GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Captain Scarlet on January 17, 2007, 03:23:40 PM

Title: GAA Hard men (all counties)
Post by: Captain Scarlet on January 17, 2007, 03:23:40 PM
just seeing as this is on the non GAA board and the lads got a slatin for leavin it armagh only lets make it nationwide.
now these are the proper hardy hoors not sneaky dig merchants.

as a lilywhite in the early 90's we had the likes of davey datlon and sos who had little regard for their bodies when lining out for kildare. although still think big paddy o'donoghue was hard to beat. ive seen him turn lads literally upside down with a shoulder.

so nominate away lads
Title: Re: GAA Hard men (all counties)
Post by: Mayo4Sam on January 17, 2007, 03:45:43 PM
Rambo McHale, in the connaught club semi final in 89, marking junior mcmanus, the first thing mcmanus did was level him, rambo turned round and levelled him back, mcmanus said afterwards it was just a quietner and that he was the first lad that dared box him back
From what i can remember knockmore's hardest man
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on January 17, 2007, 03:57:27 PM
Peter Forde,Jimmy Browne and John Finn from Mayo were hardy men and before that my father reckons that the late John Morley( i hope i got his first name right) was as hard as he saw in forty years of Mayo football.
Post by: Timothy Leary on January 17, 2007, 03:57:50 PM
 Paddy was the only hard man on that Johnstownbridge team......I got a belt of yer man Doran, the corner back, can't remember his name, the hoor nearly killed me, couldn't move for five minuted. The Rasher Farrell was no alter boy either.

Other hard men that I've seen, in Leinster:

Paddy McCormack Barry Coughlin.
Lyons Harnan McEntee Cassels.
Sean Doherty, Gay O'Driscoll, Mullins
Post by: Mayo4Sam on January 17, 2007, 04:15:43 PM
Mick Higgins was meant to be a hardy fcuker as well, size of him i'm not surprised
Post by: realredhandfan on January 17, 2007, 04:30:16 PM
Ill see your Mick Lyons and raise you a Peter Withnell.
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 17, 2007, 04:37:40 PM
Quote from: Timothy Leary on January 17, 2007, 03:57:50 PM
Paddy was the only hard man on that Johnstownbridge team......I got a belt of yer man Doran, the corner back, can't remember his name, the hoor nearly killed me, couldn't move for five minuted. The Rasher Farrell was no alter boy either.

Other hard men that I've seen, in Leinster:

Paddy McCormack Barry Coughlin.
Lyons Harnan McEntee Cassels.
Sean Doherty, Gay O'Driscoll, Mullins

was that Dermot Doran?
or his older brother PJ (imo PJ was hardier)
Hardest of all the O'Donoghues was Paddy, but I would still think Phelim Farrell was tougher (Colm wasnt farr off it also).
I think davy Dalton put himself on the line alot - but was easy enough inj - which imo rules him out of being among the 'hardest'

Yer Man Pat Flynn from st. Kevins was a savage too (bernard flynns cousin - all the flynns were from clogherinkoe originally too I believe).
Cloghs Tom doodle Kelly was tough as nails.

Stories were that Ambrose oDonovan of Kerry was the hardiest amongst them in the Kerry golden years.
Post by: cavanmaniac on January 17, 2007, 04:38:55 PM
Cavan's nomination, of the current generation, would probably have to be Philip Smith of Crosserlough. He's about 40 now and may still be playing and is spoken of in reverential, if not somewhat fearful tones the length and breadth of the Breffni county.

Was as famous for his lack of skill (if he kicked a ball more than ten yeards it'd inevitably go somewhere ridiculous like over his head for example) as for his ability to ahem, busht up the play and throw himself about. Was called back into the county panel by Val Andrews a few years ago at the age of approx 35 to lend a bit of steel to that crop of niceguys. A reflection on the natural fitness Philip has always retained. He still has the natural physique of someone 15 years younger if not better. All muscle, hard as fook.

A damn fine amateur surgeon/dentist to boot, has removed many's a limb and tooth in the course of duty. This man is a tank.

Older Cavan folk speak fondly of Phil Gunner Brady being well able to handle himself, as were most of the guys on those teams of the 40s and 50, and 60s as well when we had equally good teams that matched the Down side of the era but never won the Sam.
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 17, 2007, 04:41:40 PM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on January 17, 2007, 04:38:55 PM
Cavan's nomination, of the current generation, would probably have to be Philip Smith of Crosserlough. He's about 40 now and may still be playing and is spoken of in reverential, if not somewhat fearful tones the length and breadth of the Breffni county.

Was as famous for his lack of skill (if he kicked a ball more than ten yeards it'd inevitably go somewhere ridiculous like over his head for example) as for his ability to ahem, busht up the play and throw himself about. Was called back into the county panel by Val Andrews a few years ago at the age of approx 35 to lend a bit of steel to that crop of niceguys. A reflection on the natural fitness Philip has always retained. He still has the natural physique of someone 15 years younger if not better. All muscle, hard as fook.

A damn fine amateur surgeon/dentist to boot, has removed many's a limb and tooth in the course of duty. This man is a tank.

Older Cavan folk speak fondly of Phil Gunner Brady being well able to handle himself, as were most of the guys on those teams of the 40s and 50, and 60s as well when we had equally good teams that matched the Down side of the era but never won the Sam.

..but the stories coming from Gowna way at least were the gunner was tough, but was more inclined to hit you a dirty slap than a manly face to face tussle
Post by: laughinpaddy on January 17, 2007, 04:42:56 PM
Brian mcGilligan of Derry or wee marty toye of the Maghery club in Armagh. another two maybe the Grimely twins Mark and john. And what about Brian Stynes and Brian Mullens(?) of Dublin and Tommy Dowd of Meath
Post by: realredhandfan on January 17, 2007, 04:50:10 PM
Ill see your Grimleys and raise you a Harry mc Clure or Eugene Mc kenna - the very mention of either would make the Grimleys knees knock.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 17, 2007, 04:57:06 PM
I doubt if there is much or anythnig that would scare those Grimleys. I was working in a place they ate in one day and was afraid we'd run out of food and they'd eat me!
Post by: realredhandfan on January 17, 2007, 04:58:57 PM
I think it was Mark that hit Lynch at half time in the tunnel in 89.  Mc Kenna let him catch the ball at the start of the second half and ran through him,  He didnt want to know after.
Post by: lurganblue on January 17, 2007, 04:59:06 PM
QuoteTommy Dowd of Meath

this isnt the hard to look at thread is it?  :P
Post by: behind the wire on January 17, 2007, 05:03:05 PM
greg blaney
Post by: realredhandfan on January 17, 2007, 05:16:58 PM
There was also a very notorious friendly under lights between Armagh and Tyrone where Harry Mc Clure chased the two Grimleys into the dressing rooms.  I can remember Blaney and his cousin Fergal Logan sledging in the 94 Ulster final.  I think even the referee decided to leave them at it... A hard old schooler...
IMHO from the games I watched from a Tyrone perspective:
Hardest Tyrone man: Eugene mc kenna: took the Grimley out
Hardest Armagh man: Keiran Mc Geeney: Put Hub on his arse in 2002
Hardest Donegal man: Adrian Sweeney (took Lawn out of er in Ballybofey.
Hardest  Down man: Greg Blaney: Took the cousin out for a trimming in 94
Hardest Meath man:b Martin O Connell:  declared a one man war on Tyrone in 96, won his war then his all ireland. 
Hardest Dub: Brian Mullins stood all over Donaghy in 84 semi
Hardest Cork man:  Niall Cathalane:  Was targetted by Meath as a cub in 88 stood up to a lot of battering. Lost Cork an All ireland when he woke up Gormley in 1993.
Hardest Derry man: Brian Mc Gilligan (possibly the hardest Ive seen) enuf said
Hardest Kerry Man:  Paidi.  Hard ferocious man for a small man.... still hard as ever.

