GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Syferus on June 18, 2012, 02:26:00 PM

Title: Roscommon v Armagh AI Round 1 Quailifer
Post by: Syferus on June 18, 2012, 02:26:00 PM
The clash of gaaboard.com titans, a game for the ages.

Beforehand I'd have said Armagh would be the toughest draw we could get but on recent form there isn't a big gap between the teams. The home draw for us is almost as important as the opponents this time as our home record in the qualifiers is far superior to our away form and after a big loss the last thing we'd need is being dragged off to Armagh.

What'll attendence be like? It has the potential to be the best of the bunch in Round 1.
Title: Re: Roscommon v Armagh AI Round 1 Quailifer
Post by: Rossfan on June 18, 2012, 03:29:54 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 18, 2012, 02:26:00 PM
on recent form there isn't a big gap between the teams.

Please stop talking rot . >:(
Post by: Syferus on June 18, 2012, 03:39:11 PM
Son, Armagh had a bad league campaign, were regelated and were quite similarly dispatched from last year's championship by Tyrone as we were. Like us they've not really made much noise in the championship out of their province in recent years, we're not exactly staring down Big Joe, McGeeney and Stevie Mc.

If this tie had happened in Round 4 last year it would have been close to a dead heat; if we're in the right state of mind it still will be on June 30th in the Hyde.
Post by: Orior on June 18, 2012, 03:42:54 PM
Someone please tell Jones Road that I've tickets for the Irish Open on 30th June.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 18, 2012, 03:43:49 PM
Quote from: Orior on June 18, 2012, 03:42:54 PM
Someone please tell Jones Road that I've tickets for the Irish Open on 30th June.

Done, will let you know what they say!
Post by: Onion Bag on June 18, 2012, 03:47:01 PM
Quote from: Orior on June 18, 2012, 03:42:54 PM

They have came back Orior asking when would suit you best?
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 18, 2012, 04:14:46 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 18, 2012, 03:29:54 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 18, 2012, 02:26:00 PM
on recent form there isn't a big gap between the teams.

Please stop talking rot . >:(
Considerably gap mate one that Roscommon will fall into. It's not will Armagh win but by how much.
Post by: regal on June 18, 2012, 04:16:26 PM
Any word on the armagh injuries? I would imagine the team will look something like....

1 - mcevoy
2 - amallon
3 - donaghy
4 - morgan (if fit) or moriarty
5 - I presume AK is injured. So Dyas in here
6 - McKeever
7 - PDuffy
8 - Toner
9 - hanratty
10 - Forker (if fit) or mackin
11 - bmallon
12 - ADuffy
13 - jamie
14 - mcparland
15 - rafferty

Hopefully mckeever will revert to 6. Donaghy to mark donie shine who is a class footballer and gave tyrone plenty of bother in croker last year.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 18, 2012, 04:24:20 PM
If Ros players took to the pitch the same way syf does to the keyboard it'd be Galway v Armagh. But they didn't.
Post by: Rossfan on June 18, 2012, 04:35:12 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 18, 2012, 03:39:11 PM
Son, Armagh had a bad league campaign, were regelated and were quite similarly dispatched from last year's championship by Tyrone as we were. Like us they've not really made much noise in the championship out of their province in recent years, we're not exactly staring down Big Joe, McGeeney and Stevie Mc.

If this tie had happened in Round 4 last year it would have been close to a dead heat; if we're in the right state of mind it still will be on June 30th in the Hyde.
Your original post talked about recent form.
To me that's 2012 Provinvial Championship where Armagh showed they are in much the same place as they were last year i.e give Tyrone a game but fall short.
Meanwhile we lost by 14 points to a Galway team which subsequently lost by 5 to Sligo.
Sligo with a lot of the team we ( under Fergal  ;) ) bet in 2010.
We've gone back 20 points ( not under Fergal  ;) ;) ;)) since that heady day in Castlebar.
Factor in drop outs from the panel and rumours....
We'll be lucky to keep the ball kicked out to effin Armagh. :'( :'(
Post by: moysider on June 18, 2012, 04:41:41 PM
Armagh looked likely winners v Tyrone until they made that daft and unnecessary substitution near the end.

They only lost Div 1 status the last day of the league in a close battle with Donegal after playing the whole league without jamie Clarke and Aaron Kernan or any Crossmaglen player.

How Syferus can be optimistic under the circumstances is beyond me but hats off to his upbeat nature. What are the rumours Rossfan?
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 18, 2012, 04:56:25 PM
Quote from: moysider on June 18, 2012, 04:41:41 PM
Armagh looked likely winners v Tyrone until they made that daft and unnecessary substitution near the end.

They only lost Div 1 status the last day of the league in a close battle with Donegal after playing the whole league without jamie Clarke and Aaron Kernan or any Crossmaglen player.

How Syferus can be optimistic under the circumstances is beyond me but hats off to his upbeat nature. What are the rumours Rossfan?
Is Syferus,Mayo Mick related?
Post by: Syferus on June 18, 2012, 05:03:28 PM
Armagh are a D2 team; we're a D3 team that was nearly promoted with a horrid list of absentees thanks to club, Sigerson, u21 and injuries. There is no great chasm between the teams if we don't come out with the defeatist attitude some supporters always (and I mean always) espouse.

I'm not going to play the poor mouth when there's nothing to be gained from it. There's no point coming to a discussion board and acting like a politician running for office.

The 'rumours' he's talking about aren't even rumours, a few of the 2006 minors have went off to the States on J1s for the summer, visas that had to be booked weeks, if not months, in advance. Rosfan will try to play up the angle that they somehow hated Des Newton and did it to shaft him but the reality is much less exciting.

The most important thing to happen since Galway is that we've started to seriously blood our stand-out u21s (Cathal Shine, Colin Compton and Donie Smith) and they've done well against decent opposition. A solid midfield is the key ingredient we've been missing all year and if Cathal Shine proves to be the answer there we've every chance of winning.
Post by: ziggy90 on June 18, 2012, 05:07:14 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 18, 2012, 05:03:28 PM
Armagh are a D2 team; we're a D3 team that was nearly promoted with a horrid list of absentees thanks to club, Sigerson, u21 and injuries. There is no great chasm between the teams if we don't come out with the defeatist attitude some supporters always (and I mean [ialways][/i]) espouse.

I'm not going to play the poor mouth when there's nothing to be gained from it. There's no point coming to a discussion board and acting like a politician running for office.

The 'rumours' he's talking about aren't even rumours, a few of the 2006 minors have went off to the States on J1s for the summer, visas that had to be booked weeks, if not months, in advance. Rosfan will try to play up the angle that they somehow hated Des Newton and did it to shaft him but the reality is much less exciting.

The most important thing to happen since Galway is that we've started to seriously blood our stand-out u21s (Cathal Shine, Colin Compton and Donie Smith) and they've done well against decent opposition. A solid midfield is the key ingredient we've been missing all year and if Cathal Shine proves to be the answer there we've every chance of winning.

Good lad Syferus, fcuk the begrudgers.
Post by: JP on June 18, 2012, 05:18:33 PM
How are Roscommon going to stop Jamie Clarke?
Post by: ck on June 18, 2012, 05:20:41 PM
Given the players Armagh have access to, are they not the most under performing county in Ireland??
Post by: moysider on June 18, 2012, 05:28:13 PM
Quote from: JP on June 18, 2012, 05:18:33 PM

By bringing back Harry Keegan or Pat Doorey ;D They d stop him by making sure he didn t start ;D
Post by: ross4life on June 18, 2012, 05:34:27 PM
Armagh are a D2 team; we're a D3 team that was nearly promoted with a horrid list of absentees thanks to club, Sigerson, u21 and injuries. There is no great chasm between the teams if we don't come out with the defeatist attitude some supporters always (and I mean always) espouse.

It's all well & good talking us up but can we deliver after our last shocking performance? Since the Galway game we have lost 4 players not just any players but All Ireland winners. The guys that came in to replace them are average club players & few U-21s with little or no senior championship experience. It doesn't look like our best midfielder Finneran will make this game & that will be key i feel.

No poor mouthing Syferus Armagh are currently a level ahead they are also better than Galway IMO, best we can hope for is a decent performance on the day & if our best isn't good enough so be it. Through all optimism sometimes you just have to be realistic.
Post by: Syferus on June 18, 2012, 05:34:50 PM

By putting Seanie Mc on him, presumably.

Seanie knows how to deal with tricky under-sized corner forwards - helped by the fact he's a tricky under-sized corner-back - which is typified by how he took David Kelly out of the 2010 Connacht final almost completely. If he hadn't Sligo would have walked that match.

It'll be the most important duel of the day outside the middle.
Post by: adevvabr on June 18, 2012, 05:54:14 PM

You obviously dont know anybody on the panel or close to the set up so, as a lot of the players are supposed to be very disappointed with Des Newtons set up which is well short of inter county standard. This will be more than likely be his only year in charge. Things are obviously in a very bad way when a lad as committed as David Keenan decides to pack it in for the year.
Post by: Agent Orange on June 18, 2012, 05:58:06 PM
Any time/date set for this yet? I assume it is in Hyde Park.
Post by: Syferus on June 18, 2012, 06:02:20 PM
Definitely the Hyde, unless it's fixed for the Sunday (we may be playing Galway at minor that Saturday) it'll be June 30th.
Post by: Rossfan on June 18, 2012, 06:03:28 PM
Quote from: adevvabr on June 18, 2012, 05:54:14 PM

You obviously dont know anybody on the panel or close to the set up so, as a lot of the players are supposed to be very disappointed with Des Newtons set up which is well short of inter county standard. This will be more than likely be his only year in charge. Things are obviously in a very bad way when a lad as committed as David Keenan decides to pack it in for the year.

Syferus has been described as "Delusional" and "Comical Ali" on the Ros forum stolensheep :D
Post by: Rossfan on June 18, 2012, 06:04:28 PM
Quote from: Agent Orange on June 18, 2012, 05:58:06 PM
Any time/date set for this yet? I assume it is in Hyde Park.
We might have it in Kiltoom  :)
Post by: Syferus on June 18, 2012, 06:05:23 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 18, 2012, 06:03:28 PM
Quote from: adevvabr on June 18, 2012, 05:54:14 PM

Syferus has been described as "Delusional" and "Comical Ali" on the Ros forum stolensheep :D

Sadly I can't repeat what you've been called for fear of being banned ;)
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 18, 2012, 06:09:46 PM
Even if they did other forwards like Mallon and Rafferty will step up. Roscommon won't be able to match Armagh fitness or high level intensity.
Post by: armaghniac on June 18, 2012, 06:11:52 PM
Roscommon should not be written off. Armagh have a poor enough record after losing Ulster games.

(http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_11-nzoYFuQU/TM7WLi7ZpBI/AAAAAAAAHiU/oyCrSldmmfw/s400/sheep+attack150.jpg)
Post by: emmetryan on June 18, 2012, 08:05:44 PM
If Armagh go man-to-man like they did against Tyrone then Roscommon will have a shot, if they drop some cover back to the full backs like Galway did then it's hard to see Roscommon coming out on top.
Post by: seafoid on June 18, 2012, 08:22:04 PM
Quote from: ck on June 18, 2012, 05:20:41 PM
Given the players Armagh have access to, are they not the most under performing county in Ireland??
they have to join the end of the queue I'm afraid. Mayo are first and they have been very patient. 
Post by: ross4life on June 18, 2012, 08:34:52 PM
11 years of quailifers & this will only be our 4th home tie.

2003 Roscommon 0-14 Cork 1-10
2007 Roscommon 1-13 Kildare 2-13
2009 Roscommon 0-11 Wexford 0-8 *replay.

Post by: ross matt on June 18, 2012, 09:43:25 PM
Syferus I dont think any Ross supporters here are playing poor mouth. More stating it as it is... ie on current chamionship form Armagh are miles ahead of us. If there is any pride or drive left amongst the players they will be better than they were against Galway but its difficult to see us beating them. I would think Armagh would still have ambitions to do well in the championship whilst (judging by players leaving the panel to hit the states during season) our lads have written off this year. Unless there is a dramatic improvement in performance from the last day this manager should also be written off. The collapse in standards is unacceptable.
Post by: naka on June 18, 2012, 10:16:24 PM
Ross who has left the panel to go to the states?
Post by: borderfox on June 18, 2012, 11:10:13 PM
Its Roscommons to lose. A home draw for the 2010 Connacht champions allied to some impressive recent underage campaigns should see these hardy Connacht challenging perennials home at the Hyde. Rossies by six.
Post by: Rossfan on June 18, 2012, 11:14:41 PM
Quote from: naka on June 18, 2012, 10:16:24 PM

O'Gara and Keenan at least.
Also the Higgins brothers and Devaney have left the panel .... not sure if they are travelling or just pissed off with the set up.
Post by: Orior on June 18, 2012, 11:24:01 PM
If Armagh cant beat Roscommon then we're better out of the qualifiers.

