GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: J70 on May 12, 2014, 07:21:44 PM

Title: Derry v Donegal
Post by: J70 on May 12, 2014, 07:21:44 PM
Don't think there's a thread yet.

Derry owe us one (or more!). I'm nervous!

We haven't been too hot this year. A lot to prove, but the main men are another year older. McHugh and Kavanagh unavailable.

On the plus side, we've very good forwards (if we can get the ball in!). And Lacey.

And, based on their Donegal tenures, McGuinness is a better manager than McIver! (Although he has had six years to improve)
Title: Re: Derry v Donegal
Post by: ck on May 12, 2014, 08:11:52 PM
McGuinness is a better manager than McIvor? Mmmm I'm not disagreeing but I wouldn't exactly say it's that clear cut. Winning an All-Ireland was some achievement alright but it hasn't exactly been sunshine and roses since.. relegation, croke park collapse x 2, players leaving. In my view I think Donegal have the better players, and they have Michael Murphy of course, the best in Ireland at the moment. Derry don't match that but Derry are at home and have beaten Dublin there this year. It promises to be a massive game. I'm hoping to get to it but doubt if I'll have hope of a ticket. Sold out already I hear.
Post by: J70 on May 12, 2014, 08:47:54 PM
The comment was mostly tongue in cheek, but McIver just didn't impress me too much as Donegal manager. He did well his first year in 2006 (without Devenney and McFadden) and did win a league title, but he also oversaw appalling, spiritless, surrenders against Tyrone and Monaghan and ludicrously took no steps to counteract an awesome Paddy Bradley performance in 2008 when the simple deployment of a sweeper would have cut out a lot of the problem.
As for McGuinness, yes the past twelve months have been poor, but I wouldn't be too hard on him given the combination of All Ireland hangover, a vengeful Mayo taking out their frustration, and injuries. The players leaving is not a big deal, in my opinion. McHugh is a loss, but we don't even know the real reason he left, so its hard to judge. The other lads are no more significant than all the other fringe players who drop out of county panels.
Post by: Syferus on May 12, 2014, 09:08:42 PM
Dont Matter outed himself in that Indo interview:

QuoteMcGuinness feels that if Donegal could overcome Derry they would be in a very strong position logistically to regain lost ground. On that count he feels it should be easier for Dublin to retain an All-Ireland title.

"One of the big problems for us is the geography. This year we've people in Belfast, Dublin, Galway and Limerick driving up the road. They're arriving fatigued. Because they're working we're training later, so we start at 8 o'clock and it's 10 o'clock before they're getting a bite to eat. And then they're getting into a car and going to Dublin.

"So that's one, two in the morning. That's a massive commitment. Dublin don't have that problem. We have to fork out €1.75m on a centre of excellence and Dublin get one handed to them, which is handy and which is worth €20m," he said, referring to the proposed GAA unit in Abbotstown that will be open to all counties when it is completed.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/donegal-boss-jim-mcguinness-fears-black-card-diving-epidemic-30265156.html
Post by: Whitnail on May 16, 2014, 06:38:26 AM
Haven't been to matches or seen much play this year.
Last three matches I caught were probably last year's Ulster & quarter final defeats and this year's Leauge 2 final defeat.  Kinda used to watching us lose this sort of fixture and won't come as a shock to many if we lose this one.

Defensively we're  open and half- forward line isnt functioning or  scoring . Forwards are swamped when they receive the ball and  starved of service for long periods  and there's definitely a bigger overall problem I  can't put my finger on. The will is there but the execution is way off.

Derry have progressed and we've regressed a bit and Derry of course at home and playing very effective & pacy football.

I'd be a bit more confident if the lads in the half-forward line would just take a pop cause the way I see it they're either not confident enough to have a go themselves or  they're just being told to run it too far and end up getting caught in the tackle.
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 16, 2014, 10:50:29 AM
just had a 'c**k crows thrice' moment
Donegal friend of mine asked me to enter into a bet with him over the result and anything I back loses - the hoor prob knew that.

anyhow, Donegal have massive talent, but right now are in a muddle akin to pre-mcguinness days.
they have a lot of work to do to sort that out.
Derry will be a lot more confident if SL mcgoldrick plays.
McIver had Donegal at a v bad time, and is a great manager. hope he has taken in what he saw v Dublin and I expect he will.

I believe I have a ticket for this and cant wait.
I think Derry will win this in a tight game.
Post by: J70 on May 16, 2014, 09:15:52 PM
I'd like to think Donegal will make a statement in this game, but its hard to see where it will come from, especially if Derry leave a few extra men back. Neil Gallagher would need to be fit. If he is out in addition to Kavanagh, we will be in a spot of bother in midfield. Not sure what plan B would be -McElhinney and Murphy? Derry would enjoy seeing Murphy lining up there given how's he done against their fullbacks in the past ( although dont they have a new lad who had a great game on him - McKenna Cup? - a while back?
Post by: donegal lad on May 17, 2014, 02:28:41 PM
This game is really in the balance. Derry had a great league run but were giving a bit of a hiding in the league final, similarly donegal gained promotion but were very poor in the final against Monaghan

If Gallagher isn't fit I would like to see mcelhinney and toye line out at midfield with a half forward line of MacNiallais, Ryan mchugh and David walsh. Derry would love for murphy to be named at midfield he has to start at FF. it's crucial that the ball going into the forwards is off better quality than what was happening in the final. Also we can't stand off them and let them have shots at goal from 30-40 meters out as they have the players that are capable of scoring from there and will also punish donegal if they give away silly frees

I like that Derry are going in as favourites and few people are writing donegal off, that takes away a bit of pressure from them. It's a bit like 2011 no one knows what to expect from donegal. I think we will just have enough to get the win

Anyone looking for tickets they are back available online. Word is Derry clubs only took around half there allocation and were on general sale up in owenbeg. Donegal will outnumber them 2/3:1 which is poor turnout giving the run they had in the league
Post by: Main Street on May 17, 2014, 11:50:10 PM
Favourites or not favourites won't matter a damn here to Donegal, they still have to give a championship winning performance against a good Derry team and at present Donegal appear lost, cluelessly lost.
It's strange because McFadden and Murphy are still as sharp as they ever were and with Gallagher playing, that pair won good possession against Monaghan but were isolated and easily ambushed.
I know Derry were rolled over by Dublin, but there was a world of difference between that game and the 2nd div final.
Unless Donegal have a metamorphosis,  Derry should win it well.
Post by: Real Talk on May 20, 2014, 12:08:58 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 16, 2014, 10:50:29 AM
Donegal friend of mine asked me to enter into a bet with him over the result and anything I back loses - the hoor prob knew that.

anyhow, Donegal have massive talent, but right now are in a muddle akin to pre-mcguinness days.
McIver had Donegal at a v bad time, and is a great manager. hope he has taken in what he saw v Dublin and I expect he will.

Can you explain how or with which players can he address the problems of the Dublin game ?  In that game Dublin outclassed Derry in every position on the field and even Sean L wouldn't have made a difference .... now Donegal are not in the same class as the Dubs but I can't help thinkin' that game would have a bad mental effect on our players. 
Does anyone know if Sean L will be fit ? and also I think Benny Heron is much more effective as an 'impact sub'.   So who is going to replace him and be available for our kick-outs?  Is there a starting place for Niall Holly ?  looks tall and athletic although tends to over carry .... and we need an out and out quick corner forward who can score - is there one about the panel ?

Think Donegal's experience should see them into the next round
Post by: trileacman on May 20, 2014, 12:11:34 AM
This will be a serious match. Probably a niggly, tense, low-scoring affair but still I'm livid to think I'm going to miss it on Sunday because I've got a flight to catch.
Post by: anfheardubh on May 20, 2014, 12:23:05 AM
As a Donegal man i reckon we will be in for a hell of a physical battle on a tight pitch which will play to Derry's strengths

Donegal dont seem to be able to cope with physical teams,  Monaghan type

Dont get me wrong Monaghan are a top top team and have exceptional players who dont get the credit they deserve for some reason

Donegal would need Durcan to supply quick short kickouts to ensure we get sufficient ball otherwise Derry will lord midfield and dominate the match

My heart says that Donegal are still to show their hand and could produce a class performance of quick, high octane, slick and crisp play which could trouble the Derry Full Backline

My Head says that without Big Neil we are in trouble, the man is crucial, as good a fielder of a ball as Donegal have ever had, without thim we could be looking at the qualifiers

Regardless of the result i will enjoy the match and hopefully its a cracking game

PADDY POWER have Derry favs and rightly so, they have a great record at Celtic Park

DUN NA NGALL  ABU

Post by: HiMucker on May 20, 2014, 11:11:38 AM
Quote from: anfheardubh on May 20, 2014, 12:23:05 AM
As a Donegal man i reckon we will be in for a hell of a physical battle on a tight pitch which will play to Derry's strengths

Donegal dont seem to be able to cope with physical teams,  Monaghan type

Dont get me wrong Monaghan are a top top team and have exceptional players who dont get the credit they deserve for some reason

Donegal would need Durcan to supply quick short kickouts to ensure we get sufficient ball otherwise Derry will lord midfield and dominate the match

My heart says that Donegal are still to show their hand and could produce a class performance of quick, high octane, slick and crisp play which could trouble the Derry Full Backline

My Head says that without Big Neil we are in trouble, the man is crucial, as good a fielder of a ball as Donegal have ever had, without thim we could be looking at the qualifiers

Regardless of the result i will enjoy the match and hopefully its a cracking game

PADDY POWER have Derry favs and rightly so, they have a great record at Celtic Park

DUN NA NGALL  ABU
:o I have never heard Celtic Park described as a tight pitch before!
Post by: theticklemister on May 20, 2014, 12:40:18 PM
Hi Mucker, i think it is the third smallest in Ulster.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 20, 2014, 07:17:54 PM
Great records in Celtic park, beat at least 7 times up there since 2010, some record alright, had been beat just 2 times(Down June 1994, Laois Oct 1994) from 1990 to 2010, then Mayo, Cork, Armagh, Kildare 2010, Laois, Donegal 2011, Down 2013, think Galway may have beat us up here in that time too, cant remember. so playing in Celtic park these days is not a good advantage, i rather play in clones or casement.

