GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Tankie on July 09, 2007, 07:55:14 PM

Title: Super Dubs once again Biggest Crowd pullers
Post by: Tankie on July 09, 2007, 07:55:14 PM
QuoteCroker already sold out
07 July 2007

The Leinster Council has confirmed that the provincial football decider between Dublin and Laois is now a sell-out and has admitted that demand has comprehensively exceeded supply.

All reserves of tickets have emptied after Laois sold their allocation in record time and as a result there was no public sale of tickets from the Laois County Board.

Dublin's allocation of 25,000 tickets wasn't nearly enough to satisfy demand from clubs in the Capital and the County Board could have sold close to double that figure.

The sell-out ensures that 320,000 fans will have witnessed Dublin's Leinster campaign after three bumper Croke Park crowds for their two tussles' with Meath and their semi-final defeat of Offaly.

I think its offical that we are pretty much bank-rolling every other county in Leinster!
Title: Re: Super Dubs once again Biggest Crowd pullers
Post by: Gnevin on July 09, 2007, 08:06:43 PM
Great to see so many interest in GAA in Dublin.
I wonder if they will have 3 or 4 games on before the 1/4 final (if and when dublin get there)
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 09, 2007, 08:20:58 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 09, 2007, 07:55:14 PM
07 July 2007

The Leinster Council has confirmed that the provincial football decider between Dublin and Laois is now a sell-out and has admitted that demand has comprehensively exceeded supply.

All reserves of tickets have emptied after Laois sold their allocation in record time and as a result there was no public sale of tickets from the Laois County Board.

Dublin's allocation of 25,000 tickets wasn't nearly enough to satisfy demand from clubs in the Capital and the County Board could have sold close to double that figure.

The sell-out ensures that 320,000 fans will have witnessed Dublin's Leinster campaign after three bumper Croke Park crowds for their two tussles' with Meath and their semi-final defeat of Offaly.

I think its offical that we are pretty much bank-rolling every other county in Leinster!
quite an achievement considering your population.   ::)
Post by: Gnevin on July 09, 2007, 08:23:50 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 09, 2007, 08:20:58 PM
07 July 2007

What's population got to do with it. I don't see 80,000 turning up to see London or NY play
Post by: ziggysego on July 09, 2007, 08:34:27 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 09, 2007, 08:23:50 PM
What's population got to do with it. I don't see 80,000 turning up to see London or NY play

No Gaelic grounds in London or NY holds 80,000 Gnevin ;)
Post by: Tankie on July 09, 2007, 08:41:27 PM
07 July 2007

Bitter as a lemon pintsofguinness! :-X
Post by: Gnevin on July 09, 2007, 08:48:16 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 09, 2007, 08:34:27 PM

Ok but their a city's in UK and Europe that have over 2 million people and the local soccer team wouldnt get anywhere near 20,000 let alone 80,000 and its not like following the Dubs is a sure thing . Like the bigger clubs in the uk
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 09, 2007, 08:50:17 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 09, 2007, 08:41:27 PM
07 July 2007

Bitter as a lemon pintsofguinness! :-X

I'm very pleasant actually.

Don't talk such shite about bank rolling every other county in Leinster when you clearly start out with quite an advantage!
Post by: Maguire01 on July 09, 2007, 09:02:33 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 09, 2007, 08:48:16 PM

Ok but their a city's in UK and Europe that have over 2 million people and the local soccer team wouldnt get anywhere near 20,000 let alone 80,000 and its not like following the Dubs is a sure thing . Like the bigger clubs in the uk

How can you compare dublin GAA with London or New York?
Firstly, it's largely only ex-pats who play/watch GAA outside Ireland. Secondly, London has how many premiership clubs? (I honestly don't know - i'm not into soccer, but i know there's a few and would guess that if there was only one, they'd hardly have a problem topping 80,000) You're argument doesn't really stand up.
You can't separate the level of support for Dublin from the fact that it has over 20% of the country's population.
Post by: Gnevin on July 09, 2007, 09:07:36 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 09, 2007, 09:02:33 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 09, 2007, 08:48:16 PM

How can you compare dublin GAA with London or New York?
Firstly, it's largely only ex-pats who play/watch GAA outside Ireland. Secondly, London has how many premiership clubs? (I honestly don't know - i'm not into soccer, but i know there's a few and would guess that if there was only one, they'd hardly have a problem topping 80,000) You're argument doesn't really stand up.
You can't separate the level of support for Dublin from the fact that it has over 20% of the country's population.
I wasnt seriously comparing Dublin GAA and London or NY , i just hate this population argument .
At the end of the day their are many soccer/rugby/other sports clubs in parts of the world  with far larger populations who would love to get 20,000 in crowds let alone 80,000
Post by: Maguire01 on July 09, 2007, 09:16:36 PM
Using the approximate figures below for comparison:

Monaghan - Population 55,000
Dublin - Population 1186,000

A crowd of 82,000 Dubs represents approx 6.7% of the county's population.
If only 6.7% of Monaghan's population was to turn up, there'd be a grand total of 3685 at their games.

I know these are very crude measurements, but 82,000 looks much less impressive when you do consider the population differences.
Yes, the Dubs do bring great support and money to the games (although not always in time for the start of the game  :P ), but to ignore the population in your analysis just doesn't work.
Post by: deiseach on July 09, 2007, 09:19:58 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 09, 2007, 09:07:36 PM
I wasnt seriously comparing Dublin GAA and London or NY , i just hate this population argument .
At the end of the day their are many soccer/rugby/other sports clubs in parts of the world  with far larger populations who would love to get 20,000 in crowds let alone 80,000

Having a small population has never done Kilkenny any harm.
Having a large population has never done Antrim any good.

As you say, population isn't everything.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 09, 2007, 09:24:24 PM
Quote from: deiseach on July 09, 2007, 09:19:58 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 09, 2007, 09:07:36 PM

Having a small population has never done Kilkenny any harm.
Having a large population has never done Antrim any good.

As you say, population isn't everything.

Yes, but for Antrim, you'd probably have to discount at least 60-70% of the population to get a better idea of the population that would play/have an interest in/have schools who participate in GAA.
Post by: Tankie on July 09, 2007, 09:26:29 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 09, 2007, 09:16:36 PM

If only 6.7% of Monaghan's population was to turn up, there'd be a grand total of 3685 at their games.

I know these are very crude measurements, but 82,000 looks much less impressive when you do consider the population differences.
Yes, the Dubs do bring great support and money to the games (although not always in time for the start of the game  :P ), but to ignore the population in your analysis just doesn't work.

And how any of that population figure are actual Dubs?
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on July 09, 2007, 09:30:04 PM
Every year, before nearly every Dublin championship match, we have to look at stuff like this. I don't think I'm the only one that's tired of it; let's see if we can settle it once and for all.

Now, the first thing we need to understand is the concept of per capita; it's important in statistics to be able to tell the difference between how much something affects a group of people and the rate at which it affects that same group of people. I found a link to help you fellas get this. It's written for journalists originally - the poor eejit that wrote it probably doesn't even know there's such a thing as a "Dub" - but it should get the point across.

http://www.robertniles.com/stats/percap.shtml

Got all that? The important thing isn't that eighty thousand are going to Croke Park; it's much more interesting to know what that works out per capita. At what rate are the Super Dubs the biggest crowd pullers.

Now, I notice that Tankie clearly thinks that the only people in the ground will be supporting Dublin. This is not the case. It is the Leinster Final, and therefore it's the Leinster total population that counts. After all, as I said on another thread, you Dubs wouldn't like to be in there in Croker just playing with yourselves, now would you? Happily we have the latest census figures to hand from the CSO, to help us do our sums:

http://www.cso.ie/statistics/popofeachprovcountycity2006.htm

Working it out on the back of an envelope, we see that the Leinster Final will have a per capita attendance rate of 3.49% ((80,000/2295123)*100 of course). Three point four nine per cent of the available population of super Dubs, once again the biggest crowd pullers, will attend the Leinster final - not on time of course, but who owns a watch in these hard times? So is this the best in the country?

If Doctor Hyde Park holds 30,000, the Connacht Final had a per capita attendance of 5.95% yesterday. Much better than the Super Dubs.