Armagh by 5 points.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 18, 2012, 11:24:49 PM
last meeting 4 years ago http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/gaa/armagh-trounce-roscommon-at-crossmaglen-13394048.html
Post by: ross4life on June 18, 2012, 11:53:59 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 18, 2012, 11:14:41 PM

Also the Higgins brothers and Devaney have left the panel .... not sure if they are travelling or just pissed off with the set up.

Two of our best U-21 defenders Paddy Brogan,Cafferkey are also gone to the states. With all these players out it should mean first senior championship starts or debuts for Donal Smith,Cathal Shine,Colin Compton,Brian Murtagh,Neil Collins,Niall Kilroy & Niall Daly all products of the 07-11 youth set up.
Post by: Syferus on June 19, 2012, 12:01:13 AM

All are travelling, at least the ones who are seriously considered for championship 26 places. Michael Higgins was, with all due respect, never going to feature and for alot of counties have players in the boil like that dropping out mid-season, look no further than Seamie O'Neil last year.

It's very silly for someone who's a genuine supporter to be actively spreading hearsay about their own county.

And in all fairness our meeting in 2008 was the year of the abyss, if we'd played Kilkenny in that league campaign they have given us a run for our money, such was unrelenting train-wreck that the season even by the time the league had reached its infancy.
Post by: ross4life on June 19, 2012, 12:11:22 AM
In all fairness our meeting in 2008 was the year of the abyss, if we'd played Kilkenny in that league campaign they have given us a run for our money, such was unrelenting train-wreck that the season even by the time the league had reached its infancy.
We drew with Meath & got within a few points of Cork. It went pear shaped after the opening games clearly all was not well behind the scenes by the time Westmeath hammered us at home it was time for Maughan to go.
Post by: moysider on June 19, 2012, 12:20:24 AM
Quote from: ross4life on June 18, 2012, 11:53:59 PM

Two of our best U-21 defenders Paddy Brogan,Cafferkey are also gone to the states. With all these players out it should mean first senior championship starts or debuts for Donal Smith,Cathal Shine,Colin Compton,Brian Murtagh,Neil Collins,Niall Kilroy & Niall Daly all products of the 07-11 youth set up.

Christ ross4life that s not looking good. I remember posting system failure about Ros in first half v Galway and it is begining to look like meltdown right now. I know that Syferus will come out to bat but this is ridiculous. Don t tell me these lads would have 'gone travelling' if ye had beaten Galway? 

Post by: ross4life on June 19, 2012, 12:25:54 AM
Quote from: moysider on June 19, 2012, 12:20:24 AM
Quote from: ross4life on June 18, 2012, 11:53:59 PM

Christ ross4life that s not looking good. I remember posting system failure about Ros in first half v Galway and it is begining to look like meltdown right now. I know that Syferus will come out to bat but this is ridiculous. Don t tell me these lads would have 'gone travelling' if ye had beaten Galway?

A number of them had travel plans before the Galway game for example one of the reasons why David O'Gara didn't start. The setup of our club championship (no match until mid August) gave these players the opportunity to leave & earn some extra cash in the states.
Post by: moysider on June 19, 2012, 12:43:10 AM
Quote from: ross4life on June 19, 2012, 12:11:22 AM
In all fairness our meeting in 2008 was the year of the abyss, if we'd played Kilkenny in that league campaign they have given us a run for our money, such was unrelenting train-wreck that the season even by the time the league had reached its infancy.
We drew with Meath & got within a few points of Cork. It went pear shaped after the opening games by the time Westmeath hammered us at home it was time for Maughan to go.

So what s the problem this time? Because whatever Syferus might say there is a meltdown. There was a system failure in Galway match ( i used that phrase on here after 20 mins) and that did not happen for nothing. Roscommon have been in turmoil for 8 years or so ( McGee and his pin-up boys article put the kibosh on ye). And matters won t improve as long as ye take reassurance from underage success and a strike against the head to win Connacht in 2010.
Post by: ross4life on June 19, 2012, 12:53:43 AM
Quote from: moysider on June 19, 2012, 12:43:10 AM
Quote from: ross4life on June 19, 2012, 12:11:22 AM
We drew with Meath & got within a few points of Cork. It went pear shaped after the opening games by the time Westmeath hammered us at home it was time for Maughan to go.

So what s the problem this time? Because whatever Syferus might say there is a meltdown. There was a system failure in Galway match ( i used that phrase on here after 20 mins) and that did not happen for nothing. Roscommon have been in turmoil for 8 years or so ( McGee and his pin-up boys article put the kibosh on ye). And matters won t improve as long as ye take reassurance from underage success and a strike against the head to win Connacht in 2010.

To quote Fergal O'Donnell after we beat Leitrim by 12 points last June

"It's going to be a long process for Roscommon i always said it's going to take 3/4 years before this team reaches it's peak and i think there will be peaks and valleys along the way. We got to be careful Mayo,Galway have given us drummings in the past, we have to be competitive before we reach the next level."

Nothing has changed really we are still a years from our peak, we weren't careful & allowed another drumming. Time to move on & try to be competitive v Armagh.
Post by: Syferus on June 19, 2012, 12:55:29 AM
It's cute that a Mayo supporter is in such a rush to declare us to be in meltdown, completely un-biased analysis and not attempting to poke the bear or anything, right? Right?

One loss doesn't make a meltdown. What's lost in your drama is that this was the last opportunity for most of the 2006 minors to avail of J1s and the insane gap in the club championship allowed them ample opportunity to plan a trip. Alot of the u21 panel are gone over to the States this summer (almost all of whom weren't involved with senior panel this year) as well so to characterise it as a F.U. to management is stretching the shower cap a bit thin.

Des Newton will have to reassess and be reassessed when the season is over but to say the die is cast after one championship game is at the heart of the reason most Connacht teams (and all but the very best footballing counties) have struggled to maintain success: they're too quick to give up.

We've got a home game against a good side and every reason to expect that the passion and drive that was missing against Galway will resurface - we rarely disgrace ourselves against out-of-province opposition in the championship (much less at home) and I don't expect any less than a good performance against Armagh.
Post by: moysider on June 19, 2012, 01:59:50 AM

It s one thing to have travel plans and have a J1 set up but it s a different thing when lads go ahead and use then in these circumstances. Do you think that they would have gone if the team was going well?

Hey, anyway I m just probably bored and passing time here. We ll have plenty to contend with ourselves. Not poking any bear or anything.
Post by: Syferus on June 19, 2012, 02:07:07 AM
Devaney already did two years ago, under a manager the panel almost universally adored and a draw that required wins over London and Leitrim to get to a Connacht final, so yeah, they likely would have. Sometimes football isn't the only thing on amateur players' minds.
Post by: ck on June 19, 2012, 10:30:02 AM
Armagh seem to be favs with Paddy Power. Anyone think this is accurate? I need to get a few quid back from Paddy after those feckin euros..

Armagh -5?
Post by: Tubberman on June 19, 2012, 10:41:42 AM
Quote from: ck on June 19, 2012, 10:30:02 AM
Armagh seem to be favs with Paddy Power. Anyone think this is accurate? I need to get a few quid back from Paddy after those feckin euros..

Armagh -5?

Anyone think it's inaccurate? Despite Syferus' best efforts at optimism, I can't see anything other than an Armagh win, especially with all the players that are no longer on the Ros panel. Genuinely would like to see Ros win, but can't see it happening.
Post by: ziggy90 on June 19, 2012, 11:02:52 AM
Any word yet on confirmation of the date and time for this one?
Post by: Applesisapples on June 19, 2012, 11:05:29 AM
If Armagh can't beat Roscommon convincingly then they would be better packing it in for the year.
Post by: Rossfan on June 19, 2012, 11:08:46 AM
Complication here because if our Minors beat Laythrum on Saturday ( not a foregone conclusion Syf  ;)) they are due to play Galway at a Galway venue on Saturday 30th. prob at 7pm.
In that case we'd need the game v Armagh to start at 3pm.
Mind you with the way things are going we might need the minors to be able to field a team v Armagh  ???
Post by: ziggy90 on June 19, 2012, 11:29:41 AM
Thanks for that Rossfan. I've flights booked but back to Brum Sunday morning. As long as it's on the Saturday I'm ok.
Post by: ziggy90 on June 19, 2012, 11:31:49 AM
Quote from: moysider on June 18, 2012, 05:28:13 PM

By bringing back Harry Keegan or Pat Doory ;D They d stop him by making sure he didn t start ;D

A true warrior and a blackhead :P to boot.
Post by: Rossfan on June 19, 2012, 03:38:46 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on June 19, 2012, 11:05:29 AM
If Armagh can't beat Roscommon convincingly then they would be better packing it in for the year.
Good lad ... keep them coming , we need all the motivation we can get  ;D

Ziggy 90 -- A Sunday fixture is always a possibility. I presume tv will pick Longford v Derry so leaving it up to Armagh and Ros to sort out the best day/time.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 19, 2012, 03:43:57 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 19, 2012, 03:38:46 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on June 19, 2012, 11:05:29 AM
Good lad ... keep them coming , we need all the motivation we can get  ;D

Ziggy 90 -- A Sunday fixture is always a possibility. I presume tv will pick Longford v Derry so leaving it up to Armagh and Ros to sort out the best day/time.

Surely TV will pick Tipperary and Offaly? After our stellar 8 minutes versus Kildare?
Post by: Syferus on June 19, 2012, 03:44:19 PM
I'd wonder what they'll pick. Derry were as bad against Donegal as we were against Galway and Armagh away will attract attention from people expecting a similar performance as against Tyrone.
Title: Teilifís
Post by: drici on June 19, 2012, 03:46:14 PM

Looks like they've already picked Dún na nGall v Tír Eoghain.
Post by: Rossfan on June 19, 2012, 03:53:20 PM

I'm hearing tales of 2.30 pm on the Sunday.
Title: Cluiche
Post by: drici on June 19, 2012, 04:16:24 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 19, 2012, 03:53:20 PM

Yep.

2-30pm on Sunday 1st July in Dr Hyde Park.
Post by: ziggy90 on June 19, 2012, 06:01:50 PM
Fcuk, fcuk & double fcuk >:(. Nothing for it but to re-book flights. Thanks for the info lads.
Title: Re: Cluiche
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 19, 2012, 07:04:20 PM
Quote from: drici on June 19, 2012, 04:16:24 PM

Yep.

That's a good suitable time unlike last year 7pm down in Wicklow.
Post by: Throw ball on June 19, 2012, 07:26:04 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on June 19, 2012, 07:04:20 PM

Yep.

What about minor hurlers playing at same time. Not too suitable for them or does hurling not count
Post by: Rossfan on June 19, 2012, 07:28:18 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on June 19, 2012, 07:26:04 PM
does hurling not count
Not in Armagh or Roscommon anyway  :P
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 19, 2012, 07:38:04 PM

Yep.

What about minor hurlers playing at same time. Not too suitable for them or does hurling not count
Is it too late to change the time?
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 20, 2012, 12:08:08 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on June 19, 2012, 07:38:04 PM

Yep.

In 2010 when Mayo's seniors lost to Longford, the minors played the same evening. The opposition escapes me at the moment, but if Roscommon minors beat Leitrim and they'll be playing Galway in Galway it seems. Doesn't sound right that minors and seniors clash like that at all.
Post by: ross4life on June 20, 2012, 01:00:14 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 20, 2012, 12:08:08 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on June 19, 2012, 07:38:04 PM

Yep.

In 2010 when Mayo's seniors lost to Longford, the minors played the same evening. The opposition escapes me at the moment, but if Roscommon minors beat Leitrim and they'll be playing Galway in Galway it seems. Doesn't sound right that minors and seniors clash like that at all.

The opposition was Roscommon you won 1-11 to 0-11 we kicked 14 wides. Most wanted it called off out of respect for Dermot Earley who was buried that morning but the Earley family asked for the game to go ahead.

If we get over Leitrim it looks like that game will be played on Saturday evening as planned but It's not right we have clashes, last year we had to choose between our U-21s in Connacht final or CBS Roscommon in the All Ireland final.
Post by: maigheo on June 20, 2012, 01:05:45 AM
Mayo minors played Ros in Mchale park with a throw in time of 4 o clock on the same evening  as Mayos qualifer v longford which started at 7 o clock
Post by: Rossfan on June 21, 2012, 11:11:27 PM
I hear we bet Laois tonight in a challenge in Kiltoom .
Bejasus  they must be bad and must regret getting that McNulty lad in to manage them.
Post by: Syferus on June 21, 2012, 11:44:53 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 21, 2012, 11:11:27 PM
I hear we bet Laois tonight in a challenge in Kiltoom .
Bejasus  they must be bad and must regret getting that McNulty lad in to manage them.