Am not sure why everybody saying Derry are favourites, none of you see the creaming we got in the national league final, obviously not, Previously was confident going into this game prior to the Dublin game with Ryan Bell, James keilt and Eoin Bradly possible available come in for the Donegal game, none of those will start and only one will feature likely in this years championship. 

So going into the game more in hope than confident, Derry could well win, then again so could Donegal, Donegal have turned Derry over in 5 of the last 6 championship games, Derry have been favourites in all but one of these, Ulster final 2011.
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 20, 2014, 10:29:20 PM
Quote from: Real Talk on May 20, 2014, 12:08:58 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 16, 2014, 10:50:29 AM

Can you explain how or with which players can he address the problems of the Dublin game ?  In that game Dublin outclassed Derry in every position on the field and even Sean L wouldn't have made a difference .... now Donegal are not in the same class as the Dubs but I can't help thinkin' that game would have a bad mental effect on our players. 
Does anyone know if Sean L will be fit ? and also I think Benny Heron is much more effective as an 'impact sub'.   So who is going to replace him and be available for our kick-outs?  Is there a starting place for Niall Holly ?  looks tall and athletic although tends to over carry .... and we need an out and out quick corner forward who can score - is there one about the panel ?

Think Donegal's experience should see them into the next round
Without going too much into it
Derry will be looking to get twice the performance from the exact same players as the last day.
Three simple points
Improved kickout strategy
Tighter marking
Increased motivation - if players aren't supremely motivated after the last day out, they shouldn't be playing football.

You can guarantee mciver will have many more aspects covered and all going well , improved.
Post by: anfheardubh on May 20, 2014, 10:32:57 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on May 20, 2014, 12:40:18 PM
Hi Mucker, i think it is the third smallest in Ulster.

Cheers mate for the info , was at a game their  in March and was amazed at how compact the pitch was!!!

Didnt know Derry's record was poor recently at home WILDWEASEL  , hopefully Donegal can give youse a rattle
Post by: J OGorman on May 21, 2014, 10:23:41 PM
Quote from: donegal lad on May 17, 2014, 02:28:41 PM
This game is really in the balance. Derry had a great league run but were giving a bit of a hiding in the league final, similarly donegal gained promotion but were very poor in the final against Monaghan

If Gallagher isn't fit I would like to see mcelhinney and toye line out at midfield with a half forward line of MacNiallais, Ryan mchugh and David walsh. Derry would love for murphy to be named at midfield he has to start at FF. it's crucial that the ball going into the forwards is off better quality than what was happening in the final. Also we can't stand off them and let them have shots at goal from 30-40 meters out as they have the players that are capable of scoring from there and will also punish donegal if they give away silly frees

I like that Derry are going in as favourites and few people are writing donegal off, that takes away a bit of pressure from them. It's a bit like 2011 no one knows what to expect from donegal. I think we will just have enough to get the win

Anyone looking for tickets they are back available online. Word is Derry clubs only took around half there allocation and were on general sale up in owenbeg. Donegal will outnumber them 2/3:1 which is poor turnout giving the run they had in the league
Heard from a sec tonight some clubs could only get half of their ticket order.  Would say they'll be a right few heads at it
Post by: donegal lad on May 22, 2014, 12:11:00 AM
Quote from: J OGorman on May 21, 2014, 10:23:41 PM
Quote from: donegal lad on May 17, 2014, 02:28:41 PM

Heard from a sec tonight some clubs could only get half of their ticket order.  Would say they'll be a right few heads at it
Is that Derry or donegal clubs. Would find it strange that clubs in Derry didn't cover their ticket orders when Derry gaa have had tickets on general sale at there office in owenbeg this past 2 weeks( know that for a fact as a friend from Derry told me to go their if we were stuck for tickets and its on Derry gaa website) if clubs were struggling to cover orders then they should be asking questions of their county board. My own club in donegal actually had to get tickets from tickets.ie to cover there order (know this because my 4 tickets were part of that batch)
Post by: donegal lad on May 22, 2014, 12:20:37 AM
Also the word on the street here in donegal is that donegal could lineup like this
1. Durcan
2. McGrath
3. N McGee
4. E McGee
5. lacey
6. Mcloone
7. Mcglynn
8. Mcelhinney
9. Toye
10. R mchugh
11. Mcbearty
12. Mcnelis
13. McFadden
14. Murphy
15. Oconnor

The big player who would miss out if this is true is Anthony Thompson. Personally think its a bit of a gamble playing McGrath after only coming back from long term injury. Know his recovery has been geared towards this game for a while now.  Mcbearty played at centre half forward for the u21s this year and it's a position I've wanted to see jim try him in as think he be good player to link the play and also gives the half forward line more of a scoring threat which it has been lacking. Young "jigger" oconnor be making his championship debut if this is the team and he's another great young player has a bit of pace about him which rest of our options for the full forward line lack a little

From what I'm hearing Big Neil won't be fit to start the game but it's hoped he be able to play some part 
Post by: quiganmaster on May 22, 2014, 12:17:17 PM
Very excited about this game. Any word on when the Donegal team will be announced? Derrys is to be announced on Friday at the club derry dinner. Will Neil Gallagher be fit? I feel he will be vital in any game plan mcguiness would have and may force him into a different kickouts tat agh as derry would surely do,image if Donegal were without their first choice midfield pairing.

1. Thomas Mallon (The Loup)
2. Gareth Mckinless (Ballinderry)
3. Chrissy Mckaige (Slaughtneil)
4. Dermot McBride (Ballinascreen)
5.Kevin Johnston (Dungiven)
6.Gerard O'Kane (Glenullin)
7.Sean Leo McGoldrick (Coleraine)
8. Fergal Doherty (Bellaghy)
9.Patsy Bradley (Slaughtneil)
10. Ciaran McFaul (Glen)
11. Mark Lynch (c) (Banagher)
12. Enda Lynn (Greenlough)
13. Benny Heron (Ballinascreen)
14. Emmett McGuckin (Magherafelt)
15. Caolan O'Boyle (Lavey)

This is how I would want us to line out and expect us to do so. McKaige on Murphy and Mcbride on McFadden. I don't think the country understands how important Sean Leo is for derry and how huge of a miss he was for the Dublin game. I expect Derry to get the better of the middle of the pitch and hopefully limit the supply into the all star full forward line. With bell and Kielt on the bench, mciver has the option to change his tactics to long range shots if the running game is countered by donegals blanket. Really looking forward to this one and hoping for a win in a very tight, intense game against and brilliant donegal set up.
Post by: donegal lad on May 22, 2014, 12:35:03 PM
Quote from: quiganmaster on May 22, 2014, 12:17:17 PM
Very excited about this game. Any word on when the Donegal team will be announced? Derrys is to be announced on Friday at the club derry dinner. Will Neil Gallagher be fit? I feel he will be vital in any game plan mcguiness would have and may force him into a different kickouts tat agh as derry would surely do,image if Donegal were without their first choice midfield pairing.

1. Thomas Mallon (The Loup)
2. Gareth Mckinless (Ballinderry)
3. Chrissy Mckaige (Slaughtneil)
4. Dermot McBride (Ballinascreen)
5.Kevin Johnston (Dungiven)
6.Gerard O'Kane (Glenullin)
7.Sean Leo McGoldrick (Coleraine)
8. Fergal Doherty (Bellaghy)
9.Patsy Bradley (Slaughtneil)
10. Ciaran McFaul (Glen)
11. Mark Lynch (c) (Banagher)
12. Enda Lynn (Greenlough)
13. Benny Heron (Ballinascreen)
14. Emmett McGuckin (Magherafelt)
15. Caolan O'Boyle (Lavey)

This is how I would want us to line out and expect us to do so. McKaige on Murphy and Mcbride on McFadden. I don't think the country understands how important Sean Leo is for derry and how huge of a miss he was for the Dublin game. I expect Derry to get the better of the middle of the pitch and hopefully limit the supply into the all star full forward line. With bell and Kielt on the bench, mciver has the option to change his tactics to long range shots if the running game is countered by donegals blanket. Really looking forward to this one and hoping for a win in a very tight, intense game against and brilliant donegal set up.
Mcguinness usually names his team a day or 2 before the game. The team I mentioned above is what is being talked about around here. It would lead you to think mcguinness is going to use few new tactics on Sunday. Neil Gallagher won't start IMO and will come on with 20 or so minutes to go. Really looking forward to it most people are making Derry favs gave even seen people online saying Derry to win by 5+ points. Do think a lot of people are looking a bit to much into the league, it wouldn't be the first time a team went well in the league and did nothing in championship. Mciver did it hear in donegal in 07.

