, and we all know that. Is he going to attend training matches, A vs B etc. He doesn't need to tell you, me or anyone else but for the love of God can he tell either John O'Mahoney, Tommy Lyons or Kieran Gallagher.

I'm in no way trying to be glib or insulting about Ciaran or his situation but the sooner a decision is made the sooner this sort of will he/won't he chatter in every dressingroom, pub and kitchen the length and breadth of the county will stop and the lads that are involved can get on with concentrating on the challenges for the championship season ahead.

There is of course the conspiracy theory that O'Mahoney doesn't want Mac playing for Mayo for whatever reason and if this is the case equally JOM should let Ciaran and the rest of us know
Post by: stephenite on April 11, 2008, 12:15:20 AM
Mayo team - courtesy of Willie Joe

David Clarke; Keith Higgins, Kieran Conroy, Colm Boyle; David Heaney, Trevor Howley, Tom Cunniffe; Ronan McGarritty, Tom Parsons; James Gill, Alan Dillon, Aidan Campbell; Conor Mortimor, Austin O'Malley, Andy Moran.

Good to see Campbell getting rewarded for his stellar performances at U-21
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 11, 2008, 03:46:24 AM
Quote from: stephenite on April 11, 2008, 12:15:20 AM
Mayo team - courtesy of Willie Joe

David Clarke; Keith Higgins, Kieran Conroy, Colm Boyle; David Heaney, Trevor Howley, Tom Cunniffe; Ronan McGarritty, Tom Parsons; James Gill, Alan Dillon, Aidan Campbell; Conor Mortimor, Austin O'Malley, Andy Moran.

Good to see Campbell getting rewarded for his stellar performances at U-21

Despite his excellent performances on the wing it looks like a weak full-back line is dragging Keith Higgins back there. Pity really, thought he really was offering a lot at left-half back and he is certainly more of a wing-back than a corner back. Problem is he is more of a corner-back than Tom Cunniffe, if that makes sense.
Good to see Campbell get his chance, think we need more of a scoring presence from the half-forward line. Only concern I would have is if he is physically up to senior level. Hope I'm wrong. . .
Post by: dodo on April 11, 2008, 04:08:25 AM
Campbell has bulked up a bit and I'd imagine he should be well able for it.
Post by: Tubberman on April 11, 2008, 08:46:45 AM
Good to see that Campbell's great performance for the U-21s mid-week has been noted and he has been given his chance. I wouldn't have any concerns about him being able for the physicality of seniors, he always seemed a strong guy to me, well able to give and take.
As Sniper said, it seems Keith Higgins has been moved from his best position because of our lack of coner backs. It's a pity, because Keith has been our best player throughout the league from the half back line. But if you're going to play Higgins and Cunniffe, with one in the corner and one in the half backs, then this is the right way to have them lined out. 
You'd have to wonder though, do we seriously not have any other options for the corner? What about Aidan Higgins? Or is it the case that JOM is focussing almost entirely on the future and doesn't want to rely on older players who will have to be replaced in another year or two anyway. If that's the decision he's made, fair enough, but it's not really fair on the likes of Aidan Higgins who are training their arses off.
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on April 11, 2008, 09:45:58 AM
Good to see Campbell getting a run the next day, he will offer something different as Gill and Harte are too similar. Having to stick K Higgins in the corner is the only downside to that team selection, the problem is he is one of the few/only options left at this stage. I notice  A Higgins name mentioned alot and that he should be given 'a chance'. He has been tried several times and is a great club man but has often been found wanting at inter-county level, even though he had a decent 2006 in fairness, I don't think he has any more to offer at this stage.
Post by: loughshore lad on April 11, 2008, 09:53:59 AM
Quote from: orangeman on April 10, 2008, 11:12:22 PM
Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on April 10, 2008, 10:20:43 PM

Trust me on this ! I've already alluded to previous times where players were injured and played on - but I hope Brian has really turned the corner this time.

I really hope for his sake he has turned the corner this time. To be honest as much as I would love to see him get back to form in a Tyrone shirt as he deserves it I just hope it doesnt come to the detriment of his future health. As for the injury and if myself or orangeman are exaggerating things - people can make up there own mind on that one.
Post by: ildanach on April 11, 2008, 10:17:41 AM
needs must with regad to keith higgins and although he seems to have a lot to offer at wing back. We need a good corner back and he fits the build. Until we find another he must stay there.
Post by: moysider on April 11, 2008, 10:43:44 AM
Quote from: ONeill on April 10, 2008, 08:09:17 PM
I was reading about some Mayo boyo who played for Tuam in the '46 Hogan final against Iggy Jones' Armagh side. What was his name - apparently one of Mayo's greatest ?

Was it Peter Solan ? A scoring machine. Got one of our goals in 1950 AI final. Scored 3 - 1 in the Connacht final 1951 v Galway in Tuam.
St. Jar won in 47 V Armagh, minus jones, with Solan a young sean Purcell and another Mayo legend Mick Flanagan who also goaled on 1950 final i think.
Post by: moysider on April 11, 2008, 11:27:16 AM
Dunno. Mayo defencive selections a bit deck chairs and titanic at this stage. Putting Higgins in the corner a step backwards if this the way they line out imo. Is he selected there to do a specialist job on some dangerman next Sunday or is it a permanent move? Heaneys distribution so poor recently that he should be put back and play likes of Cuniffe, Pat Kelly,Chris Barrett, Higgins and James Bourke on the wings. Putting Keith back means we have two lads 5' 7'' in the corner back positions. They re quick but when the long high balls start flying in again.......... :(
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 11, 2008, 11:49:38 AM
It's good that Campbell starts, however, how bad does Gill have to play to be dropped? Cunniffe will probably make a better halfback as he plays at chb generally. It's interesting to see Higgins moved back to cornerback again though, I thought we had him sorted out at halfback. As moysider says though, the defence will probably be a problem area this year, hopefully the workrate of the rest of the team will compensate if the defence gets caught out on Sunday.
Post by: moysider on April 11, 2008, 12:15:29 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 11, 2008, 11:49:38 AM
It's good that Campbell starts, however, how bad does Gill have to play to be dropped? Cunniffe will probably make a better halfback as he plays at chb generally. It's interesting to see Higgins moved back to cornerback again though, I thought we had him sorted out at halfback. As moysider says though, the defence will probably be a problem area this year, hopefully the workrate of the rest of the team will compensate if the defence gets caught out on Sunday.
Agree about Campbell. Campbell on returning to form was always going to press hard for a Championship place in the half forward line imo. With Trevor and Dillon in pole position for the other two places, if they re fit, it leaves Harte and especially Gill with an uphill battle to start in the Championship. Both look like being down the pecking order for midfield as well at this stage with Parsons, O Shea and maybe Barry Moran ahead of them. I too thought Higgins was nailed down at 7. Now we re changing something that was working really well ::) Cunniffe will also play an aggressive attacking game but still I m not sure it s the right thing to do. Cunniffe has played mostly at chb and it remains to be seen whether he s as good a wing man as others that have a good record there like Barrett, Kelly, Boyle  and now James Bourke. On paper at least we look spoiled for wing backs while corner men are rare as hens' teeth. :(
Post by: ONeill on April 11, 2008, 01:37:59 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 11, 2008, 10:43:44 AM

