GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: robertemmet on February 07, 2007, 11:39:32 PM

Title: Sigerson 2007
Post by: robertemmet on February 07, 2007, 11:39:32 PM
Who are the favourites in the sigerson?

When do Queens and UUJ play
Title: Re: Sigerson 2007
Post by: Homer on February 07, 2007, 11:57:11 PM
DCU are everyones favorites to win back to back titles.
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on February 08, 2007, 09:47:38 AM
any results on the games, saw in another thread DCU beat UL.
Post by: Hound on February 08, 2007, 09:51:02 AM
DCU 2-13 UL 0-4

Maynooth 2-14 Tallaght 0-3

Sligo 1-12 Tralee 0-11

Dundalk play GMIT today in the final first round match.

Seven 2nd round matches scheduled for next week, with Queens getting a bye to the quarters.
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on February 08, 2007, 09:53:16 AM
thanks hound
Post by: oakleafgael on February 08, 2007, 10:06:32 AM
DCU have to play the Polytechnic and then the winners of that play Queens. Its a very hard draw as both the Poly and Queens would fancy there chances of winning. Do DCU still have the same amount of "payed stars" this year?
Post by: Hound on February 08, 2007, 10:21:06 AM
Quote from: oakleafgael on February 08, 2007, 10:06:32 AM
DCU have to play the Polytechnic and then the winners of that play Queens. Its a very hard draw as both the Poly and Queens would fancy there chances of winning. Do DCU still have the same amount of "payed stars" this year?
Who were their "payed stars" last year?

I remember some controversy about them trying to play lads doing post grads (including Paddy Christie and Shane Ryan) but in the end they werent allowed.

The full foward line of Brogan, Mortimor and Johnson (Cavan) looks strong, and they scored 1-10 of the 2-13 between them.  Don't know anything about the half forward line of S. Smyth, Kealon and Cullivan.

Last year's midfield of Owen Lennon and Brendan Egan was very strong. Yesterday Egan was moved to centre back and Dublin panelist Ross McConnell came into midfield. Casey and Diamond the other half backs. Not sure if Bryan Cullen is available this year - I thought he was, but he didnt feature yesterday so now not sure.
Post by: Homer on February 08, 2007, 11:04:49 AM
Quote from: Hound on February 08, 2007, 10:21:06 AM
The full foward line of Brogan, Mortimor and Johnson (Cavan) looks strong, and they scored 1-10 of the 2-13 between them.  Don't know anything about the half forward line of S. Smyth, Kealon and Cullivan.

Cullivan is another Cavan man he is only just out of minor but is strong as a horse and a great fielder of a ball. Don't think there is a full-back line in the country that could handle that full-forward line.
Post by: Homer on February 08, 2007, 11:26:57 AM
Next Round is with Dundalk/GMIT to be decided today.

H UCD v St Mary's
I DCU v UUJ
J IT SLIGO v DIT
K Dundalk IT/GMIT v NUI Maynooth
L Cork IT v Waterford IT
M Athlone IT v NUI Galway
N Garda College v UCC
Post by: behind the wire on February 08, 2007, 02:30:39 PM
anyone know what price the guards are for the sigerson? i think they might be a good outside bet.
Post by: laughinpaddy on February 08, 2007, 03:30:32 PM
Any body no the fixtures/results of the trench cup?
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on February 08, 2007, 03:47:55 PM
Bryan Cullen is gone from DCU...
Is Cluxton gone aswell?
dont think its as strong as team as last year.... but still alot of talent there.
aswell as the afore mentioned

on the DCU site... its says Paddy Keenan the very good Louth Midfielder is on scholarship there as well

http://www.dcu.ie/news/2006/nov/s1106k.shtml

scroll down and you will get a list of names which would make up a good part of the team.
Post by: tayto on February 08, 2007, 06:45:37 PM
Bernard Brogan, not Alan.
Post by: robertemmet on February 12, 2007, 11:58:36 AM
Are all the games in the Sigerson being held at the Dub?  i.e. finals & s/finals

Post by: Homer on February 12, 2007, 12:44:41 PM
Quote from: robertemmet on February 12, 2007, 11:58:36 AM
Are all the games in the Sigerson being held at the Dub?  i.e. finals & s/finals

No, Universities take turns each year in hosting the 'Sigerson weekend' (i.e. semi-finals and finals of both the sigerson and trench cup).

This year Queens University Belfast have the honour.

http://www.sigerson2007.com/ (http://www.sigerson2007.com/)
Post by: behind the wire on February 12, 2007, 02:30:57 PM
anyone see brolly's article about sigerson on the back page of the gaelic life?
Post by: tayto on February 12, 2007, 03:12:26 PM
What was the gist of it?
Post by: Six Inch Nail on February 14, 2007, 03:02:24 PM
Any word on todays matches? St Marys v UCD & UUJ v DCU!
Post by: never kickt a ball on February 14, 2007, 03:20:16 PM
Quote from: Six Inch Nail on February 14, 2007, 03:02:24 PM
Any word on todays matches? St Marys v UCD & UUJ v DCU!

All started at 2pm so would still be playing. Anyone know anyone at these matches?
Post by: Norf Tyrone on February 14, 2007, 03:39:19 PM
I think UUJ won 13-11 according to their site.
Post by: robertemmet on February 14, 2007, 03:45:46 PM
I got a text to say UUJ won by 2pts

Post by: Owenmoresider on February 14, 2007, 03:50:38 PM
Sligo IT beat DIT by about 7 points.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on February 14, 2007, 03:51:45 PM
I don't know much about Sigerson football but that would be a wee bit of a surprise would it?
Post by: Owenmoresider on February 14, 2007, 04:06:25 PM
What Sligo IT beating DIT Norf Tyrone? Don't think it's a surprise, given that said college won the thing in 2002, 04 and 05. Only went out last year in the QF to Jordanstown on penalties! One of the leading contenders still.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on February 14, 2007, 04:17:42 PM
Sorry I meant the UUJ score.
Post by: aontroim abu on February 14, 2007, 04:26:59 PM
Ranch beaten 0-9 to 0-8
Post by: Homer on February 14, 2007, 04:27:48 PM
UCD won by a point 0-8 0-7 AET
Post by: Norf Tyrone on February 14, 2007, 05:21:48 PM
Quotehttp://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/6362295.stm
Post by: tayto on February 14, 2007, 05:48:12 PM
Bit of a surprise but DCU arent as strong as last year.
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on February 14, 2007, 06:06:40 PM
heard on the radio winners in this round were

UUJ, NUI Maynooth, UCD, NUI Galway, Cork IT, Sligo IT.... thats all i heard
Post by: bailestil on February 14, 2007, 06:23:36 PM
UCD v QUB in the Q/Final

That'll be a big tie. Queen's won't want to be missing an invitation to their own party!

What are UCD Like this year? they seem to have been overshadowed by DCU so far
Post by: INDIANA on February 14, 2007, 07:57:05 PM
if queens can't beat them they have no business being in the sigerson weekend. UCD would be fairly average this year.
Post by: harlechman on February 15, 2007, 11:20:22 AM
Queens shouldn't have much bother against UCD. St Mary's were by far the better team but kicked themselves out of it with some poor shooting and also getting involved in a few hangbag incidents, disrupting their game. Apart from Lennon, UCD haven't much in attack.
Post by: Homer on February 15, 2007, 11:50:32 AM
Quater-final pairings

W  UCD v QUB
X   NUI Maynooth v Cork IT
Y   UCC v Sligo IT
Z   NUIG v UUJ

Semis

W v X
Y v Z

Looks like a UUJ v QUB final could be on the cards.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on February 15, 2007, 12:39:09 PM
was Podge playing for NUI Galway Homer?
Post by: Spiritof98 on February 15, 2007, 12:42:26 PM
Quote from: Homer on February 15, 2007, 11:50:32 AM
Quater-final pairings

W  UCD v QUB
X   NUI Maynooth v Cork IT
Y   UCC v Sligo IT
Z   NUIG v UUJ

Semis

W v X
Y v Z

Looks like a UUJ v QUB final could be on the cards.

Looks that way, but the 2 teams were on UTV last week saying they were gonna meet in the semi's, must've been some sorth of mix up! ::)
Post by: Homer on February 15, 2007, 12:50:38 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on February 15, 2007, 12:39:09 PM
was Podge playing for NUI Galway Homer?

Think so BallyhaiseMan well he was playing for them at Centre Half Back in FBD League anyway.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on February 15, 2007, 12:59:20 PM
Not many Cavan Players left in the competition with DCU now out, shame.
Podge with NUI Galway
Sean Brady with UCD?
dont know if Paddy Brady is still in Sligo IT.
Stephen Govern of K'garry also plays with them i think.
Post by: Homer on February 15, 2007, 01:03:25 PM
Sean Brady finished with UCD last year he was only eligible for UCD in Dublin Championship because the competition started before he finished. Paddy Brady finished too.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on February 15, 2007, 01:07:41 PM
ah i see,thanks for the info mate.  :)
Post by: Goats Do Shave on February 15, 2007, 01:13:39 PM
Can anyone post the UUJ Team??

Also the St Mary's team if they could please!  ;)
Post by: Homer on February 15, 2007, 01:15:51 PM
JORDANSTOWN - M McAlister; P Mooney, J Conlan, F Moriarty, R Murray, P Donnelly, D Hughes, James Colgan, J Bradley, M Herron, J Boyle, R Mulgrew, M Lynch, P Downey, P Cunningham.  Subs: M McCann for F Moriarty, D McCall for D Hughes, B Boggs for P Cunningham.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on February 15, 2007, 01:18:00 PM
No Cavanagh?

&* Boggs never started either?  :o
Post by: Homer on February 15, 2007, 01:19:39 PM
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on February 15, 2007, 01:18:00 PM
No Cavanagh?

&* Boggs never started either?  :o

They also seem to have been missing Bernard O'Brien of Monaghan another serious talent. Don't know wy these were all missing
Post by: Goats Do Shave on February 15, 2007, 01:20:48 PM
County 'choices'?  ::)
Post by: Homer on February 15, 2007, 01:21:05 PM
ST MARY'S COL - M O'Kane; G Smith, M Digney, S O'Neill; M McIvor, J McMahon, M Murray; J Kelly, J Lavery; R Hamill, C McGourty, G O'Neill; J Brown, P Keenan, R Keenan.  Subs: N McSharry for O'Neill, T Hackett for McIvor, R Dolan for Digney, J McCormack for Brown.
Post by: Homer on February 15, 2007, 01:25:04 PM
NUIG -  R O'Reilly; P Reilly, F Hanley, G Cafferkey; S Drake, Clive Monahan, G Bradshaw; D Duffy, R McCann; S Stenson, M Gottsche, F Breathnach; M Ronaldson, J Farrell, D Conway.  Subs:  D O'Gara for Stenson; F Boyle for Hanley (inj.); C Kenny for McCann; B Kelly for Duffy.

