Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: give her dixie on September 15, 2010, 09:51:39 AM

Title: Ireland To Gaza 3
Post by: give her dixie on September 15, 2010, 09:51:39 AM
Well folks, and as some of you already know, I am setting off this Saturday on another convoy to Gaza.

On Saturday, a group of 100 people in 50 vehicles will leave London and travel through France, Italy, Greece,
Turkey, Syria, and then cross by ferry to Al Arish in Egypt. From there, it is a 30 mile drive to the Rafah Border,
and we hope to enter Gaza around October 10th.

From Doha another 70 vehicles will join us in Syria, along with another 50 from Morocco and Algeria.
By the time we reach Gaza, we hope to have close to 200 vehicles, and over 1 million pounds worth of aid..

All the vehicles will be carrying medical, building, and educational supplies.
Most of the vehicles are mini buses with wheelchair ramps, and most are ex NHS vehicles.

From Ireland, there are 5 vehicles.
1 from Tipperary, 1 from Belfast, 2 from North Antrim, and 1 from Tyrone.
A total of 10 Irish people will make the journey.

The situation in Gaza hasn't changed much since the attacks on the flotilla, with most of our
aid still banned from entering the besieged area.

Attacks on Gaza are still a daily occurence, ignored completly by the mass media.
Only this week, a 91 year old farmer and his 2 grandsons were murdered by the IOF,
and yesterday another man was also murdered.

So, I will keep you posted as we make our way to Gaza.

This is the 4th convoy organised by Viva Palestina in 18 months, and to date, over 1,000 people in
over 500 vehicles have successfully broke the siege on Gaza, and delivered millions of pounds
worth of aid.

Title: Re: Ireland To Gaza 3
Post by: Nally Stand on September 15, 2010, 10:02:49 AM
Maith an fear, a chara. Keep us updated if at all possible.

Ádh mór
Post by: Banana Man on September 15, 2010, 10:21:19 AM
Good luck Dixie
Post by: tyssam5 on September 15, 2010, 11:20:38 AM
"Only this week, a 91 year old farmer and his 2 grandsons were murdered by the IOF"

A reference for that would be good.
Post by: seafoid on September 15, 2010, 11:54:41 AM
Driving from Syria to Gaza via Egypt is a sign of how dysfunctional Israel's relationship with its neighbours is. If Israel were a normal country you'd be able to enter Gaza by driving the 150 miles from the Syrian border instead of traipsing  600 or 700 to go via Egypt. It's like going from Tyrone to Dublin via Inverness. 
Post by: Nally Stand on September 15, 2010, 01:55:10 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on September 15, 2010, 11:20:38 AM
"Only this week, a 91 year old farmer and his 2 grandsons were murdered by the IOF"

Not that it should make a difference but it was his greatgrandson and another non-relative who were murdered

http://tinyurl.com/396nt8g
Post by: ziggysego on September 15, 2010, 01:58:47 PM
Good luck and safe journey John.
Post by: Tyrones own on September 15, 2010, 01:59:41 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on September 15, 2010, 01:55:10 PM

Not that it should make a difference but it was his greatgrandson and another non-relative who were murdered
http://news.yahoo.com/s/afp/20100914/wl_mideast_afp/israelpalestiniansconflictgazashootingarmy
Na but it sounds much better though doesn't it... the fact that there has to be so much exaggeration on here
to shine the worst possible light on the Israelis is troubling to say the least ::)
why not just state facts if it's as bad as ye say it is :-\
Post by: Arthur_Friend on September 15, 2010, 02:06:44 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on September 15, 2010, 01:59:41 PM

http://news.yahoo.com/s/afp/20100914/wl_mideast_afp/israelpalestiniansconflictgazashootingarmy
Na but it sounds much better though doesn't it... the fact that there has to be so much exaggeration on here
to shine the worst possible light on the Israelis is troubling to say the least ::)

If you did want to shine a bad light on the IDF, how exactly does '2 grandsons' sound much better than 'great-grandson and another non-relative'?
Post by: glens abu on September 15, 2010, 02:08:07 PM
Good luck Dixie.
Post by: Nally Stand on September 15, 2010, 02:10:39 PM
Sweet f**k Tyrones Own have you no shame at all. There is no exaggeration. THREE INNOCENT PEOPLE were murdered. Does it matter one iota to anyone but the families whether they were all related?

Unreal.
Post by: give her dixie on September 15, 2010, 03:23:20 PM

Wednesday, 1 Palestinian killed by Israeli Occupation Forces
http://www.google.com/hostednews/ap/article/ALeqM5iDqGHEOAOLoXtaPxa6q_YKsfdyxAD9I8CNUG0

Tuesday, 5 injured by the IOF
http://www.imemc.org/article/59411

Sunday, 3 innocent civilians killed by the IOF. Israel admits they were civilians:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-middle-east-11301624

Also, in other news:

'Trigger-happy attitude'

Separately, a report published by an Israeli human rights group found that Israeli soldiers who kill Palestinians were rarely punished.

The B'Tselem report released on Tuesday said that the military investigated only 22 of 148 cases submitted by the group.

No criminal charges were brought in any of the cases, which involved the killing of 288 Palestinian civilians between 2006 and 2009, it said.

"This policy permits soldiers and officers to act in violation of the law, encourages a trigger-happy attitude and shows a flagrant disregard for human life," the report said.

One Thai farm worker in Israel has been killed by rocket fire from Gaza in the past 18 months, while scores of Palestinians in Gaza have been killed over the same period.

For all the latest news regarding Gaza, I have a facebook group that keeps people updated with any news related to Gaza:
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Gaza-TV-News/119275738102852?ref=ts

Also today, Gaza has now been under siege for 1,190 days. Pretty tough condition eh?
Post by: Minder on September 15, 2010, 03:37:06 PM
Nally you will have no problems condemning this I take it -

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/middleeast/israel/7974034/Pregnant-woman-among-four-killed-in-shooting-on-West-Bank.html

Post by: Minder on September 15, 2010, 03:38:11 PM
Quote from: Minder on September 15, 2010, 03:37:06 PM
Nally and Dixie you will have no problems condemning this I take it -

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/middleeast/israel/7974034/Pregnant-woman-among-four-killed-in-shooting-on-West-Bank.html
Post by: funtime frankie on September 15, 2010, 03:46:25 PM
Minder, I'd agree in that it the murder was wrong. But the catalyst which has ignited this awful act is the immoral occupation of the west bank and the savagery with which Isreal has treated the Palestinian people. That said murder does not justify murder but I dont think that this act can be viewed in isolation. It is set against a backdrop of brutality and needs to be viewed in that context.
Post by: funtime frankie on September 15, 2010, 03:47:37 PM
Ádh mór ort Dixie. Keep the head down
Post by: Nally Stand on September 15, 2010, 03:55:10 PM
Typical rush to start political point scoring on a thread about a humanitarian aid mission. I notice that article was dated 31st August which suggests you went on a 'googling' mission to find anything which might help you turn this thread into a "whataboutery" political discussion.

Yes Minder, I do condemn that as it is an attack on civilians. I condemn it absolutely. I'm not however, going to bury my head in the sand and portray it as violence for the sake of violence by mindless psychopaths. I prefer to remember the circumstances which has led to such extreme actions occurring, and the anger amongst Palestinians for illegal settlers who live on land which continues to be stolen from them by extreme force.

I also note that the article says this was the "the deadliest attack by militants in the West Bank for more than a year". It's a huge pity Israeli crimes weren't so uncommon.
Post by: Minder on September 15, 2010, 04:06:30 PM
I posted that article a couple of weeks ago on one of the gaza threads. It hardly got a mention, I wonder why?
Post by: give her dixie on September 15, 2010, 04:26:19 PM
Quote from: Minder on September 15, 2010, 03:38:11 PM

Minder, I condem the murder of ANY civillian, whether it is in Gaza, Galbally, Georgia, Greece, or wherever.
Any person with human compassion would as well.
Post by: seafoid on September 15, 2010, 04:30:39 PM

Here is a small sample

100913 65.1 percent of Jerusalem's Palestinian residents live below the poverty line, as compared with 30.8 percent of the city's Jewish population; and 74.4 percent of the Palestinian children in Jerusalem live below the poverty line, as compared to 45.1 percent of the city's Jewish children.

The Great Middle East Peace Process Scam · There Is No Peace Process
http://www.lrb.co.uk/v29/n16/sieg01_.html

read the following on Israel's secret prison where no Red Cross is allowed to see prisoners held by Israel.
http://www.hamoked.org.il/items/1044_eng.pdf

The closure of Gaza has failed. It The result has been catastrophic: 70% of Gazans live on under $1 a day, 60% have no daily access to water, only 23 of 3,900 industrial enterprises are operational

According to UN statistics, from 2000-2008, the Israeli military killed 2677 Palestinians in the Gaza Strip. In the same period, 11 Israelis were killed by Palestinian home-made rockets. During the bombings of Gaza in 2008-2009, over 1400 Palestinians and five Israelis were killed.

For more on the Israeli onslaught on olive trees:
http://www.ameu.org/printer.asp?iid=289&aid=617

100602 , the actor and comedian David Schneider wrote on Twitter: "As a Jew, Israel's like a close family member who's hooked on heroin and you just don't know what to do with them any more."

Start by reading the Background information on torture in Israel. http://www.btselem.org/english/Torture/Index.asp Then, work your way down the menu on the right, down to Interrogation Regime [routine] http://www.btselem.org/english/torture/interrogation_regime.asp
For a brief summary of what the tortured are subjected to, consider these Special Interrogation Methods.
http://www.btselem.org/english/torture/special_interrogation_methods.asp

Exports have dwindled, with only about 260 trucks full of goods leaving Gaza since June 2007 in total, as compared to the some 70 trucks that had departed the strip on a daily basis before then.

There is plenty more if you want it.
Post by: magpie seanie on September 15, 2010, 04:44:19 PM
Wasting your time seafoid. Unless Fox News say it then it didn't happen.
Post by: Tyrones own on September 15, 2010, 05:09:28 PM
Quote from: give her dixie on September 15, 2010, 04:26:19 PM
Quote from: Minder on September 15, 2010, 03:38:11 PM

Minder, I condem the murder of ANY civillian, whether it is in Gaza, Galbally, Georgia, Greece, or wherever.
Any person with human compassion would as well.
You Do ??? Ah Right....Just Not On Here Though, Right John?
Post by: Tyrones own on September 15, 2010, 05:50:00 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 15, 2010, 04:44:19 PM

(http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_sW65ilskOC8/SOtoxTeUQaI/AAAAAAAANwY/Lv0La-ifQR8/s400/BarrelManScrapingBottom.jpg)

Get out to hell outta that ye f**king eejit ye...could ye at least pay heed to
some of the more seasoned blinkered haters here and perhaps follow their
lead rather than showing yourself up for the echo chambered dunder head
that you clearly are  :D
Face it Seanie...you have absolutely nothing do ye  ::)
*ps. Maybe you should stick to the Man U thread..ye do seem to be able to hold your own
over there surprisingly :-\ outside of that though...not so good I'm afraid :-X
Post by: Nally Stand on September 15, 2010, 06:07:18 PM
Tyrone's Own, could you give some sort of reply to the points made in Seafoid's post? The statistics he highlights perfectly demonstrate why Israel doesn't have too many friendly voices on the board and in Ireland. The following line sums up the pathetic attempts of a minority of apologists for Israel who continually make excuses based on "Palestinian rocket attacks":

"According to UN statistics, from 2000-2008, the Israeli military killed 2677 Palestinians in the Gaza Strip. In the same period, 11 Israelis were killed by Palestinian home-made rockets. During the bombings of Gaza in 2008-2009, over 1400 Palestinians and five Israelis were killed."