Was it Peter Solan ? A scoring machine. Got one of our goals in 1950 AI final. Scored 3 - 1 in the Connacht final 1951 v Galway in Tuam.
St. Jar won in 47 V Armagh, minus jones, with Solan a young sean Purcell and another Mayo legend Mick Flanagan who also goaled on 1950 final i think.

That's the man. You never hear of him yet he should be up there in the pantheon of household greats.
Post by: Mr. Nakata on April 11, 2008, 01:41:03 PM
Mayo certainly have the hoodoo over us in recent years, but I think we can secure a home win this weekend. That is the strongest team to line out this year. It will be a long 8 weeks to championship Sunday and I hope the forwards can receive the ammunition required to get the scores and some confidence. I didn't make it to Celtic Park, but my contact bemoaned midfield yet again. Hopefully Cavanagh will start to show some interest. 2 point victory predicted leaving all red hand fans optimistic at the final whistle.
Post by: moysider on April 11, 2008, 01:50:58 PM
Quote from: ONeill on April 11, 2008, 01:37:59 PM

That's the man. You never hear of him yet he should be up there in the pantheon of household greats.

What do you mean I never heard of him? I just told you who I thought it might be ???
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 11, 2008, 01:56:18 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 11, 2008, 01:50:58 PM

What do you mean I never heard of him? I just told you who I thought it might be ???

I'd say he means that one outside of Mayo nevver hears of him.
Post by: Fuzzman on April 11, 2008, 02:58:23 PM
Jeeez lads I hope the players don't do the same as ye've done in this thread and let the Mayo lads swarm defense yis

I remember after the 2004 defeat, I was walking a wee girl home across the canal near The Barge wearing my Tyrone top
We met 4 Mayo lads and the starting messing swarming around us saying

Don't foul him lads but swarm, swarm
Yer wan didn't know what they were on about.

So do we think we're in for a better performance this week then,
Will be interesting to see how that forward line pans out.

Interesting that Justy is the only new lad left in the back line and how will McGee fair?
How's he playing for the Lough boys?

Will McCaul get a run out or I wonder is he injured?

Can we please get some Tyrone banter in here or are we all knackered after last weeks marathon thread
Post by: rrhf on April 11, 2008, 04:08:48 PM
No Mc Cauls not injured just cant get in.
This is one hell of a risk Mickey is taking with Mc Guigan.  I hope to God it works out. 
Post by: moysider on April 11, 2008, 04:30:20 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 11, 2008, 01:56:18 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 11, 2008, 01:50:58 PM

I'd say he means that one outside of Mayo nevver hears of him.

Jaysus sorry O Neill for bitin the head off you there. I must have imagined a d at the end of the hear above  :-[ or maybe its specsavers for me.  Solan generally not one of the first half dozen names to crop up when that team of 50/51 is mentioned. But remember 2 of that team made the team of the Millenium, which says something about their quality and the impression the team in general made. Usually the names of fellas from that era that crop up most often are Sean Flanagan, Paddy prendergast, John Forde, Padraic Carney, Eamonnn Mongey, Tom Langan and Mick Flanagan who died tragically young.
Post by: ONeill on April 11, 2008, 04:38:11 PM
I don't think Justin'll start. McCaul might get his chance yet.
Post by: Deal_Me_In on April 11, 2008, 05:20:07 PM
Think if everyone is fit, McCaul will get the nod at FB with Joe McMahon in MF along with Cananagh. Mugsy will definately come into the FF line at the expense of Cananagh Jr or Tommy depending on form and Mulgrew will be unfortunate to miss out at HF but with a fir Dooher and McGuigan back at 11, is Mulgrew going to be able to infleunce the game?
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on April 11, 2008, 06:02:31 PM
If and its a big if Tyrone had a fully team, Mulgrew I think still has to prove that he should be one of the first 6. You could pick a forward line of Dooher, McGuigan, McGinley, McCullagh, C Cavanagh, Mulligan and it would be strong. The most obvious 1 for him to replace would be Cavanagh but I would be worried that we'd have 2 many playmakers (McGuigan,Mulgrew,McCullagh) and not enough dangermen. Has he proved that he's a better player than McCullagh? McCullagh always provides a target, is decent with the left footed free's and can take a score from play. Having said that I still think he has potential and even at this stage (he's only 22) could well deliver on it. In some ways to much was probably expected of him to soon.
Post by: rrhf on April 11, 2008, 06:20:21 PM
Could we not try Peter Donnelly at 3, Is there any more Mc Mahons,  Could Conor not do 3 and 6,  Did Enda not used to do full back?  surely to God theres someone else we could try at 3.  :P