I bet Donegal are thinking the exact same about Big Jim..  ;)
Post by: Rossfan on June 22, 2012, 10:25:19 AM
Big Jim improved Donegal no end while McNulty has taken Laois down about 3 notches.
A bit like our current management. :-\ :'(
Post by: BennyCake on June 24, 2012, 01:11:14 AM
What has Roscommon got for us Armagh tourists staying for the weekend?
Post by: stephenite on June 24, 2012, 01:53:36 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on June 24, 2012, 01:11:14 AM

I'd say you be better off heading into Co. Mayo, Ballaghaderren probably your best bet.
Post by: Syferus on June 24, 2012, 02:05:03 AM
Quote from: stephenite on June 24, 2012, 01:53:36 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on June 24, 2012, 01:11:14 AM

I'd say you be better off heading into Co. Mayo, Ballaghaderren probably your best bet.

That's about as close to Mayo as I'd go too, huge respect to you for being so honest about your homeland!
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 24, 2012, 03:40:17 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 22, 2012, 10:25:19 AM
Big Jim improved Donegal no end while McNulty has taken Laois down about 3 notches.
A bit like our current management. :-\ :'(

I certainly wouldn't be his bigest fan but to be fair, Justin took them up in 2011. If he were to walk away tomorrow, they'd be no worse off than what they were before his arrival; Division 2 and not winning championship matches.
Post by: eriugaMS on June 25, 2012, 12:58:07 AM
Quote from: ziggy90 on June 19, 2012, 06:01:50 PM
Fcuk, fcuk & double fcuk

In a spirit of total annoyance I can't go now ..... so

#(hashtag)# ................. hope it thunderstorms again like the last time with heavy rain and lightening and ye all get soaked
Post by: Syferus on June 25, 2012, 01:33:08 AM
Our stand is so massive and so imposing it actually frightens away the rain by itself.
Post by: eriugaMS on June 25, 2012, 01:43:54 AM
You obviously weren't there on the 20th July 2003.

Think that was the date
Post by: ross4life on June 25, 2012, 02:07:14 AM
Quote from: eriugaMS on June 25, 2012, 01:43:54 AM

Think that was the date

I was awful day Steven McDonnell gave a great exhibition of forward play but last year's weather for the Connacht final was alot worse.
Post by: Syferus on June 25, 2012, 03:38:02 AM
Quote from: ross4life on June 25, 2012, 02:07:14 AM
Quote from: eriugaMS on June 25, 2012, 01:43:54 AM

Think that was the date

I was awful day Steven McDonnell gave a great exhibition of forward play but last year's weather for the Connacht final was alot worse.

Literally had to go to the dentist after that because a filling came out, just a completely crazy day.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 25, 2012, 09:53:53 PM
Genuinely struggling to believe weather could have been worse than the Limerick qualifier. Any Rossies with ideas of where to stay the Saturday night and where the best places to socialise for a bunch of 20 and 30 somethings?
Post by: Agent Orange on June 25, 2012, 09:59:16 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 25, 2012, 09:53:53 PM
Any Rossies with ideas of where to stay the Saturday night and where the best places to socialise for a bunch of 20 and 30 somethings?

Carrick on Shannon is only half an hour from Roscommon. Good night life, plenty of hen nights and cheap accomodation.
Post by: ross4life on June 25, 2012, 10:23:16 PM
Wind & rain in last year's Connacht final it was like the middle of October. Hannon's hotel up the road from Hyde park or Gleeson's middle of the town are decent places to stay & if your staying hollywood ,Central,JJ harlows bars & finish the night off in Rockfords.

Carrick on Shannon is about a 50 minute drive from Roscommon town & is one of the best nightlife towns in Connacht.
Post by: commonman on June 25, 2012, 10:40:34 PM
Armagh's last 2 visits to the Hyde

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked/Library/SF99/118795.jpg)

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked/Library/SF99/118794.jpg)

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked/Library/SF189/173581.jpg)

Bring the brollies
Post by: moysider on June 25, 2012, 11:21:54 PM

I ve been attending matches in the Hyde for more than 30 years and I can only recollect one real lovely summers day - 1988 I think it was. It s usually wet and windy or just dull and windy. Last years Connacht final was the worst conditions for a championship match I ve ever seen.

Post by: Syferus on June 26, 2012, 12:10:51 AM
The heavens will continue to weep 'till we vanquish the twin titans.
Post by: Travis T O Justice on June 26, 2012, 12:53:50 PM
Anyone know if the game will be broadcast in any form DAB, Livestream on Saturday?
Post by: Denn Forever on June 26, 2012, 01:04:35 PM
Quote from: Travis T O Justice on June 26, 2012, 12:53:50 PM
Anyone know if the game will be broadcast in any form DAB, Livestream on Saturday?

I'd say it will be on Shannonside and that available on the internet.  Enjoy the the Hairy Marys.
Post by: Travis T O Justice on June 26, 2012, 01:54:44 PM
Hairy Marys?

Nice wan old boy - Shannon Side wireless it is so.
Post by: Denn Forever on June 26, 2012, 02:17:28 PM
Quote from: Travis T O Justice on June 26, 2012, 01:54:44 PM
Hairy Marys?

Commentator is a special one and Hairy Mary/Hail Mary is a favorite buzz word for him.  He'll be saying a lot for the balls into Shine if things are not going well for Roscommon.
Post by: Syferus on June 26, 2012, 02:28:07 PM
Big Willie has played a huge part in developing our under-age systems so remember that same verbal assassin is murdering ye on the playing fields as well ;)
Post by: Rossfan on June 26, 2012, 03:47:05 PM
Willie on the wireless is as good a motivation as any for going to the game. :D
Post by: Travis T O Justice on June 26, 2012, 04:12:28 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on June 26, 2012, 02:17:28 PM
Quote from: Travis T O Justice on June 26, 2012, 01:54:44 PM
Hairy Marys?

Commentator is a special one and Hairy Mary/Hail Mary is a favorite buzz word for him.  He'll be saying a lot for the balls into Shine if things are not going well for Roscommon.

I'll keep my ears open form them Hairy Marys!
Post by: rossfan 2012 on June 28, 2012, 11:24:27 AM
Can only see an Armagh win here. I don't think the players are committed to the Newton regime and while it is harsh to judge a manager who has only been in charge for a few months, I don't think he's the right man to lead Roscommon forward. I'd like to see Donie Smith and Colin Compton introduced against Armagh with Donal Shine moving into the half forward line and helping out in midfield. He played a similar role in the 2010 all ireland u-21 semi-final against Dublin and helped Roscommon to dominate midfield but wasteful shooting cost them that day. I hope they can prove me wrong on Sunday.
Post by: omagh_gael on June 28, 2012, 11:41:40 AM
Perhaps wasteful shooting cost them as their best forward was playing out round the middle? A case of robbing Peter to pay Paul. See the Kildare debate on the use of J Doyle.
Post by: rossfan 2012 on June 28, 2012, 11:48:04 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on June 28, 2012, 11:41:40 AM
Perhaps wasteful shooting cost them as their best forward was playing out round the middle? A case of robbing Peter to pay Paul. See the Kildare debate on the use of J Doyle.

I can see your point but Shine and Kilbride don't work well together in the full forward line and on that occasion in the u-21 semi final Shine was guilty of wasteful shooting himself.
Post by: tonto1888 on June 28, 2012, 03:03:45 PM
any team news yet guys? Im assuming this isnt on tele on sunday also?
Post by: Rossfan on June 28, 2012, 04:40:22 PM
Quote from: rossfan 2012 on June 28, 2012, 11:24:27 AM
Can only see an Armagh win here. I don't think the players are committed to the Newton regime and while it is harsh to judge a manager who has only been in charge for a few months, I don't think he's the right man to lead Roscommon forward.
I hope they can prove me wrong on Sunday.

What's with the user name bud?  >:(
Could you not think up something more original?
Unfortunately , and risking an outbreak of censure from Mr Spin himself -Syferus- , I have to agree with the substance of your piece.
Also like you I hope to be proved wrong
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 28, 2012, 05:10:24 PM
Ah Rossfan, I'd love if there were a few more Farrandeelins on the board. It would be like semi-godlike status. rossfan 2012 must look up to you!
Post by: Rossfan on June 28, 2012, 05:14:53 PM
Martin McGuinness will want to shake my hand next  ;D
Post by: Syferus on June 28, 2012, 05:17:30 PM
One of those miserable feckers was enough  >:(
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 28, 2012, 05:30:21 PM
When the draw was made i thought Armagh would win by 7-9 points however with a few defenders out injured i think it will be closer now. Armagh by 4-6 points.

Post by: ross4life on June 28, 2012, 06:44:41 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 28, 2012, 04:40:22 PM
Can only see an Armagh win here. I don't think the players are committed to the Newton regime and while it is harsh to judge a manager who has only been in charge for a few months, I don't think he's the right man to lead Roscommon forward.

Unfortunately , and risking an outbreak of censure from Mr Spin himself -Syferus- , I have to agree with the substance of your piece.

Ah sure we're all rossfans, Rossfan. I wonder how many Ross fans will go to the game on Sunday? looking around the popular prediction is Armagh by 6pts i guess improvement on the Galway game  :-\
Post by: rossfan 2012 on June 28, 2012, 06:52:17 PM
Quote from: ross4life on June 28, 2012, 06:44:41 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 28, 2012, 04:40:22 PM

Ah sure we're all rossfans, Rossfan.

Exactly  :)
Post by: Oraisteach on June 28, 2012, 06:57:19 PM
OK, lads, anyone know what radio station will cover the match?
Post by: ArmaghGAAforum on June 28, 2012, 09:19:38 PM
Armagh Team v Roscommon here (http://www.armaghgaa.net/forum/f5/armagh-v-roscommon-first-round-qualifier-2166/index12.html#post48061)
Post by: Syferus on June 28, 2012, 09:24:16 PM
Quote from: ArmaghGAAforum on June 28, 2012, 09:19:38 PM
Armagh Team v Roscommon here (http://www.armaghgaa.net/forum/f5/armagh-v-roscommon-first-round-qualifier-2166/index12.html#post48061)

Or in less of an transparent advertisement:

The Armagh Senior Football Team that will play Roscommon in the first round qualifiers on Sunday:

1. Philip McEvoy
Naomh Padraig, Droim an Tí
2. Andy Mallon
Na Piarsaigh Óga, Ard Mhacha
3. Brendan Donaghy
An Chluain Mhór
4. Declan McKenna
Cláirsigh Ard Mhacha
5. Finnian Moriarty
Uilf Tón, Doire Mhic Áise
6. Ciaran McKeever
Naomh Pádraig, Tullach Eanaigh
7. Paul Duffy
Na Piarsigh Óga, Ard Mhacha
8. Malachy Mackin
Naomh Padraig, Coilleach Eannach
9. Kieran Toner
Naomh Mhuire, An Ghráinseach Mhór
10. Aidan Forker
Sean Mac Diarmada Machaire
11. Kevin Dyas
Naomh Pádraig, Droim an Tí
12. Anto Duffy
Na Piarsaigh Óga, Ard Mhacha
13. Jamie Clarke
Raonaithe Na Croise
14. Caolan Rafferty
Naomh Mhuire, An Ghráinseach Mhór
15. Brian Mallon
Tír na n-Óg, Port An Dúnáin
Post by: Rossfan on June 28, 2012, 10:29:23 PM
Hopefully we can keep the ball kicked out to them  ???
Post by: Syferus on June 28, 2012, 11:53:41 PM
Well they'll be doing most of the kick-outs, what with the cricket score we're planning on putting up :-X
Post by: Orior on June 29, 2012, 12:02:07 AM
Interesting that Armagh are persevering with young McKenna.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 29, 2012, 01:56:57 AM
Quote from: Orior on June 29, 2012, 12:02:07 AM
Interesting that Armagh are persevering with young McKenna.
Yes and at least Andy Mallon is fit to start.
Post by: DuffleKing on June 29, 2012, 07:51:27 AM

All of this would be interesting were this actually the team
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 29, 2012, 10:45:57 AM
Yes, I haven't heard anything myself but given that it is the same team as started against Tyrone with the only switch a "like-for-like" replacement of an injured player, I'd view this selection with a fair degree of scepticism.
Post by: Onion Bag on June 29, 2012, 11:30:56 AM
What way is Aaron Kernan?
Post by: seafoid on June 29, 2012, 01:08:32 PM
Best of luck to the Rossies. Armagh aren't going to win anything this year so go for it.
Post by: spuds on June 29, 2012, 02:18:54 PM
Only 1 Crossmaglen starter on that team ?
Post by: dec on June 29, 2012, 03:10:50 PM
http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=172274

Armagh - Philip McEvoy; Andy Mallon, Brendan Donaghy, Declan McKenna; Finian Moriarty, Ciaran McKeever, Paul Duffy; Malachy Mackin, Kieran Toner; Aidan Forker, Kevin Dyas, Anto Duffy; Jamie Clarke, Caolan Rafferty, Brian Mallon.
Post by: Travis T O Justice on June 29, 2012, 03:48:17 PM
Quote from: dec on June 29, 2012, 03:10:50 PM
http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=172274

Armagh - Philip McEvoy; Andy Mallon, Brendan Donaghy, Declan McKenna; Finian Moriarty, Ciaran McKeever, Paul Duffy; Malachy Mackin, Kieran Toner; Aidan Forker, Kevin Dyas, Anto Duffy; Jamie Clarke, Caolan Rafferty, Brian Mallon.

