Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Feckitt on May 21, 2014, 09:08:53 AM

Title: Vote
Post by: Feckitt on May 21, 2014, 09:08:53 AM
Get out and Vote!
Transfer your Vote!
and most importantly,
Encourage your friends and family to vote!!!
Title: Re: Vote
Post by: Hereiam on May 21, 2014, 10:14:49 AM
What puts me off is the fact that I have to drive past my local polling station which is about a mile from the house to go to one that is 7 miles away in a different town.
Post by: armaghniac on May 21, 2014, 10:54:15 AM
QuoteTransfer your Vote!

This is important.
Post by: Hereiam on May 21, 2014, 10:59:14 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 21, 2014, 10:54:15 AM
QuoteTransfer your Vote!

This is important.

Explain!!!
Post by: armaghniac on May 21, 2014, 11:16:08 AM
Quote from: Hereiam on May 21, 2014, 10:59:14 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 21, 2014, 10:54:15 AM
QuoteTransfer your Vote!

This is important.

Explain!!!

It is not the first seat that is in any real contention, or the second one, but the later seats are were the real battle is.
Post by: Hereiam on May 21, 2014, 11:57:54 AM
So what you are saying is that people so vote 1,2,3 etc
Post by: cockahoop on May 21, 2014, 12:04:30 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on May 21, 2014, 09:08:53 AM
Get out and Vote!
Transfer your Vote!
and most importantly,
Encourage your friends and family to vote!!!

No chance!
Post by: Minder on May 21, 2014, 12:12:40 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on May 21, 2014, 11:57:54 AM

Dodds and Anderson are certs, I think, their seat between Alex Attwood or Jim Allister, I think
Post by: BennyCake on May 21, 2014, 12:38:57 PM
Voting is pointless. No matter who gets in, they're all singing from the same hymn sheet.
Post by: deiseach on May 21, 2014, 12:44:01 PM
Personally I view voting as a civic duty. But if you don't want to vote, don't vote.
Post by: DuffleKing on May 21, 2014, 12:45:48 PM

X Factor final already?
Post by: thewobbler on May 21, 2014, 12:49:50 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 21, 2014, 12:38:57 PM
Voting is pointless. No matter who gets in, they're all singing from the same hymn sheet.
Voting is the fundamental cornerstone of democracy.

Your opinion on the matter is the ultimate catch-22. You won't vote because you don't think it matters, but you will complain anyway about those who get voted in.

Post by: BennyCake on May 21, 2014, 01:00:21 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on May 21, 2014, 12:49:50 PM

Your opinion on the matter is the ultimate catch-22. You won't vote because you don't think it matters, but you will complain anyway about those who get voted in.

Democracy is a myth.
Post by: Feckitt on May 21, 2014, 01:03:24 PM
On election day,
Text your sister to remind her to vote.
Call round to your mother to see if she wants to go to the polling station
Facebook message your friend and tell them to vote
Ring your cousin and ask him has he voted yet

In the local elections a handful of votes often makes the difference. A personal appeal for a vote is the best canvass. Like me you may not belong to a political party, but you still want to see your team win, so please make the small effort to encourage your friends and family to vote.

Everyone, Republican or otherwise has their own particular part to play. No part is too great or too small, no one is too old or too young to do something.
Post by: cockahoop on May 21, 2014, 01:03:43 PM

yip it certainly is,shinn fein making a balls of education and dare speak against them your a dissendent,SDLP,clueless so do i as a nationalist vote dup?no chance so exactly catch 22
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 21, 2014, 01:05:30 PM
The issue I have is not with voting but that they are all useless.
Post by: ziggysego on May 21, 2014, 01:07:14 PM

Then you give up your right to complain.
Post by: cockahoop on May 21, 2014, 01:07:28 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 21, 2014, 01:05:30 PM

and the odd one who actually could do a good job is a bigot
Post by: thewobbler on May 21, 2014, 01:10:40 PM
Quote from: cockahoop on May 21, 2014, 01:03:43 PM

yip it certainly is,shinn fein making a balls of education and dare speak against them your a dissendent,SDLP,clueless so do i as a nationalist vote dup?no chance so exactly catch 22

We're not spoiled for choice, that's for sure.

But in any other walk of life, if given the choice between a bad situation and a worse situation, we will take the bad one.
Vote for the least worst. If everyone does this, then next time the worst will have to up their game.

Quote from: BennyCake on May 21, 2014, 01:00:21 PM

Democracy is a myth.

Really? I must have imagined that over the course of my lifetime, Sinn Fein have gone from noisily marching around the margins of society, to a position where they had enough power to ruin a perfectly good education system.

Politicians might not have the complete control that democracy should provide, but f**k me, they can affect our lives.
Post by: armaghniac on May 21, 2014, 02:43:36 PM
Quote from: Minder on May 21, 2014, 12:12:40 PM

Dodds and Anderson are certs, I think, their seat between Alex Attwood or Jim Allister, I think

Quite. The question is will the SF people have the political maturity to support nationalism by putting Attwood first or will they only support their own cult.
Post by: CD on May 21, 2014, 02:51:52 PM
Quote from: cockahoop on May 21, 2014, 01:07:28 PM

Are you suggesting that only the odd one is a bigot?
Post by: cockahoop on May 21, 2014, 03:06:49 PM
Quote from: CD on May 21, 2014, 02:51:52 PM
Quote from: cockahoop on May 21, 2014, 01:07:28 PM

Are you suggesting that only the odd one is a bigot?

no
Post by: CD on May 21, 2014, 04:00:44 PM
I'm with you. A complete shower the whole lot of them. Why there even a need for a vote in a non-democracy is beyond me. I firmly believe that a vote for any candidate is a vote in support of a fractured form of self-serving power sharing where all decision making has a colour coded sectarian undertone. Decisions in NI need to be taken in the best interests of the people first and the parties second. Sick of the whole lot of them
Post by: Rossfan on May 21, 2014, 06:40:04 PM
Do ye Nordie bucks just vote for "our side" or would ye continue preferences down the line among the least objectionable of "the others"?
What's the story with these new Councils and how are they expected to breakdown between Nationalist/Unionist?
Post by: armaghniac on May 21, 2014, 06:47:11 PM
Quote from: CD on May 21, 2014, 04:00:44 PM
I'm with you. A complete shower the whole lot of them. Why there even a need for a vote in a non-democracy is beyond me. I firmly believe that a vote for any candidate is a vote in support of a fractured form of self-serving power sharing where all decision making has a colour coded sectarian undertone.

Vote for jim Allister, so. He doesn't believe in power sharing.
Post by: ziggysego on May 21, 2014, 07:19:47 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 21, 2014, 06:40:04 PM
Do ye Nordie bucks just vote for "our side" or would ye continue preferences down the line among the least objectionable of "the others"?
What's the story with these new Councils and how are they expected to breakdown between Nationalist/Unionist?

I use up the majority of my preference. Couldn't bring myself to give on to a few of them though.
Post by: Kidder81 on May 21, 2014, 07:43:23 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 21, 2014, 02:43:36 PM

Quite. The question is will the SF people have the political maturity to support nationalism by putting Attwood first or will they only support their own cult.

Can't see Attwood getting any transfers from SF, they would rather a Unionist got in than a nationalist candidate.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 21, 2014, 07:50:53 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on May 21, 2014, 07:43:23 PM

Can't see Attwood getting any transfers from SF, they would rather a Unionist got in than a nationalist candidate.
When they have a nice wee carve-up agreed with the DUP they wouldn't want anything to reduce the slice of the pie.
Post by: armaghniac on May 21, 2014, 08:00:33 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 21, 2014, 07:50:53 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on May 21, 2014, 07:43:23 PM

When they have a nice wee carve-up agreed with the DUP they wouldn't want anything to reduce the slice of the pie.

When the Euro elections started, NI was given 3 seats rather than 2 so that the Nationalists would get one, Scotland only has 6 seats for example. Now that things are much more 50/50, SF and the DUP should propose donating the third seat to Scotland.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 21, 2014, 08:06:36 PM
I am still not sure what these cretins do for us in Europe outside of scrounging for grants and subsidies. Can we not just appoint a representative to plead poverty for all of us?
Post by: T Fearon on May 21, 2014, 10:23:06 PM
What I've learned this past few years.

Despite all the bluster,politicians from all sides work reasonably well together for the whole community on non contentious issues, the odd genuine bigot excepted.

Council elections in the north should be viewed with great importance.Councils decide our rates etc and the new super councils have additional powers like planning.By the way it is the remunerated officers who really run the councils not the elected representatives.
Post by: armaghniac on May 21, 2014, 10:27:33 PM
I see NI21 is at loggerheads already.
Post by: Apparently so on May 21, 2014, 10:29:09 PM
f**k your elections

They're all as shite as each other

Post by: BennyCake on May 21, 2014, 10:45:46 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 21, 2014, 08:06:36 PM
I am still not sure what these cretins do for us in Europe outside of scrounging for grants and subsidies. Can we not just appoint a representative to plead poverty for all of us?

The laws are made in Brussels by unelected bureaucrats. So, it's pointless voting.
Post by: Maguire01 on May 21, 2014, 11:10:02 PM

When directly asked by the BBC, SF refused to request their supporters to transfer to the SDLP. Which is their prerogative. But next time there's a Fermanagh/South Tyrone situation, let's not fall for the cries of needing to maximise the nationalist vote.
Post by: Maguire01 on May 21, 2014, 11:14:04 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 21, 2014, 10:27:33 PM
I see NI21 is at loggerheads already.
A shame really, because Unionists really need a more liberal option, and NI21 could have been that option. What they've done now with the designation issue is remove the only thing that differentiated them from Alliance, as far as I can see. They'll get transfers, including from Nationalists voters, but the question is whether they'll have enough first preferences to still be in the running by the time those transfers come into play.
Post by: OakleafCounty on May 22, 2014, 08:00:58 AM
I'll be voting for Anna Lo. The only one with a set of balls and a brain to match.
Post by: Rois on May 22, 2014, 08:02:16 AM
I've been disenfranchised by my firm - have lost my vote as I'm working in London this wk.
This day 16 years ago we were all voting in the referendum for the GFA. It was my 18th birthday so I remember it well. This birthday will go down in memory as the one I didn't vote on.  :-\
Post by: macdanger2 on May 22, 2014, 08:25:48 AM

Quote from: deiseach on May 21, 2014, 12:44:01 PM
Personally I view voting as a civic duty. But if you don't want to vote, don't vote.

Go in and spoil your vote then - if say 60% of the votes were spoiled, it would send a serious message instead of the message of 40% turnout saying "I couldn't be arsed going to vote but I'll complain away anyway"
Post by: AQMP on May 22, 2014, 08:56:11 AM
Quote from: Hereiam on May 21, 2014, 10:14:49 AM
What puts me off is the fact that I have to drive past my local polling station which is about a mile from the house to go to one that is 7 miles away in a different town.

Likewise, a 13 mile round trip for me to vote...probably not.  I was going to vote for the only Republican standing...Anna Lo!
Post by: supersarsfields on May 22, 2014, 09:00:06 AM
Quote from: Rois on May 22, 2014, 08:02:16 AM
I've been disenfranchised by my firm - have lost my vote as I'm working in London this wk.
This day 16 years ago we were all voting in the referendum for the GFA. It was my 18th birthday so I remember it well. This birthday will go down in memory as the one I didn't vote on.  :-\

Happy Birthday Rois!!
Post by: AQMP on May 22, 2014, 09:01:15 AM

Doubt whether there are two "nationalist" seats in the North...yet  As Martina Anderson said had there been a prospect of two nationalist/republican seats then SF would have run two candidates.  Anderson, Dodds & Nicholson in that order.  Allister polling numbers are well down on last time when I think he got 66,000 first preferences.  Will be interesting to see how UKIP do.
Post by: AQMP on May 22, 2014, 09:08:27 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 21, 2014, 11:10:02 PM

When directly asked by the BBC, SF refused to request their supporters to transfer to the SDLP. Which is their prerogative. But next time there's a Fermanagh/South Tyrone situation, let's not fall for the cries of needing to maximise the nationalist vote.

Does the SDLP have a transfer policy to SF??  As I understand it SF are not advising supporters on transfers across the whole country/island/two jurisdictions. 

Interesting that you mention Fermanagh/Sth Tyrone (my own constituency).  During the last (admittedly acrimonious) election I was told face to face by an SDLP councillor, standing on East Bridge Street with Fearghal McKinney, that he would rather Rodney Connor were elected than Michelle Gildernew.  When I looked at McKinney, he nodded.  An interesting tactic to try to secure my vote!
Post by: give her dixie on May 22, 2014, 09:15:26 AM
Quote from: AQMP on May 22, 2014, 09:08:27 AM

Does the SDLP have a transfer policy to SF??  As I understand it SF are not advising supporters on transfers across the whole country/island/two jurisdictions. 