ATHLONE IT - D Bryan; T Bannon, F O'Reilly, A Murtagh; D Flynn, D McInerney, J Boyle; A Arjonovic, J Kavanagh; S Higgins, D Blake, R Galligan; J Coughlan, A Kelly, K Flannery. Subs: L Carr for Boyle; P Duffy for O'Reilly; P Donoghue for Bannon.

So Podge was corner back BallyhaiseMan, and that was Lackens Raymond Galligan at half forward as far as I know.
Post by: tyroneman on February 15, 2007, 01:33:44 PM
No Cavanagh and Boggs on bench

Is this McKenna payback?
Post by: Norf Tyrone on February 15, 2007, 03:12:06 PM
QuoteNo.

Any further comments on this MacEogahin?
Not good enough, not rated, tactical, ethical, philosophical?
Post by: full back on February 15, 2007, 03:20:07 PM
Mr M Harte perhaps?
Post by: imtommygunn on February 15, 2007, 03:28:47 PM
Colm Kavanagh looks an excellent prospect - I'd have thought he'd have made that team. He'd , unfortunately, be better than a fellow antrim man Micko Herron anyway.

If Dooher gets back to full swing then the battle between him and Mulgrew for the other wing half forward spot in the tyrone team should be interesting.(Though I'm sure more will be battling for it though my money would be between them two)

Is M McCann Mick McCann of Antrim and Cargin fame? Also thought he'd have been good enough to make that team.
Post by: realredhandfan on February 15, 2007, 03:37:25 PM
I see DAmian Mc caul actually came on.  Anyone know how he and the other county men fared. 
Post by: chuck hughes on February 15, 2007, 03:44:15 PM
I heard Colm Cavanagh never turned up for UUJ yesterday. And that Mick Mc Cann has only joined the panal in the last 2 weeks so he didn't get the start. Heard Mulgrew roasted casey while Mc Caul was exellent at wing back and also contained Mortimor when he moved to full back when UUJ when down to 14 men. Apparently Donnelly was man of the match from centre half back and roasted Paddy Keenan of Louth fame. I aslo see that Boggs came on near the end.
Good result for the Poly.
I think the media have totally blew up this university and county debate. Mc Caul and Boggs trained the whole way through the mc kenna cup with UUJ as well in bid for sigerson. It wasn't a problem with the UUJ managemet when they decided to play for Tyrone.
Post by: realredhandfan on February 15, 2007, 03:49:18 PM
Would UUJ and Queens now have the mantles of favourites for the tournament? this could be worth going to Belfast for the weekend for.. What exact weekend is it on at.
Post by: realredhandfan on February 15, 2007, 03:50:30 PM
Mc caul marked Conor mortimer out of it at full back.. Another impressive nick on the tree.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on February 15, 2007, 04:10:35 PM
So none of the 4 Tyrone players that 'chose' their counties, started for their universities yesterday?
Post by: never kickt a ball on February 15, 2007, 04:40:29 PM
Quote from: GreenDay on February 15, 2007, 04:37:02 PM
No they never, and why would they? the team done very well. they will hardly start the next day either! Its looking good for jordanstown!!
Some of them were brought on though Greenday. That is those that turned up. I see an article in the Irish news today where Tyrone criticise the stance taken by the Colleges and the Ulster Council in relation to these players.
Post by: GreenDay on February 15, 2007, 04:41:01 PM
McCaul done very well. Good solid team performance, but there are few boys that may start next day. Its looking good for Jordanstown! UP THE POLY!!
Post by: full back on February 15, 2007, 04:46:52 PM
Quote from: never kickt a ball on February 15, 2007, 04:40:29 PM
[ I see an article in the Irish news today where Tyrone criticise the stance taken by the Colleges and the Ulster Council in relation to these players.

Havent seen this yet, but this is quite ironic considering its coming from Tyrone.
Post by: nrico2006 on February 15, 2007, 04:55:09 PM
QuoteIf Dooher gets back to full swing then the battle between him and Mulgrew for the other wing half forward spot in the tyrone team should be interesting.(Though I'm sure more will be battling for it though my money would be between them two)

If dooher gets back into full swing, there will be no battle with anyone.  The man is guranteed his place through what he has offered, still offers and will continue to offer!
Post by: Goats Do Shave on February 15, 2007, 05:13:29 PM
It was confidently argued on this board a few weeks back by some of our fine Tyrone contributers, that these guys Sigerson places would not be in jeopardy.  ::)

Was there any scholarships handed out to these fellas? Are there no conditions to the scholarships? Maybe there will be in the future?
Post by: never kickt a ball on February 15, 2007, 05:21:34 PM
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on February 15, 2007, 05:13:29 PM
It was confidently argued on this board a few weeks back by some of our fine Tyrone contributers, that these guys Sigerson places would not be in jeopardy.  ::)
Was there any scholarships handed out to these fellas? Are there no conditions to the scholarships? Maybe there will be in the future?

I know what you are saying Goats but some of these players may have gone to university and not joined the gaelic team nor have any intention of playing for them. Say for example they want to avoid burnout. Then they get a call up from their county and in addition to that appear on the College team sheet (a team they have never played for nor have any intention of playing for). Then the fun begins. I'm sure it was not unheard of before the Colleges entered the MCK Cup that some players went to College and never played for their College team.     
Post by: realredhandfan on February 15, 2007, 05:33:43 PM
if the answer to the first question is no do we still have to answer the other 2 questions?  and is the third question really a question?  If you are a student that level of grammatical error is shocking.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on February 15, 2007, 05:51:42 PM
I see where you are coming from NKAB, but I'm just retaliating to a few posts that were made a few weeks back. I thought they were wrong at the time, but I bit my tongue!

'Real'redhandfan, I'm sure you got the point from my train of thought. I haven't been a student in 4 years or so, & even when I was; I wasn't an English student.

However, even with my apparent ignorance of the English language, the 'level of grammatical error' in my previous post is far from shocking. If I had put the questions in a different order I could understand your concerns.

The third question was rhetorical, open for discussion, but you are obviously not able to answer my first two queries, & so revert to doing what you do best criticise others who try to debate.

It is better to stay quiet & let us think you are a fool, rather than to post some nonsense & remove all doubt! (Excuse my adaptation of the famous quote!)

p.s Capital letters at the start of a new sentence!  ;)
Post by: corn02 on February 17, 2007, 12:49:38 AM
A UUJ v Queens final would be brilliant.

Hope it transpires.
Title: Worse than a tax tout
Post by: realredhandfan on February 17, 2007, 09:08:53 AM
Your post was total bullshit GDS, you are trying to attack lads financial status/awards yet youu have no connection with the universities, What business is it of yours may I ask if the lads have bursaries?  I quiote obviously tried to discredit your post so that it would not be taken seriously, without discrediting you too much, now you deserve it.... Why if you have no connection with the universities would you want to see Cavanagh, Boggs, Mc carron and Mc Caul down money by flagging this up.  You sound and act like a scorned woman sir.  Im defending the lads against malicious bullshitters like yourself - they dont need this scrutiny nor deserve it, only students ffs, good luck to them if they get anything which I doubt. Please excuse my adaption of a famous old saying "Its better to go away son, and count your own pennies rather than counting the pennies of others and making yourself miserable.   Tosser!
Post by: DJGaliv on February 17, 2007, 02:53:06 PM
Quote from: realredhandfan on February 15, 2007, 03:49:18 PM
Would UUJ and Queens now have the mantles of favourites for the tournament? this could be worth going to Belfast for the weekend for.. What exact weekend is it on at.

I hope they enjoyed having that mantle of favourites for all of a day. GMIT just knocked UUJ out.

QuoteGMIT dump out UUJ
17 February 2007

Eoin Concannon was the hero for Galway-Mayo IT as his side recorded a 3-12 to 2-13 Sigerson Cup win over UUJ at Garrison county Fermanagh.

Concannon scored a dramatic late goal to upset the vaunted visitors in a real thrilling encounter.

GMIT raced into an early lead with 1-2 from the boot of Donegal man Brendan McGuire but UUJ steadied themselves and eased their way back into the match thanks in the main to Tyrone youngster Colm Kavanagh.

GMIT enjoyed a 2-6 to 1-7 advantage with Mayo senior Aidan Campbell's goal setting them on the frontfoot.

UUJ Came out a revitalised outfit for the second half and held a one point lead with time almost up only for Concannon to spoil the party for the Ulstermen.

Post by: darbyo on February 17, 2007, 02:58:34 PM
Think that was in the freshers DJ.
Post by: DJGaliv on February 17, 2007, 03:23:08 PM
Although it does say Sigerson Cup, I did take it from hoganstand.com so I wouldn't be surprised. If so, I apologise.
Post by: INDIANA on February 17, 2007, 04:36:16 PM
that was the freshers -typical hoganstand
Post by: Goats Do Shave on February 17, 2007, 08:42:55 PM
RRHF I'm glad there are people like you on this board to explain to 'plebs' like myself what should & should not be discussed on this discussion board!!

I couldn't care less if the lads were paid a wage to go to their respective universities! - & I'm not sure how I READ like a scorned woman for opening a debate! The point was made a few weeks back that these lads would not be dropped from their universitites team sheet. It appears they have thus far anyways!

Obviously I'd like to see the northern Universities do well in the Sigerson, they are going to do better if they have these lads to chose from!

Nice way to finish you argument by the way!
Post by: Lone Shark on February 19, 2007, 02:47:55 PM
Back to the subject at hand ....

2007-02-21   14:00:00   UCD   Queen's University    7/4     7/1     4/7
2007-02-21   14:00:00   NUI Maynooth   Cork IT    6/5     7/1     5/6
2007-02-21   14:00:00   Garda College   IT Sligo   11/4     9/1     1/3
2007-02-21   14:00:00   NUI Galway   UUJ    2/1     7/1     1/2

Just going up now on Ladbrokes - if anyone wants to have a few bob on for themselves and then point out where I'm going so badly wrong, feel free....  :)
Post by: full back on February 19, 2007, 02:57:45 PM
What date is the Sigerson weekend?
Is the semi-finals set for the Friday & the final for Saturday?
Post by: realredhandfan on February 19, 2007, 04:06:31 PM
GDS - took you up a little hot and heavy there.  Apols for the Tosser comment.
Post by: Homer on February 19, 2007, 08:31:17 PM
Quote from: full back on February 19, 2007, 02:57:45 PM
What date is the Sigerson weekend?
Is the semi-finals set for the Friday & the final for Saturday?