Post by: Timothy Leary on January 17, 2007, 05:28:49 PM
was that Dermot Doran?
or his older brother PJ (imo PJ was hardier)
Hardest of all the O'Donoghues was Paddy, but I would still think Phelim Farrell was tougher (Colm wasnt farr off it also).
I think davy Dalton put himself on the line alot - but was easy enough inj - which imo rules him out of being among the 'hardest'

Yer Man Pat Flynn from st. Kevins was a savage too (bernard flynns cousin - all the flynns were from clogherinkoe originally too I believe).
Cloghs Tom doodle Kelly was tough as nails.

Stories were that Ambrose oDonovan of Kerry was the hardiest amongst them in the Kerry golden years

Twas PJ alright, one of the most dogged backs in club football. The rasher was a savage, both on the field and also in the bees knees.

The Flynn's played for the Cloghs with Bernard's father, Noel a handy full forward. A discussion between Cloghs supporters one night ended with a row as to whether Joe Flynn, (Bernards uncle) and Mick Moore (his cousin) were the best ever players for the club. Another Flynn cousin was Gerry Carroll who won an Ireland in '82.

Paddy O'Donoghue taught me maths for the leaving cert, the most useless hoor ever to teach. Football talk start to finish, 'twas a miracle any of us passed.
Post by: cavanmaniac on January 17, 2007, 05:36:26 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 17, 2007, 04:41:40 PM
..but the stories coming from Gowna way at least were the gunner was tough, but was more inclined to hit you a dirty slap than a manly face to face tussle

Possibly correct alright, I wouldn't know. The opinion of the Joe Soaps is that he was one tough f**ker.

That said, I spoke to Cavan legend Mick Higgins some years ago and the Gunner came up in conversation and he reckoned that alot of the stories going around about his hard man antics were alot of exaggerrated myth-making and the real truth was that was no better or worse on the field than anyone else of his generation. Depends on what you believe I suppose.

Another Cavan player of that generation told me too that possibly the filthiest footballer, in the sneaky sense, that he ever encountered on the pitch was a guy called Red Collier of Meath. Never heard much about this guy tbh but some of the Meath lads might be able to fill us in...although I'd say the history in Meath might be told in a different light to that in Cavan! ;)
Post by: Border Fox on January 17, 2007, 05:54:52 PM
Hardest Monaghan Man: ????????? - Not a noted race of hard men

Gerry McCarville perhaps?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 17, 2007, 06:17:25 PM
For the size of him John Keane is as tough as they come, yet to see him come out second best in any encounter.
Post by: Uladh on January 17, 2007, 07:12:27 PM

having meath as my adopted second county, i'd say harnan was the hardest fecker i ever saw.

and it was paul grimley who hit lynch in the tunnel...
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on January 17, 2007, 08:03:00 PM
Quote from: realredhandfan on January 17, 2007, 04:58:57 PM
I think it was Mark that hit Lynch at half time in the tunnel in 89.  Mc Kenna let him catch the ball at the start of the second half and ran through him,  He didnt want to know after.

There was also a very notorious friendly under lights between Armagh and Tyrone where Harry Mc Clure chased the two Grimleys into the dressing rooms.

Uh oh - red and white tinted glasses alert!

Statement one is factually incorrect and I would take issue with the conclusion, which basically boils down your personal opinion based on what side of the argument you are on!

Statement two is factually incorrect - I wasn't there, but I played and watched the Grimleys play for nigh on twenty years, and they never run from anyone, ever, and they were up against the odds plenty of time!

Post by: AZOffaly on January 17, 2007, 08:07:40 PM
Based on lads I've seen in the flesh, I'd say that Offaly's two hardest men were probably Sean 'Clocker' Grennan in football, or else perhaps Richie Connor, while the 80's vintage of hurlers had a few lads who weren't behind the door when the physical stuff went on. Probably Padraig Horan as the one with the most bloody tendencies, as befits a good Rynagh's man :)
Post by: stephenite on January 17, 2007, 09:06:09 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on January 17, 2007, 03:45:43 PM

Hard, or just filthy ? Knockmore have had far harder men over the years than this fella
Post by: harpsman on January 17, 2007, 11:08:01 PM
Quotethe Grimleys play for nigh on twenty years, and they never run from anyone, ever, and they were up against the odds plenty of time!

I would have to agree with that.  The stick them boys took was unreal - they had to be hauled to the ground to get a free.

But then the game is full of hard men if we're being honest.  The difference between being hard and dirty is that one commands respect and the other will ensure the complete opposite.
Post by: Hungry Exile on January 17, 2007, 11:31:43 PM
Quote from: realredhandfan on January 17, 2007, 04:58:57 PM
I thought it was their cousin Paul who was at Lynch in the tunnel that day
Post by: Mayo4Sam on January 17, 2007, 11:35:42 PM
Quote from: stephenite on January 17, 2007, 09:06:09 PM

Hard, or just filthy ? Knockmore have had far harder men over the years than this fella

Name one? I'd have him ahead of stanton, peter butler, eugene mchale, liam o'neill, liam mchale
Post by: stephenite on January 17, 2007, 11:52:08 PM
Well Staunton and Butler for a start, but we're getting into the "what makes a hard man" , Staunton and Butler would go through walls etc. and front up toe to toe. Rambo was the type of guy that wouldn't give you that chance as you'd have been taken out by a cheap shot to the ceann while your back was turned. I've seen him do this, both in his Ardagh incarnation and  Knockmore. Good footballer mind you, destroyed us in a junior championship game quite a few years back.

I'd never have really have classed Liam McHale as a 'hard man' , he'd mix it up with the best of him if they came looking but he never really went out of his way to flatten some fella who was wide open for a fair but killer shoulder or anything. Whereas DB in the same position would try and make sure that they'd have to scrape the man off the ground
Post by: charlie linkbox on January 18, 2007, 04:57:37 AM
Quote from: Border Fox on January 17, 2007, 05:54:52 PM
Hardest Monaghan Man: ????????? - Not a noted race of hard men

Nah, Fergus Caulfield. When he hit you, you lay down and didn't get up.
Title: Corr from Clonoe
Post by: john mcgill on January 18, 2007, 07:10:52 AM
Tommy Corr, the Ireland boxer, played underage for Tyrone and was handy enough on thne pitch
Post by: Mayo4Sam on January 18, 2007, 08:10:23 AM
Quote from: stephenite on January 17, 2007, 11:52:08 PM
Well Staunton and Butler for a start, but we're getting into the "what makes a hard man" , Staunton and Butler would go through walls etc. and front up toe to toe. Rambo was the type of guy that wouldn't give you that chance as you'd have been taken out by a cheap shot to the ceann while your back was turned. I've seen him do this, both in his Ardagh incarnation and  Knockmore. Good footballer mind you, destroyed us in a junior championship game quite a few years back.

I'd never have really have classed Liam McHale as a 'hard man' , he'd mix it up with the best of him if they came looking but he never really went out of his way to flatten some fella who was wide open for a fair but killer shoulder or anything. Whereas DB in the same position would try and make sure that they'd have to scrape the man off the ground

Not that Liam McHale, he would hardly be classed in that category, i was talkin about Liam McHale senior from knockmore
Post by: Mid Mon on January 18, 2007, 08:26:43 AM
QuoteQuote from: Border Fox on January 17, 2007, 05:54:52 PM
Hardest Monaghan Man:  - Not a noted race of hard men

Nah, Fergus Caulfield. When he hit you, you lay down and didn't get up.