Mate - I couldn't give the hairiest what you have to say, how you say it or why you say it...you just need to tell me one thing.....where'd you get that avatar of my Ma.......
Post by: Oraisteach on June 29, 2012, 04:29:38 PM
C'mon, lads, there must be someone who can tell me what radio station is carrying the match.  Surely not all of my fellow apple-eaters are making the trek to game?  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

On a separate note, just how far from real fitness is Ronan Clarke, or is his inter-county career well and truly over?
Post by: dec on June 29, 2012, 04:53:57 PM
Quote from: Oraisteach on June 29, 2012, 04:29:38 PM
C'mon, lads, there must be someone who can tell me what radio station is carrying the match.  Surely not all of my fellow apple-eaters are making the trek to game?  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

On a separate note, just how far from real fitness is Ronan Clarke, or is his inter-county career well and truly over?

Shannonside has "Sunday Stadium" from 2-6. Doesn't say what they will be covering.

http://www.shannonside.ie/schedule.php

12.00    Shannon's Corner    Seamus Shannon
14.00    Sunday Stadium    Mike D'Arcy
18.00    Shades of Green    Sean Byers

UPDATE -

Never mind
"Sunday Sports Stadium
Sunday Sports Stadium brings the most exciting sporting action from across the Shannonside Northern Sound region to your radio, each Sunday from 2-6 with Mike D'Arcy.
Classic Hits and today's Hit Music along with sports updates each half hour; and it's the only Sunday afternoon request show in the region!"
Post by: ardal on June 29, 2012, 05:00:05 PM
Highland radio

rte.ie (although they'll only give bits and pieces as normal as normal I suppose)

See one of the stickie posts at the top of page one
Post by: Rossfan on June 29, 2012, 05:09:14 PM
Quote from: dec on June 29, 2012, 04:53:57 PM
[Shannonside has "Sunday Stadium" from 2-6. Doesn't say what they will be covering.

http://www.shannonside.ie/schedule.php

12.00    Shannon's Corner    Seamus Shannon
14.00    Sunday Stadium    Mike D'Arcy
18.00    Shades of Green    Sean Byers

UPDATE -

Never mind
"Sunday Sports Stadium
Sunday Sports Stadium brings the most exciting sporting action from across the Shannonside Northern Sound region to your radio, each Sunday from 2-6 with Mike D'Arcy.
Classic Hits and today's Hit Music along with sports updates each half hour; and it's the only Sunday afternoon request show in the region!"
Of course one never knows with Shannonside at weekends  ::)
But I'd expect they will have  full commentary on the game.
No word of a Ros team other than a few snippets on the Co Board site re Dineen out and Finneran and Ward fit.
I'd expect Claffey,Seanie Carty Collins or Purcell , Ward Domo Daly , C Shine and Mannion, Forwards could be in any order - Cregg/D Shine/Kilbride/Compton/Darren Mc /Rogers or Heneghan or any other forward left on the panel. I expect Finneran and Donie Smith to be the first subs to appear.
If we go on with the zonal defence nonsense or havent improved on the Galway performance I fear anither disaster.
Hopeful there will be improvements in tactics/attitude/fitness and if we're there or thereabouts with 10 to go you'd never know.
I still haven't convinced myself though  :-[
( with apologies to Des Syferus  ;D)
Post by: Oraisteach on June 29, 2012, 05:21:14 PM
Thank you v. much for the suggestions
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 30, 2012, 12:28:12 PM
Quote from: Oraisteach on June 29, 2012, 05:21:14 PM

Someone on the Armagh forum has posted suggesting the match will be live Radio Ulster MW.
Post by: Syferus on June 30, 2012, 12:45:59 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 30, 2012, 12:28:12 PM

Someone on the Armagh forum has posted suggesting the match will be live Radio Ulster MW.

If you don't listen to Big Willie then shame on you!
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 30, 2012, 12:49:10 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 30, 2012, 12:45:59 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 30, 2012, 12:28:12 PM

If you don't listen to Big Willie then shame on you!

I'm for Roscommon in an hour or two so hangover permitting I'll not need the radio!
Post by: anportmorforjfc on July 01, 2012, 02:27:03 PM
Lads any radio station covering the game?
Post by: weareross on July 01, 2012, 02:30:02 PM
Its on Shannonside
Post by: anportmorforjfc on July 01, 2012, 02:41:52 PM
Quote from: weareross on July 01, 2012, 02:30:02 PM
Its on Shannonside

Thanks
Post by: weareross on July 01, 2012, 02:45:23 PM
Jamie Clarke tearing us apart atm, 1-2 to 0-2.
Post by: anportmorforjfc on July 01, 2012, 02:47:18 PM
Jamie Clarke 1-3 Roscommon 0-3
Post by: anportmorforjfc on July 01, 2012, 02:56:36 PM
Armagh 1-5 Roscommon 0-4
Post by: ross4life on July 01, 2012, 03:12:00 PM
Poor game no scores from play from us, all over the place at the back & losing all the breaks in midfield not looking good for the rossies
Post by: weareross on July 01, 2012, 03:12:21 PM
1-7 to 0-5 at HT
Post by: Armaghgeddon on July 01, 2012, 03:13:13 PM
How is Jamie playing?
Post by: Tubberman on July 01, 2012, 03:15:11 PM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on July 01, 2012, 03:13:13 PM
How is Jamie playing?

Not involved apart from scoring almost everything ;)
Post by: weareross on July 01, 2012, 03:15:17 PM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on July 01, 2012, 03:13:13 PM
How is Jamie playing?

We can't cope with him.
Post by: armaghniac on July 01, 2012, 03:27:07 PM
cold damp day, poor enough game, except for J Clark lighting it up .

Post by: Armaghgeddon on July 01, 2012, 03:29:47 PM
Roscommon goal
Post by: PatDaly on July 01, 2012, 03:33:13 PM
Armagh 1-7 Roscommon 1-6
Post by: Tubberman on July 01, 2012, 03:34:18 PM
Quote from: PatDaly on July 01, 2012, 03:33:13 PM
Armagh 1-7 Roscommon 1-6

Interesting.....
Post by: PatDaly on July 01, 2012, 03:36:44 PM
Malachy Mackin into the book and now its level Roscommon 1-7 Armagh 1-7
Post by: joemamas on July 01, 2012, 03:41:34 PM
commentator is great.
Post by: PatDaly on July 01, 2012, 03:42:10 PM
Roscoomon leading 1-8 Armagh 1-7
Post by: weareross on July 01, 2012, 03:43:09 PM
Ross in the lead, Willie is having a spasm on the radio
Post by: ross4life on July 01, 2012, 03:44:24 PM
Some turn around hopefully we can keep it going
Post by: Tubberman on July 01, 2012, 03:45:32 PM
Had to turn on Shannonside to hear this! Willie is great stuff in fairness
Post by: joemamas on July 01, 2012, 03:45:56 PM
i hope Willie makes it to the end.
Post by: weareross on July 01, 2012, 03:46:48 PM
"Helter Skelter, Hail Mary Our Father of a contest"
Post by: All of a Sludden on July 01, 2012, 03:47:47 PM
Quote from: joemamas on July 01, 2012, 03:41:34 PM
commentator is great.

You'd think it was Madison Square Garden, in New York on a Saturday night.

Helter skelter, hail Mary our father of a contest.

Post by: weareross on July 01, 2012, 03:48:17 PM
We seem very very wasteful, hope it doesn't come back to haunt us
Post by: Tubberman on July 01, 2012, 03:48:49 PM
Ros kicking a couple of wides. Would need to capitalising more, although I'm only listening about 5 mins in fairness!
Post by: maigheo on July 01, 2012, 03:49:08 PM
ros ahead by 1.15 min to go.
Post by: All of a Sludden on July 01, 2012, 03:49:52 PM
2 in it now.
Post by: weareross on July 01, 2012, 03:50:40 PM
Where the f**k is this coming from
Post by: weareross on July 01, 2012, 03:52:15 PM
YES! 3 in it!
Post by: maigheo on July 01, 2012, 03:52:33 PM
ros ahead by 3.Willie won't last to the end
Post by: Tubberman on July 01, 2012, 03:52:57 PM
Jaysus, I'll have to wait up to see The Sunday Game tonight if this keeps up!
Post by: ardal on July 01, 2012, 03:53:02 PM
Jaysus christ. Some imploding.

Commentator is gas though
Post by: joemamas on July 01, 2012, 03:53:56 PM
Quote from: maigheo on July 01, 2012, 03:52:33 PM

I hope he does not have high blood pressure, if he does it will be off the charts
Post by: weareross on July 01, 2012, 03:55:56 PM
Ger Heneghan in CHF and Shine back to midfield seemed to work wonders, lets hope we hold out
Post by: joemamas on July 01, 2012, 03:56:55 PM
Quote from: joemamas on July 01, 2012, 03:53:56 PM
Quote from: maigheo on July 01, 2012, 03:52:33 PM

I hope he does not have high blood pressure, if he does it will be off the charts

It is 11 oclock in the Bronx. Pancakes for breakfast in America.
Post by: maigheo on July 01, 2012, 03:57:22 PM
(ros are ahead by 2 or armagh are behind by 2)   willie :)
Post by: All of a Sludden on July 01, 2012, 03:59:12 PM
Whats the score? 2 or 3 in it?
Post by: maigheo on July 01, 2012, 03:59:43 PM
Kingham in full forward and he is about 7 foot 5 :)
Post by: joemamas on July 01, 2012, 04:00:01 PM
3 pts 1-11 to 1-8
Post by: ardal on July 01, 2012, 04:00:10 PM
Ros 4 mins away from being the horse to eat the fresh grass. Classic
Post by: weareross on July 01, 2012, 04:00:59 PM
"Gates were closed, no man minding the train gate"
Post by: maigheo on July 01, 2012, 04:01:21 PM
1.11 to 1.08. willie on about war horshes
Post by: All of a Sludden on July 01, 2012, 04:02:34 PM
Jamie Clarke could pick your pocket. ate at night, early in the morning even with the alarm system on.

Seany McDermott what a guard dog, an alsatian.

Post by: Tubberman on July 01, 2012, 04:03:40 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 01, 2012, 04:02:23 PM
This man is class.

What a gargoyle! What an Alsatian!

Guard dog I think, but gargoyle is better, lets go with that ;)
Post by: ONeill on July 01, 2012, 04:04:19 PM
Is he well known?
Post by: weareross on July 01, 2012, 04:06:24 PM
All over, fantastic win
Post by: ardal on July 01, 2012, 04:06:30 PM
Chrsit Ros 1:11 Arm 1:9
Post by: Tubberman on July 01, 2012, 04:06:51 PM
Fcking hell, i didn't see that coming!!

Some turn around for Ros after the Galway match.
Fair play to Ros and their supporters. Massive result, well done.
Post by: macdanger2 on July 01, 2012, 04:07:38 PM
Some result, well done to the Rossies!!

Post by: naka on July 01, 2012, 04:08:17 PM
Taxi for paddy
Post by: ardal on July 01, 2012, 04:09:19 PM
Devastated, but well done to Ros. Sounded like a perfect second half for them tactics wise
Post by: under the bar on July 01, 2012, 04:09:31 PM
Hopefully theres a bumper crop of apples this year so the armagh boys have something to do over the summer.
;) ;D
Post by: Maguire01 on July 01, 2012, 04:10:59 PM
That commentator was class! An inspiration for Sidebottom!
Post by: armaghniac on July 01, 2012, 04:11:29 PM
Rossies win by determination as much as brilliance. Armagh pure awful in second half.
Post by: Lecale2 on July 01, 2012, 04:11:53 PM
A fair few bets beat with that result.  >:(
Post by: Tubberman on July 01, 2012, 04:15:19 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 01, 2012, 04:11:29 PM
Rossies win by determination as much as brilliance. Armagh purenudismt rank in second half.

Ah now, steady on. They all have jobs to go to in the morning...
Post by: ross4life on July 01, 2012, 04:29:22 PM
To quote the late great Mr Earley..... Mighty!
Post by: weareross on July 01, 2012, 04:34:13 PM
Litreally praying we get Leitrim
Post by: seafoid on July 01, 2012, 04:37:16 PM
Great result for Ros. It must have helped that Armagh weren't wearing  maroon jerseys.