Its Friday 2nd (semis) & Saturday 3rd March (final).

http://www.sigerson2007.com/fixtures.htm (http://www.sigerson2007.com/fixtures.htm)
Post by: Goats Do Shave on February 19, 2007, 10:07:17 PM
Quote from: realredhandfan on February 19, 2007, 04:06:31 PM
GDS - took you up a little hot and heavy there.  Apols for the Tosser comment.

No worries mate, been called worse!  ;D
Post by: Armagh Cúchulainns on February 20, 2007, 10:56:21 AM
QUB V UCD wednesday,

throw-in time, referee and also i presume its in the dub? anyone clarify

cheers
Post by: Homer on February 20, 2007, 11:05:17 AM
Quote from: Armagh Cúchulainns on February 20, 2007, 10:56:21 AM
QUB V UCD wednesday,

throw-in time, referee and also i presume its in the dub? anyone clarify

cheers

Actually I think it's all neutral venues, well the UUJ and NUIG, QF is being played in Mullahoran in Cavan on Wednesday. Think throw-in time for all games is 2.
Post by: Malone Aristocrat on February 20, 2007, 11:53:21 AM

UCD Vs Queens is in Belfield at 2pm on wednesday.

It's first team out of the hat gets home advantage at the quarter final stage. i assume the neutral venue for poly / nuig would be down to Tommy Joe.
Post by: Lone Shark on February 20, 2007, 12:36:28 PM
Fricking typical. Based in Galway, working every weekend due to stupid in running betting, and finally I see NUI Galway drawn with home advantage and I think I'm going to get to go to a live game for the first time this year.

And where is home for Galway - MULLAHORAN???????

Bastards. Every other game is in a home venue, except this. Bastards.
Post by: Malone Aristocrat on February 20, 2007, 12:43:10 PM

LS - You're the latest member of the "tommy joe farrel pulled a stroke on me" club...

by the way, you are being very generous to UCD, NUIG & particularly the guards there with your odds
Post by: chuck hughes on February 20, 2007, 12:46:39 PM
There is a rule that if the 2 colleges are over 300k apart that the venue is then neutral. I think that this must be the case in the NUIG and UUJ game. Sligo IT must be fav now for the cup as of their FBD final win the other night.
Post by: Malone Aristocrat on February 20, 2007, 12:49:28 PM
Quote from: chuck hughes on February 20, 2007, 12:46:39 PM
There is a rule that if the 2 colleges are over 300k apart that the venue is then neutral.

Why then did the poly go to galway for the fresher semi last week?
Post by: Lone Shark on February 20, 2007, 12:50:33 PM
Couldn't have UCD or NUIG. UCD are very average this year, while NUIG are downright poor.

I have a sneaking fancy for the guards myself, but everyone else I talk to seems to think this Sligo team is the bees knees, and after them beating Galway at the weekend, it's hard to knock them. Plus I'm not sure if the guards are capable of competing in a high scoring game.

Still, they'll be the first team I'll cut if I see money.

Post by: chuck hughes on February 20, 2007, 12:51:42 PM
Malone Aristocrat...the fresher semi final game was in Garrison Co Fermanagh.
Post by: Malone Aristocrat on February 20, 2007, 12:59:41 PM

humble apologies chuck
Post by: robertemmet on February 21, 2007, 02:33:58 PM
Any updates on the QUB or UUJ Sigerson games?
Post by: High Catch on February 21, 2007, 03:18:55 PM
Any word on any results?
Post by: robertemmet on February 21, 2007, 03:30:30 PM
UUJ 2-11     NUI Galway 0-9
Post by: socs on February 21, 2007, 03:36:44 PM
wat bout qub????  
Post by: Homer on February 21, 2007, 03:37:31 PM
QUB won, By 4 points or so.
Post by: socs on February 21, 2007, 03:42:58 PM
So the all ulster showdown still on the cards!  ;)
Post by: Skehana on February 21, 2007, 03:46:55 PM
Any word on other two Q-Finals?
Post by: Teeling Gael on February 21, 2007, 04:24:23 PM

Courtesy of oceanfm

Sligo IT 1-10 Garda College 0-09

Yet again this afternoon, Sligo IT proved themselves to be the comeback kings of 3rd level Colleges football when they turned a 5 points to 3 half time deficit into a 1-10 to 9 points victory against the Garda College at the Templemore venue.
First half points from Michael Doherty, Barry Regan and Andy Moran kept Sligo in the hunt during the first period and further scores from Doherty and Moran had them level at 6 points apiece early in the second half. When Colm Boyle struck for the games only goal midway through the second period, Doherty and Moran tagged on a further couple of points and Sligo never looked back and now go through to the Sigerson Cup weekend which this year takes place at the Queens University campus on the weekend of the 2nd and 3rd of March.

Post by: imtommygunn on February 21, 2007, 05:37:23 PM

QUB and UUJ win in Sigerson Cup

Queen's and UUJ both claimed quarter-final victories in the Ulster Bank Sigerson Cup on Wednesday.

Hosts Queen's claimed a 1-12 to 2-5 win over UCD at Belfield while UUJ defeated NUI Galway 2-11 to 0-9 at Mullahoran.

Queen's led 0-5 to 0-3 at half-time and while Shane Lennon struck a 41st-minute goal for UCD, Ciaran O'Reilly's goal effectively ended the contest.

Patrick Cunningham and Raymond Mulgrew hit goals as UUJ led 2-4 to 0-6 at the break and they held on to win easily.

Ciaran O'Reilly (two), Paul Courtney, Gavin Donaghy and man-of-the-match Charlie Vernon hit Queen's first-half points at UCD's home venue.

Queen's extended their lead to 0-8 to 0-3 but Lennon's goal cut the northerners' lead to two points.

However, Fermanagh star O'Reilly hit the net without four minutes after great work by Vernon to put Queen's back in firm control.

Brian Mullin scored a 57th-minute goal for the home side but Queen's had already done enough.

At Mullahoran, UUJ did the hard work in the first half by forging a 2-4 to 0-6 lead despite playing against the wind.

Cunningham hit his goal after a flick-on by John Boyle while Mulgrew struck a superb second three-pointer after waltzing through the Galway defence.

Johnny Bradley, Ruairi Murray and Michael Herron were also on target in the first half while the second-half scorers included Murray and Cunningham.

Post by: Skehana on February 21, 2007, 06:04:35 PM
Anyone got the result from the Maynooth V UCC game? What are the Semi-Final pairings now? Queens V Sligo IT,Jordanstown V NUIM/UCC??
Post by: Bensars on February 21, 2007, 06:56:45 PM
ucc must have won .

uuj v ucc semi
Post by: chuck hughes on February 21, 2007, 07:56:25 PM
NUI Maynooth 0-10 2-15 Cork IT
Semi final fixtures are. QUB V CIT and Sligo IT V UUJ
Post by: johnjoe on February 22, 2007, 11:30:18 AM
Whats the semi-final and outright betting now?

Makes for a class weekend, with the possibility of a two Belfast teams in the final.

Looks wide open though, and to me any one of the four could win it. Most open final weekend in years.

What are the venues and times for the semi`s. Are they fixed yet?
Post by: Malone Aristocrat on February 22, 2007, 11:38:40 AM

Its poly Vs Sligo in one semi and QUB Vs Cork in the other.

A nervy enough win for the queens men yesterday after being 8 points up with only ten minutes left. superb games from Gerard O'Kane, Hugh Gallagher and Gavin Donaghy with good contributions from miceal o'rourke, paul courtney, charlie vernon and ciaran o'reilly.

Queens played some super stuff at times but their defence looked vulnerable at times and ucd almost caught them out near the end thanks in the main to some grobellaar moments.
Post by: Craigyhill Terror on February 22, 2007, 11:40:12 AM
Both semis are at the Dub. The first one is at 1.30pm on the main football pitch, the second one is at 3pm on the hurling pitch. Not sure which match is first.
Post by: David McKeown on February 22, 2007, 12:26:55 PM
The queens match is on first I have been told
Post by: Tony Fearon on February 22, 2007, 03:10:36 PM
Is the Sigerson Final at the Dub?

I would have though Casement would have been a better option?
Post by: Spiritof98 on February 22, 2007, 03:13:21 PM
Not sure, I mind it at Corrigan Park the last time it was in Belfast! The Macrory semi is before it so I'd say it would be Casement
Post by: nrico2006 on February 22, 2007, 03:15:16 PM
Can anyone name the queens team and scorers?
Post by: giveherlong on February 22, 2007, 03:17:25 PM
Looking at the lineout in todays IN, ther was no sign of Kevin McGourty. Didn't feature from the bench either. Injured??
Post by: Craigyhill Terror on February 22, 2007, 03:20:51 PM
The final is definitely at the Dub, like it was in 99 the last time Queen's hosted it. This time it will be on the football pitch, last time it was up on the hurling pitch.
The reason the final was at Corrigan three years ago is that St Mary's were hosting the weekend but have no pitch of their own to host it on.
Post by: Tony Fearon on February 22, 2007, 03:50:16 PM
Assuming a Queens V UUJ Final and the massive crowd that will attract would it not be more sensible to stage it at Casement?
Post by: shaws road on February 22, 2007, 04:07:04 PM
Good win for Queens in Belfield never easy to win at I cant remember last time they won there any ideas?  Word on the street is  Mc Gourty is very unwell at the present time and has gone for some tests but also heard he came on for second half but paper did not suggest this any inside information? on this also as an antrim man no sign of James Loughry was he on the squad or injured??????
Post by: nrico2006 on February 22, 2007, 04:07:49 PM
Thats why I wanted to see the queens side.  To see if mcgourty was playing.  Just curious as towhether he would have eventually put in a performance worthy of his excuse that he was focusing on sigerson, hence his non-inclusion in the antrim panel the year
Post by: shaws road on February 22, 2007, 05:02:41 PM
nico have been watching your post on some other blogs on this site you are very critical of him lol he has actually never played well for antrim your right and does go on abit but he was unreal for Queens and st galls last year as has Sean Kelly been, whom i think is also overrated as has never done it for Antrim anyway thats what i heard bout yesterday and why his no inclusion
Post by: magpie seanie on February 22, 2007, 05:22:35 PM
QuoteAssuming a Queens V UUJ Final and the massive crowd that will attract would it not be more sensible to stage it at Casement?