Interesting that you mention Fermanagh/Sth Tyrone (my own constituency).  During the last (admittedly acrimonious) election I was told face to face by an SDLP councillor, standing on East Bridge Street with Fearghal McKinney, that he would rather Rodney Connor were elected than Michelle Gildernew.  When I looked at McKinney, he nodded.  An interesting tactic to try to secure my vote!

Sinn Fein needed the support from traditional SDLP voters to secure the seat.

This was a direct appeal by Michelle Gildernew to SDLP voters to "Lend" her their vote in the election.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XWQ5VBBoUJg
Post by: AQMP on May 22, 2014, 09:17:02 AM
I thought it was the Protestant farmers that got her elected!
Post by: give her dixie on May 22, 2014, 09:31:27 AM
Quote from: AQMP on May 22, 2014, 09:17:02 AM
I thought it was the Protestant farmers that got her elected!

It was those 4 farmers who got her over the line !!
Post by: give her dixie on May 22, 2014, 10:22:16 AM
The thing about voting for Sinn Fein is that the person you vote for isn't the one that ends up representing you. They abuse the rules in order to run a high profile person, then stand them down and shoe horn in someone that in most cases, has never been heard of before. Nice work if you can get it eh?

Some examples of this strategy:

Euro election 2009:

Bairbre de Brun elected with 126,184 first preference votes

Replaced by Martina Anderson

2011 Assembley

Conor Murphy elected and replaced by Megan Fearon

Michelle Gildernew elected and replaced by Bronwyn McGahan

Paul Maskey elected and replaced by Rosie McCorley

Pat Doherty elected and replaced by Declan McAleer

Willy Clarke elected and replaced by Chris Hazzard

Martina Anderson elected and replaced by Maeve McLaughlin

Francie Molloy elected and replaced by Ian Milne

Plus, lets not forget how Gerry Adams and Martin McGuinness as MP's both walked out on the people who elected them in order to run for office in the 26 counties.

So, it doesn't matter who you vote for in Sinn Fein, it's who they choose that ends up representing you.

Democracy eh?
Post by: ziggysego on May 22, 2014, 10:28:55 AM
Quote from: Rois on May 22, 2014, 08:02:16 AM

What a way to hint it's your birthday.

Happy Birthday Miss Rois of Tir Eoghain.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 22, 2014, 10:30:19 AM
And she's well the wrong side of 30 too. Ah well, like a good wine :) Happy Birthday :)
Post by: ziggysego on May 22, 2014, 10:32:47 AM
Quote from: give her dixie on May 22, 2014, 10:22:16 AM
The thing about voting for Sinn Fein is that the person you vote for isn't the one that ends up representing you. They abuse the rules in order to run a high profile person, then stand them down and shoe horn in someone that in most cases, has never been heard of before. Nice work if you can get it eh?

Euro election 2009:

2011 Assembley

Plus, lets not forget how Gerry Adams and Martin McGuinness as MP's both walked out on the people who elected them in order to run for office in the 26 counties.

So, it doesn't matter who you vote for in Sinn Fein, it's who they choose that ends up representing you.

Democracy eh?

A lot of parties did this to end double jobbing Dixie and in the case of De Brun, she stepped down due to illness.
Post by: All of a Sludden on May 22, 2014, 10:55:22 AM
Hard to bate a bit of good old fashioned tribalism, so it is.

(http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-ztuIBvFVaW8/U30TMQwMDaI/AAAAAAAABlI/XwdRPpHWpuc/s1600/img011.jpg)
Post by: Nally Stand on May 22, 2014, 11:39:21 AM

Euro election 2009:

2011 Assembley

Democracy eh?

Bairbre De Brun stepped down on health grounds. Bloody shinners eh?
All of the rest you mentioned were changed due to the policy of ending double jobbing.

A poor effort Dixie. 2/10.
Post by: give her dixie on May 22, 2014, 12:26:57 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 22, 2014, 10:32:47 AM

Euro election 2009:

2011 Assembley

Democracy eh?

A lot of parties did this to end double jobbing Dixie and in the case of De Brun, she stepped down due to illness.

Double jobbing was as big an issue before the Stormont elections as it was when Sinn Fein stood down their MP's a few months later.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-11529007

Sinn Fein pulled a fast one here by running high profile people who got elected no problem, and then replaced them with people who were never really heard of before a few months later. Would these 4 people, one of whom was 20 at the time and virtually unknown, got elected if they had of stood a few months previously?

Co Opting is rife among local councils where 1 in 7 are unelected. The DUP and Sinn Fein the biggest offenders. This article spells it out by the numbers:

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/politics/one-in-seven-councillors-unelected-revelation-described-as-complete-abuse-of-democratic-system-29924514.html

The reality was, money was the factor.

Here are a couple of paragraphs from a June 2012 article that can help explain it:

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/northern-ireland/sinn-fein-under-fire-over-westminster-expense-claims-28763068.html

"Recently, the party announced four MPs who are also MLAs would stand down from the Assembly to concentrate on Westminster.

The move could prove lucrative. Sinn Fein would have lost more than £700,000 in future expenses had they not ordered its five MPs to quit Stormont.

A redrafting of expenses by the Report of the Independent Financial Review Panel will progressively reduce the £73,583 in office expenses MLAs now receive.

If an Assembly member was also an MP they were entitled to just half the office expenses a non double-jobbing MLA received.

But the amount of Office Cost Expenditure (OCE) payable to MLAs who are also MPs is limited to £27,594 per annum this financial year, £17,844 for 2013/14 and £8,655 for 2014/15, an Assembly spokesperson said.

When the four Sinn Fein MPs quitting the Assembly are replaced and Deputy First Minister Martin McGuinness steps down as an MP, the party will benefit from full OCE allowances."

Now, if you factor in that once nestled into their new roles at Stormont, they voted to extend their term by another year. Not content with that, they voted to give themselves a £5,000 per year pay rise, taking their salary to £48,000 per year. Before expenses.

Now, isn't that a nice salary for a 20 year old just out of college?

Didn't even have to get elected, yet was eligible to give herself a pay rise and a years extension to her term.

http://www.newsletter.co.uk/news/regional/mlas-fury-at-5-000-pay-rise-1-3625601

Sinn Fein came in for criticism for fiddling expenses when it was revealed that Conor Murphy only stayed 1 night in a flat that Sinn Fein claimed £5,400 per month
in expenses. The ink cartridges saga both in the Dail and in Stormont didn't help either.

Learning their lesson, they now fiddle the system in a legal and legitimate way based on the current rules. They maximise the profit all the time.

If that means moving the deck chairs, then so be it. To the leadership, the democratic wishes of over 200,000 didn't count, and what we have seen with the Caterpillar fiasco,  neither did the democratic wishes of their members .

Their approach can be best summed up in this "Bulls" clip from Colours:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IbUxePfsoWE

Post by: armaghniac on May 22, 2014, 12:41:46 PM
Quote from: AQMP on May 22, 2014, 09:01:15 AM
Doubt whether there are two "nationalist" seats in the North...yet  As Martina Anderson said had there been a prospect of two nationalist/republican seats then SF would have run two candidates.  Anderson, Dodds & Nicholson in that order.  Allister polling numbers are well down on last time when I think he got 66,000 first preferences.  Will be interesting to see how UKIP do.

Perhaps not two "nationalist" seats, but there is surely some prospect of a middle seat of some sort, for instance if Lo got elected it would be an important statement about change in NI. But I think this kind of thinking is beyond the average SF voter.

Presumably double jobbing could have been ended by the those with 2 jobs not standing the election and allowing the people, rather than the party, choose the newcomer.
Post by: Nally Stand on May 22, 2014, 12:43:33 PM
Quote from: give her dixie on May 22, 2014, 12:26:57 PM

Euro election 2009:

2011 Assembley

Democracy eh?

Double jobbing was as big an issue before the Stormont elections as it was when Sinn Fein stood down their MP's a few months later.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-11529007

Sinn Fein pulled a fast one here by running high profile people who got elected no problem, and then replaced them with people who were never really heard of before a few months later. Would these 4 people, one of whom was 20 at the time and virtually unknown, got elected if they had of stood a few months previously?

Co Opting is rife among local councils where 1 in 7 are unelected. The DUP and Sinn Fein the biggest offenders. This article spells it out by the numbers:

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/politics/one-in-seven-councillors-unelected-revelation-described-as-complete-abuse-of-democratic-system-29924514.html

The reality was, money was the factor.

Here are a couple of paragraphs from a June 2012 article that can help explain it:

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/northern-ireland/sinn-fein-under-fire-over-westminster-expense-claims-28763068.html

"Recently, the party announced four MPs who are also MLAs would stand down from the Assembly to concentrate on Westminster.

The move could prove lucrative. Sinn Fein would have lost more than £700,000 in future expenses had they not ordered its five MPs to quit Stormont.

A redrafting of expenses by the Report of the Independent Financial Review Panel will progressively reduce the £73,583 in office expenses MLAs now receive.

If an Assembly member was also an MP they were entitled to just half the office expenses a non double-jobbing MLA received.

But the amount of Office Cost Expenditure (OCE) payable to MLAs who are also MPs is limited to £27,594 per annum this financial year, £17,844 for 2013/14 and £8,655 for 2014/15, an Assembly spokesperson said.

When the four Sinn Fein MPs quitting the Assembly are replaced and Deputy First Minister Martin McGuinness steps down as an MP, the party will benefit from full OCE allowances."

Now, if you factor in that once nestled into their new roles at Stormont, they voted to extend their term by another year. Not content with that, they voted to give themselves a £5,000 per year pay rise, taking their salary to £48,000 per year. Before expenses.

Now, isn't that a nice salary for a 20 year old just out of college?

Didn't even have to get elected, yet was eligible to give herself a pay rise and a years extension to her term.

http://www.newsletter.co.uk/news/regional/mlas-fury-at-5-000-pay-rise-1-3625601

Sinn Fein came in for criticism for fiddling expenses when it was revealed that Conor Murphy only stayed 1 night in a flat that Sinn Fein claimed £5,400 per month
in expenses. The ink cartridges saga both in the Dail and in Stormont didn't help either.

Learning their lesson, they now fiddle the system in a legal and legitimate way based on the current rules. They maximise the profit all the time.

If that means moving the deck chairs, then so be it. To the leadership, the democratic wishes of over 200,000 didn't count, and what we have seen with the Caterpillar fiasco,  neither did the democratic wishes of their members .

Their approach can be best summed up in this "Bulls" clip from Colours:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IbUxePfsoWE

You're suggesting, for example, that in South Armagh, a SF stronghold, the people would rather vote for another party than SF because of Meagan McFearon's age? If they kept the 'old' hands with previous history in the army, you'd be on here lambasting them for that too no doubt. You've been in full scale shinner bashing form these days Dixie. If you're not careful you'll find yourself with a job at the Indo (speaking of which...it is today carrying the groundbreaking story that a former IRA man is supporting Matt Carthy's campaign. I know, OMG, right?!

If I were you, I'd spend the next few days with your head buried under a pillow. You're probably not going to like the news reports. Not one bit.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 22, 2014, 12:50:47 PM
Get it right Nally, what the indo said was 'Cowardly Mountbatten murderer campaigns for Sinn Fein' . It really is a rag. Even if they left it at Mountbatten murderer campaigns for Sinn Fein you'd acknowledge it was factual, if hardly news. The 'Cowardly' is all their own work.
Post by: Feckitt on May 22, 2014, 01:07:04 PM
There is a very real possibility that there could be two nationalist euro seats in the North, and there is also a possibility of a Nationalist majority on Belfast City Council.

So today,
Call round to your mother to see if wants to go to the polling station

In the local elections a handful of votes often makes the difference. A personal appeal for a vote is the best canvass. Like me you may not belong to a political party, but you still want to see your team win, so please make the small effort to encourage your friends and family to vote.

Everyone, Republican or otherwise has their own particular part to play. No part is too great or too small, no one is too old or too young to do something.
Post by: OakleafCounty on May 22, 2014, 01:50:50 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on May 22, 2014, 01:07:04 PM
There is a very real possibility that there could be two nationalist euro seats in the North, and there is also a possibility of a Nationalist majority on Belfast City Council.

So today,

No there won't as that would depend on all nationalists voting relatively evenly for Sinn Fein or SDLP. I'll be voting for neither. Anna Lo has my vote as she deserves it a hell of a lot more than that binlid Anderson and Attwood the snob!

Time for the green and blue bullshit to dissapear! Every election isn't a referndum on Irish unity and I wish people would see that!
Post by: give her dixie on May 22, 2014, 02:13:17 PM
Nally, in Newry and Armagh there are 6 MLA seats. The quota for election was approx 6,500. Sinn Fein took 3 seats with Conor Murphy topping the poll. Their 3rd candidate only got 3,254 1st preference votes, and only got elected on the 6th count.

So, are you trying to tell me that a 20 year old student who was tweeting about Desperate Housewives a few weeks before the election would have got elected?