And Minder I didn't see that post the last time, but I cannot speak for the rest of the board for their lack of interest. But since you already raised it before on a different thread, is it right to assume that you raised it again for the sake of stirring up "whataboutery" on a thread about a humanitarian aid effort?
Post by: mylestheslasher on September 15, 2010, 07:13:27 PM
TO - Is there any chance you might f**k off to another thread with your pathetic bullshit - your an embarrassment to Tyrone and Ireland.

Best of luck John, keep safe and I hope you and your aid get to the people that need it. Also remember there are 100 decent people on here wishing you well for every p***k like TO who scoffs at you.
Post by: Hedley Lamarr on September 15, 2010, 07:24:46 PM
Best of luck Dixie, hope all goes well, have a safe trip.

TO, I don't know or care what Dixie has done to offend you or your beliefs, but at least give credit to someone who is attempting to bring humanatarian aid to people who are suffering, irrespective of their religion.
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on September 15, 2010, 08:01:41 PM
 mian mhuintir uile na Gaeilge turas go Gaza sábháilte. Cad é an rud atá á dhéanamh acu ar fad cheart dúinn a bheith bródúil as. Na soláthairtí á dtabhairt isteach sa chuid is mó go bhfuil leabhair scoile agus leigheas. Is é an bochtanas i nGaza níos measa ná Rawanda le beagnach seasca faoin gcéad den daonra a mhaireann ar 43 cent in aghaidh an lae.

(http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c69/BALLINTOY/61638_436736404845_654539845_4733508_2651474_n.jpg)
Post by: Tyrones own on September 15, 2010, 08:11:39 PM
Quote from: Hedley Lamarr on September 15, 2010, 07:24:46 PM
Best of luck Dixie, hope all goes well, have a safe trip.

TO, I don't know or care what Dixie has done to offend you or your beliefs, but at least give credit to someone who is attempting to bring humanatarian aid to people who are suffering, irrespective of their religion.
Hey absolutely, credit where it is due no doubt...However The man carries with him way too much blinkered hatred and for someone who marches proudly under the banner of humanitarianism
I can't take to that nor do I have to and will defend my stance on it even if that means having my back against a wall fending off 10 or 12 of ye at a time hurling insults and assumptions :-\

And Lets get something straight here for the umpteenth time... I'm well aware that the Israelis are heavy handed in the extreme but how dare ye boy's come on here and read this story book from the most obscene skewed view point and not expect to be pulled up on it...even if it means I go it alone to highlight it! This board isn't a popularity contest for me here in case ye hadn't noticed.

Questions; is Israel alone in the blocking of aid to Gaza? and does Hamas bare no blunt at all for the plight of the innocent Palestinian people?
Post by: give her dixie on September 15, 2010, 08:20:49 PM
Quote from: Baile an tuaigh on September 15, 2010, 08:01:41 PM
mian mhuintir uile na Gaeilge turas go Gaza sábháilte. Cad é an rud atá á dhéanamh acu ar fad cheart dúinn a bheith bródúil as. Na soláthairtí á dtabhairt isteach sa chuid is mó go bhfuil leabhair scoile agus leigheas. Is é an bochtanas i nGaza níos measa ná Rawanda le beagnach seasca faoin gcéad den daonra a mhaireann ar 43 cent in aghaidh an lae.

(http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c69/BALLINTOY/61638_436736404845_654539845_4733508_2651474_n.jpg)

Stunning photograph, and the 2 men have done an excellent job so far.
They have collected an amazing amount of aid, and it will be going to good use when it arrives.
Antrim, and Ireland, can be very proud of their work and commitment.

I will be looking forward to meeting them on Friday before we set off together, and it will be an honour to cross the border at Rafah with them in a few weeks.
Post by: Nally Stand on September 15, 2010, 08:22:51 PM
I may repeat myself:

Tyrone's Own, could you give some sort of reply to the points made in Seafoid's post? The statistics he highlights perfectly demonstrate why Israel doesn't have too many friendly voices on the board and in Ireland. The following line sums up the pathetic attempts of a minority of apologists for Israel who continually make excuses based on "Palestinian rocket attacks":

"According to UN statistics, from 2000-2008, the Israeli military killed 2677 Palestinians in the Gaza Strip. In the same period, 11 Israelis were killed by Palestinian home-made rockets. During the bombings of Gaza in 2008-2009, over 1400 Palestinians and five Israelis were killed."
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 15, 2010, 08:29:32 PM
Jesus Christ lads - give it a f**king rest, would ya?
Post by: Tyrones own on September 15, 2010, 08:33:31 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on September 15, 2010, 08:22:51 PM
I may repeat myself:

How many times and in how many ways to you need it explained that if Hamas are going to surround themselves with civilians whilst launching rocket attacks into Israel, that the vast difference in numbers can only be expected... so I'll ask again, are Hamas not acting in a similar despicable manor for intentionally putting the lives of innocents in harms way for heightened effect to have boy's like you outraged at the recklessness of Israhell
Post by: Nally Stand on September 15, 2010, 08:37:37 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on September 15, 2010, 08:33:31 PM
I may repeat myself:

How many times and in how many ways to you need it explained that if Hamas are going to surround themselves with civilians whilst launching rocket attacks into Israel, that the vast difference in numbers can only be expected... so I'll ask again, are Hamas not acting in a similar despicable manor for intentionally putting the lives of innocents in harms way for heightened effect to have boy's like you outraged at the recklessness of Israhell

OK so those ELEVEN Israelis killed by rocket fire from excuses the 2677 Palestinian deaths? Surely if Hamas was surrounding themselves with civilians as you say, then the appropriate action for Israel would involve something other than mass murder??
Post by: Nally Stand on September 15, 2010, 08:38:07 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on September 15, 2010, 08:29:32 PM
Jesus Christ lads - give it a f**king rest, would ya?

(http://www.family-burgess.com/images/funny/thread%20police.gif)
Post by: seafoid on September 15, 2010, 08:48:40 PM
I may repeat myself:

And why was Gaza bombed at the turn of 2008 ? Would anyone stand for the carpet bombing of a defenceless collection of Jewish refugee camps over 27 days?
Post by: ardal on September 15, 2010, 09:16:07 PM
Lads, keep it on track.

This thread was started to promote a worth while cause, let's leave it at that.

The whole Israel, Palestine (Iran backing) Fundalmentalism,  provoking an unstable middle east for mad nut religious reasons, who's to blame, it's mine, no it's mine, my walls bigger than your wall argument / discussion is, or should be, another thread
Post by: Derry Dolly on September 16, 2010, 08:19:44 AM
Im well aware of the conflict in Gaza at the minute, but im afraid im quite ignorant of the details of how it started/why etc. was just wondering if someone could explain in simple terms the reason behind the conflict? why aid cant get in etc?
thanks
Post by: Maiden1 on September 16, 2010, 11:06:06 AM
Quote from: Derry Dolly on September 16, 2010, 08:19:44 AM
Im well aware of the conflict in Gaza at the minute, but im afraid im quite ignorant of the details of how it started/why etc. was just wondering if someone could explain in simple terms the reason behind the conflict? why aid cant get in etc?
thanks

The Nazis tried to kill all the Jews.  The Jews wanted somewhere to live.  They decided Palestine.  'A land without a people for a people without a land'.  Expect there was people there ... Once the state of Israel was set up the Israelis wanted more land.

(http://www.worldatlas.com/webimage/countrys/asia/ilnewz.gif)

Current map of Israel/Palestine.

The Israelis decide what can and can't get into Palestine.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/middle_east/7545636.stm

Post by: magpie seanie on September 16, 2010, 12:37:18 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on September 15, 2010, 05:50:00 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 15, 2010, 04:44:19 PM

(http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_sW65ilskOC8/SOtoxTeUQaI/AAAAAAAANwY/Lv0La-ifQR8/s400/BarrelManScrapingBottom.jpg)

Get out to hell outta that ye f**king eejit ye...could ye at least pay heed to
some of the more seasoned blinkered haters here and perhaps follow their
lead rather than showing yourself up for the echo chambered dunder head
that you clearly are  :D
Face it Seanie...you have absolutely nothing do ye  ::)
*ps. Maybe you should stick to the Man U thread..ye do seem to be able to hold your own
over there surprisingly :-\ outside of that though...not so good I'm afraid :-X

I think I hit a nerve!

Funniest of all he then complains a few posts later about people "hurling insults".
Post by: Tyrones own on September 16, 2010, 08:22:15 PM
QuoteI think I hit a nerve!
... Really? The only nerve you probably hit was in your low back being bent over like that for long periods  :D
QuoteFunniest of all he then complains a few posts later about people "hurling insults"
Na usually just unsubstantiated sucker punches thrown out of left field
then running away like the blouse that you are :-*
Post by: give her dixie on September 20, 2010, 05:20:01 PM
Well folks, and right now we have reached Lyon in France.
We had an amazing send off from London on Saturday, and an incredible day in Paris yesterday.
I havn't much time to go into detail as I have only grabbed internet for a few minutes.

However, here are a few links from Press TV who are covering every mile with us:

Leaving London:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=603rsw_URTE

Paris:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=opgaEe34hG0&feature=player_embedded#!

Will update more whenever I get better access to the net.

Dixie
Post by: mylestheslasher on September 20, 2010, 05:47:11 PM
Good man John, best of luck for the rest of the journey.
Post by: give her dixie on October 10, 2010, 04:40:58 PM
Well folks, and sorry for not having been in touch sooner with an update.
Currently we are in Latikia in Syria, and ready to sail to Al Arish in Egypt at a moments notice.
However, Egypt are playing funny games with us, and we have been here 8 days now.
The convoy is currently 400 people from 30 different countries in 150 vehicles, and over $3 million in aid.

There is tremendous support here for us, and a lot of diplomatic pressure is been applied.
Lets hope we get better news in the next few days, and we get to reach Gaza without futher delay.

I will keep you posted as we make progress.
Post by: seafoid on October 10, 2010, 04:54:45 PM
Give her dixie

Here's a very interesting UN film from 1950 about the Palestinian refugee crisis when Gaza had 200.000 refugees .

http://palestinethinktank.com/2010/10/07/sands-of-sorrow-1950-the-plight-of-the-palestinian-refugees/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+PalestineThinkTank+%28Palestine+Think+Tank%29

Post by: caughtredhanded on October 10, 2010, 09:24:54 PM
Safe sailing John, you are an inspiration to us.

Best wishes,
CRH.
Quote from: give her dixie on October 10, 2010, 04:40:58 PM
Currently we are in Latikia in Syria, and ready to sail to Al Arish in Egypt at a moments notice.
However, Egypt are playing funny games with us, and we have been here 8 days now.
The convoy is currently 400 people from 30 different countries in 150 vehicles, and over $3 million in aid.

There is tremendous support here for us, and a lot of diplomatic pressure is been applied.
Lets hope we get better news in the next few days, and we get to reach Gaza without futher delay.

Post by: Tyrones own on October 11, 2010, 05:48:05 AM
Quote from: give her dixie on October 10, 2010, 04:40:58 PM

Funny games ??? WTF is funny about it all of a sudden... so it's only crimes against humanity when it's Israel, I rest my case ::)
Post by: Zapatista on October 11, 2010, 08:31:28 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on October 11, 2010, 05:48:05 AM
Funny games ??? WTF is funny about it all of a sudden... so it's only crimes against humanity when it's Israel, I rest my case ::)

Grow up
Post by: Tonto on October 11, 2010, 07:37:25 PM
I didn't think Ireland were playing Gaza.

