GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Oraisteach on May 26, 2013, 06:05:37 PM

Title: Qualifiers--there's an angry mob of losers gathering at the back door
Post by: Oraisteach on May 26, 2013, 06:05:37 PM
Tyrone bounced handily, Sligo . . . well, Tipp trounced, Limerick lambasted, Laois lashed, Longford not long for it, all lining up behind Armagh, first among losers.  Not all contestants in, so who do you think will join these ugly sisters, and if you're one of these beauties, who do you want to pick up?  I say, end this Grim summer and bring on Tyrone, or else give us a shot at Laois.
Title: Re: Qualifiers--there's an angry mob of losers gathering at the back door
Post by: Syferus on May 26, 2013, 06:08:50 PM
We'll hand deliver a man-handled Mayo to R2 for ye lads. Sligo to beat both Galway and Mayo.

Again.
Title: Re: Qualifiers--there's an angry mob of losers gathering at the back door
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 26, 2013, 06:39:36 PM
Quote from: Oraisteach on May 26, 2013, 06:05:37 PM
Tyrone bounced handily, Sligo . . . well, Tipp trounced, Limerick lambasted, Laois lashed, Longford not long for it, all lining up behind Armagh, first among losers.  Not all contestants in, so who do you think will join these ugly sisters, and if you're one of these beauties, who do you want to pick up?  I say, end this Grim summer and bring on Tyrone, or else give us a shot at Laois.

Galway forgotten already!
Post by: Oraisteach on May 26, 2013, 06:59:36 PM
Jeez, you're right.  A distinguished assembly of one-time good-lookers.  Who's next?  The aristocrats?
Post by: From the Bunker on May 26, 2013, 07:05:23 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 26, 2013, 06:08:50 PM
We'll hand deliver a man-handled Mayo to R2 for ye lads. Sligo to beat both Galway and Mayo.

Again.

The AI Quarters are all set up for you. Teach Mayo a lesson and then it's onto Leitrim/London in the Connacht Final.
Post by: Dont Matter on May 26, 2013, 07:19:07 PM
We're coming for you Armagh, you know it, we know it, see ya in Crossmaglen.
Post by: Syferus on May 26, 2013, 07:35:04 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 26, 2013, 07:05:23 PM

Again.

The AI Quarters are all set up for you. Teach Mayo a lesson and then it's onto Leitrim/London in the Connacht Final.

Aye, and a little Rossie sweet talking might even bag us a home Connacht final from London. A job for the Cake if ever there was one.

Would wish Mayo well in the AIQs though, sure a Ros v Mayo All-Ireland final has been what the whole qualifier system has been building towards for the last twelve years 8)
Post by: Throw ball on May 26, 2013, 07:49:24 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on May 26, 2013, 07:19:07 PM

If we are drawn together and Armagh are at home you would be safer heading for the Athletic Grounds in Armagh city or you will miss the game. Would not mind meeting Laois as it is about time we beat you again - and Deegan would not be allowed to ref!
Post by: Dont Matter on May 26, 2013, 08:01:34 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on May 26, 2013, 07:49:24 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on May 26, 2013, 07:19:07 PM

If we are drawn together and Armagh are at home you would be safer heading for the Athletic Grounds in Armagh city or you will miss the game. Would not mind meeting Laois as it is about time we beat you again - and Deegan would not be allowed to ref!

:D Righto, we'll see ya in the City so.
Billy's been dropped but he'll make himself known if this game happens.
Post by: BennyCake on May 26, 2013, 08:07:34 PM
I have a feeling Armagh will draw Laois, in Portlaoise.
Post by: Dont Matter on May 26, 2013, 08:33:31 PM
Bring it!
In fairness there's 16 teams in the draw, my prediction for who those will be at this stage is as follows: (already in the draw are in red)(my predicted team to lose in blue)
Tyrone
Laois
Armagh
Longford
Sligo
Tipperary
Limerick
Galway
Carlow
Offaly  v Kildare
Westmeath  v Dublin
Wexford  v Louth
Wicklow  v Meath
Down v Derry
Antrim  v Monaghan
Fermanagh  v Cavan

The only games I wouldn't be that sure of is Derry v Down and Fermanagh v Cavan. Anyway you could get an easy draw but it wont be long before you get a tough one.
Post by: Mont on May 26, 2013, 08:50:07 PM
Sum pile of dross in 1st rnd f qualifiers.
Only decent team will be Tyrone. Rest cud beat each other on any day.

Bring back tommy murphy cup. Giv al those teams chance of a trophy because they will win nothing else
Post by: Oraisteach on May 26, 2013, 09:12:45 PM
We're dreck and we don't give a feck.
Post by: Dont Matter on May 26, 2013, 09:28:44 PM
I've maped a route through. Right so first you draw Carlow, then you draw the losers of London/Leitrim, then you have to hope one of the other crap teams have made it through as well, teams like Offaly, Wicklow or Armagh.You're in round 4 then and you pick the weakest provincial finalists, that will be the winners of London/Leitrim.
Now it's quarter final stage so you pick the weakest provincial winners, we'll go Mayo with that one. Semi final Connaught play Ulster so all you have to do is beat Donegal and then look after the Dubs in their home patch and you got yourself an All Ireland. Simple.
1. Beat Carlow
2. Beat London
3. Beat Offaly
4. Beat Leitrim
5. Beat Mayo
6. Beat Donegal
7. Beat Dublin
8. Wake up
Post by: Oraisteach on May 26, 2013, 09:41:25 PM
So, I should buy an alarm clock and not cancel my flight home?  Great news.
Post by: seafoid on May 27, 2013, 05:20:14 PM
Sligo : Stuff happens openly in Sligo that would be massive scandal
Armagh :It's all the manager's fault
Galway:  too many passengers
Longford : fate

so many different explanations
Post by: imtommygunn on May 27, 2013, 05:24:33 PM
Laois: the wind
Post by: muppet on May 27, 2013, 05:25:58 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 27, 2013, 05:24:33 PM

The toss I think he said!
Post by: sans pessimism on May 27, 2013, 05:33:03 PM

Again.
you've a gob like a clowns pocket
Post by: seafoid on May 27, 2013, 05:51:21 PM
Quote from: sans pessimism on May 27, 2013, 05:33:03 PM

Again.
you've a gob like a clowns pocket
borderline personality disorder I think. Or else a troll.
Post by: Syferus on May 27, 2013, 06:17:12 PM
You're not a real county if you don't reach a provincial semi.
Post by: seafoid on May 27, 2013, 08:13:31 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 27, 2013, 06:17:12 PM
You have to be beaten by the eventual All Ireland winners 4 years in a row to qualify now.
Post by: Syferus on May 27, 2013, 08:26:56 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 27, 2013, 08:13:31 PM
You have to be beaten by the eventual All Ireland winners 4 years in a row to qualify now.

I think there's a stipulation of not losing by more than 16 points in the last three years too. Bit hazy on that one.
Post by: Qwerty28 on May 27, 2013, 08:47:16 PM
Any idea when the draw is? Quiet a few teams wont be too pushed about the bucket Id say, my own county included unless we get a local draw of some description at home
Post by: seafoid on May 27, 2013, 09:23:49 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 27, 2013, 08:26:56 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 27, 2013, 08:13:31 PM

I think there's a stipulation of not losing by more than 16 points in the last three years too. Bit hazy on that one.
You'll have to win that senior all Ireland before we do, Syfeen. The rest is just bilge.
Quarter finals don't hack it.
Post by: Dont Matter on May 27, 2013, 11:07:12 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 27, 2013, 05:25:58 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 27, 2013, 05:24:33 PM

The toss I think he said!

It was the toss. A Meath man was the ref and you know them boyos. He seen what was coming down the line, did he want to play Laois who took them apart last year or Louth a team they can beat even when they lose?
Post by: armaghniac on May 28, 2013, 03:27:14 AM
What are you saying here? That the result was decided by a Meath tosser?
Post by: muppet on May 28, 2013, 10:28:52 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 28, 2013, 03:27:14 AM
What are you saying here? That the result was decided by a Meath t**ser?

Post by: magpie seanie on May 28, 2013, 11:53:40 AM
Quote from: seafoid on May 27, 2013, 05:20:14 PM
Sligo : Stuff happens openly in Sligo that would be massive scandalArmagh :It's all the manager's fault

Do you want to contradict me or or you just being a smartarse?
Post by: seafoid on May 28, 2013, 12:23:14 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 28, 2013, 11:53:40 AM
Quote from: seafoid on May 27, 2013, 05:20:14 PM
Sligo : Stuff happens openly in Sligo that would be massive scandalArmagh :It's all the manager's fault

Do you want to contradict me or or you just being a smartarse?
I noted your comment. It is obviously more than just the manager's fault or the passengers or Mayo playing the swarm unsportingly. 
Post by: magpie seanie on May 28, 2013, 12:48:11 PM
Ok - thought you were taking the p1ss a little.
Post by: seafoid on May 28, 2013, 01:33:16 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 28, 2013, 12:48:11 PM
No. It is obvious that something is banjaxed in Sligo.
Post by: muppet on May 28, 2013, 01:35:48 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 28, 2013, 01:33:16 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 28, 2013, 12:48:11 PM
No. It is obvious that something is banjaxed in Sligo.

There seems to be a major disconnect between the ambitions of players and supporters - and those of the administrators.
Post by: warrie on May 28, 2013, 01:39:29 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on May 26, 2013, 08:33:31 PM
Bring it!
In fairness there's 16 teams in the draw, my prediction for who those will be at this stage is as follows: (already in the draw are in red)(my predicted team to lose in blue)
Tyrone
Laois
Armagh
Longford
Sligo
Tipperary
Limerick
Galway
Carlow
Offaly  v Kildare
Westmeath  v Dublin
Wexford  v Louth
Wicklow  v Meath
Down v Derry
Antrim  v Monaghan
Fermanagh  v Cavan

The only games I wouldn't be that sure of is Derry v Down and Fermanagh v Cavan. Anyway you could get an easy draw but it wont be long before you get a tough one.

you can add Offaly Westmeath Louth Wicklow Antrim Cavan hard to call the Down Derry match I will go with Derry to add to the qualifiers.  I wonder what odds would that accumulator be with the bookies
Post by: theticklemister on May 28, 2013, 01:41:29 PM
Maybe W B Yeats' excellent poem about the1916 rising was actually a prophecy for Sligo GAA in 2013...............

All changed, changed utterly:   
A terrible beauty is born.
Post by: Whitnail on May 29, 2013, 01:11:29 AM
After Sunday I think Tyrone will put a cricket score past any team they draw on that list.

Whatever hcap the bookmakers put up.

Post by: seafoid on May 29, 2013, 09:00:52 AM
Division 2 is doing really badly so far. 4 out of 8 out already and Derry could make it 5 de Domhnaigh.
Post by: omagh_gael on May 29, 2013, 11:19:55 AM
Quote from: seafoid on May 29, 2013, 09:00:52 AM
Division 2 is doing really badly so far. 4 out of 8 out already and Derry could make it 5 de Domhnaigh.

I'd be very surprised if Down beat Derry considering their injury troubles.
Post by: seafoid on May 29, 2013, 12:39:32 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on May 29, 2013, 11:19:55 AM

There is only one guaranteed D2 team in the next round- whoever wins between Louth and Wexford . Westmeath are hardly going to beat the Dubs.
Post by: BennyCake on May 29, 2013, 12:54:00 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 29, 2013, 12:39:32 PM

There is only one guaranteed D2 team in the next round- whoever wins between Louth and Wexford . Westmeath are hardly going to beat the Dubs.

Stranger things have happened. Like in 2004, when err, Westmeath beat Dublin.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 29, 2013, 02:30:34 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 29, 2013, 12:54:00 PM

In 2004 Dublin's setup was similar to everyone elses. Now they and the other 5 counties in the race for Sam have pulled away with professional setups and cutting edge backups.
Post by: seafoid on May 29, 2013, 02:38:34 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on May 29, 2013, 02:30:34 PM

In 2004 Dublin's setup was similar to everyone elses. Now they and the other 5 counties in the race for Sam have pulled away with professional setups and cutting edge backups.
Paidi managed to give Westmeath a boost but the Dubs seem to be a good bit ahead this year.
D2 looks like a really poor division with the benefit of hindsight. 
Post by: Syferus on May 29, 2013, 02:42:11 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 29, 2013, 02:38:34 PM

Paidi managed to give Westmeath a boost but the Dubs seem to be a good bit ahead this year.