It's 30,000 odd for Kilarney too, isn't it? That a Munster per capita of 2.55%, worse than Leinster, but not as good as Connacht.

Sadly, we can't do the sums for Ulster as we are limited to Free State statistics, so we have to end it there. But I think it's fair to conclude, my learned colleagues all, that this super Dubs one again biggest crowd pleasers stuff is all of dubious legitimacy. QED.  ;)
Post by: deiseach on July 09, 2007, 09:34:01 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 09, 2007, 09:24:24 PM
Yes, but for Antrim, you'd probably have to discount at least 60-70% of the population to get a better idea of the population that would play/have an interest in/have schools who participate in GAA.

Ah, I see. So when calculating the pool for potential GAA fans in a particular county, you discount people who have no interest in the GAA - except in Dublin. Thanks for that.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 09, 2007, 09:38:48 PM
Quote from: deiseach on July 09, 2007, 09:34:01 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 09, 2007, 09:24:24 PM

Ah, I see. So when calculating the pool for potential GAA fans in a particular county, you discount people who have no interest in the GAA - except in Dublin. Thanks for that.

Well no, obviously.  But it's a bigger issue in northern counties. 
Post by: johnpower on July 09, 2007, 09:40:08 PM
Thanks Super Dubs we are so gratefull to you all , Look at the population you guys have you could easily have 2 teams . Remember the proposal a  number of years back . Indeed one recently retired Dublin player thought there were some merits on the proposal pointing out that it had seemed to work ok for Meath and Westmeath.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 09, 2007, 10:10:58 PM
2004 Mayo V Fermanagh

55,000 Mayo fans attend representing 46% of our entire population. Some parts of Mayo are 1-1&half hours West of Castlebar, on a quite day with  light traffic Castlebar is 3&half hours from Dublin{5 hours+ from some parts of the County}. Only 1 normal train runs early enough in the morning to reach Dublin in time for a match (sometimes a second special match train) train service only accessable to circa 30% of Mayo population.

Fermanagh had an even higher percentage of their Nationalist population.

Now compare that the Dublin where you can fall out of bed an hour before a game and still get there early(if you choose) using public transport, I know its very very very easy to do so, I used to live in the Southside of Dublin & go to Croker every weekend Mayo where not playing a game elsewhere.

Post by: Tankie on July 09, 2007, 11:03:13 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 09, 2007, 09:26:29 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 09, 2007, 09:16:36 PM

And how any of that population figure are actual Dubs?

Lads I note all your stats but i am still waiting for the Dublin figure when you take the Foreign Nationals, Foreign economic migrants and culchies out of the Dublin population what is the figure.

Also i see some figures being thrown out for mayo having 55k fans at a game, Dublin had 70k at a Leinster Q/F! for a match that really got the publics imagination which was a Leinster Q/F replay there were not enough tickets!
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 09, 2007, 11:09:28 PM
Its far harder to take 55,000 (of a total pop. of 120,000)fans from at closest 120 miles - 200 miles+ (depending what part of Mayo) with most returning home from a County with virtually no proper public transport system to Croker than to get 70,000 Dubs most no more than 5 miles away from a population of 1.2 million to Croker. Also remember alot of them are neutrals living in Dublin, before you respond to that they go to matches in Croker whether Dublin is playing or not. To get to a match in Croker from Castlebar for example which is in the centre of Mayo you have to be up out of your bed to attend the match before 7 am (half 5 from places like Achill, Louisbourg, or Belmullet) compare this to most of Dublins fans who can get out of bet @ 12.30 or 1pm, head down the pub & still get to the match on time (if they are bothered)
Post by: Tankie on July 09, 2007, 11:29:06 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 09, 2007, 11:09:28 PM
Its far harder to take 55,000 (of a total pop. of 120,000)fans from at closest 120 miles - 200 miles+ (depending what part of Mayo) with most returning home from a County with virtually no proper public transport system to Croker than to get 70,000 Dubs most no more than 5 miles away from a population of 1.2 million to Croker. Also remember alot of them are neutrals living in Dublin, before you respond to that they go to matches in Croker whether Dublin is playing or not. To get to a match in Croker from Castlebar for example which is in the centre of Mayo you have to be up out of your bed to attend the match before 7 am (half 5 from places like Achill, Louisbourg, or Belmullet) compare this to most of Dublins fans who can get out of bet @ 12.30 or 1pm, head down the pub & still get to the match on time (if they are bothered)

as i've said these 55k are willing to hit the road when its well into the campionship, where are these 55k when it come to the provincial final. also the last time dublin had to travel i think was 2001 and huge numbers traveled, i think there was 35k in thurles and that was before the band wagon got rolling and hadnt won a Leinster in 6 years.

but i will say that mayo have great support and have a lot of time for their fans, i was at the league game in castlebar and there was a huge crowd there.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 09, 2007, 11:33:08 PM
And what great fans the Dubs are too as the clip below shows ::)

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=6hES9I31QGM
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 09, 2007, 11:38:15 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 09, 2007, 11:29:06 PM

as i've said these 55k are willing to hit the road when its well into the campionship, where are these 55k when it come to the provincial final. also the last time dublin had to travel i think was 2001 and huge numbers traveled, i think there was 35k in thurles and that was before the band wagon got rolling and hadnt won a Leinster in 6 years.

but i will say that mayo have great support and have a lot of time for their fans, i was at the league game in castlebar and there was a huge crowd there.

Mayo tends to take 20,000 plus to Connacht Semis & Finals away from home, in every league game Mayo played this year they had more or an equal number of fans as the home fans in all venues except Tyrone when we had already qualified & it was a crunch game for the home team, & still we had a good number in comparrison. (strangely the interest seemed to drop for the Final). When we where down in Cork a few Cork people told me there was more Mayo people (and far more vocal too) than when the last time the Dubs visited, remember it is 5&half hours min by car from Castlebar. We did not have a comfy public transport train to take us home, but long poor roads.

I and most GAA people accept that the Dubs have great fans, but many counties can match or beat them, Cork hurling, Mayo, Tyrone & Armagh football for example, Kildare & Meath fans usually good too.
Post by: stew on July 09, 2007, 11:54:38 PM
Super Dubs need to mix in a feckin AI win, it's been a while thank God.
Post by: Tankie on July 10, 2007, 12:02:30 AM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 09, 2007, 11:38:15 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 09, 2007, 11:29:06 PM

Mayo tends to take 20,000 plus to Connacht Semis & Finals away from home, in every league game Mayo played this year they had more or an equal number of fans as the home fans in all venues except Tyrone when we had already qualified & it was a crunch game for the home team, & still we had a good number in comparrison. (strangely the interest seemed to drop for the Final). When we where down in Cork a few Cork people told me there was more Mayo people (and far more vocal too) than when the last time the Dubs visited, remember it is 5&half hours min by car from Castlebar. We did not have a comfy public transport train to take us home, but long poor roads.

I and most GAA people accept that the Dubs have great fans, but many counties can match or beat them, Cork hurling, Mayo, Tyrone & Armagh football for example, Kildare & Meath fans usually good too.

Do most GAA people really think that about the dubs. this board is full of insults and slander about really dublin gaa fans. just look at the previous post, some p***k throws a bottle and its thrown up against real dublin fans. why dont we start slagging mayo fans over their 'FIRM', because we all no Mayo gaa fan aint into it.
Post by: Gnevin on July 10, 2007, 12:07:45 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 09, 2007, 11:33:08 PM

Laoislad you've been on this board some time i respect your opinions on GAA matters but you constant negativity towards the dubs is pissing me off . Could you not work a Coke reference into the above or are you saving it for a other thread?
Post by: INDIANA on July 10, 2007, 12:15:04 AM
you're dealing with half-heads like laois lad and the rest of his cronies who are doing their best to wind you up -don't indulge them and let them get back to their kindergarten. Like i said they'd be the first to be whingeing if they didn't have enough money to build a clubhouse etc. People can say what they like but 6m in hard cash is the bottom line.
Laois lad is great at putting up pics of dublin fans but the reason i go to the Hill is because of Laois fans- after nearly getting a glass bottle in the head thrown by some scum from laois in 2003 - i decided whatever rabble inhabit the hill couldn't be any worse than those thugs. The biggest pricks I've ever come across as Gaa fans are from laois - real angry gits and some of the abuse i've seen them heap on their own players is 10 times worse than any thug ii've stood beside in the Hill. Some of them are every bit as bad as some of the scumbags we get on the Hill.
Post by: mannix on July 10, 2007, 08:00:19 AM
Lets see now, if Johnny has 1.1 million marbles and Tommo has 65,000 thousand marbles who has the most marbles.Remember now Tommo is from the country where marbles are easily played and Johnny is from a big town where even if it was easy to play they still would be useless.
Dangit,no matter how I divide or subtract Johnny still has more marbles.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 10, 2007, 08:29:58 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 10, 2007, 12:07:45 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 09, 2007, 11:33:08 PM

Laoislad you've been on this board some time i respect your opinions on GAA matters but you constant negativity towards the dubs is pissing me off . Could you not work a Coke reference into the above or are you saving it for a other thread?

