GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: illdecide on March 14, 2016, 10:49:23 AM

Title: Tyrone v Armagh
Post by: illdecide on March 14, 2016, 10:49:23 AM
Will the Red Hands take it easy on us? Or will Micky send them out to kick us while we're down...lol. Micky Harte would try his best to win any game and rightly so too. Armagh's performance yesterday was much better and the 2 week break will do Armagh no harm, Tyrone are of course motoring rightly...Anything from this game is a bonus for Armagh as nothing is expected my most supporters.
Title: Re: Tyrone v Armagh
Post by: WT4E on March 14, 2016, 10:50:54 AM
Armagh are limited

McGeeney is a shite manager

Tyrone by 8+
Post by: stew on March 14, 2016, 11:03:04 AM
Quote from: WT4E on March 14, 2016, 10:50:54 AM
Armagh are limited

Tyrone by 8+

Thank you for your insight.

There is no reason why we cannot win this game, they have little to play for and we have it all to play for, our biggest problem in indiscipline, eecconstantly shoot ourselves in the foot and it is old at this stage.

Post by: GJL on March 14, 2016, 11:19:45 AM
Quote from: stew on March 14, 2016, 11:03:04 AM
Armagh are limited

Tyrone by 8+

There is no reason why we cannot win this game, they have little to play for and we have it all to play for, our biggest problem in indiscipline, eecconstantly shoot ourselves in the foot and it is old at this stage.

I would imagine some of the Tyrone players will want to impress to try to push into the starting 15 so they will have plenty to play for.
Post by: BennyCake on March 14, 2016, 11:31:48 AM
It pains me to say this, but Tyrone will destroy us. Can't see us getting within 10 points of them.
Post by: illdecide on March 14, 2016, 11:34:09 AM
Armagh are limited

Tyrone by 8+

Jasus Stew they will wanna hammer us and turn the screw, Micky will insist on it and i'd imagine if there are any Tyrone men not performing 10 mins into the game they'll be sitting in the dugout. Unfortunately for Armagh to win this they'll have to be on top of their game and hope Tyrone have a bad day.
Post by: ziggysego on March 14, 2016, 12:38:56 PM
I think Armagh will win. Cute aul hoors have been losing all season to lure Tyrone into a false sense of security this weekend. Don't trust, they've set this up.
Post by: Orior on March 14, 2016, 12:43:51 PM
Luck it, we're going down, so why not take this opportunity to get stuck in, flatten a few red hands and shorten their season?  We still owe them for getting Marsden sent off.
Post by: general_lee on March 14, 2016, 12:45:26 PM
I actually don't care about the result. Performance more important at this stage. Is Aidan Forker going to be missing as I'd say he'd be good at winding some of them tyrone fun boys up
Post by: redhandefender on March 14, 2016, 02:36:40 PM
Quote from: general_lee on March 14, 2016, 12:45:26 PM
I actually don't care about the result. Performance more important at this stage. Is Aidan Forker going to be missing as I'd say he'd be good at winding some of them tyrone fun boys up

I think this is a major problem with this Armagh team, him and the likes of Findon should be concentrating on the football
Post by: WT4E on March 14, 2016, 04:55:14 PM
Yeah Armagh too worried about running (waddling) around like beef cakes than playing football.

You don't see the gooch, jack mccaffrey or ryan mchugh carrying imaginery washing machines around!
Post by: twohands!!! on March 14, 2016, 05:10:11 PM

Tyrone will be foaming at the mouth at the chance to send Armagh down.

Although the smarter play might be to let Armagh win, in the hope that McGeeney somehow gets another year.
Post by: general_lee on March 14, 2016, 05:19:12 PM
I expect tyrone to be full of cockiness and a bit of swagger. Hopefully will go to their heads and Armagh can at the very least bully them into submission. Top vs bottom means nothing both teams will be chomping at the bit
Post by: WT4E on March 14, 2016, 05:22:29 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on March 14, 2016, 05:10:11 PM

Although the smarter play might be to let Armagh win, in the hope that McGeeney somehow gets another year.

I really want to win but this also sounds like a great plan!!!!
Post by: skeog on March 14, 2016, 05:52:55 PM
tyrone have some young players who are chomping at the bit to impress management so armagh will do very well to come away with anything from healy park
Post by: Throw ball on March 14, 2016, 06:27:11 PM
Quote from: WT4E on March 14, 2016, 04:55:14 PM
Yeah Armagh too worried about running (waddling) around like beef cakes than playing football.

You don't see the gooch, jack mccaffrey or ryan mchugh carrying imaginery washing machines around!

I know I shouldn't but that is a pile of crap.

Tyrone with their full time strength and conditioning coach will be physically too strong for Armagh just as Cavan were last week.
Post by: StGallsGAA on March 14, 2016, 08:50:18 PM
McGeeney has another master-plan up his sleeve.  Expect the Battle of Omagh 2 with the savage hoards following  McKeever's lead in gouging, biting ears, teeth flying everywhere. It will lead to an Armagh rennaisance culminating in the apple-munching gobshites doubling their haul of Sams in Sept.  Get in them before their 100/1 odds shorten.
Post by: BennyHarp on March 14, 2016, 09:00:18 PM
Hard to beat a bit of nostalgia in the build up to an Armagh v Tyrone game. http://youtu.be/m07it4_evog
Post by: illdecide on March 14, 2016, 11:17:41 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on March 14, 2016, 09:00:18 PM
Hard to beat a bit of nostalgia in the build up to an Armagh v Tyrone game. http://youtu.be/m07it4_evog

Just watched that and how many times can a player fall for the dummy solo in one game...holy sweet Jesus. Who was the Armagh no 2?
Post by: rrhf on March 14, 2016, 11:24:11 PM
I fancy Armagh for this one. Tyrone will do a couple of weeks extra stamina training and Armagh are improving. Rarely much between the teams so armaghs extra need to win should count.
Post by: Throw ball on March 14, 2016, 11:56:56 PM
Quote from: illdecide on March 14, 2016, 11:17:41 PM

Just watched that and how many times can a player fall for the dummy solo in one game...holy sweet Jesus. Who was the Armagh no 2?

Clones has fairly changed from those days. One of my early football memories and even though Armagh got beat I still think ' I was there when Frank McGuigan scored 11 points'. As far as I remember Kieran McNally was marking him.
Post by: Armamike on March 15, 2016, 12:40:56 AM
I was there when Oisin scored 2.7.
Post by: Armamike on March 15, 2016, 12:47:27 AM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on March 14, 2016, 08:50:18 PM
McGeeney has another master-plan up his sleeve.  Expect the Battle of Omagh 2 with the savage hoards following  McKeever's lead in gouging, biting ears, teeth flying everywhere. It will lead to an Armagh rennaisance culminating in the apple-munching gobshites doubling their haul of Sams in Sept.  Get in them before their 100/1 odds shorten.

You Tyrone men have a terrible fascination with our apples. Ever try munching a bramley?
Post by: tonto1888 on March 15, 2016, 07:15:29 AM
Quote from: Throw ball on March 14, 2016, 11:56:56 PM

Clones has fairly changed from those days. One of my early football memories and even though Armagh got beat I still think ' I was there when Frank McGuigan scored 11 points'. As far as I remember Kieran McNally was marking him.

Im sure he had already scored the majority when Kieran was put onto him
Post by: No wides on March 15, 2016, 08:06:29 AM
Quote from: rrhf on March 14, 2016, 11:24:11 PM
I fancy Armagh for this one. Tyrone will do a couple of weeks extra stamina training and Armagh are improving. Rarely much between the teams so armaghs extra need to win should count.

You are full of shite, more chance of Tony Fearon not whacking one off with every post on here.
Post by: JP on March 15, 2016, 09:04:46 AM
Quote from: Armamike on March 15, 2016, 12:40:56 AM
I was there when Oisin scored 2.7.

I was there when Stefan Campbell scored 1-9.

We will need him to show similar form again if we are to have any chance.
Post by: sambostar on March 15, 2016, 09:20:00 AM

LOL, yeah a solo dummy on the right & then lash it over with the left  ;D
Post by: illdecide on March 15, 2016, 09:38:47 AM

Catch yourself on...that talk won't wash with us, Tyrone are massive favourites for this game and can win this by whatever they want. Match in Omagh and a chance to relegate one of their rivals...Tyrone will be loving it. U men still haven't got over that match in Omagh 2 years ago ;D
Post by: Moortown Spuds on March 15, 2016, 09:48:37 AM
Quote from: illdecide on March 15, 2016, 09:38:47 AM

Catch yourself on...that talk won't wash with us, Tyrone are massive favourites for this game and can win this by whatever they want. Match in Omagh and a chance to relegate one of their rivals...Tyrone will be loving it. U men still haven't got over that match in Omagh 2 years ago ;D

There was a game in 2003 thats still fresh in your head.
How stupid was Marsden, striking out like that in an AI Final? So glad Jerome Quinn captured it in his book to dispel all doubt. And then Armagh appealed his ban to get off on a technicality.
Post by: WT4E on March 15, 2016, 09:55:57 AM
Quote from: Throw ball on March 14, 2016, 06:27:11 PM
Quote from: WT4E on March 14, 2016, 04:55:14 PM

I know I shouldn't but that is a pile of crap.

Tyrone with their full time strength and conditioning coach will be physically too strong for Armagh just as Cavan were last week.

Theres a difference between conditioning and running around like Arnie Scharwz!
Post by: seafoid on March 15, 2016, 09:58:54 AM
Bring out the gimp
Post by: Unlaoised on March 15, 2016, 10:40:25 AM
I just hope Tyrone show the rest of the league respect and put out their strongest team....

Armagh will have a kick in them and I expect this to be close ...Probably the best time to play Tyrone!
Post by: armaghniac on March 15, 2016, 11:04:13 AM
Quote from: Unlaoised on March 15, 2016, 10:40:25 AM
I just hope Tyrone show the rest of the league respect and put out their strongest team....

Armagh will have a kick in them and I expect this to be close ...Probably the best time to play Tyrone!

On the other hand Tyrone could dump Laois, Derry and Meath in it, by having a lot of stamina training this week and not worrying too much about Armagh.
Post by: BennyCake on March 15, 2016, 11:29:37 AM
We could actually stay up with a draw v Derry. Providing Fermanagh and Laois/Meath lose both their games.
Post by: general_lee on March 15, 2016, 11:32:24 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 15, 2016, 11:29:37 AM
We could actually stay up with a draw v Derry. Providing Fermanagh and Laois/Meath lose both their games.
Sure Laois and Meath play each other?
Post by: Fuzzman on March 15, 2016, 11:43:15 AM
I wasn't at that game in '84 so can only rely on youtube but isn't it amazing how naive managers and defenders were back then to leave him one on one each time. Also amazing how he wasn't taken out of it or no mouthing or afters when he was running riot. Big difference to how C.McKeever dealt with PTG when he came on that day in Croker and got him sent off in 60 seconds.

Games rarely go to plan but I can't see Armagh winning this one. A bit like Derry the old rivalry seems a bit nullified at the moment but who knows later in the summer. It's not that long since Armagh could have beaten Donegal in Croker and compare how Roscommon have upped the ante this year.