If so, what does that tell us about the electorate? As long as its a Sinn Fein candidate sure they'll get the vote? Do you not think people vote on past experience of the candidates? Sure they might as well run mannequins  if that is the case.

In the past 3 elections I voted for Larry McLearnon in the local council, and got a woman who just just recently joined Sinn Fein. She is now running for the super council.

I voted for Michelle Gildernew to represent me in Stormont, and I got Bromwyn McGahan.

I voted for Bairbre de Brun in Europe, and I got Martina Anderson.

Neither of those 3 replacements would have got my vote if they had of stood. As a general rule, I vote for the person who I feel best represents my views, and on what they have done in the past. I see past the green and orange on election days. So, maybe you can understand why i'm angry at the abuse of power when it comes to co opting.

As for "bashing" Sinn Fein, i'm only responding to the vile and malicious lies been spread about me over the past 6 months from a Sinn Fein official. Feel free to debate the various points I raised on the relevant thread. Where would you like to start? Boston tapes? Co opting? Expense fiddling? Caterpillar or Gaza perhaps? Character assassination? Or, we could discuss child abuse cover up?

As for burying my head tomorrow, I have no need to. I already know Sinn Fein will do very well in the 26 counties. The people are crying out for a change from the previous and current parties, and they are willing to give Sinn Fein the chance. Plus, given that Gerry Adams and Martin McGuinness both accepted the British aristocratic title of       
"Steward and Bailiff of the Manor of Northstead" in order to swap the marble of Stormont for the marble in Dublin, it's no surprise as to where both men saw the future for Sinn Fein.

Drive across Ireland and you see all these young faces, mainly women, on election posters. Given that twice as many men vote for Sinn Fein than women, that is no co incidence.

Once upon a time the party had top quality people who could hold their own in any debate, on any subject. Now we see a party that is continually sidling them and replacing them with new young faces who repeat what is wrote out for them, or what Gerry tells them. Only a very select few are allowed to go on TV or radio and speak.

If Sinn Fein were half as good at tackling poverty as they are at winning and manipulating elections, then West Belfast wouldn't have the 2nd highest rate of poverty in the UK at 43%. And neither would Derry and Strabane be in the top 20 out of 650. All areas with a large Sinn Fein representation.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-21506734 
Post by: Bensars on May 22, 2014, 02:22:47 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 22, 2014, 12:50:47 PM
Get it right Nally, what the indo said was 'Cowardly Mountbatten murderer campaigns for Sinn Fein' . It really is a rag. Even if they left it at Mountbatten murderer campaigns for Sinn Fein you'd acknowledge it was factual, if hardly news. The 'Cowardly' is all their own work.

That was the cover story  of Sunday world two or even three weeks ago.  Strange they would run it only now.
Post by: Nally Stand on May 22, 2014, 02:36:03 PM
Dixie, it's been pointed out to you twice now that DeBrun stood down due to ill health and yet you continue to use that as a stick to beat her and the party with. Not very classy.
Post by: armaghniac on May 22, 2014, 02:44:40 PM
Quote from: OakleafCounty on May 22, 2014, 01:50:50 PM
No there won't as that would depend on all nationalists voting relatively evenly for Sinn Fein or SDLP. I'll be voting for neither. Anna Lo has my vote as she deserves it a hell of a lot more than that binlid Anderson and Attwood the snob!

Time for the green and blue bullshit to dissapear! Every election isn't a referndum on Irish unity and I wish people would see that!

Have you grasped that this is a PR election, that you are not voting for only one candidate? Give Lo your first preference by all means, and then Attwood. Whatever you think of Attwood he is a better representative than Jim Allister.

People in the 26 counties seem to understand PR, I'm not sure about those in the 6 counties  :-\
Post by: give her dixie on May 22, 2014, 04:35:57 PM
Quote from: hardstation on May 22, 2014, 02:38:35 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on May 22, 2014, 02:36:03 PM
Dixie, it's been pointed out to you twice now that DeBrun stood down due to ill health and yet you continue to use that as a stick to beat her and the party with. Not very classy.
It's disgusting really. Who next? Michael Ferguson?

Get a grip, Dixie.

HS can you point out to me how I am using Bairbre de Brun as a stick to beat the party with? In my 1st post I pointed out how Sinn Fein co opted 24 people into jobs in Stormont and local councils, how an MEP was Co Opted, and how 2 MP's ran off to the 26 counties. That's 27 people in total who stood before the electorate and promised to represent us for the duration of their term.

In my 2nd post, I merely pointed out that she was one of 3 people I voted for and who didn't end up representing me. I know she stood down from her position due to ill health, and I am also aware that she still works for the party as a researcher. She is 10 times the politician Martina Anderson is.

I have met the woman several times and have found her to be an incredibly intelligent and humble person. Like Michelle, she would always get my vote.

I can't see how you could be disgusted by reference to her in those 2 posts.

There are other posts by me that are bound to have disgusted you more than any of the 2 posts above.
Post by: give her dixie on May 22, 2014, 04:39:17 PM

As I have asked Hardstation, what is in my 2 posts that lead to to think that I am using Bairbre de Brun as a stick?
Post by: cockahoop on May 22, 2014, 04:51:59 PM
jesus dixie you dont agree with sinn fein policy? You dissident you tut tut
Post by: give her dixie on May 22, 2014, 04:56:55 PM
Quote from: cockahoop on May 22, 2014, 04:51:59 PM

Just one of many names I have been called for daring to speak out against the machine  :)

Post by: give her dixie on May 22, 2014, 05:03:12 PM
This is a decent TV report by The Detail on how Sinn Fein Co opted 6 relatively new people onto Newry council a couple of months ago, and how the DUP Co opted family members onto various councils. In total, they Co Opted 43 Councillors between them.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fLj3Sccboig 
Post by: Nally Stand on May 22, 2014, 05:55:16 PM
Quote from: cockahoop on May 22, 2014, 04:51:59 PM
Did I call him a dissident? (At least you spelt it right today..."dissendent"  ;) )
Post by: Maguire01 on May 22, 2014, 07:21:22 PM

Not that i'm aware of. But it was SF who were getting exercised about the need to maximise the Nationalist vote.

And let's be honest, would the people of FST be any worse off? Would they even notice the difference? Apart from bragging rights, what has a SF MP delivered in FST since the last election that another candidate would not have?
Post by: Maguire01 on May 22, 2014, 07:26:25 PM

Doubt whether there are two "nationalist" seats in the North...yet  As Martina Anderson said had there been a prospect of two nationalist/republican seats then SF would have run two candidates. Anderson, Dodds & Nicholson in that order.  Allister polling numbers are well down on last time when I think he got 66,000 first preferences.  Will be interesting to see how UKIP do.
What a bluff. The DUP were talking about running two candidates as well. It's all big talk. Both parties are fairly safe with one candidate, but if they ran two they'd run the very real risk of electing none. Neither would elect two.
Post by: armaghniac on May 22, 2014, 09:43:45 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 22, 2014, 07:26:25 PM

Doubt whether there are two "nationalist" seats in the North...yet  As Martina Anderson said had there been a prospect of two nationalist/republican seats then SF would have run two candidates. Anderson, Dodds & Nicholson in that order.  Allister polling numbers are well down on last time when I think he got 66,000 first preferences.  Will be interesting to see how UKIP do.
What a bluff. The DUP were talking about running two candidates as well. It's all big talk. Both parties are fairly safe with one candidate, but if they ran two they'd run the very real risk of electing none. Neither would elect two.

If the estimates are correct, SF will get in (or near enough) on the first count, the DUP will get in after 4 or 5 counts and UU will win the last seat by a nose, without reaching the quota. If 2% of the SF vote had thought of themselves as nationalists and so given a first preference to Attwood, then he would have won. Fortunately, it doesn't seem as if Allister is in there, he is one poisoned individual.
Post by: Saffrongael on May 22, 2014, 10:14:19 PM
JohncAllister of NI21 will say on the View tonight that decision to redesignate was an attempt to derail an investigation of inappropriate sexual activity by Basil McCrea.

It's a dirty game
Post by: Maguire01 on May 23, 2014, 07:16:28 AM
Quote from: hardstation on May 22, 2014, 10:05:44 PM
Tina McKenzie has quit NI21. Before the polls have even closed.

What a shambles.
She's quit the party executive, not the party. Still a shambles.
Post by: LeoMc on May 23, 2014, 08:59:48 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 22, 2014, 09:43:45 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 22, 2014, 07:26:25 PM

If the estimates are correct, SF will get in (or near enough) on the first count, the DUP will get in after 4 or 5 counts and UU will win the last seat by a nose, without reaching the quota. If 2% of the SF vote had thought of themselves as nationalists and so given a first preference to Attwood, then he would have won. Fortunately, it doesn't seem as if Allister is in there, he is one poisoned individual.

I put Lo and Attwood in as my first 2 choices in the hope either would hang in long enough to pick up sufficient transfers.
There may be enough flavours of Unionism to fracture the Loyalist vote sufficiently if they do not transfer.
Post by: Hereiam on May 23, 2014, 02:36:54 PM
Tina, Basil and John, that's quite a threesome.  ;D
Post by: omagh_gael on May 23, 2014, 03:28:55 PM
Has Basil been sampling the party's talent a little to intimately?
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 23, 2014, 06:31:10 PM

What a shambles.

Could somebody enlighten me as to what persuasion this party is?
Post by: muppet on May 23, 2014, 06:36:46 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 23, 2014, 06:31:10 PM

What a shambles.

I think it is a road near Ballymena.
Post by: Rossfan on May 23, 2014, 06:40:35 PM

What a shambles.

They were a "nice" new Unionist party who wanted to create a new "Northern Irish Identity" and "leave the old Sectarian politics" behind blah blah.
In the last 2 days they
1- changed their designation from Unionist to Other
2- lost 2 of their top 3 amid suggestions of sexual impropriety
You couldn't make it up  ;D
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 23, 2014, 09:05:17 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 23, 2014, 06:40:35 PM

What a shambles.

They were a "nice" new Unionist party who wanted to create a new "Northern Irish Identity" and "leave the old Sectarian politics" behind blah blah.
In the last 2 days they
1- changed their designation from Unionist to Other
2- lost 2 of their top 3 amid suggestions of sexual impropriety
You couldn't make it up  ;D
Ah well, seen as the other Unionist parties were at that sort of stuff...why not a 'nice' Unionist party! ;)
Post by: foxcommander on May 23, 2014, 09:17:34 PM

What a shambles.

Not sure but Iris Robinson is now known to be keen to join in
Post by: give her dixie on May 23, 2014, 09:36:01 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on May 23, 2014, 09:17:34 PM

What a shambles.

Not sure but Iris Robinson is now known to be keen to join in

That rumor has been dispelled. It's the U21's for Iris....
Post by: imtommygunn on May 23, 2014, 09:36:41 PM
They're pretty much unionist only with a lot less bigotry.
Post by: AQMP on May 23, 2014, 09:40:19 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 23, 2014, 09:36:41 PM
They're pretty much unionist only with a lot less bigotry.

Tried to appeal to the Rory McIlroys of this world.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on May 23, 2014, 10:58:39 PM
Quote from: give her dixie on May 22, 2014, 04:35:57 PM
Quote from: hardstation on May 22, 2014, 02:38:35 PM
It's disgusting really. Who next? Michael Ferguson?

Get a grip, Dixie.

HS can you point out to me how I am using Bairbre de Brun as a stick to beat the party with? In my 1st post I pointed out how Sinn Fein co opted 24 people into jobs in Stormont and local councils, how an MEP was Co Opted, and how 2 MP's ran off to the 26 counties. That's 27 people in total who stood before the electorate and promised to represent us for the duration of their term.

In my 2nd post, I merely pointed out that she was one of 3 people I voted for and who didn't end up representing me. I know she stood down from her position due to ill health, and I am also aware that she still works for the party as a researcher. She is 10 times the politician Martina Anderson is.

I have met the woman several times and have found her to be an incredibly intelligent and humble person. Like Michelle, she would always get my vote.

I can't see how you could be disgusted by reference to her in those 2 posts.

There are other posts by me that are bound to have disgusted you more than any of the 2 posts above.

You always seem to be tieing yourself in knots trying to defend yourself with these long winded, tortured replies.

Maybe you should learn from Seafoid. Just stick to gnomic one-liners. It helps avoid hanging yourself with your own words.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 24, 2014, 09:01:49 AM
One woman spoke out with allegations against basil mccrea. Nine have now stepped forward.

The plot thickens.
Post by: Minder on May 26, 2014, 12:29:22 PM
That Joanne Bunting that was elected for the TUV to Belfast City Council is a bit of a treasure

http://twitter.com/LADFLEG/status/470871559536934912/photo/1

https://m.facebook.com/BELFASTLAD/photos/a.167845846753708.1073741828.167750270096599/251638911707734/?type=1&source=46&refid=17

Post by: foxcommander on May 26, 2014, 05:17:57 PM
Quote from: Minder on May 26, 2014, 12:29:22 PM
That Joanne Bunting that was elected for the TUV to Belfast City Council is a bit of a treasure

https://m.facebook.com/BELFASTLAD/photos/a.167845846753708.1073741828.167750270096599/251638911707734/?type=1&source=46&refid=17

She's fine thing as well. Check out that hair-do.