You should write a letter to the organisers.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 25, 2007, 12:13:13 PM
Lads its QUB hosting the tournament. Its hardly unreasonable that they wish to host the entire thing at their grounds (which I've no doubt will be perfectly capable with a 1000 seater stand) rather than at another stadium the other side of the city. Should be a great weekend!
Post by: Uladh on February 25, 2007, 12:26:51 PM

Is there any reason to think that QUB can get over the line this year when they haven't been able to manage it in the previous 3? It's virtually the same players i see without brian mallon and eoin mccartan?
Post by: Cloc Mor on February 25, 2007, 12:42:56 PM
I read during the week that Dan Mc Cartan was unavailable for Down today because of work.  I didn't think students did the 'work' thing but I believe Mc Cartan is a dentist in Kilkeel (full time? not sure).  How then can he still play for Queens?
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 25, 2007, 12:59:57 PM
QuoteIs there any reason to think that QUB can get over the line this year when they haven't been able to manage it in the previous 3? It's virtually the same players i see without brian mallon and eoin mccartan?

An extra year bigger and stronger Uladh? Home advantage? Being spurred on by having lost 3 finals in a row? In fairness they got to the final last year without Brian Mallon though he was probably the added spark they missed last year. QUB have a decent chance, they have nothing to fear from anybody left but its a very open competition.

Cloc, Dan McCartan is a registered student at QUB.
Post by: Cloc Mor on February 25, 2007, 01:03:22 PM
QuoteCloc, Dan McCartan is a registered student at QUB.

Not disputing that at all but wondering how he can be a student and a dentist at the same time?  Were not QUB 'up in arms' over some of the DCU players last year and indeed some were unable to play in Sigerson at all.  Were they not 'registered students' also?
Post by: David McKeown on February 25, 2007, 03:45:56 PM
Kevin did miss the UCD game because of an injury.  No idea how serious it is.
Post by: The Truth on February 25, 2007, 04:40:29 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on February 25, 2007, 03:45:56 PM
Kevin did miss the UCD game because of an injury.  No idea how serious it is.

No doubt we will get a full page spread in the Irish News from Kevin to keep us up to date......
Post by: Uladh on February 25, 2007, 05:16:29 PM

According to the paper mcgourty came on at half time for queens on wednesday past
Post by: David McKeown on February 25, 2007, 05:52:23 PM
Wasnt at the game just going on what he told me after the game. 
Post by: Cloc Mor on February 25, 2007, 06:43:11 PM
James Mc Govern got a straight red for Down today - is that him ruled out of Sigerson?
Post by: corn02 on February 25, 2007, 07:29:23 PM
Not sure Cloc, would I hbe right in saying he did not start for Queens in the last match too.

Uladh, Queens are very good this year, they may be without Mallon but it is fair to say a few of their players have improved from last year.
Post by: Cloc Mor on February 25, 2007, 07:32:18 PM
Yeah, he only came on but would still be a major player for them. Quite a few University players were playing today for their counties and I suppose thats the chance they take.
Post by: Dubh driocht on February 25, 2007, 09:22:49 PM
I thought Mc Govern was very unlucky- the Westmeath man was up for the rumble and James beat him to it ( where have we heard that before).I think the crowd got him sent-off.He will not miss the Sigerson- different competitions- have that on good authority.See the final is live on TG4.
Post by: saffronman on February 27, 2007, 03:00:54 PM
Going to go down this weekend and watch the games, who are favourites and the players to look out for on each team??
Post by: corn02 on February 27, 2007, 04:12:01 PM
Hard to say Saffronman.

UCC have Sheehan who is apparntly dealy from frees which could be a vital asset especially if the weather is bad.

Queens are strong all round, there forwards are the best left in the competition.

Jordanstown have a good squad too, but hopefully Queens go all the way.
Post by: true ulster gael on February 27, 2007, 04:20:36 PM
sigerson cup has lost all real meaning
dr sigerson would turn in his grave at the stuff the likes of dcu and uuj play at
trench cup is where real university gaelic football still happens
Post by: full back on February 27, 2007, 04:24:31 PM
What "stuff" would that be Ulsterman?
Post by: Goats Do Shave on February 27, 2007, 04:34:25 PM
Because the English teams are involved!!!  ;D
Post by: true ulster gael on February 27, 2007, 04:42:28 PM
Quote from: full back on February 27, 2007, 04:24:31 PM
What "stuff" would that be Ulsterman?
paying big name players big money to join the university
getting players to play by getting them on to night courses they never go to
Post by: corn02 on February 27, 2007, 04:50:01 PM
Who cares? If there willing to pay for success let them. Most colleges do it so it evens out.
Post by: shark on February 27, 2007, 07:43:21 PM
Quote from: true ulster gael on February 27, 2007, 04:20:36 PM
sigerson cup has lost all real meaning
dr sigerson would turn in his grave at the stuff the likes of dcu and uuj play at
trench cup is where real university gaelic football still happens

Is that the same Trench Cup that Letterkenny IT won in 2005 when Kevin Cassidy, Colm McFadden and Damien Diver all appeared for one year? The previous year they had lost in the first round by about 15 points.
Post by: An Cloch Scoilte on February 28, 2007, 10:29:56 AM
Does anyone know what sort of team John Moore's Liverpool have this year? Any Ulster men lining out for them?
I know David Henry (Corner back for the Dubs) was St Pat's Drumcondra's main man last year, but is he still playing for them in the Trench this year?
Post by: realredhandfan on February 28, 2007, 01:44:35 PM
Kevin O Neill Donaghmore plays for them,  Thats all I know. 
Post by: Goats Do Shave on February 28, 2007, 01:48:11 PM
Eoin Reynolds, Ballyhegan...
Post by: realredhandfan on February 28, 2007, 01:50:59 PM
What times the final likely to be on at on Saturday and where.  The Bot will be flying.. Anybody going on the session?
Post by: Billys Boots on February 28, 2007, 04:07:12 PM
QuoteI know David Henry (Corner back for the Dubs) was St Pat's Drumcondra's main man last year

He was in his cheese - Brian Kavanagh got all the plaudits from any report I saw.
Title: Throw in for final
Post by: socs on March 01, 2007, 09:38:19 AM
Sat 14:30 think coverage starts 14:15 on TG4 - venue dub.  
Post by: An Cloch Scoilte on March 01, 2007, 02:15:35 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on February 28, 2007, 04:07:12 PM
QuoteI know David Henry (Corner back for the Dubs) was St Pat's Drumcondra's main man last year

He was in his cheese - Brian Kavanagh got all the plaudits from any report I saw.

I was at a few of the St Pats games last year and Henry was the main man without a doubt.
Fair enough Kavanagh scored 9 pts at one of the games I was at, but that was because the UUC defence gave him 7 or 8 handy 21 yrd frees to tap over.
Post by: Uladh on March 01, 2007, 02:51:17 PM

Any betting here lone shark?
Post by: High Catch on March 01, 2007, 04:11:13 PM
From Paddy Power:

To win the lot, no match betting on Paddy Power:

Queens  11 - 10   
UUJ  15 - 8   
Sligo IT  7 - 2   
Cork IT  11 - 2   
Post by: Goats Do Shave on March 01, 2007, 04:14:14 PM
Cork IT looks a decent bet!

:o
Post by: High Catch on March 01, 2007, 04:16:05 PM
 :o Sure do.
Post by: High Catch on March 01, 2007, 04:27:25 PM
Paddy Power:

13:30 Queens 3 - 10 v Cork IT 3 - 1    Draw    15 - 2   

15:00 UUJ 1- 2 v  Sligo IT 15 - 8   Draw    7 - 1   
Post by: Brick Tamlin on March 01, 2007, 04:45:41 PM
have a score on UUJ to win cup outright. Not a major Poly fan but think they could make Queens Record-breakers for all wrong reasons
Post by: realredhandfan on March 02, 2007, 08:50:02 AM
Nah the day they let Polytechniques into the Sigerson was the day they killed 'er.  feckin institutes of technology.  QUB all the way.   
Post by: full back on March 02, 2007, 09:10:19 AM
Cheeky b**tard :D
If they have killed the Sigerson, why enter it?
You could go and join True Ulster Gael in the Trench Cup (the real competition) ;)
Post by: realredhandfan on March 02, 2007, 09:21:09 AM
somebodys s gotta take er to the bot tomorrow night  :)
Post by: full back on March 02, 2007, 09:35:15 AM
Hope we meet Brick Tamlin, that bet he has will get us plenty of drink ;)
Post by: ExiledGael on March 02, 2007, 12:59:29 PM
John Moores Liverpool beat Coleraine in the Trench semi-final this morning. Best team won, Liam Hinphey strolled about for UUC like he was the best man on show and done fcuk all. Finnegan of Moores scored about 1-4, goal from a penalty. Other Monaghan man Mark Coonihan very good also, Carvill the half forward caused UUC all sorts of trouble also, he won the penalty, lightening quick
Post by: Spiritof98 on March 02, 2007, 01:59:45 PM
Bout half time in the Queens match any Up dates on the score, maybe a few laptops out there watching!!
Post by: High Catch on March 02, 2007, 02:04:43 PM
Text Message from the Dub:

Cork 0-6
Quenns 1-2
Post by: High Catch on March 02, 2007, 02:37:06 PM
Queen's leading 10-6
Sheehan off injured.
Post by: uselessfootballer on March 02, 2007, 03:07:45 PM
Any word on a F/T score
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on March 02, 2007, 03:09:58 PM
What about Poly game, take it it's on now?
Post by: full back on March 02, 2007, 03:20:29 PM
Started after Queens game
Post by: Will Hunting on March 02, 2007, 03:46:31 PM
Sligo IT leading by 3 points at half-time.
Post by: never kickt a ball on March 02, 2007, 03:50:44 PM
Did Queens win the first game?
Post by: High Catch on March 02, 2007, 03:51:25 PM
Queens won by about 8
Post by: magpie seanie on March 02, 2007, 04:04:30 PM
I assume IT Sligo won the second semi?
Post by: ExiledGael on March 02, 2007, 04:08:23 PM
Sligo IT one point up with 5/10 to go
Post by: Will Hunting on March 02, 2007, 04:21:12 PM
Match goes into extra time!

Sligo IT 1-9 - UUJ 0-12
Post by: High Catch on March 02, 2007, 04:23:13 PM
Queens will be loving this!
Post by: Cloc Mor on March 02, 2007, 04:52:08 PM
Poly won
Post by: ExiledGael on March 02, 2007, 04:54:54 PM
18 to 1-11, great character to come back. Think they'll have the momentum now to win it, but the ET will have taken a toll
Post by: bailestil on March 02, 2007, 05:01:57 PM
This won't be one to miss!