Did Hugo not show us last year in the "Battle of Blackhill" that he is Monaghans Hardest.
Post by: The Iceman on January 18, 2007, 09:00:48 AM
Geezer is scary - I don't think there is a footballer in Ireland who doesn't respect him on the field and flinch when he tackles.

During the aussie rules he roled a guy on the ground and had him in an unbreakable head lock - the guy didn't give anyone any shit for the rest of the game.

Geezer is a machine
Post by: laughinpaddy on January 18, 2007, 09:56:44 AM
Quote from: harpsman on January 17, 2007, 11:08:01 PM
Quotethe Grimleys play for nigh on twenty years, and they never run from anyone, ever, and they were up against the odds plenty of time!

I would have to agree with that. The stick them boys took was unreal - they had to be hauled to the ground to get a free.

But then the game is full of hard men if we're being honest. The difference between being hard and dirty is that one commands respect and the other will ensure the complete opposite.
Paul is a Brother but he played for the Pearse OGs and Not the Harps so it culd not have been him!!
Post by: Six Inch Nail on January 18, 2007, 10:47:51 AM
Martin Gavigan anyone?  A seroiusly tight individual.

PS - it was Paul Grimley who hit Lynch, brother of Mark and John who was in the crowd that day and fairly close to the tunnel in order to make an attack.
Post by: maddog on January 18, 2007, 04:28:33 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on January 18, 2007, 04:21:40 PM

I would have to agree with that.  The stick them boys took was unreal - they had to be hauled to the ground to get a free.

But then the game is full of hard men if we're being honest.  The difference between being hard and dirty is that one commands respect and the other will ensure the complete opposite.

The Grimleys werent hard, they were the dirtiest pair of c*nts Ive ever seen. When they met anyone near their own size they werent long quietening down.

You cant have seen them play too often then.

Post by: laughinpaddy on January 18, 2007, 04:39:40 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on January 18, 2007, 04:21:40 PM

I would have to agree with that.? The stick them boys took was unreal - they had to be hauled to the ground to get a free.

But then the game is full of hard men if we're being honest.? The difference between being hard and dirty is that one commands respect and the other will ensure the complete opposite.

The Grimleys werent hard, they were the dirtiest pair of c*nts Ive ever seen. When they met anyone near their own size they werent long quietening down.
read any match program were Jarleth Burns was asked who he had the most difficulty marking, he could have said any body from all over Ireland such as Darragh o'se Anthony Tohill Brian Mcgilligan but he always said Mark Grimley, and Jarleth is no slouch either at 6'2"!
Post by: laughinpaddy on January 18, 2007, 04:55:01 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on January 18, 2007, 04:43:08 PM
I always thought the Grimleys were more dirty than hard. They never had much footballing ability other than their size.
Mark in his time was classed as one of the top mid-fielders of his time.  His fielding ability was second to none although his distribution at times left a lot to be desired.  John on the other hand was versatile he played in many positions such as full back, full forward corner forward midfield.  They also represented Ireland in the Compromise rules tour of Australia with the likes of McCartan so they obviously were not bad footballers!
Post by: Candyman on January 18, 2007, 05:03:40 PM
mess with him and u'll get this... ;D
Post by: Handball Ace on January 18, 2007, 08:10:04 PM
Bernard Morris from Cavan. Strong bastard
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on January 18, 2007, 09:14:58 PM
I always thought the Grimleys were more dirty than hard. They never had much footballing ability other than their size.

Can I suggest that you limit your thinking then! I would expect such a suggestion from someone who knows nothing about football - take of your blinkers please and don't trot out the usual stereotypes!  ;)
Post by: 5 Sams on January 18, 2007, 09:52:29 PM
Somebody mentioned Gay O'Driscoll and the Doc earlier in this thread.....while on that subject you should also include Robbie Kelleher and Pat O'Neill....tough c***ts to man those Dubs but these particular lads would have cut you in two with the Doc leading the charge :o
Post by: the green man on January 18, 2007, 09:58:16 PM
Why oh, why oh, why, has no one mentioned Pat O'Byrne from Wicklow. The man took out seven parishes after a championship apparently!
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on January 18, 2007, 11:34:14 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on January 18, 2007, 11:27:32 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on January 18, 2007, 09:14:58 PM

Can I suggest that you limit your thinking then! I would expect such a suggestion from someone who knows nothing about football - take of your blinkers please and don't trot out the usual stereotypes!  ;)

Nothing blinkered about my thinking, the Grimleys were 2 big lads who could catch a highball, nothing more. Other than their size and their brute force and ignorance they had nothing much to offer. One earlier poster said they were on the Compromise Rules team, that is the sort of football that suits their skills. Incidentally what did Armagh win while they were playing? Exactly!!!
This isnt one of my usual anti-Armagh posts. Its just my opinion on their limited footballing ability.

What have Down won since Benny Couter has been playing with them?

Exactly - it thus follows that Benny has limited footballing ability - according to your logic that is!  ::)

Allow me to finish, by amending a line provided by your good self - 'Other than your ignorance, you have nothing much to offer.'  ;)
Post by: the green man on January 18, 2007, 11:46:29 PM
Lads, lads, lets not drags this down to which county is tougher than the rest. Every county has their fair share of hard men. As for me? The oul fella sparked out McGilligan cold, the grandda kicked O Dea so far up the hole in 47, he never sat down again, and I'm just a dweeb who lives of the other two!
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on January 18, 2007, 11:47:54 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on January 18, 2007, 11:41:11 PM
Coulter is not relevant to this thread as it is about so called hard men, and not about the more skilfull footballers ever to have played, like Benny and plenty of other Down and Armagh players as well, but as you brought it up, Down won an All-Ireland minor title in 1999, inspired by Benny Coulter, something Armagh never achieved at any level while the Grimleys were playing.
Just because my opinion on this matters differs to yours doesnt mean that I am wrong. This is a discussion forum. We are all entitled to our own opinions.

:D :D

Then why did you choose to denigrate the Grimleys' football ability on a thread about hard men!!  ::)

Benny Coulter was introduced by myself as a parallel to highlight how ludicrous some of your statements are, i.e. Armagh's lack of success in the Grimleys' era is somehow proof of their footballing ability!! Jesus wept!!

And by the way Boss - 'discussion' entitles me to comment on your opinion!  ;)
Post by: the green man on January 18, 2007, 11:50:21 PM
Is it true that the harps are so pre occupied with the Ogs, that they could'nt give a toss what else goes on?
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on January 19, 2007, 12:01:23 AM
Quote from: the green man on January 18, 2007, 11:50:21 PM
Is it true that the harps are so pre occupied with the Ogs, that they could'nt give a toss what else goes on?

Yes.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on January 19, 2007, 12:02:11 AM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on January 18, 2007, 11:53:39 PM
Sorry would you prefer if i`d lied and said the Grimleys were fantastic footballers who won numerous awards while playing with Armagh, Ulster and Ireland.

In a thread about hard men?!?! Why would you do that?  ???
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on January 19, 2007, 12:09:28 AM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on January 19, 2007, 12:05:27 AM
As I stated earlier in the thread, I thought they were dirty players, not hard. There is a difference. The only thing hard about most people from Armagh (city) is that they are very hard to listen to.  ;)

I hear you!  ;D

I'm away to my bed!
Post by: screenmachine on January 19, 2007, 10:52:03 AM
Heard a few stories about a man that goes by of Barney Og from Moortown in Tyrone.