Jaysis relax Gnevin im only having a laugh i don't mean any of it,Sure aren't i going out with/living in sin with a lovely Dublin girl from Bailinteer and my sister in law is from Raheeny
Sure ye'll have yer own back when ye hammer us on sunday

Quote from: INDIANA on July 10, 2007, 12:15:04 AM
you're dealing with half-heads like laois lad and the rest of his cronies who are doing their best to wind you up -don't indulge them and let them get back to their kindergarten. Like i said they'd be the first to be whingeing if they didn't have enough money to build a clubhouse etc. People can say what they like but 6m in hard cash is the bottom line.
Laois lad is great at putting up pics of dublin fans but the reason i go to the Hill is because of Laois fans- after nearly getting a glass bottle in the head thrown by some scum from laois in 2003 - i decided whatever rabble inhabit the hill couldn't be any worse than those thugs. The biggest pricks I've ever come across as Gaa fans are from laois - real angry gits and some of the abuse i've seen them heap on their own players is 10 times worse than any thug ii've stood beside in the Hill. Some of them are every bit as bad as some of the scumbags we get on the Hill.

Your just a tool INDIANA ::) How many times now have i heard your story about your experience with Laois fans as if i gave a f**k.I have said on numerous occasions every county has their fair share of bad eggs not least Laois,Just seems most posters can take a bit of banter not you though it seems
As for your comment about Laois fans being real angry gits......Eh ever hear the story about the pot calling the kettle black?
Post by: Hound on July 10, 2007, 09:13:51 AM
Quote from: mannix on July 10, 2007, 08:00:19 AM
Lets see now, if Johnny has 1.1 million marbles and Tommo has 65,000 thousand marbles who has the most marbles.Remember now Tommo is from the country where marbles are easily played and Johnny is from a big town where even if it was easy to play they still would be useless.
Dangit,no matter how I divide or subtract Johnny still has more marbles.
But you'd have to be really stupid to think Johnny has 1.1m marbles.

Take out the culchies living in Dublin who support their own county, and take out the foreigners who have no interest, take out all the locals who have as much interest in (and often despise) the GAA as our orange friends up North and you get a fairer picture. Every county has some of these, but I've no doubt that Dublin has one of the highest percentages and of course by a distance the highest in actual numbers. Also if Croke Park had a 100,000 capacity there would be close to 100,000 at the Leinster Final.

There is no doubt that Dublin has great support and that Dublin supporters do contribute hugely to the coffers of the Leinster Council. Also the Dublin "summer support" get treated very unfairly compared to how the "summer supporters" in other counties get treated (i.e. if you're a Laois supporter who's not a club member and only been to a couple of games all year, you've a signficantly better chance of getting a ticket that your Dublin counterpart).

There is also no doubt that some other counties have terrific support too, and that country people contribute hugely in time and effort to many Dublin GAA clubs.
Post by: Gnevin on July 10, 2007, 09:18:11 AM
The whole population argument is flawed, it's not a case of build it and they will come . Dublin are still doing extremely well to be getting these numbers , it should be remember that not one of the famous 4 in a row games sold out at Croke Park which could only hold 60ish back then. So getting 70+ for a Offaly game that was never going to be lost is impressive
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on July 10, 2007, 09:43:40 AM
Shouldn't the number of GAA clubs in a county be factored into the attendance argument? That would be a useful metric when calculating the attendance statistic. I don't really buy into the 'Dublin has a million people therefore they should have 100K supporters'. There's parts of Dublin where GAA would be virtually non-existent with respect to other sports.  And there's the whole non-national factor also.

Post by: IolarCoisCuain on July 10, 2007, 09:55:51 AM
If it's just a question of sheer numbers going through the gate, why not scrap football entirely and follow Eamon Dunphy's suggestion - set up Dublin City FC to play Premiership soccer and then you'd have 50,000+ going through the gate every second week? But it's meant to be more than the bottom line, isn't it? Isn't this meant to be a cultural thing as well? Why don't we ever talk about that instead of revenue, revenue, revenue?
Post by: Gnevin on July 10, 2007, 09:58:32 AM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on July 10, 2007, 09:55:51 AM
If it's just a question of sheer numbers going through the gate, why not scrap football entirely and follow Eamon Dunphy's suggestion - set up Dublin City FC to play Premiership soccer and then you'd have 50,000+ going through the gate every second week? But it's meant to be more than the bottom line, isn't it? Isn't this meant to be a cultural thing as well? Why don't we ever talk about that instead of revenue, revenue, revenue?
Because its revenue, revenue, revenue that allows us to do the cultural things . A Dublin City FC wouldn't get 50,000 as soccer is boring as shit and the thrill would wear off after a few years
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 10, 2007, 10:06:43 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 10, 2007, 09:58:32 AM
Because its revenue, revenue, revenue that allows us to do the cultural things . A Dublin City FC wouldn't get 50,000 as soccer is boring as shit and the thrill would wear off after a few years

If Dubs drop off to level of about 10'th - 12'th best team in the country, they can't win Leinster, Dubs attending a Dublin match to drop by circa 60%, most country counties it would not result in as big a drop off, in the hard core counties it would hardly change their support at all.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on July 10, 2007, 10:10:55 AM

A Dublin City FC wouldn't get 50,000 as soccer is boring as shit and the thrill would wear off after a few years

The Porterhouse Bar in Phibsboro - a fifteen minute walk from Croke Park itself - was showing Premiership soccer on the bar's main screen and the All-Ireland final in a back room on All-Ireland Football Final day. Every time I've gone to Fagan's in Drumcondra for the Sunday feed I see Premiership soccer on the big screen and GAA on the portable telly above the door, if you're lucky. I think they'd find their gates for their soccer alright.
Post by: Gnevin on July 10, 2007, 10:12:11 AM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 10, 2007, 10:06:43 AM

If Dubs drop off to level of about 10'th - 12'th best team in the country, they can't win Leinster, Dubs attending a Dublin match to drop by circa 60%, most country counties it would not result in as big a drop off, in the hard core counties it would hardly change their support at all.
Thats strange i seem to remember very large crowds 1996-2002 and  2003,04 . No where near your magical 60%
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 10, 2007, 10:15:15 AM
Actually down in Mayo listening to 98fm on the computer, I don't know why, used to live in Dublin. However the sh!te they are spouting about the Dubs is one of the reason that everyone turns on the Dubs, I know its a Dublin station, but you would never hear the likes of "we are going to hammer the sh!te out of so&so (Laois) at the weekend", a country station would use at best the real Culchie phrase when the certain they going to win "sure we quietly confident, that New York/London/Kilkenny{football} team got some handy players"  ;)

Well Dublin did win the AI in 1995 so I would expect a big following for a few years.

Try being decades away from success and still bring the Faithfull (not talking about Offaly here  ;)  ) legions all around the Country in their tens of thousands.