D3 on the other hand..
Post by: seafoid on May 29, 2013, 02:52:00 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 29, 2013, 02:42:11 PM

D3 on the other hand..
Cavan flying the flag but I don't want to watch the carnage when Mayo play Ros
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 29, 2013, 02:55:54 PM

Two best teams definitely got promoted. Louth might be the pick of the bunch though. They were poor first game out but they really seem to have turned it around since. Leinster final appearance there for them.
Post by: Rossfan on May 29, 2013, 03:05:34 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 29, 2013, 02:52:00 PM
D3 on the other hand..
[/quote]  ;D

I know - you've already seen enough carnage in Salthill for one year.
However I'll ask the lads to go aisy on Mwr to spare your feelings
Post by: seafoid on May 29, 2013, 03:31:00 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 29, 2013, 03:05:34 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 29, 2013, 02:52:00 PM
D3 on the other hand..

I know - you've already seen enough carnage in Salthill for one year.
However I'll ask the lads to go aisy on Mwr to spare your feelings
Is it easy chaperoning Syfeen around the board?
Post by: tyroneman on June 01, 2013, 01:37:05 PM
What date is the draw and the first round?
Post by: omagh_gael on June 01, 2013, 02:00:24 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on June 01, 2013, 01:37:05 PM
What date is the draw and the first round?

Here you are:

http://gaa.ie/fixtures-and-results/national-fixtures/gaa-football-all-ireland-senior-championship/

First round is on 29th June so I'd imagine the draw will take place the Sunday before (23rd).
Post by: Dont Matter on June 01, 2013, 02:29:26 PM
Whoever gets Laois or Armagh are up easy street.
Post by: armaghniac on June 01, 2013, 03:13:12 PM
QuoteWhoever gets Laois or Armagh are up easy street.

Laois got back on the horse to some extent last year, perhaps they will again.
Post by: Dont Matter on June 01, 2013, 03:15:52 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 01, 2013, 03:13:12 PM

5 players have left so far, qualifiers aren't on till June 29th so plenty more have time to go. 3 from Armagh, you have time for it to get worse also.
I asked the Sligo lads, they say no one's left yet but surely they'll have the most drop outs if the stories of player discontent are true.
Post by: armaghniac on June 01, 2013, 03:42:02 PM
Quote5 players have left so far, qualifiers aren't on till June 29th so plenty more have time to go

The long time gap between provincial games and the qualifiers is a problem here. The cowboys in New York are not helping things either with under the counter payments and the like.
Post by: Dont Matter on June 01, 2013, 04:36:54 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 01, 2013, 03:42:02 PM
Quote5 players have left so far, qualifiers aren't on till June 29th so plenty more have time to go

The long time gap between provincial games and the qualifiers is a problem here. The cowboys in New York are not helping things either with under the counter payments and the like.

By the time they're done you'll have some amount of names out there. Can't see many of the players taking a match between 'Cavan' and 'Mayo' or the like very seriously.
For weaker teams though, the draw of the bright lights will be too hard to ignore. Doesn't make the fans feel any better though.
Post by: Throw ball on June 01, 2013, 05:19:18 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on June 01, 2013, 03:15:52 PM

5 players have left so far, qualifiers aren't on till June 29th so plenty more have time to go. 3 from Armagh, you have time for it to get worse also.
I asked the Sligo lads, they say no one's left yet but surely they'll have the most drop outs if the stories of player discontent are true.

Actually 4 gone from Armagh panel. McKenna, McParland, Carragher and Stevenson.
Post by: Dont Matter on June 01, 2013, 06:37:12 PM
So Laois still a nose ahead with 5, Sligo are planning a late run, Leitrim have something brewing. Why haven't Galway entered the race? Who's goin to win the battle for the most deserters? It's the only thing any of us have a chance of winning.
Post by: DuffleKing on June 01, 2013, 06:39:16 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on June 01, 2013, 05:19:18 PM

You sure Stevenson was on the panel this year?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 01, 2013, 07:51:25 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on June 01, 2013, 06:37:12 PM
So Laois still a nose ahead with 5, Sligo are planning a late run, Leitrim have something brewing. Why haven't Galway entered the race? Who's goin to win the battle for the most deserters? It's the only thing any of us have a chance of winning.

Gareth Bradshaw left the Galway panel today. The team captain no less.
Post by: Dont Matter on June 01, 2013, 07:53:22 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on June 01, 2013, 07:51:25 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on June 01, 2013, 06:37:12 PM

Gareth Bradshaw left the Galway panel today. The team captain no less.

Ohhhhh Galway get on the board, this competition is hotting up. Is he heading shtateside?
Post by: Qwerty28 on June 01, 2013, 10:55:49 PM
But surely Bradshaw was likely to be suspended for the next few (3?) games so what was point in him staying in panel, captain or not?
Post by: muppet on June 01, 2013, 11:24:54 PM
Quote from: Qwerty28 on June 01, 2013, 10:55:49 PM
But surely Bradshaw was likely to be suspended for the next few (3?) games so what was point in him staying in panel, captain or not?

Has he got a job on The Sunday Game for their qualifier?
Post by: Throw ball on June 02, 2013, 12:48:08 AM
Quote from: DuffleKing on June 01, 2013, 06:39:16 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on June 01, 2013, 05:19:18 PM

You sure Stevenson was on the panel this year?

Official statement from county board says he has got a job overseas for 12 months.
Post by: Aaron Boone on June 02, 2013, 12:51:44 AM
Kerry quietly reached the final 12 of the championship last night. The hard training starts here.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 02, 2013, 10:02:20 AM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on June 02, 2013, 12:51:44 AM
Kerry quietly reached the final 12 of the championship last night. The hard training starts here.

And it's barely the Month of June!  ;D
Post by: omagh_gael on June 09, 2013, 01:14:11 PM
Tyrone
Laois
Armagh
Longford
Sligo
Tipperary
Limerick
Galway
Carlow
Derry
Westmeath

Offaly v Kildare 
Wexford  v Louth
Wicklow  v  Meath
Antrim  v Monaghan
Fermanagh  v Cavan

Full entry list nearly complete, who are you hoping for / hoping to avoid?

From a Tyrone perspective I would mostly want to avoid Derry (and to a lesser extent other Ulster county). Wouldn't mind an aul crack at Meath if they were to make it our length!
Post by: Maguire01 on June 09, 2013, 01:27:13 PM
Offaly are already gone, are they not?
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 09, 2013, 02:00:59 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 09, 2013, 01:27:13 PM
Offaly are already gone, are they not?
You're correct there.
Post by: Dont Matter on June 09, 2013, 03:25:03 PM
We'll just be waiting on Wicklow v Made and Fermanagh v Cavan after today.
All these teams just waiting for the draw so they can recover their season or just get it over with.
Post by: Onion Bag on June 09, 2013, 10:26:56 PM
Probably already mentioned in the thread, but when is this draw?
Post by: Hoof Hearted on June 09, 2013, 10:31:05 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on June 09, 2013, 10:26:56 PM

at a guess it is next sunday evening, or 8.30am on monday, as the hurling is tomorrow
Post by: From the Bunker on June 09, 2013, 11:36:20 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on June 09, 2013, 10:31:05 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on June 09, 2013, 10:26:56 PM

at a guess it is next sunday evening, or 8.30am on monday, as the hurling is tomorrow

Can't wait for the Hurling draw! Some big hitters in there! Btw who is in the draw?  ::)
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 09, 2013, 11:42:17 PM
Qualifier Draws 2013

1. Monday, June 10th - RTE
Draws: Preliminary Hurling & Phase I Hurling
Teams (7): Antrim, Westmeath, London, Carlow, Waterford, Kilkenny/Offaly, Dublin/Wexford,
Draw three Preliminary ties with one team getting a bye to Phase 1
Preliminary games (3) – 22 June Phase 1 Games (2) – 29 June

2. Monday, June 17th - RTE
Draws: 1st Round football; games to be played on June 29th
Teams involved are all those who do not make their respective Provincial Semi-finals – 16 teams, 8 ties.

3. Monday, June 24th - RTE
Phase II Hurling games (beaten Provincial Semi-Finalists) – games to be played on July 6th – 2 games

4. Monday, July 1st TV3
2nd Round of football – games played 6th and 13th July (Rd 1 winners v Beaten Provincial Semi-finalists); 8 games
Games on 13th July (3) are those involving losers of 2nd Ulster Semi-Final (Cavan/ Fermanagh v Antrim/Monaghan) and losers of both Leinster Football Semi-finals .
The other 5 games are all on July 6th.

5. Monday July 8th TV3
Phase III Hurling Draw – games played 13th July (Phase 1/Phase 2 winners)

6. Monday, July 15th - RTE
AIH QF's and Rounds 3 & 4 Football Qualifiers

7. Monday, July 29th - RTE
Football Quarter Finals and Hurling Semi-Finals

http://www.gaa.ie/gaa-news-and-videos/daily-news/1/0406131645-qualifier-draws-2013-/
Title: Foirne
Post by: drici on June 16, 2013, 08:33:48 PM
To play at Home
(Usual rules apply)

Armagh Antrim Derry Carlow Louth Offaly
Post by: Onion Bag on June 17, 2013, 08:36:26 AM
What time is the draw?
Post by: All of a Sludden on June 17, 2013, 08:37:36 AM
Quote from: Onion Bag on June 17, 2013, 08:36:26 AM
What time is the draw?

On now.
Post by: All of a Sludden on June 17, 2013, 08:38:38 AM
Tyrone v Offaly

Galway v Tipperary

Derry v Sligo

Westmeath v Fermanagh

Laois v Carlow

Armagh v Wicklow

Louth v Antrim

Longford v Limerick
Title: Tarraingt
Post by: drici on June 17, 2013, 08:43:45 AM
Offaly at home then v Tyrone - the rest came out in draw order.
Post by: tonto1888 on June 17, 2013, 08:44:53 AM
Wicklow at home then. Hopefully we can get a win
Post by: Onion Bag on June 17, 2013, 08:49:05 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on June 17, 2013, 08:44:53 AM

would have preferred Carlow  ;D
Title: Fosta
Post by: drici on June 17, 2013, 08:49:23 AM
Quote from: drici on June 17, 2013, 08:43:45 AM

Offaly at home then v Tyrone - the rest came out in draw order.

Houl on - Carlow home to Laois as well.
Post by: Redhand Santa on June 17, 2013, 09:03:01 AM
That home and away rule is a bit of nonsense. Tyrone have played their last 4 of their last 5 championship games away and the other 1 was at a neutral venue (away to armagh last year, Donegal in Clones, away to Roscommon, away to Kerry, away to Donegal this year) yet the fixture is reversed despite coming out  as the home team.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 17, 2013, 09:11:31 AM
Limerick have beaten us twice in the Qualifiers. At least we have home advantage but the portents aren't good.
Post by: nrico2006 on June 17, 2013, 09:12:30 AM
Why are Offaly getting the home draw?
Post by: Onion Bag on June 17, 2013, 09:12:54 AM
are all these games next saturday?

Any times?
Post by: AZOffaly on June 17, 2013, 09:14:37 AM
What a bitch of a draw. That's fairly hard to stomach. You're trying your best to make progress and get back to your glory days, and then you get a provincial draw against one of the favourites for the All Ireland, and a powerhouse in the province. *THEN* , after putting in a reasonable performance, when you're hoping for a nice handy qualifier game to get you started, you draw another one of the serious teams, and just like that your season is over. What an absolute punch to the scrotum.

Oh well, I'm sure Tyrone will make the best of it and use this experience to bounce back next year !!
Post by: seafoid on June 17, 2013, 09:24:20 AM
Galway v Tipperary

I hope John Denton won't be reffing it.
Post by: laoislad on June 17, 2013, 09:27:46 AM
Was hoping for someone handy like Armagh.
Carlow will do though.
Post by: illdecide on June 17, 2013, 09:37:49 AM
Quote from: laoislad on June 17, 2013, 09:27:46 AM
Carlow will do though.

If both teams win you could well get your we handy draw ;) (Be careful what you wish for saan)
Post by: DuffleKing on June 17, 2013, 09:50:19 AM
Quote from: illdecide on June 17, 2013, 09:37:49 AM
Carlow will do though.