Apparently in Barney's Twilight years he was playing a Reserve Championship match for moortown against their fierce local rivals Ardboe.  The changing rooms was an old mobile separated by a stud wll down the centre.  Barney apparently got so psyched up before the match he proceeded to punch a hole in the stud wall, then stick his head through the hole and roar, "I'm gonna eat you's Ardboe b******s!"  :D :D

Another tale of Barney's antics was in his hayday, playing for Moortown, somebody boxed him off the ball and broke his jaw, but Barney being the man he is stayed on for five minutes, and apparently rearranged the man that hit him the next ball.  Barney then went down on one knee and signalled to the bench and went off to hospital a merry man.

I'll see if I can dig out any more stories from my sources.
Post by: SlimShady on January 19, 2007, 10:54:20 AM
screenmachine- Paul Hasson from your own club is a real hard man....

hard to fuckin listen to!!
Post by: screenmachine on January 19, 2007, 11:14:14 AM
now slim, no need to drag it through the gutter.  I was only spinnin a few yarns of yesteryear and you have to bring it to a whole new level, dissapointing. :P
Post by: wicklaman on January 19, 2007, 02:51:26 PM
 "Red" Pat O'Byrne from Wicklow a pure beast went toe to toe with the Big Dipper in the compromise rules in the eighties and won!! a farmer with unbeleivable strenght would not have liked to run in to him!
Post by: ugliragman on January 19, 2007, 04:18:14 PM
What defines a hard man?
Post by: OdoSkimodo on January 19, 2007, 04:37:17 PM
rigor mortis
Post by: Carmen Stateside on January 20, 2007, 02:04:32 AM
Quote from: screenmachine on January 19, 2007, 10:52:03 AM
Heard a few stories about a man that goes by of Barney Og from Moortown in Tyrone.

Apparently in Barney's Twilight years he was playing a Reserve Championship match for moortown against their fierce local rivals Ardboe. The changing rooms was an old mobile separated by a stud wll down the centre. Barney apparently got so psyched up before the match he proceeded to punch a hole in the stud wall, then stick his head through the hole and roar, "I'm gonna eat you's Ardboe b******s!" :D :D

Another tale of Barney's antics was in his hayday, playing for Moortown, somebody boxed him off the ball and broke his jaw, but Barney being the man he is stayed on for five minutes, and apparently rearranged the man that hit him the next ball. Barney then went down on one knee and signalled to the bench and went off to hospital a merry man.

I'll see if I can dig out any more stories from my sources.

:D :D this sounds like the man ok! Seen him climb over the wire in Carrickmore one evening to get at a man in the crowd!! :o
Post by: Meath1 on January 21, 2007, 06:26:22 PM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on January 17, 2007, 05:36:26 PM

Another Cavan player of that generation told me too that possibly the filthiest footballer, in the sneaky sense, that he ever encountered on the pitch was a guy called Red Collier of Meath. Never heard much about this guy but some of the Meath lads might be able to fill us in...although I'd say the history in Meath might be told in a different light to that in Cavan! ;)

Red Collier was a St.Pat's man from Stamullen, a legend in his time....never though a meath man would be filthy, such accusations....... ;)
Post by: cavanmaniac on January 21, 2007, 11:51:48 PM
Just as I thought! ;D
Post by: billy the kid on January 23, 2007, 03:35:13 PM
There was a fella from Ballinascreen by the name of Adrian McCoy ( although an import from Co.Down ) who was as hard a man as about.... i.e he would eat glass!
Post by: Maximus Marillius on January 23, 2007, 03:45:32 PM
hes that hard that i never of him...r ye sure he played football
Post by: The Bottom Brick on January 23, 2007, 03:48:18 PM
Quoterigor mortis

lol  ;D
Post by: esmonde on January 23, 2007, 11:38:12 PM
Bobby Ryan of Tipp.
Post by: forkinknife on January 24, 2007, 12:24:03 PM
Brian Mullins. Tough as me ma's rockcakes.
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 24, 2007, 12:51:42 PM
Surprised that Ross munnelly hasnt been mentioned thus far..
Post by: thegael on January 24, 2007, 12:53:42 PM
also surprised joe brolly wasn't mentioned!..
Post by: stoke the boilers! on January 24, 2007, 01:19:20 PM
Ger Houlihan? ???
Post by: saffron sam2 on January 24, 2007, 01:54:42 PM
Quote from: billy the kid on January 23, 2007, 03:35:13 PM
There was a fella from Ballinascreen by the name of Adrian McCoy ( although an import from Co.Down ) who was as hard a man as about.... i.e he would eat glass!
Played with him at Queen's. Originally from Lisummon in south Armagh and you are indeed correct - he was fairly tough.
Post by: hightower on January 24, 2007, 08:55:55 PM
mickey crozier played in england 60's-70's heard he played 4 moortown got the man then if the ball was still there he took it hard as the mountains
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 24, 2007, 09:19:15 PM
Quote from: stoke the boilers! on January 24, 2007, 01:19:20 PM
Ger Houlihan? ???
:-\
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on January 25, 2007, 08:18:30 AM
down limerick way in the hurling, you had Mike Houlihan, tough as nails and he would let you know too.
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 25, 2007, 01:07:59 PM
Quote from: thegael on January 24, 2007, 12:53:42 PM
also surprised joe brolly wasn't mentioned!..

yeah
he seems to get his name in everywhere else

Joe is well known for that teak tough streak - and was not played in the ulster championship in 93 (against fellow 6 county teams) in case he got a bit too carried away hitting oppenents- so Derry saved him for later rounds of the championship..
Post by: full back on January 25, 2007, 01:12:29 PM
Lucky he isnt playing for Derry now, he would get very few games!!
Post by: easytiger on January 25, 2007, 02:00:01 PM
Hard man dubs

as mentioned before

70's vintage

Kelleher
O'Driscoll
O'Neill
Drumm (hard as nails - modern day equivalent would have been Mannion for Galway)
Doherty
Hanahoe
Moran (the amount of punishment he took and still played on0

80's

Mick Holden
Gerry Hargan
Mick Kennedy
Eamon Heery

90's

Keith Barr
Paddy Moran
Jack Sheedy
Mick Deegan

But the hardest of the lot, not only on the field but the bravery he showed off it- has to be Mullins - the biggest and baddest of them all.

Post by: seanaglis on January 25, 2007, 02:33:17 PM
shorty treanor
Post by: Carmen Stateside on January 25, 2007, 05:21:33 PM
Raymond Munroe Carrickmore and Tyrone! Dont come much harder! ;)
Post by: realredhandfan on January 25, 2007, 05:30:39 PM
Aye shorty treanor would have ate ye without salt.   ::)
Munroe was hard and fair.  I believe he marked kevin mc Stay in 89 and he said he was the cleanest but toughest player he had ever marked.  I believe theres very little soft in carmen, maybe the snow.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on January 25, 2007, 05:44:42 PM
Quote from: realredhandfan on January 25, 2007, 05:30:39 PM
Aye shorty treanor would have ate ye without salt. ::)
Munroe was hard and fair. I believe he marked kevin mc Stay in 89 and he said he was the cleanest but toughest player he had ever marked. I believe theres very little soft in carmen, maybe the snow.

wasnt his best day at the office :-X but fair he was ! would have hated him marking me in a game, training was bad enough!
I remember him and Big Audi having some great battles down the years and battles they were :)

Always thought Sean Donnelly from Trillick was hard as nails!!
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on January 25, 2007, 05:53:30 PM
Bernard Morris of Gowna and Cavan... an absolute tank... Not a hint of dirt to him either.
Post by: Canalman on January 25, 2007, 08:49:39 PM
Always admired Anthony Rainbow from Kildare as a tough player. Always gave it all and never shirked a tackle when many of his teammates in early 90s were imo a bit shirty.
Would have loved him in Dublin team.
Post by: Cloc Mor on January 25, 2007, 10:51:02 PM
Quoteshorty treanor
???