I thought it was 'Ireland To Russia 3'? ;D
Post by: Nally Stand on October 11, 2010, 07:42:56 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on October 11, 2010, 08:31:28 AM

Grow up

Agreed.

Maith an fear John
Post by: Tyrones own on October 11, 2010, 08:03:25 PM

Grow Wake up
Fixed that for ye lads... *shakes head* yet again in disbelief of the double standards coupled with sheer hatred
and no one picks up on it .... Humanitarians me hole ::)
Post by: Arthur_Friend on October 11, 2010, 08:46:27 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on October 11, 2010, 08:03:25 PM

Grow Wake up
Fixed that for ye lads... *shakes head* yet again in disbelief of the double standards coupled with sheer hatred

*Yawn*
Post by: mylestheslasher on October 11, 2010, 08:56:15 PM
Quote from: Arthur_Friend on October 11, 2010, 08:46:27 PM

Grow Wake up

*Yawn*

Double yawn.
Post by: seafoid on October 11, 2010, 09:54:18 PM

Grow Wake up

Is there a tea party in Dungannon?  You should check out the torture cells in the Russian compound police station in West Jerusalem. Run by Jews . World class. Humanitarian . You name it.
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on October 12, 2010, 04:19:35 AM
(http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c69/BALLINTOY/40280_419788089138_564119138_4855421_4081533_n.jpg)
(http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c69/BALLINTOY/37143_1205577875028_1696080654_392201_4458040_n.jpg)
(http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c69/BALLINTOY/33602_1209674737447_1696080654_399557_710564_n.jpg)
(http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c69/BALLINTOY/59259_432414904845_654539845_4639297_1758743_n.jpg)
(http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c69/BALLINTOY/59152_439465089845_654539845_4787704_5660286_n.jpg)
(http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c69/BALLINTOY/58964_439498074845_654539845_4788433_7057118_n.jpg)
(http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c69/BALLINTOY/61842_440667139845_654539845_4807451_3203745_n.jpg)
(http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c69/BALLINTOY/64845_446060494845_654539845_4916007_5307422_n.jpg)
(http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c69/BALLINTOY/33684_447846864845_654539845_4951170_783465_n.jpg)
(http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c69/BALLINTOY/67054_447669939845_654539845_4947800_8085526_n.jpg)
(http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c69/BALLINTOY/33708_446058254845_654539845_4915998_8365851_n.jpg)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 12, 2010, 05:19:16 AM

Your well at home in Yankland aren't ya TO
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 12, 2010, 05:23:53 AM

Grow Wake up

O I get it TO, "Anti-semite, Anti-semite, Anti-semite, Anti-semite, Anti-semite" Good argument  ::)
Post by: give her dixie on October 12, 2010, 02:53:34 PM
Latest news report on the convoy.

Check out who is washing the vehicles....................

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CxSz3TGK3bU&feature=player_embedded
Post by: Zapatista on October 12, 2010, 02:57:17 PM
Fair balls to her (and you John).

Hope she gets furthur than Aengus O'Snodaigh did.
Post by: Tyrones own on October 13, 2010, 09:38:18 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 12, 2010, 05:23:53 AM

Grow Wake up

O I get it TO, "Anti-semite, Anti-semite, Anti-semite, Anti-semite, Anti-semite" Good argument  ::)
Ah..so yet another enlisted little foot soldier for Galloway and his minions on here...so since Dixey doesn't have the balls to explain his "funny games" comment maybe you can.....
How come when its Israel blocking aid, the sky is falling with seething hatred...then when its a neighboring Muslim country blocking aid its "funny games"?
Enough of the yawning and deflecting, Its a simple enough question :-\
Post by: Zapatista on October 13, 2010, 11:43:18 PM
Anyone blocking aid are murdering c***ts including Israel.

I would say that there is a difference between the method used though. Israel don't play funny game like demanding nitty gritty details in order to delay aid, Israel would take more direct action like boarding an aid vessel and killing those on board.
Post by: Tyrones own on October 14, 2010, 01:00:26 AM
Quote from: Zapatista on October 13, 2010, 11:43:18 PM
Pathetic that you still can't won't even mention predominantly Sunni Egypt...Israel has to get a mention yet again even though the point being made here regards Egypt and their blocking of aid  ::)
And by the way.... what ever happened to each day being "like a life time to the Palestinians awaiting the much needed food and medicine" with Israhells block aid, such was the plight ....but now 8 days and counting by the Egyptians is mere funny games  ::)  Yea real f**king funny John  ::)...Block aids are Block aids regardless of who's responsible ye spineless charlatans, You aren't fooling as many here as ye think ye are with this blinkered hate!
QuoteIsrael don't play funny game like demanding nitty gritty details in order to delay aid
What are Egypt's nitty gritty details that you speak of? .....and could those change perhaps if it were their sovereignty
being threatened on a daily basis to be wiped clean..hypothetically speaking of course :-\
QuoteIsrael would take more direct action like boarding an aid vessel and killing those on board.
Eh OK.... but there have been pages upon pages of biased hate filled rants long before the Floatilla ever sailed...good try though ::)
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on October 14, 2010, 03:49:45 AM
Tyrone's Own are you talking more verbal diarrhea, you seem to be pretty good at that. Your nothing short of a box of rocks. Great to see other posters on here giving you the fools pardon.
Post by: Tyrones own on October 14, 2010, 04:21:57 AM
Quote from: Baile an tuaigh on October 14, 2010, 03:49:45 AM
Tyrone's Own are you talking more verbal diarrhea, you seem to be pretty good at that. Your nothing short of a box of rocks. Great to see other posters on here giving you the fools pardon.
How many Alias' do you have anyway Dixey ::) Still nothing to add I see other than the conveyor
belt of insults when shown up, or heavens forbid an explanation to all who offer the fools pardon here where exactly
I'm wrong... Tell Gorgeous George I was asking about him at your next propaganda briefing! :-*
Post by: Hedley Lamarr on October 14, 2010, 11:08:27 AM
TO, how are the tea parties coming along? Can't wait to see Sarah in the Whitehouse ;)

(http://angryczeck.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/moron.jpg)
Post by: give her dixie on October 14, 2010, 08:49:39 PM
Not getting much time for internet folks, so I will post the following report sent out today.

Everything is now on track for arrival in Gaza in 4 days time or so.
Will keep you posted.

After a tense ten day stand off in Syria, the Viva Palestina aid convoy to Gaza has now been cleared to sail.

The convoy started out from London on Saturday 18th September and drove down through France, Italy, Greece and Turkey before arriving in the port of Latakia, Syria, on Saturday 2nd October. In Latakia, the convoy has been joined by two other convoys. One came from Morocco and Algeria, the other originated in Doha and came through the Gulf states and Jordan.

There are now 147 vehicles about to board two ships together with 380 people from some 30 countries stretching from New Zealand and Australia to Canada and the United States carrying aid worth some 5 million dollars. This includes 40 people who were on the Mavi Marmara flotilla which was attacked by Israeli commandos murdering ten human rights activists from Turkey.

Over the last ten days in Syria, the convoy has taken on medical supplies urgently needed in the besieged Gaza Strip. Simultaneously negotiations have been conducted with the Egyptian authorities to allow passage into the port of Al Arish and then on to the Rafah Crossing. The support of the Syrian authorities and others has been vital in the successful negotiations.

Last night word finally came through that the Egyptian authorities would allow the ships to dock, unload and passage through to the Rafah Crossing and Gaza would be guaranteed.

The ships will now sail past the place where the Mavi Marmara was attacked and flowers will be laid in memory of the victims. When the convoy reaches Gaza the soil from the graves of some of those who were murdered will be used to plant trees as a memorial to the Mavi Marmara victims.

The convoy hopes to reach Gaza this Saturday or Sunday
Post by: mylestheslasher on October 14, 2010, 08:50:52 PM
Just ignore TO lads, he's either an idiot or a wum or most likely both. 
Post by: Arthur_Friend on October 14, 2010, 08:52:16 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on October 14, 2010, 01:00:26 AM
Quote from: Zapatista on October 13, 2010, 11:43:18 PM
Pathetic that you still can't won't even mention predominantly Sunni Egypt...Israel has to get a mention yet again even though the point being made here regards Egypt and their blocking of aid  ::)
And by the way.... what ever happened to each day being "like a life time to the Palestinians awaiting the much needed food and medicine" with Israhells block aid, such was the plight ....but now 8 days and counting by the Egyptians is mere funny games  ::)  Yea real f**king funny John  ::)...Block aids are Block aids regardless of who's responsible ye spineless charlatans, You aren't fooling as many here as ye think ye are with this blinkered hate!
QuoteIsrael don't play funny game like demanding nitty gritty details in order to delay aid
What are Egypt's nitty gritty details that you speak of? .....and could those change perhaps if it were their sovereignty
being threatened on a daily basis to be wiped clean..hypothetically speaking of course :-\
QuoteIsrael would take more direct action like boarding an aid vessel and killing those on board.
Eh OK.... but there have been pages upon pages of biased hate filled rants long before the Floatilla ever sailed...good try though ::)

*Yawn*
Post by: Carmen Stateside on October 14, 2010, 09:39:15 PM
Quote from: give her dixie on October 14, 2010, 08:49:39 PM
Not getting much time for internet folks, so I will post the following report sent out today.

Will keep you posted.

After a tense ten day stand off in Syria, the Viva Palestina aid convoy to Gaza has now been cleared to sail.

The convoy started out from London on Saturday 18th September and drove down through France, Italy, Greece and Turkey before arriving in the port of Latakia, Syria, on Saturday 2nd October. In Latakia, the convoy has been joined by two other convoys. One came from Morocco and Algeria, the other originated in Doha and came through the Gulf states and Jordan.

There are now 147 vehicles about to board two ships together with 380 people from some 30 countries stretching from New Zealand and Australia to Canada and the United States carrying aid worth some 5 million dollars. This includes 40 people who were on the Mavi Marmara flotilla which was attacked by Israeli commandos murdering ten human rights activists from Turkey.

Over the last ten days in Syria, the convoy has taken on medical supplies urgently needed in the besieged Gaza Strip. Simultaneously negotiations have been conducted with the Egyptian authorities to allow passage into the port of Al Arish and then on to the Rafah Crossing. The support of the Syrian authorities and others has been vital in the successful negotiations.

Last night word finally came through that the Egyptian authorities would allow the ships to dock, unload and passage through to the Rafah Crossing and Gaza would be guaranteed.
The ships will now sail past the place where the Mavi Marmara was attacked and flowers will be laid in memory of the victims. When the convoy reaches Gaza the soil from the graves of some of those who were murdered will be used to plant trees as a memorial to the Mavi Marmara victims.

Glad to hear that John. Keep up the good work.  Egypt dont look that bad after all TO.
Post by: Nally Stand on October 14, 2010, 09:40:26 PM
Maith thú John.

Can we agree to let TO rant all he wants? Don't waste time replying. It's oxygen to his attention seeking.
Post by: give her dixie on October 15, 2010, 11:21:03 AM
Well folks, and the news to report today is that we are to sail on Sunday from Lattikia, Syria, where we have been parked up for 13 days now.

The mood among everyone is fantastic, and everyone can't wait until we set sail, and hopefully reach Gaza next Tuesday or Wednesday.

There is a slight element of danger involved, as Israel could choose to disrut or stop our journey. Their prior behaviour in Internatiional waters is well known, and we are prepared for the worst possible outcome.

However, our stated port of docking is Al Arish in Egypt, so any moves on their behalf will once again be illegal under international law.  (Not that Israel obey international law)...........