If both teams win you could well get your we handy draw ;) (Be careful what you wish for saan)

All the winners would then be in the same pot facing the provincial losers for the next draw i think?
Post by: ONeill on June 17, 2013, 09:53:57 AM
What is this Offaly they speak of
Post by: Onion Bag on June 17, 2013, 10:44:43 AM
Quote from: DuffleKing on June 17, 2013, 09:50:19 AM
Quote from: illdecide on June 17, 2013, 09:37:49 AM
Carlow will do though.

All the winners would then be in the same pot facing the provincial losers for the next draw i think?

correct
Post by: OakleafCounty on June 17, 2013, 11:43:44 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on June 17, 2013, 08:44:53 AM

Are Wicklow at home?

If so I think they have a chance.
Post by: johnneycool on June 17, 2013, 12:00:12 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 17, 2013, 09:24:20 AM
Galway v Tipperary

Ha Ha, that one will go over the heads of most on this thread.

Post by: AQMP on June 17, 2013, 12:00:37 PM
Handy draw for The Wee County ;)
Post by: imtommygunn on June 17, 2013, 12:08:52 PM
A lot of these games you'd expect to be handy enough to predict.

I expect Tipperary to beat Galway mind you.

I think Fermanagh Westmeath could be the tightest one there and think Fermanagh mmight win that one.
Post by: naka on June 17, 2013, 12:09:46 PM
if armagh at home would fancy them
if they are away would fancy wicklow
Post by: seafoid on June 17, 2013, 12:33:08 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 17, 2013, 12:08:52 PM
A lot of these games you'd expect to be handy enough to predict.

I expect Tipperary to beat Galway mind you.

I think Fermanagh Westmeath could be the tightest one there and think Fermanagh mmight win that one.
Galway playing at home against Tipp. Very encouraging.
Post by: Hardy on June 17, 2013, 12:44:13 PM
This is a potential banana skin for Tipp.
Post by: seafoid on June 17, 2013, 12:54:35 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 17, 2013, 12:44:13 PM
500 to 1 on they win by a point
Post by: Lone Shark on June 17, 2013, 01:05:23 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 17, 2013, 09:53:57 AM

It is a place, it is an identity, and it is a state of mind. It is joy, wisdom and fulfilment, meshed in a harmony akin to that shared by the hearty bogs, the gentle meadows and the lush greenery of that land which we Biffs call home.
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on June 17, 2013, 01:19:28 PM
Quote from: Lone Shark on June 17, 2013, 01:05:23 PM

It is a place, it is an identity, and it is a state of mind. It is joy, wisdom and fulfilment, meshed in a harmony akin to that shared by the hearty bogs, the gentle meadows and the lush greenery of that land which we Biffs call home.

like derrytesk then?
Post by: Orior on June 17, 2013, 01:21:51 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 17, 2013, 12:44:13 PM

Ha ha!

Dittow 4 Wicklo.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 17, 2013, 02:23:42 PM
Probably as good a draw as we could have gotten. Tipp are a decent division 4 side but are still division 4. Galway are an average division 2 side at best but with home advantage should have enough to win that one. That said I would not be putting any money on it. We could lose to anyone if we put our minds to it.
Post by: Crete Boom on June 17, 2013, 02:28:55 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on June 17, 2013, 12:00:12 PM
Galway v Tipperary

He was still causing mayhem in his native county championships up till about 7 years ago so maybe he could be coaxed out of retirement. ;D It might get some of the Galway buck more interested in this game!
Post by: balladmaker on June 17, 2013, 03:56:00 PM
QuoteAre Wicklow at home?

If so I think they have a chance.

They've a great chance no matter where the game is played.
Post by: orangeman on June 17, 2013, 05:04:43 PM

Saturday, June 22
GAA Hurling All-Ireland Senior Championship Preliminary Round
Wexford v Antrim, Wexford Park, 3pm

Friday, June 28
GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship Qualifiers Round 1
Carlow v Laois, Dr. Cullen Park, 7.45pm

Saturday, June 29
Longford v Limerick, Glennon Brothers Pearse Park, 7pm
Galway v Tipperary, Pearse Stadium, 7pm

Sunday, June 30
Armagh v Wicklow, Athletic Grounds, 3pm
Derry v Sligo, Owenbeg, 5pm

*Saturday, June 29/Sunday, June 30
Offaly v Tyrone, O'Connor Park, Tullamore, TBC
Louth v Antrim, Drogheda, TBC
Westmeath v Fermanagh, Cusack Park, Mullingar, TBC

*Full fixture details for these three ties will be confirmed on Monday, June 24 once Hurling Phase 1 teams are confirmed.

Post by: Captain Obvious on June 17, 2013, 05:10:25 PM
Should be round one wins for
Laois,Longford,Galway,Armagh,Derry,Tyrone,Louth,Westmeath.

Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 17, 2013, 06:29:23 PM
Were still angry and beating derry won't change that not that will happen anyhow.
Post by: ONeill on June 17, 2013, 06:30:30 PM

Tell us more:

Fashion?
Culinary delights?
Customs?
Post by: Dont Matter on June 17, 2013, 07:21:42 PM

It's a kip.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on June 17, 2013, 07:46:26 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on June 17, 2013, 02:28:55 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on June 17, 2013, 12:00:12 PM
Galway v Tipperary

He was still causing mayhem in his native county championships up till about 7 years ago so maybe he could be coaxed out of retirement. ;D It might get some of the Galway buck more interested in this game!
Thought the auld lad was goin to leap out of the top deck of the old Cusack that day and bate 10 coulous out of the hoor - in hindsight though, we did ourselves in the build up to that match..............
Post by: ross4life on June 17, 2013, 07:52:48 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 17, 2013, 06:29:23 PM
Were still angry and beating derry won't change that not that will happen anyhow.

David Kelly should be set for a return. It will likely be Kevin Walsh last Sligo game are you flying home for the send off?
Post by: magpie seanie on June 18, 2013, 12:09:51 AM

Can't see us getting within 10 points. Why are they bringing the game up to Owenbeg? That's the clincher in my decision to go, not a hope now. Celtic Park might have been doable. I know there Will be feck all at it either way....

Edit....forgot about Feile.
Post by: Syferus on June 18, 2013, 12:15:56 AM
Quote from: ross4life on June 17, 2013, 07:52:48 PM

David Kelly should be set for a return. It will likely be Kevin Walsh last Sligo game are you flying home for the send off?

Sure he still has the juniors to lead, ross4life. There's life in the old Walshie yet.
Post by: macdanger2 on June 18, 2013, 12:55:14 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on June 17, 2013, 05:10:25 PM
Should be round one wins for
Laois,Longford,Galway,Armagh,Derry,Tyrone,Louth,Westmeath.

I'd fancy at least one of Carlow / Tipp / Wicklow to spring a "surprise" - Carlow if I had to choose. Derry / Tyrone / Louth should all win with relative ease. The other two will be tight enough.
Post by: Lone Shark on June 18, 2013, 01:03:27 AM
Quote from: ONeill on June 17, 2013, 06:30:30 PM

Tell us more:

Fashion?
Culinary delights?
Customs?

Have a night in the Bridge House Hotel after the game. All three will be fully in evidence.
Post by: seafoid on June 18, 2013, 05:51:41 AM
Quote from: Lone Shark on June 18, 2013, 01:03:27 AM

Tell us more:

Fashion?
Culinary delights?
Customs?

Have a night in the Bridge House Hotel after the game. All three will be fully in evidence.
Offaly has that air of a county that knows it can win all Irelands . There was a barber from Offaly in that film about Paidi and Westmeath who had won Sam. And poor Westmeath would be more comfortable with long-term mediocrity. Offaly is much more self confident rhan Kildare.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 18, 2013, 06:04:58 AM

The funny thing is its likely the Sligo team will pass through Cliffoney and i may get a big sign erected with Good Luck Sligo, Off back to Galway Walsh, Signed with love All Sligo Suppporters.

If David Kelly is anywhere near this team i will go mental, hes been out for 12 months and played half a club game for tubber. Save yourself until next yr David.
Post by: Hardy on June 18, 2013, 11:07:39 AM

Tell us more:

Fashion?
Culinary delights?
Customs?

No customs. Don't worry.
Post by: Aristo 60 on June 18, 2013, 11:28:17 AM
Quote from: seafoid on June 18, 2013, 05:51:41 AM

Offaly is the Southern equivalent of Down. Discuss.

Tell us more:

Fashion?
Culinary delights?
Customs?

Offaly has that air of a county that knows it can win all Irelands . There was a barber from Offaly in that film about Paidi and Westmeath who had won Sam. And poor Westmeath would be more comfortable with long-term mediocrity. Offaly is much more self confident rhan Kildare.
Post by: seafoid on June 18, 2013, 12:45:57 PM
Quote from: Aristo 60 on June 18, 2013, 11:28:17 AM
Quote from: seafoid on June 18, 2013, 05:51:41 AM

Offaly is the Southern equivalent of Down. Discuss.

Tell us more:

Fashion?
Culinary delights?
Customs?

I think so. Down have that ease with winning when they have a good team as well. 
Post by: omagh_gael on June 29, 2013, 08:46:30 PM
Beaten semi finalists:

Down
Roscommon
Cavan
Clare
Waterford
Dublin/Kildare
Meath/Wexford
Leitrim/London

Back door winners

Tyrone
Longford
Louth
Galway
Fermanagh
Armagh/Wicklow
Derry/Sligo
Laois

Who do you want/not want?

From a Tyrone perspective I wouldn't mind who we face apart from another Ulster team or losers of Dublin v Kildare.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 29, 2013, 08:51:56 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on June 29, 2013, 08:46:30 PM
Beaten semi finalists:

Down
Roscommon
Cavan
Clare
Limerick
Dublin/Kildare
Meath/Wexford
Leitrim/London

Back door winners

Tyrone
Longford
Louth
Galway
Fermanagh
Armagh/Wicklow
Derry/Sligo
Laois

From a Tyrone perspective I wouldn't mind who we face apart from another Ulster team or losers of Dublin v Kildare.

Given another chance?
Post by: Rossfan on June 29, 2013, 08:52:35 PM
Larries or Herrins would be nice  :-*
Post by: seafoid on June 29, 2013, 08:56:55 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on June 29, 2013, 08:51:56 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on June 29, 2013, 08:46:30 PM
Beaten semi finalists:

Down
Roscommon
Cavan
Clare
Limerick
Dublin/Kildare
Meath/Wexford
Leitrim/London

Back door winners

Tyrone
Longford
Louth
Galway
Fermanagh
Armagh/Wicklow
Derry/Sligo
Laois

Given another chance?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ecWZpYX-aKg
Post by: FermGael on June 29, 2013, 08:57:22 PM
Cavan.
Post by: omagh_gael on June 29, 2013, 09:18:33 PM
Oops. Post amended.
Post by: mb80b60 on June 29, 2013, 09:37:10 PM
Quote from: FermGael on June 29, 2013, 08:57:22 PM
Cavan.

Can we draw Cavan having already played them?

Cracking match in Mullingar today.
Post by: omagh_gael on June 29, 2013, 09:39:34 PM
I think the rule where you can't play someone you've already played only comes into play for the last round of the qualifiers.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 29, 2013, 11:21:01 PM
Just back from Longford where we put a pretty dreadful Limerick to the sword.

Rarely have I seen Longford on top of every position on the field and we really should have scored more.

Limerick had two lads sent off (one straight - he was hell bent on getting it, one for 2 yellows) and the second Longford goal will haunt the poor Limerick defender for ever as he had a free out near the sideline about 20 yards from his goal. He decides to turn around and pass the free back to the goalie only he put it straight in Longford's JJ Matthews hands who couldn't refuse the gift and slotted it home.

I did feel sorry for the poor Limerick lad.

Middling crowd. About 2,000. Standard of fayre on offer not really anything to get excited about. A win is a win though and here's to Monday morning's draw.
Post by: Qwerty28 on June 29, 2013, 11:28:51 PM
A first win this year has to be acknowledged Shamrock, cheers for the update as didn't head down from the big smhoke this evening!! 