I'm not sure if I'd go for her or Ruth Patterson first but either way it's top-notch totty. Sky Sports should have this sort of talent fronting their new GAA coverage.
Post by: Saffrongael on May 26, 2014, 05:19:06 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on May 26, 2014, 05:17:57 PM
Quote from: Minder on May 26, 2014, 12:29:22 PM

She's fine thing as well. Check out that hair-do.

I'm not sure if I'd go for her or Ruth Patterson first but either way it's top-notch totty. Sky Sports should have this sort of talent fronting their new GAA coverage.

The biggest shock was she is only 22, easily pass for 40.
Post by: Agent Orange on September 15, 2014, 10:22:45 PM
Ms Bunting on the local arts http://ladfleg.com/videos/bunting-on-bonfires/
Post by: Feckitt on May 07, 2015, 02:15:41 PM
It's on today!

A personal appeal for a vote is the best canvass. Like me you may not belong to a political party, but you still want to see your team win, so please make the small effort to encourage your friends and family to vote.

Post by: Brick Tamlin on May 07, 2015, 02:43:13 PM
None of them deserve my vote.
Post by: OakleafCounty on May 07, 2015, 02:54:31 PM
I voted before wrk this morning. Put the X beside Mark Durkan as he'll turn up to vote against austerity.
Post by: Feckitt on May 07, 2015, 02:56:39 PM
It's easy to see why people would be apathetic about voting, but don't complain about supremacists looking to discriminate against gay people or the Irish language or the GAA if you don't vote for an alternative.

There may only be a handful of votes in the difference that could see Tom Elliott and Nigel Dodds get elected.
Post by: Feckitt on May 07, 2015, 02:57:27 PM
Quote from: OakleafCounty on May 07, 2015, 02:54:31 PM
I voted before wrk this morning. Put the X beside Mark Durkan as he'll turn up to vote against austerity.

If you believe in Durkan, then encourage your friends and family to do likewise.
Post by: foxcommander on May 07, 2015, 03:03:05 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on May 07, 2015, 02:56:39 PM
There may only be a handful of votes in the difference that could see Tom Elliott and Nigel Dodds get elected.

If ever there was in incentive to vote it's that pair of clowns.
The GAA fraternity should ensure Elliott doesn't get in after his disgraceful comments about Sean Brown.
Post by: LeoMc on May 07, 2015, 03:17:18 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on May 07, 2015, 02:43:13 PM

Go anyway and spoil your vote.
By not voting you are saying you are happy with the representation you are getting.
By spoiling your vote you are saying you are not happy with the choice you are being offered.
Post by: general_lee on May 07, 2015, 03:18:30 PM
Voted SF.

A number of individuals in the wider party have annoyed me but Cat Seeley deserves a vote. Young, female, articulate plus SF were the only party to knock on the door this year. Add in the real possibility of dethroning the incumbent DUP dinosaur in what is a staunch Unionist constituency, it was a no-brainer in the end.

Had the Green Party fielded a candidate I may have had a bit of a dilemma.
Post by: illdecide on May 07, 2015, 03:29:10 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on May 07, 2015, 03:17:18 PM

By not voting you are saying you are happy with the representation you are getting.
By spoiling your vote you are saying you are not happy with the choice you are being offered.

Considering that myself...There is not one of them worth a f**k. I've always been a Sinn Fein voter but the last few years has made me realise none of them give a f**k about me, they're all there for the money sitting up on the hill of Stormont laughing at us all on their biggish salaries.

On the flip side of the coin the thought of giving them DUP Bastids an extra edge by not voting drives me insane too :'(
Post by: laoislad on May 07, 2015, 03:33:09 PM
f**k it I'm not voting.
Post by: illdecide on May 07, 2015, 03:35:45 PM
On another issue...I got an email from Justin McNulty asking for his vote last night...Now what I want to know is how did his party get my email address (seriously). There was a reference to Armagh on his email address, I get regular emails to that address from the Armagh County Board and I hope the hell they did not give out my email (and others) to SDLP. If that's the case they should be give a good talking too from Croke Park as I believe GAA clubs have been warned before for staging events to do with Sinn Fein.
Post by: screenexile on May 07, 2015, 03:36:45 PM

I usually spoil my vote but couldn't even be arsed bothering at this stage. SDLP are feeble, Alliance do nothing outside of Belfast and Sinn Fein sicken my hole why don't they just take their seats at Parliament?!?! They have a great chance of getting into Government in the South and with the way things are going in this General Election they could have an important role in Westminster!!

This 'Vote usuns' so themmuns'' don't get in mentality that prevails basically everywhere does my complete head in. Get in there and do something if you're happy enough to take the money you should take your f**king seat!!

Rant over.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 07, 2015, 03:37:48 PM
Quote from: illdecide on May 07, 2015, 03:29:10 PM

Considering that myself...There is not one of them worth a f**k. I've always been a Sinn Fein voter but the last few years has made me realise none of them give a f**k about me, they're all there for the money sitting up on the hill of Stormont laughing at us all on their biggish salaries.

On the flip side of the coin the thought of giving them DUP Bastids an extra edge by not voting drives me insane too :'(

I would go for the spoil vote option but if the DUP get in then I'd have to say not voting against them would have gained them a foot up.

If any vote can go any way towards getting those , insert as many insults as you like here, out of power or at least struggling some more it is a worthy vote. ANything that can be done should be done to get rid of these guys. They are a blight on every single one of us including the people they claim to represent.
Post by: GJL on May 07, 2015, 03:39:51 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on May 07, 2015, 03:03:05 PM

The GAA fraternity should ensure Elliott doesn't get in after his disgraceful comments about Sean Brown.

This..
Post by: screenexile on May 07, 2015, 03:46:06 PM
There's very little danger of Molloy not winning Mid Ulster by a long way so my vote for anybody isn't going to make any kind of difference!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 07, 2015, 03:53:29 PM
Quote from: illdecide on May 07, 2015, 03:35:45 PM
On another issue...I got an email from Justin McNulty asking for his vote last night...Now what I want to know is how did his party get my email address (seriously). There was a reference to Armagh on his email address, I get regular emails to that address from the Armagh County Board and I hope the hell they did not give out my email (and others) to SDLP. If that's the case they should be give a good talking too from Croke Park as I believe GAA clubs have been warned before for staging events to do with Sinn Fein.

More importantly what the feck was he asking you for his vote???  Surely he is not the candidate for your area and it should have been Dolores Kelly that he should have been promoting???
Post by: GJL on May 07, 2015, 04:11:21 PM
(https://scontent-lhr.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xfa1/v/t1.0-9/s480x480/1554448_363193523885605_8491316098524396963_n.jpg?oh=23f00f64ea752289707f2fdff2a23aa8&oe=55C519A7)

Post by: rootthemout on May 07, 2015, 04:38:48 PM
Quote from: illdecide on May 07, 2015, 03:35:45 PM
got the same email to my personal account addressed from the armagh gael and was wondering did it come out of armagh county board data base??
Post by: screenexile on May 07, 2015, 04:46:32 PM
I get group emails from Derry CB & Coaching officers and they don't hide the names they send it to so there is every chance he just copied and pasted them all into a bcc and whacked it out to all the Armagh Gaels. I doubt Armagh GAA knowingly handed over the email addresses but in todays information age all group emails like that should probably be bcc'ed so that other people don't have access to your email address!!
Post by: charlieTully on May 07, 2015, 05:07:44 PM
Voted for the workers party. First time I haven't voted along green orange lines. I feel liberated.  :)
Post by: yellowcard on May 07, 2015, 05:16:31 PM
Quote from: screenexile on May 07, 2015, 03:36:45 PM

I usually spoil my vote but couldn't even be arsed bothering at this stage. SDLP are feeble, Alliance do nothing outside of Belfast and Sinn Fein sicken my hole why don't they just take their seats at Parliament?!?! They have a great chance of getting into Government in the South and with the way things are going in this General Election they could have an important role in Westminster!!

This 'Vote usuns' so themmuns'' don't get in mentality that prevails basically everywhere does my complete head in. Get in there and do something if you're happy enough to take the money you should take your f**king seat!!

Rant over.

So you actually take the bother to go to a polling station and spoil the paper, seems totally pointless. Why not simply don't vote then.
Post by: screenexile on May 07, 2015, 05:20:32 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on May 07, 2015, 05:16:31 PM

Rant over.

So you actually take the bother to go to a polling station and spoil the paper, seems totally pointless. Why not simply don't vote then.

I think voting is a very important right that we have that a number of people have had to fight very hard to get... By going and spoiling my vote I am recognising my right to vote but also recognising that my constituency is run by a bunch of small minded petty fcukwits who don't deserve it!!

Brolly will win Mid Ulster by a long way yet he isn't even going to go to Westminster to work for his constituency and the amount of people who will vote for him without knowing anything outside the fact he wants a United Ireland would be staggering I should imagine!!
Post by: armaghniac on May 07, 2015, 06:20:43 PM
Quote from: screenexile on May 07, 2015, 04:46:32 PM
I get group emails from Derry CB & Coaching officers and they don't hide the names they send it to so there is every chance he just copied and pasted them all into a bcc and whacked it out to all the Armagh Gaels. I doubt Armagh GAA knowingly handed over the email addresses but in todays information age all group emails like that should probably be bcc'ed so that other people don't have access to your email address!!

I got at least one email sent out about season tickets of the like, where they did not bcc the emails, so there were several hundred emails in plain text. Unfortunately, people are not careful with these things. The delinquent email could have been sent 2 or 3 years ago.
Post by: ardchieftain on May 07, 2015, 06:47:22 PM
Seems they forgot to put in a candidate i would bother voting for, so, i added an extra candidate to the ballot paper. have done this several times now, but i'm coming to the end of my tether. Next time i might just stay at home.
Post by: SHEEDY on May 07, 2015, 06:48:57 PM
always voted for sinn fein in the past but won't be voting at all this time and i cant even be arsed going out to spoil my vote. not one of the list of candidates in south down is worth leaving the house to vote for. not one even knocked the door, first year ever.
Post by: stiffler on May 07, 2015, 06:55:44 PM
In upper bann the stand out candidate is catherine seeley, regardless of her party.

Think she will run Simpson very close for that seat. Real chance if her vote turns out.
Post by: LeoMc on May 07, 2015, 07:30:07 PM

Rant over.

Spoiling your vote tells them you are interested in voting, just not for the bunch of fuquits being offered to you. Not voting lets them think they are providing you democracy.
Post by: Maguire01 on May 07, 2015, 08:24:50 PM
Quote from: stiffler on May 07, 2015, 06:55:44 PM
In upper bann the stand out candidate is catherine seeley, regardless of her party.

Think she will run Simpson very close for that seat. Real chance if her vote turns out.
Stand out in what sense? What has she done?

I would have thought Dobson would be more likely to challenge for the seat - she's definitely a better option than Simpson.

It's one of the seats to watch tonight.
Post by: Maguire01 on May 07, 2015, 08:26:59 PM
Voted as well. Not that it will make any difference, being in a solid DUP constituency. But it has to be done. There's always the 'least worst', or the option to spoil your vote.
Post by: Minder on May 07, 2015, 08:29:07 PM
Quote from: hardstation on May 07, 2015, 03:55:04 PM
Gerry for West Belfast!!

Post by: DuffleKing on May 07, 2015, 08:50:05 PM

Am I right in thinking UK results will start coming in about midnight but that wee six don't start counting til tomorrow?
Post by: Maguire01 on May 07, 2015, 08:56:36 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on May 07, 2015, 08:50:05 PM

Am I right in thinking UK results will start coming in about midnight but that wee six don't start counting til tomorrow?
No, results from here expected to be among the first - from 1/2am.
Post by: Maguire01 on May 07, 2015, 08:57:10 PM
(http://sluggerotoole.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/10985480_10152435279123039_7448375430735567141_n.jpg)
Post by: Rois on May 07, 2015, 09:04:40 PM
Voted in North Belfast, can't see anyone but Nigel winning, even despite the SF religious head count leaflets.
Post by: Hardy on May 07, 2015, 09:17:28 PM
Channel 4's election programme shaping up for a good night's entertainment. Funny so far.
Post by: DuffleKing on May 07, 2015, 09:20:31 PM

Was going well til the last leg appeared. Least funny show on tv
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 07, 2015, 09:27:33 PM
Good to see the wee 6 not taking days as usual.
Post by: gallsman on May 07, 2015, 09:28:17 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on May 07, 2015, 09:20:31 PM

Was going well til the last leg appeared. Least funny show on tv

I like it! Some of the royal baby stuff so far has been very good!
Post by: Maguire01 on May 07, 2015, 10:02:13 PM
Exit poll predicts hung parliament with Tories as largest party.
Post by: gallsman on May 07, 2015, 10:04:25 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 07, 2015, 10:02:13 PM

With a gain of nine and ability to reform government with Lib Dems. Am shocked at that poll.
Post by: DuffleKing on May 07, 2015, 10:07:23 PM

With an overall majority if they get the 9 DUP seats and not needing the lib dems
Post by: armaghniac on May 07, 2015, 10:09:50 PM
BBC exit poll:  Conservatives largest party with 316 seats, Lab 239, LD 10, SNP 58, UKIP 2, Green 2, PC 4, Others 19.