Hopefully it's a good day and il say donegal to win a tight game by 2-3 points
Post by: J70 on May 22, 2014, 03:16:37 PM
Didn't McKinless do well on Murphy in a recent game?

Might have been in Ulster club.
Post by: donegal lad on May 22, 2014, 03:45:42 PM
Quote from: J70 on May 22, 2014, 03:16:37 PM

Yeah think he marked him in the club final. Will be 1 of a few good match ups on Sunday. Can see Lacey marking mark lynch as well
Post by: oakleaflad on May 22, 2014, 05:08:14 PM
Quote from: donegal lad on May 22, 2014, 03:45:42 PM
Quote from: J70 on May 22, 2014, 03:16:37 PM

Yeah think he marked him in the club final. Will be 1 of a few good match ups on Sunday. Can see Lacey marking mark lynch as well
Don't think McKinless will start myself, expect the full back line to be the same as the last couple of matches. Also don't think Lacey will be on Lynch either but would be happy enough with that from Derrys point of view. How Donegal use Murphy will be a big factor. Should be a great game, really looking forward to it.
Post by: orangeman on May 23, 2014, 12:46:21 PM
Nice touch by Durcan.

Donegal goalkeeper Paul Durcan has hailed Derry manager Brian McIver as "one of the best around" ahead of Sunday's Ulster championship clash between the sides in Celtic Park.

McIver had a stint as Donegal boss and offered a hint as to the potential in the county when he steered them to a first NFL Division 1 title in 2007.

Durcan was one of six players to feature in that success under McIver who went on to play in Donegal's 2012 All-Ireland final success.

And the Four Masters clubman isn't surprised at the progress the Oak Leaf men have made this season, saying the Ballinderry man is "top class."

"Derry club football is very strong and a lot of us have seen first hand how good a manager Brian McIver is," Durcan said. "We know he is top class. He is as good a manager as is out there and he is a gentleman too.

"He had a good back-room team with him (in Donegal). Ryan Porter, who is with Monaghan now, was a big help to him and he is a good trainer.

"Brian is a good man-manager and he shows a lot of respect for his players – and that's always a good thing."
Post by: orangeman on May 23, 2014, 01:04:34 PM
Is there a current Gaelic footballer benchmarked more by what he achieved as a minor than Derry's Mark Lynch? He was only 16, with two more years remaining in the grade, when he planted himself at centre-back and provided the base for an All-Ireland minor success.

"A boy wrapped up in a man's body," his former colleges and third-level coach Adrian McGuckin recalls.

But 2002 has become an attachment to Lynch's name. Can it not be left behind, he must ask himself every time he posts another big score that prompts us to ask: 'Is this it? Are we finally in the midst of Mark Lynch's deliverance?'

We have good reason to believe that right now we are. In the context of the progress made over the last two years, the Derry performance against Dublin in the league final last month can be set aside as one bad day. There haven't been too many others.

IMPORTANCE

For Lynch at his best, the home game against Dublin reaches out, but for importance the way the semi-final was won against Mayo tells even more.

The lung-bursting run after claiming a kick-out in the build-up to Cailean O'Boyle's goal and the two points that kicked Derry to relative safety near the end stand out.

Like 2002, 'lung-bursting' is another word associated readily with the 28-year-old Banagher man.

When he thrusts his 6'2" 15-stone frame forward and goes, he is so difficult to stop.

This season he has hit a new peak. Consistency has come to his game, the absence of which has routinely drawn those 2002 references.

Derry had a spread of 20 scorers throughout the league. Lynch's 2-44 (0-27 from frees) put him out on top.

With their most prolific scorer Eoin Bradley migrating to Irish League soccer and their rising young star Ryan Bell on the sidelines, Lynch stepped up impressively.

He was their top scorer in six of the nine league games, and each time they won.

Is it too much of a coincidence to say that the introduction of stricter penalties (black card) for off-the-ball blocking and checking of runners has created the right environment for Lynch to thrive? Or has he just ignored the 'potential' tag and got on with doing what he can?

"You hear about not playing to your potential and so on. You try to ignore it but obviously you do hear it and you think about it. But it's always a consolation to know that you are working hard anyway," he says.

"If you are working hard every time you put on the jersey there is a satisfaction there. You can at least go home and look in the mirror and say 'well, I tried, I gave my all'. That has been the way."

Except he's not always sure that he has done that either.

"I have played enough bad games for sure, that was frustrating. I never played to my potential, maybe never gave enough to the jersey. I could certainly say that as well. That was frustrating," he concedes.

Brian McIver's arrival has gradually restored belief in Lynch. Like McGuckin before him, McIver has sought to nurture rather than challenge his ability. He made him captain and Lynch instantly felt a duty to repay that faith.

"It maybe added that few per cent to my training and my approach to the game and that has helped. I do feel a greater sense of responsibility," he says.

"Brian has instilled a belief into us that we are capable of playing with any team as long as we work hard. We definitely have that work ethic among us now.

"Sometimes I can drift in and out of games but when you are centre-forward it is just not allowed. You are in the thick of things."

McGuckin coached Lynch to McRory and Hogan Cup successes with St Pat's Maghera in 2003 and a Sigerson Cup in 2008 with UUJ, and has seen the benefits of the carrot, rather than the stick, approach with Lynch.

"He could go on one of those 40- or 50-metre runs and burn everybody off but maybe go out of it for 10 minutes after that," said McGuckin.

"I found in Jordanstown that when he would be drifting out of a game, if I put him in at full-forward or left-corner forward he would do well there and maybe come out for 10 minutes, do his bit and go back in again to rest for a while again. But over the hour you were still getting a fair amount out of him.

BRILLIANT

"This year he has been really brilliant at centre-forward. He has stayed in games much longer.

"I was talking to Mark after the Dublin game in Celtic Park and he is in tremendous physical condition at the moment, the best I've seen him. He's always been prone to carrying a wee bit of extra weight. He can put on the weight very easily around the backside."

Lynch's streak of form reminds McGuckin of something similar his father Mickey did between 1975 and '76.

"As far as I recall he scored six points each time in two Ulster finals and a league final against Dublin in '76. He was some footballer too."

McGuckin is concerned that Lynch is his own sternest critic who won't let the league final go too easily.

"If he had a poor game he'd be disappointed with that. There might be a worry about him after the league final that he didn't perform like he had been performing," he says.

But riding the bumps on the road is something Lynch is conditioning himself to better now and the Dublin game, he insists, has been dealt with well ahead of this weekend's first Ulster quarter-final against Donegal.

"We went out that day against the best team in Ireland. We just didn't perform and we let the occasion get to us. It's a great learning curve. I think personally we will learn a lot more from that than any game we won," he says.
Post by: J OGorman on May 23, 2014, 06:39:18 PM
Match now officially sold out
Post by: seafoid on May 23, 2014, 07:21:19 PM
It's a massive match. Ulster looks very interesting this year with a few big hitters going to get dumped early.
Post by: muppet on May 23, 2014, 07:27:56 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 23, 2014, 07:21:19 PM
It's a massive match. Ulster looks very interesting this year with a few big hitters going to get dumped early.

Yes this game and Cork/Deise look good fixtures.

I fancy Waterford to be closer than people think. Cork always let them play.

I think Derry in the other one.
Post by: Zulu on May 23, 2014, 11:27:27 PM
Derry (SFC v Donegal) - Thomas Mallon; Dermot McBride, Gareth McKinless, Chrissy McKaigue; Kevin Johnston, Mark Lynch, Gerard O'Kane; Fergal Doherty, Patsy Bradley; Ciaran McFaul, Sean Leo McGoldrick, Enda Lynn; Benny Heron, Emmett McGuckin, Cailean O'Boyle.

Subs: Eoin McNicholl, Conor McAtamney, Aidan McAlynn, Charlie Kielt, Mark Craig, Oisin Duffy, Niall Holly, Carlus McWilliams, Emmet Bradley, Ryan Bell, Ciaran McGoldrick, Declan Mullan, Aaron Devlin, Terence O'Brien, Declan Brown.

So that's 3 out of 3 for Ulster coaches who have named a team that will clearly not start as named.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 23, 2014, 11:33:01 PM
Who was chb in the league for derry?