Any news on the 2 Ronans?
Post by: redhandefender on March 15, 2016, 03:00:02 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on March 15, 2016, 10:40:25 AM

You don't have to worry about that, A tyrone team will never roll over to help them uns! Very difficult to pick tyrones strongest team at the minute.
Post by: Real Talk on March 15, 2016, 08:58:46 PM
Mickey Harte doesn't like to come second in any match in any competition and they will beat Armagh.  As for what Tyrone's best team is I would say that they have at least 25 players of a high calibre and their 3 main players are Sean and Colm Cavanagh, Peter Harte and Mattie Donnelly.   So far in the McKenna Cup and the League their second half performance's have been outstanding and that has been down to the strength and effectiveness of their bench.    Its all about the team 'ethic'
Post by: ziggysego on March 16, 2016, 12:36:33 AM
Quote from: Real Talk on March 15, 2016, 08:58:46 PM
Mickey Harte doesn't like to come second in any match in any competition and they will beat Armagh.  As for what Tyrone's best team is I would say that they have at least 25 players of a high calibre and their 3 main players are Sean and Colm Cavanagh, Peter Harte and Mattie Donnelly.   So far in the McKenna Cup and the League their second half performance's have been outstanding and that has been down to the strength and effectiveness of their bench.    Its all about the team 'ethic'

:o
Post by: muppet on March 16, 2016, 01:02:59 AM

Did the fecker ever pass?
Post by: LeoMc on March 16, 2016, 09:16:55 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 16, 2016, 12:36:33 AM
Quote from: Real Talk on March 15, 2016, 08:58:46 PM

:o

Puts me in mind of Monty Python.

No one ever expects the Spanish Inquisition. Our chief weapon is surprise and the blanket defence.
Our 2 chief weapons are surprise, the blanket defence and Colm Cavanagh.
etc.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 16, 2016, 10:47:58 AM
Is Justy being rested or has he injury issues again?
Will be interesting does Mickey but Justy back into FB or McCarron

Which of last years U21s are over age this year and will be allowed to focus on senior? Rory B? McGeary Bros?

How many sets of brothers do we have on the squad now?
Cavanaghs, McGeary, Donnellys, Brennans. anyone else?

Post by: redhandefender on March 16, 2016, 11:20:32 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 16, 2016, 10:47:58 AM
Is Justy being rested or has he injury issues again?
Will be interesting does Mickey but Justy back into FB or McCarron

Which of last years U21s are over age this year and will be allowed to focus on senior? Rory B? McGeary Bros?

How many sets of brothers do we have on the squad now?
Cavanaghs, McGeary, Donnellys, Brennans. anyone else?

Mc canns

Only players in under 21 are mc shane, lee brennan and sean fox, rest all over age. I imagine frank burns will get a call after under 21s is over.

Justy looked interested. Now we are promoted he will give mc geary and hampsey a shot I would say in full back line
Post by: illdecide on March 16, 2016, 11:53:43 AM
Is the 2 McMahons not on the squad (Joey the lips and Justy)
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 16, 2016, 11:56:48 AM
Quote from: illdecide on March 16, 2016, 11:53:43 AM
Is the 2 McMahons not on the squad (Joey the lips and Justy)

Yup.

Joe won't return to action until after the league though.
Post by: orangeman on March 16, 2016, 01:22:49 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 16, 2016, 01:02:59 AM

Haven't watched that in a while but it just keeps getting better. Amazing talent.
Post by: Itchy on March 18, 2016, 04:02:13 PM
It's a bit like Martin Dunne v Armagh a few years ago. Did Armagh not think of changing the tanned no2 from him.
Post by: ONeill on March 18, 2016, 10:54:45 PM
In all seriousness, do Armagh ones ate a lot of apples on a daily basis?
Post by: armaghniac on March 18, 2016, 10:58:29 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 18, 2016, 10:54:45 PM

Do Tyrone ones ate a lot of bushes.
Post by: ONeill on March 18, 2016, 11:05:11 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on March 18, 2016, 10:58:29 PM

No, but we hide in them.
Post by: armaghniac on March 18, 2016, 11:28:33 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 18, 2016, 11:05:11 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on March 18, 2016, 10:58:29 PM

No, but we hide in them.

Given your appearance, concealment is a necessary act.
Post by: sensethetone on March 19, 2016, 12:15:58 AM
Quote from: Itchy on March 18, 2016, 04:02:13 PM
It's a bit like Martin Dunne v Armagh a few years ago. Did Armagh not think of changing the tanned no2 from him.
its nothin like it, Frank n Martin Dunne you think if Frank clipped an Armagh man he'd have his hand in paris plaster for the rest of the summer? No chance and he would have had the courtesy to let that wee band go on ahead n play Roddy McCordy
Post by: BennyCake on March 19, 2016, 01:05:07 AM
Quote from: sensethetone on March 19, 2016, 12:15:58 AM
its nothin like it, Frank n Martin Dunne you think if Frank clipped an Armagh man he'd have his hand in paris plaster for the rest of the summer? No chance and he would have had the courtesy to let that wee band go on ahead n play Roddy McCordy

Wrong year, sense.
Post by: stew on March 19, 2016, 08:28:58 AM
Quote from: muppet on March 16, 2016, 01:02:59 AM

You have never managed a team then, why would you wantnhim to pass when all he did was score, the man was brilliant.
Post by: Itchy on March 19, 2016, 09:27:14 AM

I was referring to the way Armagh marked both players. Of course Martin Dunne was not the player McGuigan was, sure McGuigan was the greatest player of all time and won countless all Ireland's. Martin Dunne was just 2nd top scorer in the championship one year and was no good at fighting.
Post by: Applesisapples on March 19, 2016, 03:19:31 PM
Quote from: general_lee on March 14, 2016, 12:45:26 PM
That's because he is virtually from Tyrone, just the Blackwater between him and them.
Post by: Applesisapples on March 19, 2016, 03:21:35 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on March 14, 2016, 05:10:11 PM

The result won't influence that, the shape we're in at the moment we'll be begging Geezer to stay.
Post by: redzone on March 19, 2016, 05:25:23 PM
Quote from: Itchy on March 19, 2016, 09:27:14 AM

I was referring to the way Armagh marked both players. Of course Martin Dunne was not the player McGuigan was, sure McGuigan was the greatest player of all time and won countless all Ireland's. Martin Dunne was just 2nd top scorer in the championship one year and was no good at fighting.

Same Martin dunne that can't even make the Cavan squad this year. Two legends alright
Post by: Itchy on March 19, 2016, 05:32:38 PM
Quote from: redzone on March 19, 2016, 05:25:23 PM

Well done redzone on missing the point twice. And for your information Dunne did not make himself available this year.

Same Martin dunne that can't even make the Cavan squad this year. Two legends alright
Post by: redzone on March 19, 2016, 05:49:07 PM
Quote from: Itchy on March 19, 2016, 05:32:38 PM
Quote from: redzone on March 19, 2016, 05:25:23 PM

Well done redzone on missing the point twice. And for your information Dunne did not make himself available this year.

Oh I got the point u were making alright don't worry about that. It was Brian that won the all Ireland's as well not frank
Post by: Wildweasel74 on March 19, 2016, 08:53:17 PM
Keep it within 15 pts lads!!
Post by: illdecide on March 21, 2016, 10:55:09 AM
Tyrone are flying at the minute and will take some stopping this year...R u Dublin in disguise? Tyrone are 5th favourites for the All Ireland 11/1 and for our match on Sat night Tyrone are 4/11, Tyrone -4pts must be money from America for all you punters. Just hope Armagh come out of this injury free and try and win our last game v Derry to stay up
Post by: twohands!!! on March 21, 2016, 01:38:22 PM
Come the UFC Tyrone's first game will be against Derry and then either Cavan or Armagh and if Fermangh get to the final it could be 3 championship games against teams Tyrone have played/possibly beaten in the league. As a manager I wouldn't fancy having my first 2 championship games being against sides beaten in the league.
Post by: WT4E on March 21, 2016, 01:46:44 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on March 21, 2016, 01:38:22 PM
Come the UFC Tyrone's first game will be against Derry and then either Cavan or Armagh and if Fermangh get to the final it could be 3 championship games against teams Tyrone have played/possibly beaten in the league. As a manager I wouldn't fancy having my first 2 championship games being against sides beaten in the league.

I thought it was just Armagh who competed in the UFC!  :D
Post by: Fuzzman on March 21, 2016, 03:45:52 PM
Tyrone might be unbeaten in 2016 in 10 games I think it is but in all fairness we've not really been setting the world on fire. We are in Div 2 and so you would expect us to be doing reasonably well there compared to the very tough Div 1 where Down have showed what happens if you're not properly prepared from day 1 and Roscommon have showed the opposite.

I'm amazed how many people already have said to me we should in Ulster this year easy enough and give the AI a good rattle. Derry and Armagh will be very different prospects come the championship with Tyrone nicely hyped up for a major fall. After a very tough match in Ballybofey last year we got a easy enough run in the qualifiers to eventually succumb to one of the big guns.
Hopefully Ronan O'Neill can continue to improve and nail down a starting place and be our regular scoring free taker in the years ahead.

As for Armagh it's hard to know where it has gone wrong with them. The easy scapegoat is McGeeney and how he can't seem to get the best out of the Cross lads and how their star player doesn't seem to want to play any more.
Post by: illdecide on March 21, 2016, 04:16:14 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 21, 2016, 03:45:52 PM
Tyrone might be unbeaten in 2016 in 10 games I think it is but in all fairness we've not really been setting the world on fire. We are in Div 2 and so you would expect us to be doing reasonably well there compared to the very tough Div 1 where Down have showed what happens if you're not properly prepared from day 1 and Roscommon have showed the opposite.

I'm amazed how many people already have said to me we should in Ulster this year easy enough and give the AI a good rattle. Derry and Armagh will be very different prospects come the championship with Tyrone nicely hyped up for a major fall. After a very tough match in Ballybofey last year we got a easy enough run in the qualifiers to eventually succumb to one of the big guns.
Hopefully Ronan O'Neill can continue to improve and nail down a starting place and be our regular scoring free taker in the years ahead.

As for Armagh it's hard to know where it has gone wrong with them. The easy scapegoat is McGeeney and how he can't seem to get the best out of the Cross lads and how their star player doesn't seem to want to play any more.

Our star player is playing (Campbell), Armagh are a much better team than their recent results show but they just don't have the strength & depth to cope with injuries/suspensions. I was winding up earlier because i fully expect Armagh to give Tyrone their fill of it on Sat nite as it's set up perfect for them...No-one is giving them a chance against Tyrone and what better 2 games to have pre Championship than Tyrone and Derry and needing to win at least one of them to stay in Div 2. Great preparation for Championship and with players coming back from injury they will be much stronger than earlier in the season.

Armagh will not win the All Ireland and prob not Ulster either as we are a bit short but with their strongest 15 out they'll be handful for most teams.
Post by: twohands!!! on March 21, 2016, 05:28:00 PM

There seems to be a fair few folk concentrating solely on the results, without taking into account the level of the opposition - 5 wins from 5 is obviously good form but there's a big asterix there when you compare the level of the opposition in Division 2 - how many of the other teams in Division 2 are in any way realistic All-Ireland contenders?