But very poor second half from Armagh all the same.  How come the Cross effect doesn't work at county level?
Post by: Armamike on July 01, 2012, 04:41:47 PM
Not that surprising of a result unfortuntely for anyone who has followed Armagh past few years. Start off ok in first game then it gets much worse after that. Its a pretty useless set up. I would hope the management do the right thing and make a ver quick statement in the next day or two that they're stepping down.
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 01, 2012, 04:53:01 PM
Well done Rossies. Good win. A better reflection of your side's ability than the Galway game would suggest.
Post by: naka on July 01, 2012, 05:06:33 PM
Devastating result for the orchard
We are better off out of it
Post by: From the Bunker on July 01, 2012, 05:16:14 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on July 01, 2012, 04:53:01 PM
Well done Rossies. Good win. A better reflection of your side's ability than the Galway game would suggest.

Well done the Rossies, Knew ye were far better than your showing v Galway.
Post by: PatDaly on July 01, 2012, 05:16:37 PM
From Oisín McConville...

43m The BBC Championship ‏@bbcchampionship
Oisín: "There's an apathy about Armagh football. There's a chip on peoples shoulders about the 'Cross' thing."

52m The BBC Championship ‏@bbcchampionship
Oisín's on a roll now: "Armagh's problems run a bit deeper than this result. This is as low as I've felt about Armagh football for a while"

54m The BBC Championship ‏@bbcchampionship
Oisin on Paddy O'Rourke's Armagh future: "I don't think he has a future, no disrespect to the man."

56m The BBC Championship ‏@bbcchampionship
Oisín: "This is one of the worst results ever for Armagh."
Post by: Syferus on July 01, 2012, 05:28:53 PM
Utter disrespect of the opposition by wee Osin. Armagh were bet by a better team, a team that shouldn't have been down by five at the half. Tough nuts to him but based on Armagh's recent record this loss is far from 'the worst ever'.

Armagh need to build a team around Jamie Clarke, not one totally reliant on him. Oh woe is me craic helps no one.
Post by: orangeman on July 01, 2012, 05:35:00 PM
Quote from: PatDaly on July 01, 2012, 05:16:37 PM
From Oisín McConville...

43m The BBC Championship ‏@bbcchampionship
Oisín: "There's an apathy about Armagh football. There's a chip on peoples shoulders about the 'Cross' thing."

52m The BBC Championship ‏@bbcchampionship
Oisín's on a roll now: "Armagh's problems run a bit deeper than this result. This is as low as I've felt about Armagh football for a while"

54m The BBC Championship ‏@bbcchampionship
Oisin on Paddy O'Rourke's Armagh future: "I don't think he has a future, no disrespect to the man."

At least he's not being dull and talking round the subject.

If this is what he genuinely thinks, fair play for coming out with it.
Post by: under the bar on July 01, 2012, 05:37:22 PM
You can't really blame the management.  Paddy O'rourke is a decent manager but not a miracle worker and can't make a silk purse from a sow's ear!!
Post by: macdanger2 on July 01, 2012, 05:40:30 PM
Quote from: PatDaly on July 01, 2012, 05:16:37 PM
From Oisín McConville...

He should consider reading up a little on the GAA history of Armagh, I'm pretty sure they've been beaten by far worse teams than Roscommon in the last 20 years never mind further back.

Today might have been a bad result for them but that's a decent Roscommon team despite the hammering from Galway.
Post by: Armamike on July 01, 2012, 05:50:12 PM
Quote from: under the bar on July 01, 2012, 05:37:22 PM
You can't really blame the management.  Paddy O'rourke is a decent manager but not a miracle worker and can't make a silk purse from a sow's ear!!

Bull. Predictable.
Post by: Bensars on July 01, 2012, 06:06:34 PM
Not a real suprise.  Expectations in Armagh are way above reality.  With the news in the week that Mc Gurn is on his way, POR now to follow.

No doubt Mc Geeney is also about to recieve his P45 probably within a month to six weeks ,  its time for prodigal son to return home.

For a county to have such a succeessful and legendary club side, the county results have been nothing short of shocking
Post by: armaghniac on July 01, 2012, 06:06:51 PM
Oisin on RTE shortly.

Roscommon were the better team. But they are not a top team and Armagh should have put them away from being 5 points up. That was a dissprited performance.
Post by: orangeman on July 01, 2012, 06:09:21 PM
Quote from: Bensars on July 01, 2012, 06:06:34 PM
Not a real suprise.  Expectations in Armagh are way above reality.  With the news in the week that Mc Gurn is on his way, POR now to follow.

No doubt Mc Geeney is also about to recieve his P45 probably within a month to six weeks ,  its time for prodigal son to return home. For a county to have such a succeessful and legendary club side, the county results have been nothing short of shocking

What about Big Joe coming back ?
Post by: regal on July 01, 2012, 06:14:31 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 01, 2012, 06:09:21 PM
Quote from: Bensars on July 01, 2012, 06:06:34 PM

No doubt Mc Geeney is also about to recieve his P45 probably within a month to six weeks ,  its time for prodigal son to return home. For a county to have such a succeessful and legendary club side, the county results have been nothing short of shocking

What about Big Joe coming back ?

I know our midfield is pathethic but Big Joe is no option
Post by: winsamsoon on July 01, 2012, 06:34:37 PM
If they would select the footballers in Armagh rather than the 6ft man mountains who couldn't run a bath then the future will look brighter. Until the selections teams, regardless of mananger ditch this tactic, results like this are no surprise at all. Good luck to Roscommon in the next phase.
Post by: regal on July 01, 2012, 06:46:23 PM
Can anyone list the armagh team which played & player ratings if possible
Post by: fitzroyalty on July 01, 2012, 06:47:59 PM
Quote from: winsamsoon on July 01, 2012, 06:34:37 PM
If they would select the footballers in Armagh rather than the 6ft man mountains who couldn't run a bath then the future will look brighter. Until the selections teams, regardless of mananger ditch this tactic, results like this are no surprise at all. Good luck to Roscommon in the next phase.
Couldn't agree more. There's players on the panel that aren't even the best players for their clubs!  :o
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 01, 2012, 06:50:48 PM
When the draw was made i thought it was only a matter of how much Armagh would win by however after having a good lead at half time maybe some of the players thought the game was won? Roscommon came out with passion,determination in the second half that the men of the orchard county couldn't match fair play to them a deserve win.

In reply to Oisín McConville... in 2008 a better Armagh side lost to Wexford i thought that result was worse than today.
Post by: JP on July 01, 2012, 06:57:06 PM
The management has to go.

Toner
Hanratty
Lavery
Vernon
Mackin

5 midfielders all at the pitch at once and they could barely win a ball in midfield. How John Kingham gets a game for his club never mind Armagh is beyond me. At one stage we were left with only one capable scorer (Jamie) on the pitch until Tony Kernan came on. The most disappointing aspect was the lack of fight within the Armagh team. Not sure if they really cared all that much to be honest.
Post by: naka on July 01, 2012, 07:02:17 PM
For what it's worth, we are rudderless ,
POR has to step down and we need to re- evaluate what way
We play.
I would like Tony mc entee in charge.
This was a poor year for the orchard, relegation and once round knock out.
Post by: seafoid on July 01, 2012, 07:13:36 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 01, 2012, 06:06:51 PM
Oisin on RTE shortly.

Roscommon were the better team. But they are not a top team and Armagh should have put them away from being 5 points up. That was a dissprited performance.
Ros are Division 3
But they have balls when they get into the mood
Post by: BennyCake on July 01, 2012, 07:14:30 PM
Get real. Tony McEntee isn't going to leave the best club side in Ireland, going for 3 in a row, to take over a shambolic county team.
Post by: ross4life on July 01, 2012, 07:19:10 PM
We showed today how much we have progressed from the 2008 Armagh league hammering & showed today that the Galway game was a total non show for us. Well done to players for restoring pride in the jersey! some performance in that 2nd half our opponents couldn't match our heart, commitment & desire to win. Great to be in Hyde,Tuam the last two nights as the 2012 GAA tag lines says nothing Beats Being there  :)

Hopefully we get a decent draw in 2 round now but we don't seem to have much luck in draws.
Post by: orangeman on July 01, 2012, 08:01:30 PM
To be fair and to bring some balance, Armagh in the Athletic grounds were far from gutless or clueless.

They could have beaten Tyrone that day.

Today was a bad day out.

But Roscommon are no bad team.

People said Meath were dire up until today but they pulled out a performance. They might be dire the next day.

That's football.
Post by: Syferus on July 01, 2012, 08:07:51 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 01, 2012, 06:06:51 PM
Oisin on RTE shortly.

This would be what I'd highlight as one of Armagh's key problems, the wrongly-founded idea that you're anything more than a (maybe) top eight team in the country, or that that fact bestows anything particularly exceptional. Now the game is over I'll be blunt for the purpose of maybe giving a bit of perspective on what transpired at the Hyde today: it's been many years since I looked at Armagh with anything approaching trepidation, they seemed to me for quite a while to be an over-rated team (inside and out-side the county) and one of the 'bigs' that would be most easily knocked off. If this weekend has taught us anything it's that there's very, very little between the teams in the 1-10 (Kildare, Armagh, Dublin, Derry) range and the ones in the 11-16 Meath, Roscommon, Wexford, Longford), there simply should be none of the 'we're better than these guys' attitude on the 'top' side of such match-ups.

Armagh played like Jamie Clarke and the Fourteen Seasons today. Clarke is a player of exceptional talent, perhaps only bettered by Gooch as a full-forward, but you need to build a team around him, not one reliant on him. We have our own hugely successful club team but that's no silver bullet at senior level. The problems don't lie with Paddy O'Rourke or the county board alone; the players have to accept the fact they were simply not good enough on far too many occasions in the last twelve months.

Ye had fantastic, wonderful support at the Hyde today and that passion is as good a foundations as any county could have to build, but lowering the bar and resetting expectations may be the best course of action, we had to fall very far before we started to really improve and develop into something more than roadkill. Good luck, and I mean that sincerely.
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on July 01, 2012, 08:10:15 PM
i watched Armagh v Tyrone in the lst round and genuinely thought that you would be playing at the later stages of teh competition - i didnt see this result coming at all...whilst Roscommon are no bad team, the expectation was that armagh would win this one...did i hear that Paddy o'rourke has resigned??
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 01, 2012, 08:26:38 PM
Guys Armagh has un realistic expectations, up to 1999, Armagh hadn't won an ulster title since `82, you have been spoiled with success, taking for granted that's good teams come along on a regular basis, it doesn't happen like that!good teams come and go, down and Derry had good teams in the early nineties, should have won more but didn't, though they expect the current teams to be as good as previous teams, football is not like that! Longford from div 3 beat us last night, i keep saying that shouldn't have happened but the reality is i cant except we are not any good any more, and keep thinking of days gone by, playing in Div 1/2 doesn't mean we are so far ahead of div 3 teams that its only  a matter of turning up, it doesn't happen it soccer as weaker teams turn over better teams on a regular basis. Giving up supporting your team will not help, supporters support their team through thick and thin or you end up like Derry with only 200 supporters going to games!!
Post by: JP on July 01, 2012, 08:34:24 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 01, 2012, 08:26:38 PM
Guys Armagh has un realistic expectations, up to 1999, Armagh hadn't won an ulster title since `82, you have been spoiled with success, taking for granted that's good teams come along on a regular basis, it doesn't happen like that!good teams come and go, down and Derry had good teams in the early nineties, should have won more but didn't, though they expect the current teams to be as good as previous teams, football is not like that! Longford from div 3 beat us last night, i keep saying that shouldn't have happened but the reality is i cant except we are not any good any more, and keep thinking of days gone by, playing in Div 1/2 doesn't mean we are so far ahead of div 3 teams that its only  a matter of turning up, it doesn't happen it soccer as weaker teams turn over better teams on a regular basis. Giving up supporting your team will not help, supporters support their team through thick and thin or you end up like Derry with only 200 supporters going to games!!

To be honest expectations going into this season where the lowest I can ever remember them. We aven't done anything of note in the championship since 2008 so its not like we were expecting an All Ireland. This game always had the potential to cause an upset but it is the manner of defeat that is shocking. To throw away a comfortable 5 point lead that we gained without ever moving out of 3rd gear. Roscommon upped their game and we couldn't match it. We were clueless and there is something fundamentally wrong. Apparently Paddy is gone now so hopefully someone will come in with a long term plan and start the re-building process.
Post by: ross matt on July 01, 2012, 08:55:58 PM
I certainly didnt see that coming. Last year it wouldnt have been a shock so perhaps Ross are finding their way back to top form. Great to see the players showing the character to pick up the pieces after the Galway  wipe out.
Post by: John o connor on July 01, 2012, 09:08:30 PM
To Let Morgan Athletic Grounds ( approx 6 months )

Good grazing land for sheep , cattle etc .
Contact Armagh county board for details
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 01, 2012, 09:36:07 PM
Quote from: AFS on July 01, 2012, 08:57:26 PM
This stuff about expectations is nonsense. It's not unreasonable to expect your team to score more than one point in 35 minutes of football against anybody, never mind Roscommon.

Two points in 35 minutes. Worst part only about 4 or 5 other attempts in that 2nd half.
Post by: stew on July 01, 2012, 09:38:13 PM
Quote from: John o connor on July 01, 2012, 09:08:30 PM

fack away aff newbie.