Would be hard to believe their best defender in the league, allbeit an attacking one, and thir best attacker will near enough be swapped about.
Post by: J OGorman on May 23, 2014, 11:36:35 PM
Quote from: Zulu on May 23, 2014, 11:27:27 PM
Derry (SFC v Donegal) - Thomas Mallon; Dermot McBride, Gareth McKinless, Chrissy McKaigue; Kevin Johnston, Mark Lynch, Gerard O'Kane; Fergal Doherty, Patsy Bradley; Ciaran McFaul, Sean Leo McGoldrick, Enda Lynn; Benny Heron, Emmett McGuckin, Cailean O'Boyle.

Subs: Eoin McNicholl, Conor McAtamney, Aidan McAlynn, Charlie Kielt, Mark Craig, Oisin Duffy, Niall Holly, Carlus McWilliams, Emmet Bradley, Ryan Bell, Ciaran McGoldrick, Declan Mullan, Aaron Devlin, Terence O'Brien, Declan Brown.

So that's 3 out of 3 for Ulster coaches who have named a team that will clearly not start as named.

All part of the intrigue and mystery of the Ulster championship.  Total football I believe it's called :-)
Post by: Zulu on May 23, 2014, 11:39:14 PM
Donegal (SFC v Derry) - Paul Durcan; Eamon McGee, Neil McGee, Karl Lacey; Frank McGlynn, Leo McLoone, Anthony Thompson; Neil Gallagher, Martin McElhinney; Christy Toye, Ryan McHugh, Odhran MacNiallais; Patrick McBrearty, Michael Murphy, Colm McFadden.
Post by: Throw ball on May 24, 2014, 01:03:38 AM
Two strong teams. Looking forward to this one.
Post by: donegal lad on May 24, 2014, 10:31:29 AM
Quote from: Zulu on May 23, 2014, 11:39:14 PM
Donegal (SFC v Derry) - Paul Durcan; Eamon McGee, Neil McGee, Karl Lacey; Frank McGlynn, Leo McLoone, Anthony Thompson; Neil Gallagher, Martin McElhinney; Christy Toye, Ryan McHugh, Odhran MacNiallais; Patrick McBrearty, Michael Murphy, Colm McFadden.
This may be the team named but it might not be the one that starts. Was told yesterday by member of back room team that Gallagher would have a fitness test Sunday morning. It be a great boost to the team if he was fit to start
Post by: orangeman on May 24, 2014, 10:40:16 AM
Loads of respect for Brian Mc Iver in Donegal which is nice to see :

At the time, it was labelled the night of the long knives. Brian McIver's status as Donegal senior team manager wasn't even on the agenda at the September 2008 sitting of county committee; he was just in Ballybofey to give his annual report.

But once uncertainty over his position raised its head, the former Ballinderry Shamrocks boss saw his head slip beneath the water line.

In the Ulster championship quarter-final, McIver's side lost narrowly, 1-14 to 1-12, to Division 1 champions Derry before eventually vacating the All-Ireland qualifiers when Monaghan won 0-16 to 0-15 at Ballybofey.

McIver was a year into a term that was to last for three, his second stint since initially taking over from Brian McEniff for 2006. Having dispensed with Kevin Cassidy for disciplinary reasons and without the retired Brendan Devenney and Colm McFadden, who was in Liverpool Hope University completing his teaching qualifications, Donegal enjoyed a decent championship.

Eamon McGee, banished for breaking a drinking curfew, made his peace with the manager and was recalled.

"I've a lot of respect for Brian on a personal level and as a football man," McGee says. "He really stuck by me when a lot of other managers would have said 'get out of my sight'."

McIver gave first championship starts that year to Frank McGlynn, Neil McGee, Anthony Thompson and Rory Kavanagh, who scored a fine goal against Down on his debut in Ulster after a frustrating period of clicking his heels since 2002.

"He's a very good manager, a great man-manager and I'll always be indebted to him for giving me that first start," Kavanagh says.

Donegal reached the Ulster final, where they suffered their obligatory defeat by Armagh. The 1-9 to 0-9 reversal was a fifth successive season they lost to the Joe Kernan's team.

In terms of what had gone before, it was only a flesh wound and Donegal regrouped to run Cork close in the All-Ireland quarter-final, losing 1-11 to 1-10, as Ger Spillane scored a late winner.

In 2007, McIver guided Donegal to a first ever Division 1 title and opened Ulster with a fortunate 1-9 to 1-8 win over Armagh, when the returning Devenney's speculative last-minute pop at a point flew into Paul Hearty's net when another prodigal son, Cassidy, jumped for the ball.

Donegal were stuffed by Tyrone in the semi-final, 2-15 to 0-11, and reverted to what was then their stereotype. Whilst the celebrations after big wins have now been etched into their folklore, the gatherings following defeats were said to last days and not hours. McIver required fresh impetus ahead of the qualifiers.

"I was playing minor that summer, 2007, watching the senior matches from the terraces," says Michael Murphy. "I got in for the qualifiers. Brian put his neck out on the line with a young fella who was 17 and a lot of people would've been taking strange looks."

Murphy scored a goal on his championship debut against Leitrim and helped Donegal overcome Westmeath. Monaghan, 2-12 to 1-7 winners in Omagh, was a step too far and the championship was over in time for the Galway Races.

McIver resigned as 34-year-old Jim McGuinness, who had helped Naomh Conaill of Glenties to a first ever Donegal SFC in 2005, prepared his CV.

However, after mulling over it, McIver, made himself available again and was granted the aforementioned three-year agreement in the autumn of 2007.

A year later he had just completed his annual report when, out of the blue, dissent broke from delegates of two clubs – Gaoth Dobhair and St Eunan's of Letterkenny. Strips were torn off McIver from the perception of 2008 being a backward step.

Gaoth Dobhair later clarified their delegate was never mandated, whilst St Eunan's had a club meeting the previous week where McIver's position – again not on the agenda — was discussed.

"In three years, we seem to have gone back," St Eunan's delegate Paddy Mullen said.

"We have regressed rather than progressed. We believe, and this is not a swipe at Brian McIver, the only way we will get intensity into our game is if a Donegal man is in charge."

Vice-chairman of the Donegal County Board, PJ McGowan, voiced his disgust over the way McIver was spoken to. Before anyone could catch their breath, there was a motion of no-confidence. McIver, with tears in his eyes, walked off into the night never to return.

Perhaps he was better off. Donegal proceeded to create a circus the whole country was given free tickets for; one that saw the appointment of 1992 All-Ireland winner John Joe Doherty in a botched process when the joint ticket of Charlie Mulgrew and Declan Bonner were also offered the job. McGuinness, merely a footnote in the drama, was overlooked for a second time.

"We were very attached to him as players and he was a very personable man," Murphy says of McIver. "He brought a certain level of professionalism to Donegal, something we mightn't have got before. What annoyed the players was the way he was ousted. It wasn't a very respectable way to do it."

Kavanagh, as a clubman of St Eunan's, was surprised to hear the news. He hadn't forgotten how McIver had taken a chance on him, aiding the transformation from the peripheral figure to an intricate cog who now has amassed 45 championship appearances, just five short of the Donegal record shared by Michael Hegarty and McFadden.

"The way Brian left wasn't ideal," Kavanagh says.

"I wasn't happy with the way the whole thing was managed. It could've been done with a lot more dignity."

McIver, to this day, has maintained his counsel over the treatment he received that September night.

His next public appearance in the county was with James McCartan's Down, as a mentor, in their 1-16 to 2-10 extra-time win in what proved to be Doherty's last game in charge in Ballybofey in 2010. Down's season gathered pace only to lose by a point, 0-16 to 0-15, to Cork in the All-Ireland final.

McIver was named Derry manager in September 2012; the same month McGuinness took Sam Maguire to Donegal for only the second time.

From McGuinness's starting XV that day in the 2-11 to 0-13 final win over Mayo, McIver had given Kavanagh, Murphy, McGlynn, Ryan Bradley, Neil McGee and Thompson their first starts in championship football whilst nurturing Eamon McGee, McFadden, Neil Gallagher, Paul Durcan and Karl Lacey.

Tomorrow at Celtic Park, McIver will meet his former students in the white-hot atmosphere of the Ulster championship, maybe even with a score to settle.

"I know he said he'd never manage another county after us but that would've been a shame for Gaelic football," Eamon McGee says. "I was really happy to hear he'd got back involved with Down and it was just the same when he took over Derry.

"Not many people that have the kind of love and passion for the game Brian does. It's infectious. The GAA needs those kind of people."