Lets hope this team can now start to earn their stripes and give us something to cheer at in the championship?  Even for 1 or 2 games. 
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on April 11, 2008, 06:34:38 PM
Aye we could try Peter Donnelly at 3. He played there against Mayo last year, think we restricted Mayo to 4 goals on that occasion. Donnelly is a decent player but not a county standard full back imo.
Post by: Aaron Boone on April 11, 2008, 06:49:07 PM
You can bet your life Peter Donnelly will get his usual run-out on Sunday. It'll be a toss-up between him and Mellon for the first sub.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on April 11, 2008, 06:53:43 PM
I'd say McCaul will get his chance some were along the line. Any time I've seen him he looks more comfortable on the front foot though which would suggest half back would be his best position but there's huge competition there.
Post by: ONeill on April 11, 2008, 06:56:54 PM
Boys I wouldn't be shocked to see Donnelly start at FB.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on April 11, 2008, 07:03:44 PM
I would. Did you here McMahon is injured or are you talking about for the championship?
Post by: ONeill on April 11, 2008, 07:06:04 PM
When the seagulls follow the trawler, it is because they think sardines will be thrown into the sea.
Post by: ONeill on April 11, 2008, 07:48:53 PM
It does appear that the Harte/O'Neill situation is irreparable so that leaves us with what we have on offer on Sunday plus Mulligan in terms of scoring threat. Just can't see where the big individual scores are coming from. But was thinking that this doesn't necessarily have to be a burden. Kerry have reached the latter stages with a plethora of players chipping in regularly. No Kerry player made the top 7 scorers last year, none in top 6 in 2006.
Post by: gaagaa on April 11, 2008, 09:04:09 PM
i like (yuk  ;D) the look of the tyrone team this weekend
i think they could do the business
Post by: orangeman on April 11, 2008, 10:40:31 PM
Sunday's result isn't the end of the road - it's just the end of the league - it's what happens betwwen Sunday and June that really matters in terms of preparation, recovery from injury etc etc
Post by: muppet on April 12, 2008, 12:18:50 AM
Quote from: ONeill on April 11, 2008, 07:06:04 PM
When the seagulls follow the trawler, it is because they think sardines will be thrown into the sea.

But what if the trawler is fishing for mackerel?
Post by: Lar Naparka on April 12, 2008, 01:31:05 PM
QuoteTraining match, A vs B, Trial games - all the same things, and we all know that. Is he going to attend training matches, A vs B etc. He doesn't need to tell you, me or anyone else but for the love of God can he tell either John O'Mahoney, Tommy Lyons or Kieran Gallagher.

I'm in no way trying to be glib or insulting about Ciaran or his situation but the sooner a decision is made the sooner this sort of will he/won't he chatter in every dressingroom, pub and kitchen the length and breadth of the county will stop and the lads that are involved can get on with concentrating on the challenges for the championship season ahead.

There is of course the conspiracy theory that O'Mahoney doesn't want Mac playing for Mayo for whatever reason and if this is the case equally JOM should let Ciaran and the rest of us know

Very interesting post, Stephenite.
I think you have summed up all the aspects of the will he or won't he return saga here.
A big complication here is the fact that we are talking about two very strong-willed characters; both tend to play the cards very close to the chest.
O'Mahony took an extraordinarily long time to accept the Mayo job and I don't buy into the excuse that he was taking time to consider his involvement in the last general Election campaign. With candidates like Kenny and Mickey Ring on the ticket, could he ever expect to become a TD without the feel good support of Mayo's football followers?
I feel a lot of eye-balling went on behind closed doors with Waldron, Feeney and the likes that we will never know about. Indeed, there is no need to keep us informed either but we can be sure O'Mahony won't be letting us know what went on.
Same applies to the Kilcullens, clubmates of his, and their absence from the team panel.  Johnno doesn't go around discussing his affairs in public.
The same applies to Mac. Probably only the man himself knows what his next move is going to be.
Earlier this year, before the league began, Johnno did say (in the Mayo News) that he had been in telephone contact with Ciaran and would be kept appraised of his medical progress. This was just the briefest of statements.
I'd imagine that the recent "invitation" to take part in a trial game had little or nothing to do with Mac's ability to play to the standard necessary but was an ultimatum to either join up or depart the scene.

Post by: Uladh on April 12, 2008, 03:30:25 PM

At the risk of getting a bollocking - Is Cavlan still kicking ball for the Clarkes and could he not still do a job for tyrone?
Post by: orangeman on April 12, 2008, 05:55:19 PM
Quote from: ONeill on April 11, 2008, 04:38:11 PM
I don't think Justin'll start. McCaul might get his chance yet.

You must have an inside track O'Neill - Mc Cual is in for Mc Mahon ! I hope he does well after all the posts I've had supporting him.  ;) :D
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 12, 2008, 08:47:00 PM
Wouldn't be surprised at all if he's (Mc Caul) starting a number 3, is this for definite?
Post by: Donagh on April 12, 2008, 10:58:02 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 12, 2008, 10:11:56 PM
Mickey Harte, on his phone, laughing at the boxing.

Saw Mickey in Castlebar. Do you think the Tyrone Fixtures Booklet has a typo?
Post by: orangeman on April 12, 2008, 11:08:21 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 12, 2008, 08:47:00 PM
Wouldn't be surprised at all if he's (Mc Caul) starting a number 3, is this for definite?

Definite
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 12, 2008, 11:11:24 PM
Is Justin Mc injured om, or is Damien Mc getting a deserved run out (had to happen sooner or later, too good to be left perpetually on the bench)?
Post by: ONeill on April 12, 2008, 11:22:47 PM
You missed 'Art' at the end of the conversation.
Post by: orangeman on April 12, 2008, 11:27:35 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 12, 2008, 11:11:24 PM
Is Justin Mc injured om, or is Damien Mc getting a deserved run out (had to happen sooner or later, too good to be left perpetually on the bench)?

Unfortunately we've picked up yet ANOTHER injury and Mc Caul is his replacement !

How come all the injuries lads - it's a real epidemic and seems highly contagious !  :( :(
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on April 13, 2008, 12:20:26 AM
Cant see Mickey throwing McCaul in at FB, maybe more likely Gormley will play there and McCaul at centre half back? Very happy that McCaul is finally getting a run but again it seems strange to not give him a run the whole league then throw him in as a late change on the eve of the final game. Not an easy situation for the lad himself but hopefully he can turn in a good display.
Post by: orangeman on April 13, 2008, 12:21:26 AM
Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on April 13, 2008, 12:20:26 AM
Cant see Mickey throwing McCaul in at FB, maybe more likely Gormley will play there and McCaul at centre half back? Very happy that McCaul is finally getting a run but again it seems strange to not give him a run the whole league then throw him in as a late change on the eve of the final game. Not an easy situation for the lad himself but hopefully he can turn in a good display.
[/b]

It's no worse than being dunged into corner back in an AI 1/4 final !
Post by: ildanach on April 13, 2008, 09:02:01 AM
john maughan was in the same seats. I wreckin micky was getting tactics advice!!! They must have been there as guests,as theyhad the best seats in the house.