Gut check time in the orchard, we need to look what has transpired this season and figure out who is committed in the management team, and the panel in moving us forward, if it were up to me i would be giving youth a chance with a few veterans mixed in and I would try and get the panel hungry again.

Listening to that today in the second half was as hard a listen as i have ever experienced and I have been following the county since 75.

Nobody needs to over-react here, they should take a few days, review the season and feck paddy out on his arse, good man but the players are not listening anymore and some of them need to be moved on as well.

Grimley will do me, otherwise McEntee or Geezer!
Post by: Bensars on July 01, 2012, 09:48:32 PM
Quote from: stew on July 01, 2012, 09:38:13 PM
Quote from: John o connor on July 01, 2012, 09:08:30 PM

fack away aff newbie.

Gut check time in the orchard, we need to look what has transpired this season and figure out who is committed in the management team, and the panel in moving us forward, if it were up to me i would be giving youth a chance with a few veterans mixed in and I would try and get the panel hungry again.

Listening to that today in the second half was as hard a listen as i have ever experienced and I have been following the county since 75.

Nobody needs to over-react here, they should take a few days, review the season and feck paddy out on his arse, good man but the players are not listening anymore and some of them need to be moved on as well.

Was Grimley not the man brought in to solve these problems ?    He doesent seem to have added anything. Come to think of it, what has he done at Cavan, Kildare or armagh(post 2005).  Looking like a lot of the urban myth that he was the brains behind the Kernan years is just that !
No doubt about it Mc Geeney will available in a few weeks, whether he wants to take a sinking ship is another thing !
Post by: Dennis The Menace on July 01, 2012, 09:48:57 PM
Quote from: stew on July 01, 2012, 09:38:13 PM

Is that the same Grimley that takes the credit when Armagh win and hides behind O'Rourke when they lose? Catch yourself on.

Geezer will get the road from Kildare after their next hammering. He has built a team of gym monkeys who can't play football, have won the square root of f**k all. His only interest is in his bank balance, which means Armagh can't afford him.

McEntee will stay with Cross and bring them to three in a row. And there is the biggest problem that faces any potential Armagh manager. How are they meant to prepare a team when some of their best players are unavailable because of their involvement with Cross? Cross' success is killing the county team.

If there was such belief in this current crop of Armagh players then why were all the so called fans sitting at home listening to the game on the radio?
Post by: Brick Tamlin on July 01, 2012, 09:54:43 PM
is there some sort of split on Armagh behin the scenes or what?
what is the crux of the problem.
some people on suggesting that Grimley should be let in charge is ridiculous to me, sure he is part responsible for the so called debacle of a year.
McGeeney if he had any sense wouldnt touch it i wouldnt think, although if he is knocked out in the next gane then he would be glad of the job offer.
Post by: Rossfan on July 01, 2012, 10:13:03 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 29, 2012, 05:09:14 PM
If we go on with the zonal defence nonsense or havent improved on the Galway performance I fear anither disaster.
Hopeful there will be improvements in tactics/attitude/fitness and if we're there or thereabouts with 10 to go you'd never know.

The above two sentences could sum up today's game of two halves from Ros. ;)

Still can't believe the heart and determination and fight we showed in the second half.
Did it come from the players themselves in spite of the management I wonder ::)
Anyway well done to our lads ,  Pride restored , a great win and even if Armagh were poor and maybe spiritless ... that's their problem.
Hopefully we won't be drawn away from home in the farthest ends of the Country on the day before our Minors face the rhubarb enemy in the Connacht Final.
Post by: Orangemac on July 01, 2012, 10:33:26 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on July 01, 2012, 09:54:43 PM
is there some sort of split on Armagh behin the scenes or what?
what is the crux of the problem.
some people on suggesting that Grimley should be let in charge is ridiculous to me, sure he is part responsible for the so called debacle of a year.
McGeeney if he had any sense wouldnt touch it i wouldnt think, although if he is knocked out in the next gane then he would be glad of the job offer.
See Aaron Cunningham tweeting earlier that there is an anti-Cross mentality in the Armagh set up. If some of the best players in the county are not making themselves available then Armagh are going nowhere.
Post by: armaghniac on July 01, 2012, 10:56:12 PM
QuoteTeam management can't blame Cross when they had only two starters in today's team they obviously don't appreciate their talent or consider it essential to have them available throughout the year.

The performance in Tralee had a lot of heart and not a Cross player about the place. Now I know it was February and championship is different, but in what way did we build on that performance?
Post by: Syferus on July 01, 2012, 11:49:31 PM
Well.. I don't hate to say I told you so  ;D

Armagh met a Roscommon side in a determined mood today. Even after the first half I felt we it was harsh to be five down, we had created just as many (if not more) chances as Armagh and we simply didn't convert, Compton, Senan and even Domican had open shots that they missed.

Armagh were basically the Jamie Clarke Supporting Band, such was their reliance on their (absolutely brilliant) corner forward.. He was un-markable in the first half and at times it was like watching an artist paint your headstone. Everything went through Clarke and the other five forwards were reduced to five cardboard cut-outs whose sole purpose was to spread the defence for Clarke. Outside of that Armagh had little invention, were being beat in the middle and were having a horrible time trying to contain all of our full-forwards and Cregg.

At half-time you got the feeling that our championship was ebbing away unless we could sprint out of the blocks in the second half. Des gathered the players on the field after the first half and whatever he said, whatever he did, led to a serious increase in intensity in the second half. No one could accuse the panel of not having fight or pride, or of disharmony, today. The belief it takes to look at a scoreboard and see yourself down by double scores against one of the 'top' teams in the country, a team even our own supporters doubted we could beat even at our best, and think 'hey, let's do this' is something truly special and this panel showed they have a hell of alot more ambition than to simply giving a good account of themselves.

The second half was wonderful in all but shooting - we systematically dismantled Armagh, from Purcell picking up Clarke and stopping the feed of ball to him by clogging up the half-back line and preventing the quick long balls that Clarke was destroying us with. Ger came on at the half and I, like most , groaned. Why Ger? Well Ger showed us why. His kick passing was beautiful and fed Senan with ball that continually sent Armagh's bakcs into a frenzy.

We should have dispatched Armagh very easily in the second half, with two clear-cut goal chances and plenty of wides from just about everyone. I'd go as far as to say Armagh proved the worst Ulster team to visit the Hyde this season, with both Antrim , and especially Cavan, offering more than Armagh did. The emperor didn't even have a loin-cloth today.

We completely broke their spirit and reduced them to brawling in an attempt to break a 'soft Connacht team'. Our men more than stood up to them physically and when balls needed to be one, when shots needed to be blocked, we were there. it was a remarkable displace of passion, skill and selflessness.

I thought the five players making their first starts played well - Kilroy may have only got a half but he made a couple fantastic runs at Armagh's defence and his contributions will have been over-shadowed by Ger's absolutely wonderful play in his steed in the second half.

Cathal Shine was the real deal in the middle, contributing massively to our best midfield display in many years. He was only getting better as the game wore on, passing well and his point just before his injury was the icing on a very impressive first outing. I can't imagine he won't be fit for two weeks' time and what a joy it is to have a good midfield selection headache for a change!

Collins was one of our best players, mixing it in the middle, winning breaking, pushing forward and nullifying his man almost completely, he can be very proud of his work today.

Compton was, like his brother yesterday, stunning in the air. Whatever's in the water in that family, it's led to two of the purest fielders of ball I've seen. He didn't kick for goal so well, but his strength was apparent, holding off two and three Armagh backs before passing the ball and he looks like someone well equipped to live up to the hype. One area I'd like to see more action from him is support play - Senan broke inside the Armagh defence and Compton didn't run into the goal area to offer an outlet, something that would have lead to an easy goal. Instead of three points Senan was forced to take a low-percentage shot that went across the face of the goal.

Daly wasn't flashy but as always he looks so assured and calm on the field, I've seen very few players come into a senior set-up and look so completely at home, perhaps the purest footballer of the lot.

Cregg defies superlatives, he simply is one of the finest footballers in the country and he is well on his way to becoming one of the all-time greats to have graced the primrose and blue jersey. Armagh tried everything, fouling, throwing him around, pining him to the ground, even injuring him him but my God did h e shut them up. The fight he showed today, the sheer will to win, to keep going while he was out on his feet, to run at Armagh even when he legs should have been gone, to score the insurance point, was majestic. That lad is the model for the entire panel; play as hard, as honestly, as Cregg and very few teams will beat us.

Donie's huge point in the second half was the moment when you realised we had this one, and he played deeper than usual and it worked very well - won a couple wonderful balls in the middle and was allowed use his under-rated vision to bring others into play. He did have a good few wides too, including a Longford-esque garryowen, but he produced his best performance of the year when it mattered most.

Senan was a constant threat, his goal completely changing the game. Again shooting let him down but we saw why he's so highly rated today.

Seanie Mc was immense at the back in the second half, in the right place so many times, mopping up so much ball. Purcell, unsung for so long, delivered on perhaps the most difficult marking job in the country, well done sir, you deserve ever plaudit going your way. Carty was much improved, his man being almost anonymous throughout the game. Ian Kilbride and Domican delivered, as did Mannion in the second half and Finneran looked wonderful when he came on for Shine.

All in all it was the capstone on one of the best weekends for Roscommon in many years, a team who knew they were better than they showed and made sure everyone knew it.

If anything it was the perfect performance moving forward - our poor shooting ensuring we won't get too carried away and that should mean we focus on allying better shot taking to the ambition and doggedness of this performance. We're better than a once-off win.

Pride restored; now for the second act.
Post by: theticklemister on July 01, 2012, 11:55:22 PM
I say ye have writers cramp after that one!
Post by: Syferus on July 02, 2012, 12:00:38 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on July 01, 2012, 11:55:22 PM

And I haven't even got to our minors yesterday! It was such a wonderful weekend, 150 minutes of nerve-shredding football and two wins. They may not be classics for neutrals but this weekend will live long in the memory of all those who went to Tuam and the Hyde.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 02, 2012, 12:06:14 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 02, 2012, 12:00:38 AM

And I haven't even got to our minors yesterday! It was such a wonderful weekend, 150 minutes of nerv-shredding football and two wins. They may not be classics for neutrals but this weekend will live long in the memory of all those who went to Tuam and the Hyde.

As they say to (Really) appreciate the highs, you often have to experience the lows! Welcome back to higher ground.
Post by: theticklemister on July 02, 2012, 12:09:15 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 02, 2012, 12:06:14 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 02, 2012, 12:00:38 AM

And I haven't even got to our minors yesterday! It was such a wonderful weekend, 150 minutes of nerv-shredding football and two wins. They may not be classics for neutrals but this weekend will live long in the memory of all those who went to Tuam and the Hyde.

As they say to (Really) appreciate the highs, you often have to experience the lows! Welcome back to higher ground.

As a Derry man............point me in the right direction!
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 02, 2012, 12:14:02 AM
Fair play to Roscommon. I honestly didn't think they would come within 5 points of Armagh. They must have put in some second half. Maybe Roscommon could indeed go on an extended run in the backdoor. Who do Rossies want next time out?
Post by: get up there on July 02, 2012, 12:16:15 AM
grimley never has never done any lasting good in any of the county's he has been with, sure he was with armagh in 02, but he fell out with Joe kernan for taking his son stephen kernan into the squad. which caused unrest. The cold truth is that since 08 armagh have been on the slip. facts don't lie
Post by: Syferus on July 02, 2012, 12:27:18 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 02, 2012, 12:14:02 AM
Fair play to Roscommon. I honestly didn't think they would come within 5 points of Armagh. They must have put in some second half. Maybe Roscommon could indeed go on an extended run in the backdoor. Who do Rossies want next time out?

GalwayGalwayGalwayGalwayGalwayGalwayGalwayGalwayGalwayGalwayGalwayGalwayGalwayGalway

And maybe Kerry if we get sauced enough tonight.
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 02, 2012, 12:55:38 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 02, 2012, 12:27:18 AM

;D ;D ;D
I think I know the feeling alright. God knows we have been in that situation many times ourselves.
Post by: Syferus on July 02, 2012, 01:13:57 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on July 02, 2012, 12:55:38 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 02, 2012, 12:27:18 AM

;D ;D ;D
I think I know the feeling alright. God knows we have been in that situation many times ourselves.