In terms of the the current odds, Paddypower have Galway next at 28/1, then Derry at 40/1, Meath 66/1 and Cavan at 80/1 while Armagh are 150/1, Laois are 400/1 (who Tyrone only beat by one score) and Fermanagh are 500/1 shots.

I also think that Tyrone got a bit more credit than they should have for their long-run in last year's championship when they got a fairly handy draw through the qualifiers - They played 3 Division 1 sides and beat 1 in a poor-quality game. Their other wins were over mainly Division 3 teams.

Tyrone will obviously be a team that will be well able to give anyone a game but I really don't see them being anywhere near All-Ireland contenders this year. However next year after a year in Division 1 I definitely could see them being more in the frame.

Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 21, 2016, 05:35:20 PM
I'm optimistic about the year ahead, we're going well and seem to be building up plenty of competition for places but I wouldn't be getting ahead of ourselves yet. We still have to crack Donegal in Championship and Ulster is always difficult, think our game is much more suited out of the confines of Ulster and on the quick pitch of Croke Park on a dry day.

It would be great to take an Ulster Championship but I think we'll have to be at our level best to do it.
Post by: rrhf on March 21, 2016, 10:24:45 PM
The dubs are rightful favourites to take Sam this year. A Kerry team with o Mahoney and star slapping about.. A Roscommon team just out of puberty... A mayo team in decline, a Donegal team who are also in decline.. A Monaghan team who hate Croke park.... A Tyrone team who are getting better week by week. Between Tyrone and the dubs?
Post by: Orior on March 21, 2016, 10:54:31 PM
Quote from: illdecide on March 21, 2016, 04:16:14 PM

Our star player is playing (Campbell), Armagh are a much better team than their recent results show but they just don't have the strength & depth to cope with injuries/suspensions. I was winding up earlier because i fully expect Armagh to give Tyrone their fill of it on Sat nite as it's set up perfect for them...No-one is giving them a chance against Tyrone and what better 2 games to have pre Championship than Tyrone and Derry and needing to win at least one of them to stay in Div 2. Great preparation for Championship and with players coming back from injury they will be much stronger than earlier in the season.

Armagh will not win the All Ireland and prob not Ulster either as we are a bit short but with their strongest 15 out they'll be handful for most teams.

Nope, that doesn't ease the pain one iota.
Post by: seafoid on March 22, 2016, 08:13:50 AM
Quote from: rrhf on March 21, 2016, 10:24:45 PM
The dubs are rightful favourites to take Sam this year. A Kerry team with o Mahoney and star slapping about.. A Roscommon team just out of puberty... A mayo team in decline, a Donegal team who are also in decline.. A Monaghan team who hate Croke park.... A Tyrone team who are getting better week by week. Between Tyrone and the dubs?
the Dubs are like flowers that bloom every 2 years. No chance this year
Post by: Fuzzman on March 22, 2016, 03:43:52 PM
The Dubs copied the Tyrone template of the noughties so much that they too are taking a year off here and there.
I think they'll be the team to beat again this year though with kerry and Mayo closely behind.

Anyway. Armagh at home on Sat night. Should get a good crowd and we could see a big row.
Post by: Armamike on March 22, 2016, 05:06:51 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 22, 2016, 03:43:52 PM
The Dubs copied the Tyrone template of the noughties so much that they too are taking a year off here and there.
I think they'll be the team to beat again this year though with kerry and Mayo closely behind.

Anyway. Armagh at home on Sat night. Should get a good crowd and we could see a big row.

Don't you lot be starting anything again!
Post by: Throw ball on March 22, 2016, 06:33:30 PM
If Tyrone have anything about them they should beat Armagh handily. Armagh will still be missing a number of key players and there are others just finding their feet after injury.
Post by: anportmorforjfc on March 22, 2016, 08:16:57 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on March 22, 2016, 06:33:30 PM
If Tyrone have anything about them they should beat Armagh handily. Armagh will still be missing a number of key players and there are others just finding their feet after injury.

Who are these number of key players that will start in 8 weeks time? We are close to being the best that we will be this summer, which is not good.
Post by: smelmoth on March 22, 2016, 09:10:39 PM
Quote from: anportmorforjfc on March 22, 2016, 08:16:57 PM

Who are these number of key players that will start in 8 weeks time? We are close to being the best that we will be this summer, which is not good.
Outside of the retirees the key players missing are Morgan, Declan McKenna, Caolan Rafferty, Dyas, Clarke, Carragher and maybe McKeever, Donaghy, Murray. Dyas and the latter 3 are the only ones who will be there in 8 weeks.
Post by: Throw ball on March 23, 2016, 12:22:56 AM
Quote from: smelmoth on March 22, 2016, 09:10:39 PM
Quote from: anportmorforjfc on March 22, 2016, 08:16:57 PM

Outside of the retirees the key players missing are Morgan, Declan McKenna, Caolan Rafferty, Dyas, Clarke, Carragher and maybe McKeever, Donaghy, Murray. Dyas and the latter 3 are the only ones who will be there in 8 weeks.

Can you not just leave me in peace to try and wind the Tyrone ones up a bit!😊
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 23, 2016, 01:19:40 PM
Ronan O'Neill fit for this weekend. Hopefully he can keep his impressive recent form up.
Post by: illdecide on March 24, 2016, 08:58:02 AM
Looks like we're going to have a wet weekend so the match might not be pretty, who will the wet heavy sod suit? Armagh are a bit lighter now than previous teams so might not suit them and not sure on Tyrone but they did grind out a few results early in the league in bad conditions if i remember rightly. Jasus what chance have we got, Philip Jordan in Irish News today saying Tyrone will win and also Cavan will beat Armagh in Championship (short summer for Armagh according to Jordan)
Post by: Fuzzman on March 24, 2016, 10:24:40 AM
I'd say there's an element of winding ye up from Jordan there Illdecide
I see its Live on Setanta 1 http://www.setanta.com/tv-listings (http://www.setanta.com/tv-listings)

Post by: No wides on March 24, 2016, 10:26:21 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 24, 2016, 10:24:40 AM
I'd say there's an element of winding ye up from Jordan there Illdecide
I see its Live on Setanta 1 http://www.setanta.com/tv-listings (http://www.setanta.com/tv-listings)

If he was winding up he would say Armagh have half a chance, Armagh will be lucky to get 3 championship games this year.
Post by: Ulick on March 24, 2016, 01:03:05 PM
Don't worry lads, Tyrone are promoted already with nothing to play for - certain to lay down for us!
Post by: Armamike on March 24, 2016, 03:44:47 PM
Quote from: illdecide on March 24, 2016, 08:58:02 AM
Looks like we're going to have a wet weekend so the match might not be pretty, who will the wet heavy sod suit? Armagh are a bit lighter now than previous teams so might not suit them and not sure on Tyrone but they did grind out a few results early in the league in bad conditions if i remember rightly. Jasus what chance have we got, Philip Jordan in Irish News today saying Tyrone will win and also Cavan will beat Armagh in Championship (short summer for Armagh according to Jordan)

Yeah Philip loves us.
Post by: Orior on March 24, 2016, 10:00:41 PM
Armagh team

No.   Name (In English)   Club  (As Gaeilge)
1   Patrick Morrison   Cláirsigh Ard Mhacha
2   Andy Mallon   Na Pairneil
3   Charlie Vernon   Cláirsigh Ard Mhacha
4   Shea Heffron   Clann Eireann
5   Mark Shields   An Chrois Bhan
6   Ciaran Mc Keever (c)   Nh Oilibhear Pluincead
7   Aidan Forker   Machaire
8   Aaron Findon   Naomh Peadar
9   Ethan Rafferty   An Ghrainseach
10   Rory Grugan   Baile Mhic An Aba
11   Miceal Mc Kenna   An Ghráinseach
12   Ciaron O'Hanlon   Cill Shleibhe
13   Colm Watters   Baile Mhic Cullach
14   Stefan Campbell   Clan na Gael
15   Gavin Mc Parland   Baile Mhic An Aba
Post by: LeoMc on March 24, 2016, 10:10:42 PM
Tyrone:
N Morgan,
A McCrory, P Hampsey, C McCarron,
N Sludden, R Brennan, T McCann,
C Cavanagh, M Donnelly,
P Harte, R O'Neill, R Donnelly,
D McCurry, S Cavanagh, C McAliskey

Doesn't look like Mickey is planning to go easy. Only 3 games to nai down a jersey for the championship.
Post by: BennyHarp on March 24, 2016, 10:21:43 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on March 24, 2016, 10:10:42 PM
Tyrone:
N Morgan,
C Cavanagh, M Donnelly,

Doesn't look like Mickey is planning to go easy. Only 3 games to nai down a jersey for the championship.

Good to see Hampsey getting a run
Post by: ONeill on March 24, 2016, 10:24:56 PM
Sean and McKeever usually get on well.
Post by: WT4E on March 24, 2016, 11:14:14 PM
Tyrone:
N Morgan,
C Cavanagh, M Donnelly,

Great to see Colm playing midfield again he took some flack back in his early days - he's really shown what others haven't seen in him for a long time - Hope he continues to play well considering all the abuse he took when he first started.
Post by: ONeill on March 24, 2016, 11:29:27 PM
Aye, but he won't play midfield.
Post by: WT4E on March 25, 2016, 12:02:14 AM
Quote from: ONeill on March 24, 2016, 11:29:27 PM

Yeah your right he'll probably drop back but sure its still great to see him do so well considering all the flack he took when he first started - he should go well against Armagh even though he had to show alot of doubters wrong!!!
Post by: never kickt a ball on March 25, 2016, 12:21:11 AM
Quote from: WT4E on March 25, 2016, 12:02:14 AM

Yeah your right he'll probably drop back but sure its still great to see him do so well considering all the flack he took when he first started - he should go well against Armagh even though he had to show alot of doubters wrong!!!
Quote from: WT4E on March 24, 2016, 11:14:14 PM
Tyrone:
N Morgan,
C Cavanagh, M Donnelly,

Great to see Colm playing midfield again he took some flack back in his early days - he's really shown what others haven't seen in him for a long time - Hope he continues to play well considering all the abuse he took when he first started.

Is that you Colm?
Post by: rrhf on March 25, 2016, 12:49:07 AM
The mmf are in full flow here. Moy Mickey mafia abu
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 25, 2016, 02:10:03 AM
Tyrone:
N Morgan,
C Cavanagh, M Donnelly,

A strong team for already promoted team. Armagh memo to Mickey get lost in the post?
Post by: general_lee on March 25, 2016, 07:56:13 AM
Quote from: ONeill on March 24, 2016, 10:24:56 PM
Sean and McKeever usually get on well.
I'm sure Sean can't wait  ;D
Post by: LeoMc on March 25, 2016, 08:44:40 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on March 25, 2016, 02:10:03 AM
Tyrone:
N Morgan,
C Cavanagh, M Donnelly,

A strong team for already promoted team. Armagh memo to Mickey get lost in the post?
Mickey wants yez desperate for a win and primed to tear into Derry the following week.
Post by: lurganblue on March 25, 2016, 09:24:15 AM
Quote from: Orior on March 24, 2016, 10:00:41 PM
Armagh team

I still have serious doubts about the merits of putting Forker in half back line.
Post by: under the bar on March 25, 2016, 09:26:54 AM
McKeever odds-on to get sent off!
Post by: JP on March 25, 2016, 09:54:47 AM
Quote from: lurganblue on March 25, 2016, 09:24:15 AM
Armagh team

I still have serious doubts about the merits of putting Forker in half back line.