Post by: Gnevin on July 10, 2007, 10:15:20 AM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on July 10, 2007, 10:10:55 AM

A Dublin City FC wouldn't get 50,000 as soccer is boring as shit and the thrill would wear off after a few years

The Porterhouse Bar in Phibsboro - a fifteen minute walk from Croke Park itself - was showing Premiership soccer on the bar's main screen and the All-Ireland final in a back room on All-Ireland Football Final day. Every time I've gone to Fagan's in Drumcondra for the Sunday feed I see Premiership soccer on the big screen and GAA on the portable telly above the door, if you're lucky. I think they'd find their gates for their soccer alright.
Every time ! Even in June,July and early August. They must be mad into soccer, what league are they watching ?
Post by: Gnevin on July 10, 2007, 10:22:22 AM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 10, 2007, 10:15:15 AM
Actually down in Mayo listening to 98fm on the computer, I don't know why, used to live in Dublin. However the sh!te they are spouting about the Dubs is one of the reason that everyone turns on the Dubs, I know its a Dublin station, but you would never hear the likes of "we are going to hammer the sh!te out of so&so (Laois) at the weekend", a country station would use at best the real Culchie phrase when the certain they going to win "sure we quietly confident, that New York/London/Kilkenny{football} team got some handy players"  ;)

Well Dublin did win the AI in 1995 so I would expect a big following for a few years.

Try being decades away from success and still bring the Faithfull (not talking about Offaly here  ;)  ) legions all around the Country in their tens of thousands.

You can't listen to bandwagon radio stations in Dublin who "support" the Dubs ie come July are number 1 supporters .
So now your saying being decades away from a last Leinster which put Dublin not 10th or 12th but 24th . Make up your mind and stop trying to change your point when its proved wrong
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 10, 2007, 10:22:57 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 10, 2007, 10:15:20 AM

Every time ! Even in June,July and early August. They must be mad into soccer, what league are they watching ?

A few years ago when Galway minors where playing in the AI(about 2 years ago), the special train was leaving early, so the Galway fans had to leave @ half-time in the senior game {so RTE shouldn't have been slagging them off, get your facts straight RTE} well the Galway Minor fans where watching the end of the second hald in Heuston Station in the Galway Hooker, where I was also watching, the second the game ended the barmen turned it over to some random non-league soccer, the crowd in the pub went ape-sh!te that they not showing the presentation, the barman said sure its over, until one very smart Galwayman shouted "sure the 3'rd quarters about to start" & the eejit turned the GAA back on, the whole pub nearly fell over with laughter.
Post by: Gnevin on July 10, 2007, 10:27:35 AM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 10, 2007, 10:22:57 AM

A few years ago when Galway minors where playing in the AI(about 2 years ago), the special train was leaving early, so the Galway fans had to leave @ half-time in the senior game {so RTE shouldn't have been slagging them off, get your facts straight RTE} well the Galway Minor fans where watching the end of the second hald in Heuston Station in the Galway Hooker, where I was also watching, the second the game ended the barmen turned it over to some random non-league soccer, the crowd in the pub went ape-sh!te that they not showing the presentation, the barman said sure its over, until one very smart Galwayman shouted "sure the 3'rd quarters about to start" & the eejit turned the GAA back on, the whole pub nearly fell over with laughter.
Wow that reminds me of.................. random bullshit story in  Mayo which proves f all but on the face of it makes it look like Mayo people don't like GAA . Random funny statement.  More BS . Point proved   ::) ::) ::)
Post by: INDIANA on July 10, 2007, 10:35:05 AM
Your just a tool INDIANA  How many times now have i heard your story about your experience with Laois fans as if i gave a f**k.I have said on numerous occasions every county has their fair share of bad eggs not least Laois,Just seems most posters can take a bit of banter not you though it seems
As for your comment about Laois fans being real angry gits......Eh ever hear the story about the pot calling the kettle black?

Playing the same record time and time again gets pedantic mate- with the amount of culchies i saw doing random drugs  at the oxygen festival last weekend- Ireland's drug problem is universal at this stage.
As for the comment about population-every county is full of bandwagon supporters just that countryfolk claim a holier than thou attitude because they come from a rural parish that you can't be a "real "Gaa fan unless you're a bogger. So they don't watch the Premiership in bogland- they won't watch the munster rugby team etc do us a favour. There are more players on the Irish soccer team from rural districts than from Dublin so play another record.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 10, 2007, 10:43:03 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 10, 2007, 08:29:58 AM

Your just a tool INDIANA ::) How many times now have i heard your story about your experience with Laois fans as if i gave a f**k.I have said on numerous occasions every county has their fair share of bad eggs not least Laois,Just seems most posters can take a bit of banter not you though it seems

Don't agree, sounds like your making excuses for counties which do have a problem with some of their fans!
I have yet to hear a bad story involving a Donegal fan in my 20 odd years of going to inter-county matches, also would include Fermanagh fans and Monaghan and Antrim fans in that statement.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on July 10, 2007, 10:44:26 AM

I don't go into Fagan's during the summer - the carvery is a bit heavy for the good weather, don't you think? But in September, October, November, December, January, February, March, April and May it's soccer, soccer, soccer in there. And if they can't show Premiership they'll show Championship, Burnley v Crystal Palace or something equally wretched, before they'll put on TG4 and the GAA.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 10, 2007, 10:54:17 AM
Story true, but not relevant to the argument. Just popped into the head, I have just turned of that station because well I think the crap from it is clouding my judgement @ the moment, its causing the red mist to rise on front of my eyes.

The point I really mean to get across is that Dublin have good fans, but no better than anyone else, many counties have fans who followed in massive numbers for decades without Sam's or some without Provincials.

What really gets people from other counties up in anger is often when National (not local) Media acts as if Dublin is a national team, and the rest of us are Johnny Foreigner.
Also a lot of Dublin fans you meet seem to believe the Media hype & keep telling you about it as if it is the truth.
Post by: tayto on July 10, 2007, 10:54:22 AM
Jesus wept do yez never get tired of this bloody argument and counter argument!  ::)

If we could somehow hook it up to the national grid we'd have free electricity for all.
Post by: Gnevin on July 10, 2007, 11:17:36 AM
Quote from: tayto on July 10, 2007, 10:54:22 AM
Jesus wept
Did he really? I mean if he didn't cry when he was born, why would he cry later in life/death.  ;)
Post by: Hound on July 10, 2007, 11:19:01 AM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 10, 2007, 10:54:17 AM
What really gets people from other counties up in anger is often when National (not local) Media acts as if Dublin is a national team, and the rest of us are Johnny Foreigner.
Yes, please post up all these articles from the Times, Independent and Examiner.

Oh,,,, you can't find any.......

Well then stop making up shyte, and go back to listening to the great GAA coverage on 98fm  ::)

EDIT: Just realised that Fishead probably thinks the Sun, Star and Hearld is the national media. That would account for the stuff he puts in his posts alright.
Post by: Tankie on July 10, 2007, 11:38:06 AM
Story true, but not relevant to the argument. Just popped into the head, I have just turned of that station because well I think the crap from it is clouding my judgement @ the moment, its causing the red mist to rise on front of my eyes.

The point I really mean to get across is that Dublin have good fans, but no better than anyone else, many counties have fans who followed in massive numbers for decades without Sam's or some without Provincials.

Also a lot of Dublin fans you meet seem to believe the Media hype & keep telling you about it as if it is the truth.

Jesus Fishead, I was in some sports pub when we played mayo in the league game in castlebar and there were three lads wearing Celtic jerseys!!! and to make thing worse the were watching division two soccer or something!

Like what type of a county is Mayo, soccer MAD i guess ::) 

Post by: magpie seanie on July 10, 2007, 11:41:41 AM
Both sides seem to have valid arguments here. However there is a quare amount of rubbish being spouted too. It is great that the ground is getting filled so often and this does provide the Leinster council with badly needed funds to grant to clubs etc. However, its not a hand out and the clubs will have to match the funding in some way and work bloody hard to use the funds wisely. And I'm sure a good proportion of money goes to hard working Dublin GAA clubs as well as ones outside Dublin.

I have no time for bandwagon fans of any county. Dublin have a bad name for this but its only because they've decent support to start with. However, all counties get it in roughly the same proportion. Some of the crap going on about Sligo at the moment is embarrassing.

And we will never solve the Dubs v. Culchies argument.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 10, 2007, 11:42:06 AM
Quote from: Hound on July 10, 2007, 11:19:01 AM
Yes, please post up all these articles from the Times, Independent and Examiner.

Well then stop making up shyte, and go back to listening to the great GAA coverage on 98fm  ::)

EDIT: Just realised that Fishead probably thinks the Sun, Star and Hearld is the national media. That would account for the stuff he puts in his posts alright.