Just hope QUB can finally push it over the finishing line!
4 in a row will be too much to take!
Post by: Redgreenery on March 02, 2007, 05:03:07 PM
Hard luck to Sligo I.T! T'was a good run!
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on March 02, 2007, 05:05:00 PM
What's the fixture tomorrow, 2.30 at the Dub? Cheers.
Post by: ExiledGael on March 02, 2007, 05:06:59 PM
Think QUB have the better first XV, should be a real battle alright, put your life on a red card! UUJ have a real advantage on the bench however, and they have just as big an advantage on the line with Moran and McGuckin. No slight on McCartan, but think they will be better equipped to turn a game their way if need be.
Yea 2.30pm
Post by: Spiritof98 on March 02, 2007, 05:09:31 PM
Any word on the top performers today.

TG4 (or someone) showed the final last year when DCU won it. Is this final going to be shown.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on March 02, 2007, 05:12:20 PM
Yes Spirit, TGCeathar have it live.
Post by: Will Hunting on March 02, 2007, 05:12:37 PM
From what I hear, Mark Lynch was brilliant for J'town. Roving between midfield and the forward line.
Post by: bailestil on March 02, 2007, 05:13:18 PM
Its not gonna be one for the faint hearted.

Heard P Cunningham hit some fine free's today. and in a match like tomorrow, if it descendes into sloggin match on the tight Dub pitch, free's could be crucial.

Who's ref'ing it? hopefully it McAnneney for some comman sense.
Don't want some bollix of a ref ruining it!

Will it not be a bit of a squeeze to fit everyone into the dub?
Post by: Spiritof98 on March 02, 2007, 05:16:26 PM
Just when you mentioned the Ref, it will be interesting, imind Queens got Fcuk all off the ref last year, and a dodgy sending off if i recall correctly. Hope Queens do it, Good luck to Clubmate Charlie Vernon.
Post by: ExiledGael on March 02, 2007, 05:20:25 PM
Brian Crowe from Cavan the ref, he was the All-Ireland final ref so should be well fit for it, not that Moran will have good memories of that. Mark Lynch man of the match, ran the show
Post by: bailestil on March 02, 2007, 05:25:09 PM
Fair enough ref then.

Where was lynch playing? Withdrawn cornerforward or what?

I Assume QUB Had McGourty sauntering around the middle too?
2 players who on their day could turn the game for their side!

Anyone have todays teamsheets and scorers?
Post by: ONeill on March 02, 2007, 05:53:00 PM
Surely GSTQ will get a run-out tomorrow too.
Post by: never kickt a ball on March 02, 2007, 06:02:49 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 02, 2007, 05:53:00 PM
Surely GSTQ will get a run-out tomorrow too.

God Save the Queen's and Poly's Call.
Post by: David McKeown on March 02, 2007, 06:45:03 PM
Spirit Are you sure hes a club mate?  The programme for the sigerson has him listed as a Ballyhegan man.  Is everyone leaving the Harps these days?

On a serious note I though himself, Kevin McGourty and Gerard O'Kane had very good games.  Queens should have been even more comfortable though.

Also glad to see the ref send off the Cork Number 5, too many refs only book for striking
Post by: charlie stubbs on March 02, 2007, 07:06:32 PM
jtown teawm was mcalliste,moriarty,conlon,murray,mooney,donnelly,hughes,bradley,colgan,herron,boyle,mulgrew,cunningham,downey and lynch.lynch was top drawer,thot murray was good along with mooney and herron.tink jtown better team but extra time would take it out them.there wil;l be just a kick of ball init
Post by: heganboy on March 02, 2007, 08:16:28 PM
David,
Vernon is an Armagh man, Paul Courtney, the other midfielder is from Ballyhegan
Post by: David McKeown on March 02, 2007, 09:23:15 PM
Yes I know i was just pointing out that the programme had them the wrong way round ???
Post by: heganboy on March 03, 2007, 02:43:55 AM
Sorry, just trying to clarify. Hopefully paul will be able to do what his brother didn't and end up winning a sigerson final
Post by: An Cloch Scoilte on March 03, 2007, 12:00:51 PM
I think Jordanstown will have too much for Queens today. It will be tight of course, but the quality that jordanstown sprung from the bench yesterday was impressive, and the defence looks like a tight unit (Mooney was very good-How is he not near the Derry squad?). Colgan and Bradley were very solid and the match up against Vernon and courtney will be the winning of the game for them. Lynch and Mulgrew and possibly Boyle, who had an out of sorts game yesterday, can get the scores for UUJ to make it a cracker.
Post by: Fionntamhnach on March 03, 2007, 12:05:07 PM
Just as a thought, the fear of losing must be striking Queens more than it will Jordanstown - the latter have got through now and haven't got a while pile to lose other than Belfast bragging rights. Queens however will have an absolute nightmare if they end up losing their fourth Sigerson final in a row to their main rivals while they're hosting it!
Post by: An Laoch on March 03, 2007, 03:30:46 PM
UUJ lead 0-8 to 0-5 at HT. Excellent match, 7 UUJ scores from play.
Post by: mayo51 on March 03, 2007, 04:12:48 PM
12 each at full time. good game
Post by: screenexile on March 03, 2007, 04:17:35 PM
WTF has happened to the TG4 website??? Cut out the extra time after about a minute!!
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 03, 2007, 04:18:40 PM
Is that the Colm Cavanagh that is suppose to be the next big thing?   ::)
Post by: Tyrones own on March 03, 2007, 04:35:29 PM
  No, Thought that was Vernon ;)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 03, 2007, 04:43:32 PM
Queens 0-15, UUJ 0-14 AET. Looked like a cracker from the teletext.
Post by: Syd The Sailor on March 03, 2007, 04:46:05 PM
i actually thought the quality wasnt great at times but sure what the hell !!!
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on March 03, 2007, 04:46:16 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 03, 2007, 04:43:32 PM

Post by: pintsofguinness on March 03, 2007, 04:48:12 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on March 03, 2007, 04:35:29 PM
  No, Thought that was Vernon ;)
Well it's not hard to know which one came out on top today.

Fair play to both team an exciting game but by no means an exhibition of football.  I was going for Jordanstown myself (couple of club mates on the panel) but you can't begrudge Queen's their victory. 
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 03, 2007, 04:48:57 PM
Quote from: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on March 03, 2007, 04:46:16 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 03, 2007, 04:43:32 PM

Yep, score for score almost, but appearances can be deceptive  ;) 

Syd has the low-down though, and not the best of quality apparently  :-\
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on March 03, 2007, 04:58:03 PM
Ya a reasonable game of football, it was played in a good honest manner, discpline was good with both teams. The standard was nothing spectacular. Nobody really shone through the game.
For UUJ Mark Lynch probably their best player while for Queens i though Carlie Vernon played well won alot of ball and drove forward with it.

Post by: Syd The Sailor on March 03, 2007, 05:08:06 PM
After todays game I am still waiting for the Kevin Mc Gourty hype to be justified....
Post by: bennydorano on March 03, 2007, 05:19:42 PM
Wouldn't have gave MOTM to McGourty either, thought Johnny Bradley (#9) for UUJ was excellent.  Vernon and Miceal O'rourke showed up well for Queens, could understand Queens taking off O'Rourke near the end, he was torturing that FB.
Post by: Syd The Sailor on March 03, 2007, 05:22:55 PM
Who did get MOM?
Post by: AnDunYeGo on March 03, 2007, 05:42:03 PM
McGourty was man of the match , i thought that Vernon should have got it
Post by: Syd The Sailor on March 03, 2007, 05:51:07 PM
Quote from: AnDunYeGo on March 03, 2007, 05:42:03 PM
McGourty was man of the match , i thought that Vernon should have got it

Are you serious, fcuk me i must have been watching a different match......
Post by: Mourne Rover on March 03, 2007, 05:55:44 PM
McGourty was a worthy MoM. I was not convinced by him before, but he started well, got better when the pressure was on and eventually made the catches which turned the match. Bradley was excellent for UUJ, and Lynch looked like he would win the game by himself until Queen's got to grips with him.

It was also a fine managerial performance from James, as he got it tactically right against a physcially stronger UUJ, and he used his subs very effectively, none more than his brother Eoin, who was outstanding when he appeared late on.

Overall, it was a fair old match played in a good spirit throughout. Incredibly enough, there was also not a single really bad tackle at any stage.

Post by: The TopKat on March 03, 2007, 06:29:08 PM
Anyone have a report on the Trench Cup final?
Post by: DownFanatic on March 03, 2007, 07:01:06 PM
Well done to Queens and especially my clubmate Paul McComiskey. It was a good fair match with the hard hitting and all that nonsense not appearing. Eoin McCartan's point that brought the game to extra time was a real gem as he had just come on. Dan McCartan, Justin Crozier, Charlie Vernon, Aidan Carr, Miceal O'Rourke and Ciarian O'Reilly were the best Queens players on view. Luke Howard and James McGovern did well when introduced. UUJ had too many passengers. Most of the work was left to Bradley and Lynch to contend with. My admiration of James Colgan as a footballing heavyweight continues to evolve  ;). Yet again his reputation garnered him a starting place. I thought Paddy Cunningham was mesmeric. He surely has to be the best striker of the ball at this level. Mulgrew was impressive aswell but tries that dummy too much while Colm Cavanagh just couldnt cut it. UUJ will surely dominate the Sigerson for the next couple of years. Queens have now lost the majority of this team and will have to rebuild.
Post by: Cloc Mor on March 03, 2007, 07:16:45 PM
Would I be wrong in thinking that this is one of Cavanagh's first games for the Poly.  How can you just come into a side you never train with or play for?  It showed late on when he had no desire to run, work or win ball.  Put a red hand on his breast and see the difference.
Post by: Over the Bar on March 03, 2007, 07:41:19 PM
Was up at the game today and it was a cracker to watch.  I thought Jordanstown were slightly the better team but Queens were determined not to lose 4 finals in a row.  Extra time favoured Queens as Jordanstown played extra time in their game yesterday in very heavy conditions so to expect them to play another 90 mins today was asking a lot.

Johnny Bradley & McGourty were the 2 best players on the field.  Young O'Rouke from Dromitee looks like he could be a good future option up front for Armagh.  Is he anything to Aidan & Cathal?
Post by: Cloc Mor on March 03, 2007, 07:45:04 PM
QuoteYoung O'Rouke from Dromitee looks like he could be a good future option up front for Armagh.  Is he anything to Aidan & Cathal?