And seeing as we're in a good mood, if we get a home draw we'll score a few quick goals and end the game early so we don't tear up the field on ye too much  ;)
Post by: mackers on July 02, 2012, 11:39:52 AM
The one thing that should be associated with Armagh football is a bit of heart and pride in the jersey.  The performance yesterday is right up there with Derry last year and Monaghan the year before.  We were wiped out once the intensity levels were increased by Roscommon after their goal went in.  Somebody in an orange shirt should have grabbed control of the middle third and ensured that the capitulation didn't start.  Nobody stood up.  Jamie Clarke became a spectator along with the rest of us.
I want to ask a question.  Before I do I want to state that the referee was in no way responsible for our loss and that Roscommon were full value for the win, but what was the free given against Jamie Clarke for in the second half? He caught the ball, had turned his marker and was running away from him when Deegan blew the whistle for a free against Him.  Anybody see what the free was for or was it just a bad decision?
Post by: Syferus on July 02, 2012, 12:14:10 PM
Quote from: mackers on July 02, 2012, 11:39:52 AM
The one thing that should be associated with Armagh football is a bit of heart and pride in the jersey.  The performance yesterday is right up there with Derry last year and Monaghan the year before.  We were wiped out once the intensity levels were increased by Roscommon after their goal went in.  Somebody in an orange shirt should have grabbed control of the middle third and ensured that the capitulation didn't start.  Nobody stood up.  Jamie Clarke became a spectator along with the rest of us.
I want to ask a question.  Before I do I want to state that the referee was in no way responsible for our loss and that Roscommon were full value for the win, but what was the free given against Jamie Clarke for in the second half? He caught the ball, had turned his marker and was running away from him when Deegan blew the whistle for a free against Him.  Anybody see what the free was for or was it just a bad decision?

I'd imagine it was either pushing Purcell or holding his arm. Clarke would have been very disheartened by that point (he'd ended up causing a huge brawl by MMAing Purcell on the ground by that point) so I don't doubt he fouled.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 02, 2012, 12:49:47 PM
Quote from: mackers on July 02, 2012, 11:39:52 AM

From my own vantage point, I thought it was an utterly incomprehensible decision but as you point out, it wasn't the referee that beat Armagh.

Firstly congratulations to Roscommon, after a first half that was fairly lifeless bar a virtuoso display from Jamie Clarke, they rose to the challenge, playing with bravery, valour and no little skill and were worthy winners. A huge turn-up for the books in the sense that none of the natives I spoke to in Roscommon on Saturday night or Sunday expected anything other than a comfortable Armagh victory but Roscommon's win was well deserved. Really enjoyed my night in Roscommon town as well, people very welcoming and a couple of good pubs.

As for Armagh, I don't really know what to say. Pathetic. Gutless. Mediocre. Shambolic. Yesterday's performance was one that made you wonder why you bother travelling the length and breadth of the country, spending a decent proportion of your disposable income following a side that, during yesterday's second half, gave a decent impression of a team that was simply indifferent about its fate. We managed to squander what seemed like a comfortable 5 point half-time lead against a side that was trounced by Galway, finished 4th in Division 3, played Division 4 football last season and, before yesterday, have only beaten London, Leitrim, New York and Sligo in three seasons of championship football.

I'd agree entirely that the problems run deeper than Paddy O'Rourke but nothing was likely to improve until last night's news that he has left his post. Three years of Armagh's development have been frittered away. I don't agree that expectations are too high. Most sensible and genuine Armagh supporters are realistic enough as to where we are in the pecking order but I think its reasonable to expect that in the past 4 seasons, Armagh should at least once have been able to make the last 12 of the championship. Some decent players have had the peak years of their careers wasted by mismanagement.

In 2010, we trounced Donegal twice and would have eliminated Dublin had Brian Mallon goaled after rounding Stephen Cluxton. Now look where we are in comparison to those counties. Donegal is the blueprint, the proof that teams can be transformed under an organised management structure where the players respect the manager and are willing to "buy-in" to what he is proposing.

Crossmaglen are undoubtedly an issue. I thought Aaron Cunningham's comments last night were pathetic but I do have sympathy for their players in the sense that it must be a wretch to leave a respected and successful set-up with a chance of achieving glory to join an undoubtedly second-rate shambles at county level. The structure of the club season doesn't help in that Crossmaglen's players were not available for 9 of Armagh's 12 matches this season. That left management in a difficult position whereby players like James Morgan, Hanratty, Cunningham, Tony Kernan etc could only be introduced in very important matches (relegation "play-off", Ulster championship v Tyrone or an away qualifier). What we need is to the ability to analyse these players in the McKenna Cup and National League to ascertain whether they have credentials needed to make a significant contribution at county level (and I don't accept that doing at club level, even the highest club level, is evidence of that on its own).

Crucial decisions need to be made to advance the future of Armagh football. Three years ago, we appointed a failed manager from another county. We need to do better this time.
Post by: Throw ball on July 02, 2012, 01:34:14 PM
Has taken me to now to calm down to comment on the match. Armagh were absolutely useless in the second half but the performance of Clarke in the first probably hid failings then too. Must say it did not look good when management team seemed to be in complete disagreement as to what subs to make. Only Kernan of the subs made any impact. It is along way to go to see such rubbish.

Mackers I will agree with you on the Clarke free. Still have no idea why. Also wondered about free given against Hanratty for diving. Firstly, I thought he was tripped. Secondly if he did dive it was very silly as he had a clear run in front of him. Finally, do you get a free given against you for diving? If so we should see many of these frees in the rest of the summer!
Post by: Onion Bag on July 02, 2012, 01:58:40 PM
Im the same Throw ball, can only comment calmly now on the game. Seriously seriously seriously disappointed.
Jamie Clarke, Gavin Mc Parland and Caolan Rafferty were wining 95-96% of the ball going into them in the 1st half and it was working and we were getting scores. and then the 2nd half we decided to go on solo runs into cul de sacs and blind alleys and loss posession.
our passing was shite, our workrate just went down and generally our side line were scrathing their heads wondering wtf was going on,
As someone as pointed out at one stage we had 5 midfielders on the field, too many guys had a bad at the office in defence. Roscommon dropped a man or 2 extra back in their defence and we had no idea as to get round that.
we scored 2 frees in the 2nd half, which in my honest opinion is not good enough,

fair play to Roscommon a great spirited 2nd half performance and if they can hold that intensity and passion for 70 mins they will give Tyrone their fill of it

what now? i honestly dont know,  i hope to god the county board sit down and try their damnest to get someone good in, and if they have to get the cheque book out well then so be it,
Tony mc entee is a no go i beleive,

Anyone thought of John Mc Entee, He won the Intermediate with Culloville in his first year and i would assume he would have the same mentality and ideas as Tony

John Mac and Possibly Aidan O Rourke??????

Post by: Applesisapples on July 02, 2012, 02:09:39 PM
I suspect the problem for anyone undertaking this job is the influence of the County Board on the management of the team. They are unlikely to give anyone a free rein and despite what others say on here at least half the County has an issue with Cross, but as I keep saying Cross also need to make an effort. We need a new setup a system of playing that is coached from development squads upwards and a united county.
Post by: Onion Bag on July 02, 2012, 03:16:24 PM
Sorry lads, couldnt be bothered trailing through pages of this but what has Aaron Cunningham said on twitter that everyone is talking about??
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 02, 2012, 03:38:16 PM
"Armagh out..... POR resigned...... Surely more will be following him. Best players in county not on panel. Agree with Oisin...... Anti-Cross mentality"

Post by: Syferus on July 02, 2012, 06:38:29 PM
Maybe ye need to coax Geezer back.. as a player, that is :-X
Post by: applemad on July 02, 2012, 06:47:24 PM
Firstly well done  to Roscommon. I predicted this during the week. Why were people so quick to write their obituary. This Roscommon team have reached the last two Connaught finals winning one and possibly should have won the other but for the conditions.

They reached the u-21 all-Ireland final and were only beaten in the last ten minutes. Minor titles as well beat Armagh in Croke pk last year in extra time. Yes they had a terrible day against Galway but that was not a true reflection. Armagh fell for it hook line and after a nonplussed first half ,sinker. Roscommon with a wind advantage reeled us in .After the goal went in at the start of the second half I knew that it was curtains.
Armagh were coming from a high place after their performance against Tyrone .Roscommon from and equally low one . They couldnt be much worse than that. We were set up lovely. The qualifiers is all about mental strength,raising ur game etc. Roscommon blasted us in those stakes. Fair play to them .no complaints on that front and truth be told could have won by far more.

The players looked clueless when the shit hit the fan and so to the manager(s). Seanen Kilbride gave Brendy a torrid time. The changes were not made.

Armagh football has a lot of soul searching to do . At least three Cross players refused to take their place in the squad. One, if I am right, had to be persuaded to join the panel after Cross's All-Ireland success.
Due to their success Armagh has only had their squad together for six to eight weeks before championship.
This is not Cross's fault good luck to them but there are problems obviously between part of the management team and certain Cross players .
Any manager coming in will face this problem as well if Cross continue to be as successful .
Tony mac will not leave Cross as they search for that historic three in a row and who could blame him. Its all up in the air.

Just a side note here . Hyde Pk has a very run down look about it. The concrete seats in front of the main stand, broken glass in the stand all around where I was sitting  Farmyard gates at the side of the field. Needs a few pound spent on it badly. Anyway good luck Roscommon in your next round.
Post by: ross4life on July 02, 2012, 07:01:23 PM
Quote from: applemad on July 02, 2012, 06:47:24 PM
Just a side note here . Hyde Pk has a very run down look about it. The concrete seats in front of the main stand, broken glass in the stand all around where I was sitting  Farmyard gates at the side of the field. Needs a few pound spent on it badly. Anyway good luck Roscommon in your next round.
It's the most run down pitch in Connacht now when once it was one of the best. Nothing apart from a new dressing room has been done on the place since the mid 90s & we still have huge debts to clear before the place gets a makeover.

Post by: armaghniac on July 02, 2012, 07:04:03 PM
QuoteRoscommon with a wind advantage reeled us in .After the goal went in at the start of the second half I knew that it was curtains. Armagh were coming from a high place after their performance against Tyrone .Roscommon from and equally low one . They couldn't be much worse than that. We were set up lovely.

The wind wasn't strong and wasn't a major factor in this game. Attitude was wrong to be sure, but the Roscommon gaol was 33 mins before the end of the game, plenty of time to battle it out if the will was there.

Post by: Syferus on July 02, 2012, 07:12:46 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 02, 2012, 07:01:23 PM
Quote from: applemad on July 02, 2012, 06:47:24 PM
It's the most run down pitch in Connacht now when once it was one of the best. Nothing apart from a new dressing room has been done on the place since the mid 90s & we still have huge debts to clear before the place gets a makeover.

Jaysus you must have already hit the champagne before you went to Tuam on Saturday!

A huge part of the problem is that the only way the planners could figure out how to construct the (physically speaking, well built) new stand and stay over the Connacht final hosting capacity was to keep the sideline seating and build it behind it. The difference between it and, say, the new stand in Tullamore is night and day, the fans are nearer the action and the atmosphere is better. The terrace side is fine, even if the facade on the outside and the rather twee little bus-stop shelter cover seem to tell otherwise, it just gives that vibe of old and gray, a little creative remodelling would change that perspective very fast. The whole club-house and front entrance looks like it's something from a parish club in the 1970's, it doesn't make a good first impression and that colours patrons' opinions.

'Tis our run-down pitch, though. I'd settle for an old ground and a good team any day - apart from remedial work to restore it to full capacity we need to be putting as much money as possible into the under-age set-up, we've got something fantastic going and we really need to drive it to the bank in a literal sense.
Post by: applemad on July 02, 2012, 08:50:56 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 02, 2012, 07:04:03 PM
QuoteRoscommon with a wind advantage reeled us in .After the goal went in at the start of the second half I knew that it was curtains. Armagh were coming from a high place after their performance against Tyrone .Roscommon from and equally low one . They couldn't be much worse than that. We were set up lovely.

The wind wasn't strong and wasn't a major factor in this game. Attitude was wrong to be sure, but the Roscommon gaol was 33 mins before the end of the game, plenty of time to battle it out if the will was there.

I have to say Armaghniac I was behind the goal at the scoreboard end and it did get up quite a bit .  Dont dispute your attitude point though. The goal was crucial . I know there was quite a bit of time left but you could see the heads drop. Kilbride was threatening and that goal lifted Roscommon greatly.

Post by: Cosmo Kramer on July 02, 2012, 09:41:42 PM
Syferus, you must be still on the sauce after yesterday. Surely even the most ardent Rossie follower would accept that the place is a f**king shithole?
Post by: Syferus on July 02, 2012, 10:20:46 PM
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on July 02, 2012, 09:41:42 PM
Syferus, you must be still on the sauce after yesterday. Surely even the most ardent Rossie follower would accept that the place is a f**king shithole?

The Hyde or the Mayo nationalists' zone of control in Ballagh?  :-X

The Hyde has plenty of problems but improving what I said is much more likely in the medium term than a literal stadium remodeling job, there simply isn't enough money and we have enough debt already to deal with.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 02, 2012, 11:06:58 PM
I thought it had character.
Post by: sligoman2 on July 02, 2012, 11:12:58 PM
Congrats to Roscommon a good win for both teams, its amazing what a win can do to lift the spirits.
Post by: ross4life on July 02, 2012, 11:25:46 PM

All the other IC stadiums in Connacht have been refurbished the last number of years if Hyde park was such "shithole"it wouldn't have been selected for this year's Connacht final so less of sensationalism.
Post by: T Fearon on July 02, 2012, 11:51:25 PM
Enjoy going to Hyde Park,and was recognised yesterday by the steward at the turnstile even! What a contrast to the visit in 2003 when a full house,mainly of Armagh fans,watched us destroy Limerick in a downpour enroute to the All Iteland Final.Yesterday the crowd was just over 3000.