Well done Hound, I read the Times, Independent and Examiner, but when I lived in Dublin for years the likes of Sun, Star and Hearld seemd to be all the natives read, have to admit I used keep slagging them on reading gutter-rags rather than Newspapers, can be a little arrogant @ times.

Now from the proper media RTE is very bad at falling into the trap of Dublin being the only team. An example of which is go get the full Mayo V Dublin match last year in the Semi. It you listen to the commentry before and look how the camera only focuses on the Dublin fans, its sickening, I was there and it was about 60-40 in Support in Dublins favour, but if you watch the dvd of Dublins coverage you would think that there was about 5 Mayo people, lucky enough those 5 people sounded like they could shout like 35,000  ;)

People should really be having a go @ the Media rather than the Dubs, but then you hear some of their fans repeating the rubbish and its hard to seperate both. Val Daly wrecks my head.
Post by: Declan on July 10, 2007, 11:49:44 AM
QuoteAnd we will never solve the Dubs v. Culchies argument.

True for you Seanie
Post by: The Hill is Blue on July 10, 2007, 12:07:32 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 10, 2007, 11:41:41 AM

Yes – but it's great fun.  ;)

Well done Sligo!
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 10, 2007, 12:15:48 PM
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on July 10, 2007, 12:07:32 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 10, 2007, 11:41:41 AM

Yes – but it's great fun.  ;)

Well done Sligo!

True The Hill is Blue (except when its Green & Red)  ;)

Best of luck to Dublin & Laois at the weekend, little secret you have to be from Kiltimagh to be a real Culchie, the rest of us are just mere boggers  :D
Post by: Boozehell on July 10, 2007, 02:26:07 PM
The only reason Dublin gets so many supporters is because of the many pubs around.  Where else could you go to a match spend 3 hours in a pub, turn up for a match at 5.00 and still walk in to see the throw in? 

The sooner the Dublin fans start missing games by getting locked out of the ground after a certain time the better as it would teach them a lesson that the GAA does not revolve around them.
Post by: INDIANA on July 10, 2007, 03:00:50 PM
You joined just to post that? what a loser.
Post by: Boozehell on July 10, 2007, 03:10:53 PM
Well then can you explain why is it every Dublin match is held up for at least 15 or 20 minutes every time there is a game at Croke Park.  Why can't they just turn up on time?
Post by: SuperSub on July 10, 2007, 03:48:28 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 10, 2007, 10:35:05 AM
Playing the same record time and time again gets pedantic mate- with the amount of culchies i saw doing random drugs  at the oxygen festival last weekend- Ireland's drug problem is universal at this stage.
As for the comment about population-every county is full of bandwagon supporters just that countryfolk claim a holier than thou attitude because they come from a rural parish that you can't be a "real "Gaa fan unless you're a bogger. So they don't watch the Premiership in bogland- they won't watch the munster rugby team etc do us a favour. There are more players on the Irish soccer team from rural districts than from Dublin so play another record.

Quote from: INDIANA on July 10, 2007, 03:00:50 PM
You joined just to post that? what a loser.

God you have some serious issues Indy,Your a very bitter person you should seek help from someone.
And FFS I don't post here too often but every time i do you have a story about the time you were abused by Laois fans 3 or 4 years ago change the bloody record

Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 10, 2007, 10:43:03 AM

Don't agree, sounds like your making excuses for counties which do have a problem with some of their fans!
I have yet to hear a bad story involving a Donegal fan in my 20 odd years of going to inter-county matches, also would include Fermanagh fans and Monaghan and Antrim fans in that statement.

So Donegal have no bad element to them at all,Your all angels up there are you..Give me a break FFS every county has a minority who cause hassle at games
Post by: Boozehell on July 10, 2007, 03:58:56 PM
Unfortunately it's not just the Dublin Fans that have some bad elements it is the Dublin Players aswell.  I'm referring back to the match when they threw a hissy fit just because they could not warm in front of their fans on Hill 16 and also the match in the National League a couple of years ago against Tyrone.  For any kids watching it was nothing short of a disgrace and because it was Dublin it was just swept under the carpet.
Post by: Tankie on July 10, 2007, 04:00:33 PM
Quote from: Boozehell on July 10, 2007, 03:58:56 PM
Unfortunately it's not just the Dublin Fans that have some bad elements it is the Dublin Players aswell.  I'm referring back to the match when they threw a hissy fit just because they could not warm in front of their fans on Hill 16 and also the match in the National League a couple of years ago against Tyrone.  For any kids watching it was nothing short of a disgrace and because it was Dublin it was just swept under the carpet.

Who is this muppet, i think its better he's just ignored! ::)
Post by: SuperSub on July 10, 2007, 04:01:39 PM

Problem there is The Dubs think they own Croke Park and treat it as a Home venue
Post by: Boozehell on July 10, 2007, 04:10:37 PM
Quote from: SuperSub on July 10, 2007, 04:01:39 PM

Problem there is The Dubs think they own Croke Park and treat it as a Home venue

I agree.  They once tried to get a match to Croke Park all to themselves as so many of their supporters wanted to see the match.  Well boo hoo it is a shame that somebody else will get to see their team play in Croke Park and take a ticket away from a Dublin Supporter.
Post by: The Hill is Blue on July 10, 2007, 04:41:15 PM

We certainly owned Croke Park on that day back in the 1980s when Cork walked off the pitch in a sulk and refused to play extra time. What a cheer when Barney Rock shot the winning goal into an empty net while the Cork team were on their way to the railway station.

One of the great days to be a Dub in Croker!

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 10, 2007, 04:49:18 PM
It was a pity that the referee did not blow up Barney for over carrying or if Barney had put it wide it would have been some craic.
Post by: SuperSub on July 10, 2007, 04:52:08 PM
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on July 10, 2007, 04:41:15 PM

We certainly owned Croke Park on that day back in the 1980s when Cork walked off the pitch in a sulk and refused to play extra time. What a cheer when Barney Rock shot the winning goal into an empty net while the Cork team were on their way to the railway station.

One of the great days to be a Dub in Croker!

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Dublin have won two All Irelands since 1983.........
Cork have won two football All Irelands and seven hurling All Irelands in the same period....

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

I think i win ;)
Post by: Tankie on July 10, 2007, 04:56:51 PM

I dont think Dublin think they own Croke Park (even tho they have paid a shit load for it in gate receipts 6m so far this year), I think the problem is that we don't have a big enough stadium for when the bangwagon gets rolling! its grand for the Nordies when Clones is to small they can upgrade to Croker but we have no where  to go.

Maybe we could head over to Wembley or the Neu Camp ;) ;) ;)
Post by: The Hill is Blue on July 10, 2007, 04:58:01 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on July 10, 2007, 04:49:18 PM
..... or if Barney had put it wide it would have been some craic.

That was the big (what if) talking point after the game.  ;D
Post by: Gnevin on July 10, 2007, 04:58:12 PM

No the problem is culchies seem to think Dubs think they own Croke Park which is crap i'd love to hear the moaning if Dublin put major home games in parnell park
Post by: The Hill is Blue on July 10, 2007, 05:03:38 PM
Quote from: SuperSub on July 10, 2007, 04:52:08 PM

.....and who did they beat in both semi-finals on the way to those All Ireland wins?  ;D 
Post by: SuperSub on July 10, 2007, 05:07:34 PM
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on July 10, 2007, 05:03:38 PM

.....and who did they beat in both semi-finals on the way to those All Ireland wins?  ;D 

Ok you win ::)

Cork have won 9 All Irelands in the same time Dublin have won two....And all you can come back at me is that you beat Cork in the semis....Talk about scraping the bottom of the barrell
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 10, 2007, 05:11:47 PM
Quote from: SuperSub on July 10, 2007, 05:07:34 PM

Cork have won 9 All Irelands in the same time Dublin have won two....And all you can come back at me is that you beat Cork in the semis....Talk about scraping the bottom of the barrell

So its ok for me to remind him of the Semi in '06 ;D
Post by: The Hill is Blue on July 10, 2007, 05:21:28 PM

Face up to it – when the Cork footballers meet the Dubs in the championship they always fold.