With that nose, of course he is.
Post by: ClosetotheHarte on March 03, 2007, 07:45:20 PM
Apparently Cavanagh has been suffering with an injury problem which might explain a quiet performance today, although I didn't see any of the game. He's a good talent all right but has yet to show it consistently.
Post by: Dubh driocht on March 03, 2007, 07:55:59 PM
While Mc Gourty might have shaded Bradley for MOM, I thought Aidan Carr was the pivot for everything good about Queens.He covered every blade and if he had a bit more confidence , he would be a CHF to build a team around. Did miss one bad one in 4th quarter of normal time but it was his cross-field ball that led to Mc Govern's winning point. The two CHBs had good games- Donnelly is solid while O'Kane can be spectacular and his big run along the stand could have won the game in normal time if he hadn't telegraphed the last pass. The game really reminded me of the 82 win for Queens on the same pitch ( over UCG) -a hard, fair game that could have gone either way and went to Queens AET.
Post by: ONeill on March 03, 2007, 08:04:20 PM
Cavanagh was extremely unlucky not to have won the game when he beat the keeper, but the ball rebounded off the crossbar to safety.
Post by: Fionntamhnach on March 03, 2007, 08:11:42 PM
A much cleaner game than I expected to be honest, Queens just sneaked over the line in the end though as O'Neill said had Cavanagh been successful palming the ball into the net it would have been game, set and match to Jordanstown - their extra time excursions yesterday proving costly in the second period of ET today.

While he had a decent enough game, McGourty did his image no favours with his primadonna antics when he got booked.
Post by: holylandsniper on March 03, 2007, 08:16:23 PM
QuoteIs he anything to Aidan & Cathal?
Yes brothers, along with Martin, only the 4 of them and all have made in to county teams and university etc
Micheal had good game today.
Post by: The Truth on March 03, 2007, 08:22:31 PM
I would love to know what Mc Gourtys  fellow Queens players think of him, judging by his reaction to one of his own players when he came over to try and stop him talking himself into a red card when he was booked. I was surprised he got MOM, I thought he had a poor 1st half but did improve after that.
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 03, 2007, 08:25:43 PM
Quote from: The Truth on March 03, 2007, 08:22:31 PM
I would love to know what Mc Gourtys  fellow Queens players think of him, judging by his reaction to one of his own players when he came over to try and stop him talking himself into a red card when he was booked. I was surprised he got MOM, I thought he had a poor 1st half but did improve after that.
I thought he looked like a wee bollocks.
Post by: neilthemac on March 03, 2007, 08:28:44 PM
St Patrick's College won the Trench Cup today, beating John Moore University in the final

They beat Carlow IT in the semi final yesterday after extra time
Post by: Cloc Mor on March 03, 2007, 08:32:16 PM
i didn't think the tackle was that bad - he had his arms raised anyway.  But what he said during the booking obviously annoyed brian Crowe.  Dan Mc Cartan coming in didn't help things and it looked like Mc Gourty didn't appreciate this.
Post by: FermBoy on March 03, 2007, 08:44:24 PM
I agree with 'The Truth'.............Thought McGourty had a very quiet first half, playing very deep as he was obviously told to.Won some great ball later on in the game though.Young O'Rourke is a great ball winner.I'd say Peter Donnelly feels a right fool now for roaring in McCartan's face.............no need for that!
Post by: The Truth on March 03, 2007, 08:49:42 PM
Quote from: Cloc Mor on March 03, 2007, 08:32:16 PM
i didn't think the tackle was that bad - he had his arms raised anyway.  But what he said during the booking obviously annoyed brian Crowe.  Dan Mc Cartan coming in didn't help things and it looked like Mc Gourty didn't appreciate this.

Im sure Mc Cartan knew he would have kept yapping until he got the line, he was trying to get him to shut his mouth.
Post by: never kickt a ball on March 03, 2007, 09:17:36 PM
(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/42637000/jpg/_42637681_3.jpg)

Taken from: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/photo_galleries/6416183.stm
Post by: Cloc Mor on March 03, 2007, 09:26:34 PM
Quotei didn't think the tackle was that bad - he had his arms raised anyway.  But what he said during the booking obviously annoyed brian Crowe.  Dan Mc Cartan coming in didn't help things and it looked like Mc Gourty didn't appreciate this.
[/quot

Im sure Mc Cartan knew he would have kept yapping until he got the line, he was trying to get him to shut his mouth.

FAO the truth - in a discussion board you should actually say something!
Post by: The Truth on March 03, 2007, 09:28:58 PM
Quote from: Cloc Mor on March 03, 2007, 09:26:34 PM
Quotei didn't think the tackle was that bad - he had his arms raised anyway.  But what he said during the booking obviously annoyed brian Crowe.  Dan Mc Cartan coming in didn't help things and it looked like Mc Gourty didn't appreciate this.
[/quot

FAO the truth - in a discussion board you should actually say something!

I modified the post, my post went in as part of the "quote". Hope that satisfies you......
Post by: Cloc Mor on March 03, 2007, 09:35:16 PM
QuoteI modified the post, my post went in as part of the "quote". Hope that satisfies you......

If you have something to say, do so the first time.  It is very easy to react, and change your post, according to what someone has said.
Post by: The Truth on March 03, 2007, 09:40:00 PM
Quote from: Cloc Mor on March 03, 2007, 09:35:16 PM
QuoteI modified the post, my post went in as part of the "quote". Hope that satisfies you......

If you have something to say, do so the first time.  It is very easy to react, and change your post, according to what someone has said.

Are you on the f**king drink? My post went in with the quote i was using so it was all shaded blue, so it looked as if i didnt say anything,and i dont give a good fcuk what people on here think about me so i wont be backtracking and changing my posts like a little pussy......
Post by: sam03/05 on March 03, 2007, 10:00:31 PM
was it just me or did uuj switch mulgrew into defence and donnelly into attack??
strange decision if this was the case.
Post by: Cloc Mor on March 03, 2007, 10:01:04 PM
Settle yourself, big lad.  Your original post was all in blue meaning that you were quoting other people, rather than making a point.  You want to say something rather than quote others then do so.  We can all make adjustments to our posts later, like you did.  Why did you do this?
Post by: The Truth on March 03, 2007, 10:07:11 PM
The whole post that was shaded in blue, the last paragraph was my post,because i had accidentally deleted the word "quote" my post went in along with the person i was quoting. Am a bit bemused why this has unsettled you so much......If you look at the post now thats what i said in the 1st place......I am actually asking myself why im explaining this to you...... ;)
Post by: Mourne Rover on March 03, 2007, 10:17:00 PM
The two crucial scores of the game, the equaliser at the end of normal time and the winning point in the second period of extra time, were both from Down players who many people thought would not be involved. Eoin McCartan had an injury which was supposed to rule him out until the summer at the earliest but really looked the part when he came on. James McGovern got a straight red in the National League against Westmeath last Sunday, but the Sigerson rules still allowed him to play today It's highly likely that Queen's would have lost if either had been unavailable, so the margins were very narrow.
Post by: bcarrier on March 03, 2007, 11:54:09 PM
Burren men score AET winning points in sigerson & mcrory cups. Class is permanent.
Post by: Pangurban on March 04, 2007, 12:22:29 AM
Overall thought the contribution of the Down lads involved was very poor, not a good omen for our future development
Post by: bigpaul on March 04, 2007, 12:53:26 AM
Quote from: bcarrier on March 03, 2007, 11:54:09 PM
Burren men score AET winning points in sigerson & mcrory cups. Class is permanent.

How do you score a winning point after extra time (AET), would have thought that was a bit late bcarrier? ;) A bit like Burren, in the past?
Post by: Paddyofthehall on March 04, 2007, 01:52:23 AM
Hey guys not a regular poster and a non drinker hence the late post. Why are people against mcgourty - don't know the lad, i'm from ballindery so will never play against him but as a person at the game he was the person who changed the game against uuj - in my opinion he was amazing, qub have 2 horses in midfield but mcgourty won the ball that counted-  his switch to the midfield area was as far as im concerned a masive master stroke.  Big adrian and moran are legends but mcgourty won every ball that counted - forget about him going mad when he got booked thats just hiim -  a class act. You all might hate him because of his reputation but dam sure  he won the sigerson for queens along with o'kane and reilly in full forward.
Post by: thewobbler on March 04, 2007, 11:10:01 AM
So poor was he in the first half, if I was in charge McGourty wouldn't have reappeared for the second half. But thereafter he was head and shoulders above everyone on the pitch, and had more influence on where the Sigerson Cup went than any other player on show. Anyone arguing with this was watching the game with a pre-ordained agenda.

Pangurban, would a miserable existence you live. 10 Down men played in a Sigerson Cup final yesterday and you talk about poor omens? Catch a grip you fcukin doomlord. Aidan Carr was oustanding. Eoin McCartan's introduction was instrumental. James McGovern hit the winning score. Luke Howard was impressive. Dan Cartan hardly put a foot wrong.

What more do you want?

Post by: clawaddy on March 04, 2007, 01:23:50 PM
Mark Lynchs point.  Very surprised nobody has complained here about the refusal to allow this score from Lynchs free.  I had a perfect view of this kick which curled in at the last minute. The umpire at that side was overruled later when he disallowed another good score.  The linesman on the stand side had a good view and could have spoken to the referee.  The linesman on duty at Fridays game had more courage and made sure Queens were awarded a point when a similar thing happened
Post by: Dubh driocht on March 04, 2007, 01:38:42 PM
Clawaddy, maybe we were at different games. I was also behind Lynch's 'point' and it was a foot wide. I was also behind a Poly point that was allowed (Bradley possibly) and it was wide (one umpire called it so but was over-ruled by the other).As were the Poly subs and they didn't appeal the one that was 'disallowed'. Overall I thought Crowe had a good game. Queens could also feel hard done-by when he had blown for a Queens free 2 minutes from the end of normal time, he got clattered by Colgan (?) and then decided to throw it up,under pressure from Mc Guckin. I actually think there were too many bulls in the Poly Pen- Mc Guckin, Moran and Roger Keenan(shame RK!) were all calling the shots and there was resulting confusion on the field. Queens on the other hand had a clear game plan of the early ball to the full-forward line which worked a treat- well done to James and O'Rourke-and their substitutes all made a difference .Unlike UUJ, who also paid for the introduction of players who had not played in the Mc Kenna Cup.So if you are a Poly man with a hang-over, MH would have a few questions to answer.As for Pangurban's contribution !The wobbler is absolutely right.If Ross and DJ were there, they would be the happiest managers of the 7 Ulster teams represented. Mc Gourty certainly gave Jody Gormley(who was there) something to ponder.
Post by: INDIANA on March 04, 2007, 02:21:47 PM
people over-estimate sigerson football in the sense that they believe it will translate into county success. from i've seen of down football in recent you've had a lot of talented underage footballers who when they hit the senior ranks had their heads up there arse  thinking they were ready made stars. The reality is you've lost the best of the lot- Martin Clarke - he'd have been worth five of those players you keep talking about and could have turned Down into a serious outfit on his own- he was the best minor i've possibly ever seen. I can't see Down making any impact against the likes of tyrone--armagh and donegal in the ulster championship this season- there form is as bad as dublin's at the moment and having had the misfortune of having watched dublin in all their games this year -that's bad..
Post by: ONeill on March 04, 2007, 02:32:35 PM
I think it was Mulgrew who hit the point that was disputed by both umpires. McGourty's move to help out the half backs won the game, although there was really nothing in it. But for a poor kick-out when UUJ were seconds from winning it in normal time, it'd have been them who were nursing pleasant hangovers this morning. Perhaps the previous day's extra time took it out of them.
Post by: Dubh driocht on March 04, 2007, 02:43:41 PM
Yeah, it really could have gone either way.Cavanagh's punch to the crossbar was pretty cruel on UUJ.Your point about Mc Gourty is right- Mulgrew was anonymous when Mc Gourty went in to the middle zone.Mind you Lynch didn't do as much as he could have. He looked unmarkable for the first 10 - maybe the extra time from Friday caught up with both of them.Without being in any way elitist, and picking up on Benny Tierney's point, the Sigerson is great football and we should do away with under 21s.Some of those lads are under far too much pressure when thay have to study as well
Post by: bennydorano on March 04, 2007, 02:56:00 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on March 03, 2007, 07:01:06 PM
My admiration of James Colgan as a footballing heavyweight continues to evolve  ;). Yet again his reputation garnered him a starting place.