© Irish Examiner Ltd. All rights reserved

Post by: hairyUlsterman on May 24, 2014, 05:09:30 PM
I think Derry will win this by 5-7 points
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 24, 2014, 06:33:40 PM
Donegal by a point or two.
Post by: anfheardubh on May 25, 2014, 12:15:55 PM
This is going to be a really tight game, if Big Neil  does start then Donegal by 2-3 points

Without Neil we will take a pounding at midfield and lose by 2-3
Post by: Zulu on May 25, 2014, 12:54:36 PM
Rumours Donegal are going to go ultra negative. Massive game for both counties, win and the year opens up, lose and you suspect the wheels might come off.
Post by: Zulu on May 25, 2014, 01:53:44 PM
Late changes for Donegal O'Connor and McGrath in for both midfielders.
Post by: maigheo on May 25, 2014, 02:00:12 PM
Strange that Mcguinness  would say in the interview with Rte that Gallagher was starting and then we find out a few min later that he is not starting.Not sure what he is trying to gain
Post by: Zulu on May 25, 2014, 02:01:07 PM
Bradley in for Herron on the Derry team.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 25, 2014, 02:11:33 PM
First Black card bottle of the day!  :-\
Post by: Syferus on May 25, 2014, 02:14:14 PM
Nice point by Jigger Jr.
Post by: AQMP on May 25, 2014, 02:16:05 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 25, 2014, 02:11:33 PM

Quite, looked like a black to me!
Post by: Zulu on May 25, 2014, 02:20:40 PM
Poor game but Donegal look extremely poor.
Post by: Aaron Boone on May 25, 2014, 02:23:51 PM
This one is gonna be tight. Donegal's incisive runs not being picked up, they will get a goal from them soon enough.
Post by: moysider on May 25, 2014, 02:25:15 PM

Can t believe that wasn t a black card.
Post by: Hound on May 25, 2014, 02:34:27 PM
Quote from: moysider on May 25, 2014, 02:25:15 PM

Can t believe that wasn t a black card.
Borderline for me. The Derry defender was pulling out of the tackle and the Donegal lad went down a bit easy. Free for sure, but I would have done the same as the ref - not quite enough for a black, a ticking was sufficient.
Post by: Go home ref on May 25, 2014, 02:35:48 PM
Donegals forwards are clueless
Post by: maigheo on May 25, 2014, 02:36:01 PM
looks like the Donegal county championship will get an early start this year
Post by: Hound on May 25, 2014, 02:37:12 PM
Shocking miss for McBreatry a few minutes ago. His right foot must be absolutely useless when he decided to use his left from that position
Post by: From the Bunker on May 25, 2014, 02:37:58 PM
Quote from: maigheo on May 25, 2014, 02:36:01 PM
looks like the Donegal county championship will get an early start this year

Early days yet! Both teams are sussing each other out! Donegal do look tired.
Post by: Zulu on May 25, 2014, 02:38:59 PM
I've been on the ball more than Murphy, a system of play that makes a talent like Murphy redundant is not a good one. Donegal are really an awful team to watch under McGuinness.
Post by: AQMP on May 25, 2014, 02:41:29 PM
Donegal should try playing a bit of football
Post by: hairyUlsterman on May 25, 2014, 02:46:53 PM
Not the  best encounter so far

in other matters MacNiallais is one seriously unusual surname
Post by: Hound on May 25, 2014, 02:49:58 PM
Derry a bit better so far, but I think a Donegal goal will come and change the outcome
Post by: anfheardubh on May 25, 2014, 02:50:27 PM
Worst half of football i have seen in a while, Donegal need to sharpen up their shooting boots
Post by: Zulu on May 25, 2014, 02:50:43 PM
Why are commentators saying both teams are playing a defensive system? Donegal, the way they set up, force their opponents to play a sweeper because Donegal bring forwards back so the only option you have is to keep your defenders back. It seems Jimmy is a one trick pony that has been found out.
Post by: Jinxy on May 25, 2014, 02:59:53 PM
God, Donegal give me ire.
This is like watching greco-roman wrestling.
Post by: AQMP on May 25, 2014, 03:05:40 PM
They must have read my post!!
Post by: Jinxy on May 25, 2014, 03:06:44 PM
Game on now Ger.
Post by: AQMP on May 25, 2014, 03:08:23 PM
Jaysus what a score by Murphy!
Post by: Zulu on May 25, 2014, 03:10:44 PM
Derry getting cleaned at midfield now.
Post by: Jinxy on May 25, 2014, 03:13:02 PM
Wow.
Donegal are actually kicking the ball to the best full forward in the country.
This is revolutionary.
Post by: Zulu on May 25, 2014, 03:13:39 PM
Murphy does a Cavanagh.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 25, 2014, 03:16:59 PM
Did Derry go on the Buckfast at half time?
Post by: moysider on May 25, 2014, 03:22:19 PM

What happened Fergal Doherty?
Post by: brianboru00 on May 25, 2014, 03:22:34 PM
McQuillan is an absolutely atrocious referee - Gallagher took 4 steps and he called for over carrying??? Hes not blowing for clear fouls - no set of rules are any good for any sport unless correctly administered...
Post by: moysider on May 25, 2014, 03:38:24 PM

Ref gets black card decision correst sensation!
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 25, 2014, 03:40:17 PM
The good start to the second half won that game for Donegal they should reach the final now however the winner of the Monaghan,Tyrone semi final should win Ulster.
Post by: hairyUlsterman on May 25, 2014, 03:42:42 PM
it's worth pointing out that Derry's last 3 All-Ireland Quarter Final appearances were from coming out of the qualifiers.

Anyone but Donegal
Post by: moysider on May 25, 2014, 03:43:06 PM
Well done Donegal. They dug really deep for that.
Post by: Hound on May 25, 2014, 03:45:18 PM
Bizarre tactics by Derry at the end to keep playing it short rather than lobbing it in.
Goal wins game for Donegal as I predicted at half time  :P
Post by: J OGorman on May 25, 2014, 03:46:08 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 25, 2014, 02:59:53 PM

Ref let them away with it all day. Neil Mcgee had 3 'quiet' words from the ref. Consistent cynical fouling is alive and kicking (literally)
Post by: Hardy on May 25, 2014, 03:48:21 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on May 25, 2014, 03:46:08 PM

Ref let them away with it all day. Neil Mcgee had 3 'quiet' words from the ref. Consistent cynical fouling is alive and kicking (literally)

But ... the black card ... the end of cynical fouling as we know it, Jim. No?
Post by: SouthDublinBro on May 25, 2014, 03:50:01 PM
Ulster Football.  :-X
Post by: Carmen Stateside on May 25, 2014, 04:06:34 PM
Quote from: moysider on May 25, 2014, 03:38:24 PM

Ref gets black card decision correst sensation!

Not really, should have shown red after the black.  Yellow +black= red
Post by: anfheardubh on May 25, 2014, 05:27:42 PM

J

bullshit  biased comment,  go to the ballet if you want to watch a bunch of sissys
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 25, 2014, 06:22:16 PM
Not long in, brutal game of football as expected, Derry should have been farther ahead at half time, Doherty getting hurt early was a big loss for us. Donegal came out with a blitz at the start of the 2nd half, again Derry didnt slow it down to take the momentum out of Donegal. I was seating 2 from the front row at the 45 for the sideline Murphy took. Said the the lads with me , he point this with the outside of this boot, wasn't even going to go for it to McGuiness told him to go for it, Mighty score from a mighty player. I have already said on here on another thread he the best player in Ireland earlier in the year. Thought Donegal could pip us going in to the game the day. But when u 2 points up at half time, probably on top in a number of areas, i thought Derry would push on to win, they seemed to drop the heads when Donegal went 5 up, I never understand that, Tyrone never drop the heads in similar circumstances.
Post by: larryin89 on May 25, 2014, 06:22:24 PM
Who got motm or is that not announced till tonight?
Post by: J OGorman on May 25, 2014, 06:39:16 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on May 25, 2014, 06:22:24 PM

Was at the Brandywell end, but it looked like Murphy being interviewed in front of the perspex.  He destroyed us at the start of the 2nd half . Stood up as McBride was doing a good job shackling McFadden.
We badly need big Ferbie back for the scenic route
Post by: larryin89 on May 25, 2014, 06:41:00 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on May 25, 2014, 06:39:16 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on May 25, 2014, 06:22:24 PM

Was at the Brandywell end, but it looked like Murphy being interviewed in front of the perspex.  He destroyed us at the start of the 2nd half . Stood up as McBride was doing a good job shackling McFadden.
We badly need big Ferbie back for the scenic route

That would really make my day, 15/2 I had him at.fingers crossed.
Post by: Whitnail on May 25, 2014, 06:43:48 PM
We ride that thin line between being decent and being utter shite and that line is so thin now it's like a tightrope.
The 1O min spell at the start of the second half is the kind of levels Dublin play for near 70 mins and that's kind of the difference.

Derry dithered after half time and mirrored our awfull display in the first.
Shocked , shocked to see McLoone score a goal. I think he scored a total  of  one point in last year's championship from half forward line  ,and that was against Laois.

Mcglynn for me was motm . Everything good happenee through him.
Post by: Zulu on May 25, 2014, 07:09:02 PM
If they give Murphy the MOM they haven't a clue. A great player but not even in the top 5 performers today.
Post by: larryin89 on May 25, 2014, 07:14:23 PM
Quote from: Zulu on May 25, 2014, 07:09:02 PM
If they give Murphy the MOM they haven't a clue. A great player but not even in the top 5 performers today.

Ahh man you had to ruin it for me.