Lets hope common sense prevails, and both Israel and Egypt allow us a safe passage to the besieged region of Gaza in occupied Palestine.

I will keep you posted as our plans unfold.

Below is a link to the latest Press TV news report on the convoy, with a short interview with myself.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8npeSLvFVCU
Post by: saffron sam2 on October 15, 2010, 11:24:58 AM
Not that it's particularly relevant or important but Tyrones own lists herself as a female.
Post by: seafoid on October 15, 2010, 11:28:43 AM
Israel has announced another 238 new homes for Jewish settlers in East Jerusalem. The 2 state solution is dead. From now on it's going to be a struggle against apartheid which will most likely end with the disappearance of the Jewish state.
Post by: glens abu on October 15, 2010, 01:59:32 PM
Quote from: give her dixie on October 15, 2010, 11:21:03 AM
Well folks, and the news to report today is that we are to sail on Sunday from Lattikia, Syria, where we have been parked up for 13 days now.

The mood among everyone is fantastic, and everyone can't wait until we set sail, and hopefully reach Gaza next Tuesday or Wednesday.

There is a slight element of danger involved, as Israel could choose to disrut or stop our journey. Their prior behaviour in Internatiional waters is well known, and we are prepared for the worst possible outcome.

However, our stated port of docking is Al Arish in Egypt, so any moves on their behalf will once again be illegal under international law.  (Not that Israel obey international law)...........

Lets hope common sense prevails, and both Israel and Egypt allow us a safe passage to the besieged region of Gaza in occupied Palestine.

Below is a link to the latest Press TV news report on the convoy, with a short interview with myself.

Great work John,I know you have good Antrim men with you this time so safe journey and once again you are a credit to us all.Slan
Post by: Nally Stand on October 16, 2010, 08:53:58 PM
Quote from: glens abu on October 15, 2010, 01:59:32 PM

Great work John,I know you have good Antrim men with you this time so safe journey and once again you are a credit to us all.Slan

What are you trying to say!!!  :D :D
Post by: Tyrones own on October 17, 2010, 04:01:11 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on October 14, 2010, 09:39:15 PM

Will keep you posted.

Glad to hear that John. Keep up the good work.  Egypt dont look that bad after all TO.
Really Carmen   :-[... If Galloway and the other terrorist sponsors nestled in with this convoy would put themselves on a plane to fcuk
out of there they'd have sailed by now....clear evidence that Galloway is every bit the dangerous cnut that I've said he is when he can't
set aside his attention seeking whorism in favour of getting the aid to these people ::)

Tea party... whether I'm male or Female.... Yawning.... to the Saul Alinsky tactics of trying to Silence me.... the infatuation continues :-*
Anything and everything but step up and debunk the very valid points and or heavens forbid answers to the questions I've asked here
if that is, I am as wrong as ye would try to have the neutral here believe.
Surely for a "Tea party Moran" I should be easy enough to put straight what with the sheer intellectual brilliance on display here on a daily basis  ::) :D
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on October 17, 2010, 04:19:56 PM
If you cannot see a difference between Israeli actions over the last 60 years to the eygptians action of the past 4 then so be it. It hard to sell peace to the middle east when europe russia and the US didn't repect the results of a democratic election. But the eygpians don't control Gaza airspace, movement of people, water etc. thats the Israelis. The eygptians don't carry out extra judical killings, detroy homes, build walls, and steal land from the Palestinians again that is the Israelis. Please piss off this thread as you add nothing but an unwanted distraction to some good work done by a fellow poster.
Post by: Arthur_Friend on October 17, 2010, 06:13:13 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on October 17, 2010, 04:01:11 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on October 14, 2010, 09:39:15 PM

Will keep you posted.

Really Carmen   :-[... If Galloway and the other terrorist sponsors nestled in with this convoy would put themselves on a plane to fcuk
out of there they'd have sailed by now....clear evidence that Galloway is every bit the dangerous cnut that I've said he is when he can't
set aside his attention seeking whorism in favour of getting the aid to these peop
le ::)

Tea party... whether I'm male or Female.... Yawning.... to the Saul Alinsky tactics of trying to Silence me.... the infatuation continues :-*
Anything and everything but step up and debunk the very valid points and or heavens forbid answers to the questions I've asked here
if that is, I am as wrong as ye would try to have the neutral here believe.
Surely for a "Tea party Moran" I should be easy enough to put straight what with the sheer intellectual brilliance on display here on a daily basis  ::) :D

Ok, I'll indulge you just this once. Let's dissect your first paragraph (the bit I have highlighted) and see if there is anything coherent there..In fact let's just start with the first sentence...

Quote: If Galloway and the other terrorist sponsors nestled in with this convoy would put themselves on a plane to fcuk
out of there they'd have sailed by now....

This statement raises many questions. Specifically, what is the terrorism of which you are referring? In what way is George Galloway sponsoring this terrorism? Who are the other terrorist sponsors 'nestled' in the convoy? What evidence do you have that they are terrorist sponsors? What evidence do you have that if these 'terrorist sponsors' weren't part of the convoy that the convoy would have sailed by now? Do you have insider knowledge of Egyptian policy with regards to this convoy to make this statement?

You made the statement so please be specific with your answers...
Post by: Tyrones own on October 17, 2010, 07:12:21 PM
QuoteThis statement raises many questions. Specifically, what is the terrorism of which you are referring?
The Latest George Galloway Stunt: Expect More Lies.
Fiction, reported in the Globe and Mail: "I didn't give any money to Hamas, I gave it to the ministry of health in Gaza to pay for the salaries of the doctors and nurses who hadn't been paid. By the way, we're talking about 20 odd thousand pounds, not millions. It's a symbolic donation. I gave it to the ministry of health in Gaza and I'm proud to have done so."

Fact, by Galloway's own admission, broadcast on several Arab television stations: "I, now, here, on behalf of myself, my sister Yvonne Ridley, and the two Respect councillors – Muhammad Ishtiaq and Naim Khan – are giving three cars and 25,000 pounds in cash to Prime Minister Ismail Haniyeh. Here is the money. This is not charity. This is politics." Not charity, but politics. Not to "doctors and nurses who hadn't been paid," but to the Hamas gangster "Prime Minister" Ismail Haniyeh who, in fact, is not and was not the Prime Minister of Palestine.

Fiction: Galloway's Viva Palestina raised £1 million for the suffering Palestinians of Gaza. Fact: "However, based on information obtained from PayPal and the IBB, the Commission was able to identify only approximately £180,000 as having been raised for the Charity. If the website's claims were accurate this raised concerns that approximately £820,000 was unaccounted for."

Fact: Months before Galloway handed over three cars and a bag of cash to the head of a gang of clerical-fascist, Jew-hating lunatics who have pretty well strangled the prospect of a free Palestinian state in the womb - and Galloway has admitted to the British Charity Commission that this was "'personal money' that had been handed to Hamas" - the Government of Canada had already provided $4 million in emergency relief to the people of Gaza.

Galloway wasn't banned from Canada, either. Section 34 (1) of Canada's Immigration and Refugee Protection Act specifically cites "engaging in terrorism" as grounds to prevent a person from entering Canada. Engaging in terrorism includes raising money for terrorist groups. In Canada, the death cult Hamas, the worst enemy the cause of Palestinian freedom has ever faced, is listed as a proscribed terrorist group.

If you are a triggerman or a bagman for a proscribed terrorist organization, you are normally considered inadmissible to Canada, and being a rich celebrity white guy with a British passport and a cult following  :D in this country doesn't mean you're above the law. The Canadian High Commission showed Galloway the courtesy of letting him know that. That is all.

Actually I do apologize...I should have added personally supports it  :o
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OpTAqwwiya0
QuoteWhat evidence do you have that if these 'terrorist sponsors' weren't part of the convoy that the convoy would have sailed by now?
Why don't you ask Dixey...he'll have no choice but to admit that one of the reasons for the delay is that Galloway among others were being denied...
..don't take my word for it, ask him!
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on October 17, 2010, 07:28:21 PM
by those standards the israeli government are also terrorists as they also funded Hamas. Do you accept that TO?
Post by: Tyrones own on October 17, 2010, 08:03:34 PM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on October 17, 2010, 07:28:21 PM
by those standards the israeli government are also terrorists as they also funded Hamas. Do you accept that TO?
Yes indeed they did, beginning with an effort to combat the power and influence of the PLO.
Now will you then accept what I've been trying to get across all along...that they're each as bad as the other?
And might I add PHP...at least they don't deny the funding, Galloway on the other hand......... ::)
Post by: andoireabu on October 17, 2010, 08:08:35 PM
Tyrone's Own

Is the above post (the one with a lot of itallics) your own words or quoted from somewhere?
Post by: Tyrones own on October 17, 2010, 08:19:42 PM
Quote from: andoireabu on October 17, 2010, 08:08:35 PM
Tyrone's Own

Is the above post (the one with a lot of itallics) your own words or quoted from somewhere?
It was a quote;
Or here's the same thing on you tube.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hMWr203BjOM&feature=related
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on October 17, 2010, 08:27:18 PM
no i cannot accept that. I don't believe that they are bad as each other. I believe the Palestinians are under attack, their land been stolen, treated as second class citizens. This causes all the other stuff. Israel have the power to bring about a solution but all they do is pour fuel on the fire and steal more land
Post by: Arthur_Friend on October 17, 2010, 08:39:34 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on October 17, 2010, 08:19:42 PM
Tyrone's Own

It was a quote;

It was a quote and here is where it was quoted from

http://transmontanus.blogspot.com/2010/04/latest-george-galloway-stunt-expect.html

The only problem for TO and his blogger mate is that it seems Canadian Federal Court Judge Richard Mosley disagrees that George Galloway sponsors terrorism.

http://decisions.fct-cf.gc.ca/en/2010/2010fc957/2010fc957.html

See specifically paragraphs - [7], [10], [14], [16], [18], [37] the Canadians refer to the Hamas Prime Minister, unlike your blogger mate , [86], [91], [98], [99], [107], [108, 109], [110], [111, 112], [114], [115], [119], [122].

Post by: andoireabu on October 17, 2010, 08:43:31 PM
Quote from: Arthur_Friend on October 17, 2010, 08:39:34 PM
Tyrone's Own

It was a quote;

http://transmontanus.blogspot.com/2010/04/latest-george-galloway-stunt-expect.html

The only problem for TO and his blogger mate is that it seems Canadian Federal Court Judge Richard Mosley disagrees that George Galloway sponsors terrorism.

See specifically paragraphs - [7], [10], [14], [16], [18], [37] the Canadians refer to the Hamas Prime Minister, unlike your blogger mate , [86], [91], [98], [99], [107], [108, 109], [110], [111, 112], [114], [115], [119], [122].

So then are the "facts" and "fiction" actually that or are they just a persons opinion?

Would you agree with all that is said in that blog TO?
Post by: Tyrones own on October 17, 2010, 08:45:32 PM
Tyrone's Own

It was a quote;

Ach sure here it is from the horses mouth above...do keep up :-[
except he didn't have the balls to admit it..lying Cnut :o
Post by: Tyrones own on October 17, 2010, 08:46:57 PM
Quote from: andoireabu on October 17, 2010, 08:43:31 PM
Tyrone's Own

It was a quote;

So then are the "facts" and "fiction" actually that or are they just a persons opinion?