Post by: ONeill on April 13, 2008, 01:05:36 PM
I think Mickey was there watching his mentored fighter fight.
Post by: ziggysego on April 13, 2008, 02:28:00 PM
In London at the moment. Can someone keep me up-to-date with the scores? Thanks.
Post by: mayo51 on April 13, 2008, 02:41:30 PM
tyrone 0.02  mayo 0.02  11 min.
Post by: mayo51 on April 13, 2008, 02:50:29 PM
tyrone 0.04 mayo 0.03 24 min.
Post by: mayo51 on April 13, 2008, 03:01:27 PM
tyrone 0.8 mayo0.0.05   mayo miss penalty : h.t   challenge game pace
Post by: Over the Bar on April 13, 2008, 03:20:11 PM
Is the commentary online anywhere?
Post by: mayo51 on April 13, 2008, 03:29:33 PM
tyrone 0.10 mayo 0.05  5 min 2ind half
Post by: tc_manchester on April 13, 2008, 03:34:50 PM
the game is on midwestradio - www.midwestirishradio.com
Post by: mayo51 on April 13, 2008, 03:42:56 PM
tyrone 0.13  mayo 0.07   
Post by: mayo51 on April 13, 2008, 03:55:15 PM
tyrone 0.14 mayo0.12  2 min. to go
Post by: highorlow on April 13, 2008, 03:58:32 PM
15 - 12 now Tyrone ahead
Post by: Tyrones own on April 13, 2008, 04:06:09 PM

0-15 - 0-13 Res
Post by: glenullinabu on April 13, 2008, 04:07:55 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on April 13, 2008, 04:06:09 PM

0-15 - 0-13 Res

good news - keep division 1 for ulster ;D
Post by: ziggysego on April 13, 2008, 04:11:42 PM
thanks for updates
Post by: Puckoon on April 13, 2008, 04:39:36 PM
Just caught the tail end on the wireless - the mayo boys were very impressed with Tommy McGuigan.

Hopefully someone at the game can post a player synopsis.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 13, 2008, 04:52:27 PM
Rte report had Brian Mc Guigan as "magical" !
Great to get him through a full game! Seemed like a better performance today.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on April 13, 2008, 06:07:15 PM
Some encouraging signs particularly the performance of McGuigan. Lasted the 70 minutes and was involved throughout, still has some way to go to get back his sharpness but that should come. There's no way his ankle is as bad as was made out here, though I dont doubt that he has a problem. The deployment of Sean Cavanagh at full forward for the first 50 minutes also worked out very well with most scores coming through him - definately an option for the championship. Tommy McGuigan kicked 3 or 4 from play, a sideline ball and a few free's. I'll admit that he probably wouldnt be in my first 15 but on todays performance will be hard to drop him. Holmes also worked well and had a very good second half.

There were problems also. We struggled at times to win any ball in the middle which is also a worry particularly as it looks like Cavangagh could solve the full forward problem. Maybe if Dooher gets fit this wont be quite as much a problem.The defence was also much to open throughout. McCaul played in the corner most of the game and did well in the 1st half but struggled at times in the 2nd, definately dont think he's the full back soluition at this point. Dont think we can play harte-ricey-phily as the half back line either. Gormley still isnt performing at his best. Packie made a brilliant penalty save. Mulgrew was just ok and dont think he'll start. Colm Cavanagh did rightly at half forward.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 13, 2008, 06:23:18 PM
What were Mayo like? Not good by the sound of the Tyrone people on here.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on April 13, 2008, 06:36:16 PM
Mayo were average. Full back struggled against Cavanagh. Midfield did quite well at times and Mayo won there fair share of ball there. Full forward line was dangerous with all 3 giving Tyrone plenty of problems.
Post by: glenullinabu on April 13, 2008, 06:44:03 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on April 13, 2008, 06:07:15 PM
Tommy McGuigan kicked 3 or 4 from play, a sideline ball and a few free's. I'll admit that he probably wouldnt be in my first 15 but on todays performance will be hard to drop him.

i dunno - i always liked the look of him - he has a bit of class
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on April 13, 2008, 06:45:49 PM
Wouldnt argue with that. Just think at times he doesnt do enough and can take the wrong option. Had a very good game today.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 13, 2008, 06:46:23 PM
QuoteFull back struggled against Cavanagh

Oh dear, same old story. If we had a good full-back line, anything could be possible in the Summer as I think the workrate that the rest of the team do is making up for the full-back line's deficiencies. However, we will have to trundle on with the leaking full-back linee for another while at least. I suppose the only positive to take from the league is that we aren't relegated and I suppose another plus could be that Johnno knows the full-back line needs major work. Whether he can do the work that is required is another thing.
Post by: dodo on April 13, 2008, 06:54:01 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 13, 2008, 06:46:23 PM
QuoteFull back struggled against Cavanagh

Oh dear, same old story. If we had a good full-back line, anything could be possible in the Summer as I think the workrate that the rest of the team do is making up for the full-back line's deficiencies. However, we will have to trundle on with the leaking full-back linee for another while at least. I suppose the only positive to take from the league is that we aren't relegated and I suppose another plus could be that Johnno knows the full-back line needs major work. Whether he can do the work that is required is another thing.

He knew the full back line was a major issue when he took over at the start of last year. That this can be seen as a positive is beyond me. I get your point that who he has tried out aren't the solution though.
Post by: phpearse on April 13, 2008, 07:28:13 PM
Signs of improvement for Tyrone in this outing. Very impressed by Brian McGuigan. Whilst not up to the full pace of the game his passing was superb. I would say the stats man could have had him with 15+ possessions with the bulk of his off loads finding their target. He has great hand speed and was able to avoid tackles and drop of nice little hand passes to men coming past. McGinley again put in a solid 70. His workrate is first class, up and down the field all day. Holmes was also good. Caught some clean ball but battled really well. When Tyrone had their spell either side of half time we won midfield well with good tackling and winning loose ball. Tyrone were 6 up at one stage in the 2nd half but allowed Mayo back into the game. The strong win helping Mayos cause. However we had chances to bury the game. A fisted effort by Colm Cavanagh was put wide as was a missed chance from play by Tommy McGuigan. We also had what I though was a penalty when the Mayo keeper blocked a shot by diving out with his feet. The game could have been put out of Mayos reach at that stage.