No withdrawals from the squad after Wicklow game and fair play to the lads for sticking with it despite the demoralising form up to now.  In the draw on Monday and cant ask for much more, a winnable home draw again and things are looking up again...
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 29, 2013, 11:39:27 PM
Of course Qwerty. A win has to be acknowledged  but did we not beat UCD in O'Byrne Cup? Anyhoo as I said we were on top everywhere and the midfield lads put in a great shift. Usual suspects also did what was required. Crowd gasped at one stage when Barry Gilleran was spotted on the Limerick 40!
Post by: panc56 on June 30, 2013, 12:13:00 AM
I couldn't help think back to last year and wonder how Limerick have slipped back so much in a year. Div 4 football this season didn't help them. Slow, cumbersome and awful. Longford can be happy with the win and another game against a similar standard opponent (home or away) could give them enough confidence to rattle a big gun in R3 at home. This team is quite experienced but it could be the last hurray for a group of players Barden, Sheridan, Gilleran, Mulligan, McGee.
Mondays draw will be interesting.
Post by: Syferus on June 30, 2013, 12:25:30 AM
I think any matches not involving Tyrone and Kildare/Dublin will be toss ups, with Down and Derry having the edge in the remaining group of teams if the later can beat Sligo tomorrow. I honestly hope the draw throws up at least one tie between those four to spice things up and give more teams a solid shot at progress.

R2 looks like mainly being a dog fight between D2-3 teams.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 30, 2013, 12:33:27 PM
Sligonian, magpie seanie et al, Eamon O'Hara expects ye to do the business today.
Post by: Itchy on June 30, 2013, 04:11:21 PM
Can Cavan be drawn against Fermanagh or Armagh given that we played them already?
Post by: omagh_gael on June 30, 2013, 04:34:48 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 30, 2013, 04:11:21 PM
Can Cavan be drawn against Fermanagh or Armagh given that we played them already?

Yes to both. As far as I am aware it's only provincial final losers who are exempt from playing their conquerors if they reach the AI QF.
Post by: The Insider on June 30, 2013, 04:46:43 PM
Will miss Longford's game next weekend , a game against 1 of our neighbours would be welcome. Hard to see Leitrim picking themselves up off the ground looking at the half time score in the Hyde . Would hope to avoid Wexford as we have seen enough of them over the last few years. Kildare if the full time result stays the same which it should as the Dubs should have at least 2 more goals will be the strongest of the semi final losers and the team all will want to avoid
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 30, 2013, 05:27:30 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 30, 2013, 12:33:27 PM
Sligonian, magpie seanie et al, Eamon O'Hara expects ye to do the business today.
derry 7-1 up, where did eoh say that?
Post by: Blowitupref on June 30, 2013, 06:22:20 PM
13mins to go Derry 0-12 Sligo 0-6
Post by: larryin89 on June 30, 2013, 06:26:15 PM
Sligo getting hammered now, Connacht football has never been as poor.Really needs Mayo to win aIre to gloss over it.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 30, 2013, 06:36:59 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 30, 2013, 05:27:30 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 30, 2013, 12:33:27 PM
derry 7-1 up, where did eoh say that?

Sindo column.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 30, 2013, 06:38:02 PM
FT Derry 0-15 Sligo 0-8
Post by: SHEEDY on June 30, 2013, 06:46:17 PM
good chance of us (down) having another ulster derby in the draw tomorrow. hopefully can avoid tyrone. anyone else we would fancy our chances. a home draw would also be nice. anyone know how they determine who plays home or away?
Post by: From the Bunker on June 30, 2013, 06:50:09 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on June 30, 2013, 06:26:15 PM
Sligo getting hammered now, Connacht football has never been as poor.Really needs Mayo to win aIre to gloss over it.

Now, Now. Has history not taught you to be a little more humble. False dawns and all that!  ::)
Post by: larryin89 on June 30, 2013, 06:50:14 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on June 30, 2013, 06:46:17 PM
good chance of us (down) having another ulster derby in the draw tomorrow. hopefully can avoid tyrone. anyone else we would fancy our chances. a home draw would also be nice. anyone know how they determine who plays home or away?

Put back into the pot to determine home/away.
Post by: SHEEDY on June 30, 2013, 07:14:17 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on June 30, 2013, 06:50:14 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on June 30, 2013, 06:46:17 PM

Put back into the pot to determine home/away.
cheers. is the draw on rte radio1 at 8.30 tomorrow?
Title: Sligeach
Post by: drici on June 30, 2013, 07:30:32 PM
Walshy is away - resigned.
Title: Re: Sligeach
Post by: Syferus on June 30, 2013, 07:33:45 PM
Quote from: drici on June 30, 2013, 07:30:32 PM

Won't anyone please think of the juniors?
Post by: ross4life on June 30, 2013, 07:37:11 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 18, 2013, 12:15:56 AM

Sure he still has the juniors to lead, ross4life. There's life in the old Walshie yet.
Gone after todays expected defeat, Syferus.
Title: Re: Sligeach
Post by: From the Bunker on June 30, 2013, 07:37:39 PM
Quote from: drici on June 30, 2013, 07:30:32 PM

Inevitable! Dead man walking for the guts of a month now.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 30, 2013, 09:04:44 PM
Derry were quite poor the day outside the first 15mins, so it didnt say alot about sligo, who kicked a lot of scorable points wide plus had a point blank goal attempt saved
Post by: Minus15 on June 30, 2013, 09:45:06 PM
Armagh
Fermanagh
Louth
Tyrone
Derry
Laois
Galway
Longford

Down
Cavan
Leitrim
Roscommon
Wexford
Kildare
Clare
Waterford

Down V Galway
Louth v Waterford
Armagh V Cavan
Derry v Kildare
Clare V Tyrone
Leitrim v Longford
Roscommon v Fermanagh
Wexford v Laois
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 30, 2013, 09:48:32 PM
minus 15, no chance you give me the lotto nos for tues nite, with that fore sight!!
Post by: naka on June 30, 2013, 10:24:19 PM
Can Armagh get Waterford or Clare at home
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 30, 2013, 10:26:59 PM
g wouldnt want Kildare, that be the strongest of the 8 semi finalist even at home
Post by: armaghniac on June 30, 2013, 10:28:48 PM
One useless game in Armagh is bad enough, Clare or Waterford would be similar.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 30, 2013, 10:56:31 PM
A party wkend in Clare would do fine i think
Post by: naka on June 30, 2013, 11:06:59 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 30, 2013, 10:28:48 PM
One useless game in Armagh is bad enough, Clare or Waterford would be similar.
Speak for yourself
I want to iron out the system get the forkers back and hopefully have toner and Vernon in the mix before we play one of the main challengers
Post by: All of a Sludden on June 30, 2013, 11:10:42 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 30, 2013, 10:26:59 PM
g wouldnt want Kildare, that be the strongest of the 8 semi finalist even at home

Kildare me hole. The most over rated, over hyped team in the history of the GAA. What have they won?
Post by: sans pessimism on June 30, 2013, 11:16:12 PM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on June 30, 2013, 11:10:42 PM

Kildare me hole. The most over rated, over hyped team in the history of the GAA. What have they won?
tada
Post by: From the Bunker on June 30, 2013, 11:16:26 PM

The O'Byrne Cup!
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 30, 2013, 11:16:44 PM
thye be the strongest whats left on that side of the draw plus trimmed us twice in recent years
Post by: Syferus on June 30, 2013, 11:18:46 PM

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr, those Kildare buggers, always with their fancy cars, fancy beards and fancy wimen. I'd teach 'em if I got me hands on them.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 30, 2013, 11:33:53 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 30, 2013, 11:18:46 PM

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr, those Kildare buggers, always with their fancy cars, fancy beards and fancy wimen. I'd teach 'em if I got me hands on them.

I bet you would Sy!  :P
Post by: PatDaly on June 30, 2013, 11:39:56 PM
From an Ulster and Armagh point of view this would be the best draw...

Armagh v Waterford (at Athletic Grounds)
Tyrone v Down (at Omagh)
Derry v Clare (at Owenbeg)
Fermanagh v Leitrim (at Enniskillen)
Cavan v Longford (at Breffni)
Kildare v Galway (in Newbridge)
Louth v Roscommon (in Drogheda)
Laois v Wexford (in Portlaois)
Post by: armaghniac on June 30, 2013, 11:43:50 PM
PatDaly your draw sounds good, especially as it gets rid of Down!
Post by: Syferus on June 30, 2013, 11:47:57 PM
Quote from: PatDaly on June 30, 2013, 11:39:56 PM
From an Ulster and Armagh point of view this would be the best draw...

Armagh v Waterford (at Athletic Grounds)
Tyrone v Down (at Omagh)
Derry v Clare (at Owenbeg)
Fermanagh v Leitrim (at Enniskillen)
Cavan v Longford (at Breffni)
Kildare v Galway (in Newbridge)
Louth v Roscommon (in Drogheda)
Laois v Wexford (in Portlaois)

Wouldn't hold the Ros hoards. Navan? Croke Park?
Post by: artisan2010 on July 01, 2013, 12:19:52 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 30, 2013, 11:43:50 PM
PatDaly your draw sounds good, especially as it gets rid of Down!

I'd prefer Armagh in the Athletic grounds to minimise travel costs for our beleaguered neigbours and to do our bit for the environment by making sure none of that dodgy diesal has to leave ARmagh
Post by: Onion Bag on July 01, 2013, 08:38:25 AM
Any word on the draw lads?
Post by: Abble on July 01, 2013, 08:42:07 AM
leitrim v armagh
roscommon v tyrone
derry v down
Post by: CC1 on July 01, 2013, 08:43:40 AM
Fermanagh again?! Joke of a system...  ::)
Post by: Onion Bag on July 01, 2013, 08:46:20 AM
Quote from: Abble on July 01, 2013, 08:42:07 AM
leitrim v armagh
roscommon v tyrone
derry v down

Isnt there another draw to determine home and away
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 01, 2013, 08:48:16 AM
No Onion.

They put one ball from each bowl in a third bowl and the first one out had home advantage.

Longford v Wexford in two weeks time in Pearse Park.

Feck.
Post by: ballinaman on July 01, 2013, 08:49:24 AM
Clare v Laois;
Derry v Down;
Longford v Wexford;
Leitrim v Armagh;
Cavan v Fermanagh.
Galway v Waterford,
Clare v Laois,
Derry v Down
Roscommon v Tyrone

Meh.
Post by: Syferus on July 01, 2013, 08:50:04 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 01, 2013, 08:48:16 AM
No Onion.

They put one ball from each bowl in a third bowl and the first one out had home advantage.

Longford v Wexford in two weeks time in Pearse Park.

Feck.

Yeah, ye really got the short end of the sticl there, Sham.
Post by: Onion Bag on July 01, 2013, 08:55:07 AM
Kildare???
Post by: shezam on July 01, 2013, 08:57:34 AM
Kildare v Louth
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 01, 2013, 08:57:50 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on July 01, 2013, 08:49:24 AM
Clare v Laois;
Longford v Wexford;
Leitrim v Armagh;
Cavan v Fermanagh.
Galway v Waterford,
Clare v Laois,
Derry v Down
Roscommon v Tyrone

Meh.

Only three ties that are hard to call.
Post by: sans pessimism on July 01, 2013, 08:58:30 AM
Syf,those portoloos in the Hyde can be
put into hibernation next Monday till next summer  ;)
Post by: Onion Bag on July 01, 2013, 08:59:54 AM
Armagh down to play leitrim the 6th/7th whereas, Kildare, Wexford, Cavan all get an extra week,

can anyone explain?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 01, 2013, 09:01:08 AM
Quote from: Onion Bag on July 01, 2013, 08:59:54 AM
Armagh down to play leitrim the 6th/7th whereas, Kildare, Wexford, Cavan all get an extra week,

can anyone explain?

Leitrim game was a replay I think and therefore they don't get the extra week. Shit if you ask me.
Post by: Onion Bag on July 01, 2013, 09:03:56 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on July 01, 2013, 09:01:08 AM

can anyone explain?

Leitrim game was a replay I think and therefore they don't get the extra week. Shit if you ask me.

Shit if you ask me too, Next week does not suit me  :(
Post by: laoislad on July 01, 2013, 09:04:13 AM
Clare v Laois must be a double header with Clare v Laois in the hurling I'd hope.
Post by: Syferus on July 01, 2013, 09:04:44 AM

can anyone explain?

Lovely spot Carrick is, BC1, especially south of the Shannon. You might even see the Merrigan Cup gleaming in the distance if you clamper up high enough in the stand.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 01, 2013, 09:07:45 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 01, 2013, 09:04:44 AM

can anyone explain?