Yes! did you even bother to watch the youtube video I posted for you.?
Post by: Tyrones own on October 17, 2010, 08:48:37 PM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on October 17, 2010, 08:27:18 PM
no i cannot accept that. I don't believe that they are bad as each other. I believe the Palestinians are under attack, their land been stolen, treated as second class citizens. This causes all the other stuff. Israel have the power to bring about a solution but all they do is pour fuel on the fire and steal more land
Shocker  :o That's about what I expected...with the hatred on this board alone for Israel one can just imagine the amplification of it on a daily basis from their surroundings compounded heavily with propaganda from brainwashed useful idiots the world over..then it's shock horror be it right or wrong when they act accordingly  ::)
Contrary to popular belief ::) Israel do not hold the keys to this outcome... nothing they could or would do would be good enough for the haters bar wiping themselves off the map and since that's not going to happen, WTF do ye actually expect out of them :-\
Post by: Arthur_Friend on October 17, 2010, 08:49:13 PM
Tyrone's Own

It was a quote;

More to the point does he know better than a Canadian Federal Court Judge, whom I am sure examined all the evidence available to him, and is legally obliged to make a fair judgement based on that evidence... Well do you know better TO?
Post by: Arthur_Friend on October 17, 2010, 08:50:32 PM
[18]           The purpose and distribution of the aid delivered by the convoy is not disputed by the respondents. There is no evidence in the record that it was used by Hamas for any terrorist purpose. The unchallenged evidence in the record is that the cash delivered by Galloway was used to buy incubators and pediatric dialysis units for a Gaza hospital.
Post by: andoireabu on October 17, 2010, 08:54:22 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on October 17, 2010, 08:46:57 PM
Tyrone's Own

It was a quote;

Its just that i get the impression you don't like the double standards of people hating israel yet you are happy enough to stand behind quotes like "...to the head of a gang of clerical-fascist, Jew-hating lunatics..."

to me that seems like double standards also
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on October 17, 2010, 08:58:24 PM
so to get this right the hypocrisy of george galloway saying he doesn't give money to Hamas but then he does...... is what you wish to focus on (this makes him a terrorist)

but the hypocrisy of the US and to a lesser extent Europe and Russia for talking and suppporting (financailly) Israel (who we have estabished are terrorists also) but who refuse to talk or support Hamas (who everyone says are terrorists and are like the Israeli government are democratically elected) is fine in your eyes TO

??? ??? ???
Post by: Arthur_Friend on October 17, 2010, 09:01:31 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on October 17, 2010, 08:45:32 PM
Tyrone's Own

It was a quote;

Ach sure here it is from the horses mouth above...do keep up :-[
except he didn't have the balls to admit it..lying Cnut :o

TO, to whom is George Galloway speaking at the start of the clip, where was the speaking engagement and on what date did the speaking engagement take place? It isn't quite clear from the clip you see.
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on October 17, 2010, 09:05:24 PM
I will answer your question in my next post (ignoring all the useless shit about israeli hatred which i haven't said once, you think critisism is hatred it is not) but i would like you to answer the question what do youe expect out of the Palestinians?
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on October 17, 2010, 09:14:07 PM
I expect the Israelis to abide by international law. 1st end all settlement activity. 2nd move to the 1967 border. Then work out all the financial information and the settlement of the right of return for all refugees from the conflict.

Hamas already offered a 10 year "truce" as you are fully aware if Israel moved to the 1967 border.
Post by: Tyrones own on October 17, 2010, 09:26:01 PM
QuoteIts just that i get the impression you don't like the double standards of people hating israel yet you are happy enough to stand behind quotes like "...to the head of a gang of clerical-fascist, Jew-hating lunatics..."

The point and or lies about money being handed over was what I agreed with but as i said, it was a quote and they weren't my words, (should I not have included them?)
Post by: Tyrones own on October 17, 2010, 09:29:17 PM
Quoteso to get this right the hypocrisy of george galloway saying he doesn't give money to Hamas but then he does...... is what you wish to focus on (this makes him a terrorist)
Where did I say he was a terrorist ?
Post by: andoireabu on October 17, 2010, 09:30:22 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on October 17, 2010, 09:26:01 PM
QuoteIts just that i get the impression you don't like the double standards of people hating israel yet you are happy enough to stand behind quotes like "...to the head of a gang of clerical-fascist, Jew-hating lunatics..."

The point and or lies about money being handed over was what I agreed with but as i said, it was a quote and they weren't my words, (should I not have included them?)
No include anything you think is relevant.  I asked you did you agree with all that was in the blog and you said you did, thats why i thought you agreed with the "Jew-hating lunatics part"
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on October 17, 2010, 09:33:45 PM
here
QuoteIf Galloway and the other terrorist sponsors

Re: Ireland To Gaza 3
« Reply #74 on: Today at 04:01:11 PM »

Post by: Tyrones own on October 17, 2010, 09:35:19 PM
Quote from: andoireabu on October 17, 2010, 09:30:22 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on October 17, 2010, 09:26:01 PM

No include anything you think is relevant.  I asked you did you agree with all that was in the blog and you said you did, thats why i thought you agreed with the "Jew-hating lunatics part"
No I didn't...you do realize it's deeply frowned upon around here to chop quotes, accused then of editing to suit agendas and so I included the whole quote for that very reason!
Post by: Tyrones own on October 17, 2010, 09:39:07 PM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on October 17, 2010, 09:33:45 PM
here
QuoteIf Galloway and the other terrorist sponsors

Re: Ireland To Gaza 3
« Reply #74 on: Today at 04:01:11 PM »
Ah I suppose you're right..by definition, the funding of terrorism would indeed be viewed that way in a court of law  :-\
Post by: andoireabu on October 17, 2010, 09:42:05 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on October 17, 2010, 08:46:57 PM
Tyrone's Own

It was a quote;

Was that not your answer to the question i asked you?

And the only reason i put in a specific part of a quote was to save space in a thread.  If it is needed then i will copy the whole thing in again even though it is already there to read.  I have no agenda here either.
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on October 17, 2010, 09:44:43 PM
so TO i know your are replying to two different people here so take your time, but since i took the time to answer your question (which i am sure you will poke holes in) can you please answer mine. Cheers
Post by: Tyrones own on October 17, 2010, 09:49:21 PM
Quote from: Arthur_Friend on October 17, 2010, 08:50:32 PM
[18]           The purpose and distribution of the aid delivered by the convoy is not disputed by the respondents. There is no evidence in the record that it was used by Hamas for any terrorist purpose. The unchallenged evidence in the record is that the cash delivered by Galloway was used to buy incubators and pediatric dialysis units for a Gaza hospital.
Yes of course evidenced by the "This is not Charity" three times before declaring "it's Politics" as he handed it over  :D
Post by: Tyrones own on October 17, 2010, 09:59:13 PM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on October 17, 2010, 09:05:24 PM
I will answer your question in my next post (ignoring all the useless shit about israeli hatred which i haven't said once, you think critisism is hatred it is not) but i would like you to answer the question what do youe expect out of the Palestinians?
To over throw the terror organization masquerading as a legitimate Government..one that is doing precious little to aid the plight of the people it Governs
...actually hurting such is their stated mission toward Israel and all she stands for as a sovereign nation!
Post by: give her dixie on October 17, 2010, 09:59:48 PM
Well folks, the long wait is over, and tomorrow we set sail for Al Arish, Egypt.
I am pressed for time, so have included the folowing press release to update everyone.

Once again, thanks for all your encouragement and support. You make it all possible.

It is going to be emotional leaving the Palestinian refugee camp where we have been staying for the past 2 weeks. Over 10,000 Palestinians live here, having been kicked out of their homes in Haifa 62 years ago.

To this day, they have never been able to return to their homes that they had lived in for generations.
Today, Jews from all over the world are paid to go to Israel and live in their homes.
It is so cruel, and some day soon, justice will prevail and they will get the justice they truely deserve.

Fresh from his visit to Canada, and victory over a Canadian Govt decision to ban him from entering Canada 18 months ago, an emotional George Galloway addressed thousands of people tonight and wished us all well as we set off in the morning.

If only there were more men like George in this world who have the courage and conviction to stand up for the plight of the Palestinians, and recognise democracy, then peace could be achievable.

Yesterday, Mary Robinson and fellow members of the "Elders Group" visited Gaza, and met with the democratically elected leaders and called for the immediate lifting of the illegal and cruel siege imposed upon 1.5 million people by Israel and the US.

So, with an early start in the morning, and an emotional 20 hour sail ahead of us, I will sign off.
Hopefully the next time I post, I will have broken the siege once more, and delivered the ambulance loaded with aid to the besieged people in Gaza that I have driven 3,500 miles.

Stay tuned..........

Press Release:

On Monday morning, October 18th, an Irish humanitarian delegation will depart Syria and sail to Al Arish in Egypt on the last leg of an epic journey to Gaza. They are part of the international Viva Palestina convoy that left the UK on September 18th and travelled through France, Italy, Greece, Turkey and Syria.

In total, over $5 million of humanitarian aid is loaded in 150 vehicles, with 400 people from 30 countries worldwide. This is the largest land convoy to date to attempt to reach Gaza since the illegal siege was imposed over 4 years ago.

This is the 4th land convoy organised by the British charity Viva Palestina in the past 18 months.
8 Irish men in 5 vehicles, with over $100,000 in humanitarian aid, have travelled over 3,500 miles to date.

For over 2 weeks, the convoy has been waiting in Latakia, Syria for permission from Egypt to dock in Al Arish.
Among the Irish travelling is, Padraig McShane, an independent councillor from the district of Moyle, 2 teams from Antrim, 1team from Belfast, and a team from Tyrone, and one from Tipperarry.

Today, the Egyptian authorities issued a list of 17 people who are banned from travelling. They include the convoy leader, former MP and founder of Viva Palestina, Mr. George Galloway, and 10 survivors from the Mavi Mamara, the ship that was attacked by Israel in which 9 men were brutally murdered.

En route to Al Arish, the ship will stop at the sport in international waters where the Mavi Mamara was attacked, and a wreath laying ceremony will take place. This will no doubt be an emotional experience considering there are 40 survivors travelling on the convoy.

The ship will dock in Al Arish on Tuesday morning, and following inspections, the convoy should hopefully enter Gaza some time on Tuesday.

Post by: Tyrones own on October 17, 2010, 10:04:57 PM
Quote from: give her dixie on October 17, 2010, 09:59:48 PM
Well folks, the long wait is over, and tomorrow we set sail for Al Arish, Egypt.
I am pressed for time, so have included the folowing press release to update everyone.

Once again, thanks for all your encouragement and support. You make it all possible.

It is going to be emotional leaving the Palestinian refugee camp where we have been staying for the past 2 weeks. Over 10,000 Palestinians live here, having been kicked out of their homes in Haifa 62 years ago.

To this day, they have never been able to return to their homes that they had lived in for generations.
Today, Jews from all over the world are paid to go to Israel and live in their homes.
It is so cruel, and some day soon, justice will prevail and they will get the justice they truely deserve.

Fresh from his visit to Canada, and victory over a Canadian Govt decision to ban him from entering Canada 18 months ago, an emotional George Galloway addressed thousands of people tonight and wished us all well as we set off in the morning.

If only there were more men like George in this world who have the courage and conviction to stand up for the plight of the Palestinians, and recognise democracy, then peace could be achievable.

Yesterday, Mary Robinson and fellow members of the "Elders Group" visited Gaza, and met with the democratically elected leaders and called for the immediate lifting of the illegal and cruel siege imposed upon 1.5 million people by Israel and the US.

So, with an early start in the morning, and an emotional 20 hour sail ahead of us, I will sign off.
Hopefully the next time I post, I will have broken the siege once more, and delivered the ambulance loaded with aid to the besieged people in Gaza that I have driven 3,500 miles.

Stay tuned..........