We will be playing with 14 men for a period then. Is donaghy injured?

Great to see Andy Mallon back and the team is improving as the the league goes on. Hopefully Campbell can continue is great form and the likes of Watters & Hefferon can build on an impressive performance against Galway.

Maybe this is the game Findon decides to contribute more then giving away needless fouls and Forker keeps his discipline. Hears to hoping.

Post by: lurganblue on March 25, 2016, 10:13:00 AM
Quote from: JP on March 25, 2016, 09:54:47 AM
Quote from: lurganblue on March 25, 2016, 09:24:15 AM
Armagh team

We will be playing with 14 men for a period then. Is donaghy injured?

Great to see Andy Mallon back and the team is improving as the the league goes on. Hopefully Campbell can continue is great form and the likes of Watters & Hefferon can build on an impressive performance against Galway.

Maybe this is the game Findon decides to contribute more then giving away needless fouls and Forker keeps his discipline. Hears to hoping.

Could be asking for a little too much here.
Post by: WT4E on March 25, 2016, 10:23:07 AM
Quote from: never kickt a ball on March 25, 2016, 12:21:11 AM

Tyrone:
N Morgan,
C Cavanagh, M Donnelly,

Is that you Colm?

I don't think you get my humour! lol
Post by: Applesisapples on March 25, 2016, 11:54:04 AM
Not a Cross player in sight...wtf
Post by: nrico2006 on March 25, 2016, 11:58:43 AM
Would Armagh not be better served with someone other than McKeever - he surely isn't the best CHB in Armagh?
Post by: LeoMc on March 25, 2016, 11:59:42 AM
Quote from: WT4E on March 25, 2016, 10:23:07 AM
Quote from: never kickt a ball on March 25, 2016, 12:21:11 AM

Tyrone:
N Morgan,
C Cavanagh, M Donnelly,

Is that you Colm?

I don't think you get my humour! lol

Quote from: WT4E on March 14, 2016, 10:49:57 AM
Quote from: Jeremiah O on March 14, 2016, 10:17:56 AM
Colm Cavanagh was brilliant yet again.He has taken a serious amount of stick from some Tyrone supporters over the years but he has been our most consistent player for a good while now.

The stick he received is irrelevant at this stage and it sickens me every time Cavanagh is mentioned its thrown up. When he was getting stick he was playing shite and didn't seem to deserve to be a part of the squad now he's playing well I don't think anyone is disputing that and fair play to him for putting in the effort to improve himself as some players in that position might walk away from the squad or not get the patience of the management.

He's went from squad player to automatic starter so fair play to him.

Maybe he doesn't read the Tyrone threads.
Post by: smelmoth on March 25, 2016, 01:04:10 PM
Armagh team

From what is available and based upon form thats not a bad team. Findon probably lucky to be given this chance but lets hope he takes it.

But please, please, please do not sub McParland as a means of addressing a problem with a lack of quality ball in to the full foward line.
Post by: illdecide on March 25, 2016, 02:12:12 PM
Quote from: smelmoth on March 25, 2016, 01:04:10 PM
Armagh team

From what is available and based upon form thats not a bad team. Findon probably lucky to be given this chance but lets hope he takes it.

But please, please, please do not sub McParland as a means of addressing a problem with a lack of quality ball in to the full foward line.

Okay Gavin i'll have a word with Kieran
Post by: illdecide on March 25, 2016, 02:13:03 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on March 25, 2016, 11:58:43 AM
Would Armagh not be better served with someone other than McKeever - he surely isn't the best CHB in Armagh?

You'll find out tomorrow nite ;)
Post by: general_lee on March 25, 2016, 02:14:40 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on March 25, 2016, 11:58:43 AM
He's there to bully Sean Cavanagh
Post by: No wides on March 26, 2016, 02:06:40 PM
Will there be much of a crowd. it's an awful ground to get out off, though Armagh will probably be that far behind I could slip away a few minutes early!
Post by: T Fearon on March 26, 2016, 03:38:49 PM
Our hurlers defeated Down today unexpectedly,no reason why the footballers can't complete a double against a Tyrone team that has won nothing of note for 6 years
Post by: redhandefender on March 26, 2016, 03:55:30 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 26, 2016, 03:38:49 PM
Our hurlers defeated Down today unexpectedly,no reason why the footballers can't complete a double against a Tyrone team that has won nothing of note for 6 years

Reason being that yous are awful
Post by: Line Ball on March 26, 2016, 07:23:28 PM
No great love for Colm Cavanagh put when you go in full tilt and Ciaran O'Hanlon obviously doesn't fancy the tackle, turning his back into it and Cavanagh gets booked then you would have to feel aggrieved.
Post by: ardchieftain on March 26, 2016, 07:29:02 PM
any links to the match?
Post by: twohands!!! on March 26, 2016, 07:45:04 PM
Glad to be indoors flicking between this and the Dublin Donegal game.

Looks utterly miserable weatherwise - fair couple of patches of the pitch where there is standing water - doesn't look an awful lot between the 2 teams so far based on what I've seen.
Post by: tonto1888 on March 26, 2016, 07:45:43 PM
Quote from: Line Ball on March 26, 2016, 07:23:28 PM
No great love for Colm Cavanagh put when you go in full tilt and Ciaran O'Hanlon obviously doesn't fancy the tackle, turning his back into it and Cavanagh gets booked then you would have to feel aggrieved.

I thought he deserved it
Post by: T Fearon on March 26, 2016, 07:47:41 PM
Miserable weather in Omagh but Armagh's best performance of the season so far.2 point lead at half time flatters Tyrone.
Post by: Main Street on March 26, 2016, 07:48:47 PM
Quote from: ardchieftain on March 26, 2016, 07:29:02 PM
any links to the match?
http://www.time4tv.com/2014/01/premier-sports-uk.php (http://www.time4tv.com/2014/01/premier-sports-uk.php)
But you will have fun getting rid of the adds
Post by: ONeill on March 26, 2016, 07:51:20 PM
Miserable conditions but Armagh doing quite well breaking up Tyrone attacks. Theyre working hard.
Post by: ardchieftain on March 26, 2016, 07:51:47 PM
cheers main street
Post by: ONeill on March 26, 2016, 07:52:53 PM
Sent you PM ard.
Post by: Main Street on March 26, 2016, 07:54:56 PM
Quote from: ardchieftain on March 26, 2016, 07:51:47 PM
cheers main street
It works grand with adblocker disabled (if you have it installed),
impossible otherwise
Post by: Line Ball on March 26, 2016, 07:57:06 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on March 26, 2016, 07:45:43 PM

I thought he deserved it

Going in too hard on someone who pulls out isn't a booking.
Post by: twohands!!! on March 26, 2016, 07:57:21 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 26, 2016, 07:51:20 PM
Miserable conditions but Armagh doing quite well breaking up Tyrone attacks. Theyre working hard.

Despite Armagh's hard work, a fair few of Tyrone's scores seem to have come when the Armagh defensive system failed completely from what I've seen - Tyrone lads in acres of space completely open kicking over.
Post by: Main Street on March 26, 2016, 07:59:45 PM
Commentator says Kernan (half time sub) will add intelligence to the Armagh team.

I take it that Kernan isn't from Lurgan.
Post by: Line Ball on March 26, 2016, 08:37:34 PM
Armagh goal with last kick and a draw
Post by: DrinkingHarp on March 26, 2016, 08:38:10 PM
WOW!!
Post by: Itchy on March 26, 2016, 08:38:39 PM
Thought Tyrone were very sloppy letting an average Armagh team back into it when they were in total control.
Post by: Main Street on March 26, 2016, 08:39:30 PM
Quote from: Line Ball on March 26, 2016, 08:37:34 PM
Armagh goal with last kick and a draw
FFs to Armagh I never saw that coming, considering what happened to every attack in the last 10 minutes.
Post by: bennydorano on March 26, 2016, 08:41:34 PM
Nice☺

Setanta commentary made me wanna vomit, waxing lyrical about Tyrone the whole game, a tad annoying.

Great point for Armagh, showed plenty of fight. Thought Aidan Forker had a great game, Gavin McParland too.
Post by: T Fearon on March 26, 2016, 08:42:29 PM
5 year unbeaten record against Tyrone maintained.A little more composure would have won the game for Armagh!
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on March 26, 2016, 08:42:36 PM
Quote from: Itchy on March 26, 2016, 08:38:39 PM
Thought Tyrone were very sloppy letting an average Armagh team back into it when they were in total control.

Indeed. Dreadful conditions and a game of football to match but very poor from Tyrone not to close it out. Thankfully it doesn't matter, as long as you learn the lesson. Fair play to Armagh though,  good point for them.
Post by: ONeill on March 26, 2016, 08:47:03 PM
I thought Tyrone were fairly disinterested and it showed at the end. Even Harte was laughing when greeting McGeeney. Nothing learned really.
Post by: Main Street on March 26, 2016, 08:50:30 PM
Has it been raining all week in Omagh? Those conditions were more suited to mud wrestling.
Post by: skeog on March 26, 2016, 08:51:51 PM
pitch unplayable good effort from both teams tyrone played like a team who had already an eye towards croker on the 27th adds a bit of spice to derry v armagh in final game
Post by: Armamike on March 26, 2016, 08:52:31 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 26, 2016, 08:47:03 PM
I thought Tyrone were fairly disinterested and it showed at the end. Even Harte was laughing when greeting McGeeney. Nothing learned really.

That's odd though. Doesn't Mickey want to win every game?
Post by: redhandefender on March 26, 2016, 08:55:58 PM
Tyrone were going for the win of course and should have finished it out. Alot of errors with conditions but really should have beat a very poor armagh team.

Mc Geeneys MMA skills on full show tonight
Post by: redzone on March 26, 2016, 08:56:10 PM
Was soupy Campbell taken of 5 min to go. Was he injured
Post by: tonto1888 on March 26, 2016, 08:56:50 PM
Quote from: Line Ball on March 26, 2016, 07:57:06 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on March 26, 2016, 07:45:43 PM

I thought he deserved it

Going in too hard on someone who pulls out isn't a booking.

Going in too hard and unfairly does
Post by: Main Street on March 26, 2016, 08:57:00 PM
Quote from: Armamike on March 26, 2016, 08:52:31 PM

It's an old indian trick, laugh to hide the embarrassment.
Post by: ONeill on March 26, 2016, 08:57:49 PM

They were disinterested. You could hear Peter Donnelly shouting at Mattie about his body language. In monsoon conditions, already in the final, against a team who are fighting for their lives, it's an OK result
Post by: TF15 on March 26, 2016, 09:01:59 PM
Tyrone in my opinion are flattering to deceive. Lot of ones saying we'll win Ulster,etc but Div 2 is very poor, still have it all to prove. Armagh are in a bad place without Clarke, can't see them featuring prominently this season at all.
Post by: redhandefender on March 26, 2016, 09:02:19 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 26, 2016, 08:57:49 PM

They were disinterested. You could hear Peter Donnelly shouting at Mattie about his body language. In monsoon conditions, already in the final, against a team who are fighting for their lives, it's an OK result

They weren't disinterested, they were crap
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 26, 2016, 09:13:14 PM
How nice it was of Tyrone to give the draw its good to have great neighbors like them.
Post by: Main Street on March 26, 2016, 09:21:21 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on March 26, 2016, 09:13:14 PM
How nice it was of Tyrone to give the draw its good to have great neighbors like them.
Some tyrone fans are doing their their best to look as if they don't care, couldn't care less about casually losing a winning position against 14 men.
Post by: BennyHarp on March 26, 2016, 09:25:05 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 26, 2016, 09:21:21 PM
Some tyrone fans are doing their their best to look as if they don't care, couldn't care less about casually losing a winning position against 14 men.