Evolve or dissolve?  I mentioned to someone last night that the only time I saw him was for the throw-ins.  Obviously he's still only a lad with plenty of time to develop.
Post by: behind the wire on March 04, 2007, 04:56:56 PM
tommy-jow wouldnt like being beaten by queens like that. uuj put in alot of effort this year, players appeared to be very well treated this year and they believed it was their year. saw james mcgovern going over to shake tommy-joe's hand at the end, priceless.
great game of football, maybe not for the neutral but for anyone with an affiliation to either institution it was excellent. it is probably one of the biggest rivilaries in the gaa. the whole weekend was brilliant, everyone that took part should be applauded for their hard work.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 04, 2007, 11:40:54 PM
What a weekend! Its tough on the Poly but I suppose that's sport. No team can have deserved to win a trophy more than this Queens side. If the result had gone the wrong way some of those lads would have lost 4 finals in a row. After all the disappointments to win the trophy on our own patch against Jtown is very sweet. Thought Aidan Carr had a good game but as usual with Queens, it was more about a team punching above their weight than individual brilliance.
Post by: Malone Aristocrat on March 06, 2007, 10:46:28 AM

What a weekend for Queens and as tac says, it was a cruel way for the poly to lose. two excellent teams and great football all weekend in all competitions.

A word of thanks to the armagh lads for sending aidan o'rourke up to us. according to our players, he made all the difference in preparation, tactics and smartness on the line.

QUB LA LA LA, QUB LA LA LA
Post by: robertemmet on March 06, 2007, 12:00:52 PM
Has Aidan O'Rourke coaching any teams around Domrintee or Armagh?  Suppose he has not much time as he has not long left the county squad.
Post by: tackle on March 06, 2007, 12:34:27 PM
He has actually left the county panel.  Has coached dromintee under 21s in the last four years.  got to two finals.  won one lost one.  excellent tactican and analyst of the game.  will be good manager in 4/5 years.
Post by: Uladh on March 06, 2007, 02:06:38 PM

While i'm told aidan is quite the operator, this queens team have been on the cusp for the past three years. wee james didnn't achieve all of that with arguably limited teams, without knowing a thing or two.
Post by: tackle on March 06, 2007, 02:26:49 PM
Fair enough point.  Im just going on my own impression of aidan and my limited experience with him
Post by: Malone Aristocrat on March 07, 2007, 12:11:10 PM

Best of luck today to the QUB freshers in the all ireland semi Vs DCU.... we'll be there with our carry outs lads!!!
Post by: willyorwonthe on March 07, 2007, 11:16:44 PM
Watched the Sigerson Cup on TG4. Cogratultions to both teams on a magnificent display of football, it was the best display I have seen in many years. Gaelic football the way it should be played. No diving or cynicism that you get at at county level. very tough but fair and played in a very sporting fashion. What was all the hype of this going to be a dirty game? Thought some of the Queen's university team looked too old to be students but they were good. Someone told me that they had a dentist playing for them.  Anyhow, brilliant performance and thoroughly enjoyable.
Post by: stephenite on March 07, 2007, 11:45:35 PM
Quote from: Malone Aristocrat on March 06, 2007, 10:46:28 AM

What does this mean? Please god not more inane soccer like chants
Post by: never kickt a ball on March 08, 2007, 12:22:36 AM
Quote from: stephenite on March 07, 2007, 11:45:35 PM
Quote from: Malone Aristocrat on March 06, 2007, 10:46:28 AM
What does this mean? Please god not more inane soccer like chants
Would you prefer?:
"God save our gracious Queen's.........." Eh Stephenite?  :D
Post by: stephenite on March 08, 2007, 12:34:46 AM

I'd prefer if the mtach was watched with a few roars of encouragment like most games, I do get a bee in my bonnet about silly 'chants' that have become more pervasive in the last two decades, LA LA LA indeed ::)
Post by: Stranworst on March 08, 2007, 01:16:20 PM
Any word of the Hotshot team yet?

Surely McGourty, Vernon, Carr, O Reilly all shoe ins for QUB. Lynch, Mulgrew, Cunningham, Bradley, Murray for UUJ

Sheehan if he hadn't got injured?
Post by: Deal_Me_In on March 08, 2007, 01:27:10 PM
Quote from: willyorwonthe on March 07, 2007, 11:16:44 PM
Someone told me that they had a dentist playing for them. 

Dan Mc Cartan is a qualified dentist, graduated last year, but is enrolled in wueens doing some mickey mouse how to use a computer course so he could play football.
Post by: Stranworst on March 08, 2007, 01:29:41 PM
It's actually a masters, hardly mickey mouse. Get over it, the Sigerson is over and Queens are champions
Post by: Deal_Me_In on March 08, 2007, 01:35:06 PM
Quote from: Stranworst on March 08, 2007, 01:29:41 PM
It's actually a masters, hardly mickey mouse. Get over it, the Sigerson is over and Queens are champions

That wasnt my point. Dan McCartan is a qualified dentist which was my reply. The fact that he is doing a 'Masters' allowed him to play for Queens and fair play to him, i was just trying to illustrate that he was doing it to allow him to have one more go at winning the sigerson because his 'masters' will certainly make no difference in his chosen career path.
Post by: Stranworst on March 08, 2007, 01:39:30 PM
Fair point sorry for jumping the gun it's just I am a Queen's fan and know all the lads

As for it being pointless, Dan will be able to type quicker, fix the printer in his practice, maybe even add smiley faces to things!!

Post by: Deal_Me_In on March 08, 2007, 01:57:00 PM
I always thought it would be a good idea to be able to type quicker when you were looking into someones mouth ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Brick Tamlin on March 08, 2007, 02:12:29 PM
naughty Dan managed to fit in three swear words in his post-match interview with TG4 last weekend. Disgracful altogether.
Post by: Donagh on March 08, 2007, 02:17:50 PM
Quote from: Deal_Me_In on March 08, 2007, 01:35:06 PM
That wasnt my point. Dan McCartan is a qualified dentist which was my reply. The fact that he is doing a 'Masters' allowed him to play for Queens and fair play to him, i was just trying to illustrate that he was doing it to allow him to have one more go at winning the sigerson because his 'masters' will certainly make no difference in his chosen career path.

Does anyone actually expect to see McCartan's name on the QUB graduands list this summer or winter. I'd personally offer odds of 50-1 to anyone who thinks he will.
Post by: Malone Aristocrat on March 08, 2007, 02:27:12 PM
Quote from: Donagh on March 08, 2007, 02:17:50 PM
Does anyone actually expect to see McCartan's name on the QUB graduands list this summer or winter. I'd personally offer odds of 50-1 to anyone who thinks he will.

There'll be players from every team that entered the competition who won't graduate the course the enrolled for. masters are largely for improving a person's employability. should passing exams be a prerequisite for playing?

i dare say there'll be a fair few undergrads struggling with that one if this week has been anything to judge by!
Post by: realredhandfan on March 08, 2007, 02:30:33 PM
Listen folks we  are only trotting behind the Poly at that one.  Ill take criticism but only from fellow QUB stalwarts or outsiders, but not from the "Tommy Joe school of afterschool studies"
Post by: Donagh on March 08, 2007, 02:36:12 PM
But the point is that McCartan is not an undergad. In my day he'd be described as a 'ringer'. I know Queen's aren't the only team to employ, sorry, field ringers, but it leaves a bad taste in the mouth regarding varsity football. Maybe Sigerson, should be limited to undergrad players?
Post by: Deal_Me_In on March 08, 2007, 02:42:24 PM
Quote from: Donagh on March 08, 2007, 02:36:12 PM
But the point is that McCartan is not an undergad. In my day he’d be described as a ‘ringer’. I know Queen’s aren’t the only team to employ, sorry, field ringers, but it leaves a bad taste in the mouth regarding varsity football. Maybe Sigerson, should be limited to undergrad players?

If thats the case then Kevin McGourty, who was effectively the match winner for queens, through his second and extra time half performance, would not have been eligable as he is employed by the university to be the VP for Clubs and Societies. I also think he is enrolled in a course to do with history or politics too, but not as an undergrad.
Post by: Malone Aristocrat on March 08, 2007, 02:51:14 PM

You think masters and phd students should be barred from playing? the HEC have already broached this subject and postgraduates not with enough credits, ie not doing enough hours to be regarded full time students, are disallowed. ask ross munnelly. Tommy Joe has already had his clubmate Dan investigated fully through croke park prior to sigerson and was officially rebuked when he attempted to reignite this immediately before the weekend.

It's ironic that Tommy Joe actually introduced the sabbatical officer rule so that he could play Jody Gormley, who was at the time vp of clubs and societies at the poly, that has this year allowed mcgourty to play.
Post by: Black and white on March 08, 2007, 03:23:00 PM
Quote from: Malone Aristocrat on March 08, 2007, 02:51:14 PM

You think masters and phd students should be barred from playing? the HEC have already broached this subject and postgraduates not with enough credits, ie not doing enough hours to be regarded full time students, are disallowed. ask ross munnelly. Tommy Joe has already had his clubmate Dan investigated fully through croke park prior to sigerson and was officially rebuked when he attempted to reignite this immediately before the weekend.

It's ironic that Tommy Joe actually introduced the sabbatical officer rule so that he could play Jody Gormley, who was at the time vp of clubs and societies at the poly, that has this year allowed mcgourty to play.