You serious?  Shorty would have started a row with a sneaky elbow then run a mile.  Paddy O'Rourke was also lethal with the elbows but also lacked serious balls.
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 26, 2007, 09:38:10 AM
Quote from: Canalman on January 25, 2007, 08:49:39 PM
Always admired Anthony Rainbow from Kildare as a tough player. Always gave it all and never shirked a tackle when many of his teammates in early 90s were imo a bit shirty.
Would have loved him in Dublin team.

will you tell him dinny or will I !

FFS -I made rainbow cry !
Post by: wherefromreferee? on May 19, 2010, 05:06:08 PM
Any new hard men in the country emerge in the last 3 years?
Post by: SambaSaffron on May 19, 2010, 05:38:12 PM
Barry McGoldrick of Derry.
Post by: put-it-up on May 20, 2010, 12:10:01 AM
Bernard Morris was hard as nails. Trevor Crowe of Cavan deserves a mention too. The man drinks pertrol because he is a tank....
Post by: Schkite on May 20, 2010, 12:54:58 AM
Quote from: SambaSaffron on May 19, 2010, 05:38:12 PM
Barry McGoldrick of Derry.

In his own head maybe.
Post by: laceer on May 20, 2010, 09:20:12 AM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on January 25, 2007, 05:21:33 PM
Raymond Munroe Carrickmore and Tyrone! Dont come much harder! ;)

Seen him play for Tyrone over 40s a few times this past couple of years. Has a bit more padding round the middle now but f**k can he still hit a man a shoulder.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 20, 2010, 09:59:24 AM
Two mentioned on this page are the hardest I ever played against, Bernard Morris and Ray Munroe.  Both were at the tail end of their careers but I have never been hit harder by anyone then those lads. Morris in particular could simply run through people not round them!
Post by: small white mayoman on May 20, 2010, 10:29:11 AM

the latter i would say and even then your been kind , wouldn't deserve to be mentioned along with the likes of Butler, or staunton
Post by: Carbery on May 20, 2010, 10:47:00 AM
Quote from: wherefromreferee? on May 19, 2010, 05:06:08 PM
Any new hard men in the country emerge in the last 3 years?

Finian Moriarty [Armagh]
Post by: Hardy on May 20, 2010, 11:01:54 AM
My definition of a hard man is someone who will go through, rather than around, with no regard for his own safety and who will put his body in potentially painful situations in the contest for possession. He is now a redundant species.

What exactly is a hard man in 2010 sanitised Duffyball, in which players can't even accidentally brush against each other without one of them being penalised and probably yellow carded and in which honest competition for possession has been eradicated?
Post by: Master Yoda on May 20, 2010, 11:12:39 AM
Always loved watching Glen Ryan, hard as f**k.
Post by: Master Yoda on May 20, 2010, 11:13:35 AM
Micky John Forbes, Ardboe and Tyrone. ;D
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 20, 2010, 11:26:07 AM
Quote from: Meath1 on January 21, 2007, 06:26:22 PM

Another Cavan player of that generation told me too that possibly the filthiest footballer, in the sneaky sense, that he ever encountered on the pitch was a guy called Red Collier of Meath. Never heard much about this guy but some of the Meath lads might be able to fill us in...although I'd say the history in Meath might be told in a different light to that in Cavan! ;)

Red Collier was a St.Pat's man from Stamullen, a legend in his time....never though a meath man would be filthy, such accusations....... ;)

The Red wasn't a hard man. He was dirty and devious but as windy as hell.
By contrast, the man beside him, Bertie Cunningham, was as tough as nails but he played the ball, not the man. The same could be said about the Quinns from the same era.
Post by: Owenbeg on May 20, 2010, 11:29:10 AM
Mc Gilligan hands down!! i think the aussies nick named him the 'hulk' in the 80's

Club level has to be Emmett McKeever!!

Eugene Lynch- defiently deserve a mention

Rest of derry is soft as s***e  ;D
Post by: Hardy on May 20, 2010, 11:45:29 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 20, 2010, 11:26:07 AM

By contrast, the man beside him, Bertie Cunningham, was as tough as nails but he played the ball, not the man. The same could be said about the Quinns from the same era.

I have to take issue with you there, Lar. The Red was a hard man by my definition - willing to put his body on the line. Where you got the impression he was windy I have no idea. He also had the reputation of being dirty, but like many of similar reputation, it wasn't deserved and was more of a media invention than anything, probably not based on anything more substantial than his red hair and the lazy consequent assumption of a fiery temper. In reality he was a very placid individual but a fierce competitor.

Bertie Cunningham was probably the toughest player I ever saw and also not the ball-playing angel you portray. Certainly Cyril Dunne of Galway would have experienced one of Bertie's deviations from always playing the ball. The two big Quinns, Martin and Jack were also more "robust" than the ideal of the clean-cut ball-playing gentleman footballer. Jack would tell you that himself.
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 20, 2010, 12:28:08 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 20, 2010, 11:45:29 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 20, 2010, 11:26:07 AM

I have to take issue with you there, Lar. The Red was a hard man by my definition - willing to put his body on the line. Where you got the impression he was windy I have no idea. He also had the reputation of being dirty, but like many of similar reputation, it wasn't deserved and was more of a media invention than anything, probably not based on anything more substantial than his red hair and the lazy consequent assumption of a fiery temper. In reality he was a very placid individual but a fierce competitor.

Bertie Cunningham was probably the toughest player I ever saw and also not the ball-playing angel you portray. Certainly Cyril Dunne of Galway would have experienced one of Bertie's deviations from always playing the ball. The two big Quinns, Martin and Jack were also more "robust" than the ideal of the clean-cut ball-playing gentleman footballer. Jack would tell you that himself.
thought I had written about Bertie before !!
He was a big hard bustard. He and Matie kerrigan both told me that Red was a tough enough hoor but was more dirty than anything else !
Mattie told Red one day not to hit his direct opponent because 'they are bound to have someone better in the subs' !
Post by: Club Rossa on May 20, 2010, 03:46:08 PM
Screenmachine,ask your source what happened to Barney og in Forbes club on the night Ardboe beat Moortown in the 1983 championship final :D

I suspect you will hear a different version of events from what actually happened ;)
Post by: Club Rossa on May 20, 2010, 03:51:04 PM
That should read championship semi final,just so there is no confusion about the story :)
Post by: cornafean on May 20, 2010, 03:55:40 PM
Quote from: Master Yoda on May 20, 2010, 11:13:35 AM
Micky John Forbes, Ardboe and Tyrone. ;D

The self-proclaimed 'hardest wee mon in Ulster' according to a story Brian Mullins has told more than once  :)
Post by: Mickeys beard on May 20, 2010, 07:13:05 PM
What about Francie?
Mick Cushnahan Derrylaughan and Tyrone was a hardy boy.
Post by: stew on May 20, 2010, 07:32:13 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 17, 2007, 04:57:06 PM
I doubt if there is much or anythnig that would scare those Grimleys. I was working in a place they ate in one day and was afraid we'd run out of food and they'd eat me!

:D :D :D

Them boys were and are afraid of feck all.