Of course Tyrone care, but it doesn't change things, so it hardly calls for despair. It's not like we've lost an All Ireland quarter final or something.
Post by: Aaron Boone on March 26, 2016, 09:29:04 PM
Had money on Tyrone to win. Hard to fathom that injury time.
Title: Tarlaíonn Sé
Post by: drici on March 26, 2016, 09:36:18 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on March 26, 2016, 09:29:04 PM

Sunday 13th March 2016

DIVISION II:
ARMAGH 1-15 GALWAY 1-15

By Orla Bannon at the Athletic Grounds

Danny Cummins' fisted goal in the seventh minute of injury-time snatched a vital draw for Galway to keep their promotion hopes alive in Division II on Sunday.

Title: Re: Tarlaíonn Sé
Post by: Aaron Boone on March 26, 2016, 09:40:31 PM
Quote from: drici on March 26, 2016, 09:36:18 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on March 26, 2016, 09:29:04 PM

Sunday 13th March 2016

DIVISION II:
ARMAGH 1-15 GALWAY 1-15

By Orla Bannon at the Athletic Grounds

Danny Cummins' fisted goal in the seventh minute of injury-time snatched a vital draw for Galway to keep their promotion hopes alive in Division II on Sunday.
Didn't have cash on that one.
Post by: bennydorano on March 26, 2016, 09:42:05 PM
It's a big year for Tyrone, being talked up all over the show. I thought they benefited greatly from a handy qualifier run last year. Did anyone think the Tyrone 6 a worthy MOTM 2nite by the way? Cant say i noticed him much.

Armagh nearly at full strength tonight with only really McKeever to come in unless people want to cling to Dyas hopes & a Jamie change of heart. Worringly shallow pool of talent. Great to see 3 Harps men on show.
Post by: T Fearon on March 26, 2016, 09:45:10 PM
The 14 Men in Black defied the Red Hands in Omagh!
Post by: tyroneman on March 26, 2016, 10:00:00 PM
Hmmm real odd night of football.

Conditions were awful. As bad as the Cavan match. Made for bad football.

Tyrone were also very very poor. Decisions, shooting, attitude the works yet still were 3 points up at the death in second gear.

Ref did everything he could to get the draw for Armagh in the final 10min and fair play they fired a hail Mary and luck was on thier side. Tyrone should had this outta sight against 14 men by that stage though.

Will do no harm for Tyrone to come back to reality. They are not AI contenders yet and have had some very ropey spells in games to date this year.

Big Sean not at the races and Bradley trying far too hard to impress. Taking wrong option over and over. He's a good player but needs to be less selfish.

Great to see the neighbours celebrate like they won the AI. Guess it shows how far they have fallen.

Post by: Main Street on March 26, 2016, 10:02:40 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on March 26, 2016, 09:25:05 PM

Of course Tyrone care, but it doesn't change things, so it hardly calls for despair. It's not like we've lost an All Ireland quarter final or something.
Do you understand that on scale of human emotion there is a huge difference between hurt and despair?
That to acknowledge a bit of hurt instead of faking apathy, does not mean you should be in the depths of despair about dropping a point you don't need.
Post by: tyroneman on March 26, 2016, 10:14:01 PM
I'm absolutely raging. You should never drop points when you are 3 up with and extra man. Heading into injury time.

I have got perspective though.
Post by: BennyHarp on March 26, 2016, 10:18:23 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 26, 2016, 10:02:40 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on March 26, 2016, 09:25:05 PM

Do you understand that on scale of human emotion there is a huge difference between hurt and despair?
That to acknowledge a bit of hurt instead of faking apathy, does not mean you should be in the depths of despair about dropping a point you don't need.

You never mentioned hurt. You said Tyrone fans "are doing their best to look like they don't care". I don't care about dropping a point as it doesn't change anything. I do care about not beating Armagh but will not get too upset about it as I believe the general trajectory is upwards for Tyrone and losing a scrappy goal in horrible conditions to draw a game we should have won isn't the end of the world. But I'll put a sad face emoticon  :'( on here if it makes you Monaghan lads feel a bit better.
Post by: illdecide on March 26, 2016, 10:20:55 PM
Tyrone were the better side tonight but didn't close the game out and the goal that got us a point was probably a we bit of luck we needed after the bad luck 2 weeks ago. Having said all that I believe Armagh had more wide's than Tyrone who were very economical in their shooting and snatching that point hopefully gives them a bit more confidence for the Derry game next week, if Derry win tomorrow and are safe I think Armagh will beat them.

I see majority of the Tyrone supporters are very gracious in dropping a point to their neighbours, very sporting as usual.
Post by: T Fearon on March 26, 2016, 10:21:45 PM
We have not been beaten in league or Championship by Tyrone in 5 years.Lets keep that going this summer.
Post by: yellowcard on March 26, 2016, 10:27:20 PM
Decent performance from Armagh in atrocious conditions where the game should have been called off with the level of surface water on the pitch. Slightly fortuitous to get a draw but we deserved it after the reverse happening in the Galway match. Tyrone look like a very ordinary side themselves and well short of the top teams on that showing.
Post by: T Fearon on March 26, 2016, 10:32:32 PM
The last time we lost a league game in Omagh we had won one All Ireland,Tyrone had won none!
Post by: tyroneman on March 26, 2016, 10:38:40 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 26, 2016, 10:21:45 PM
We have not been beaten in league or Championship by Tyrone in 5 years.Lets keep that going this summer.

I also think you have only managed to beat Tyrone twice in almost 14 years across all competitions.....depends how you define your stats eh...

And correct me if I'm wrong but did Tyrone not beat Armagh 0-19 to 1-13 in the 2012 Ulster championship......which was less than 5 years ago.....
Post by: sambostar on March 26, 2016, 11:10:03 PM
Poor from Tyrone, 4pts up with 2mins left against 14 men. How did RON miss that 21 yard free?? Doesn't matter that this was not an important game for Tyrone, it's not good enough. A disinterested Dublin beat Donegal by 6pts, Tyrone are way off the mark required
Post by: T Fearon on March 26, 2016, 11:19:59 PM
Tonight wasnt the first time an Armagh man called Grimley caused heartache in Omagh with a punch!😅
Post by: Throw ball on March 26, 2016, 11:28:16 PM
Find it amusing Tyrone people trying to slag Armagh when they got a draw with a last minute goal. Do they want the supporters to sit on their hands and the players not to cheer? A good point for Armagh but they are still well behind in the development of their gameplan.
Match was played in terrible conditions and I actually felt Armagh had quite a few players below par. They tried to match Tyrone's set up which doesn't set up for a good game in the conditions. Armagh gave a terrible lot of balls away, kicked bad wides and made some bad decisions. However, considering how bad they were against Cavan they have improved.
As for the Colm Cavanagh tackle with O Hanlon from were I set when the ball broke it looked like a 60:40 in favour of Cavanagh. But Cavanagh slowed up and only made a full effort for the ball when O 'Hanlon tried to lift it. Turning his back is a natural instinct and Cavanagh new he would leave a mark. A definite yellow for me and much more dangerous than either yellow Watters got. O'Hanlon wasn't fit to start second half.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on March 26, 2016, 11:32:30 PM
Quote from: sambostar on March 26, 2016, 11:10:03 PM
Poor from Tyrone, 4pts up with 2mins left against 14 men. How did RON miss that 21 yard free?? Doesn't matter that this was not an important game for Tyrone, it's not good enough. A disinterested Dublin beat Donegal by 6pts, Tyrone are way off the mark required

Not the first time in this campaign that Tyrone have let the opposition back into the game,  although the first time it's cost them the win. I agree that Tyrone are a work in progress and a fair bit away from genuine contenders. They are going back up though and Mickey seems to have thankfully discarded his chop and change policy of the past few years.
Post by: giveballaghback on March 26, 2016, 11:36:29 PM
That game was rubbish, typical northern negative football that has destroyed the game of football.
Post by: ONeill on March 26, 2016, 11:42:17 PM
Agreed. Another Easter Rising anyone?
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 26, 2016, 11:54:18 PM
Pretty flat performance tonight, conditions didn't help but disappointing not to hold out for the result.

We've got away with a few times already this year, Laois and Galway being obvious ones where we were cruising along and nearly threw it away, tonight it happened. Hopefully it's a lesson learned as what really separates us from the top teams now is being ruthless and putting teams to bed when we are on top.

McCurry was dreadful tonight, I do rate him but I would suspect his place is under serious threat come Championship now. Thought McCarron had a very poor game tonight as well. Positives were Colm Cavanagh, Rory Brennan and McAliskey.
Post by: yellowcard on March 27, 2016, 12:03:50 AM
Quote from: giveballaghback on March 26, 2016, 11:36:29 PM
That game was rubbish, typical northern negative football that has destroyed the game of football.

Given that you had the choice of Dublin v Donegal or Tyrone v Armagh and you chose to watch the latter, your comment is utterly bizarre.
Post by: WT4E on March 27, 2016, 12:23:58 AM
It all comes down to tyrones most recent failure - lack of consistent free taker. Very scorable free at end to seal the game and O'Neill hadn't the balls! Let people delude themselves all year about titles but if u don't have that forget about it!!!!
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 27, 2016, 02:29:05 AM
Quote from: WT4E on March 27, 2016, 12:23:58 AM
It all comes down to tyrones most recent failure - lack of consistent free taker. Very scorable free at end to seal the game and O'Neill hadn't the balls! Let people delude themselves all year about titles but if u don't have that forget about it!!!!

Complacency cost it, terrible miss from O'Neill but was more from a lack of focus and complacency than pressure.

At the end of the day, it was a game that meant little to us. What we really need to learn is how to kill games off when on top, Bradley and McAliskey spurned great goal chances tonight which would have put things to bed. We were made sweat for results against Galway and  Laois had our keeper to thank for great saves late on after dominating those games, tonight we finally played the price.

It was a flat performance, it brought up some big improvements that must be made. It's a reminder for us not to be getting carried away but the fact is the result doesn't render any damage to us, promotion is sealed and a few areas needed to improve upon have been highlighted.
Post by: time ticking away on March 27, 2016, 02:30:07 AM
Quote from: WT4E on March 27, 2016, 12:23:58 AM
So Tyrone didn't win because Ronan O Neill missed a free... lol
In a game full of mistakes you pick one and forget the rest !
If I was to pick one mistake which cost us dearly it would be Matties inability to pass the ball without first trying to beat someone when he got blown up for over carrying right at the end. But as i already said it was a game full of mistakes and to pick one would be unfair
Post by: StGallsGAA on March 27, 2016, 06:19:16 AM
Tyrone learned a few cheap lessons in that game namely making the right choices and closing out a comfortable lead.  Winning easily against a poor team teaches you very little.   