Mc Giurty has been playing the last 3 years on that rule.  But amybe he isnt employable in the real world
Post by: Donagh on March 08, 2007, 03:26:46 PM
The problem is with Masters and PGDip students not Phd's. These lads are signing up for a Masters, paying for one module and not showing up again. It's doesn't matter what hours they are supposed to do because it'll be February before they fail the module and Easter before they are pulled about attendance and failing – which by that time Sigerson is over (and they may have picked up a sports bursary to recoup what they paid for the module).

A Phd is a 3-4 year commitment which typically has to be paid for in advance per year, so less likely someone is going to signup to one of those just to play football.
Post by: shaws road on March 08, 2007, 03:41:07 PM
very funny black and white but he is actually very intelligent as is dan mc cartan, the problem with sigersonb is they let in the poly and the IT and they have ruined what was a great gaa competition in particualr the poly and ever year they get beat it is great to see as they have recked the competition
Post by: Black and white on March 08, 2007, 03:44:40 PM
Quote from: shaws road on March 08, 2007, 03:41:07 PM
very funny black and white but he is actually very intelligent as is dan mc cartan, the problem with sigersonb is they let in the poly and the IT and they have ruined what was a great gaa competition in particualr the poly and ever year they get beat it is great to see as they have recked the competition

I wasnt talking about Kevins intelligence, more his personality, if the clubs cv was a advertised job would he get it? it is by vote, and also a position the gaa club has held for the last ten years in qub. 

The last time QUB won the sigerson i think 5 players were doing this masters in computing, everybody is at it so please stop trying to say it is a ploy thing
Post by: Stranworst on March 08, 2007, 03:51:28 PM
So like I said earlier any word of the Hotshot team??

You hear anything Shaws Road???
Post by: true ulster gael on March 08, 2007, 03:55:29 PM
this stuff about dan mc cartan sums up why the sigerson cup is now rotten to the core with cheating
Post by: Stranworst on March 08, 2007, 03:57:00 PM
The crowds and the teams at the Dub last weekend will totally disagree with you there
Post by: true ulster gael on March 08, 2007, 04:02:40 PM
Quote from: Stranworst on March 08, 2007, 03:57:00 PM
The crowds and the teams at the Dub last weekend will totally disagree with you there
means nothing
Post by: Black and white on March 08, 2007, 04:10:32 PM
Quote from: true ulster gael on March 08, 2007, 04:02:40 PM
means nothing
[/quote

Lads the sigerson is not one bit de-valued.  Ringers in the sigerson cup have been going on as long as the compitition itself.  An old manager of mine won a sigerson with UCD in the 60's says he was marking a full forward from UCG, he asked what course he was doing? to which he replyed sums.

Sigerson is a great compitition, and for those that think it is not a breading ground for county football,  look at the success of ulster universitys against their counties  all-Ireland success 2-3 years later uuj 85-86 st marys 89, qub 90 down, donegall, derry - qub 2000 uuj 2001 armagh 2002 tyrone 2003 &6

there is a relationship for the total reason before people take it to the extreme
Post by: Homer on March 08, 2007, 04:12:20 PM
Quote from: true ulster gael on March 08, 2007, 04:02:40 PM
means nothing

Im sure Cormac McAnnallen held his sigerson medal with UCD in very high regard.
Post by: Uladh on March 08, 2007, 04:15:14 PM

Cormac won his Sigerson medal with Queens in 2000.
Post by: Homer on March 08, 2007, 04:45:36 PM
Quote from: Uladh on March 08, 2007, 04:15:14 PM

Sorry you are correct, I knew he had won a Sigerson alright and also knew that he had captained UCD just mixed it up.
Post by: Cloc Mor on March 08, 2007, 07:25:20 PM
QuoteLads the sigerson is not one bit de-valued.  Ringers in the sigerson cup have been going on as long as the compitition itself.  An old manager of mine won a sigerson with UCD in the 60's says he was marking a full forward from UCG, he asked what course he was doing? to which he replyed sums.

Can you not come up with a better one than the old 'sums' joke - its as old as the hills and has been spoken about since pussy was c cat!

QuoteSo like I said earlier any word of the Hotshot team??

I detest this term, such an obvious case of the sponsor calling the shots.  Why did the HEC let them change the name from what should always be called the combined Universities team?
Post by: willyorwonthe on March 09, 2007, 01:02:22 AM
Didn't think that I would open a can of worms with my Dan McCartan comment. It was still a fine spectacle but would lose some of it's meaning if the spirit of the competition was not adhered to. I am a Graduate of Queen's from the 60s and would hope that nothing untoward is taking place in the hallowed place. Were all the The UUJ players following full trime courses?
Post by: Black and white on March 09, 2007, 08:25:46 AM
Quote from: Cloc Mor on March 08, 2007, 07:25:20 PM
QuoteLads the sigerson is not one bit de-valued.  Ringers in the sigerson cup have been going on as long as the compitition itself.  An old manager of mine won a sigerson with UCD in the 60's says he was marking a full forward from UCG, he asked what course he was doing? to which he replyed sums.

Can you not come up with a better one than the old 'sums' joke - its as old as the hills and has been spoken about since pussy was c cat!

QuoteSo like I said earlier any word of the Hotshot team??

I detest this term, such an obvious case of the sponsor calling the shots.  Why did the HEC let them change the name from what should always be called the combined Universities team?

It may be an old joke, but it is based in fact to back up my point that the sigerson cup has never been 100% clean, and to say that it is now debased by Dan Mc Cartan or the Ploy is nonsese
Post by: realredhandfan on March 09, 2007, 11:33:16 AM
Is this the same spirit of the competition  that the colleges acused Tyrone of not playing fair with.
Post by: hitzelsperger on March 09, 2007, 12:46:55 PM
Quote from: willyorwonthe on March 09, 2007, 01:02:22 AM
Didn't think that I would open a can of worms with my Dan McCartan comment. It was still a fine spectacle but would lose some of it's meaning if the spirit of the competition was not adhered to. I am a Graduate of Queen's from the 60s and would hope that nothing untoward is taking place in the hallowed place. Were all the The UUJ players following full trime courses?

yes all UUJ players are studying full time courses, none doing one night a week masters in f**k all!
Post by: willyorwonthe on March 09, 2007, 10:56:09 PM
As a former Sigerson player with Queen's, I agree that the Sigerson Cup should just be played between the four real Irish universities,QUB, UCG, UCD and UCC. Never thought that Jordanstown should have been allowed into it. I am very disappointed though if Queen's played players who were not studying at the University or weren't complying to the spirit of the competition as it was always meant to be. I hope the authorities will not allow it to happen in the future.
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 09, 2007, 11:41:16 PM
QuoteAs a former Sigerson player with Queen's, I agree that the Sigerson Cup should just be played between the four real Irish universities,QUB, UCG, UCD and UCC. Never thought that Jordanstown should have been allowed into it.
What sort of shite talk is that?
Post by: Donagh on March 10, 2007, 12:54:13 AM
Quote from: Uladh on March 08, 2007, 04:15:14 PM

He did indeed and played again the following year while doing this Masters in computing. Though unlike others on the team doing the same course (some of my own county men included) Cormac actually completed it with distinction.
Post by: hitzelsperger on March 10, 2007, 02:25:01 AM
Quote from: willyorwonthe on March 09, 2007, 10:56:09 PM
As a former Sigerson player with Queen's, I agree that the Sigerson Cup should just be played between the four real Irish universities,QUB, UCG, UCD and UCC. Never thought that Jordanstown should have been allowed into it. I am very disappointed though if Queen's played players who were not studying at the University or weren't complying to the spirit of the competition as it was always meant to be. I hope the authorities will not allow it to happen in the future.

complete and utter shite talk!
Post by: theoriginalmup on March 10, 2007, 02:39:38 AM
the sigerson cup these days is the biggest load of b****x ive ever seen..so the final this year went to extra time..pure tripe....i hope every year its played between qub and uuj ..players are only there to get more recognition for their county team cause they cant get on it in the first place..free gear..no brain ..end of story
Post by: hopball on March 10, 2007, 10:54:18 AM
Have to say i have been reading everything that people have been saying here, and i have never heard as much shite in all my life. 

1. Dan McCartan etc are studying in Queens, doing a Masters, ok. End of story.

2. Do you all in fact know that UUJ practically pay for their footballers to go to the university. They were all offered free accomodation in UUJ halls of residence, they get free food out of the cafeteria, and ive heard of other ridiculous goings on as well as this. (and some of you are saying qub are the ones who are cheating) look at the facts

3. The players that play in this competition are the best county players who are currently students in the country. Most of them play for both their county and their uni at the same time, and much time is taken up by this. So how can they simply be players who cannot get their place on the respective county teams (wise yourself up). In fact most of them will be playing on sunday for their counties.

So i wish all those who are trying to take away from this victory would look a bit closer, these lads trained from October to win this and to say that it is a joke, and that they have no brain...... is completely laughable to be honest.

QUB SIGERSON CUP WINNERS 2007
QUB RYAN CUP WINNERS 2007
Post by: realredhandfan on March 10, 2007, 12:55:36 PM
Im with hopball on this one - Poly scum!
Post by: Dubh driocht on March 10, 2007, 02:26:09 PM
While an ex-Queens player myself I think the elitism talk is a bit much. Jordanstown have brought a lot to the competition and while the buildings and location are far from pleasant, many of their courses are on a power, if not better, than Queens. I had heard about the 'camp' for the elite UUJ players but this is counter-productive as the beauty of the competition is to play alongside lads you have had sessions with.I think the person most responsible for losing them the cup was Mickey Harte.
Post by: hopball on March 10, 2007, 03:32:45 PM
Listen, i am not taking anything away from UUJ, im just pointing out the facts.   It was a fantastic final, i have attended the last 3, Dundalk, Dublin and then the Dub, for anyone to say that this competition is a joke, obviously hasnt watched too many Ryan cup or Sigerson games.  It was a great final, let me tell you, if all Inter-county football matches were played to this standard, we would be very lucky people indeed.
Post by: Stranworst on March 10, 2007, 08:47:21 PM
I'm with you hundred percent on this Hopball, hear hear
Post by: tyroneboi on March 10, 2007, 09:26:03 PM
Quote from: Dubh driocht on March 10, 2007, 02:26:09 PM
While an ex-Queens player myself I think the elitism talk is a bit much. Jordanstown have brought a lot to the competition and while the buildings and location are far from pleasant, many of their courses are on a power, if not better, than Queens. I had heard about the 'camp' for the elite UUJ players but this is counter-productive as the beauty of the competition is to play alongside lads you have had sessions with.I think the person most responsible for losing them the cup was Mickey Harte.

How was Mickey Harte responsible for them losing the Sigerson? One of their best players (Raymond Mulgrew) played in all UUJ's McKenna Cup games.