Post by: Tankie on July 10, 2007, 05:40:52 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 10, 2007, 05:11:47 PM

Sorry Fishhead your only aloud to talk about semi - final wins if you go and win an actual All - Ireland some day. ;D

I heard you's have good women footballers over there tho :P
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 10, 2007, 05:45:28 PM
ah jesus tankie that was a low low blow even for a dub  ;) ;)
Post by: INDIANA on July 10, 2007, 06:39:59 PM
Cork have won two football All Irelands and seven hurling All Irelands in the same period....

please point me to the bit where you last beat dublin championship football?
silence is deafening.
Post by: charlie stubbs on July 10, 2007, 06:51:59 PM
congratulations,you do have the biggest population in the country and you never play a away championship game!
Post by: Rossfan on July 10, 2007, 06:55:18 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 10, 2007, 06:39:59 PM

silence is deafening.

Is the All Ireland only awarded to teams who beat Dublin ?? ::)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 10, 2007, 06:58:48 PM

silence is deafening.

Post by: SuperSub on July 10, 2007, 07:05:34 PM

silence is deafening.

What kind of a argument is that?
Do you really think i care who we beat on the way to winning an All Ireland?And from reading your posts in other threads you seem to be a big hurling fan...Wee bit jealous of the People's Republic are we?

As i said 2 Football  and 7 Hurling in 20 odd years,and all the Jackeens can crow about is being the biggest crowd pullers in the GAA  :D :D :D
As someone posted earlier you are a complete Tool INDY or as we say down here your a LANGER :D
Post by: Frank Casey on July 10, 2007, 07:06:06 PM
I'm being a pedantic Pat, but say 80,000 in Croker, cos ye want no one else inside there, out a population of almost 1.2m is around 7%.  Apply that to a few other counties and see who comes out best.
Will Monaghan, for example, have more that the equivalent 4,000 at the Ulster final next Sunday. ???

Figures below from the 2006 Census.

Population of each Province, County and City, 2006

Males Females Total Persons
Leinster 1,141,320  1,153,803  2,295,123 

Carlow 25,611  24,738  50,349 
Dublin 582,557  604,619  1,187,176 
of which
Dublin City 248,087  258,124  506,211 
Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown 92,899  101,139  194,038 
Fingal 119,200  120,792  239,992 
South Dublin 122,371 124,564 246,935
Kildare 94,190  92,145  186,335 
Kilkenny 44,263  43,295  87,558 
Laoighis 34,409  32,650  67,059 
Longford 17,573  16,818  34,391 
Louth 55,335  55,932  111,267 
Meath 82,651  80,180  162,831 
Offaly 35,937  34,931  70,868 
Westmeath 39,819  39,527  79,346 
Wexford 66,070  65,679  131,749 
Wicklow 62,905  63,289  126,194 

Munster 589,933  583,407  1,173,340 
Clare 56,048  54,902  110,950 
Cork 240,814  240,481  481,295 
of which
Cork City 58,449  60,969  119,418 
Cork County 182,365  179,512  361,877 
Kerry 70,641  69,194  139,835 
Limerick 92,680  91,375  184,055 
of which
Limerick City 25,698  26,841  52,539 
Limerick County 66,982  64,534  131,516 
North Tipperary  33,568  32,455  66,023 
South Tipperary  42,250  40,971  83,221 
Waterford 53,932  54,029  107,961 
of which     
Waterford City 22,622 23,126  45,748 
Waterford County 31,310  30,903  62,213 

Connacht 254,450  249,671  504,121 

Galway 116,476  115,194  231,670 
of which
Galway City 34,848  37,566  72,414 
Galway County 81,628  77,628  159,256 
Leitrim 14,903  14,047  28,950 
Mayo 62,636  61,203  123,839 
Roscommon 30,178  28,590  58,768 
Sligo 30,257  30,637  60,894 

Ulster (part of) 135,468  131,796  267,264 

Cavan 32,915  31,088  64,003 
Donegal 73,970  73,294  147,264 
Monaghan 28,583  27,414  55,997 

State 2,121,171  2,118,677  4,239,848 

Post by: INDIANA on July 10, 2007, 07:15:09 PM
As someone posted earlier you are a complete Tool INDY or as we say down here your a LANGER

Ahh! insults the last resort of a beaten man- just give us the date you last beat us in championship football-.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 10, 2007, 07:18:11 PM
Quote from: Frank Casey on July 10, 2007, 07:06:06 PM
I'm being a pedantic Pat, but say 80,000 in Croker, cos ye want no one else inside there, out a population of almost 1.2m is around 7%.  Apply that to a few other counties and see who comes out best.
Will Monaghan, for example, have more that the equivalent 4,000 at the Ulster final next Sunday. ???

of which

Laois are the 3rd least populated county in Leinster,Hadn't known that..
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 10, 2007, 07:21:10 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 10, 2007, 07:15:09 PM
As someone posted earlier you are a complete Tool INDY or as we say down here your a LANGER

Ahh! insults the last resort of a beaten man- just give us the date you last beat us in championship football-.

And whats that going to prove if he tells us? That Dublin have been better than Cork over the last 20 years  ???
Post by: Tankie on July 10, 2007, 08:22:15 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 10, 2007, 07:18:11 PM

of which

Once again the classic CSO stats but we are still looking for you's to provide the breakdown of actual Dubs from the 1.2m, when the culchies and the fofeigns are out how many are actual dubs?????

How long are you boys gonna dodge the question???
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 10, 2007, 09:00:01 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 10, 2007, 05:40:52 PM

Sorry Fishhead your only aloud to talk about semi - final wins if you go and win an actual All - Ireland some day. ;D

Surely you mean win another All-Ireland because we have won them, I can see us winning one before Dublin, so thats a long time for you too  ;D
Post by: Tankie on July 10, 2007, 09:03:28 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 10, 2007, 09:00:01 PM

Surely you mean win another All-Ireland because we have won them, I can see us winning one before Dublin, so thats a long time for you too  ;D

Not a chance Fishhead we will make it to an All Ireland final soon enough but i don't think we'll do the classic bottler's act that Mayo love so much :P
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 10, 2007, 09:04:39 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 10, 2007, 08:22:15 PM

of which

Once again the classic CSO stats but we are still looking for you's to provide the breakdown of actual Dubs from the 1.2m, when the culchies and the fofeigns are out how many are actual dubs?????

Maybe you Dubs should try a little Integration then, with all the Johnny Foreigners within your mists, and its supposed to be Country People wary of the Blow Ins  :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
Post by: Tankie on July 10, 2007, 09:06:52 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 10, 2007, 09:04:39 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 10, 2007, 08:22:15 PM

of which

Maybe you Dubs should try a little Integration then, with all the Johnny Foreigners within your mists, and its supposed to be Country People wary of the Blow Ins  :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

No Fishhead us Dubs aint short sighted and see the best in every one, but they aint Dubs! but another classic doge by the culchies - cant you just not get the figures for me since you's have figures for everything else!
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 10, 2007, 09:07:16 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 10, 2007, 09:03:28 PM

Not a chance Fishhead we will make it to an All Ireland final soon enough but i don't think we'll do the classic bottler's act that Mayo love so much :P

We may bottle Finals, but Dublin have managed to bottle nearly every other round up to that over the last decade. If ya can't get around the big boys from the big provinces you will never get to a Final again, I hear Sligo have set their eyes on beating you in the Quarters.  ;)
Post by: Frank Casey on July 10, 2007, 09:07:50 PM
Tankie - you shouldn't forget all those poor Dubs roaring around Louth, Kildare, Wicklow, Westmeath etc in their Arnott's jerseys cos they couldn't afford a gaff near their Mam's in Sallynoggin. ::)
Post by: Tankie on July 10, 2007, 09:10:15 PM
Quote from: Frank Casey on July 10, 2007, 09:07:50 PM
Tankie - you shouldn't forget all those poor Dubs roaring around Louth, Kildare, Wicklow, Westmeath etc in their Arnott's jerseys cos they couldn't afford a gaff near their Mam's in Sallynoggin. ::)

Yeah, f**king culchies buying our houses and renting them to other culchie students! >:(
Post by: Tankie on July 10, 2007, 09:11:11 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 10, 2007, 09:07:16 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 10, 2007, 09:03:28 PM

We may bottle Finals, but Dublin have managed to bottle nearly every other round up to that over the last decade. If ya can't get around the big boys from the big provinces you will never get to a Final again, I hear Sligo have set their eyes on beating you in the Quarters.  ;)

We don't bottle it, we just play shite :o
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 10, 2007, 09:17:33 PM
 http://www.cso.ie/census/census_2006_publication_dates.htm   (http://www.cso.ie/census/census_2006_publication_dates.htm)

Volume 5 of the 2006 Cencus will reveal all.