I'd tend to agree though that he wouldn't of deserved it , however probably was motm in the spell that Donegal turned it.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 25, 2014, 07:27:31 PM
Very disappointed by Derry yet again.
After such a good display in the league they fail to deal with the Donegal system yet again. It required fast ball but they kept going lateral all day.
Donegal really kill any chance of open football you wanna  play with their wet blanket they throw over you. You have to play the same possession shite style as if you try to kick it long your forwards have one or maybe two lads in front of them to cut off the supply.
I'd nearly prefer to lose to Monaghan than lose an Ulster final playing that shite.  ;)
Sorry I meant to include you too Fermanagh.  ;D
Post by: anfheardubh on May 25, 2014, 07:47:55 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 25, 2014, 07:27:31 PM
After such a good display in the league they fail to deal with the Donegal system yet again. It required fast ball but they kept going lateral all day.
Donegal really kill any chance of open football you wanna  play with their wet blanket they throw over you. You have to play the same possession shite style as if you try to kick it long your forwards have one or maybe two lads in front of them to cut off the supply.
I'd nearly prefer to lose to Monaghan than lose an Ulster final playing that shite.  ;)

The same blanket that Tyrone played for years you hypocrite, BITTER  eh
Post by: Zulu on May 25, 2014, 07:49:58 PM
Nobody plays as negative as Donegal.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 25, 2014, 07:51:18 PM
I think what fuzzman means is that Donegal play it to the extreme, that could have been a classic game the day if both teams went flat out playing the type of football we seen in the league. Derry totalled reverted to a defensive system they havent used since 2010 but dont have the players to carry out this type of game.
Post by: J OGorman on May 25, 2014, 07:53:36 PM
Donegal indeed play it to the extreme and it works for them, but there wouldnt be a match worth watching if everyone was a it.
Post by: seafoid on May 25, 2014, 08:04:43 PM
Quote from: anfheardubh on May 25, 2014, 07:47:55 PM

that system actually started in the Maze originally
Post by: anfheardubh on May 25, 2014, 08:06:51 PM
Donegal play on the same pitch, using the same rules and parameters set by the GAA,  people on here are trolls spouting the typical anti Donegal agenda

Dublin 4 media seem to love alienating our proud county  Donegal

People are upset that Donegal are to be taken seriously and not the classroom jokers

No RESPECT for Donegal >:( >:( >:( >:(
Post by: Zulu on May 25, 2014, 08:07:26 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 25, 2014, 07:51:18 PM
I think what fuzzman means is that Donegal play it to the extreme, that could have been a classic game the day if both teams went flat out playing the type of football we seen in the league. Derry totalled reverted to a defensive system they havent used since 2010 but dont have the players to carry out this type of game.

Derry didn't play a blanket defence, they respond to the way they knew Donegal would play. The sooner Donegal are knocked out the better for neutral viewers.
Post by: anfheardubh on May 25, 2014, 08:08:32 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 25, 2014, 08:04:43 PM
Quote from: anfheardubh on May 25, 2014, 07:47:55 PM

that system actually started in the Maze originally

God you have no respect for the dead,   disgraceful comment !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Zulu on May 25, 2014, 08:10:48 PM
Quote from: anfheardubh on May 25, 2014, 08:06:51 PM
Donegal play on the same pitch, using the same rules and parameters set by the GAA,  people on here are trolls spouting the typical anti Donegal agenda

People are upset that Donegal are to be taken seriously and not the classroom jokers

Will you go away out of it. Donegal would be a second favourite for many people but under Jimmy you play a brand of football that only a mother could love.
Post by: lenny on May 25, 2014, 08:13:25 PM
Quote from: Zulu on May 25, 2014, 08:07:26 PM

Derry didn't play a blanket defence, they respond to the way they knew Donegal would play. The sooner Donegal are knocked out the better for neutral viewers.

Totally agree and it's not sour grapes. If everybody started playing like Donegal I, for one, would stop going to matches and I don't think I'd even bother watching on TV. Absolutely horrible to watch. Our league games were great to watch because all division 1 teams played attacking football.
Post by: larryin89 on May 25, 2014, 08:14:43 PM

They won't be going to croker after august weekend again.
Post by: anfheardubh on May 25, 2014, 08:20:02 PM
Quote from: lenny on May 25, 2014, 08:13:25 PM

Totally agree and it's not sour grapes. If everybody started playing like Donegal I, for one, would stop going to matches and I don't think I'd even bother watching on TV. Absolutely horrible to watch. Our league games were great to watch because all division 1 teams played attacking football.

Its all well and good playing attacking football and losing losing losing

Derry deserve to be winners,  Brian Mc Gilligan  wasnt a loser he was a class act never got the credit he deserved, he has an AI MEDAL in 1993  was he a league player ???,    no he was championship through and through and a winner!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: anfheardubh on May 25, 2014, 08:21:09 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on May 25, 2014, 08:14:43 PM

They won't be going to croker after august weekend again.

SO YOU HAVE A CRYSTAL BALL,   whats the lotto numbers for Wednesday night?????
Post by: Main Street on May 25, 2014, 08:28:14 PM
It was a hard watch game.
It was more a case of Derry with a weak subs bench being  sluggish and  one dimensional,  rather than Donegal doing anything noteworthy except for a couple of brilliant moves. The Ulster champions should come from the other side of the draw.
And I have to say, I am now joining the anti-Donegal chorus, it's criminal to have that available talent, play in that way.

Post by: SkillfulBill on May 25, 2014, 08:30:12 PM
Even if you dont like Donegal's style of play you really have to admire the way they can repeatedly win games with an almost identical pattern. Time and again they hang in for first half then do an Aussie style 3rd quarter hard press get their noses infront and then strangle the game out. It ain't pretty but its damned effective, its up to the opposition players and managers to find away through it. I think it is unfair to lambast Donegal for playing in a manner that works for them. For years I listened to all the bull about Tyrone and it never bothered me much when where winning AI's.
Post by: anfheardubh on May 25, 2014, 08:33:46 PM
Quote from: SkillfulBill on May 25, 2014, 08:30:12 PM
Even if you dont like Donegal's style of play you really have to admire the way they can repeatedly win games with an almost identical pattern. Time and again they hang in for first half then do an Aussie style 3rd quarter hard press get their noses infront and then strangle the game out. It ain't pretty but its damned effective, its up to the opposition players and managers to find away through it. I think it is unfair to lambast Donegal for playing in a manner that works for them. For years I listened to all the bull about Tyrone and it never bothered me much when where winning AI's.

Best analysis on here all day
Post by: Zulu on May 25, 2014, 08:37:31 PM
Tyrone played football and were brilliant in many ways. There were elements that I didn't think were great, like Dooher's diving, but they we're an outstanding team. Donegal however are an abomination and I say that as a man that would normally love to see Donegal do well but under McGuiness they make football unwatchable.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 25, 2014, 08:47:09 PM
That style of play wouldn`t beat Dublin, Dublin are very direct with a forceful direct half back line, a wrecking ball in midfield that goes direct all the time, plus pace and power on the wings with Connolly and Flynn, and the scoring power up front, Donegal played powerful well for 15mins after half time, Dublin play that pace for the whole game. Donegal today looked more like the team from 2011 than 2012, That defensive system will get you so far, but only that,
Post by: Whitnail on May 25, 2014, 09:08:10 PM
Quote from: anfheardubh on May 25, 2014, 08:20:02 PM

Derry deserve to be winners,  Brian Mc Gilligan  wasnt a loser he was a class act never got the credit he deserved, he has an AI MEDAL in 1993  was he a league player ???,    no he was championship through and through and a winner!!!!!!!!!!

Yea bit in fairness the best form of defence will always be to attack like that brief 2nd half spell proved.
Teams like Monaghan have already sussed the defenseive  system anyway.
Unlike Derry today most teams would have been out of sight by half-time and the blanket would have run it's course.
We'll need more scores against better teams and that'll mean getting more guys forward (like the first 10 mins of 2nd half).
I can take  a bit of criticism cause alot of the time it's warranted. No point in being to sensitive about this stuff.
I can perfectly understand why people want us to lose even if at times it's hypocritical.
I never feel the need to blindly defend our tactics. All this 'proud' Donegal mostly guff does my head in.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 25, 2014, 09:17:41 PM
Quote from: anfearblind
If you think Tyrone played that type of suffocating negative football to win games 0.05 to 0.04 then point it out to us all
In 2003 we hunted in packs v Kerry and never give them a chance to settle but we didn't systematically set out with 13 men behind the ball. You didn't see Peter Canavan our best forward back in our own defence too often stopping the other team getting inside your own 40 in case they get a free shot for a point.
Yer game v Dublin has to go down as an old time low in GAA
Yes fair play McGuinness has beaten M.Harte several years in a row now but don't even try to say we played to that level of negativity.
For some of the great players you have like Murphy, McBrearty, McFadden McHugh and Lacey they must be fed up playing that crap. That's why McHugh has left IMHO.
Nobody is encouraged to be creative or spontaneous.
It's like bloody robots and if ye win another AI with it don't expect too much neutral support.
It's no wonder people were glad too see the Dubs win last year. Even Meath and Kerry
Post by: anfheardubh on May 25, 2014, 10:09:16 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 25, 2014, 09:17:41 PM
Quote from: anfearblind
If you think Tyrone played that type of suffocating negative football to win games 0.05 to 0.04 then point it out to us all
In 2003 we hunted in packs v Kerry and never give them a chance to settle but we didn't systematically set out with 13 men behind the ball. You didn't see Peter Canavan our best forward back in our own defence too often stopping the other team getting inside your own 40 in case they get a free shot for a point.
Yer game v Dublin has to go down as an old time low in GAA
Yes fair play McGuinness has beaten M.Harte several years in a row now but don't even try to say we played to that level of negativity.
For some of the great players you have like Murphy, McBrearty, McFadden McHugh and Lacey they must be fed up playing that crap. That's why McHugh has left IMHO.
Nobody is encouraged to be creative or spontaneous.
It's like bloody robots and if ye win another AI with it don't expect too much neutral support.
It's no wonder people were glad too see the Dubs win last year. Even Meath and Kerry