Conservative and unionist party government?
What will the DUP ask for? Unlimited orange parades, gay pride to be banned?

Post by: Minder on May 07, 2015, 10:09:59 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 07, 2015, 10:04:25 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 07, 2015, 10:02:13 PM

With a gain of nine and ability to reform government with Lib Dems. Am shocked at that poll.

Goes to show all the polls were a pile of shite
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 07, 2015, 10:14:54 PM
Kinnock was home and hosed according to exit polls in '92. Say nothing till you hear more
Post by: imtommygunn on May 07, 2015, 10:16:53 PM
Tories plu lib dems on 326 of 650 based on exit polls so enough for the same coalition. The tories were always going to be the big player.

I thought ukip would have got more than two seats.

Is 58 good or bad for snp??
Post by: Maguire01 on May 07, 2015, 10:17:25 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 07, 2015, 10:14:54 PM
Kinnock was home and hosed according to exit polls in '92. Say nothing till you hear more
Polls were very accurate last time, we're they not? Here's hoping they're off the mark
Post by: Maguire01 on May 07, 2015, 10:18:28 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 07, 2015, 10:16:53 PM
One short of a clean sweep. From 6 seats to 58, I'd call that a result.
Post by: dec on May 07, 2015, 10:18:47 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 07, 2015, 10:16:53 PM
Tories plu lib dems on 326 of 650 based on exit polls so enough for the same coalition. The tories were always going to be the big player.

I thought ukip would have got more than two seats.

It's 58 out of the 59 seats in Scotland.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 07, 2015, 10:19:56 PM
Happy days . Good to see. 58 from 59 might mean a change un that referendum vote...

Some are very sceptical of exit poll accuracy so may change yet.
Post by: Agent Orange on May 07, 2015, 10:20:48 PM
Cameron is now 1/20 to be the next PM.
Post by: Maguire01 on May 07, 2015, 10:21:45 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 07, 2015, 10:19:56 PM
Happy days . Good to see. 58 from 59 might mean a change un that referendum vote...
Unlikely. 45% of the popular vote could give them that many seats.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 07, 2015, 10:23:38 PM
Just saw an alternative poll from yougov. Tories 284, labour 263, snp 48.

Starting to wonder on the accuracy of these things but that would put the cat amongst the pigeons...
Post by: dec on May 07, 2015, 10:31:28 PM
I think the yougov poll is a final opinion poll rather than an exit poll.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 07, 2015, 10:33:13 PM
Quote from: dec on May 07, 2015, 10:31:28 PM
I think the yougov poll is a final opinion poll rather than an exit poll.

Ah. Well that explains difference. Cheers.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 07, 2015, 10:33:31 PM
How likely is a Labour/SNP hook-up despite Red Ed dismissing it throughout the campaign?!
Post by: dec on May 07, 2015, 10:33:49 PM
https://twitter.com/YouGov/status/596427188645326848

@YouGov
YouGov has not done an exit poll. A re-contact survey today simply gave us no reason to change our final numbers from yesterday.
Post by: BennyCake on May 07, 2015, 10:34:44 PM
Don't count your chickens until we hear the Florida result.
Post by: dec on May 07, 2015, 10:37:22 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 07, 2015, 10:34:44 PM
Don't count your chickens until we hear the Florida result.
Hanging chads
Post by: Agent Orange on May 07, 2015, 10:50:30 PM
BBC NI are pretty confident that Gavin Robinson will take east Belfast from Alliance's Naomi Long and that the SDLP will lose south Belfast. If Gildernew was to lose Fermanagh south Tyrone this would turn out to be a very good day for unionism in the north.
Post by: gallsman on May 07, 2015, 10:54:16 PM
Quote from: Agent Orange on May 07, 2015, 10:50:30 PM
BBC NI are pretty confident that Gavin Robinson will take east Belfast from Alliance's Naomi Long and that the SDLP will lose south Belfast. If Gildernew was to lose Fermanagh south Tyrone this would turn out to be a very good day for unionism in the north.

Combination of allegations against McDonnell and Ó Muilleior being very popular will hurt SDLP badly.
Post by: Agent Orange on May 07, 2015, 10:58:38 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 07, 2015, 10:54:16 PM

Combination of allegations against McDonnell and Ó Muilleior being very popular will hurt SDLP badly.

What are the allegations against McDonnell?
Post by: Pub Bore on May 07, 2015, 11:01:59 PM
Tories could run a minority government on these numbers. 58 for the SNP??? Almost a revolution!!!

I'm hearing rumours that in FST Elliott is confident as is Bell in S Belfast
Post by: gallsman on May 07, 2015, 11:02:16 PM
Quote from: Agent Orange on May 07, 2015, 10:58:38 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 07, 2015, 10:54:16 PM

Combination of allegations against McDonnell[/b[ and Ó Muilleior being very popular will hurt SDLP badly.

What are the allegations against McDonnell?

Google them. Or search on Twitter. Wouldn't like to be putting them up here.
Post by: ONeill on May 07, 2015, 11:10:20 PM
http://www.ncpolitics.uk/2015/05/shy-tory-factor-2015.html/
Post by: OakleafCounty on May 07, 2015, 11:17:36 PM
If the broadcasters exit poll is correct then SF's abstention policy could result in a Conservative/DUP coalition.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 07, 2015, 11:22:02 PM
Quote from: OakleafCounty on May 07, 2015, 11:17:36 PM
If the broadcasters exit poll is correct then SF's abstention policy could result in a Conservative/DUP coalition.

Would the DUP want an 'Brexit'? Cameron has pledged the referendum for it anyway. Hopefully the DUP have no say anyway, but they could well have. Any 'shocks' predicted in NI? Just listening to Sammy Wilson on the radio now... ::)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 07, 2015, 11:31:20 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 07, 2015, 11:10:20 PM
http://www.ncpolitics.uk/2015/05/shy-tory-factor-2015.html/

Aye, and might there have been shy UKIP supporters interviewed for the exit polls, who were too embarrassed to say? ;)
Post by: Pub Bore on May 08, 2015, 12:09:29 AM

If the Tories get 316 seats, based on the fragmented nature of the rest I'd think Cameron will run with a minority administration and guess that the opposition will rarely get their act together to defeat them.
Post by: Throw ball on May 08, 2015, 12:19:29 AM

A terrible result if it materialises. It would also be some cheek of Cameron to join with DUP after his ranting on a labour/SNP alliance. Political gain over the stability of the country. Then again the Conservative party have appeared to do this before. Let's hope the exit poll is wrong.
Post by: Over the Bar on May 08, 2015, 12:21:41 AM
Presumably SF knew that by running O'Muilleior against McDonnell it would likely hand the seat to DUP this time around and then take it next time? 

The way things are going expect a DUP / SF straight split in 2020.   

Doubt if DUP will have  a coalition seat as they'd get found out on the big stage but you never know. The real influence comes from lending their support to the Tory dogs in tight votes over the next 5 years. 
Post by: Nigel White on May 08, 2015, 12:24:00 AM
Jeffrey Donaldson is the most smug looking git I've seen in a long time
Post by: Pub Bore on May 08, 2015, 12:28:09 AM
Quote from: Nigel White on May 08, 2015, 12:24:00 AM

Twatmeister
Post by: Maguire01 on May 08, 2015, 12:32:38 AM
Quote from: Over the Bar on May 08, 2015, 12:21:41 AM
Presumably SF knew that by running O'Muilleior against McDonnell it would likely hand the seat to DUP this time around and then take it next time? 
SF wouldn't have a hope of taking South Belfast at any time in the foreseeable future. The 'best' they can do is spoil the party for the SDLP.
Post by: Pub Bore on May 08, 2015, 12:33:58 AM
Is Sylvia Hermon OK??
Post by: Pub Bore on May 08, 2015, 12:36:40 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 08, 2015, 12:32:38 AM
SF wouldn't have a hope of taking South Belfast at any time in the foreseeable future. The 'best' they can do is spoil the party for the SDLP.

Maybe they shouldn't stand in S Belfast?
Post by: omaghjoe on May 08, 2015, 12:37:37 AM

Would be more aimed at coercing them into a pact... to not run in north Belfast I would say
Post by: macdanger2 on May 08, 2015, 12:44:32 AM
Quote from: screenexile on May 07, 2015, 05:20:32 PM

Rant over.

I think voting is a very important right that we have that a number of people have had to fight very hard to get... By going and spoiling my vote I am recognising my right to vote but also recognising that my constituency is run by a bunch of small minded petty fcukwits who don't deserve it!!

Agree 100%, if everyone who is disillusioned with the current offering spoiled their votes, it would make a massive statement for change across the board
Post by: Maguire01 on May 08, 2015, 12:49:05 AM
Quote from: Pub Bore on May 08, 2015, 12:36:40 AM

It's about keeping profile and presence for Assembly elections too.
Post by: Nigel White on May 08, 2015, 12:51:18 AM
Quote from: Pub Bore on May 08, 2015, 12:33:58 AM
Is Sylvia Hermon OK??
Yup
Post by: armaghniac on May 08, 2015, 01:04:03 AM
Quote from: Nigel White on May 08, 2015, 12:51:18 AM
Quote from: Pub Bore on May 08, 2015, 12:33:58 AM
Is Sylvia Hermon OK??
Yup

She's on RTÉ now, seems confident. She doesn't expect Cameron to be asking for her vote.
She mentioned that the SNP had spooked the people of North Down.
Post by: Maguire01 on May 08, 2015, 01:09:41 AM
Sounds like the SDLP will retain Foyle and S Belfast. UUP potential to turn over DUP in U Bann and S Antrim.
Post by: Pub Bore on May 08, 2015, 01:12:37 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 08, 2015, 12:49:05 AM

Maybe if SF don't have a chance in s Belfast and only spoil it for the Sdlp then Sdlp shouldn't spoil it for SF in ferm tyr?
Post by: Maguire01 on May 08, 2015, 01:15:07 AM
Quote from: Pub Bore on May 08, 2015, 01:12:37 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 08, 2015, 12:49:05 AM

Maybe if SF don't have a chance in s Belfast and only spoil it for the Sdlp then Sdlp shouldn't spoil it for SF in ferm tyr?
Then the SDLP lose presence in Fermanagh and their chance of regaining an Assembly seat drops.
Post by: trileacman on May 08, 2015, 01:27:04 AM
Quote from: Nigel White on May 08, 2015, 12:24:00 AM

He needs a f**king drive up the hole. Air of smug entitlement inherent of all too many "up there" Unionist politicians.
Post by: Pub Bore on May 08, 2015, 01:38:05 AM
Looks like Farage has lost.
Post by: Over the Bar on May 08, 2015, 01:41:59 AM

He needs a f**king drive up the hole.
Air of smug entitlement inherent of all too many "up there" Unionist politicians.

If super-injunction rumours are true he's already had a few of those!! ;)
Post by: armaghniac on May 08, 2015, 01:42:37 AM
Cannabis guy got over 500 in W Tyrone, religious fundamentalist woman  166.

SF down 1500, SDLP up 1200 
Post by: Maguire01 on May 08, 2015, 01:48:26 AM
Durkan returned with increased majority in Foyle.

Kinnihan in and McCrea out in South Antrim.
Post by: trileacman on May 08, 2015, 01:52:07 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 08, 2015, 01:48:26 AM

Gave a humble speech afterwards, would be at odds with a few we've had to witness so far.
Post by: Pub Bore on May 08, 2015, 02:07:56 AM

Arlene Foster calls Kinahan a victory for Unionism
Post by: Nigel White on May 08, 2015, 02:12:51 AM
Ian Paisley would give Jeffrey a run for his money it the smug git competition. Great to see McCrea out. He'll miss the opportunities that nights away in London had to offer him, allegedly.
Post by: Pub Bore on May 08, 2015, 02:23:17 AM
Big push for SF Upper Bann comes to nowt. I think this election will be a boot it in the arse for SF. Not able to get the vote out any more??
Post by: seafoid on May 08, 2015, 02:25:21 AM
Scotland result is amazing.
Post by: Maguire01 on May 08, 2015, 02:27:08 AM
Quote from: Pub Bore on May 08, 2015, 02:07:56 AM

That's spin for you. The only unionist in the Assembly to vote for equal marriage. He's definitely one of the better ones.
Post by: Nigel White on May 08, 2015, 02:31:14 AM
Mike Nesbitt is smugger than Donaldson,Simpson and Paisley put together.
Post by: Pub Bore on May 08, 2015, 02:33:03 AM
BBC calling wins for G Robinson and McDonnell.  Also looks like the Tories could get a majority across the water
Post by: dec on May 08, 2015, 02:37:19 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 08, 2015, 02:27:08 AM
Quote from: Pub Bore on May 08, 2015, 02:07:56 AM

That's spin for you. The only unionist in the Assembly to vote for equal marriage. He's definitely one of the better ones.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Danny_Kinahan

Daniel de Burgh Kinahan ...He is a cousin of singer Chris de Burgh
Post by: Nigel White on May 08, 2015, 02:51:36 AM
Hope Mike Nesbitt is proud of himself as he helps DUP oust Naomi Long in East Belfast. Let's hope that by the end of the night he has nothing to show for his sell out
Post by: foxcommander on May 08, 2015, 05:57:10 AM
Quote from: GJL on May 07, 2015, 03:39:51 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on May 07, 2015, 03:03:05 PM

This..