Overall an improved performance. Hopefuly with Mulligan back for June we'll have a few more options up front for the Down game.
Post by: tyssam5 on April 13, 2008, 07:35:12 PM
Can a keeper gets penalised for a 'foot block', don't think I've ever seen that?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 13, 2008, 07:42:27 PM
Didn't make the game today, but happy with that result: Mayo at home or away never easy opponents these times.

All in all, happy with the NFL as an exercise -- runs out given to all those who needed it, and whilst the toughest questions won't be asked, or answered, until the Championship comes, I believe MH did the best job that could have been reasonably expected given the prevailing circumstances.  Absolutely great to see Brian Mc Guigan last the full 70, and it would seem that his younger sibling responded promisingly to his elder's full participation -- bodes well, Tommy's growing capably into that role with every game.

Given those who are to, or who may, rejoin the fray yet, and the overall performances of those of the current squad, the summer of '08 isn't quite as dark as it might have appeared to be not so long ago, bring it on  ;)
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on April 13, 2008, 08:03:02 PM
Despite all the doom and gloom of last week, Tyrone still managed to win 3 out of the last 4 games at the business end of the league. I still think are fitness will improve considerably over the next 8 weeks and we can certainly mount a challenge for Ulster. Are 3 defeats in the league came on the road with weakened teams against the best teams in the division and each of the matches were close. Hopefully the forward division can be improved further with the return of Mugsy and Dooher (and who knows maybe even his club mate). Mickey will definately have to consider using Cavanagh at full forward based on his showing today. Him and Mugsy with McGuigan supplying the ball could be dangerous. Lets just hope McGuigan and Dooher etc can get 4 or 5 club games behind them now with no further problems. 
Post by: tyroneman on April 13, 2008, 08:19:26 PM
Was standing 10 or so feet away from Stevie O'Neill at the game today..................maybe what he saw will start to bring his appetite back, from what I hear he is missing the Tyrone set up already........................

Few points on the game:

1. Block looks very unfit - behind his man most of the day..................is something up?
2. Tommy deserves a half forward slot more than Mulgrew (anonymous today) at present
3. Holmes and McGinley will be roasted in MF come championship - Sean needs to be in there.
4. McCaul was fast but his catching was atrocious - 2 or 3 times he dropped an easy ball in that resulted in a Mayo score
5. Brian was a joy to watch again....................rolls royce of a player...................says it all when in the last minute of a tight game, Mayo bombing high ball in looking a goal.................who should pluck the ball from the sky and work it out, steady as a rock..........................Brian.................................
6. McGee way off pace too (as expected given his time out)
7. McCullogh poor today -let a lot of ball slip through his hands

Mayo were not bad though - some excellent passing, just not enough end product

Glad we got that Monkey off our backs too..............................
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on April 13, 2008, 09:10:46 PM
Wouldnt be totally suprised if Holmes and McGinley started midfield in championship. 2 very hard workers who could at least compete with most midfields especially if Dooher was there to pick up break ball.  Not convinced though if Homes has the pace to start in the championship - might be better used from the bench. Still think Justy McMahon could be another option there and dont rule out Hub yet. Presuming O'Neill doesnt come back we may have no other choice than to play Sean on the edge of the square - we really need a scoring threat and ball winner there.
Post by: gerry on April 13, 2008, 09:25:36 PM
at the match today Brian McGuigan had a blinder, he covered alot of the pitch and was the start of alot of tyrone attacks.  great to see a win and with a improved performance, maybe the championship will last longer than i thought a few weeks ago.

Post by: Jinxy on April 13, 2008, 09:35:50 PM
Delighted to see Brian back where he belongs and I wish him all the best for the coming season.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 13, 2008, 10:07:48 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on April 13, 2008, 08:19:26 PM
Few points on the game:

1. Block looks very unfit - behind his man most of the day..................is something up?

That's an undeniable worry, here's hoping the 7 weeks before the Down game will cure that.

Quote from: tyroneman on April 13, 2008, 08:19:26 PM
7. McCullogh poor today -let a lot of ball slip through his hands

Not for the first time this year, whatever is causing it. Time for new gloves perhaps, or even a sticky, dry ball.

And well done Packie: Mayo Penalty (http://dynimg.rte.ie/00016b8310dr.jpg)
Post by: orangeman on April 13, 2008, 10:51:34 PM
What a difference a day makes ....................... !

Brian Mc Guigan was and is a class act - the team responded to his promtings, none moreso than Tommy.

Block at full back was cleaned out - what's up there ? Mc Gee the same  - was pleased with Mc Caul, Jordan  - I thought Ricey was superb - Mc Ginley battled well as did Holmes - up front Mc Guigan was superb as was Sean.

Some very postivie signs !
Post by: gaagaa on April 13, 2008, 11:12:54 PM
Quote from: gaagaa on April 11, 2008, 09:04:09 PM
i like (yuk  ;D) the look of the tyrone team this weekend
i think they could do the business

Post by: blast05 on April 13, 2008, 11:37:39 PM
From a Mayo perspective:

Clarke: Nothing much to do. Palmed one ball over the bar he should have held and still needs work on the short kickouts despite improvement  .... lobbed a high 40 yard kickout on top of Howley with a few minutes to go with 2 Mayo men in close vicinity
Conroy: Cavangh roasted him for the first 20 minutes. He never tried anything different despite this until he was told by the sideline to play 5-10 yards in front of Cavangh. Not as bad after that but surely he didn't need to be told that.
Midfield: OK. Both of them get their hands to so many balls at kickouts but fail to firmly grasp it and it ends up as a break. McGarritty hasn't improved on this 'flaw' since his very first game for Mayo. Parsons has a few things to sort out but looks to me like a guy who can make serious improvement to be a really top class midfielder, but over a 2-3 year period. Both of them need to improve on their tracking back
Dillon: Needs to get the finger out big time or else it nearly forces O'Mahony to ask MacD to come back on his own terms ! Well not quite on his own terms but you know what i mean.
Gill: Felt sorry for him. He seemed to be the Mayo man tracking back on the overlapping man who ended up getting the score time after time ever though it wasn't his man. He tracked back to cover lapses of concentration by all the middle the 7 or 8 players. Didn't do enough at the other end but i hope management can see what he was trying to do.
Mort: Not as good as the last few games. His man had similar "off the mark" pace as him and so he struggled to get on the ball as much in open play
Austie: 3 points from play (i think). Similar level of performance to other earlier games. 14 is his for championship
Andy Moran: Worked his socks off as usual. If Mort worked as hard as him and had a similar level of drive and honesty then he'd be another Gooch. Didn't hit the penalty hard enough.
Howley / Higgins: As the 2 key men in the half back line in the 2nd half, they were unabble to do anything to prevent the Tyrone short game in the 2nd half and neither of them could control McGuigan
Pat Kelly: Played the game at club football pace when brought on early for an injured Cunniffe. Brings honest and guts but his lack of pace stands out at this level

All in all, first 50 minutes of the game lacked any real bite - picked up a lot in the last 20 minutes
Disappointed with our efforts to prevent the Tyrone short game in the second half when they were playing against the wind.
Full back was very worrying. Conroy will handle the FF lacking in real mobility and electric sharpness a la Donaghy but the lighting quick, 'turn on a six pence' FF will always kill him.
Post by: rosnarun on April 14, 2008, 01:53:57 AM
QuoteFF lacking in real mobility and electric sharpness a la Donaghy

be more specific which donaghy are you talking about that one doesn't ring any bells
Post by: Barney on April 14, 2008, 08:12:21 AM
Spent the weekend in bed with flu so didn't make the game. From second hand reports though it seems to have been a farily pedestrian run-out for both teams.

Somebody said last week that Andy Moran was now our most important player. According to the paper he didn't score. His returns have been quite measly throughout the league and this from a position at the fulcrum of our attack. Is this not alarming?

Positive not to have conceded a goal for once. From the radio it seems that Boyle was marking Tommy McGuigan and he played away. That's two games in a row that Colm Boyle has got the run around.

JOM could live or die by his work with the Mayo back-line. Two years to sort out the problems and all the same questions remain. There hasn't been any cohesiveness to the unit all league.
Post by: rrhf on April 14, 2008, 08:48:08 AM
better,  much better from Tyrone.  good games from Colm Cavanagh, Enda, Holmsie, and exceptional performances from the Mc Guigan bros.  All Tyronme positive signals were for the first time this year were from a much more dynamic forward line in which Brian performed to a level beyond what we thought he could achieve at this stage.  Tommy was majestic, Com Cavanagh showed a bite and a drive unseen to this point.  Sean at f/f in time would be unbelievable, I think he needs to stay here for a while, he created havoc.  Raymie needs a break and Mc Cullagh is hit and miss.  Mc Caul in the full back line lacked his usual confidence I thought probably his first game in 2 months told a tale,  the lad needs football and is probably a better half back.   Swift let one through his hands at the end nearly could have been a goal, Mc Gee looked off the pace as did Gormley and Jordan I felt.  Plenty of time to work on that.  I felt that when Mickey replaced Mc Cullagh with Marty P and told him to play in the half back line, it brought martys man up the field and Tyrone were under the cosh for the last few minutes, very odd indeed. The leagues over and its time to move on.  Who knows what can happen v Down. 
edit: by the way, the best goalkeeper in that panel is Packie and he must have earned that right now.    
Post by: loughshore lad on April 14, 2008, 09:00:28 AM
Great to see Brian complete the 70 minutes and produce the display he did. Shows the talent and character he has to perform like he did after so long out and obviously still not fully fit. This will seriously bring him on. Also no coincidence Tommy played extrememly well with Brian in tow.
Post by: To whom it may concern on April 14, 2008, 10:09:17 AM
Right, where do we start...

first of all, good to win and confirm survival...

wouldn't read too much into result, don't think mayo were at the races at all...truth be told we were more than 2 points better than them, yet they ran us close near the end...bit like the laois game.

As to the team...

Pascal McConnell has surely cemented his position as no.1

agree that gormley looks way off the pace, looks like he carrying an injury perhaps...also his body language didn't look great, he lay on ground after one mayo score...perhaps he fed up of being a jack of all trades and being shunted about to plug holes...

think long term we have to go with him at no.6 and try to solve fullback problem elsewhere...

thought mcgee shoulda been away after 10 mins, it was obvious he was being cleaned, if that was championship fare at croke park, and mortimer was in championship mode, heaven help us...in a way that confirmed my point that we will struggle and be exposed defensively against top drawer inside men...

thought ricey left the centre very open, agree he needs to be in half back line but prob as no.5

again davy looked good in possession and on the eye, but a lot of mayo attacks emanated down his wing...how many warning signs do we need...jordan looked lethargic and loose on his man at times...worrying as this was similar to last year aka meath and geraghty

midfield was ok...both holmes and enda individually, were superb, but collectively mayo at times cleaned us out...we lack a serious fielding option, but that's no problem, as we have always lacked that, just that we miss dooher in his hoover style role...

McGuigan was class, what struck me was how simple he kept the game, his speed of thought and quickness of passing was sublime...it's clear he is still not 100% physically but signs are good...mulgrew was AWOL, how can someone go 70 mins with performance like that and remain on field...think it's obvious that he was brought in much too soon for this level...mccullagh was anon also...think we will struggle from play against better teams and on big occasions...also think there is a cold streak in him...contrast his performance with mortimer...he was streets ahead of him....if mccullagh is persisted with, then possibly a roving role from corner forward?

Sean showed some good glimpses from FF, agree he could be an option there, but feel we miss his running game from centre field...also there is a danger he could become isolated in there like he did yesterday...he is too good and important of a player to have out of the game for long periods....Tommy was good also, took his points well from play, looked at home from play...looks more comfortable all the time...

So to Down for championship...