Lovely spot Carrick is, BC1, especially south of the Shannon. You might even see the Merrigan Cup gleaming in the distance if you clamper up high enough in the stand.

Meh, seen it enough already and a lot closer up to than you so it's no big deal :P :P
Post by: donelli on July 01, 2013, 09:08:09 AM
Thought teams couldnt be drawn against teams they played previously???
Post by: omagh_gael on July 01, 2013, 09:10:20 AM
Quote from: donelli on July 01, 2013, 09:08:09 AM
Thought teams couldnt be drawn against teams they played previously???

I mentioned this earlier in thread. That rule only applies to teams who could meet in QF and who played eachother in their provincial final.

Post by: seafoid on July 01, 2013, 09:12:55 AM
Looks like Galway are playing the hurling counties one by one.
Beautiful draw.

Down vs Derry will take out one of the bigger counties.

I feel sorry for the genuine Ros fans. Syferus will be insufferable for a few weeks and then radio silence
Post by: LeoMc on July 01, 2013, 09:16:29 AM

Must be your dream draw then....
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on July 01, 2013, 09:17:49 AM
Dont really know many stats on the draw but it seems to me Ulster teams get drawn together more often than most in the qualifiers. Good draw for Armagh although im glad its away to stiffen the test a little more, before yesterday i'd have said there's no easy games anymore but quite frankly after this weekends evidence i'd be lying.
Post by: Jinxy on July 01, 2013, 09:21:09 AM
Quote from: shezam on July 01, 2013, 08:57:34 AM
Kildare v Louth

We're using Navan for an outdoor line-dancing festival so don't even ask.
Post by: Syferus on July 01, 2013, 09:21:28 AM
Quote from: seafoid on July 01, 2013, 09:12:55 AM
Looks like Galway are playing the hurling counties one by one.
Beautiful draw.

Down vs Derry will take out one of the bigger counties.

I feel sorry for the genuine Ros fans. Syferus will be insufferable for a few weeks and then radio silence

Why would I stop if I'm still going a few weeks after Saturday's game?
Post by: imtommygunn on July 01, 2013, 09:22:08 AM
That is a rubbish draw. Teams shouldn't be allowed to play again until much later on.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 01, 2013, 09:22:39 AM
QuoteYeah, ye really got the short end of the sticl there, Sham.

Ara - what harm. I like Wexford although I'm sick of them as we've played in League and Championship a million times overs the past 10-15 years.

Home advantage may tell but if the Wexford fwds click then we could be in for a torrid evening. Had it been in Wexford then I am afraid it would be bag-packing time.
The win over Limerick may have stopped the rot, mentally, but it was a shockingly poor Limerick side.

The lads will give it their all, of that I have no doubt so I will look forward to this one and, who knows, we've beaten 'bigger' sides in the Qs in Longford.
Post by: DennistheMenace on July 01, 2013, 09:23:11 AM
Terrible draw really. Especially for Down and Cavan probably.
Post by: waterfordlad on July 01, 2013, 10:43:44 AM
There's plenty scope to avoid repeat pairings with so many teams in the hat from different provinces so why don't the GAA do it.
Post by: Cold tea on July 01, 2013, 11:00:01 AM
Quote from: waterfordlad on July 01, 2013, 10:43:44 AM
There's plenty scope to avoid repeat pairings with so many teams in the hat from different provinces so why don't the GAA do it.

Why should they?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 01, 2013, 11:04:09 AM
It's either a random draw or it isn't.

Repeat pairings always seem to happen for whatever reason. I don't subscribe the conspiracy theory of 'hot balls' or hamsters running around the place.

I mean if you throw a coin up in the air 10 times you could get 10 heads.
Post by: Stall the Bailer on July 01, 2013, 11:17:48 AM
Down to the last 24 now, this round might see the exit of some of the big teams (Div 1 from this year).
Post by: Jinxy on July 01, 2013, 11:32:09 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 01, 2013, 11:04:09 AM

Repeat pairings always seem to happen for whatever reason. I don't subscribe the conspiracy theory of 'hot balls' or hamsters running around the place.

They've been using that old warm hamster trick for years.
Post by: jodyb on July 01, 2013, 12:01:24 PM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on July 01, 2013, 09:23:11 AM
Derry and Fermanagh folk won't be thrilled with it either. Certainly other teams they would have preferred
Post by: gwan-ye-boy-ya on July 01, 2013, 12:24:55 PM
are the rossies gonna talk up another big game like they did mayo?
they are gonna be steam rolled by tyrone. just like they were by mayo.
Post by: seafoid on July 01, 2013, 12:29:58 PM
Quote from: gwan-ye-boy-ya on July 01, 2013, 12:24:55 PM

There is only one soi disant Ros fan who talks up the team.
He's 12.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 01, 2013, 12:32:34 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 01, 2013, 12:29:58 PM
Quote from: gwan-ye-boy-ya on July 01, 2013, 12:24:55 PM

There is only one soi disant Ros fan who talks up the team.
He's 12.

Post by: AZOffaly on July 01, 2013, 12:42:44 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 01, 2013, 11:32:09 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 01, 2013, 11:04:09 AM

They've been using that old warm hamster trick for years.

It's only the hamster's balls that are warmed up.
Post by: Jinxy on July 01, 2013, 01:33:49 PM
Makes him run around more thus increasing the randomness.
Post by: Hardy on July 01, 2013, 01:37:43 PM
That's the first time I've ever seen the phrase "soi disant" deployed in GAA circumstances. And I even remember Kevin Cashman.

Anyway - what's the problem with repeat pairings? I think they just add a bit of spice and it seems the qualifiers need all the spice they can get what with supporters turning up their noses at travelling to exotic venues they'd never otherwise get to see and players fecking off to New York because they bizarrely conclude the championship is over after their first defeat rather than their second.

(I'm practising the enjoyment of long sentences in anticipation of the extradition of the Drummer.)
Post by: magpie seanie on July 01, 2013, 01:52:49 PM
Thank God it's over.
Post by: bcarrier on July 01, 2013, 02:17:04 PM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on July 01, 2013, 09:23:11 AM

Good test for Down. If the Donegal game was a real step up they should be too strong for Derry (again).
Post by: DJGaliv on July 01, 2013, 02:32:36 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 01, 2013, 01:52:49 PM
Thank God it's over.

This is a big problem now in the championship. A few years ago it was, great we can have a cut at one of the big boys - Tyrone/Dublin/Kerry and we might catch them on an off day. For example 10 years ago Roscommon heading up to Croker to play Kerry and giving them a fright and having a day out.

Now, it's Christ I hope we don't get a tanking. Maybe it would be better to lose to a middle of the road county like Derry and avoid the embarrassment of a thrashing. I'm a Galwayman and that's my gut feelings in this qualifier.

It seems we are heading down the path to a tiered football championship as in hurling.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 01, 2013, 02:43:57 PM
The qualifiers were sold as being a second chance for all these poor auld divils who train like dogs all year only to have it all end in 1 game in May or June. Fair enough. But what it has actually done, and was probably always intended to do, was give the big counties a safety net.

For quite a few counties, I get the impression that when they are beaten in the Provincial championship, the qualifers hold very little appeal. Certainly the first round or two. Offaly would have been better off to get promotion, give Kildare a decent game, and then go back to their clubs until the winter training again.

Instead we've had defections to go to America, hurlers being drafted into the panel in an emergency, and the mother of all beatings from Tyrone. Is that really a good thing for Offaly?

I know it's their own fault as well, but if the perception is that the Qualifers are just delaying the inevitable, what's the point other than getting the likes of Tyrone, Kildare  and a few others back in the saddle? Offaly, Wicklow, Limerick, Westmeath, Antrim, Sligo, Carlow and I daresay the likes of Clare, Waterford and Leitrim would be better off if the season ended when their hopes for a provincial title went south.

We talk about formats and more games, but if the approach to the qualifier games are anything to go by, the players from the 'developing' counties don't want more games, they want a tilit at their province, and then forget it.

Post by: balladmaker on July 01, 2013, 02:56:37 PM
For what it's worth, here's my tuppence worth ...

Break the link completely between Provincial Championships and the All Ireland.

Have the Provincial Championships as stand alone competitions, knock out, no back door. 

Have an open draw for the All Ireland, knock out, no back door.  Let the open draw remove the built in bias afforded by the Provincial Championships. 
Post by: AZOffaly on July 01, 2013, 03:01:39 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on July 01, 2013, 02:56:37 PM

Have the Provincial Championships as stand alone competitions, knock out, no back door. 

Have an open draw for the All Ireland, knock out, no back door.  Let the open draw remove the built in bias afforded by the Provincial Championships.

I think they would say that's exactly what the situation is balladmaker. Effectively the Qualifiers are an independent competition, on an open draw basis. The Provincials only determine at what stage of the All Ireland championship you enter.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 01, 2013, 03:15:23 PM
Quote from: DJGaliv on July 01, 2013, 02:32:36 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 01, 2013, 01:52:49 PM
Thank God it's over.

This is a big problem now in the championship. A few years ago it was, great we can have a cut at one of the big boys - Tyrone/Dublin/Kerry and we might catch them on an off day. For example 10 years ago Roscommon heading up to Croker to play Kerry and giving them a fright and having a day out.

Now, it's Christ I hope we don't get a tanking. Maybe it would be better to lose to a middle of the road county like Derry and avoid the embarrassment of a thrashing. I'm a Galwayman and that's my gut feelings in this qualifier.

It seems we are heading down the path to a tiered football championship as in hurling.

I wasn't on about our participation in this years championship.
Post by: Rossfan on July 01, 2013, 03:18:28 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 01, 2013, 03:01:39 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on July 01, 2013, 02:56:37 PM

I think they would say that's exactly what the situation is balladmaker. Effectively the Qualifiers are an independent competition, on an open draw basis. The Provincials only determine at what stage of the All Ireland championship you enter.

+1.

Hard to know where to go -
A tiered championship where progress in a lower one gets you into the higher one - No NO NO will be the answer we want to play in the real All Ireland even though we haven't a hope in hell of even winning a game . Next breath "and sure we're better off out of it". Make sense of that if ye will.
Group stages round robin  - Ah sure that will hold up the Club championships and only give a load of meaning less games. But in the next breath they'll say "What teams like us need is more games , sure how can we improve being knocked out and season over before 1st July.
No matter what system comes in or remains in place -there will be crap teams who will get blown away and a few top ones who will always get to the closing stages.

Perhaps Stand alone Provincials with the Champions being top seeds.
Then an All Ireland where seeds 25- 32 play an open draw, 4 Winners join seeds 13 to 24 in an open draw, 8 winners join seeds 5 to 12 in the next round, 8 winners play each other and then join the Provincial Champions in the AIQFs.
Obviously a tightening of the Provincials time frame badly needed ( Connacht Championship with 6 (European) Counties took from 19/5 to 21/7)
By whom or how would the seedings be determined???
Post by: snoopdog on July 01, 2013, 04:08:27 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 01, 2013, 02:43:57 PM
The qualifiers were sold as being a second chance for all these poor auld divils who train like dogs all year only to have it all end in 1 game in May or June. Fair enough. But what it has actually done, and was probably always intended to do, was give the big counties a safety net.

For quite a few counties, I get the impression that when they are beaten in the Provincial championship, the qualifers hold very little appeal. Certainly the first round or two. Offaly would have been better off to get promotion, give Kildare a decent game, and then go back to their clubs until the winter training again.

Instead we've had defections to go to America, hurlers being drafted into the panel in an emergency, and the mother of all beatings from Tyrone. Is that really a good thing for Offaly?

I know it's their own fault as well, but if the perception is that the Qualifers are just delaying the inevitable, what's the point other than getting the likes of Tyrone, Kildare  and a few others back in the saddle? Offaly, Wicklow, Limerick, Westmeath, Antrim, Sligo, Carlow and I daresay the likes of Clare, Waterford and Leitrim would be better off if the season ended when their hopes for a provincial title went south.