whitewash mate

Even Tyrone in their pomp couldnt beat Donegal when it mattered :P :P

And we played football then as well
Post by: Farmer dam on May 25, 2014, 11:08:13 PM
At the end of the day it's all about who wins. Donegal won Derry didn't. A comprehensive semi final victory for donegal now will get confidence up for the final.
Post by: macdanger2 on May 25, 2014, 11:12:03 PM
Is mcbrearty fulfilling his supposed potential?? He burst on the scene a few years back but he doesn't seem to have progressed
Post by: donegal lad on May 25, 2014, 11:38:53 PM
Quote from: SkillfulBill on May 25, 2014, 08:30:12 PM
Sssh man don't be talking like that do you not know that donegal are evil and deserve no praise at all  ;)

Win this semi final and we be in our 4th ulster final in a row. Minors are favourites to win ulster, our u21s are getting to ulster finals regularly. Things might be looking up for donegal and as someone who's been there in the good and the bad times I know which I prefer. We won that game today playing poorly enough. Never a bad signed when your main scorer doesn't score and you still win
Post by: imtommygunn on May 25, 2014, 11:46:44 PM
Is mcbrearty still only 20?

Suffered from gareth bale syndrome for the goal chance...

Donegal get very bad press. When their counter attack play is going well it's good to watch. 1st round today so they will fine tune it. People seem to remember this team for 2011. 2012 was vastly different.
Post by: rodney trotter on May 25, 2014, 11:50:59 PM
Yes they were clearly more attacking in 2012, Donegal scored 2-18 in the Ulster final that year against Down, I think thats one of the highest scores ever in a Ulster final.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on May 26, 2014, 12:35:06 AM
Don't understand all the anti-Donegal stuff to be honest.  Defence is part of the game, and you play the system that gives you the best chance of winning.  First half was tough to watch, but the second half was exciting.  In that respect it was not unlike Tyrone/Down's first game.
Post by: Throw ball on May 26, 2014, 12:53:15 AM
Was a terrible game. Donegal strangled the life out of the game and Derry did not have enough craft to find a way to survive. I hate the way McQuillan has been refereeing of late. How some of Donegal's tackling were not seen as fouls I will never know. In Lacey, McGlynn, Murphy etc. Donegal have some really top players. Their matches are hard to watch though.
Post by: J70 on May 26, 2014, 02:57:55 AM
Quote from: Whitnail on May 25, 2014, 09:08:10 PM
Quote from: anfheardubh on May 25, 2014, 08:20:02 PM

Yea bit in fairness the best form of defence will always be to attack like that brief 2nd half spell proved.
Teams like Monaghan have already sussed the defenseive  system anyway.
Unlike Derry today most teams would have been out of sight by half-time and the blanket would have run it's course.
We'll need more scores against better teams and that'll mean getting more guys forward (like the first 10 mins of 2nd half).
I can take  a bit of criticism cause alot of the time it's warranted. No point in being to sensitive about this stuff.
I can perfectly understand why people want us to lose even if at times it's hypocritical.
I never feel the need to blindly defend our tactics. All this 'proud' Donegal mostly guff does my head in.

I've never been too bothered by the defensive tactics, at least when combined with the breaking in numbers as so exhiliaratingly demonstrated in 2012. Our big problem today was the midfield. We were hammered there for 3/4 of the game and thus on the backfoot far more than vice versa. For the 15 minute period we did dominate there after half-time, we were able to spring people forward in support and it looked really good. But, for whatever reason, Derry wrestled back control in midfield after Neil Gallagher came on and we just fell back again, although we defended very well. However, as you say, this will not be good enough against Monaghan, and perhaps not even Tyrone, whatever about the likes of Mayo and Dublin. Overall though, I thought it was a satisfactory enough win, given the midfield situation and the missed chances (we missed, and made, far more decent chances than Derry) and the fact that we were being written off. A bit like last year's match against Tyrone actually, in that a quickfire blitz in the third quarter won a game in which we were dogged, but otherwise nowhere near the standards of 2012. Hopefully, unlike then, we can improve.
Post by: Thisonegoesto11 on May 26, 2014, 09:08:12 AM
Not a great game but Donegal were efficient and business like in getting the job done.
Will be tough opponents but not sure if they have enough going forward like they did in 2012.
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on May 26, 2014, 09:39:49 AM

The biggest joke was when McGee was squeezing Emmett McGuckins throat in the 1st half and the Umpire was actually scared to looked at it........then there was the elbow to the chest.........I know its championship football bla bla bla but that's just b*llshit....
Post by: Farmer dam on May 26, 2014, 09:57:15 AM
Funny how when donegal bring every man back to defend a lead in the dying minutes it's deemed rubbish and disgraceful yet if van Persie or Suarez clear the ball of the line in the last minute it's a stroke of genius.

Post by: nrico2006 on May 26, 2014, 10:40:47 AM
Donegal weren't great yesterday, but I always expected them to beat Derry as we've seen Derry peak before for the league and back then they had better personnel.  Derry were never going to win yesterday without any forwards.  Donegal are not the team they were but anybody crying about their tactics and approach needs to wise up.  All that matters is whether you win or not, and if a team comes up with a strong strategy that results in victory more than defeat then it should be lauded not lambasted.  GAA people seem to be a very paranoid bunch, every week the majority of journalists or analysts are spouting on about 'this is what we want to see' or 'this is what you want to show to kids coming through'.  Everything seems to be about the showcasing and marketing of the game.  You don't se other sports analysts or journalists so worried about the possible expansion/image of the game.  I'd imagine Jim McGuiness shares a similar view, as most managers probably do.  If a team put 15 players within their 45 then its not their fault if the opposition cannot beat them.  Its up to the oppositions supposedly highly skilled managent team to come up with the means to better the oppotions approach.   
Post by: Collie Brolly on May 26, 2014, 12:14:31 PM
Don't know what McIver is complaining about McQuillan for.Derry can have no complaints whatsoever.Failed miserably once again when it came to the crunch.McIver trying to take the spotlight away from his own failings.
Post by: screenexile on May 26, 2014, 12:24:02 PM
Quote from: Collie Brolly on May 26, 2014, 12:14:31 PM
Don't know what McIver is complaining about McQuillan for.Derry can have no complaints whatsoever.Failed miserably once again when it came to the crunch.McIver trying to take the spotlight away from his own failings.

The referee was terrible yesterday! I'm not saying it affected the result as there is no question Donegal were the better team but their tackling is barely legal and there were a number of times we should have had frees and didn't get them!
Post by: cockahoop on May 26, 2014, 12:33:46 PM
i disagree screen it could have made a differenc to the result,how many times was mckinless dragged down with no free given within scoring range?i reckon 3.
apart from 10 mins yesterday derry were playing very smart football which was working,people saying they should have played it in yesterday alot quicker obviously were not watching very closely,donegal had 11 - 12 players inside 30 yards and the couple of times we did kick it in at the start of the match donegal came straight out the field so that was never going to be a option.being patient and waiting for a shot at goal from 30 yards was working,after donegals scoring blitz we had to drive at them and break the line which young mckinlees tried to do but the lad just did not get the frees he deserved so it made a tough task nearly impossible.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 26, 2014, 12:34:06 PM
NRico you are right Donegal can play whatever they want within the rules and if they find a system that suits them and proves successful then the players and the fans will wade in behind that.
This is what has happened since Jim took over and they reached the promise land from nowhere.
So for Donegal it's great that they are suddenly back at the top table.

However, for MOST neutrals it's dire stuff to watch and if you have young kids who will be exposed to the world cup maybe for the first time next month, which do you think they'd rather be. Playing in a defensive system where if they do manage to beat their man then they've another 2 waiting to clatter them or be trying step overs and expressing themselves with freedom
The way Donegal play means that when you play them you can't play open attack minded football. You can't kick the ball in early or isolate your best player against his man. It discourages good attacking play and means to win you have to play conservatively
Is that the way you want to see the game going?
Some may argue that Tyrone or Armagh started down that path of dropping men back but no way to the same extent.