Personally I would not want to see Armagh relegated.  As history has shown us,  Ulster sides win the AI when their neighbours are also strong. 
Post by: LeoMc on March 27, 2016, 10:48:33 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on March 26, 2016, 08:41:34 PM
Nice☺

Setanta commentary made me wanna vomit, waxing lyrical about Tyrone the whole game, a tad annoying.

Great point for Armagh, showed plenty of fight. Thought Aidan Forker had a great game, Gavin McParland too.
McParland gave McCarron a lot of bother over the hour. Forker kicked a great point in the first half but didn't notice him much beyond that.
Post by: LeoMc on March 27, 2016, 10:51:07 AM
Quote from: AFS on March 26, 2016, 11:42:22 PM
Thought we deserved something from the game tonight. Especially sweet coming on the back of conceding one of those in the last game. Another improved display from our lads, but maybe difficult to read too much into it considering the conditions and the particular approach of the referee. He seemed completely unable to distinguish incidental contact from genuine foul play, so just whistled for everything. Ruined the flow of the game entirely.

Most of our top performers were in defence. Vernon, Shields and McElroy were best for me. Forker was busy, there's a very good footballer there if he ever manages to cut out some of the silly stuff. Kernan made a difference when introduced, and McParland won a lot of ball. But most of our forwards struggled. Thought Watters was unlucky to receive the second yellow. Looked to me that Cavanagh slipped to his knees just before coming into contactwith an already committed Watters, which meant contact was made around the neck/ shoulders instead of around the midriff. A better referee might have realised this.

Would be confident enough of getting the result we need to stay up against Derry given the recent improvement and the fact that they can't be much better than the rest of the also-rans that populate this division.

Thought the same, clumsy more than malicious but Ref was bowing everything for fear of escalation.
Post by: stew on March 27, 2016, 11:49:34 AM
Quote from: tyroneman on March 26, 2016, 10:00:00 PM
Hmmm real odd night of football.

Conditions were awful. As bad as the Cavan match. Made for bad football.

Tyrone were also very very poor. Decisions, shooting, attitude the works yet still were 3 points up at the death in second gear.

Ref did everything he could to get the draw for Armagh in the final 10min and fair play they fired a hail Mary and luck was on thier side. Tyrone should had this outta sight against 14 men by that stage though.

Will do no harm for Tyrone to come back to reality. They are not AI contenders yet and have had some very ropey spells in games to date this year.

Big Sean not at the races and Bradley trying far too hard to impress. Taking wrong option over and over. He's a good player but needs to be less selfish.

Great to see the neighbours celebrate like they won the AI. Guess it shows how far they have fallen.

14 men behind the ball is hard for any team to break down, I am delighted at the Armagh effort and we are getting better all the time, I thought we had a chance as long as Findon was threw on the bench, he is a dose.

We kicked a lot of wides and deserved at least a draw,  if I was a Tyrone fan I would be seriously worried, yeah you lot are moving up but that was a hated enemy you were playing and you failed to beat  them at home.
Post by: illdecide on March 27, 2016, 12:37:33 PM
So what have we learned from this game...
Tyrone are not as good as they thought?
Armagh are not as bad as everyone else thought?
Tyrone are better but had just nothing to play for?
Both teams are sh1te?
Both teams are decent and played a decent game in terrible conditions?
Post by: redzone on March 27, 2016, 01:08:30 PM
Seems the Armagh fans are more concerned than the Tyrone fans about our performance. Even before the game it was all Armagh fans doing the talking. Not being disrespectful but it shows how far down the rivalry list Armagh are when we don't care to much about them anymore. Prob on the same level as Fermanagh now. Donegal, Monaghan, Derry are all ahead of Armagh in terms of rivalry with us.

On aside note looking on the Armagh Twitter account last nite and no updates from the game at all hardly. Seem more interested in hurling and maybe Yous should concentrate on that instead lads. Yous seem better at it  ;)
Post by: yellowcard on March 27, 2016, 01:29:38 PM
Don't think any Armagh fans are overly concerned about Tyrone at the minute, we have our own concerns. However Tyrone had been hyped up since performing decently against Kerry in last years AI semi, winning their annual McKenna cup trophy and coasting through a mediocre division 2. They are organised, well structured and methodical but in reality have very few top class players. In short a long way off the top teams in the country. It was a very satisfactory way to gain the draw that could yet keep us up having been 4 points down heading into injury time.
Post by: T Fearon on March 27, 2016, 03:12:49 PM
This was a game Armagh so easily could have won against a Tyrone team who by self admission resolve to win every game. Both teams are considerably behind Donegal and Monaghan in Ulster and miles behind Kerry and Dublin.

Still it was great to deflate Tyrone all the same,and extend our unbeaten run in Healy Park to two games,which is bound to impair Tyrone psychologically  should they beat Derry to play us in the Ulster semi final
Post by: tonto1888 on March 27, 2016, 03:24:09 PM
Quote from: redzone on March 27, 2016, 01:08:30 PM
Seems the Armagh fans are more concerned than the Tyrone fans about our performance. Even before the game it was all Armagh fans doing the talking. Not being disrespectful but it shows how far down the rivalry list Armagh are when we don't care to much about them anymore. Prob on the same level as Fermanagh now. Donegal, Monaghan, Derry are all ahead of Armagh in terms of rivalry with us.

On aside note looking on the Armagh Twitter account last nite and no updates from the game at all hardly. Seem more interested in hurling and maybe Yous should concentrate on that instead lads. Yous seem better at it  ;)

Plenty of Tyrone ones in the crowd last night concerned and pissed off.
Post by: T Fearon on March 27, 2016, 03:27:10 PM
Amazed at the amount of abuse Tyrone fans meted out to certain members of their own team last night,without naming names.
Post by: BennyHarp on March 27, 2016, 04:07:19 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 27, 2016, 03:12:49 PM
This was a game Armagh so easily could have won against a Tyrone team who by self admission resolve to win every game. Both teams are considerably behind Donegal and Monaghan in Ulster and miles behind Kerry and Dublin.

Still it was great to deflate Tyrone all the same,and extend our unbeaten run in Healy Park to two games,which is bound to impair Tyrone psychologically  should they beat Derry to play us in the Ulster semi final

You do realise Tyrone beat Monaghan last year? Have they improved much? There's a lot of wishful thinking in Armagh hoping to drag Tyrone into their own mire. Even the best teams have poor performances. I won't be rating Tyrone on last night alone. If you draw a form line from last years defeat to Donegal then I'm comfortable enough that Tyrone are moving in the right direction. A draw in the mud with local rivals who are desperate for the points will not make me lose too much sleep.
Post by: StGallsGAA on March 27, 2016, 04:38:00 PM
QuoteAmazed at the amount of abuse Tyrone fans meted out to certain members of their own team last night,without naming names.

Exclusive!:  GAA fans in calling some their own players shite shocker!!
Post by: never kickt a ball on March 27, 2016, 05:04:40 PM

Amazing!!!! And by self admission too. Amazing
Post by: Gaffer on March 27, 2016, 05:07:09 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 27, 2016, 03:27:10 PM
Amazed at the amount of abuse Tyrone fans meted out to certain members of their own team last night,without naming names.

What's amazing is that the Armagh fans haven't yet realised how useless a manager McGeeney is!
Post by: muppet on March 27, 2016, 05:43:26 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on March 27, 2016, 05:07:09 PM

What's amazing is that the Armagh fans haven't yet realised how useless a manager McGeeney is!

He can do no wrong because he reports accurately to his superiors.
Post by: tyroneman on March 27, 2016, 05:49:01 PM

I'm sure Tyrone will be sh!tting themselves if they have to play Armagh in Healy this summer  ::)

Still..at least you have started to get a grasp on stats in this post.....but still haven't got round the fact that Tyrone have had Armagh in their pocket for almost 14 years.....2 wins in all competitions in that length of time.....dearie me.....

Think MH summed it up best ' they desired that 1 point more than we desired the 2'
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on March 27, 2016, 05:52:11 PM
Daylight robbery from us, Tyrone look like they can grow into a decent side but I just don't see the star quality up front although that talent might come through to complement the ball players they have now.

We worked really hard and I can see us improving but we are along way off the top but as long as we strive to get there and work hard I'm a happy supporter.

Just an aside, I love Tyrone Armagh banter but some of the shit on here is just stupid and silly, a few people need to grow up.
Post by: T Fearon on March 27, 2016, 05:55:28 PM
If Armagh had converted a fraction of the chances they created they would have collected both points last night.It was amusing in injury time last night,to see Tyrone pinned back at their own goals by 14 men,and their fans screaming for the final whistle against an Armagh team that is at best a work in progress.
Post by: StGallsGAA on March 27, 2016, 06:07:14 PM
Cherish that moment Tony, it could be a short summer for ye! ;)
Post by: tyroneman on March 27, 2016, 06:11:01 PM
At the end of the day Tyrone are in a Div 2 final and have Div 1 football to look forward to next year.with a game to spare.

If Armagh get beat by Derry they are heading for Div 3

In that context if (some) Armagh folk want to cling to sat nights last second draw as evidence of Armaghs rise and Tyrones decline then let them have their moment, deluded as it is.
Post by: general_lee on March 27, 2016, 06:15:41 PM
Quote from: RealSpiritof98 on March 27, 2016, 05:52:11 PM
Just an aside, I love Tyrone Armagh banter but some of the shit on here is just stupid and silly, a few people need to grow up.
x2. Tyrone are well ahead of Armagh in their development. I actually think they can reach another level come championship and would rate them ahead of Monaghan and probably on a par with Donegal, maybe even better.
Post by: T Fearon on March 27, 2016, 06:21:22 PM
I don't think any Armagh fan is deluded into thinking the current squad is ready to win anything yet.But last night was a significant improvement on anything I've seen from them this season.Great character was shown to pull back a 4 point deficit with 14 men.On the balance of play they were more than a match for Tyrone who as usual are being misjudged and overrated at this stage of the season,as they are arguably the only county that goes hell for leather to win every game be it Mc Kenna Cup,League or Championship.
Post by: Throw ball on March 27, 2016, 08:41:24 PM
Quote from: general_lee on March 27, 2016, 06:15:41 PM
Quote from: RealSpiritof98 on March 27, 2016, 05:52:11 PM
x2. Tyrone are well ahead of Armagh in their development. I actually think they can reach another level come championship and would rate them ahead of Monaghan and probably on a par with Donegal, maybe even better.

I was actually disappointed in Tyrone. Considering how Armagh have been playing and the players they had available I was expecting a drubbing. In the end there was not a great deal between the teams. I know Tyrone will improve significantly by summer but still feel they are a missing at least one top, top player to challenge at the very top.
Post by: BennyCake on March 27, 2016, 08:49:01 PM
Tyrone are hyped up after last year. Sligo, Tipp, Limerick, to get to a semi. Luck of the draw like Armagh the previous year. Tyrone will be found out come the summer.
Post by: T Fearon on March 27, 2016, 08:56:44 PM
And decidedly lucky to get past Tipp as well.
Post by: imtommygunn on March 27, 2016, 09:02:15 PM
The game they narrowly won by 12 points...
Post by: GlenMan on March 27, 2016, 09:11:04 PM
I think it's hilarious that Armagh fans on here are quick to judge Tyrone on one performance.