We talk about formats and more games, but if the approach to the qualifier games are anything to go by, the players from the 'developing' counties don't want more games, they want a tilit at their province, and then forget it.
I totally agree for the smaller counties its all about a day in the sun in their provincial  championship. The qualifiers are not attractive at all.
Post by: Lone Shark on July 01, 2013, 04:17:27 PM
I like this article by Ciarán Murphy - http://www.thescore.ie/ciaran-murphy-column-gaa-973645-Jul2013/ (http://www.thescore.ie/ciaran-murphy-column-gaa-973645-Jul2013/) - and I'd agree that a big part of doing well in the qualifiers is about adjusting your expectations and adapting to the different environment. Obviously for some smaller counties playing in front of ten men and two dogs is nothing new, but for others it's a change and they struggle to get their heads around it.

What I would take from it is this - the longer the qualifiers go on, the more we see that the provincial championships have to be left alone. Provincial games mean something to pretty much every county, and any ideas that involve relegating the provincial championships to a secondary competition played in April or May as a stand alone need to be thrown out the window right now.

I'd actually go the other way of thinking - perhaps we need to have the backdoor within the provincial system? If players are motivated by the title they feel they can win, then maybe we need to put something in place that feeds into that. For example, Ulster could play three groups of three, with the group winners going into the provincial semi-final and the three runners up competing for the final spot, Munster could do the same with two groups of three and semis, Leinster could take in either London or New York for a change and do four threes, and then quarters, with Connacht replicating Munster, now that they've lost one of London or New York.

The critical issue here is that teams still get two games and if they lose their first one, they still have a chance of winning the provincial title.

I'm not saying it's perfect, I've just thought of it on the spot, but what is clear is that a backdoor into the All Ireland race is making no appeal for a lot of teams. 
Post by: seafoid on July 01, 2013, 04:29:37 PM

Offaly were unlucky with the draw. Tipp followed by the Deise would have gone down better. At least you know the faithful will be back sometime. No such comfort in westmeath.
Post by: balladmaker on July 01, 2013, 04:43:19 PM
QuoteI think they would say that's exactly what the situation is balladmaker. Effectively the Qualifiers are an independent competition, on an open draw basis. The Provincials only determine at what stage of the All Ireland championship you enter.

My point is that the Provincials should have no impact on the All Ireland whatsoever due to the fact that they load All Ireland Q/Final qualification in favour of several counties each year.  The fact that they presently dictate where you enter the All Ireland series should be removed.  I can see why Kerry & Cork would be against this though.

Any All Ireland competition needs to afford each county of playing the same number of rounds  to get to the Q/Final stage, and an open draw means anyone can draw anyone.  At present, Kerry never get the chance to travel to Omagh in a first round Championship game, or Tyrone to Waterford etc. etc.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 01, 2013, 04:48:57 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 01, 2013, 04:29:37 PM

Offaly were unlucky with the draw. Tipp followed by the Deise would have gone down better. At least you know the faithful will be back sometime. No such comfort in westmeath.

I don't know if you're being patronising or not seafoid, but I think you are right. I know we'll be back, but I think when we do come back it will be via the Leinster championship. We (and a fair few other like us) just don't seem to be hardwired to see getting to round 4 of the qualifiers as a really successful season. Maybe it's ingrained in us, or maybe it's an unrealistic expectation, but every year when the grass starts to be cut, and you can see the evenings getting longer and the ground getting a bit firmer, Offaly tell themselves we can win a Leinster. When we find out that we can't, we generally speaking throw our hat at it. Probably a shocking attitude, but it seems to be the way of it. As a coach, I'd be re-calibrating targets and setting new goals, but I know in Offaly I'd lose half the dressing room and 3/4 of the fans.

The flipside of that is that when we *do* become good enough, we'll take the bull by the horns and win something. I'm sure of it. I hope we have a good league campaign next year, and then get a nice draw in the first round in Leinster. Offaly are a fierce 'momentum' team.

By the way, not sure about the Westmeath comment. I think they'll be fine in the short to medium term at least.
Post by: Lone Shark on July 01, 2013, 05:45:22 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on July 01, 2013, 04:43:19 PM
QuoteI think they would say that's exactly what the situation is balladmaker. Effectively the Qualifiers are an independent competition, on an open draw basis. The Provincials only determine at what stage of the All Ireland championship you enter.

My point is that the Provincials should have no impact on the All Ireland whatsoever due to the fact that they load All Ireland Q/Final qualification in favour of several counties each year.  The fact that they presently dictate where you enter the All Ireland series should be removed.  I can see why Kerry & Cork would be against this though.

Any All Ireland competition needs to afford each county of playing the same number of rounds  to get to the Q/Final stage, and an open draw means anyone can draw anyone.  At present, Kerry never get the chance to travel to Omagh in a first round Championship game, or Tyrone to Waterford etc. etc.

In a competition where there is a realistic prospect of a potential All Ireland winner slipping up to a middling team, I'd say fair enough - but that really doesn't happen any more. When was the last time that a middle of the road team knocked a top five side out of the championship?

If Tyrone are so poor that they trip up to any of the teams in that round 2 pot, they aren't within ten points of winning an All Ireland. And to be honest, none of the other fifteen teams in there (or three of the four teams that will join after the provincial finals) are in with a shout either.

The All Ireland will be determined by the big games between the top teams, as is almost always the case. Tyrone will play a few more games to get there than Kerry or Cork will, but they'll all end up in the quarters either way.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 01, 2013, 06:03:58 PM
Quote from: Lone Shark on July 01, 2013, 05:45:22 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on July 01, 2013, 04:43:19 PM

In a competition where there is a realistic prospect of a potential All Ireland winner slipping up to a middling team, I'd say fair enough - but that really doesn't happen any more. When was the last time that a middle of the road team knocked a top five side out of the championship?

If Tyrone are so poor that they trip up to any of the teams in that round 2 pot, they aren't within ten points of winning an All Ireland. And to be honest, none of the other fifteen teams in there (or three of the four teams that will join after the provincial finals) are in with a shout either.

The All Ireland will be determined by the big games between the top teams, as is almost always the case. Tyrone will play a few more games to get there than Kerry or Cork will, but they'll all end up in the quarters either way.

Tyrone v Sligo,Laois in 2002,2006?
Post by: Syferus on July 01, 2013, 06:10:11 PM
Kerry beat us in 2003.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 01, 2013, 06:20:44 PM
Armagh v Fermanagh in 2004 another one.
Post by: JP on July 01, 2013, 06:27:48 PM
Down v Kerry in 2010

there is probably quite a few examples if you thought about it.
Post by: Orior on July 01, 2013, 08:46:11 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 01, 2013, 06:20:44 PM

Obviously Captain. It still pains me.
Post by: naka on July 01, 2013, 09:51:55 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 01, 2013, 06:20:44 PM
Ah the one that got away
Fking hate bannon for the soft frees he gave that day to bring Fermanagh into it
And the less said about enda the better
Post by: Qwerty28 on July 01, 2013, 10:22:11 PM
Reading with interest everyone's comments on not only the draw but the current value of the qualifiers. In the majority of cases, it just prolonging the inevitable so does it really matter whether you go out in round 1 or 2 or round 4, esp if you have no realistic chance of even competing at the last 8 stage? 

My own county, Longford are a prime example....last year in Leinster we has realistic chance of getting to a provincial semi and win 2 back to back games in the province for first time since 1988 I think it was after beating Laois and then losing to Wexford after a replay....to be honest most followers would prefer that and rate that as progress rather than winning a few rounds of the qualifiers. The qualifiers are kind of gone stale as well, no novel pairings and the same games year on year, never mind the ones that took place more recently!

Post by: Jinxy on July 01, 2013, 10:37:08 PM
Quote from: Qwerty28 on July 01, 2013, 10:22:11 PM
Reading with interest everyone's comments on not only the draw but the current value of the qualifiers. In the majority of cases, it just prolonging the inevitable so does it really matter whether you go out in round 1 or 2 or round 4, esp if you have no realistic chance of even competing at the last 8 stage? 

My own county, Longford are a prime example....last year in Leinster we has realistic chance of getting to a provincial semi and win 2 back to back games in the province for first time since 1988 I think it was after beating Laois and then losing to Wexford after a replay....to be honest most followers would prefer that and rate that as progress rather than winning a few rounds of the qualifiers. The qualifiers are kind of gone stale as well, no novel pairings and the same games year on year, never mind the ones that took place more recently!

God, this type of attitude is getting really tiresome.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 01, 2013, 10:56:27 PM
Maybe we should revert to the US College football system of having journalists vote on who the best teams are and have a big vote live on RTE in September like the Eurovision to decide the destination of Sam and Liam. "Here are the votes of the Carlow Nationalist jury".....Yes, that would be great!!!!
Post by: Syferus on July 02, 2013, 12:24:20 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 01, 2013, 10:56:27 PM
Maybe we should revert to the US College football system of having journalists vote on who the best teams are and have a big vote live on RTE in September like the Eurovision to decide the destination of Sam and Liam. "Here are the votes of the Carlow Nationalist jury".....Yes, that would be great!!!!

Knowing the GAA it'd be on at 8AM on a Wendesday morning.
Post by: nrico2006 on July 02, 2013, 08:29:22 AM
Why haven't Tyrone got a home draw?  If Offaly are allowed a home tie when drawn out second why should Tyrone not be given the same?
Post by: LeoMc on July 02, 2013, 08:39:44 AM

Alternatively we could have the supporters vote at the end of each game, this would have a number of benefits.
1. It would encourage teams to play "nice attractive attacking football" so nothing for Spillane to complain about.
2. It would ensure the best supported teams reach the final, no more London in provincial finals so one less thing for Connaught council to complain about.
3. It would be a genuine reason to split Dublin up into Countyeens.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 02, 2013, 08:51:56 AM
Quote from: LeoMc on July 02, 2013, 08:39:44 AM

Alternatively we could have the supporters vote at the end of each game, this would have a number of benefits.
1. It would encourage teams to play "nice attractive attacking football" so nothing for Spillane to complain about.
2. It would ensure the best supported teams reach the final, no more London in provincial finals so one less thing for Connaught council to complain about.
3. It would be a genuine reason to split Dublin up into Countyeens.

Is there anyway that the GAA could organise a text vote for the TV viewers? Or we could have Spillane leading an X-factor style judging panel to decide who goes through. Yes you won the game by 10 points, but because you played a blanket defence we are sending you home!
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 02, 2013, 10:34:16 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on July 02, 2013, 08:29:22 AM
Why haven't Tyrone got a home draw?  If Offaly are allowed a home tie when drawn out second why should Tyrone not be given the same?

Some rule if you played away in 1st round of qualifiers the previous year, you get a home tie the next year. No such rule exists for the rest of the rounds though.

The Roscommon game will be Tyrone's 21st in the qualifiers since they started and they have played 3 at home - Louth replay 2006, Westmeath 2008 and Armagh 2011, 11 away and 7 at neutral venues.
Post by: theticklemister on July 02, 2013, 10:38:46 AM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on July 02, 2013, 10:34:16 AM

Some rule if you played away in 1st round of qualifiers the previous year, you get a home tie the next year. No such rule exists for the rest of the rounds though.

The Roscommon game will be Tyrone's 21st in the qualifiers since they started and they have played 3 at home - Louth replay 2006, Westmeath 2008 and Armagh 2011, 11 away and 7 at neutral venues.
Them Tyrone Farmers are loaded, they will be sweet.
Post by: Dont Matter on July 02, 2013, 07:48:02 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on May 26, 2013, 09:28:44 PM
I've maped a route through. Right so first you draw Carlow, then you draw the losers of London/Leitrim, then you have to hope one of the other crap teams have made it through as well, teams like Offaly, Wicklow or Armagh.You're in round 4 then and you pick the weakest provincial finalists, that will be the winners of London/Leitrim.
Now it's quarter final stage so you pick the weakest provincial winners, we'll go Mayo with that one. Semi final Connaught play Ulster so all you have to do is beat Donegal and then look after the Dubs in their home patch and you got yourself an All Ireland. Simple.
1. Beat Carlow
2. Beat London
3. Beat Offaly
4. Beat Leitrim
5. Beat Mayo
6. Beat Donegal
7. Beat Dublin
8. Wake up

I'm going to update the route through.
1. Beat Carlow DONE
2. Beat Clare
3. Beat Armagh
4. Beat Leitrim
5. Beat Mayo
6. Beat Donegal
7. Beat Dublin
8. The dream is still alive!
Post by: Syferus on July 02, 2013, 08:09:51 PM

Because ye're total bollix and Liam O'Neill wouldn't give ye the satisfaction.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 02, 2013, 11:57:14 PM
Clearly Dont Matter don't know his qualifiers. Impossible for you to meet Leitrim in round four as that is when provincial final losers enter the draw. Of course the rest of your predictions are more or less guaranteed to occur!
Post by: armaghniac on July 03, 2013, 12:45:26 AM
QuoteClearly Dont Matter don't know his qualifiers. Impossible for you to meet Leitrim in round four as that is when provincial final losers enter the draw. Of course the rest of your predictions are more or less guaranteed to occur!