For me Mark was one of the best midfielders in football for about three years, he was absolutely sublime for a spell and he took no prisoners, he was and probably still is a hard man, to me he was the better footballer of the two.

John played various positions and was an integral part of the harps team, as was his brother and he too was a very good Armagh player, these boys did an awful lot of dirty work for the county and for the club and I nust have watched them play in a couple of hundred games, not once did I see either one of them back down.

It is sad that players that gave their all for club and county must be protrayed as cowards by a clown that has been affiliated with multiple clubs across Armagh and Tyrone.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 20, 2010, 09:57:05 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on January 17, 2007, 11:35:42 PM

Name one? I'd have him ahead of stanton, peter butler, eugene mchale, liam o'neill, liam mchale

From what I've heard, Michael Molloy was a hard player in his day.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on May 20, 2010, 10:02:44 PM
Quote from: Master Yoda on May 20, 2010, 11:12:39 AM
Always loved watching Glen Ryan, hard as f**k.

I marked Glenn in a county league match a few months back. He absolutely cut me in half with a shoulder. Twas like being hit by a f**king train!
Post by: Armaghgeddon on May 20, 2010, 10:09:06 PM
Quote from: stew on May 20, 2010, 07:32:13 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 17, 2007, 04:57:06 PM

Them boys were and are afraid of feck all.

For me Mark was one of the best midfielders in football for about three years, he was absolutely sublime for a spell and he took no prisoners, he was and probably still is a hard man, to me he was the better footballer of the two.

John played various positions and was an integral part of the harps team, as was his brother and he too was a very good Armagh player, these boys did an awful lot of dirty work for the county and for the club and I nust have watched them play in a couple of hundred games, not once did I see either one of them back down.

It is sad that players that gave their all for club and county must be protrayed as cowards by a clown that has been affiliated with multiple clubs across Armagh and Tyrone.

I met one of the Grimley's [think it was John] in McKenna's. Nicest fella you could possibly meet. Although he almost crushed my hand when we met.  :D
Post by: ONeill on May 20, 2010, 10:43:10 PM
Bellew rarely pulled out of a tackle.
Post by: Benny Barnaveld on May 20, 2010, 11:29:25 PM
What about Paul McGrane?
He would be a blend of a great footballer and hard into the bargain!
Post by: Puckoon on May 20, 2010, 11:30:54 PM
No Donegal or Fermanagh men?
Post by: laceer on May 20, 2010, 11:47:58 PM
Out of interest, who portrays the grimleys as cowards stew? One of my earliest memories of watching tyrone was against armagh in the early 90s. The grimleys and martin mcquillan stood out to me as a cub. Beasts of men
Post by: Armaghgeddon on May 20, 2010, 11:53:31 PM
Did anyone get the gaelic life newspaper about three weeks ago? There was an article written by Jarlath talking about the Grimleys. And how John was chasing Finbarr McConnell  around the pitch with no shirt on because he didnt want the referee getting his number?
Post by: Armaghgeddon on May 20, 2010, 11:58:34 PM
Quote from: hardstation on May 20, 2010, 11:54:49 PM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on May 20, 2010, 11:53:31 PM
Did anyone get the gaelic life newspaper about three weeks ago? There was an article written by Jarlath talking about the Grimleys. And how John was chasing Finbarr McConnell  around the pitch with no shirt on because he didnt want the referee getting his number?
That's hard..

Wasnt hard, but was good for its comical side.
Post by: muppet on May 21, 2010, 12:52:39 AM
We had an A. Hardiman on our team sheet at school.

Deadly serious, some of the Galway or Jarlath's lads from the mid/late 1980s might remember him.
Post by: Logan on May 21, 2010, 08:21:40 AM
Larry Tompkins

Not for what he inflicted on others, but for what he took!
Post by: BennyHarp on May 21, 2010, 10:44:37 AM
Quote from: Logan on May 21, 2010, 08:21:40 AM
Larry Tompkins

I'd have a similar opinion on Dooher, hard as nails! I dont think you have to bate men or run after them with your top off to be considered a hard man!! The hardest men usually just take and give the slaps and get on with it!!
Post by: bingobus on May 21, 2010, 11:02:39 AM
Dessie Mone of Monaghan
Post by: haranguerer on May 21, 2010, 11:18:59 AM
Quote from: hardstation on May 20, 2010, 11:32:05 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 20, 2010, 11:30:54 PM
Probably a few Donegal men but Fermanagh have always been watery cnuts.

The amount of times I've seen men bounce off Owens, and him not even notice them...McGrath too; And no dirt in either of them, unlike Dessie Mone, bingo, whos a sneaky ****, and loves nothing more than spitting in opponents faces...
Post by: mountainboii on May 21, 2010, 11:59:35 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on May 21, 2010, 10:44:37 AM
Larry Tompkins

I'd have a similar opinion on Dooher, hard as nails! I dont think you have to bate men or run after them with your top off to be considered a hard man!! The hardest men usually just take and give the slaps and get on with it!!

So hard not to bite...

Ah, I'll let it go.
Post by: eireogatron on May 21, 2010, 12:04:10 PM
rite enough, Dooher would never lie down........
Post by: mackers on May 21, 2010, 12:29:58 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on May 21, 2010, 10:44:37 AM
Larry Tompkins

:D :D
Post by: Schkite on May 21, 2010, 12:43:27 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on May 21, 2010, 11:18:59 AM
Quote from: hardstation on May 20, 2010, 11:32:05 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 20, 2010, 11:30:54 PM
Probably a few Donegal men but Fermanagh have always been watery cnuts.

The amount of times I've seen men bounce off Owens, and him not even notice them...McGrath too; And no dirt in either of them, unlike Dessie Mone, bingo, whos a sneaky ****, and loves nothing more than spitting in opponents faces...

Whose faces has he spat in then? He's been spat at before himself anyway..
Post by: eireogatron on May 21, 2010, 01:02:27 PM
i take it Ciaran McKeever isnt being mentioned in protest or something?
Post by: J OGorman on May 21, 2010, 01:33:30 PM
Brian 'The Hulk' McGilligan was the hardest hooer I've seen on a pitch...fierce hard
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 21, 2010, 02:41:04 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 20, 2010, 11:45:29 AM

I lived in Bective for more than ten years and in that time I got to know most of the football supporters and pint suppers in the locality. As there was a high crossover between the two categories, that meant most of the adult males in the general neighbourhood and an impressive number of the fairer gender also.
As this was during the 80s, where memories of Red and his colleagues were still fresh in our memories, I never had a problem in starting a row about his behaviour on the field of play and the same held true for most of his colleagues from of that time.
Naturally enough, he was held in high regard by all around me but I honestly can't recall anyone at any time claiming he played within the rules at all times--or indeed at any time unless it suited him to do so.
Now, I never saw him play at club level but I saw enough of him at intercounty games and on TV to feel he played to the gallery and his solo runs down the sideline with his wisps of hair billowing out behind him, were meant for show as his follow- on passes went to nowhere in particular. I felt he engaged in a lot of niggling and needling work, designed to provoke an opponent and draw a free. Despite his reputation for aggression and a quick temper, I can't saw I ever saw him standing his ground and eyeballing any opponent who objected to his latest alleged transgression.
Maybe my memory is playing tricks but I can't recall Bertie, or the Quinns for that matter, ever backing away from anyone who went to confront him man to man after any incident he was involved in.
I don't know what he may have done to Cyril Dunne but as the same Cyril wasn't the cleanest of players either, Bertie may well have had a good reason to 'interface' with him. I dunno.
My reason for meandering through my Bective memories is that when the talk got down to club level and there was no longer the need to defend the county's honour, most of my companions agreed with my assessment of Pat Collier's playing style.
We are talking (discussing?) here events that happened over 40 years ago when football was far tougher and rougher than it is today and games without a good number of punch ups and off the ball incidents were a rarity indeed. By the standards of their time, a good number of that Meath team could justifiably be regarded as hard men; you got what it said on the label with them. They stood their ground against all comers but I have my reservations about the 'Red' fella.
Post by: small white mayoman on May 21, 2010, 02:50:44 PM
can't believe larry reilly hasn't been mentioned
Post by: Hardy on May 21, 2010, 03:15:27 PM
Lar, there's no point, I suppose in comparing the accuracy of our memories of forty plus years ago. I'm going to trump you in one aspect, though. I played against The Red. He was well past his glory days and I was fruitlessly anticipating mine.