Press Release:

On Monday morning, October 18th, an Irish humanitarian delegation will depart Syria and sail to Al Arish in Egypt on the last leg of an epic journey to Gaza. They are part of the international Viva Palestina convoy that left the UK on September 18th and travelled through France, Italy, Greece, Turkey and Syria.

In total, over $5 million of humanitarian aid is loaded in 150 vehicles, with 400 people from 30 countries worldwide. This is the largest land convoy to date to attempt to reach Gaza since the illegal siege was imposed over 4 years ago.

This is the 4th land convoy organised by the British charity Viva Palestina in the past 18 months.
8 Irish men in 5 vehicles, with over $100,000 in humanitarian aid, have travelled over 3,500 miles to date.

For over 2 weeks, the convoy has been waiting in Latakia, Syria for permission from Egypt to dock in Al Arish.
Among the Irish travelling is, Padraig McShane, an independent councillor from the district of Moyle, 2 teams from Antrim, 1team from Belfast, and a team from Tyrone, and one from Tipperarry.

Today, the Egyptian authorities issued a list of 17 people who are banned from travelling. They include the convoy leader, former MP and founder of Viva Palestina, Mr. George Galloway, and 10 survivors from the Mavi Mamara, the ship that was attacked by Israel in which 9 men were brutally murdered.

En route to Al Arish, the ship will stop at the sport in international waters where the Mavi Mamara was attacked, and a wreath laying ceremony will take place. This will no doubt be an emotional experience considering there are 40 survivors travelling on the convoy.

The ship will dock in Al Arish on Tuesday morning, and following inspections, the convoy should hopefully enter Gaza some time on Tuesday.

Any Idea why these 17 including George were banned by the Egyptians from traveling John?
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on October 17, 2010, 10:11:54 PM
you might have forgotton TO but the Palestinians elected Hamas as their legit Goverment, it was the world powers that agreed with the democratic election. So the people support Hamas. Its time to stop burying heads in the sand and start to deal with the moderate elements in Hamas. Also you might of not remember the Oslo accords where Israel continued to build settlements and steal Palestinian land, Hamas were not in power then.

The stated mission is a load of crap, come on people in Northern Ireland refer to it as the North or North of Ireland, Londonderry and Derry, it is only words. By Offering a 10 year truce they were effectively accpeting an Israeli State as that is who the agreement is with.

Can you clarify what Israel stands for as a sovereign nation!?
Post by: Arthur_Friend on October 17, 2010, 10:16:24 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on October 17, 2010, 09:49:21 PM
Yes of course evidenced by the "This is not Charity" three times before declaring "it's Politics" as he handed it over  :D

What part of The unchallenged evidence in the record is that the cash delivered by Galloway was used to buy incubators and pediatric dialysis units for a Gaza hospital. do you not understand?

Do you disagree with the findings of the Canadian Federal Court Judge?

By the way do you have any comment on 3.04 - 3.31 of the youtube video?
Post by: Tyrones own on October 17, 2010, 10:26:07 PM
Quote from: Arthur_Friend on October 17, 2010, 10:16:24 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on October 17, 2010, 09:49:21 PM

What part of The unchallenged evidence in the record is that the cash delivered by Galloway was used to buy incubators and pediatric dialysis units for a Gaza hospital. do you not understand?

Do you disagree with the findings of the Canadian Federal Court Judge?

By the way do you have any comment on 3.04 - 3.31 of the youtube video?
I'm sure you're aware by now that evidence can be made to show anything at all in this propagandized world we live in...
but how can you argue with his "This is not Charity..This is politics" statement ??? I'd say the horses mouth trumps any and all evidence that can be drummed up after the fact ::)
Oh.. and the comment on Auschwitz was absolutely appalling I thought  :'(
Post by: mylestheslasher on October 17, 2010, 11:18:58 PM
I see that hardcore terrorist Mary Robinson is involved now and who can forget the terrorist mastermind that is 86 year old Hepy Epstein, strangely a holocaust survivor, who was previously involved with aid to Gaza. Together with Galloway they surely form a new axis of evil. Thank god for holy warriors like TO and the Canadian Globe for setting us all on the right path.
Post by: Hedley Lamarr on October 18, 2010, 09:18:46 AM
TO, do you think Israel are serious when they enter "peace talks"....or is it just a show?
For over 40 years they have stolen land and treated the Palestinian people like second class citizens.
The reason that they keep doing it is because NO ONE will do anything about it.
Hamas are democratically elected.......just as Sinn Fein were in the north......some people don't like it ......but that's life.
America likes to portray itself as the great mediator/peace negotiator........but how can they when they sponsor one side to the tune of billions every year......and the other to very little by comparison.
As for a return to the 1967 borders.....that is never going to happen, but IF Israel were serious about peace then they have to stop the continued land grab and building of settlements.
Realistically no one really gives a shit outside of Israel and Gaza.....because it's all happening over there 
Anyway I hope any and all aid gets to those that need it most.
Just read this article and thought it might be of interest...

A devious plan
What is the connection between settlements and the national character of Israel?

With the Palestinians already threatening to walk away from the Middle East peace talks unless Israel renews its partial ban on West Bank settlements, the unveiling of 238 new homes for Jewish settlers in East Jerusalem could well kill off the negotiations.

The new plans were approved by Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu who apparently could not wait for the settlement moratorium to end, for he is the winner no matter what. Look at the extraordinary basket of incentives Washington offered Israel for a one-off, 60-day extension of the freeze. They include a US pledge to support an Israeli Army presence in the Jordan Valley even after a peace agreement is signed; a veto on any UN Security Council resolution criticizing Israel for the duration of negotiations; an upgrade of weapons not covered in previous arms deals; and a promise not to ask for another moratorium beyond the extension. This by a country that grants Israel $3 billion a year in military aid. An extraordinary package for essentially nothing: Should Netanyahu agree to a moratorium extension of just two months, he will get all this. If he does not, he will probably get even more.

It's not clear what assurances Obama offered the Palestinians. For nothing in return, the Arab League, including the Palestinians, agreed at the Sirte summit to give the Obama administration 30 days to get Israel to adhere to the basics of the peace process, including pressuring Israel to renew the freeze on Jewish settlements. However, this one-month hiatus is aimed more at unburdening the Obama administration of the task of confronting Israel during the midterm US Congressional elections rather than seeing any concrete results from any renewed American efforts at reactivating an exhausted and unpromising peace process.

What the Palestinians want is an explicit statement by Obama that the 1967 borders will be the baseline for any final-status negotiations on a Palestinian state. But even if Obama were to endorse a Palestinian state on the 1967 borders, it would have no more traction than his call for a settlement freeze unless Israel also recognizes them as a basis for negotiations. With Netanyahu at the helm, this is highly unlikely. His offer to extend the freeze in return for Palestinian recognition of "Israel as the National State of the Jewish people" was made only because he knew it would be refused. No Palestinian official would agree to recognize Israel as a Jewish state which is linked to the Zionist plan to expel most or all Arabs who have Israeli citizenship and who constitute around 25 percent of Israel's overall population.

The PLO formally recognized Israel's right "to exist in peace and security" in an exchange of letters before the signing of the 1993 Oslo Accords. What is the connection between settlements and the national character of Israel? The real issue threatening peace talks is settlement activity that continues with or without a moratorium. According to Israel's own statistics, in the first half of 2010 — the period of the "freeze" — the West Bank settler population grew by 8,000, almost the same rate as 2009 and triple the average population growth inside Israel.

The new East Jerusalem project is part of a larger announcement allowing developers to bid on thousands of housings contracts across Israel. As such, for its duration and any period to come, the moratorium was and is a sham, much like the negotiations themselves.
Post by: Banana Man on October 18, 2010, 09:39:07 AM
That's the stuff Give her Dixie, you can tell Padraig McShane his weekly column in the Coleraine Chronicle caused a stir with the loyal brethern on the North Coast, it was inthe Sunday World yesterday and John Taylor/Lord Kilcooney has ordered an investigation into it, talk about a bloody nose  :D
Post by: glens abu on October 18, 2010, 09:45:03 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on October 16, 2010, 08:53:58 PM
Quote from: glens abu on October 15, 2010, 01:59:32 PM

What are you trying to say!!!  :D :D

:D :D ;)
Post by: Hedley Lamarr on October 19, 2010, 10:32:43 AM
Israel says Hamas has anti-aircraft missiles
By ASSOCIATED PRESS

Published: Oct 18, 2010 23:37 Updated: Oct 18, 2010 23:37

JERUSALEM: Gaza's Hamas rulers have obtained anti-aircraft missiles, Israel's prime minister said Monday, in a potentially game-changing development that could threaten the Israeli air force's ability to strike at the militant group.

Israeli aircraft have long dominated the skies over Gaza, striking suspected Hamas military installations and assassinating dozens of wanted militants. The Israeli air force played a key role in a fierce three-week offensive in Gaza early last year, which began with airstrikes that killed hundreds of Hamas fighters. The air raids also destroyed vast amounts of infrastructure and killed hundreds of civilians.

Speaking to his Likud Party, Netanyahu disclosed that Israel's aerial freedom has been compromised by the new weaponry, presumably smuggled into Gaza through tunnels connected to neighboring Egypt. He said any future peace agreement would have to include security arrangements to deal with the threat.

Israel believes that despite its military offensive and Egypt's stated goal of halting arms smuggling, Hamas has managed to restock its arsenal with longer-range missiles that can strike the heart of Israel.

Netanyahu's assessment was the first time an Israeli official has openly said Hamas also possesses anti-aircraft weaponry, though intelligence officials have privately suspected that was the case.

"The security problem is not just the new rockets that will enter the area and will threaten city centers. I don't know if you know this, but today we are struggling to fly near Gaza because they have anti-aircraft missiles there," Netanyahu said.

He warned that the missiles could also threaten air traffic at Israel's international airport. "Israel's security needs are real, the solutions have to be real, not on paper. We need to find long-term solutions that give Israel security," he said.

Netanyahu gave no evidence to support his claim, and aides would not discuss details about the missiles.
::) ::) ::)
The Israeli military refused to comment on Netanyahu's remarks.

Security officials said they have long assumed Hamas has smuggled in Russian-made Strela anti-aircraft missiles, presumably supplied by Iran. Some versions of the Strela are shoulder-fired and are designed to target planes, helicopters and drones at ranges of around two and a half miles, according to the military information website GlobalSecurity.org.

Hamas has yet to deploy the weapons, but Israeli pilots fly over Gaza with the assumption that the missiles are there, the officials said, speaking on condition of anonymity according to military protocol.

Hamas refused to say whether it has any anti-aircraft weapons and accused the Israeli leader of spreading propaganda to justify future attacks in Gaza.

"These remarks reflect the intention of the Zionist enemy to commit more crimes and more future aggression against our people, taking advantage of the American support and the Arab silence," said Fawzi Barhoum, a Hamas spokesman in Gaza.

"We emphasize that the Palestinian people have the right to defend themselves against any future aggression and this is a national and holy duty," he added.

Hamas leader Mahmoud Zahar said the militant group had learned its lessons from the last battle.

"If they want war, we are ready for it. But it will not be like the last war in 2009 in which we realized the strength and weakness of our enemy," he said.

Hamas has fired thousands of rockets and missiles into Israel in recent years, though it has largely refrained from attacks since Israel's offensive.

On Sunday, an Israeli airstrike killed two Gaza militants who Israel says were preparing to fire rockets over the Gaza border. The Israeli military said more than 165 rockets and mortar shells have been fired at Israel from Gaza so far this year, a significant drop from the numbers before the 2009 war.

Hamas is a not a party to the newly restarted Israeli-Palestinian peace talks, which are deadlocked over Israel's refusal to extend restrictions on Jewish settlement construction in the West Bank.