As Don;t matter expects to play Armagh, who would only be there if they beat Leitrim, it seems that in his crystal ball that Leitrim got London thrown out for not being a county and not being in Ireland and so played Mayo, being hammered in the Connacht final.
Post by: seafoid on July 03, 2013, 05:25:56 AM
MI5 dirty tricks.
Post by: armaghniac on July 06, 2013, 03:32:57 PM
Waterford and Clare showing more fibre in their games than Wicklow, or perhaps Galway and Laois are useless.
Post by: joemamas on July 06, 2013, 03:36:16 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 06, 2013, 03:32:57 PM
Waterford and Clare showing more fibre in their games than Wicklow, or perhaps Galway and Laois are useless.

Clare V Laois is Hurling right, football on after.

I though Galway would beat Waterford by 5pts at least, in fact bet on it, not looking so good.
Post by: armaghniac on July 06, 2013, 03:42:19 PM
My mistake about the Clare - Laois game.
Waterford now 2 points ahead, with the wind, and there is a wind Salthill!

I too had Galway in an accumulator, possibly lost on the first game!
Post by: Blowitupref on July 06, 2013, 03:50:42 PM
Galway 0-12 Waterford 0-13 two points in row for Galway after going over 20 minutes without a score.
Post by: Syferus on July 06, 2013, 03:53:40 PM
Feckin' Galway.

We'll have to restore pride in Connacht after Mayo floated off with the fairies and now this >:(
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 06, 2013, 04:15:24 PM
Galway won.
Post by: armaghniac on July 06, 2013, 04:18:06 PM
QuoteGalway won.

A second half goal saved them. I doubt if the likes of Tyrone or the winners of Derry/Down would be quaking in their boots at the prospect of meeting Galway.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 06, 2013, 04:19:59 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on July 06, 2013, 04:15:24 PM
Galway won.

And remarkably it still feels like a loss. They won't be going much further. Late Meehan goal saved them but Paul Conroy was basically a one man team today.
Post by: galwayman on July 06, 2013, 04:30:45 PM
Galway would be out of the championship now but for Paul Conroys display today.
We have serious problems all over the pitch.
Colin Forde taken to the cleaners yet again today.
Can anybody explain to me how Mike Farragher played the full 70 minutes today?Absolutely anonymous once again.He got the goal last week but did nothing else in general play.Just not a county standard footballer in any way.John O Brien and Mark Hehir were poor again today.
Shane Walsh did not get a run at all even while 3 of the 6 forwards were anonymous.I really don't understand it.

The game plan seems to be to carry the ball from back so if that means going from side to side and backwards at a snails pace then so be it.
The amount of times today where lads went sideways and backwards with hand passes,giving their defence time to funnel players back instead of giving quick ball inside to the ff line had to be seen to be believed.

We are lucky to still be in the championship tonight
Post by: EC Unique on July 06, 2013, 11:55:43 PM
I fancy Tyrone v Derry in Omagh in the next round.  ;)
Post by: From the Bunker on July 07, 2013, 12:06:16 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on July 06, 2013, 11:55:43 PM
I fancy Tyrone v Derry in Omagh in the next round.  ;)

I'd say that Headquarters fancy it as well. A case of warm balls, cold balls? :P
Post by: omagh_gael on July 07, 2013, 04:08:02 PM
Am I right in thinking the draw tomorrow will also include the round 4 ties e.g. Tyrone v Derry (will play Cork).
Post by: macdanger2 on July 07, 2013, 05:59:14 PM
Think that happens in the next round e.g. Tyrone v Cork, winner can't play Kerry so plays one of the other 3
Post by: omagh_gael on July 07, 2013, 06:13:14 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on July 07, 2013, 05:59:14 PM
Think that happens in the next round e.g. Tyrone v Cork, winner can't play Kerry so plays one of the other 3

Ah yes, I think you're right. I knew there was one draw were the next two rounds are drawn out at one time.
Post by: ONeill on July 07, 2013, 06:35:12 PM
Is the draw the mara or next Monday?
Post by: drici on July 07, 2013, 06:38:04 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on June 09, 2013, 11:42:17 PM
Qualifier Draws 2013

6. Monday, July 15th - RTE
AIH QF's and Rounds 3 & 4 Football Qualifiers

http://www.gaa.ie/gaa-news-and-videos/daily-news/1/0406131645-qualifier-draws-2013-/
Post by: omagh_gael on July 13, 2013, 09:45:16 PM
So these are the teams in the round 3 draw:

Tyrone
Kildare
Cavan
Wexford
Armagh
Derry
Galway
Laois

...and the winners of round 3 will play:

Cork
Dublin/Meath
Mayo/London
Monaghan/Donegal

Armagh and Cavan bound to be drawn out again ;) From a Tyrone perspective I'd hope to avoid another Ulster county and if we get through that I think every team would want London.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 13, 2013, 09:52:45 PM
Avoid Cork and the round three winners should reach the quarter finals.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on July 13, 2013, 09:56:40 PM
round 3 on Mon morning will have some nice draws
Post by: Redhand Santa on July 13, 2013, 10:35:08 PM
Think the football championship is really going to start next weekend with some very interesting knock out games ahead. Wouldn't fancy an away draw to Kilare and if possible would want to avoid Derry particularly away. Everyone will want to know they won't have Cork to meet in round 4!
Post by: ONeill on July 13, 2013, 11:46:53 PM
Match 1 - Galway vs Wexford
Match 2 - Tyrone vs Cavan
Match 3 - Derry vs Armagh
Match 4 - Kildare vs Laois

on my http://www.daftlogic.com/projects-cup-fixture-generator.htm

Never fails.
Post by: Over the Bar on July 13, 2013, 11:59:13 PM
Doubt if Derry will get it that handy O'Neill! ;)
Post by: From the Bunker on July 14, 2013, 12:03:07 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 13, 2013, 11:46:53 PM
Match 1 - Galway vs Wexford
Match 2 - Tyrone vs Cavan
Match 3 - Derry vs Armagh
Match 4 - Kildare vs Laois

on my http://www.daftlogic.com/projects-cup-fixture-generator.htm

Never fails.

Looks a likely scenario for the GAA. A couple of derbies that will attract above average crowds.

Although a more saucy scenario would be

Derry Tyrone
Cavan Armagh
Kildare Galway
Wexford Laois
Post by: Hoof Hearted on July 14, 2013, 12:08:06 AM
would love Tyrone.
we wont win an AI but to beat them hoors and then get beat by London would do me !!
Post by: Hardy on July 14, 2013, 12:32:18 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 13, 2013, 09:52:45 PM

And Dublin.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 14, 2013, 01:06:25 AM
Quote from: Hardy on July 14, 2013, 12:32:18 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 13, 2013, 09:52:45 PM

And Dublin.

Hon Mead!
Post by: Syferus on July 14, 2013, 01:39:52 AM
If Cork play like they did for much of the Munster final a half-decent side could easily clip them. Problem is there's only about one of those currently in the qualifiers. Maybe if Kildare suddenly find their 2010-2011 or Derry if their upswing continues, but Cork themselves will be hoping not to get Tyrone in round four.
Post by: Dont Matter on July 14, 2013, 10:33:49 AM
Quote from: Dont Matter on July 02, 2013, 07:48:02 PM
I'm going to update the route through.
1. Beat Carlow DONE
2. Beat Clare
3. Beat Armagh
4. Beat Leitrim
5. Beat Mayo
6. Beat Donegal
7. Beat Dublin
8. The dream is still alive!

Update:
1. Beat Carlow DONE
2. Beat Clare DONE
3. Beat Armagh
4. Beat London
5. Beat Mayo
6. Beat Donegal
7. Beat Dublin
8. Getting closer!
Post by: Onion Bag on July 15, 2013, 08:27:36 AM
Any word yet lads?
Title: Anois
Post by: drici on July 15, 2013, 08:29:49 AM
Quote from: Onion Bag on July 15, 2013, 08:27:36 AM

Any word yet lads?

Adverts before the sport.

Post by: drici on July 15, 2013, 08:31:07 AM
News headlines now before the sport.
Post by: drici on July 15, 2013, 08:33:02 AM
Travel news before the sport.
Post by: drici on July 15, 2013, 08:34:29 AM
Explaining the draw.
Post by: drici on July 15, 2013, 08:36:18 AM
Galway v Armagh v Cork

Home advantage on left for Round 3
Title: Re: Tarraingt
Post by: orangeman on July 15, 2013, 08:38:47 AM
Quote from: drici on July 15, 2013, 08:36:18 AM
Galway v Armagh v Cork

[/

Home advantage on left for Round 3

Hamdy.
Post by: drici on July 15, 2013, 08:39:05 AM
Galway v Armagh v Cork

Wexford v Laois v Donegal/Monaghan

Kildare v Tyrone v Meath

Derry v Cavan v Londain/Mayo
Post by: Abble on July 15, 2013, 08:39:32 AM
Galway v Armagh (v Cork)
Wexford v Laois (v Donegal or Monaghan)
Kildare v Tyrone (v Meath)
Derry v Cavan (v Mayo or London)
Post by: omagh_gael on July 15, 2013, 08:41:42 AM
May as well face the big guns now. No point getting a handy.passage then face Dublin in the quarters! By fcuk it's annoying that we always get drawn away. That must be nearly 90%  of our back door games away from home!
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on July 15, 2013, 08:48:13 AM

Round Three SF Qualifiers:
Galway v Armagh
Wexford v Laois
Kildare v Tyrone
Derry v Cavan

Round Four SF Qualifiers:
Galway / Armagh v Cork
Wexford / Laois v Donegal / Monaghan
Kildare / Tyrone v Meath
Derry / Cavan v Mayo / London

Post by: Jonah on July 15, 2013, 08:49:56 AM
1/4 Finals Predictions

Mayo
Donegal
Dublin
Kerry

V

Derry
Cork
Laois
Tyrone
Post by: ONeill on July 15, 2013, 08:52:00 AM
Ah ffs. Bad enough Kildare in their patch (they owe us) then Mead. Our record against them is tremendous.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 15, 2013, 08:52:40 AM
I'd go for Monaghan instead of Laois Jonah.
Post by: Rois on July 15, 2013, 08:56:00 AM
The radio guy said he had a feeling he knew who would be drawn against Kildare...and gave a wee laugh. How exactly did he know?
It's as if HQ know that Tyrone have a great travelling support so arrange it that we're always away.
Post by: orangeman on July 15, 2013, 08:57:45 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 15, 2013, 08:41:42 AM
May as well face the big guns now. No point getting a handy.passage then face Dublin in the quarters! By fcuk it's annoying that we always get drawn away. That must be nearly 90%  of our back door games away from home!

Tyrone love the road.

Stevie had to perform magic in the national league semi final in order to beat them. Stevie aint around now.
Post by: ONeill on July 15, 2013, 09:06:16 AM
I thought he was fit again.
Post by: clarshack on July 15, 2013, 09:11:08 AM
tyrone away again ffs!.

looks like derry have got a bye to the 1/4 finals  >:(
Post by: Dont Matter on July 15, 2013, 09:16:07 AM
Derry got the good path. Cavan at home and London. Everyone wanted that one. No real stand out games in this draw.
Post by: ONeill on July 15, 2013, 09:18:50 AM
I can see mass protests at the London/Derry game with a lot of confused inbreds.
Post by: HiMucker on July 15, 2013, 09:21:46 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 15, 2013, 09:18:50 AM
I can see mass protests at the London/Derry game with a lot of confused inbreds.
I doubt many Tyrone folk will be going to the game :P
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 15, 2013, 09:23:25 AM
Good draw for Cavan, it was always going to be tough but Derry are beatable. Pity the game is up there though. The winner has a superb chance of making the 1/4 finals with London awaiting. All in all happy enough, Derry arent the greatest team in the world I'd get give us a 50:50 chance to win that.
Post by: johnneycool on July 15, 2013, 09:30:37 AM
Quote from: orangeman on July 15, 2013, 08:57:45 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 15, 2013, 08:41:42 AM

Tyrone love the road.