In any case, I just don't understand the "windy" accusation. I saw him play dozens of times for club and county and I honestly don't ever remember him showing the slightest sign of that. He was a great showman, as you say, and maybe people assume that goes with windiness. But, with the utmost respect, I can't take your assertion that you never saw him stand his ground and eyeball his opponent as corroboration of your assessment. It's not quite the same as giving instances of his backing down.

I think you've misunderstood me on Bertie and the Quinns. I said Bertie was the toughest I ever saw and that the Quinns were pretty robust and not the pure footballing paragons suggested. To say they never backed down would be a gross understatement of their approach. Generally their direct opponents were the ones backing down. (Sometimes lying down, unconscious).

As regards, Cyril Dunne, Bertie went to greet him as he ran down his right wing in the AIF of 1966 and halted him with a tackle in the Seán Doherty vs. Mickey Ned category.

I think you and I would have had fun in the pub in Bective.
Post by: Onion Bag on May 21, 2010, 03:35:38 PM
Martin O Connell and Mick Lyons of Meath, 2 hardy Hoors
Post by: our_fella on May 21, 2010, 04:06:17 PM
From Armagh :
Francie Bellew has to be at the top of the pile. Closely followed by Geezer and Paul McGrane. Of todays team has to be McKeever  ;D
Post by: stew on May 21, 2010, 05:00:59 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on May 21, 2010, 01:33:30 PM
Brian 'The Hulk' McGilligan was the hardest hooer I've seen on a pitch...fierce hard

Feck I forgot about him, he is the hardest, you are right. That man was an absolute beast.
Post by: paco on May 21, 2010, 09:33:48 PM
Great thread! Some of the stories are brilliant, keep them coming.
Post by: Logan on May 21, 2010, 09:49:40 PM
Quote from: bingobus on May 21, 2010, 11:02:39 AM
Dessie Mone of Monaghan

Dessie Mone isn't a hard man.
Post by: Royalranter on May 22, 2010, 12:02:09 PM
Darren Fay. I cant recall anybody getting the better of him in a physical battle. hard as nails!
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on May 22, 2010, 02:04:43 PM
Quote from: Royalranter on May 22, 2010, 12:02:09 PM
Darren Fay. I cant recall anybody getting the better of him in a physical battle. hard as nails!

good call RR,
Fay as well as being probably the best full back of all time was an absolute animal.
I cant remember anyone ever starting anything with him,probably out of respect and fear!  :D
Post by: anglocelt39 on May 22, 2010, 09:35:37 PM
How do you define the GAA hard man, the one for the sly off the ball stuff (no cowardly bastards in my book), the one who will up front take on and out the opposition in a fair (most of the time) fashion (closer to the mark) or the one who will throwh themselves into things without fear or favour, knowing in many cases that they are setting themselves up for cowardly/false blows (definitely the heroic hard men in my eyes). In the latter category none came close to Dublins Kevin Moran that I have seen, swashbuckling, fearless and left himself open to god knows how many cheap shots that he he got straight up from. On a local level Cavans Pat Faulkner and Damien O Reilly from the 1980's were no slouches. From the 1990's I will take a very local and biased view and give a mention to Bailieborough Shamrocks clubman John Donnellan, the great Geezer will remember him from his Sigerson exploits...........
Post by: whiskeysteve on May 22, 2010, 10:53:15 PM
Brian McGilligan. They need to do a Laochra Gael on this man.
Post by: bannside on May 22, 2010, 11:30:30 PM
Cant believe no one has mentioned Henry Downey. As hard as they came. Or James Devlin from Moortown.

Or Eddie Donnelly in hurling.
Post by: paco on May 23, 2010, 12:59:24 PM
Patsy Bradley? Ticks all the right boxes I think.
Post by: boojangles on May 23, 2010, 01:18:35 PM
Quote from: anglocelt39 on May 22, 2010, 09:35:37 PM
How do you define the GAA hard man, the one for the sly off the ball stuff (no cowardly b**tards in my book), the one who will up front take on and out the opposition in a fair (most of the time) fashion (closer to the mark) or the one who will throwh themselves into things without fear or favour, knowing in many cases that they are setting themselves up for cowardly/false blows (definitely the heroic hard men in my eyes). In the latter category none came close to Dublins Kevin Moran that I have seen, swashbuckling, fearless and left himself open to god knows how many cheap shots that he he got straight up from. On a local level Cavans Pat Faulkner and Damien O Reilly from the 1980's were no slouches. From the 1990's I will take a very local and biased view and give a mention to Bailieborough Shamrocks clubman John Donnellan, the great Geezer will remember him from his Sigerson exploits...........

I presume thats Damien from Mullahoran your talking about? More of a 90's man though Anglo, although I'm in total agreement. Cavan could do with a man like him at the moment thats for sure.
Honourable mentions must go to:

Philip Smith- Crosserlough
Bernard Morris- Gowna

Also do any Cavan posters remember Ciaran 'The Gunner' Brady- from Mullahoran? Always played at Centre-Half for the Dreadnoughts.He played on their Championship winning team in 1998. Was as tough as nails. Got the odd run for Cavan but probably hadn't the required skill but in terms of guts there wasn't too many his equal in Cavan for over a decade.
Post by: Logan on May 23, 2010, 02:19:59 PM
I'll second Bernard Morris - true hard man but never dirty.

Fergus Caufiled

Post by: Bogball XV on May 23, 2010, 02:26:14 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on May 22, 2010, 02:04:43 PM
Quote from: Royalranter on May 22, 2010, 12:02:09 PM

good call RR,
Fay as well as being probably the best full back of all time was an absolute animal.
I cant remember anyone ever starting anything with him,probably out of respect and fear!  :D
he's not that long retired that you should be resorting to that sort of hyperbole
Post by: moysider on May 23, 2010, 10:39:28 PM

Easy to be hard when your bigger and stronger than everybody else. It s the little guys that take a battering through their careers that I d have more time for. Likes of canavan.
Post by: Master Yoda on May 24, 2010, 09:40:42 AM
Quote from: moysider on May 23, 2010, 10:39:28 PM

Easy to be hard when your bigger and stronger than everybody else. It s the little guys that take a battering through their careers that I d have more time for. Likes of canavan.
Hard men don't dive, next thing you will be saying Philip Jordan is a hard man.  :D :D :D
Post by: loughshore lad on May 24, 2010, 10:37:14 AM
Quote from: Master Yoda on May 24, 2010, 09:40:42 AM
Quote from: moysider on May 23, 2010, 10:39:28 PM

Hard men don't dive, next thing you will be saying Philip Jordan is a hard man.  :D :D :D