In a rare interview to an Israeli television station, Palestinian President Mahmoud Abbas appeared to make a significant gesture toward Israel. He said the Palestinians would be willing to end all historic claims against Israel if a Palestinian state is established on lands captured by Israel in the 1967 Mideast war: the West Bank, east Jerusalem and the Gaza Strip.

Once the Palestinians have established their state inside the 1967 borders, "there is another important thing to end, the conflict, and we are ready for that, to end the historic demands," Abbas told Israel's Channel 1.

Though Abbas did not elaborate, this has typically alluded to the Palestinian demand for Palestinian refugees to have a right to return to their homelands inside what is now Israel.

Israel fears the Palestinians will press for refugee rights even after the creation of their state instead of settling in the future Palestine, thus undermining Israel's Jewish character.

Netanyahu said he heard Abbas' words, but preferred to have the conversation face-to-face.
Post by: give her dixie on October 20, 2010, 11:34:19 PM
Well folks, after a 18 day wait in Syria, we finally left today and have now arrived in Al Arish, Egypt.
Yesterday, all the vehicles were loaded on a ship and it is due to dock in a few hours.
All the convoy members took 2 flights today and everyone is safe and well in a hotel for the night.

Tomorrow, if all goes well we should enter Gaza and break the siege once more.
It has been a long journey, and everyone will be relieved once we cross through the Rafah border into
Gaza, and occupied Palestine.

I will keep you posted on how we get on.......
Post by: Zapatista on October 20, 2010, 11:36:02 PM
Goodluck.
Post by: Banana Man on October 21, 2010, 08:53:16 AM
Best of luck big man
Post by: give her dixie on October 21, 2010, 09:10:34 PM
Well folks, after 33 days on the road, we finally entered Gaza this afternoon.
The scenes once we crossed through the Rafah crossing were amazing. Tens of thousands of Palestinians
lined the streets as we made our way to Gaza city.
It has been an amazing journey, and not without it's difficulties.
However, what we endured is only a drop in the ocean to what these brave people endure day after day.
I will post later with more details, and for now, i'm away to have a shower and something to eat.............,

Viva Gaza, Viva Palestina..............
Post by: mylestheslasher on October 21, 2010, 09:32:36 PM
Quote from: give her dixie on October 21, 2010, 09:10:34 PM
Well folks, after 33 days on the road, we finally entered Gaza this afternoon.
The scenes once we crossed through the Rafah crossing were amazing. Tens of thousands of Palestinians
lined the streets as we made our way to Gaza city.
It has been an amazing journey, and not without it's difficulties.
However, what we endured is only a drop in the ocean to what these brave people endure day after day.
I will post later with more details, and for now, i'm away to have a shower and something to eat.............,

Viva Gaza, Viva Palestina..............

Well done yet again John - you and your comrades are an inspiration to all.
Post by: Tyrones own on November 10, 2010, 10:54:16 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-11729423

This has got to be a misprint...surely they mean Israel  :o
Post by: mylestheslasher on November 10, 2010, 11:14:34 PM
To - if you are trying to make a point would you come out with it as I am not getting it.
Post by: Hedley Lamarr on November 11, 2010, 06:56:17 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on November 10, 2010, 10:54:16 PM

Although very welcome....nothing compared to.....

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/0/0b/US_aid_to_Israel.gif)
Post by: Hedley Lamarr on November 11, 2010, 12:42:24 PM
Some very interesting reading...

http://www.fas.org/sgp/crs/mideast/RL33222.pdf
Post by: Tyrones own on November 11, 2010, 02:20:04 PM
Quote from: Hedley Lamarr on November 11, 2010, 06:56:17 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on November 10, 2010, 10:54:16 PM

Although very welcome....nothing compared to.....

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/0/0b/US_aid_to_Israel.gif)
Quite true hedley but I'm sure you'll agree, it's not bad for a people that hate what we stand for
...especially at a time when this country and it's citizens are on their knees!
Post by: give her dixie on November 11, 2010, 03:03:42 PM
http://www.haaretz.com/print-edition/news/u-s-to-store-another-400m-worth-of-emergency-military-equipment-in-israel-1.324046

The U.S. government is to move an additional $400 million worth of military equipment to emergency storage in Israel over the next two years.

The equipment, which includes so-called smart bombs, will stand at Israel's disposal in an emergency.

The U.S. Congress approved the hike last month, which will bring the value of American military equipment stockpiled in Israel to $1.2 billion by 2012. The story was first reported this week by Defense News magazine's reporter in Israel, Barbara Opall-Rome.

The U.S. stores equipment in Israel by virtue of a special clause in U.S. foreign aid law governing war reserves stockpiles for allies. According to the clause, the equipment can be utilized by American forces throughout the world, and also, in an emergency, by the military in the country where the equipment is stored.

The clause was originally intended to allow South Korea use of American equipment in case of a surprise attack by North Korea.

The type of equipment stockpiled in Israel is determined through dialogue between the Israel Defense Forces and the U.S. Army's European Command. The issue was raised in discussions last week during the visit by the IDF's logistics and technology chief, Maj. Gen. Dan Biton, at the Pentagon in Washington.

The agreement between the two armed forces also includes conditions under which the IDF may use the equipment. It is believed that a great deal of the equipment will include precision weapons launched from the air.

IDF Chief of Staff Gabi Ashkenazi said this week that in Israel's future wars, much more precise weaponry will be needed to strike urban targets from the air without injuring civilians.

During Operation Cast Lead, 81 percent of the missiles and bombs launched from the air on and by IDF artillery were of the precision type.

Use of the the American equipment is allowed with permission of the American administration; Israel used such U.S. weaponry during the Second Lebanon War.

The first time equipment was stockpiled in Israel was in 1990, when a ceiling of $100 million in value was set, which was raised to $300 million during the first Gulf War and later raised to $400 million. It was doubled in 2007 after the Second Lebanon War, and, as noted, will reach $1.2 billion by 2012.

It is assumed in Israel that the U.S. administration asked Congress to increase the value of U.S. emergency equipment to signal its continued commitment to Israel's security. It is also believed the increase is meant to as an indication to Israel that it will not need to mount a surprise attack on Iran's nuclear facilities and that it can take risks for peace.

Israel is also expected to be allowed more involvement in selecting the types of equipment and weapons to be stored here and greater freedom to use it in an emergency. The equipment is stored in special bases for emergency supplies that are under American supervision.

Ben-Gurion International Airport and a base in Nevatim are expected to stockpile U.S. equipment arriving by air during both war and peacetime.

The agreement on the additional stockpiling is part of the very significant upgrading in security relations between Israel and the United States, which also involved an increased number of joint exercises with the United States, during which joint command over complex operations were also drilled. The upgrading of relations in the security realm also involved the special allocation of $500 million to finance the purchase of an Iron Dome battery, and the signing two months ago of an agreement to supply the IAF with the first squadron of the future F-35 fighter aircraft.
Post by: Tyrones own on November 11, 2010, 03:54:19 PM
Any move that makes ahmadinejad think twice about lobbing a big one in to Tel Aviv
or Jerusalem can only be a good thing for all of us and not just Israel....well from a
logical persons standpoint anyway  ::)
Post by: Hedley Lamarr on November 12, 2010, 06:36:30 AM
Crazy and all that "armour dinner jacket" comes across, I think that even he realises that if they strike Tel Aviv or Jerusalem then there will be as many if not more Arab deaths....so it's a non runner in my book.

It took long enough for the people in the six counties to say enough is enough, so here's hoping that the peace talks can be resumed and something positive come out of them.

May I take this opportunity to wish you all, a happy and peaceful festive break, and a peaceful and prosperous new year.
Post by: seafoid on November 12, 2010, 11:08:38 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on November 11, 2010, 03:54:19 PM
Any move that makes ahmadinejad think twice about lobbing a big one in to Tel Aviv
or Jerusalem can only be a good thing for all of us and not just Israel....well from a
logical persons standpoint anyway  ::)

Ahmadi nejad doesn't have to do anything.  Greater Israel is an apartheid state already  and will be brought down
over its refusal to grant civil rights to the 50% of its people who are not Jewish. The only unknown is the timing.

Israelis have no idea what is coming down the line. These soldiers are typical.

http://mondoweiss.net/2010/11/video-shows-israeli-soldiers-celebrating-the-demolition-of-houses-in-gaza.html
Post by: give her dixie on November 12, 2010, 02:13:46 PM
Well folks, another drama has been unfolding over the past 36 hours in the Med.
Below is a Gaurdian article on what has been happening.
The latest is that the ship is now just outside a Greek port, and commando's have boarded the ship.
A Coalisland man is one of those on board, and the current situation is tense.

I will keep you posted on developments as they unfold.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2010/nov/12/gaza-convoy-britons-held-greek-ship

BBC report: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-11742056

At least six Britons and the leaders of an aid convoy heading for Gaza have been forcibly taken into Greek waters in a shipping dispute that has turned into an international naval incident.

The activists were on board a Maltese-flagged cargo vessel that forced its way out of the Libyan port of Derna yesterday before it could be fully loaded and headed for Greece, rather than the Palestinian territories, pursued by the Libyan navy.

The rest of the Road to Hope convoy, which includes around 40 other Britons, and up to £8m in supplies for the people of Gaza, remains in Derna in the hope that it can board a second ship tomorrow.

The Egyptian authorities have closed the land border crossing, forcing the convoy to go by sea to the Egyptian port of al-Arish, from where the supplies can be driven over the border to Gaza.

The aid convoy hopes to cross the border at Rafah to break what it says is the Israeli siege of Gaza and deliver civilian goods to the impoverished zone.

If it fails to cross before 15 November, organisers fear the convoy will be held up in Egypt for a long time by the Muslim festival of Eid.

Laura Stuart, one of the organisers waiting on the quayside at Derna, told the Guardian: "We had raised $75,000 to pay for the Maltese-flagged ship, Strofades IV, to take us to al-Arish.

"But the Greek captain changed his mind while one of our vehicles was already on the ramp and 10 of our people were on board. The chief of police from Derna and four other Libyan officials were also negotiating on the vessel.

"It was very, very dangerous. The captain drove his ship back and forwards, breaking the mooring ropes, bounced around the harbour and headed off to sea with the ramp doors still open." The dispute is understood to have been over money.

The Strofades IV was shadowed by Libyan navy ships until it entered Greek waters. The Greek authorities have boarded it and are questioning the crew and those transported against their wishes to Piraeus, the main port in Athens.

The Foreign Office has intervened, along with Greek and Libyan officials, to ensure that the Britons are not harmed.

The Foreign Office said: "We have been informed that the ship has now anchored outside of Piraeus port, and we understand docking will take a few hours. British embassy staff will provide consular assistance to the British nationals on board if requested.

"We remain in close contact with the Greek authorities, and our priority remains that there is a safe resolution to this incident."