Stevie had to perform magic in the national league semi final in order to beat them. Stevie aint around now.

I thought Kildares home ground was sub standard, no?

Would this game not be moved
Post by: tbrick18 on July 15, 2013, 09:47:44 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on July 15, 2013, 09:23:25 AM
Good draw for Cavan, it was always going to be tough but Derry are beatable. Pity the game is up there though. The winner has a superb chance of making the 1/4 finals with London awaiting. All in all happy enough, Derry arent the greatest team in the world I'd get give us a 50:50 chance to win that.

I suspected Cavan would be quietly confident of getting us.
Probably a draw both sides are happy with as both will feel they can win.
The only reason I'll stick with Derry on this one is that I think we cause more of a scoring threat than Cavan regardless of blanket defence.
Though Derry tend to not play well against a team they think they should beat so I believe your are right with your 50:50 call.
Don't fancy meeting Mayo in the next round though  ;)
Post by: illdecide on July 15, 2013, 09:53:18 AM
are the games all on Saturday? have they given dates and venues? do Galway play at tuam/salthill or where. It's been 20 years from ive been in Galway
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on July 15, 2013, 10:13:16 AM
Quote from: illdecide on July 15, 2013, 09:53:18 AM
are the games all on Saturday? have they given dates and venues? do Galway play at tuam/salthill or where. It's been 20 years from ive been in Galway
It will be in Salthill, probably next Sat afternoon or evening.  The weather is due to ge good thru the week so bring the swimming trunks and the factor 25!
Title: Cluichí
Post by: drici on July 15, 2013, 03:41:55 PM
Dia Sathairn
20 - 07 - 2013

Galway v Armagh
5-00pm   Pearse Stadium

Derry v Cavan
5-00pm   Celtic Park

Wexford v Laois
7-00pm   Wexford Park

Kildare v Tyrone
7-00pm   Newbridge
Title: Cluichí
Post by: drici on July 15, 2013, 03:46:19 PM
Dia Sathairn   27 - 07 - 2013

Galway/Armagh v Cork
5-00pm   Croke Park

Kildare/Tyrone v Meath
7-00pm   Croke Park
Title: Re: Cluichí
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 15, 2013, 04:11:35 PM
Quote from: drici on July 15, 2013, 03:46:19 PM

Galway/Armagh v Cork
5-00pm   Croke Park

Kildare/Tyrone v Meath
7-00pm   Croke Park

I assume they're hoping Armagh win, a Cork v Galway game could be held in my backyard and still wouldn't sell out.
Post by: Dont Matter on July 15, 2013, 04:31:43 PM
Any chance they'll throw a third game on at 3? Let Wexford play in Croke Park against Monaghan?
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 15, 2013, 04:45:08 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 15, 2013, 08:52:40 AM
I'd go for Monaghan instead of Laois Jonah.

Monaghan have six day turnaround. It's going to be a repeat of last year with Laois reaching the last eight and Cork,Derry should join them not sure about Kildare or Tyrone 50/50 call on that game however the winner will beat Meath.
Post by: J70 on July 15, 2013, 04:54:02 PM
FFS lads Monaghan haven't even played the Ulster Final yet!
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 15, 2013, 05:00:42 PM
Quote from: J70 on July 15, 2013, 04:54:02 PM
You sound worried? relax, Jimmys winning matches!
Post by: J70 on July 15, 2013, 05:37:57 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 15, 2013, 05:00:42 PM
Quote from: J70 on July 15, 2013, 04:54:02 PM
You sound worried? relax, Jimmys winning matches!

Not worried. Cautious. You can never count on winning an Ulster final.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 15, 2013, 07:13:38 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 15, 2013, 04:11:35 PM

Galway/Armagh v Cork
5-00pm   Croke Park

Kildare/Tyrone v Meath
7-00pm   Croke Park

I assume they're hoping Armagh win, a Cork v Galway game could be held in my backyard and still wouldn't sell out.

Yeah, Cork fans don't like the present team and Galway fans must be finding the going tough at the moment.
Post by: Syferus on July 15, 2013, 07:19:26 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 15, 2013, 07:13:38 PM

Galway/Armagh v Cork
5-00pm   Croke Park

Kildare/Tyrone v Meath
7-00pm   Croke Park

Yeah, Cork fans don't like the present team and Galway fans must be finding the going tough at the moment.

The fishes should be happy to be in R3 and presented with a winnable home game. Better to be limping over Clare and Waterford than bombing out to Antrim and Wexford. The way Counihan sets up his teams almost any fecker could upset the odds in R4.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 15, 2013, 07:44:37 PM
Cork are All Ireland contender, under Counihan they have won league titles and All Ireland they will beat the winner of Armagh or Galway simply because both are not at Corks level.
Post by: macdanger2 on July 15, 2013, 07:50:05 PM

Galway/Armagh v Cork
5-00pm   Croke Park

Kildare/Tyrone v Meath
7-00pm   Croke Park

When is the final draw on i.e. to see which of the qualifiers will play which provincial champions? Will it be before or after these games are played?

As far as I know, in previous years it was held beforehand - if it's the same this year then that's a good draw for Dublin as they avoid Kildare / Tyrone.

Post by: Syferus on July 15, 2013, 07:50:41 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 15, 2013, 07:44:37 PM
Cork are All Ireland contender, under Counihan they have won league titles and All Ireland they will beat the winner of Armagh or Galway simply because both are not at Corks level.

If you're trying to sell anyone on Counihan being anything more than a lucky manager, have taking over a well-financed and talented panel you're onto a loser. Even the man on the street selling straw hats can see Counihan has been the biggest impediment to Cork reaching the potential over the last half a decade or so. Not tactically aware and I'm starting to doubt he really knows how to evaluate players correctly, be it who to start or what system is best suited to the players he has.

I expect Cork to win their R4 match but I wouldn't be spilling any tea if I heard the Leeside whales had been beached.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 15, 2013, 08:05:04 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 15, 2013, 07:50:41 PM

If you're trying to sell anyone on Counihan being anything more than a lucky manager to have taken over a well-financed and talented panel you're onto a loser. Even the man on the street selling straw hats can see Counihan has been the biggest impediment to Cork reaching the potential over the last half a decade or so. Not tactically aware and I'm starting to doubt he doesn't really know how to evaluate players correctly, be it who to start or what system is best suited to the players he has.

I expect Cork to win their R4 match but I wouldn't be spilling any tea if I heard the Leeside whales had been beached.

Most good managers are lucky only the few are great. In 2009 they lost All Ireland final, 2011 probably hungover after the 2010 success and last year a top Donegal team beat them. Nobody in the know will be writing off this Cork team.

Post by: drici on July 15, 2013, 08:59:26 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on July 15, 2013, 07:50:05 PM

When is the final draw on i.e. to see which of the qualifiers will play which provincial champions? Will it be before or after these games are played?

As far as I know, in previous years it was held beforehand - if it's the same this year then that's a good draw for Dublin as they avoid Kildare / Tyrone.

Quote from: Captain Obvious on June 09, 2013, 11:42:17 PM
Qualifier Draws 2013

Post by: Syferus on July 15, 2013, 09:09:43 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 15, 2013, 08:05:04 PM

If you're trying to sell anyone on Counihan being anything more than a lucky manager to have taken over a well-financed and talented panel you're onto a loser. Even the man on the street selling straw hats can see Counihan has been the biggest impediment to Cork reaching the potential over the last half a decade or so. Not tactically aware and I'm starting to doubt he doesn't really know how to evaluate players correctly, be it who to start or what system is best suited to the players he has.

Most good managers are lucky only the few are great. In 2009 they lost All Ireland final, 2011 probably hungover after the 2010 success and last year a top Donegal team beat them. Nobody in the know will be writing off this Cork team.

They're the fourth best team in the country, more likely to beat one of the top three than anyone else, and certainly more likely to do something than Kerry who have at best a loss to Dublin in the AISF to look forward to. Fourth this year is still well off championship-winning pace so I feel it's unlikely we'll see them lifting Sam come September.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 15, 2013, 09:39:42 PM
Kerry looked if they could do alot more this summer than Cork if last week anything to go on!!
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 15, 2013, 09:41:19 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 15, 2013, 09:09:43 PM

They're the fourth best team in the country, more likely to beat one of the top three than anyone else, and certainly more likely to do something than Kerry who have at best a loss to Dublin in the AISF to look forward to. Fourth this year is still well off championship-winning pace so I feel it's unlikely we'll see them lifting Sam come September.

Once you let go of the coattails of Mayo you may realise Cork and Kerry are All Ireland contenders. Number one will be known by the end of September and thats all that matters.
Post by: Syferus on July 15, 2013, 10:04:55 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 15, 2013, 09:41:19 PM

Once you let go of the coattails of Mayo you may realise Cork and Kerry are All Ireland contenders. Number one will be known by the end of September and thats all that matters.

No Roscommon man has any great love of Mayo. It's the way the wind is blowing and too many people aren't willing to admit that Kerry aren't true contenders. Yes, they were a truly great team, they're 'Kerry' but they are still too old to be genuinely backable for the AI.

There's a convervatsim that's attaching itself to analysis here and in the media that dictates you don't write off Kerry or Cork but state that their chance are relatively remote isn't writing them off, it's looking at the draw and the form of other younger, hungrier and better prepared (than Cork, Kerry are well prepared at the very least) teams.

Saying the emperor has no clothes is too extreme but there is a slight illusion about Cork and Kerry that is being sold here and in broadcast journalism.
Post by: J OGorman on July 15, 2013, 10:17:55 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 15, 2013, 10:04:55 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 15, 2013, 09:41:19 PM

No Roscommon man has any great love of Mayo. It's the way the wind is blowing and too many people aren't willing to admit that Kerry aren't true contenders. Yes, they were a truly great team, they're 'Kerry' but they are still too old to be genuinely backable for the AI.

There's a convervatsim that's attaching itself to analysis here and in the media that dictates you don't write off Kerry or Cork but state that their chance are relatively remote isn't writing them off, it's looking at the draw and the form of other younger, hungrier and better prepared (than Cork, Kerry are well prepared at the very least) teams.

Saying the emperor has no clothes is too extreme but there is a slight illusion about Cork and Kerry that is being sold here and in broadcast journalism.

Buck all to do with what the journalists are saying. Kerry will be there or thereabouts. fantastic ball players in every sector.  Cork im not so sure of. Sam will  be returning to the great north-west, kerry or dublin. Mayo, id be very surprised if they make the final. Its a great part of the year to be a GAA follower. Games coming thick and fast
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 21, 2013, 12:25:10 AM

Galway/Armagh v Cork
5-00pm   Croke Park

Kildare/Tyrone v Meath
7-00pm   Croke Park

With Kildare and Armagh losing plus Galway and Cork playing in Semple the next day and by all accounts there was nearly as many sheep in Newbridge as Tyrone supporters will the GAA see the folly of their ways and move these games away from Croke Park?
Post by: Syferus on July 21, 2013, 12:31:09 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 21, 2013, 12:25:10 AM

Galway/Armagh v Cork
5-00pm   Croke Park

Kildare/Tyrone v Meath
7-00pm   Croke Park

With Kildare and Armagh losing plus Galway and Cork playing in Semple the next day and by all accounts there was nearly as many sheep in Newbridge as Tyrone supporters will the GAA see the folly of their ways and move these games away from Croke Park?

>:(

I'll have you know we're gearing up for the Connacht final tomorrow and weren't about to be trotting off to Newbridge, no matter how impressive Geezer's biceps were.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 21, 2013, 12:34:13 AM
Round four games should be played away from Croke park. Somewhere like Tullamore could have hosted the Galway v Cork,Tyrone v Meath double header.
Post by: Dont Matter on July 21, 2013, 03:51:07 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on July 14, 2013, 10:33:49 AM

Update:
1. Beat Carlow DONE
2. Beat Clare DONE
3. Beat Wexford
4. Beat Monaghan
5. Beat Mayo
6. Beat Donegal
7. Beat Dublin
8. Getting closer!

1. Beat Carlow DONE
2. Beat Clare DONE
3. Beat Wexford DONE
4. Beat Monaghan
5. Beat Mayo
6. Beat Donegal
7. Beat Dublin
8. Put your money on before it's too late!