Tom Eliott in. There's a sectarian vote for you.

Post by: Oraisteach on May 08, 2015, 06:10:15 AM
Well, that news soothes my fear that vile sectarianism was dead. 
Post by: Eamonnca1 on May 08, 2015, 07:16:18 AM
What do yiz reckon then?

Tories + Lib Dems (what's left of them) + DUP?

Post by: deiseach on May 08, 2015, 07:18:40 AM
It's the Tories on their own. Incredible. There are hundreds of thousands of English people who routinely lie about their voting intentions.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 08, 2015, 07:22:57 AM
Quote from: deiseach on May 08, 2015, 07:18:40 AM
It's the Tories on their own. Incredible. There are hundreds of thousands of English people who routinely lie about their voting intentions.
Only good thing about this is the DUP won't have a say. Surely the British public won't vote to exit the EU
Post by: T Fearon on May 08, 2015, 07:36:22 AM
Will Danny De Burgh Kinahan record "Lady in Red,White and Blue?"
Post by: GJL on May 08, 2015, 07:41:56 AM
Well done to the SDLP. Effectively handed Tom Elliot victory.  >:(
Post by: gallsman on May 08, 2015, 07:56:19 AM
Quote from: GJL on May 08, 2015, 07:41:56 AM

Yes, yes it's the SDLP's fault for engaging in the democratic process and giving voters options.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 08, 2015, 08:24:54 AM
Polls are worthless. Also is it time for the UK to look at PR? SNP 50% of the vote and clean up in Scotland, 56 out of 59 or something. Tories have 16% and get one seat. Torie vote steady in general, huge seat gains. Labour vote up quite a bit, and they lose seats.
Post by: LeoMc on May 08, 2015, 08:25:21 AM
That assumes those who voted SDLP would have voted SF, granted only 20% of them would have had to switch.

Despite already knowing FST was simply a sectarian headcount they still chose not to vote SF.

Post by: T Fearon on May 08, 2015, 08:25:30 AM
There are many SDLP supporters who wouldn't vote Sinn Fein (and vice versa) to save their lives so pacts don't always work.
Post by: LeoMc on May 08, 2015, 08:27:18 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 08, 2015, 08:24:54 AM
Polls are worthless. Also is it time for the UK to look at PR? SNP 50% of the vote and clean up in Scotland, 56 out of 59 or something. Tories have 16% and get one seat. Torie vote steady in general, huge seat gains. Labour vote up quite a bit, and they lose seats.
They did and voted against it in a referendum a couple of years ago. Like the Scottish independence vote there was a massive concerted campaign by the Labour & Tory parties against it.
Post by: Minder on May 08, 2015, 08:28:55 AM
Ed Balls has lost his seat  :o
Post by: deiseach on May 08, 2015, 08:30:52 AM
Quote from: Minder on May 08, 2015, 08:28:55 AM
Ed Balls

Fixed that for you.
Post by: deiseach on May 08, 2015, 08:34:16 AM
Quote from: LeoMc on May 08, 2015, 08:25:21 AM
Despite already knowing FST was simply a sectarian headcount they still chose not to vote SF.

They're stoops. That's the only lesson SF will take from this.
Post by: mb80b60 on May 08, 2015, 08:35:44 AM
Quote from: deiseach on May 08, 2015, 08:34:16 AM

They're stoops. That's the only lesson SF will take from this.

Pardon my ignorance, but what is a Stoop?
Post by: deiseach on May 08, 2015, 08:38:49 AM
The SDLP - the Stoop Down Low Party.
Post by: armaghniac on May 08, 2015, 08:40:15 AM
Labour may have campaigned against PR in the referendum, but in doing so they wiped themselves out in Scotland.
Post by: deiseach on May 08, 2015, 08:42:54 AM
Labour advocated a Yes vote in the referendum (http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2011/apr/28/ed-miliband-labour-alternative-vote), although it was without much enthusiasm.
Post by: kickingmule on May 08, 2015, 09:08:23 AM
Quote from: gallsman on May 08, 2015, 07:56:19 AM

Yes, yes it's the SDLP's fault for engaging in the democratic process and giving voters options.
Smart option alright...  Its a two dog race ffs.
But hey thats back to the dark ages for Ya,
Long live the b men with the aid of a tired boring party.
Post by: GJL on May 08, 2015, 09:11:07 AM

Try to enter yourself into the real world sometime...
Post by: deiseach on May 08, 2015, 09:18:00 AM
Shinner bots all present and correct. A haon a dó, a haon a dó...
Post by: Pub Bore on May 08, 2015, 09:20:38 AM
I'd call this a bad result and a kick up the backside for SF and the SDLP.  Stoops hold on to their 3 seats but share of vote down 2.5% Big Al hangs on by the skin of his teeth after shedding nearly 5000 votes, and Atwood beaten by Gerry Carroll in West Belfast.  SF share of the vote down slightly and lose Ferm/S Tyrone.  I think the Green candidate getting 788 may have had an impact on Gildernew as well as the 2700 that the SDLP got.  But to lose to Tom Elliott who thinks 23,000 of his constituents are scum is a bad result.  I think Unionists are starting to get the vote out once again and a lot of Nats/Repubs are staying at home.  Both parties need to get their act together for the Assembly elections next year.
Post by: Pub Bore on May 08, 2015, 09:24:36 AM
Across the pond Miliband expected to resign later this morning.  There seems to be momentum gathering for electoral reform.
Post by: deiseach on May 08, 2015, 09:26:35 AM
Electoral reform is going to be the least of the constitutional issues we're going to see in the UK. Alex Salmond now has free rein to be a complete bollix. It's going to be great!
Post by: gallsman on May 08, 2015, 09:29:19 AM
Quote from: GJL on May 08, 2015, 09:11:07 AM

The real world?! Are you kidding?! Here's the real world for you. The Tories will have an overall majority. The 18 NI seats will not matter a toss. Some people in these parts, beyond Gerry Kelly, are interested in electoral options beyond "taig" or "hun". Nor should they feel guilty about it as you and others would have them do. Sinn Fein get a few less quid than last time and will still get 3 MLA seats next time and Tom Elliott gets to look smug and think he's what a majority of people in the constituency want in the next few years. So how about you cop the f**k on and try living in the real world yourself?
Post by: Pub Bore on May 08, 2015, 09:35:55 AM
Quote from: deiseach on May 08, 2015, 09:26:35 AM
Electoral reform is going to be the least of the constitutional issues we're going to see in the UK. Alex Salmond now has free rein to be a complete bollix. It's going to be great!

When the dust settles in a few days the big story will be the amazing performance of the SNP.  56 seats out of a possible 59 and Labour big hitter Douglas Alexander beaten by a 20 year old student.
Post by: screenexile on May 08, 2015, 09:38:27 AM
Quote from: gallsman on May 08, 2015, 09:29:19 AM

The real world?! Are you kidding?! Here's the real world for you. The Tories will have an overall majority. The 18 NI seats will not matter a toss. Some people in these parts, beyond Gerry Kelly, are interested in electoral options beyond "taig" or "hun". Nor should they feel guilty about it as you and others would have them do. Sinn Fein get a few less quid than last time and will still get 3 MLA seats next time and Tom Elliott gets to look smug and think he's what a majority of people in the constituency want in the next few years. So how about you cop the f**k on and try living in the real world yourself?

Yeah we should vote usuns so themmuns can't get in... can anyone tell me what actual good a vote for Sinn Fein was yesterday??
Post by: GJL on May 08, 2015, 09:40:41 AM

You have no idea what my reasons for disappointment in this result are. Suffice to say it is a bit more than seeing a smug look on Tom Elliot's face.
Post by: gallsman on May 08, 2015, 09:46:16 AM
Quote from: GJL on May 08, 2015, 09:40:41 AM

You have no idea what my reasons for disappointment in this result are. Suffice to say it is a bit more than seeing a smug look on Tom Elliot's face.

I'm not questioning them or your right to ffs! What I'm question is your withering dismissal of anyone having an alternative view on the basis that your horse might have won the race otherwise. It's called democracy.
Post by: Pub Bore on May 08, 2015, 09:48:51 AM
Quote from: screenexile on May 08, 2015, 09:38:27 AM

Yeah we should vote usuns so themmuns can't get in... can anyone tell me what actual good a vote for Sinn Fein was yesterday??

I suppose they can point to the fact that they actually got almost 5,000 more votes overall than in 2010 and lost a seat whereas e.g. the SDLP actually shed 11,000 votes but managed to hold onto 3 seats.  The "problem" is that more of "themmuns" are coming out to vote and that's not something Nat parties can easily counter.
Post by: screenexile on May 08, 2015, 09:51:44 AM
Quote from: Pub Bore on May 08, 2015, 09:48:51 AM

I suppose they can point to the fact that they actually got almost 5,000 more votes overall than in 2010 and lost a seat whereas e.g. the SDLP actually shed 11,000 votes but managed to hold onto 3 seats.  The "problem" is that more of "themmuns" are coming out to vote and that's not something Nat parties can easily counter.

No no you're confusing what yesterday was about!! It was about voting someone into Parliament who is going to do something for me and the people of my area to represent our best interests. . . Francie Brolly has just been elected in my area. Tell me how he is going to represent my interests in Parliament?!!?
Post by: gallsman on May 08, 2015, 09:52:14 AM

That's to be expected in fairness. There are more of "themmuns" after all. FST might swing back and forth and South and North Belfast will always be in play but the rest of them are pretty much solidly green or solidly orange.
Post by: deiseach on May 08, 2015, 09:52:24 AM
Quote from: Pub Bore on May 08, 2015, 09:35:55 AM
When the dust settles in a few days the big story will be the amazing performance of the SNP.  56 seats out of a possible 59 and Labour big hitter Douglas Alexander beaten by a 20 year old student.

I give it a month before Hurricane Salmond hits the London media.
Post by: Pub Bore on May 08, 2015, 09:56:07 AM
Quote from: screenexile on May 08, 2015, 09:51:44 AM

No no you're confusing what yesterday was about!! It was about voting someone into Parliament who is going to do something for me and the people of my area to represent our best interests. . . Francie Brolly has just been elected in my area. Tell me how he is going to represent my interests in Parliament?!!?

Sorry are you serious??  This was an election in N Ireland.  When was it ever about who represents the voters best!!!  If that's the case can you explain how 2700 voted for John Coyle in Ferm/S Tyrone after his car crash TV appearance??

Edit:  I'm presuming you mean Francie Molloy?
Post by: Pub Bore on May 08, 2015, 09:57:31 AM
Quote from: deiseach on May 08, 2015, 09:52:24 AM
Quote from: Pub Bore on May 08, 2015, 09:35:55 AM

I give it a month before Hurricane Salmond hits the London media.

He wont be able to wait a month!!
Post by: gallsman on May 08, 2015, 10:02:17 AM
Quote from: Pub Bore on May 08, 2015, 09:56:07 AM

Sorry are you serious??  This was an election in N Ireland.  When was it ever about who represents the voters best!!!  If that's the case can you explain how 2700 voted for John Coyle in Ferm/S Tyrone after his car crash TV appearance??

Maybe, as is their democratic right, they fancied voting for someone with policies agreeable to them who would actually represent them in parliament. Not all that difficult.
Post by: screenexile on May 08, 2015, 10:11:05 AM

You're right I did mean Francie Molloy.

Again you have not offered me any reason to vote other than the usuns v themmuns nonsense!! I want jobs, a good healthcare system, an end to tuition fees and a better quality of life for me and my family. At this minute in time a United Ireland is not my priority!!

I understand how things used to be and we wanted the Brits out etc. but things aren't like that anymore. We have got our equality now and down the line when a significant Nationalist majority takes hold in the North we can look at a United Ireland but at the minute I want Sinn Fein to engage in Westminster to improve our situation!!!
Post by: Pub Bore on May 08, 2015, 10:14:13 AM
Quote from: screenexile on May 08, 2015, 10:11:05 AM

You're right I did mean Francie Molloy.