At the end of the day the pressure was off Tyrone while Armagh were desperately grasping for a point to try and salvage their place in Div 2. I feel sorry for Armagh fans on how far their County has fallen.
Post by: Gaffer on March 27, 2016, 09:13:50 PM
Quote from: GlenMan on March 27, 2016, 09:11:04 PM
I think it's hilarious that Armagh fans on here are quick to judge Tyrone on one performance.

At the end of the day the pressure was off Tyrone while Armagh were desperately grasping for a point to try and salvage their place in Div 2. I feel sorry for Armagh fans on how far their County has fallen.

Agreed! It must be ket being an Armagh supporter these days. Scraping to stay in division 2 and having McGeeney as their manager!
Post by: BennyCake on March 27, 2016, 09:14:55 PM

We could've stayed up even if we'd lost to Tyrone. We've fallen to the same level as Tyrone, so I'd get off your high horse.
Post by: GlenMan on March 27, 2016, 09:17:53 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 27, 2016, 09:14:55 PM

We could've stayed up even if we'd lost to Tyrone. We've fallen to the same level as Tyrone, so I'd get off your high horse.

No high horse - just my honest opinion on the situation. Tyrone were bad last night but still led the game for 74 minutes. After today's results, Armagh are more likely to go down.
Post by: BennyCake on March 27, 2016, 09:29:19 PM
Quote from: GlenMan on March 27, 2016, 09:17:53 PM

No high horse - just my honest opinion on the situation. Tyrone were bad last night but still led the game for 74 minutes. After today's results, Armagh are more likely to go down.

Maybe so, but you still didn't win it. Were Tyrone bad or did Armagh not let you play? Your big players were nullified.

We could go down but it's still in our own hands.
Post by: T Fearon on March 27, 2016, 09:30:43 PM
It was apparent that Tyrone were wary of Armagh from the start and never displayed any swagger.An alien watching the game wouldn't have known who was promoted or who was struggling with relegation.

Also Mc Geeney led Kikdare to a fairly facile win over Tyrone in the Div 2 Final a few years ago
Post by: BennyHarp on March 27, 2016, 10:04:54 PM

What level is that? In the past three years Tyrone have been in two All Ireland semi finals, a Div 1 league final, are U21 AI champions and have just won promotion back to Div 1 with two games to spare. Is this the level you reckon Armagh are operating at?
Post by: T Fearon on March 27, 2016, 10:09:52 PM
Tyrone have won nothing in those years.Mayo lose semi finals,just like Tyrone these days
Post by: BennyHarp on March 27, 2016, 10:14:10 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 27, 2016, 10:09:52 PM
Tyrone have won nothing in those years.Mayo lose semi finals,just like Tyrone these days

So you reckon Armagh are on the same level as Mayo too?
Post by: BennyCake on March 27, 2016, 10:30:50 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on March 27, 2016, 10:04:54 PM

What level is that? In the past three years Tyrone have been in two All Ireland semi finals, a Div 1 league final, are U21 AI champions and have just won promotion back to Div 1 with two games to spare. Is this the level you reckon Armagh are operating at?

Aye, and Armagh u-14 camogs won the Ulster title. Who's talking about u21s?!

The same level, ie Division 2. That's where we are both at. You still won nothing those 3 years. At least we have a Div 3 title to show for our efforts ;)
Post by: twohands!!! on March 27, 2016, 10:36:51 PM
Beat Cavan by 2 points, beat Galway by 2 points, beat Laois by a goal, beat Derry by 2-3, beat Meath by 6 and drew with Armagh.

Tyrone's performances in the league so far.

You'd want to be some  optimist to think Tyrone are a serious All-Ireland contender off the back of those results.
Post by: BennyHarp on March 27, 2016, 10:37:54 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 27, 2016, 10:30:50 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on March 27, 2016, 10:04:54 PM

Aye, and Armagh u-14 camogs won the Ulster title. Who's talking about u21s?!

The same level, ie Division 2. That's where we are both at. You still won nothing those 3 years. At least we have a Div 3 title to show for our efforts ;)

I know you have fallen to a pretty low level but how many of your current u-14 camogs do you reckon will line out for Armagh in the coming seasons....good as they may be?
Post by: T Fearon on March 27, 2016, 10:48:58 PM
On the evidence of last night,neither Tyrone or Armagh would have a snowball's chance of winning Ulster,never mind an AI.As for Tyrone getting promoted to Division 1,so did Down last year and look at them.
Post by: BennyHarp on March 27, 2016, 10:58:29 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 27, 2016, 10:48:58 PM
On the evidence of last night,neither Tyrone or Armagh would have a snowball's chance of winning Ulster,never mind an AI.As for Tyrone getting promoted to Division 1,so did Down last year and look at them.

True but I think on balance, it's probably better to get promoted from div 2 than get relegated from it.
Post by: redhandefender on March 27, 2016, 11:35:33 PM

Catch a grip you fool, evven if you had beat us last night armagh are nowhere near tyrones level. Are years behind at underage level. Are you saying there are only 2 levels, all ireland winners and those that don't win.

At least we wont hhave to play this muck next year
Post by: BennyCake on March 27, 2016, 11:48:24 PM
Div 2 is the same level.

Ah us peasants can only dream of beating Sligo and Tipperary.
Post by: GlenMan on March 28, 2016, 12:07:36 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 27, 2016, 11:48:24 PM
Div 2 is the same level.

You can only dream of beating Galway after they knocked you out last year.

I'd love to see Armagh play Kerry- you'd get annihilated. Tyrone have a bit of work to do but they only lost the Semi Final last year by a few points and were level with a couple minutes to play.
Post by: rrhf on March 28, 2016, 12:20:42 AM
very average performance which would only have competed with down out of the top 8. Not good enough.
Post by: BennyCake on March 28, 2016, 12:31:08 AM
Quote from: GlenMan on March 28, 2016, 12:07:36 AM
Div 2 is the same level.

You can only dream of beating Galway after they knocked you out last year.

I'd love to see Armagh play Kerry- you'd get annihilated. Tyrone have a bit of work to do but they only lost the Semi Final last year by a few points and were level with a couple minutes to play.

And Donegal beat us by a point a while ago. It means diddly squat. We still lost, as did Tyrone against Kerry.

Kerry would stuff most teams tbh. Didn't they give you a 15 point hiding a year or so ago?
Post by: BennyHarp on March 28, 2016, 12:35:32 AM
Div 2 is the same level.

I appreciate you are most likely taking the piss here, but I'll humour you anyway. So by your logic this means that Dublin and Down are on the same level now then? So next year, regardless of what happens between now and then, we will be at Dublins level too and then we will also be a level above Armagh (possibly two, whilst you follow your dream of beating Sligo and Tipp) Thanks for the clarification! 😀
Post by: Throw ball on March 28, 2016, 01:26:52 AM
To be honest I feel most Armagh people know what level their team are at. The problem seems to be that although Tyrone are better they are not at the level their supporters think they are at.
Post by: StGallsGAA on March 28, 2016, 02:55:28 AM
QuoteTyrone are hyped up after last year. Sligo, Tipp, Limerick, to get to a semi. Luck of the draw like Armagh the previous year. Tyrone will be found out come the summer.

Ach, sure we are a pack of jammy hoors! Only for biased refs we'd hardly have even one Sam, never mind 3!   ;)
Post by: BennyCake on March 28, 2016, 08:52:15 AM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on March 28, 2016, 02:55:28 AM
QuoteTyrone are hyped up after last year. Sligo, Tipp, Limerick, to get to a semi. Luck of the draw like Armagh the previous year. Tyrone will be found out come the summer.

Ach, sure we are a pack of jammy hoors! Only for biased refs we'd hardly have even one Sam, never mind 3!   ;)

That's 8+ years ago, dude. My post referred to the present.
Post by: Applesisapples on March 28, 2016, 09:59:48 AM
First off fair play to the Ref, he did well in poor conditions best performance I've seen this year. Secondly I don't believe Tyrone played too badly, Armagh much to my frustration pulled a performance out of the bag. Tyrone won't be far off in the summer but they are still some yards behind the Dubs and Kerry. Armagh are a work in progress but they lack a few more scoring forwards. I hope they survive in the Division as it will give them a boost for the Championship.It still concerns me that only 1 player from Cross is on the panel...whatever the reasoning. Aidan Forker concerns me also, a good footballer
but no discipline.
Post by: redhandefender on March 28, 2016, 11:57:36 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 28, 2016, 08:52:15 AM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on March 28, 2016, 02:55:28 AM

Enjoy an early bath in the championship lad and iv 3 next year, will give yous plenty of time to watch county crossmaglen stroll another championship, #levels
Post by: general_lee on March 28, 2016, 02:15:15 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on March 28, 2016, 01:26:52 AM
To be honest I feel most Armagh people know what level their team are at. The problem seems to be that although Tyrone are better they are not at the level their supporters think they are at.
This.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 28, 2016, 03:08:58 PM

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=26578.0

(http://statfaking2.firstpost.in/wp-content/uploads/2015/07/black-kettle.jpg)
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 28, 2016, 03:09:39 PM

What level do you think Tyrone fans think they're at?
Post by: muppet on March 28, 2016, 03:54:37 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on March 28, 2016, 03:09:39 PM

Hard to tell exactly what level Tyrone are at, but they always end up on the ground.  :D

(http://www.murraymitchell.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/05/skydivers_floating_gif.gif)
Post by: Over the Bar on March 28, 2016, 04:48:43 PM
Tyrone are hyped up after last year. Sligo, Tipp, Limerick, to get to a semi. Luck of the draw like Armagh the previous year. Tyrone will be found out come the summer.

Then benny you should be a little more specific, otherwise Tyronies and the likes of St Galls might misunderstand your intent.  When will Tyrone be caught out?  And at what stage or even by whom?  Don't think anyone is suggesting the 4th AI is on the cards but 'being caught out in the summer' is probably the easiest,  laziest statement in GAA.  Not hard to say a horse won't come in the top 2 in a race of 32.   Why not put your cahoonas on on the line to say which stage of Ulster and what non-Ulster teams bar the big hitters Tyrone will get 'caught out' against?? ;)
Post by: Throw ball on March 28, 2016, 05:30:42 PM

About level with Monaghan. Will cause teams trouble but nowhere near winning the big one. If McManus transferred though?
Post by: Aaron Boone on March 28, 2016, 06:31:00 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on March 28, 2016, 05:30:42 PM

About level with Monaghan. Will cause teams trouble but nowhere near winning the big one. If McManus transferred though?
Could that be a runner? Clontibret isn't that far from Tyrone.
Post by: BennyHarp on March 28, 2016, 06:45:55 PM

And you disagree with this?
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 28, 2016, 06:49:04 PM

I'm asking you what level do you think Tyrone fans think Tyrone are at?

Only Dublin, Mayo and Kerry could definitively be ranked ahead of us at the minute and I think of the four semi-finalists last year, the age profile of the Tyrone team was by far the youngest. Hard to really gauge at what level Donegal are going to be at this summer.