As well as six British volunteers, two Irish citizens, one Algerian and three Libyan officials are on the Strofades IV. Among them is Ken O'Keefe, a former US marine who is a survivor of the Israeli attack on the Mavi Marmara off Gaza in May.
Post by: Square Ball on November 15, 2010, 10:17:38 PM
up date on the above
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-11757068 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-11757068)
Post by: Banana Man on November 15, 2010, 10:38:06 PM
Tyrones Own I have a question for you, not being smart, I would like a view from a pro Israeli supporter. What is your view on the continuing settlements by the Israeli's?
Post by: Tyrones own on November 15, 2010, 10:45:23 PM
Quote from: Banana Man on November 15, 2010, 10:38:06 PM
Tyrones Own I have a question for you, not being smart, I would like a view from a pro Israeli supporter. What is your view on the continuing settlements by the Israeli's?
So would I... Let me know when you talk to one.
Post by: Banana Man on November 15, 2010, 10:49:45 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on November 15, 2010, 10:45:23 PM

ffs lad it was a serious question don't be so defensive, it's quite obvious that you are pro-israeli, i'm just asking the question, what's your opinion?
Post by: Tyrones own on November 15, 2010, 11:01:02 PM
Quote from: Banana Man on November 15, 2010, 10:49:45 PM

ffs lad it was a serious question don't be so defensive, it's quite obvious that you are pro-israeli, i'm just asking the question, what's your opinion?
Really...how's that now? Read back over the thread and come back to me as I've already stated
where I stand.
Post by: Banana Man on November 16, 2010, 09:01:33 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on November 15, 2010, 11:01:02 PM
Quote from: Banana Man on November 15, 2010, 10:49:45 PM

Really...how's that now? Read back over the thread and come back to me as I've already stated
where I stand.

well there's no point even taking this any further as you don't know where you stand. Sure have a think and come back to me
Post by: Tyrones own on November 16, 2010, 03:32:59 PM
 :D *Shakes head*
Post by: give her dixie on November 20, 2010, 02:39:15 AM
http://www.independent.co.uk/opinion/commentators/fisk/robert-fisk-an-american-bribe-that-stinks-of-appeasement-2139101.html

Robert Fisk: An American bribe that stinks of appeasement

Saturday, 20 November 2010

In any other country, the current American bribe to Israel, and the latter's reluctance to accept it, in return for even a temporary end to the theft of somebody else's property would be regarded as preposterous. Three billion dollars' worth of fighter bombers in return for a temporary freeze in West Bank colonisation for a mere 90 days? Not including East Jerusalem – so goodbye to the last chance of the east of the holy city for a Palestinian capital – and, if Benjamin Netanyahu so wishes, a rip-roaring continuation of settlement on Arab land. In the ordinary sane world in which we think we live, there is only one word for Barack Obama's offer: appeasement. Usually, our lords and masters use that word with disdain and disgust.

Anyone who panders to injustice by one people against another people is called an appeaser. Anyone who prefers peace at any price, let alone a $3bn bribe to the guilty party – is an appeaser. Anyone who will not risk the consequences of standing up for international morality against territorial greed is an appeaser. Those of us who did not want to invade Afghanistan were condemned as appeasers. Those of us who did not want to invade Iraq were vilified as appeasers. Yet that is precisely what Obama has done in his pathetic, unbelievable effort to plead with Netanyahu for just 90 days of submission to international law. Obama is an appeaser.

The fact that the West and its political and journalistic elites – I include the ever more disreputable New York Times – take this tomfoolery at face value, as if it can seriously be regarded as another "step" in the "peace process", to put this mystical nonsense "back on track", is a measure of the degree to which we have taken leave of our senses in the Middle East.

It is a sign of just how far America (and, through our failure to condemn this insanity, Europe) has allowed its fear of Israel – and how far Obama has allowed his fear of Israeli supporters in Congress and the Senate – to go.

Three billion dollars for three months is one billion dollars a month to stop Israel's colonisation. That's half a billion dollars a fortnight. That's $500m a week. That's $71,428,571 a day, or $2,976,190 an hour, or $49,603 a minute. And as well as this pot of gold, Washington will continue to veto any resolutions critical of Israel in the UN and prevent "Palestine" from declaring itself a state. It's worth invading anyone to get that much cash to stage a military withdrawal, let alone the gracious gesture of not building more illegal colonies for only 90 days while furiously continuing illegal construction in Jerusalem at the same time.

The Hillary Clinton version of this grotesquerie would be funny if it was not tragic. According to the sharp pen of the NYT's Roger Cohen, La Clinton has convinced herself that Palestine is "achievable, inevitable and compatible with Israel's security". And what persuaded Madame Hillary of this? Why, on a trip to the pseudo-Palestine "capital" of Ramallah last year, she saw the Jewish settlements – "the brutality of it was so stark" according to one of her officials – but thought her motorcade was being guarded by the Israeli army because "they're so professional". And then, lo and behold, they turned out to be a Palestinian military guard, a "professional outfit" – and all this changed Madame's views!

Quite apart from the fact that the Israeli army is a rabble, and that indeed, the Palestinians are a rabble too, this "road to Ramallah" incident led supporters of Madame, according to Cohen, to realise that there had been a transition "from a self-pitying, self-dramatising Palestinian psyche, with all the cloying accoutrements of victimhood, to a self-affirming culture of pragmatism and institution-building". Palestinian "prime minister" Salam Fayyad, educated in the US so, naturally, a safe pair of hands, has put "growth before grumbling, roads before ranting, and security before everything".

Having been occupied by a brutal army for 43 years, those wretched, dispossessed Palestinians, along with their cousins in the West Bank who have been homeless for 62 years, have at last stopped ranting and grumbling and feeling sorry for themselves and generally play-acting in order to honour the only thing that matters. Not justice. Certainly not democracy, but to the one God which Christians, Jews and Muslims are all now supposed to worship: security.

Yes, they have joined the true brotherhood of mankind. Israel will be safe at last. That this infantile narrative now drives the woman who told us 11 years ago that Jerusalem was "the eternal and indivisible capital of Israel" proves that the Israeli-Palestinian conflict has now reached its apogee, its most treacherous and final moment. And if Netanyahu has any sense – I'm talking abut the Zionist, expansionist kind – he will wait out the 90 days, then thumb his nose at the US. In the three months of "good behaviour", of course, the Palestinians will have to bite the bullet and sit down to "peace" talks which will decide the future borders of Israel and "Palestine". But since Israel controls 62 per cent of the West Bank this leaves Fayyad and his chums about 10.9 per cent of mandate Palestine to argue about.

And at the cost of $827 a second, they'd better do some quick grovelling. They will. We should all hang our heads in shame. But we won't. It's not about people. It's about presentation. It's not about justice. It's about "security". And cash. Lots of it. Goodbye Palestine
Post by: Tyrones own on November 20, 2010, 04:12:08 AM
Once again, did actually get comfortable to absorb this piece
but stopped at Robert Fisk....nuff said  ::)
Post by: mylestheslasher on November 20, 2010, 10:47:44 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on November 20, 2010, 04:12:08 AM

I know, why would you listen to anyone that is actually freelance and lives in the middle east and has done for 30 years. Someone who was 1st on the scene of many a massacre whether it be committed by Iran, Iraq, the US or even Israel. You'd be much better listen to reports from CNN and Fox from journalists who never leave their hotel room and just regurgitate whatever they are told by the military that protects them. The Pro Israeli demonisation of Fisk who dares to speak the truth is quite appalling. Anyone who reads what he writes would know he is equally scathing of Israel and of Hamas atrocities. I've read all his books so I know that. Here is a list of his awards as a journalist (from wikipedia)...

In 1991, Fisk won a Jacob's Award for his RTÉ Radio coverage of the first Gulf War.[32] He received Amnesty International UK Press Awards in 1998 for his reports from Algeria and again in 2000 for his articles on the NATO air campaign against Yugoslavia in 1999. In 1999 Fisk won the Orwell Prize for journalism.[33] He received the British Press Awards' International Journalist of the Year seven times, and twice won its "Reporter of the Year" award.[34] In 2001, he was awarded the David Watt Prize for "outstanding contributions towards the clarification of political issues and the promotion of their greater understanding" for his investigation into the Armenian Genocide by the Turks in 1915.[35] In 2002 he was the fourth recipient of the Martha Gellhorn Prize for Journalism. More recently, Fisk was awarded the 2006 Lannan Cultural Freedom Prize along with $350,000.[36]
He was made an honorary Doctor of Laws by the University of St Andrews on June 24, 2004. The Political and Social Sciences department of Ghent University (Belgium) awarded Fisk an honorary doctorate on March 24, 2006. He was awarded an honorary doctorate by the American University of Beirut in June 2006. Trinity College Dublin awarded him a second, honorary, Doctorate in July 2008.[37]
Fisk gave the 2005 Edward Said Memorial lecture at Adelaide University.[38]

Yes - its easy to see why you would stop reading Fisk at his name - because he doesn't tell you what you want to hear.
Post by: Tyrones own on November 20, 2010, 05:25:49 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on November 20, 2010, 10:47:44 AM

I know, why would you listen to anyone that is actually freelance and lives in the middle east and has done for 30 years. Someone who was 1st on the scene of many a massacre whether it be committed by Iran, Iraq, the US or even Israel. You'd be much better listen to reports from CNN and Fox from journalists who never leave their hotel room and just regurgitate whatever they are told by the military that protects them. The Pro Israeli demonisation of Fisk who dares to speak the truth is quite appalling. Anyone who reads what he writes would know he is equally scathing of Israel and of Hamas atrocities. I've read all his books so I know that. Here is a list of his awards as a journalist (from wikipedia)...

In 1991, Fisk won a Jacob's Award for his RTÉ Radio coverage of the first Gulf War.[32] He received Amnesty International UK Press Awards in 1998 for his reports from Algeria and again in 2000 for his articles on the NATO air campaign against Yugoslavia in 1999. In 1999 Fisk won the Orwell Prize for journalism.[33] He received the British Press Awards' International Journalist of the Year seven times, and twice won its "Reporter of the Year" award.[34] In 2001, he was awarded the David Watt Prize for "outstanding contributions towards the clarification of political issues and the promotion of their greater understanding" for his investigation into the Armenian Genocide by the Turks in 1915.[35] In 2002 he was the fourth recipient of the Martha Gellhorn Prize for Journalism. More recently, Fisk was awarded the 2006 Lannan Cultural Freedom Prize along with $350,000.[36]
He was made an honorary Doctor of Laws by the University of St Andrews on June 24, 2004. The Political and Social Sciences department of Ghent University (Belgium) awarded Fisk an honorary doctorate on March 24, 2006. He was awarded an honorary doctorate by the American University of Beirut in June 2006. Trinity College Dublin awarded him a second, honorary, Doctorate in July 2008.[37]

Yes - its easy to see why you would stop reading Fisk at his name - because he doesn't tell you what you want to hear.
Really Myles...I've read a fair bit of his stuff and can't say I share in your stated view here, sure he is roundly criticized for his
bias for all things anti Israel/US but sure whatever ye have to tell yourself  ::)
And give me a break on the awards, sure didn't Arrafat and Obama win nobels FFS  :-[
In fairness to ye back there though... he is front and centre of what's piped into ye most evenings on T.V
from the Middle East and just because a drum is beaten often enough doesn't make it any less blinkered!
Post by: mylestheslasher on November 20, 2010, 06:26:12 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on November 20, 2010, 05:25:49 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on November 20, 2010, 10:47:44 AM

Really Myles...I've read a fair bit of his stuff and can't say I share in your stated view here, sure he is roundly criticized for his
bias for all things anti Israel/US but sure whatever ye have to tell yourself  ::)
And give me a break on the awards, sure didn't Arrafat and Obama win nobels FFS  :-[
In fairness to ye back there though... he is front and centre of what's piped into ye most evenings on T.V
from the Middle East and just because a drum is beaten often enough doesn't make it any less blinkered!

Have you read his "war for civilisation" book? If you have you would never say he was more critical of Israel/US than countries in the arab world. Some of the stories he tells of Sadams henchmen and the Slaughter in the aftermath of the Islamic revolution in Iran is shocking. I put it to you that your israel led media had set out to blacken Fisks name as a biased journalist because he dared to questions their acts (such as allowing their christian militia allies slaughter women and children in refugee camps in Lebanon - or is that just lies and propaganda too?)