Volume 5 - Ethnic or Cultural Background (including the Irish Traveller Community) 26 Jul 07

Post by: Tankie on July 10, 2007, 09:20:09 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 10, 2007, 09:17:33 PM
http://www.cso.ie/census/census_2006_publication_dates.htm   (http://www.cso.ie/census/census_2006_publication_dates.htm)

Volume 5 - Ethnic or Cultural Background (including the Irish Traveller Community) 26 Jul 07

Roll on the 26th of July. I hope all you boys put culchie down as Ethnic Background ;D
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 10, 2007, 09:21:38 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 10, 2007, 09:20:09 PM

Roll on the 26th of July. I hope all you boys put culchie down as Ethnic Background ;D

As opposed to West Mankie, West Cockney or West Scouser for you Dubs   ;D
Post by: Tankie on July 10, 2007, 09:31:54 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 10, 2007, 09:21:38 PM

As opposed to West Mankie, West Cockney or West Scouser for you Dubs   ;D

Wouldn't know what your talking anout Fishhead, did u pick them saying up at the Celtic soccer nights out in Castlebar?
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 10, 2007, 09:35:10 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 10, 2007, 09:31:54 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 10, 2007, 09:21:38 PM

As opposed to West Mankie, West Cockney or West Scouser for you Dubs   ;D

Wouldn't know what your talking anout Fishhead, did u pick them saying up at the Celtic soccer nights out in Castlebar?

Can't quite make out what you meant to say, but perhaps you making reference to Castlebar Celtic somehow. I'm more a Castlebar Mitchells fan myself. However my other Club team is a Dublin GAA one, not many Dubs playing on it though  ;)
Post by: INDIANA on July 10, 2007, 10:29:32 PM
do they bottle it like your senior inter-county team does on All-ireland day? maybe send out the ladies team in the finals they seem to know how to win finals.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 10, 2007, 11:20:38 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 10, 2007, 10:29:32 PM
do they bottle it like your senior inter-county team does on All-ireland day? maybe send out the ladies team in the finals they seem to know how to win finals.

Indiana, Castlebar Mitchells actually did bottle it, Big Time in 1993 losing what must be a record Club All-Ireland defeat to Nemo Rangers of Cork, after a fantastic Semi-Win against Eire Og of Carlow.
Post by: Tankie on July 10, 2007, 11:49:21 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 10, 2007, 11:20:38 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 10, 2007, 10:29:32 PM

Indiana, Castlebar Mitchells actually did bottle it, Big Time in 1993 losing what must be a record Club All-Ireland defeat to Nemo Rangers of Cork, after a fantastic Semi-Win against Eire Og of Carlow.

So there really is a history of Mayo being bottlers ;D
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 10, 2007, 11:55:35 PM
A well I've been there to witness Mayo Clubs play in 4 Club Finals & 6 Semi-Finals since, winning two of them Finals.
Post by: tayto on July 11, 2007, 10:02:26 AM
Quote from: Hound on July 10, 2007, 11:19:01 AM

Well then stop making up shyte, and go back to listening to the great GAA coverage on 98fm  ::)

Very good point. none of those papers are hyping Dublin, sure the might write about dublin more but generally they're quite realistic about our very slim chances of winning the All Ireland. They pretty much all agree that we're short a couple of players. Well, that's what I read in the broadsheets. Never read the tabs.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 11, 2007, 10:09:19 AM
Quote from: charlie stubbs on July 10, 2007, 06:51:59 PM
congratulations,you do have the biggest population in the country and you never play a away championship game!

Charlie

Well I certainly remember playing Kerry in Thurles, Derry in Clones, Longford in Longford in the last few years.....its not our fault that no other ground can host the amount of supporters we have...
Post by: The Hill is Blue on July 11, 2007, 12:02:34 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 11, 2007, 10:09:19 AM
Quote from: charlie stubbs on July 10, 2007, 06:51:59 PM

Charlie

Well I certainly remember playing Kerry in Thurles, Derry in Clones, Longford in Longford in the last few years.....its not our fault that no other ground can host the amount of supporters we have...

Back to our friends in Cork again ... they dragged us down to Cork for the replay of the 1983 All Ireland Semi-Final in the certain expectation that they would beat us. They haven't asked us back since.  ;D
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 11, 2007, 01:09:51 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 10, 2007, 10:43:03 AM

So Donegal have no bad element to them at all,Your all angels up there are you..Give me a break FFS every county has a minority who cause hassle at games

If you actually read what I posted (see type in bold - for slow learners) this was my experience!
Now if you have any examples of bad behaviour among Donegal fans, then please tell us - otherwise don't label counties with well behaved supporters as you would your own!!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 11, 2007, 01:11:24 PM
I didn't write that Gaoth?
Post by: Main Street on July 11, 2007, 04:21:15 PM
QuoteAll reserves of tickets have emptied after Laois sold their allocation in record time and as a result there was no public sale of tickets from the Laois County Board.

How many tickets did Laos get for their allocation?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 11, 2007, 04:47:09 PM
4,900 is all and then the Dubs give out that they didn't receive enough ::)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 11, 2007, 04:56:21 PM
Laois only got 5,000 tickets for the Leinster Final?!?!?!?  ??? ??? ??? ???
Post by: Main Street on July 11, 2007, 04:57:55 PM
Quote4,900 is all and then the Dubs give out that they didn't receive enough
That's a feckin travesty.
It's no longer just a conspiracy to get the Dubs into the AI Final.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 11, 2007, 06:01:51 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on July 11, 2007, 04:56:21 PM

According to the Laoistalk forum thats all we recieved

http://www.laoistalk.com/?p=786

Thats why it pisses me off hearing the Dubs complain about their allocation,You would think by them no one else should be at the match only Dublin fans
Post by: Tankie on July 11, 2007, 06:13:16 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 11, 2007, 06:01:51 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on July 11, 2007, 04:56:21 PM

According to the Laoistalk forum thats all we recieved

http://www.laoistalk.com/?p=786

Thats why it pisses me off hearing the Dubs complain about their allocation,You would think by them no one else should be at the match only Dublin fans

well if Dublin got 25k and 25k were sold by leinster, then Laois got 5k and Carlow got 2.5k - well that leaves 25k tickets unanswer for . but really we kbnow Laois got htm for their fair weather fans as both teams got 25k to start with.

Whatever way you look at it the super dubs got ripped off again! :P
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 11, 2007, 06:21:08 PM
Dublin have their fair weather fans too and your a idiot if you think otherwise
Post by: dubsnsubs on July 11, 2007, 06:38:32 PM
Where are the Leinster Council offices? Portlaoise! I suppose there was no Laois lads who thought of the short journey over to buy any tickets. 4,900 my arse. 34,900 might be nearer the mark. The Leinster Council offices should be based in Dublin considering we fund them in the first place. Justice for the Dubs!
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on July 11, 2007, 06:40:45 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 11, 2007, 06:21:08 PM

Ah Eoin, your still as grumpy as ever.....ye Laois lads have no real GAA heritage thats whats wrong with ye!! What did ye have before the mercanary O Dwyer arrived?  :D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 11, 2007, 07:25:35 PM
Quote from: An Gaeilgoir on July 11, 2007, 06:40:45 PM

Ah Eoin, your still as grumpy as ever.....ye Laois lads have no real GAA heritage thats whats wrong with ye!! What did ye have before the mercanary O Dwyer arrived?  :D

No Heritage :)  I think we both have a mutal friend in Kevin Cormack from Cahir...I have a fair idea who you are now Gaeilgoir
Post by: Tankie on July 11, 2007, 10:00:35 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 11, 2007, 07:25:35 PM

No Heritage :)  I think we both have a mutal friend in Kevin Cormack from Cahir...I have a fair idea who you are now Gaeilgoir