Tyrone are also very much a summer team who relish the quick playing pitch of Croke Park.
Post by: Over the Bar on March 28, 2016, 07:11:58 PM
Sorry you are wrong Il Bomber. According to Benny Harp 'Tyrone will be found out in the summer'. There's a thinking man's statement if ever you heard one!  Not.
Post by: BennyHarp on March 28, 2016, 07:46:17 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on March 28, 2016, 07:11:58 PM
Sorry you are wrong Il Bomber. According to Benny Harp 'Tyrone will be found out in the summer'. There's a thinking man's statement if ever you heard one!  Not.

You lads are some craic, using quotation marks and all to "back up" your nonsense! Where did I say that? 😂
Post by: BennyCake on March 28, 2016, 08:27:24 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on March 28, 2016, 04:48:43 PM

Then benny you should be a little more specific, otherwise Tyronies and the likes of St Galls might misunderstand your intent.  When will Tyrone be caught out?  And at what stage or even by whom?  Don't think anyone is suggesting the 4th AI is on the cards but 'being caught out in the summer' is probably the easiest,  laziest statement in GAA.  Not hard to say a horse won't come in the top 2 in a race of 32.   Why not put your cahoonas on on the line to say which stage of Ulster and what non-Ulster teams bar the big hitters Tyrone will get 'caught out' against?? ;)

Tyronie's got carried away at a semi last year. That means diddly squat this year. I put Donegal and Monaghan ahead of them for Ulster. I'd imagine a lot of you think Tyrone will build on last year and go even further. I just don't see it happening.

Derry will give you your fill in Celtic Park. I wouldn't be surprised if they beat you. And I'm not getting at Tyrone here, I'm just calling it as I see it.
Post by: Throw ball on March 28, 2016, 09:10:25 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on March 28, 2016, 06:49:04 PM

Only Dublin, Mayo and Kerry could definitively be ranked ahead of us at the minute and I think of the four semi-finalists last year, the age profile of the Tyrone team was by far the youngest. Hard to really gauge at what level Donegal are going to be at this summer.

Tyrone are also very much a summer team who relish the quick playing pitch of Croke Park.

Sorry I misread your post. That is were I feel Tyrone are. I get the impression a lot of Tyrone fans feel only Dublin are clearly ahead of them.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 28, 2016, 10:21:01 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 28, 2016, 08:27:24 PM

Tyronie's got carried away at a semi last year. That means diddly squat this year. I put Donegal and Monaghan ahead of them for Ulster. I'd imagine a lot of you think Tyrone will build on last year and go even further. I just don't see it happening.

Derry will give you your fill in Celtic Park. I wouldn't be surprised if they beat you. And I'm not getting at Tyrone here, I'm just calling it as I see it.

Ah sure we'll not bother togging out this year then so
Post by: muppet on March 29, 2016, 01:28:45 AM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on March 28, 2016, 10:21:01 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 28, 2016, 08:27:24 PM

Ah sure we'll not bother togging out this year then so

I honestly believe that Brolly, Spillane and O'Rourke etc. want all but maybe 2 counties not to bother togging every year.
Post by: Clinker on March 29, 2016, 01:47:07 AM
Most of this Board reflects Countyism - in this thread's case Tyroneshire versus Armaghshire - the imposed and subsequently accepted and the reflected glory of the residents who have an interest -much as Dublinshire or Kilkennyshire etc.
Little connection of people between Lurgan and Creggan{Armaghshire} yet lumped together as the same and those that sell to SKY thrive on the concept.
Money and what they deem at their meetings - bread and circus patrons.
The best and most natural threads on this Board are the Antrim, the recent crowd that have thankfully landed from Laois and of whom any reader is grateful and the long standing Derry ones, Cavan ,Down and Mayo, Longford also  - if one were asked to be directed towards what is the People's GAA.

Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 29, 2016, 10:13:54 AM
Quote from: Throw ball on March 28, 2016, 09:10:25 PM

Sorry I misread your post. That is were I feel Tyrone are. I get the impression a lot of Tyrone fans feel only Dublin are clearly ahead of them.

Dublin are ahead of everyone at the minute. You can do a hierarchy of the next four teams but I don't think there is a lot between them and from a Tyrone perspective I certainly wouldn't be fearing any of the others.
Post by: redhandefender on March 29, 2016, 10:20:10 AM

Wise up, there is no way Dublin are ahead of us!
Post by: BennyHarp on March 29, 2016, 10:29:05 AM
Quote from: redhandefender on March 29, 2016, 10:20:10 AM

Wise up, there is no way Dublin are ahead of us!

I agree......the jury is still out on the Dubs but we have won the McKenna cup and achieved promotion already this season.
Post by: tyroneman on March 29, 2016, 10:33:29 AM
I would say Tyrone, without a marquee forward, are probably around Monaghan or Cork level. Capable of beating any other team on a good day with a bit of luck and everything would need to be clicking but would start as the underdogs in any match v Dublin, Donegal, Kerry and Mayo.

Would be great to win Ulster but would fear the Derry banana skin lying in wait at Celtic park and ultimately still think Donegal are a stronger team with more 'big game' match winners should we meet them.

I really don't think we will win another AI until we discover a true top quality forward; one that other counties would covet....a Brogan, Murphy, o'Shea, Connolly,  o'Donoghue type.

The truth is that we are really a little too good for Div 2 but might find it difficult to stay in Div 1. Well oiled defensively, as fit as anyone in Ireland, playing to a system that everyone buys into..... but without the killer forwards necessary to win Sam.

Post by: Throw ball on March 29, 2016, 10:36:15 AM
Quote from: tyroneman on March 29, 2016, 10:33:29 AM
I would say Tyrone, without a marquee forward, are probably around Monaghan or Cork level. Capable of beating any other team on a good day with a bit of luck and everything woupd need to be clicking but would start as the underdogs in any match v Dublin, Donegal, Kerry and Mayo.

Would be great to win Ulster but would fear the Derry banana skin lying in wait at Celtic park and ultimately still think Donegal are a stronger team with more 'big game' match winners should we meet them.

I really don't think we will win another AI until we discover a true top quality forward, one that other counties would covet....a Brogan, Murphy, o'Shea, Connolly,  o' Donoghue type

I enjoy the banter on here but the truth is we are really a little too good for div 2 but might find it difficult to stay in Div 1

I agree but please do not tell anyone from Armagh that I agreed with a Tyrone man!
Post by: nrico2006 on March 29, 2016, 11:00:21 AM
I would say Tyrone, without a marquee forward, are probably around Monaghan or Cork level. Capable of beating any other team on a good day with a bit of luck and everything would need to be clicking but would start as the underdogs in any match v Dublin, Donegal, Kerry and Mayo.

I really don't think we will win another AI until we discover a true top quality forward; one that other counties would covet....a Brogan, Murphy, o'Shea, Connolly,  o'Donoghue type.

The truth is that we are really a little too good for Div 2 but might find it difficult to stay in Div 1. Well oiled defensively, as fit as anyone in Ireland, playing to a system that everyone buys into..... but without the killer forwards necessary to win Sam.

Has Lee Brennan the potential to be a marquee forward? 
Post by: redhandefender on March 29, 2016, 01:38:17 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on March 29, 2016, 11:00:21 AM

Has Lee Brennan the potential to be a marquee forward?

Without a doubt he does, 19 and imo will be starting for tyrone come championship
Post by: general_lee on March 29, 2016, 02:19:01 PM
If Tyrone had a Murphy or an O'Shea they'd be shoe-ins. They've pretty decent forwards already, but they'd need to all collectively play out of their skins on a regular basis to win Sam. Which is unlikely.
Post by: twohands!!! on March 29, 2016, 03:11:12 PM
Quote from: general_lee on March 29, 2016, 02:19:01 PM
If Tyrone had a Murphy or an O'Shea they'd be shoe-ins. They've pretty decent forwards already, but they'd need to all collectively play out of their skins on a regular basis to win Sam. Which is unlikely.

Looking at the odds for Player of the Year on Paddypower I think is very instructive in terms of where the various teams are and what the relative level of quality is in each county.

The first 4 players for Tyrone in the POTY betting are -

Mattie Donnelly is joint 9th at 25/1
Peter Harte is joint 32nd at 50/1
Sean Cavanagh is joint 46th at 100/1 as is Darren McCurry

As a comparison Dublin have 5 players at 25/1 or less.

The odds for the All-Stars tell a similar tale - Tyrone forwards are decent but not among the favourites for All-Stars.
In terms of Dublin there are actually 6 Dublin players at a shorter price for a full forward All-Star than the 2 Tyrone players with the joint lowest odds Darren McCurry & Sean Cavanagh at 10/1

Post by: BennyHarp on March 29, 2016, 03:49:26 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on March 29, 2016, 03:11:12 PM

Looking at the odds for Player of the Year on Paddypower I think is very instructive in terms of where the various teams are and what the relative level of quality is in each county.

The odds for the All-Stars tell a similar tale - Tyrone forwards are decent but not among the favourites for All-Stars.
In terms of Dublin there are actually 6 Dublin players at a shorter price for a full forward All-Star than the 2 Tyrone players with the joint lowest odds Darren McCurry & Sean Cavanagh at 10/1

;D Feck me. Do you need Paddy Power to tell you who is a good player or not?
Post by: twohands!!! on March 29, 2016, 07:33:48 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on March 29, 2016, 03:49:26 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on March 29, 2016, 03:11:12 PM

;D Feck me. Do you need Paddy Power to tell you who is a good player or not?

No its just another way of looking at the matter rather than being blinded by county loyalties.
Post by: tonto1888 on March 30, 2016, 07:24:59 AM
we played well Saturday night and matched Tyrone. However, that does not make us on their level. We aren't. I was however disappointed with Tyrone's performance. That was the first Ive seen them this year and after reading about how well they've been playing I expected a lot more from them. Perhaps they played within themselves???
Post by: omagh_gael on March 30, 2016, 11:03:00 AM
IMO it's pointless trying to read anything into that game. Conditions taken in isolation destroyed the game as a 'spectacle' and the fact we were already promoted and Armagh are in a dogfight to avoid relegation further muddied the waters.

We are still the in the pack (alongside Cork and Roscommon) chasing the top four (Dublin, Kerry, Mayo and Donegal) and Armagh are, IMO, are fourth/fifth in line in Ulster (behind Donegal, Tyrone, Monaghan, Derry and Cavan).
Post by: Over the Bar on March 30, 2016, 02:23:23 PM
Whilst I agree with a lot of the points made about Tyrone lacking a marquee forward,  they didn't have one in 2008.  Mind you, when Brian McGuigan was supplying the ammo, he could make any forward look like the new Pele!
Post by: BennyHarp on March 30, 2016, 02:44:07 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on March 30, 2016, 02:23:23 PM
Whilst I agree with a lot of the points made about Tyrone lacking a marquee forward,  they didn't have one in 2008.  Mind you, when Brian McGuigan was supplying the ammo, he could make any forward look like the new Pele!

Would footballer of the year that year Sean Cavanagh not have been in the marquee category that season?
Post by: BennyCake on March 30, 2016, 04:09:20 PM

He was only a second half sub in semi and final. He must've been one hell of a player to do that from the bench!  :P
Post by: tyroneman on March 30, 2016, 04:47:51 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on March 30, 2016, 02:44:07 PM

Would footballer of the year that year Sean Cavanagh not have been in the marquee category that season?

Absolutely. Sean Cavanagh was sublime that year in his new role.