I can see Monaghan and Donegal being in the Ulster final again this year and whilst it is was fascinating to watch them battle it out last year, it's not how I wanna say GAA football played.
13 men behind the ball. Pass after pass sideways and backwards waiting for an opening. Then someone gets a shoulder as he handpasses as the ball spills, Donegal break at lighting pace Yippee and it's over the bar. Sorry doesn't do it for me. Yes part of my problem is they've done it to Tyrone 3 years in a row now and we can't beat it but I'd much rather play Down or Armagh or even Derry 10 times that Donegal once.
It will be interesting to see what Cavan do next

Post by: Collie Brolly on May 26, 2014, 01:46:21 PM
Quote from: screenexile on May 26, 2014, 12:24:02 PM
Quote from: Collie Brolly on May 26, 2014, 12:14:31 PM

The referee was terrible yesterday! I'm not saying it affected the result as there is no question Donegal were the better team but their tackling is barely legal and there were a number of times we should have had frees and didn't get them!

Barely legal.Therefore open to some level of interpretation you might say?Had you said illegal you might have an argument(even taking bias into account),but most counties take all aspects of their game to the edge in Cship football.Isn't Ulster renowned for this and isn't that exactly what makes it watchable.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 26, 2014, 02:14:43 PM
Despite what I'm hearing back from the media I enjoyed the game. I do think again the referee was inconsistent. Pinged Donegal a lot in the first half but probably let them away with a few in the second half.
Post by: thewobbler on May 26, 2014, 02:52:53 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 26, 2014, 02:14:43 PM
Despite what I'm hearing back from the media I enjoyed the game. I do think again the referee was inconsistent. Pinged Donegal a lot in the first half but probably let them away with a few in the second half.
I'm with you Seanie. Yes there were some long periods of lateral play, but it had a comeback, some outstanding  scores, some fine fielding, and some exemplary tackles, hits and blocks. Put a hurling commentator in charge of such drama and they'd tell you we are in store for a vintage summer. Football is a tougher audience, so it seems.
Post by: Whitnail on May 26, 2014, 03:11:43 PM
Some good points Fuzzy.
I think that Dublin ,Cork , Mayo and Possibly Kerry and maybe even  Kildare could beat us playing open or expansive football right now if they wanted.

When it comes to the Ulster Championship with so many teams at a  very similar level , how many Ulster teams have really played wide open  expansive football against each other? Recently one of the few games that come to mind was the first game last year at Celtic park between Derry & Down and that was a bit of a rarity cause the 2nd game these countries played in the back door wasn't very expansive or open at all.
Obviously you mentioned Armagh  & Tyrone starting this blanket defense system (with lots of hand passing) with the prime objective of getting out of Ulster by hook or crook ...and managers were completly shameless & unapologetic about it ,just as Jim is now.
But in fairness for the mist part that's the way it's been in  Ulster since Armagh and Tyrone cynically started this . These counties would then expand their football a  bit in the all Ireland quarter finals or against counties down the country. Just as Donegal did in 2012 (please ,let's forget 2011!).
If for eg Dublin could wipe the floor with us tomorrow playing attacking expansive open football , why can't Tyrone do the same? Afterall it's Mickey's choice is it not?

I'm not  a huge fan of watching us with so many men behind the ball, hunting in packs and deliberately setting out to disrupt the opposition ,  especially in the first halt of games. But then I think our defenseve system is very overrated anyway and have said before that it's beatable by running through it at pace with quick offloading and accurate shooting from distance. The analysts on the Sunday game last night I thought were helping Jim out by giving our defense the  almost myth status it had in 2012. Last year when Tyrone played us they scuffed and wasted so many point/goal scoring chances through completely their own making  not cause our mythical defense closed the door.
Post by: J70 on May 26, 2014, 03:49:19 PM
Think you're overcompensating a bit there Withnail. While not playing particularly well for much of the game, Donegal harried the hell out of Tyrone last year, just as in the previous two years. In each game Tyrone went on half-hour stretches in the second half without a score. That cannot be just written off as poor shooting. Think back to the 2003 AI semi final when McEniff copied Armagh and Tyrone and tried out the blanket defence on a once-off and almost shocked Armagh. Armagh were forced to shoot from all sorts of angles, under pressure and often out the field that day, and were panicing and rushing their shots, especially in the first half. If McDonnell hadn't outfielded McCready that one time for their goal late on, it probably would have worked.

Monaghan definitely did expose Donegal's gameplan last year with their own intensity and physicality, but the writing was on the wall for Donegal before that when it took a breathtaking display of marksmanship from a McFadden living on crumbs to squeeze them through against a similarly lined-up Down. They just looked tired and done out. I would like another crack at Monaghan this year, assuming injuries, form and AI hangover are not going to be such a big factor again. Of course, Monaghan being to us what Tyrone are to them, we may just curl up into the foetal position at the sight of their jerseys no matter how good we're playing! Dublin etc... yeah, they'll run at us, shoot (and score) from all angles and make shreds of the blanket defence. But are we seriously contenders at their level anyway?
Post by: imtommygunn on May 26, 2014, 04:22:19 PM
Quote from: Whitnail on May 26, 2014, 03:11:43 PM
Some good points Fuzzy.
I think that Dublin ,Cork , Mayo and Possibly Kerry and maybe even  Kildare could beat us playing open or expansive football right now if they wanted.

When it comes to the Ulster Championship with so many teams at a  very similar level , how many Ulster teams have really played wide open  expansive football against each other? Recently one of the few games that come to mind was the first game last year at Celtic park between Derry & Down and that was a bit of a rarity cause the 2nd game these countries played in the back door wasn't very expansive or open at all.
Obviously you mentioned Armagh  & Tyrone starting this blanket defense system (with lots of hand passing) with the prime objective of getting out of Ulster by hook or crook ...and managers were completly shameless & unapologetic about it ,just as Jim is now.
But in fairness for the mist part that's the way it's been in  Ulster since Armagh and Tyrone cynically started this . These counties would then expand their football a  bit in the all Ireland quarter finals or against counties down the country. Just as Donegal did in 2012 (please ,let's forget 2011!).
If for eg Dublin could wipe the floor with us tomorrow playing attacking expansive open football , why can't Tyrone do the same? Afterall it's Mickey's choice is it not?

I'm not  a huge fan of watching us with so many men behind the ball, hunting in packs and deliberately setting out to disrupt the opposition ,  especially in the first halt of games. But then I think our defenseve system is very overrated anyway and have said before that it's beatable by running through it at pace with quick offloading and accurate shooting from distance. The analysts on the Sunday game last night I thought were helping Jim out by giving our defense the  almost myth status it had in 2012. Last year when Tyrone played us they scuffed and wasted so many point/goal scoring chances through completely their own making  not cause our mythical defense closed the door.

I wouldn't disagree with that. I thought Derry moved the ball at pace about 3 oor 4 times in that game yesterday and each time they moved the ball at pace(men breaking tackles I mean) then they got points of it.
Post by: SouthDublinBro on May 26, 2014, 07:41:05 PM
Remember when Colm McFadden was seriously considered one of the top forwards in the country?

LOL the lad wouldn't start for New York. Donegal are a spent force. Can see Antrim/Fermanagh pulling off an upset.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 26, 2014, 08:33:16 PM
So that's all we needed.

FoSB can you see can you get Mickey a set of Monaghan jerseys from O'Neills fsctory in Strabane
Post by: ck on May 26, 2014, 09:43:15 PM
I've great time for Donegal as county and it's people but let's call a spade a spade. What we witnessed yesterday was our game bastardised in its most negative form. I watched it with two 10 year olds who play and live the game. Mid 2nd half they were in the garden playing soccer.

I don't blame Jim McGuinness or players. They know their many limitations and are covering them well but let's face it. The challenge for the GAA is to develop our rules to ensure the game remains the competitive spectacle that it can be attractive to young players. I hate Rugby league as a game, yesterday I watched Rugby league disguised as Gaelic football. It was bloody awful to watch.
Post by: anfheardubh on May 26, 2014, 11:25:55 PM
Quote from: ck on May 26, 2014, 09:43:15 PM
I've great time for Donegal as county and it's people but let's call a spade a spade. What we witnessed yesterday was our game bastardised in its most negative form. I watched it with two 10 year olds who play and live the game. Mid 2nd half they were in the garden playing soccer.

I don't blame Jim McGuinness or players. They know their many limitations and are covering them well but let's face it. The challenge for the GAA is to develop our rules to ensure the game remains the competitive spectacle that it can be attractive to young players. I hate Rugby league as a game, yesterday I watched Rugby league disguised as Gaelic football. It was bloody awful to watch.

You dont have to  watch it    :) :) :),  the rules havent changed 15 v 15 round ball etc, tactics have changed and evolved in the past 10 -15 years and as a result the traditional type game is all but gone

To beat Donegal at their peak, is fairly simple, dont drag your defenders forward and over attack leaving space at the back

Shoot from distance, and use quick ball.  Derry passed laterally and slowly allowing Donegal to set up their defensive screen

Best of luck to SLIGO this year
Post by: J70 on May 27, 2014, 02:11:18 AM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on May 26, 2014, 07:41:05 PM
Remember when Colm McFadden was seriously considered one of the top forwards in the country?

LOL the lad wouldn't start for New York. Donegal are a spent force. Can see Antrim/Fermanagh pulling off an upset.

What an astute post!