Again you have not offered me any reason to vote other than the usuns v themmuns nonsense!! I want jobs, a good healthcare system, an end to tuition fees and a better quality of life for me and my family. At this minute in time a United Ireland is not my priority!!

I understand how things used to be and we wanted the Brits out etc. but things aren't like that anymore. We have got our equality now and down the line when a significant Nationalist majority takes hold in the North we can look at a United Ireland but at the minute I want Sinn Fein to engage in Westminster to improve our situation!!!

I think we're sort in agreement here, screenexile.  But right or wrong, I still think we're a good bit off SF taking seats in Westminster
Post by: topcuppla on May 08, 2015, 10:19:52 AM
And that is the point, SDLP have every right to stand for every seat, every individual who votes should have the opportunity to vote for someone who is going to represent them, maybe if Sinn Fein took their seats more of the SDLP vote would go their way.
Post by: Pub Bore on May 08, 2015, 10:22:46 AM
Quote from: topcuppla on May 08, 2015, 10:19:52 AM
And that is the point, SDLP have every right to stand for every seat, every individual who votes should have the opportunity to vote for someone who is going to represent them, maybe if Sinn Fein took their seats more of the SDLP vote would go their way.

I agree with this but people also have the right to vote for someone who doesn't take their seat too as long as they tell them beforehand that they're not going to take their seat.
Post by: topcuppla on May 08, 2015, 10:28:15 AM
Quote from: Pub Bore on May 08, 2015, 10:22:46 AM
Quote from: topcuppla on May 08, 2015, 10:19:52 AM

I agree with this but people also have the right to vote for someone who doesn't take their seat too as long as the tell them beforehand that they're not going to take their seat.

That is totally true but you can't blame SDLP for standing in every seat, the SDLP standing didn't allow Elliot in any more than Sinn Fein refusing to take their seats.
Post by: Canalman on May 08, 2015, 10:28:31 AM
SF caught out a bit with the "running with hare and hunting with the hounds" in being in government on the one hand and trying opposition politics on the other hand.
Not sure looking from afar how it can balance the two.

Stunning win for the Tories tbf. Fine Gael will cut and paste their election strategy for next year's GE.

Post by: LeoMc on May 08, 2015, 10:32:47 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 08, 2015, 08:40:15 AM
Labour may have campaigned against PR in the referendum, but in doing so they wiped themselves out in Scotland.
To put a more positive spin on the lack of PR, UKIP (1 seat) got more votes than the SNP (56 seats).
Post by: Hereiam on May 08, 2015, 10:33:30 AM
Screenexile are you for real. You do understand that Westminster will keep the quality of life for the majority of people in this part Ireland lower than the rest of the UK. U may move to England if you want all them thinhs on ur wish list.
Post by: topcuppla on May 08, 2015, 10:33:35 AM
Quote from: Canalman on May 08, 2015, 10:28:31 AM
SF caught out a bit with the "running with hare and hunting with the hounds" in being in government on the one hand and trying opposition politics on the other hand.

Stunning win for the Tories tbf. Fine Gael will cut and paste their election strategy for next year's GE.

We are aff fecked now anyways as the tories will probably need the DUP with such a small majority.
Post by: deiseach on May 08, 2015, 10:34:21 AM
Fine Gael will cut and paste their election strategy for next year's GE.

They are looking for Lynton Crosby's number as we speak.
Post by: Pub Bore on May 08, 2015, 10:35:21 AM
Nigel Farage beaten
Post by: seafoid on May 08, 2015, 10:35:46 AM
Massive cuts coming across the UK now with Osborne calling the shots.
http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2015/may/05/revealed-coalition-plans-to-slash-welfare-for-sick-poor-young-and-disabled

Shinners will have to impose them. Sick and unemployed will be targeted with both barrels. Depressed people will be hounded into zero contract work. Expect suicides. And still no growth because the economics won't work. Shinners will have to grow up fast. Tiocfaidh an pian

SDLP can sit back and watch it all. Politics is all about timing.
NI needs to move beyond sectarian politics too. Because what is coming will hurt regardless of religion. 
Post by: Ulick on May 08, 2015, 10:45:25 AM
The significance of the Scottish vote is being overlooked by most commentators. This is easily on a par with the 1885 or 1918 elections and in Salmond they're sending down arguably the most able politician in these islands. Devomax for the Scots will have to be granted quick-sharp or they'll wreck the place long before it even gets to the EU referendum stage. The UK is f**ked every which way.
Post by: Keyser soze on May 08, 2015, 10:48:33 AM
I vote for Sinn Fein because they are an abstentionist party. If they changed that policy I wouldn't vote for them.
Post by: Canalman on May 08, 2015, 10:55:23 AM
Quote from: Ulick on May 08, 2015, 10:45:25 AM
The significance of the Scottish vote is being overlooked by most commentators. This is easily on a par with the 1885 or 1918 elections and in Salmond they're sending down arguably the most able politician in these islands. Devomax for the Scots will have to be granted quick-sharp or they'll wreck the place long before it even gets to the EU referendum stage. The UK is f**ked every which way.

Beat me to it Ulick .

Depends really whether Sturgeon is a  C. S. Parnell or a John Redmond. To be dramatic about it Salmond could be the Isaac Butt of the story.

Think the penny will have dropped by now in Whitehall that the Scots (well c50% of them anyway) are calling in the promises made before the referendum last year.
Post by: screenexile on May 08, 2015, 11:00:43 AM
Quote from: Hereiam on May 08, 2015, 10:33:30 AM
Screenexile are you for real. You do understand that Westminster will keep the quality of life for the majority of people in this part Ireland lower than the rest of the UK. U may move to England if you want all them thinhs on ur wish list.

All the more reason for SF to get in there and fight our corner! As somebody said they would probably get more votes if they took their seats.

Post by: ballinaman on May 08, 2015, 11:08:53 AM
And by the man in the street. I think the No vote last year has made the English think the situation is done and dusted.
Post by: gallsman on May 08, 2015, 11:17:23 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on May 08, 2015, 11:08:53 AM
And by the man in the street. I think the No vote last year has made the English think the situation is done and dusted.

It is for now. The huge SNP vote is a vote for a stronger Scottish voice in overall terms and collecting on the promises made after the strong No showing in September. Don't think that will correlate directly to a significant increase in the Yes vote in the event of another referendum any time soon.
Post by: Ulick on May 08, 2015, 11:23:36 AM
Quote from: Canalman on May 08, 2015, 10:55:23 AM
Beat me to it Ulick .

Depends really whether Sturgeon is a  C. S. Parnell or a John Redmond. To be dramatic about it Salmond could be the Isaac Butt of the story.

Think the penny will have dropped by now in Whitehall that the Scots (well c50% of them anyway) are calling in the promises made before the referendum last year.

Seems to be a genuine partnership between the two of them though and they've played their hands perfectly since before the referendum. That result is even looking like it was the best outcome for them now. The north has proven itself again to be a basket case and the only hope now is the Scots wreck the place forcing Ulster unionists to come into the modern world. Going to be a lot of pain before things get better.

Sinn Féin needs a mid-level change in the north with fresh ideas to get momentum back before the elections next year but I don't see where it's going to come from. Personally I'd send Eoin Ó Broin and Pádraig Mac Lochlainn into the Assembly to steady the ship or give the young southerners a higher profile in the north until new people can be brought through.
Post by: johnneycool on May 08, 2015, 11:25:07 AM
Quote from: gallsman on May 08, 2015, 11:17:23 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on May 08, 2015, 11:08:53 AM

It is for now. The huge SNP vote is a vote for a stronger Scottish voice in overall terms and collecting on the promises made after the strong No showing in September. Don't think that will correlate directly to a significant increase in the Yes vote in the event of another referendum any time soon.

The Yes vote in Scotland will increase if the promises made by Cameron and Co are not kept, which in all likelihood will be the case now that Dave has a majority.

Post by: Pub Bore on May 08, 2015, 11:31:52 AM
Looks like the Tories will get 331 seats, a working majority of approx 16/17 (I'm allowing for the fact that SF and Alasdair McDonnell dont turn up!!)

Farage steps down as UKIP leader...sort of.

Clegg and Miliband about to go.  The Tories have decapitated all of their main rivals bar the SNP.
Post by: deiseach on May 08, 2015, 11:36:01 AM
The Tories had a majority of 25 after the 1992 election. Didn't stop them tearing themselves apart over Europe. History will repeat itself, except both times it'll be farce.
Post by: LeoMc on May 08, 2015, 11:55:45 AM
Quote from: topcuppla on May 08, 2015, 10:33:35 AM

We are aff fecked now anyways as the tories will probably need the DUP with such a small majority.

They are more likely to scrap the Barnett formula and cut funding to Holyrood and Stormont to keep middle-England comfortable and out of the arms of UKIP.
If they are clever they will do just enough to keep Scottish nationalism bubbling without boiling over to ensure the SNP is just strong enough to leave Labour nowhere near strong enough to form a Government.
Post by: seafoid on May 08, 2015, 02:17:13 PM
Quote from: deiseach on May 08, 2015, 11:36:01 AM
The Tories had a majority of 25 after the 1992 election. Didn't stop them tearing themselves apart over Europe. History will repeat itself, except both times it'll be farce.
Exactly. They needed a much bigger majority
Post by: Pub Bore on May 08, 2015, 02:34:38 PM
Alisdair McDonnell's victory in S Belfast was achieved securing 24.5% of the votes.  Apparently that's the lowest vote share to win a seat in a Westminster election...ever!
Post by: Sandy Hill on May 08, 2015, 02:39:20 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on May 08, 2015, 10:48:33 AM
I vote for Sinn Fein because they are an abstentionist party. If they changed that policy I wouldn't vote for them.

??????????????
Post by: muppet on May 08, 2015, 02:41:51 PM

When I want to support abstention, I abstain.
Post by: Keyser soze on May 08, 2015, 03:08:14 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 08, 2015, 02:41:51 PM

Fill your boots chap.
Post by: foxcommander on May 08, 2015, 03:40:26 PM
That assumes those who voted SDLP would have voted SF, granted only 20% of them would have had to switch.

I hope they are proud of themselves today assisting that knuckledragging mong to victory.
Not content with leaving it at his previous comments on the GAA he used the opportunity on the platform to have a go at Bobby Sands as well.

That's representation for you.
Post by: lfdown2 on May 08, 2015, 03:50:36 PM
Does anyone know where I could find bills voted on in the house of commons? As well as which MP's were in attendance and which way they voted - I would be interested to see in the previous term what real affect our representatives had.
Post by: seafoid on May 08, 2015, 04:40:21 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 08, 2015, 02:41:51 PM

I am a pioneer except for the beer
Post by: bennydorano on May 08, 2015, 08:44:19 PM
The real sad state of affairs is that SF despises the SDLP more than Unionism. Shows where thier priorities really lie.
Post by: dec on May 08, 2015, 09:21:36 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on May 08, 2015, 08:44:19 PM
The real sad state of affairs is that SF despises the SDLP more than Unionism. Shows where there priorities really lie.

The name calling gives it away.

They really hate the stoops and the stickies and the blueshirts.
Post by: screenexile on May 08, 2015, 10:20:02 PM
Quote from: hardstation on May 08, 2015, 09:20:56 PM
Can I just ask? You are happy for them to sit in Stormont & Dáil Éireann? You are happy for leading members to shake hands with the Queen etc? Their principles that back up abstentionism have been reneged countless times when it has suited them.
Door shut horse bolt.

Indeed!! Heaven forbid Sinn Fein could be part of the solution at Westminster its too easy for them to sit on the sidelines and criticise!!!
Post by: gardrumchum on May 08, 2015, 11:22:14 PM
Can I just ask? You are happy for them to sit in Stormont & Dáil Éireann? You are happy for leading members to shake hands with the Queen etc? Their principles that back up abstentionism have been reneged countless times when it has suited them.
Door shut horse bolt.

My God the Stoop Further party when you put it like that  :o
Post by: armaghniac on May 08, 2015, 11:29:12 PM
Quote from: gardrumchum on May 08, 2015, 11:22:14 PM
Door shut horse bolt.

My God the Stoop Further party when you put it like that  :o

SF are not great on the stooping, but show remarkable nimbleness when executing U turns.

I think that Sinn Féin should be spelt with a small s, as the collective they are referring to is themselves and not the country at large.
Post by: LeoMc on May 09, 2015, 02:00:50 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on May 08, 2015, 03:40:26 PM

I hope they are proud of themselves today assisting that knuckledragging mong to victory.
Not content with leaving it at his previous comments on the GAA he used the opportunity on the platform to have a go at Bobby Sands as well.

Someone who will represent one side of the community in parliament or someone who will represent neither?