Also if Tony Mc Entee isn't available,why not go for John.No one can tell them apart anyway,and the players and opposition would think,if it looks like Tony,and acts like Tony,it must be Tony!
Post by: Syferus on July 03, 2012, 12:22:42 AM
"It's a low ebb as far as Armagh football is concerned"

"Roscommon were disjointed. They've lost players. The word going down was that they weren't the team they were two years ago that we saw in Croke Park against Tyrone."

Jesus M. Christ this Osin lad most have took a few too many knocks on the head! Cross would want to tone down the training if this is the state they're leaving them in.  :'(

I get he's upset his county lost but his level of knowledge of the situation, even on the most basic level, is severely lacking. It's almost maddening, honestly. At least Armagh are offering to write the pre-match speech for the Tyrone game for us.

If we hit form (which we didn't at all yesterday in terms of shooting) we have the capacity to be alot better than we were last year or the year before, and that's with a bunch of absentees and first season starters. I have absolute belief that our panel's ceiling lays significantly north of beating Armagh at home in Round 1 of the qualifiers. Maybe the loss will look better for Osin with the hindsight of a few more years.
Post by: Armamike on July 03, 2012, 09:21:38 AM
Oisin's only stating the obvious.  For Armagh to go out and perform the way they did, with no spirit and fight and pretty clueless, against an average (and i'm being generous with my wording) Roscommon outfit then it's a fairly low ebb.
Enjoy the win and i hope you have a good run in the qualifiers - doubt it though.
Post by: Go home ref on July 03, 2012, 10:34:28 AM
While I might agree with you Armamike I think ye lads should concentrate on ye're own failings this year and let us see where the year takes us.
We upped our effort and probably played to our instincts in the second half rather than some daft tactical stuff and it worked against a team that was spiritless and not that interested when the pressure was put on them.
We have many problems this year but a win can either work wonders and overcome a load of obstacles or of course it can gloss over the cracks till the next day and the bigger challenge.
We'll know which by the evening of 14th July ... or maybe much later in the year hopefully  8)
Post by: seafoid on July 03, 2012, 11:26:54 AM
So the rossies are interested in the championship again. This thread looked very bedraggled last week.
Even Syferus had problems staying interested. 
Post by: Syferus on July 03, 2012, 11:43:45 AM
Quote from: Armamike on July 03, 2012, 09:21:38 AM
Oisin's only stating the obvious.  For Armagh to go out and perform the way they did, with no spirit and fight and pretty clueless, against an average (and i'm being generous with my wording) Roscommon outfit then it's a fairly low ebb.
Enjoy the win and i hope you have a good run in the qualifiers - doubt it though.

I'm sorry to be the one to have to break this to you, but you are a worse team than Roscommon. You simply have alot of work to do to return even to contention for All-Irelands and Cross players aren't some magic bullet like alot of Armagh supporters think they are. You played a team with a hell of alot of young talented players, with potential that's far higher than beating (and I'm being generous with my wording) an average Armagh side at home in Round 1. Armagh supporters read far too much into one bad day at the office against Galway and it bit ye in the backside. I did warn ye.

Will we beat Tyrone? Who knows. But you'll be hearing a hell of alot more from us in the years to come.
Post by: EC Unique on July 03, 2012, 11:48:44 AM
Quote from: Go home ref on July 03, 2012, 10:34:28 AM
While I might agree with you Armamike I think ye lads should concentrate on ye're own failings this year and let us see where the year takes us.
We upped our effort and probably played to our instincts in the second half rather than some daft tactical stuff and it worked against a team that was spiritless and not that interested when the pressure was put on them.We have many problems this year but a win can either work wonders and overcome a load of obstacles or of course it can gloss over the cracks till the next day and the bigger challenge.
We'll know which by the evening of 14th July ... or maybe much later in the year hopefully  8)

One thing is for sure.. You will not get that against Tyrone. ;)
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 03, 2012, 11:52:58 AM
Quote from: ross4life on July 02, 2012, 11:25:46 PM

All the other IC stadiums in Connacht have been refurbished the last number of years if Hyde park was such "shithole"it wouldn't have been selected for this year's Connacht final so less of sensationalism.

I think that all the other IC stadiums in Connacht number just two; Mchale and Pearse.
Pearse was out for logistical reasons and using Mchale would breach the terms of the '97 agreement so it had to be the Hyde.
The only other possible "shithole" is Tuam so the Connacht Council had no choice in the matter. Tuam couldn't be considered a central location.
The fact that the Hyde hasn't been refurbished is a matter for the Roscommon County Board to answer for.
Having said all that, I'm not to bothered about playing the game in the Hyde; it's the same for both counties and I do think the pitch is fairly adequate even if spectator facilities aren't up to much.
Post by: Armamike on July 03, 2012, 12:13:20 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 03, 2012, 11:43:45 AM
Quote from: Armamike on July 03, 2012, 09:21:38 AM

I'm sorry to be the one to have to break this to you, but you are a worse team than Roscommon. You simply have alot of work to do to return even to contention for All-Irelands and Cross players aren't some magic bullet like alot of Armagh supporters think they are. You played a team with a hell of alot of young talented players, with potential that's far higher than beating (and I'm being generous with my wording) an average Armagh side at home in Round 1. Armagh supporters read far too much into one bad day at the office against Galway and it bit ye in the backside. I did warn ye.

Will we beat Tyrone? Who knows. But you'll be hearing a hell of alot more from us in the years to come.

Tell us something we don't know!  Listen, Roscommon were better than us on the day so good luck to you, i hope you push on and fulfil the potential you see in the team. From an Armagh perspective though Roscommon are irrelevant.  It wouldn't really have mattered if Armagh had been playing Carlow, Wicklow or whoever, the issues/lack of performance would have been the same.

Post by: ross4life on July 03, 2012, 04:23:44 PM
To label us as good,bad,average or below is a little unfair at the moment.. 8 of our starting 15 on Saturday was 23 or under 5 of them were making their first championship starts so in truth this team are still finding their feet at senior level. In reply to Oisin's interview the guy should have a fair idea about our talent having played v St Brigid's & Mannion,Domican,Senan,Ian Kilbride all played important roles in Sunday's win. He said Armagh should have been leading by 10-12 pts at half time? now while Armagh deserved their lead at HT they didn't create that amount of chances for such a lead.

In reply to lar, I have since been chatting to one of our officials whom was at the Connacht GAA meetings last week. For the record only two stadiums was ever in the running (Hyde park,Pearse stadium) Hyde park was viewed by the officials last week if it's wasn't up to the standard Pearse would have been chosen for the Connacht final.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 03, 2012, 04:29:25 PM
If, as is being alleged, Armagh did, and continue to, underestimate Roscommon then we were joined by an awful lot of your own countymen since I couldn't find one Roscommon supporter who expected a win before Sunday's match.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 03, 2012, 04:41:34 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 03, 2012, 04:29:25 PM
If, as is being alleged, Armagh did, and continue to, underestimate Roscommon then we were joined by an awful lot of your own countymen since I couldn't find one Roscommon supporter who expected a win before Sunday's match.

You wouldn't find any supporter that thought Armagh wouldn't win at half time. The players probably thought the same however once Roscommon scored the early goal they believed they could win.
Post by: Syferus on July 03, 2012, 06:11:44 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 03, 2012, 04:29:25 PM

Ahem. Didn't look very hard, did we?

More than one opinion exists in the county, however much you'd like to put one blanket over it all.
Post by: Rossfan on July 04, 2012, 10:48:51 AM
Ye wouldnt want to take Syf too seriously buckeens.
I believe Syferus is a ten year old Ballagh Patriot who descended to earth in March 2012 ( when Mammy got him a mobile or a Laptop for his birthday). ;D
If not then he's a new spin doc hired by the County Board to tell the world how great and wonderful everything is in Ros GAA circles.
His big posting about how great we were last Sunday can be divided by 2 to get the real picture.
He praised one player earlier who was substituted for very good reason last Sunday .
Another of his "heroes" rang his club manager last week to say he wouldnt be making training as he was picked on the County team ... to which said Manager replied disbelievingly "Which County team"? :(
Club Manager wasn't far wrong !!!
Post by: Syferus on July 04, 2012, 02:29:27 PM
Jaysus, you'd want to bring those sour grapes back to the store!
Post by: Rossfan on July 04, 2012, 02:41:43 PM
Trying to counter balance your over the top good news round every corner type thing with a bit of common sense realism.
Post by: Syferus on July 04, 2012, 02:56:14 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 04, 2012, 02:41:43 PM
Trying to counter balance your over the top good news round every corner type thing with a bit of common sense realism.

A bit harder when I was dead right, though  ;)
Post by: Rossfan on July 04, 2012, 03:05:15 PM
A stopped clock is right twice a day , you were right for one half of one game in 2012  :-*
Post by: alba2 on July 05, 2012, 11:34:00 PM
Some craic in the last few days from the men from crossmaglen... Aaron Cunningham tweeting that there was a divide between the cross players and county management... i think in fairness to paddy o'r he gave quite a few lads their chance from that club - a.c included.  He was in the panel last year and when in the championship in july - instead of playing with his county - he pissed off on holidays.  then this year before cross are crowned all ireland champions he does an interview stating that he will need time off before joining the county setup... some pup aaron some pup.  played three games in 2012 and needed time off... dont make me laugh. And good oul oisin... The man who was in with the armagh set up last year if im not mistaken.  Didnt make much of a hand of it yourself big lad.  You should stick to managing those wee teams in the lower divisions of monaghan til get your experience.  All this talk of Tony Mc Entee - a man that has a county title handed to him every year as an amalgamation of all other teams wouldn beat cross - they have til win maybe one tough game in ulster and then one in the all ireland series.  But credit him - caus thats what he is doing i suppose.  One thing for sure if he was in charge - i bet the cross players would be training with their county in Jan and Feb and not the bull shit we are seeing now.
Post by: spuds on July 06, 2012, 05:44:40 PM
Quote from: alba2 on July 05, 2012, 11:34:00 PM
Some craic in the last few days from the men from crossmaglen... Aaron Cunningham tweeting that there was a divide between the cross players and county management... i think in fairness to paddy o'r he gave quite a few lads their chance from that club - a.c included.  He was in the panel last year and when in the championship in july - instead of playing with his county - he pissed off on holidays.  then this year before cross are crowned all ireland champions he does an interview stating that he will need time off before joining the county setup... some pup aaron some pup.  played three games in 2012 and needed time off... dont make me laugh. And good oul oisin... The man who was in with the armagh set up last year if im not mistaken.  Didnt make much of a hand of it yourself big lad.  You should stick to managing those wee teams in the lower divisions of monaghan til get your experience.  All this talk of Tony Mc Entee - a man that has a county title handed to him every year as an amalgamation of all other teams wouldn beat cross - they have til win maybe one tough game in ulster and then one in the all ireland series.  But credit him - caus thats what he is doing i suppose.  One thing for sure if he was in charge - i bet the cross players would be training with their county in Jan and Feb and not the bull shit we are seeing now.
So what ya think of Crossmaglen then ?
Post by: Applesisapples on July 06, 2012, 05:53:06 PM
Quote from: spuds on July 06, 2012, 05:44:40 PM
Quote from: alba2 on July 05, 2012, 11:34:00 PM
So what ya think of Crossmaglen then ?

Your comments regarding Tony Mac are harsh, even he has acknowledged that he doesn't feel he is ready for intercounty management. Your other comments highlight a problem that has existed for some time...the integration of Cross players into the County setup. I don't think you can blame one side exclusively. As for the twitter comments Aaron Cunningham is no different to a number of young and not so young sports people who should perhaps have kept their tweets to themselves. It can't be denied though that tony Mac is getting the best out of the talent he has and has a system to play to. Something that has been lacking in Armagh since 2008.
Post by: Syferus on July 06, 2012, 07:01:38 PM
Ah lads, there's only one Tony Mc and he's ours!
Post by: alba2 on July 06, 2012, 11:45:58 PM
I think Crossmaglen are a very good side and get the most out of the talent at their disposal for sure - but they are not world beaters.  They are beatable on any given day - but noone has the balls in armagh to do whats necessary to beat them.  Yeah there are young and not so young who tweet all the time - but he is the one who said it after the way he treated the county set up when he was there - bit of a joke i feel.  Tony Mac was inexperienced when he took the cross job and it hasn worked out too bad for them.  3 in a row would be some achievement - but is there a lack of b***s here to take the top job when offered?