Finbar
McCaul
Justin McMahon
Carlin
McMenamin
Gormley
Jordan
Holmes
Sean
Dooher
McGuigan
Enda
Tommy
Colm Cavanagh
Mulligan
Post by: BennyHarp on April 14, 2008, 11:46:16 AM
Does anyone know how far Joe McMahon is from full fitness - or any kind of fitness for that matter - surely he is our best option at full back freeing up Gormley for centre half!
Post by: blast05 on April 14, 2008, 12:57:48 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on April 14, 2008, 01:53:57 AM
QuoteFF lacking in real mobility and electric sharpness a la Donaghy

be more specific which donaghy are you talking about that one doesn't ring any bells

The Donaghy from Kerry who would not come anywhere near Paddy Bradley in a 20 yard burst for the ball, the Donaghy from Kerry who would not turn on a 6 pence like Paddy Bradley - thats the Donaghy that Conroy would have a better chance of hanlding than the likes of Paddy Bradley
Post by: mannix on April 14, 2008, 01:29:51 PM
This game was played at challenge game pace, neither side were pushed but brian mcguigan was the difference. Would this be a fair assesment of the game?Just listened on radio.
Armagh? Finished?
Not sure what to make of that result, could it be a blip because colm orourke reckons armagh are unbelievably bad, against meath they were anyway.Maybe they just met a dublin team that is a paper tiger, we are in for an intersting year if kerry get knocked by a monaghan or a tyrone when there is no way back in.
Happy with Mayos league, either won or lost narrowly, BUT the goal leaking is a big concern, Mayo scored a lot and if they could fix the defence up a bit they would be a hard team to beat for anyone.
Thats it now for a few months, sligo should be a day out for Mayo, they have fallen badly in a year.Galway Mayo final in connaught and not much to go on for picking the winner, either should have a good run this year.
Post by: To whom it may concern on April 14, 2008, 02:32:20 PM
Just a quick point on omagh pitch...think the amount of games on it has left the surface in a delicate state...this clearly hasn't helped tyrone's game...even yesterday, the ball died and/or bounced unpredictably on the ground. This should be looked at for next year's league programme...all the colleges/schools games have had a detrimental effect on pitch....we should be looking after our own interests, not catering for dom and his acquaintances....

secondly, maybe it's just me, but i have attended all our league fixtures in omagh for last 2-3 years and have noticed a drop in the atmosphere..i don't feel healy park is the cauldron it once was...perhaps the 2 sam successes has taken the shine off tyrone supporters and we now have the same problem man utd now have at old trafford-the supporters come waiting to be entertained
Post by: orangeman on April 14, 2008, 02:41:01 PM
Quote from: To whom it may concern on April 14, 2008, 02:32:20 PM
Just a quick point on omagh pitch...think the amount of games on it has left the surface in a delicate state...this clearly hasn't helped tyrone's game...even yesterday, the ball died and/or bounced unpredictably on the ground. This should be looked at for next year's league programme...all the colleges/schools games have had a detrimental effect on pitch....we should be looking after our own interests, not catering for dom and his acquaintances....
secondly, maybe it's just me, but i have attended all our league fixtures in omagh for last 2-3 years and have noticed a drop in the atmosphere..i don't feel healy park is the cauldron it once was...perhaps the 2 sam successes has taken the shine off tyrone supporters and we now have the same problem man utd now have at old trafford-the supporters come waiting to be entertained

What has Dom got to do with the state of the pitch - Omagh has a poor surface full stop. It simply needs a new prunty type sand based surface.

With regard to the lack of atmosphere, you're right, it isn't the caludron it once was - and it mighn't ever be the same again unless Sam Maguire comes back along with the big crowds. There was plenty of space in the stands yesterday - however had it been an AI final, you'd have some trouble getting sorted for tickets !
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on April 14, 2008, 03:20:30 PM
Quote from: To whom it may concern on April 14, 2008, 02:32:20 PM
Just a quick point on omagh pitch...think the amount of games on it has left the surface in a delicate state...this clearly hasn't helped tyrone's game...even yesterday, the ball died and/or bounced unpredictably on the ground. This should be looked at for next year's league programme

Pedantic I know but given Tyrone got all  of their 7 points in the league this season at home it surely cant be hindering the team too much! Good to get the win yesterday and run up a decent enough tally on the scoreboard. Brian McGuigan is a class act but I dont think anybody expected him to slot back in like that, a real measure of the man that he could do it after so long out. He will still have a bit to go but if he can now remain injury free (please) then he will give this Tyrone team a huge lift. With Tommy seemingly coming onto a game and with Mugsy still to return (and with a bit of luck Dooher too) the forward division is potentially getting much stronger.

Full back still hasnt been addressed unfortunately and thats one area where I dont understand the management, surely Gormley should have been left at CHB all through the league and some other lads given a real run at FB. As it was Justy lined out there and then Block played there.

All in all though there are some positive signs and if we finally get a lucky break with injuries then Tyrone could be dangerous this summer. Its possible that by having lower key McKenna and League campaigns that the team will be in better shape come the summer, fingers crossed.

Funny to think that a week ago there were posts on here calling for a change of management and in one case almost a whole new team! Knee jerk reactions seem to be very common amongst some GAA supporters.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on April 14, 2008, 04:58:19 PM
Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on April 14, 2008, 03:20:30 PM
Knee jerk reactions seem to be very common amongst some GAA supporters.

Was there ever a truer word spoken?  :P
Post by: rosnarun on April 14, 2008, 05:00:51 PM
blast youve been listening to too many ilster men on these page if your putting an overweight  point kicker like bradley over a man who has won allirelands for kerry almost on his own  as we know to our cost. scoring is only a small part of his game. I agree conroy has a long way to go but lets judge him in the summertime not in a glorified friendly in april
Post by: blast05 on April 14, 2008, 05:16:52 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on April 14, 2008, 05:00:51 PM
blast youve been listening to too many ilster men on these page if your putting an overweight  point kicker like bradley over a man who has won allirelands for kerry almost on his own  as we know to our cost. scoring is only a small part of his game. I agree conroy has a long way to go but lets judge him in the summertime not in a glorified friendly in april

OK, to use another example - i think Conroy would have a better chance of being able to handle Donaghy than the Gooch.
BTW, the overweight point kicker may be a lazy aul sod but i would have him on my Mayo team any day of the week.
Post by: tyssam5 on April 14, 2008, 05:18:24 PM
blast youve been listening to too many ilster men on these page if your putting an overweight  point kicker like bradley over a man who has won allirelands for kerry almost on his own  as we know to our cost. scoring is only a small part of his game. I agree conroy has a long way to go but lets judge him in the summertime not in a glorified friendly in april

First time I've heard 'point kicker' used as a kind of insult/limitation when describing a Gaelic footballer.
Post by: Fuzzman on April 14, 2008, 05:19:26 PM
7 points again this year and I suppose we've saw a lot more new faces tried during the league this time.