What is it with you laois lads, someone points out a basic fact that you's are a bunch of bandwagoner's and your defence is to slag someone else! ::)
Post by: johnpower on July 11, 2007, 10:05:03 PM
Tankie how did the super Dubs get ripped off . ?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 11, 2007, 10:10:50 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 11, 2007, 10:00:35 PM

What is it with you laois lads, someone points out a basic fact that you's are a bunch of bandwagoner's and your defence is to slag someone else! ::)

I wasn't slagging anyone you tool where did i do that in that post? As for calling Laois fans bandwagoners i don't really care too be honest.You can call them whatever you want because i know i and my family and friends are genuine supporters so why should i care about anyone else?
Thats the difference between you and me and INDIANA ye get all pissed off when i talk about the scumbags on the Hill as if it's a personal jibe at you or then again maybe ye are one of them scumbags and thats why ye are getting so upset..
It's like when someone thinks they are getting at me by having a go at Liverpool fans,As if i give a f**k about people i don't know ::)
Same goes with Laois fans say what you want i don't care too be completly honest im sure there is plenty of fair weather fans in Laois
Post by: INDIANA on July 11, 2007, 11:35:02 PM
Thats the difference between you and me and INDIANA ye get all pissed off when i talk about the scumbags on the Hill as if it's a personal jibe at you or then again maybe ye are one of them scumbags and thats why ye are getting so upset..

simply get fed up with the juvenile references to coke- scumbags- bandwagons etc. But anytime any of us open our mouths about you lot - it's a different story. And i can assure you i am anything but  a sc**bag but since i can't seem to avoid scumbags either on the Hill or the stand i may as well go and stand beside the scumbags on the Hill as at least they are from Dublin.
Post by: Tankie on July 12, 2007, 12:00:58 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 11, 2007, 11:35:02 PM

simply get fed up with the juvenile references to coke- scumbags- bandwagons etc. But anytime any of us open our mouths about you lot - it's a different story. And i can assure you i am anything but  a sc**bag but since i can't seem to avoid scumbags either on the Hill or the stand i may as well go and stand beside the scumbags on the Hill as at least they are from Dublin.

I second that!!!!
Post by: SuperSub on July 12, 2007, 07:20:55 AM

The truth hurts so INDY does it :D
Post by: Gnevin on July 12, 2007, 09:08:39 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 11, 2007, 10:10:50 PM

I wasn't slagging anyone you tool where did i do that in that post? As for calling Laois fans bandwagoners i don't really care too be honest.You can call them whatever you want because i know i and my family and friends are genuine supporters so why should i care about anyone else?
It's like when someone thinks they are getting at me by having a go at Liverpool fans,As if i give a f**k about people i don't know ::)
Same goes with Laois fans say what you want i don't care too be completly honest im sure there is plenty of fair weather fans in Laois
When you comments are prefaced with you Dubs, like its the lots of us that does piss me off . You've been tarring alot of people with the one brush lately LL
Post by: Gnevin on July 12, 2007, 09:10:17 AM
Quote from: SuperSub on July 12, 2007, 07:20:55 AM

The truth hurts so INDY does it :D
SuperSub that truth could be applied to every county and yet it's rolled out here more about the Dubs  than the red carpet is rolled out in England for lizzy
Post by: orangeman on July 12, 2007, 09:17:12 AM
Could Dublin sustain a premiership soccer team week in week out ?
Post by: Tankie on July 12, 2007, 11:06:24 AM
Quote from: orangeman on July 12, 2007, 09:17:12 AM
Could Dublin sustain a premiership soccer team week in week out ?

what the f**k is this lad on about?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 12, 2007, 01:37:47 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 12, 2007, 09:08:39 AM

When you comments are prefaced with you Dubs, like its the lots of us that does piss me off . You've been tarring alot of people with the one brush lately LL

I didn't realise YOU Dubs were such sensitive souls ::)

Post by: tayto on July 12, 2007, 02:57:46 PM
oh yea, my feeling are all hurt now!  ;D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 12, 2007, 03:11:30 PM
Quote from: tayto on July 12, 2007, 02:57:46 PM
oh yea, my feeling are all hurt now!  ;D

Post by: Gnevin on July 12, 2007, 04:38:58 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 12, 2007, 01:37:47 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 12, 2007, 09:08:39 AM

I didn't realise YOU Dubs were such sensitive souls ::)

Not sensitive but even rock can get worn down by constant abuse .
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 12, 2007, 04:45:41 PM
Abuse ??? would ya catch a grip FFS ::)
As i posted before it's only a bit of craic and the other two lads are well able give it back
As i said you'll have your own back when we get hammered on sunday
Post by: Gnevin on July 12, 2007, 04:52:22 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 12, 2007, 04:45:41 PM
As i posted before it's only a bit of craic and the other two lads are well able give it back
I didn't mean you where giving abuse i meant the Rock was taking it , it was all part of a very nice metaphor, even if i do says so myself

Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 12, 2007, 04:57:07 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 12, 2007, 04:52:22 PM
I didn't mean you where giving abuse i meant the Rock was taking it , it was all part of a very nice metaphor, even if i do says so myself

Whatever blows your boat im not one to judge others :)
Post by: Gnevin on July 12, 2007, 04:58:45 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 12, 2007, 04:57:07 PM

;D ;D
Judge Judy does less judging than you
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 12, 2007, 05:07:48 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 12, 2007, 04:58:45 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 12, 2007, 04:57:07 PM

;D ;D
Judge Judy does less judging than you

Cheeky dubs  ;)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 12, 2007, 09:49:53 PM
On the Paddy Power Site

(http://www.paddypower.com/img/sb_sniffofachance.jpg)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 12, 2007, 10:07:13 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on July 12, 2007, 09:49:53 PM
On the Paddy Power Site

(http://www.paddypower.com/img/sb_sniffofachance.jpg)

Watch out Gabriel if Tankie or INDIANA see that they won't be able take it as a joke and will be very upset with you and might even start crying :o
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 12, 2007, 10:08:48 PM
They can take it up with Paddy Power - not me
Post by: Tankie on July 26, 2007, 01:23:40 PM

Well its the 26th and the results are out:

Dublin City and Co. has an Irish population of 966,392 -> so not 1.2m population. If the culchies had of put themselves down as an ethnic group we could of had this issue sorted! :P
Post by: his holiness nb on July 26, 2007, 01:40:58 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 26, 2007, 01:23:40 PM

Dublin City and Co. has an Irish population of 966,392 -> so not 1.2m population. If the culchies had of put themselves down as an ethnic group we could of had this issue sorted! :P

Just had a though, I pointed out before that many Dublin people are from other Counties or indeed Countries.
Just to even it up a bit I wonder how many Dublin folk living outside Dublin travel to the games.
I do  :)
Post by: Gnevin on July 26, 2007, 01:49:03 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 26, 2007, 01:23:40 PM

;D ;D
Post by: dubinhell on July 26, 2007, 02:02:37 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on July 26, 2007, 01:40:58 PM

Just had a though, I pointed out before that many Dublin people are from other Counties or indeed Countries.
Just to even it up a bit I wonder how many Dublin folk living outside Dublin travel to the games.

Me too...from outside the country  ;D
Post by: Tankie on July 26, 2007, 02:03:42 PM
Quote from: dubinhell on July 26, 2007, 02:02:37 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on July 26, 2007, 01:40:58 PM

you working up the North or something :P
Post by: his holiness nb on July 26, 2007, 02:22:04 PM
Nope, working in Dublin, living outside.
Post by: Gnevin on July 26, 2007, 02:27:41 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on July 26, 2007, 02:22:04 PM
Nope, working in Dublin, living outside.
in Meath  :o dont forget to mention that :p
Post by: his holiness nb on July 26, 2007, 02:30:16 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 26, 2007, 02:27:41 PM
in Meath  :o dont forget to mention that :p

Well I dont like to go round shouting it  ;)
Post by: dubinhell on July 26, 2007, 02:37:08 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 26, 2007, 02:03:42 PM

you working up the North or something :P

Nope, Wales.....i'm sure there would be rows if i called the North another country  :P
Post by: Tankie on July 26, 2007, 02:59:27 PM
ah sure them boys cant take a joke!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 26, 2007, 03:53:24 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 26, 2007, 02:59:27 PM
ah sure them boys cant take a joke!

Pot Kettle Black ::)