You could just as easily direct your ire at the 18,600 eligible voters who did not cast their vote at all.
Post by: Nigel White on May 09, 2015, 02:48:29 PM
Mind you, you might as well be an abstentionist party rather than adopting the 'its not what you are but who you are' policy the SDLP adopted in Newry/Armagh. Plucked Justin McNulty from nowhere and put him forward as a Westminster candidate, then selected ROI politicians who were diametrically on the opposite end of the spectrum as regards political ideology to canvass for him.  The poor guy was out of his depth.  Its like using money and influence to get a kid with a Grade F in the 11+ into a grammar school.
Post by: Maguire01 on May 09, 2015, 04:01:53 PM
But it was ok when they changed their policy to abstain from the Dail... and then Stormont...
Post by: ziggysego on May 09, 2015, 04:05:23 PM

Please be mindful of the language used here.
Post by: Maguire01 on May 09, 2015, 04:36:08 PM
Catch a grip. The electorate handed Tom Elliott victory. Nobody made anyone vote SDLP. The 2,732 people that voted SDLP knew exactly how close this race was, yet they decided not to vote for Gildernew. If the SDLP hadn't run, they may well have stayed at home, or even voted for Elliott. Some people in Fermanagh will never vote SF under any circumstances, and that's entirely justified.

Funny how you're not taking any issue with O'Muilleoir threatening a nationalist seat in South Belfast. If the notion of handing seats to unionists was such a big issue, SF would have stepped aside in South Belfast, whether it was reciprocated in FST or not.
Post by: LCohen on May 09, 2015, 04:50:46 PM
Quote from: Nigel White on May 09, 2015, 02:48:29 PM
Mind you, you might as well be an abstentionist party rather than adopting the 'its not what you are but who you are' policy the SDLP adopted in Newry/Armagh. Plucked Justin McNulty from nowhere and put him forward as a Westminster candidate, then selected ROI politicians who were diametrically on the opposite end of the spectrum as regards political ideology to canvass for him.  The poor guy was out of his depth.  Its like using money and influence to get a kid with a Grade F in the 11+ into a grammar school.
I assume SF selected Pat O'Doherty, Francie Molloy and Paul Maskey for their intellectual heft? And that selection was from their successful candidates.
Post by: Nigel White on May 09, 2015, 04:58:22 PM
It's not about intellect its about political acumen and involvement in local community groups Whilst I'm not a spokesperson for SF I understand the 3 people you single out all have a long history of community/political involvement Justin didn't. Who can we expect next as a candidate - Nathan Carter perhaps?
Post by: LCohen on May 09, 2015, 04:59:37 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 09, 2015, 04:36:08 PM
Catch a grip. The electorate handed Tom Elliott victory. Nobody made anyone vote SDLP. The 2,732 people that voted SDLP knew exactly how close this race was, yet they decided not to vote for Gildernew. If the SDLP hadn't run, they may well have stayed at home, or even voted for Elliott. Some people in Fermanagh will never vote SF under any circumstances, and that's entirely justified.

Funny how you're not taking any issue with O'Muilleoir threatening a nationalist seat in South Belfast. If the notion of handing seats to unionists was such a big issue, SF would have stepped aside in South Belfast, whether it was reciprocated in FST or not.

I did not vote SF. I have never voted SF. I cannot see the circumstances where I would vote SF. There is certainly a rump within nationalism (and those raised in a nationalist background) who will note vote SF. An electoral pact which runs a SF but not an SDLP candidate in a constituency might get people to vote SF for the first time. It then becomes less of a leap to vote for them down the line. That is the SF interest in pacts.

Election of a SF MP brings in a MP's salary and expenses into the SF coffers. It does feck all for the constituents. It is a wasted vote in westminster terms.

Maguire01 is correct. Anybody suggesting that SDLP handed Tomosaurus victory in FST must be livid with SF's decision to contest the S. Belfast race.
Post by: LCohen on May 09, 2015, 05:07:18 PM
Quote from: Nigel White on May 09, 2015, 04:58:22 PM
It's not about intellect its about political acumen and involvement in local community groups Whilst I'm not a spokesperson for SF I understand the 3 people you single out all have a long history of community/political involvement Justin didn't. Who can we expect next as a candidate - Nathan Carter perhaps?
Define political acumen if it is entirely separate from intelligence

I make no comment on O'Doherty's involvement in republicanism but i'm told that his involvement in politics is to put a suit on every 5 tears to make an acceptance speech of 10 or 12 words. Usually on 2 syllables or less

Post by: GJL on May 09, 2015, 07:19:59 PM

The thing is I am no SF supporter and could not care less about and other constitutionsey. For personal reasons I just really did not want Tom Elliott to win. If there had of been corporation between the SDLP and SF IE a pact I have no doubt the seat could have been won. The fact that there was none would have encouraged more unionists out to vote.
Post by: never kickt a ball on May 09, 2015, 07:48:51 PM
Quote from: GJL on May 09, 2015, 07:19:59 PM

The thing is I am no SF supporter and could not care less about and other constitutionsey. For personal reasons I just really did not want Tom Elliott to win. If there had of been corporation between the SDLP and SF IE a pact I have no doubt the seat could have been won. The fact that there was none would have encouraged more unionists out to vote.

Interesting that in the Irish News today the anti abortion movement based in Dungannon were claiming to have influenced the electorate in FST by distributing leaflets asking voters to consider the abortion debate when casting their vote. Also from comments made by Sinn Fein it appears the unionists were very successful in mobilising and registering their followers. In a sense they seem to have copied the Sinn Fein hard working template used with success in the past to maximise their vote.
Post by: LeoMc on May 09, 2015, 10:12:07 PM

I would still be blaming the 18k odd who didn't vote rather than the SDLP.
Post by: GJL on May 09, 2015, 10:27:03 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on May 09, 2015, 10:12:07 PM

I would still be blaming the 18k odd who didn't vote rather than the SDLP.

Fair point.
Post by: Maguire01 on May 09, 2015, 10:47:02 PM
If a pact was ever to be considered in the likes of FST, then SF and the SDLP should agree an independent candidate, acceptable to both and prepared to take their seat. Then neither party suffers at subsequent Assembly elections, and the people get proper representation.
Post by: armaghniac on May 09, 2015, 11:25:02 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 09, 2015, 10:47:02 PM
If a pact was ever to be considered in the likes of FST, then SF and the SDLP should agree an independent candidate, acceptable to both and prepared to take their seat. Then neither party suffers at subsequent Assembly elections, and the people get proper representation.

They could find a Quinn candidate, although he might be able to take part in the Anglo-Irish parliamentary meetings.
Post by: Nigel White on May 10, 2015, 02:04:31 AM
Quote from: LCohen on May 09, 2015, 05:07:18 PM

I make no comment on O'Doherty's involvement in republicanism but i'm told that his involvement in politics is to put a suit on every 5 tears to make an acceptance speech of 10 or 12 words. Usually on 2 syllables or less
Have you evidence of Doherty's inactivity? Your description of Doherty by the way fits Justin to a tee
Post by: LCohen on May 10, 2015, 03:31:24 PM
Quote from: Nigel White on May 10, 2015, 02:04:31 AM

Have you evidence of Doherty's inactivity? Your description of Doherty by the way fits Justin to a tee

I lived in the constituency when it was first. POD got in at a subsequent election and was anonymous other that a face on lampposts. Did nothing for the area. Whilst I don't live there now my wife's family and friends still do. It is a recurring point that he is abstentionist in many, many respects.
Post by: Maguire01 on May 10, 2015, 03:38:59 PM
Quote from: LCohen on May 10, 2015, 03:31:24 PM

I lived in the constituency when it was first. POD got in at a subsequent election and was anonymous other that a face on lampposts. Did nothing for the area. Whilst I don't live there now my wife's family and friends still do. It is a recurring point that he is abstentionist in many, many respects.
Yep, he made the point in his victory speech that his wife hadn't seen him for seven weeks. Nobody else had seen him for 5 years.
Post by: Owenmoresider on May 10, 2015, 06:20:14 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 10, 2015, 03:38:59 PM
Quote from: LCohen on May 10, 2015, 03:31:24 PM

Yep, he made the point in his victory speech that his wife hadn't seen him for seven weeks. Nobody else had seen him for 5 years.
Sure the man lives in west Donegal, he hardly needs to bother his arse trekking over to Tyrone, much less London, with the strength of the the SF support there. Mind you his vote was down 5% and the SDLP went up in votes and % there, probably their best performance outside of retaining their seats, but still a monstrous gap between them.

Elliott is a **** of that there is little doubt. But the Sands comment I have little problem with, since I assume it was a reaction to Gildernew's rather arrogant and brazen statement at her campaign launch that "This seat belongs to Bobby Sands, this seat belongs to Sinn Féin". As it happens it belongs to the people of FST and they have loaned it to someone else now. And it doesn't say much for SF that they to keep harking back to Bobby so often (his sacrifice immense as it was), as though they have practically nothing to say for themselves in 2015 that would get their people out to vote. And on that point...

Quote from: LeoMc on May 09, 2015, 02:00:50 PM
You could just as easily direct your ire at the 18,600 eligible voters who did not cast their vote at all.
Very true. It should really be of concern to them, given this was nationalism's worst vote since 1992, at how the turnout has fallen so far from over a decade ago, it's not just for the more predictable Westminster contests but in the Assembly too, West Tyrone and Mid Ulster have gone from mid 70's to 60/61%, Foyle from 67 to 54, South Down from mid 60's to 57, West Belfast from 67 to 57, Newry & Armagh down too, FST held up better but then 73% is low compared to other times.

Also as expected the Shinners are blaming the SDLP for losing FST, inevitable since they can never be at fault for anything, but perhaps if SF were serious about nationalist unity and not simply strangling the SDLP out of existence then maybe McGuinness might have suggested a better proposal than what he did, when offering to merely let the SDLP keep their seats in return for pulling out of North Belfast, Upper Bann and FST, essentially telling the SDLP to not have any ambition to improve their lot while letting SF grab more seats for themselves, and have no doubt had that happened the propaganda machine would have claiming the glory all for themselves and not a ounce of gratitude would have been offered to the SDLP, SF are all about SF and noone else, the name is apt in that respect, and the SDLP were right not to indulge their self-interest and naked ambition and as it happens without suffering seat losses for it.

Indeed if SF are going to be like that they might want to remember that their intervention in South Down in the 80's kept no lesser a polarising figure than Enoch Powell in Parliament, not once but twice, and even when McGrady got him at the third attempt the majority was only 730 with SF polling 2300 votes. Same in Newry in 83 though Mallon squeezed the SF vote down enough to win the byelection. But perhaps it's another of these things which only SF are allowed to do.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 10, 2015, 06:41:28 PM
Good post owenmoresider.
Post by: Maguire01 on May 10, 2015, 08:20:39 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on May 10, 2015, 06:20:14 PM
Also as expected the Shinners are blaming the SDLP for losing FST, inevitable since they can never be at fault for anything, but perhaps if SF were serious about nationalist unity and not simply strangling the SDLP out of existence then maybe McGuinness might have suggested a better proposal than what he did, when offering to merely let the SDLP keep their seats in return for pulling out of North Belfast, Upper Bann and FST, essentially telling the SDLP to not have any ambition to improve their lot while letting SF grab more seats for themselves, and have no doubt had that happened the propaganda machine would have claiming the glory all for themselves and not a ounce of gratitude would have been offered to the SDLP, SF are all about SF and noone else, the name is apt in that respect, and the SDLP were right not to indulge their self-interest and naked ambition and as it happens without suffering seat losses for it.
A lot of good points there, but the one in bold is important. SF wanted to mirror the DUP/UUP pact, with SF getting a dead cert in exchange for what? The UUP got lucky in FST, but the DUP definitely got a more shrewd deal for East and North Belfast. Maybe SF should have offered the SDLP West Tyrone or Mid Ulster or Newry and Armagh. Or SF promise to run one candidate less in FST at the next Assembly election. I don't agree with pacts, but if there was to be one, it has to benefit both parties as equally as possible.

Quote from: Owenmoresider on May 10, 2015, 06:20:14 PM
Indeed if SF are going to be like that they might want to remember that their intervention in South Down in the 80's kept no lesser a polarising figure than Enoch Powell in Parliament, not once but twice, and even when McGrady got him at the third attempt the majority was only 730 with SF polling 2300 votes. Same in Newry in 83 though Mallon squeezed the SF vote down enough to win the byelection. But perhaps it's another of these things which only SF are allowed to do.
No different to this year - they were prepared to let the DUP take South Belfast.
Post by: Keyser soze on May 11, 2015, 03:13:53 PM
Maybe some of you could point out the list of tangible benefits that any of the MPs attending Westminister have brought for their constituents.

And I'm happy to accept small ticket items  ;)
Post by: imtommygunn on May 11, 2015, 03:18:12 PM
An Ulster Unionist MLA was mistaken for a male stripper when canvassing for votes. Robin Swann was going door to door in his North Antrim constituency when he was mistaken for a male stripper arriving for a party at a house in Dervock.