Certainly Mickey has lowered expectation a lot and it looks like we're not gonna peak to early this year anyway.

I was only at one match this year the Derry game and I didn't like what I saw especially in forward play and again NO Midfield.

Is anyone willing to give a FULL squad review of who played this year so far and what their strengths and weaknesses are.

What would be our strongest team should all be fit & I don't mean including SON either.

Here's my shout
McConnell - Best shot stopper and has huge presence for one on ones.
Ricey - May have lost some of his pace but still reads the game well and is well motivated to Scare off most Corner forwards
Joey McMahon - Soley because of his past performances here in 2005 and no-one else has done a good job since.
McCaul/Swift/Carlin/Quinn/Gourley/McGee - Havent saw enough of any of them recently to decide but think Quinn & Swift did OK from what I've heard.

Harte - He continues to plod along and get regular scores and does reasonably well with breaking ball but should be switched if marking a fast running No 10
Block - Should be able to get back on track himself we hope after an indifferent NFL.
Jordan - Played a few cracker games I believe but again a few very laid back performances

Holmes/Justy/Hub
Sean/McGinley/Joey   God know who get the nod here but I think we're resigned to having grafter rather than Huge clean catchers with Sean back to Storming forward again.

Dooher - The man I think will shock a lot of fans again how much his hunger is still there if he can stay fit.
McGugian - Again hunger will not be lacking having come through so much of late
AN Other - Maybe Colm Cavanagh or McGinley but think Mulgrew has burnt his bridges too often now or maybe needs sunshine and hard pitches.

Mugsy - Again we're piining a lot of our hopes on Owen and often that's when he lets us down the most.
Tommy McGuigan - Can be our star forward I feel this year if he has some help around him and good supply from the 40 line this time
McCullagh - Accurate nippy corner forward who can be easily pushed out of it but for his left foot frees alone I think he deserves his place.

Who am I leaving out then?

Post by: ildanach on April 14, 2008, 05:25:37 PM

your right there. Conroy will develop at full back. It is not his natural position and so it will take time. First 10 or 15 mins yesterday cavanagh was getting the better of him. but after that he won more than his fair share of ball. He also is developing a nice knack of getting the hand in and breaking the ball. Our corner backs though would need to have gotten quicker to these breaks though.

One think i thought about yesterdays game was that the mayo lads looked like lads that had done a lot of training during the week and seemed lethargic. One more thing Dillon is gone to shit altogether hope he gets some form back soon.  
Post by: Mike Sheehy on April 14, 2008, 07:16:33 PM
QuoteThe Donaghy from Kerry who would not come anywhere near Paddy Bradley in a 20 yard burst for the ball, the Donaghy from Kerry who would not turn on a 6 pence like Paddy Bradley - thats the Donaghy that Conroy would have a better chance of hanlding than the likes of Paddy Bradley

what is it with you Mayo lads, coins and Kieran Donaghy ?

Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on April 14, 2008, 09:10:04 PM
If we had a fully fit team Id like to see something like this:
Packie
Swift
Joe McMahon
McGee
Ricey
Gormley
Phily
McGinley
Justy McMahon - Im only putting him there based on potential, would need to see him play here at county level a few times
Dooher
McGuigan
C Cavanagh
Mugsy
S Cavanagh
T McGuigan

Its very hard to know what are full back line should be. Dont think Ricey is a good enough man marker any more to stay there. He's also too attacking for centre half, so I'd put him at right half ahead of Harte. The half back line looks excellent on paper. PJ Quinn also showed signs that he may be good enough for corner back and looks a better marker than Carlin. If we are forced to bring Gormley back into the full back line then Gourley looks like an option to play a holding role at centre half. Are bench would still be strong enough:
Carlin
PJ Quinn
D McCaul
C Gourley
Holmes
Hub
Mellon
Mulgrew
McCullagh
Niall Gormley

Wouldnt fancy putting money on the actual team that will start against Down.
Post by: rosnarun on April 15, 2008, 01:22:57 AM
Quote from: tyssam5 on April 14, 2008, 05:18:24 PM
blast youve been listening to too many ilster men on these page if your putting an overweight  point kicker like bradley over a man who has won allirelands for kerry almost on his own  as we know to our cost. scoring is only a small part of his game. I agree conroy has a long way to go but lets judge him in the summertime not in a glorified friendly in april

First time I've heard 'point kicker' used as a kind of insult/limitation when describing a Gaelic footballer.

you know the type little fat lad hangs around the goal getting looking flash . but disappears as soon as he meets a decent back. not to be confused with a proper footballer
Post by: stephenite on April 15, 2008, 01:49:38 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on April 15, 2008, 01:22:57 AM

you know the type little fat lad hangs around the goal getting looking flash . but disappears as soon as he meets a decent back. not to be confused with a proper footballer

Cough - current Crossmolina manager - cough ;)
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 15, 2008, 05:17:35 AM
Quote from: stephenite on April 15, 2008, 01:49:38 AM

Ah that's not nice  :D
Post by: rrhf on April 15, 2008, 08:30:32 AM
Potential = means a player hasnt done it yet but by God its coming.
reality = sometimes potential dosent fulfill itself.
Mickey has made a huge error of judgement with Raymie, way too much, way too soon. 
Post by: the Deel Rover on April 15, 2008, 09:16:58 AM
Quote from: stephenite on April 15, 2008, 01:49:38 AM

don't think we could call him a little fat lad stepenite ;)
Post by: rosnarun on April 15, 2008, 01:52:27 PM
yes no way is he little
Post by: Fuzzman on April 16, 2008, 12:33:18 PM
Have we no takers for somebody who's been to most matches this year so far to give us a wee review on who's who and what's their strengths and weaknesses.

Does nobody know how Big Joey is coming along?
I've not saw enough of Justy but he looks a natural footballer who needs a run in the team.
I'd say he's not too keen on playing Full back though but sure who is?