Or Johnny McBride  ;D   ;)  ;)
Post by: Club Rossa on May 24, 2010, 02:03:20 PM
Brian McGilligan told me that Pat O'Byrne from Wicklow was the strongest man he had ever played with or against.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on May 24, 2010, 02:16:01 PM
Gerry McCarville, Scotstown & Monaghan.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on May 24, 2010, 02:16:47 PM
Hugo Clerkin, Currin & Monaghan.
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 24, 2010, 03:04:09 PM
Quote from: Club Rossa on May 24, 2010, 02:03:20 PM
Brian McGilligan told me that Pat O'Byrne from Wicklow was the strongest man he had ever played with or against.
story from Mick Lyons from that infamous tour (fight) v aussies out in Oz- that Pat O'Byrne and Brian McGilligan were the two hardest and toughest men on that tour and ever he seen to play football !
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 24, 2010, 03:13:27 PM
have some great stories about the grimleys - I played a game and drank with them in NY in 1997.
As they cant hardly read, I'd say I'm safe enough writing them.... (only jokin lads - if yesz are reading this !!). OK I'll refrain from the couple I have , as they will know who to thump next time I bump into them !
they had a fantastic ability of one starting the sentence and the other finishing it.
They also usually went to the toilet together too (maybe they were afraid of being ambushed or something). they almost killed poor Kevin O'Neill (Mayo) from drink as he was in a round with them!!)

but A couple of great stories I heard from a Derry footballer about them :
Two boys in the hotel after Railway cup training - standing at the top of the room , not sitting down along with rest of players having the squad meal.
Selector asks them 'you boys not eating anything'?
John G ' nah, we dont want any, we only'
Mark G 'eat the dinners mammy makes'
Selector 'is there nathin youd eat ?'
two grimleys together 'aye, Ice cream'

+++++++++++++++
Two grimleys rooming with Conor counihan (Cork) for aussie rules squad. Boys stiing in hotel room watching TV. Conor gets bored and asked them if they were going out to meet the rest of the squad for a few pints. Two grimleys said nah, they wanted to watch telly.
As they were first into the room they had the two single beds and counihan had a camp bed out in the floor.
Counihan got back from his few pints to find his camp bed up on top of the wardrobe and a fight broke out between the three of them and hotelmanagement and Irish manager (cant rem if it was heffo /boylan or who) had tocalm things down. Apparantly Counihan gave better then he got !!
he was a hard bustard himself!

Grimleys are nice lads , thugs on the pitch but great fellas off it !
Post by: INDIANA on May 24, 2010, 04:50:17 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 24, 2010, 03:04:09 PM
story from Mick Lyons from that infamous tour (fight) v aussies out in Oz- that Pat O'Byrne and Brian McGilligan were the two hardest and toughest men on that tour and ever he seen to play football !

The aussies were running away from Mc Gilligan and O byrne during the rows. Some great pics from it. Heffo had a call that went out in each quarter which gave Mc Gilligan special licence to lamp one of the Aussie hardmen if they needed a thump. O Byrne had the same licence down the other end.
O Byrne was a sheep farmer from Wicklow and was the best front row forward the irish rugby team never had. He'd push hayes and horan together into the middle of next week.
Post by: diehard on May 25, 2010, 10:11:03 PM
Larnapairce, I remember Joe Corcoran from Mayo breaking the Red's collarbone with a shoulder!  Hard to believe I know because Joe wasnt a hard man by any stretch of the imagination.  Nonetheless Red was a tough bit of stuff.
I think Colm McMenamon was as tough as they came.  He could take any gods amount of punishment and brush it off.
Post by: stephenite on May 26, 2010, 03:53:22 AM
Quote from: diehard on May 25, 2010, 10:11:03 PM
I think Colm McMenamon was as tough as they came.  He could take any gods amount of punishment and brush it off.

Jeez yeah, forgot about that man.
Post by: nrico2006 on May 26, 2010, 10:47:04 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on May 24, 2010, 04:50:17 PM

The aussies were running away from Mc Gilligan and O byrne during the rows. Some great pics from it. Heffo had a call that went out in each quarter which gave Mc Gilligan special licence to lamp one of the Aussie hardmen if they needed a thump. O Byrne had the same licence down the other end.
O Byrne was a sheep farmer from Wicklow and was the best front row forward the irish rugby team never had. He'd push hayes and horan together into the middle of next week.

Is there any pics floating about?  The farmers were always the toughest, I can remember at school when I was 12 or 13 and in PE the farmers could barely kick a ball but they were as strong as bulls, if they shouldered you you were on your hole with the wind knocked out of you.
Post by: Celt_Man on May 26, 2010, 11:29:17 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on May 26, 2010, 10:47:04 AM

Is there any pics floating about?  The farmers were always the toughest, I can remember at scholl when I was 12 or 13 and in PE the farmers could barely kick a ball but they were as strong as bulls, if they shouldered you you were on your hole with the wind knocked out of you.

Aye I think Colm O'Rourke is right (Jaysus help me for saying that) - every team needs a farmer and a red head.... obviously a combination of the two is particularly fierce
Post by: nrico2006 on October 05, 2010, 03:21:54 PM
Any pics of these brawls or incidents?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 05, 2010, 03:53:20 PM
Wexford hurler Greg Jacob. Renowned for his hardness.

Post by: sans pessimism on October 13, 2011, 04:49:46 PM
Are there any hard men,such as F.Bellew left in todays teams
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 13, 2011, 04:53:14 PM

Is there any pics floating about?  The farmers were always the toughest, I can remember at school when I was 12 or 13 and in PE the farmers could barely kick a ball but they were as strong as bulls, if they shouldered you you were on your hole with the wind knocked out of you.

Sounds like Roscommon football for many a year.
Post by: goal 10 on October 16, 2011, 08:12:45 PM
I wish we had a few hard players now.

we are as soft as sh,,,,,,,
Post by: Don Johnson on October 16, 2011, 09:06:14 PM
Jonathan McCarron (Armagh u21s this year) is as hard as they come. Proper old school like his grandad old Jon McCarron did midfield for Armagh though injury cut him short.

Young Jon is undefeated in the Armagh fight nights and going for 3 from 3 in the upcoming fight night next year.
Post by: muppet on October 16, 2011, 09:14:16 PM
Hardy's protégé: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rynFsyKJ2Y4 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rynFsyKJ2Y4)
Post by: men in black on October 16, 2011, 09:49:37 PM
Derry - Tony Scullion
Post by: Jinxy on October 16, 2011, 09:52:18 PM

The farmers would have been a few years older though in fairness.
Post by: Sleater on October 17, 2011, 02:12:43 PM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on May 24, 2010, 02:16:01 PM
Gerry McCarville, Scotstown & Monaghan.

I'd second that. McCarville was chiselled from granite
Post by: The Hill is Blue on October 19, 2011, 05:46:45 PM
The Quinns of Kilbride and Meath were as tough as they come.
Post by: muppet on October 19, 2011, 06:30:37 PM
Barney Rock.
Karl Diamond.
Post by: sans pessimism on October 19, 2011, 06:42:42 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 19, 2011, 06:30:37 PM
Barney Rock.
Karl Diamond.
John Finn would tend to agree!
Post by: Lar Naparka on October 21, 2011, 11:52:14 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 19, 2011, 06:30:37 PM
Barney Rock.
Karl Diamond.
Nah!
I never regarded Barney as a hard man. Sneaky yes but not in your face tough.
It was a backswing with his elbow that clocked John Finn.
Having said that, Finn was a niggly hoor himself and I'd say Barney wasn't altogether to blame for what happened.
I'd say he jabbed Finn to try and make him let go of his  jersey. Both were running in the same direction when Finn went down.